Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Alien Salvation

Title:  Alien Salvation
Author:  Tracy St. John
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-064-8
Genre: {M/F/M/M}, BDSM, Sci-Fi, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Lindsey and her parents went into hiding once her sister became the Kalquorian Empress. They are barely surviving after the nuclear holocaust when Bacoj, Japohn and Vax crash on the planet.

Alien Salvation is the fourth book in the Clans of Kalquor series and picks up several months after the leaders on Earth decided to explode nuclear bombs as Earth was invaded.  The survivors are barely hanging on.  The author is very descriptive about what is going on as people try to survive. 

Lindsey approaches the Kalquorians to make a trade for food because she and her parents are barely surviving.  After a deal is struck, Lindsey gets to know them and the four decide to become a clan.  Because of who Lindsey is, the men make a decision that could have some extreme consequences.

The author did a good job showing the emotional impact that decision had on the whole family.  I had to laugh about Empress Jessica’s reactions when she found out about it, as it seems she has quite a temper.  While there were some secondary characters, the story revolved around Lindsey, Bacoj, Japohn and Vax, as well as Lindsey’s parents.  I loved the mother’s reactions about the deference she was given as Jessica’s mother.

I really enjoy reading this series and will be reading it again, as well as the next book.  This book has been revised and re-released after being published before by a different publisher.  The purchase link is for Amazon as the book is not available through the publisher in the United States, but is available through them outside.

Two Cowboys and a Baby

Author:  BA Tortuga
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-385-5
Genre: {M/M}, Western, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Release Date: March 15, 2017

For the most part Hoss has everything he needs.  It’s not until he finds a baby on his front porch that the cowboy realizes what has been missing.

Two Cowboys and a Baby is Ms. Tortuga’s contribution to Dreamspinner’s Dreamspun Desires line.  Fans of the author are really going to love this new story as it has everything we look for from her.  This story is also a great starter story for those looking to try the M/M genre or this author for the first time. 

The characters are well written and pull you into their story right from the beginning.  Hoss is a busy man.  He runs a ranch and occasionally rides in the rodeo.  When he has the time, he hangs out with his best friend, Bradley.   Bradley is a jack of all trades.  He lives in an old trailer on Hoss’ ranch.  He doesn’t need much and works just enough to get by, leaving him plenty of opportunity to hang out with Hoss.  What neither of these guys know is that the love they have for each other is returned.  Although this by itself would lead to all kinds of problems, the author throws in a little twist in the form of an infant.

Only in a small community, or romance book, would a sheriff let two men, who find a baby on their porch, take said child home.  Yet that is just the case in this story and, as Hoss and Bradley learn to care for Shayanne, they also learn more about each other.  I really love the connection that exists between these two men and seeing it grow was fun to watch.  I also loved the way they are with baby Shayanne and seeing them shopping at Walmart made me laugh. 

There are many times in this book when the readers will find themselves laughing out loud.  But that does not mean this is a light read.  There is a twist with Shayanne that I did not see coming and it has a strong effect on the men’s new relationship.  This twist also reveals a secret regarding Hoss, that made me a little mad on his behalf.  There are some great secondary characters in Two Cowboys and a Baby that help move this story along.  Hoss’ mom is something else and, more than once, I had to laugh at the things she said. 

Readers are sure to enjoy the way the author wraps up this story.  From the characters to the situations that pop up around them, there is something for everyone.  This is one book I will be re-reading again.

Not His Type

Title:  Not His Type
Author:  Cameron Allie
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0965-4
Genre: {M/F}, {F/F/F}, Contemporary, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Brooke does not want to be the liaison between her boss and Gabe when she goes home to care for her dying mother, especially since Brooke and Gabe do not have a good history.

Not His Type is the second book in the Unexpected Changes series.  Even though there may be a few triggers for some readers in this book, it did a good job letting readers know some of the major issues Brooke faced while in high school. In one sense, I am not sure that in real life, because of their past, Gabe would have started dating Brooke. 

Gabe has several women he has sex with in a group.  He manages to talk Brooke into going to his room and participating in sex with his ‘girls’.  Gabe is surprised when he starts to have feelings for Brooke and gets upset when he realizes she doesn’t want to continue their relationship after her mother dies.

Several of their friends have plenty to say since they know what happened in high school and Brooke’s best friend with benefits also has a lot to say to both.  Between him and Brooke’s mother, Gabe finds out about the reasons Brooke behaved the way she did, and why she missed so much one year in high school.  Gabe’s family also has some interesting things to say, including encouraging Brooke to hang in there. 

Not His Type was an unexpected story that was intense, but very informative about issues regarding cutting, anorexia and stalking.  The author did a good job integrating these issues into the story and showing how relationships can evolve despite very rocky beginnings.  I am looking forward to the next stories in this series.

The Hated Finn

Author:  Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN: 978-1-4874-0982-1
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

The shifters and vampires have been working hard to destroy the scientists and all they stand for.  After the last raid, Viktor was put in charge of tracking down many of the vendors who supplied the scientists and their labs.  One of those vendors is Finn and Viktor is shocked to discover the man is his beloved.

The Hated Finn is the 39th book in Ms. Richards’ Wolves of Stone Ridge series.  This new story has a vampire and shifter couple at its center, which is not new.  What makes this story a little refreshing is that, once Finn realizes that Viktor is his mate, he does not automatically fall for the mating pull, but the connection between them cannot be denied.

Viktor is the vampire in this story.  He has some bad history with the scientists and is determined to make sure everyone involved with them pays.  That’s why he is a little shocked to find out that Finn a shifter but also his beloved.  Finn is an ostrich shifter.  He also raises ostriches for their meat and sells it online.  One of his biggest clients is a pharmaceutical company, so he’s little concerned when they seem to have dropped off the map.  He’s unsure which upsets him more, what he finds out about the lab or that the vampire on his door step is his mate.

I loved the chemistry between these two.  When Finn decides to give Viktor a shot, they go on a date and, while they do not end up in bed, the chemistry shines through.  They have some serious issues to overcome, however, such as Finn’s desire to stay away from all paranormals, and Viktor’s time spent with the scientists.  If not for the fact that Viktor is in major need of blood, they would have had to settle those issues before falling into bed. 

There are several secondary characters, most bad, that help move the story along.   I was surprised by the way the interaction between Viktor and the deputy played out but loved the way it introduced Drako to the paranormal world that exists around him.  

Fans of this series will enjoy The Hated Finn.  It is a well-done addition to this ongoing series.  

Love in the Line of Fire

Author:  Michael Murphy
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-207-0
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jonah Pratt is head of the First Husband’s detail.  He has worked hard to get where he is but has had to keep his sexual preferences to himself.  When someone tries to kill the First Husband, Jonah is shocked by what follows, especially the feelings he develops for the civilian that helps.

Love in the Line of Fire is a fast paced read that will keep you turning the pages.  Mr. Murphy introduces the readers to two characters that have strong alpha personalities, yet realize that there is something in the other that they need.  Jonah is in the Secret Service.  As head of the First Husband’s detail, he has a lot on his plate.  This leaves him with little time for a social life. However, since he is in the closet he has learned to deal.  Benji is former military and currently attending the same college where the First Husband teaches.  He happens to be in the right place at the right time when an assassin takes a shot at the First Husband.  The author does a great job writing such a serious scene.  The confusion, terror, and adrenalin that you would expect to occur, in a situation like this, comes through clearly. 

This situation brings the two men together and it is while they are dealing with the after-math, that they realize that they have something in common that few others do.   The connection the two are forming is fragile and when a misunderstanding occurs, the relationship that is starting to develop almost comes to an end. These two are really something when they come together but things happen that bring Benji’s secrets and insecurities to the forefront.  More than once, I wanted to cry for Benji.  The PTSD he suffers, due to his time in the military, has a strong hold on him.  His reactions to various situations is realistic, which the author portraits perfectly.     

There is a lot in this story to keep the reader turning the pages.  I was up late into the night wanting to know what would happen next and how things between Benji and Jonah would play out.  As a side note, the situation with the First Husband and the President was as intriguing as the main story and I wondered why the author wasn’t touching more on this.  It was not until later that I found out that Love in the Line of Fire could be considered a follow up to a previous book by this author.  If after reading this current story you want to find out more, I suggest picking up The President’s Husband, I know I plan to. 

Love by Design

Author: Sam B. Morgan
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-68252-289-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Benjamin McIntyre is torn between pleasing his very traditional father and being happy in his personal life. For Ben, true happiness can only be found in the arms of Jeremy Lanzo.

Love by Design is a charming on and off romance. Ben and Jeremy have a mutual attraction to each other, but both men desperately try to hide their feelings.

Ben is bisexual and the vice president in his father’s international commercial construction company. He has an exuberant personality that works well for gaining new clients. However, his personal desires also show in his demeanor when Jeremy is within Ben’s sight.

Jeremy is openly gay and the lead designer at McIntyre. Although he has been in love with Ben for several years, Jeremy has the capacity to hide his emotions well or at the very least keep a safe social distance between them.  

Sam B. Morgan has created an enjoyable saga featuring some of the pitfalls of an employer / employee relationship. 

Naked Nights

Title:  Naked Nights
Author:  Vonna Harper
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-108-9
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Marina is a jockey but has gotten on a couple of the owner’s bad side because they don’t think a woman should be one.  They decide to remove her from the equation by hiring a group called Carnal to kidnap her.

Naked Nights is the first book in the Carnal Secrets series by Vonna Harper. This book has been revised from a previous release and publisher. Readers should be aware that this book is full of triggers and may also make some angry as well.  The basic premise is that Carnal kidnaps women, making them into sex slaves, which they sell.  It is also definitely outside the normal BDSM safeguards usually associated with the lifestyle.

Trey is a former professional football player who was injured and got involved with Carnal as an investor, but decides to become a trainer.  Marina is his first captive trainee.  Trey starts questioning himself as things progress, especially as he starts to know Marina.  The authorities aren’t too happy and are constantly questioning him about his methods, even sending another trainer to demonstrate some techniques, which doesn’t go over well.

Marina also questions herself, as she starts this journey she is forced on.  Several scenes are very intense and some can even be called torture.  Conversations confuse her feelings and the night before her auction, where the other women are as well, is bad.  The day of the auction is a surprise for Marina.

This book kept me guessing right up until the end.  Of course, there is a happy ending for Trey and Marina, but to get there is very intense.  There were times I had to put it down, just to keep perspective that this was just a story and not ripped out of headlines.  I don’t doubt the rest of this series will be as intense.  

The Prize

Title:  The Prize
Author:  Ashe Barker
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-122-5
Genre: {M/F/M}, BDSM, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Jessie wins a raffle that entitles her to one free month at the Vivant Club.  Along with the membership, she gets to have a night with two of the Doms in the club.  What she gets is Mark and Greg.

The Prize is the first book I’ve read by this author, and I really enjoyed her knowledge of the subject matter.  This is a fast-paced intense story about the first night Jessie claims her prize. The Vivant Club is an exclusive BDSM club that caters to some very wealthy people and has some very stringent requirements. I loved the butler and Jessie’s reaction to him.

Jessie is very surprised when she first arrives at the club.  Once she finishes the paperwork, she meets Greg and Mark. The scenes and chemistry between the three are very intense.  Both Doms are very knowledgeable and no-nonsense about what they want from Jessie. 

In the future, I would like to know more about the Vivant Club and possibly what happens to Jessie, Greg, and Mark after this first night.  I will be reading The Prize again in the future.  

Readers should be aware that this book was part the His Domain anthology by Totally Bound.

Corian: Ragadon Desire

Author:  Kymber Rowean
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0793-3
Genre: {M/F/M}, Ménage, Paranormal, Sci-Fi
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Nierra is a Corian, one of the ‘promised ones.  She is taken by the Confederacy, but until she is mated, they keep her on a short leash.  Nierra is very surprised when it turns out she has two mates, not one, and that they are dragons.

Corian: Ragadon Desire is the first book I’ve read by Kymber Rowean.  I do hope there will be more stories in the future about this world.  I do have to say when I first started reading this book, it was slow and I got a little confused because of the way it started.  There wasn’t a whole lot about this universe and it wasn’t until a third of the way into the book that things started to make sense.  Things do jump around between what is going on with Brok, Colin and Nierra.

General Dolvechz is the man that is keeping Nierra, along with others, prisoner. The General is a very cruel man and has plans to escape the Confederacy since he has lost power because Nierra hasn’t mated in the years she has been a prisoner.  Lots of other characters help the story along, both good and bad.  There are so many twists in this book once you get past the first part. 

Sabotage and intrigue abound as Nierra, Brok, Colin and others try to escape Dolvechz and his manipulations, especially since he is also being hunted.  There are a few light-hearted moments toward the end, and some people are reunited with family.  I did love the ending. 

As I stated above, I would like to read about some of the other characters in the future and hope the author turns this into a series as several threads need answering.

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Wolfmanny

Title: Wolfmanny
Author:  Julia Talbot
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-287-2
Genre: {M/M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Publish Date: Feb. 6, 2017

Kenneth was given custody of his nieces and nephews after the death of his sister.  But Kenneth is not only an Alpha, he’s also CEO of a large software company and doesn’t have the time to take care of the children on his own.  He’s gone through several different nannies and, after his oldest bites the latest nanny, he’s forced to look somewhere else for help.  What surprises Kenneth is that the nanny he is expecting turns out to be a many, as well as his mate.  Having Jack show up gives Kenneth the courage to claim Miles, his beta and other mate as well. 

Wolfmanny is the first book in Ms. Talbot’s new series, Nose to Tail, Inc.  This first book is a great shifter story with a few twists thrown in to keep the reader’s attention till the last page.  This is a ménage story that centers on the Alpha, Kenneth Marcon, his beta Miles, and the newest member of the household, Jack. 

First there is Kenneth.  From the beginning, it is easy to see how much he loves his nieces and nephews.  After caring for them so long, he sees them as his own children and will do anything for them.  I also liked the way he is with Miles, even before he claims his beta, he sees the man as his.  But Kenneth has a strong sense of responsibly and does not know when to step away from work.

Then there is Miles.  Miles is the pack beta.  It is his responsibility to be there for the pack when Kenneth isn’t.  He’s also Kenneth’s right hand man when it comes to the business.  When the new manny shows up, he is intrigued by the other man and is surprised by Kenneth’s reaction.

Last there is Jack.  Jack used to be an enforcer in his original pack.  He also has military training and has worked as a manny many times.  He is just what the Marcon family needs, not because they are bad kids but because they are young wolves with a lot of energy.  He is also just what Miles and Kenneth need as he helps Kenneth learn to relax and shows Miles that he is wanted.   With him there, the other two men are finally comfortable acknowledging their feelings for each other, as well as Jack.  I loved the chemistry between these three men.   Even though things move fast, it comes across naturally so the relationship between the men does not seem rushed.  Before the men have a chance to complete the mating, Kenneth must go away on business which leads to some hairy situations. 

There are a few little situations that pop up that will keep the reader’s attention.  One really surprised me and I felt bad for Simone, Kenneth’s oldest.  I also loved the children, especially Ginny and Thomas.  There are also a few other secondary characters that really help make the story.  

I am curious to see what the next story will be about and hope we will not have to wait too long.

Thick & Thin

Title: Thick & Thin
Author: Charlie Cochet
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-389-3
Genre: M/M, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Release Date Feb 1, 2017

Everything is changing for Destructive Delta; the biggest change will be Dex and Sloan’s life together as well as a change in their career duties.

Thick & Thin is the sequel to Smoke & Mirrors and the eighth book in the THIRDS series.  Kidnapped from the home he shares with Sloan, Dex is interrogated by a mysterious Therian where Dex learns the whole truth about his parents, John and Gina Daley’s homicide. This new information has set Dex on a mission to root out the secret government agencies, but access to the identities of the underground operation means he must become an undercover agent for the Therian Intelligence Network.

The second part of Dex’s mission, along with soon to be husband Sloan, is to protect their Destructive Delta family.

Thick & Thin answers questions of events introduced in Smoke & Mirrors, as well as opens the doors for the next level of crime fighting. Think of it as FBI agents promoted to CIA in the world today. 

Charlie Cochet has created another impressive and enjoyable installment to the THIRDS series. I look forward to discovering the answers to the burning questions of who is this underground government and what do they want? 

Wulf and the Bounty Hunter

Author:  Gail Koger
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-227-1
Genre: {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Wulf meets Yakira as a child, after she steals his credit chip.  Not only does he discover she is a Jones, he realizes she is his mate and wants to protect her until she is 21, when he can claim her.  Yakira gets away and doesn’t meet Wulf again until she is close to being of age.

Wulf and the Bounty Hunter is the sixth book in the Coletti Warlords and highlights another Warlord and a Jones woman.  Those that have read previous stories know that a Jones woman has a way of constantly being in trouble and is also very smart and, for the most part, is also a warrior with lots of psychic talent.  Yakira is no exception to this rule, as is the non-stop action in this stories.

I love the way Ms. Koger works humor into her stories.  The women are constantly snarky to all, including their Warlords.  A lot of characters from previous books show up as Yakira and the sister of her heart constantly come up with ideas that get them into trouble. I was constantly laughing at the mishaps.

Between kidnappings, threats, and trying to get together, Yakira and Wulf get to know each other and Yakira doesn’t want to wait to mate.  Even though things get hot and heavy between them mentally and with kisses, Wulf keeps putting her off.  They have some great chemistry and I laughed at how quickly they left their bonding ceremony. 

I am looking forward to reading more about the Coletti Warlords in the future.  This is one series I am looking forward to reading over and over again.

Destination, Wedding!

Author:  Xavier Maine
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-198-1
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Release Date: Jan. 30, 2017

Ethan and Gabriel are finally getting married.  That is if they can get to the church on time.  With Mother Nature putting her two cents in, the men are worried about what this will mean for the happiest day of their lives.

Destination, Wedding!  is the sixth book in the Brandt and Donnelly Capers series.  In this book, Ethan and Gabriel are ready to get married but when a previous case causes them to lose their wedding venue, the simple wedding they planned becomes a destination wedding in England.  If that is not a big enough problem, the men become separated.  First when Ethan has to go to San Diego for a conference, and then later when a volcano erupts in Iceland, causing many flights to be canceled.  This is really the first time the two men have been away from each other since becoming partners while on the job, and both are struggling with that separation.  As Ethan and Gabriel make their way to England, they are forced to take a deeper look at who they are as individuals and what the other person means to them. 

I really loved this story.  I have been waiting for these two to get married from the moment they got together and wondered how the author would go about doing that.  This story did not disappoint.  The separation Ethan and Gabriel are forced to endure is one full of adventure for both, yet they still miss the other and while Gabriel sees just how much Ethan means to him, it is Ethan that really under goes the biggest change.  When these two finally meet up again, watch out because they will burn up the pages.

There are a lot of secondary characters in Destination, Wedding!.  Of course, Bryce and Nestor are there and these two will have you laughing from the moment they show up until the last page of the book.  When they went to the truck stop, I laughed so hard I almost cried.  Bryce’s logic, when it came to getting to England was over the top crazy, does not do their trip justice. 

There are also several new secondary characters introduced, some of whom play important roles in this story.  There is also a couple of minor mysteries, both of which are slightly shocking.  

This story is slightly different from the previous ones and has become my favorite of the bunch.  I hope the author has no plans to end this series yet as I would love to see more of Ethan and Gabriel in the future

A Christmas in Paradise

Author:  Tianna Xander
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0656-1
Genre: {M/F/M}, Paranormal, Series, Holiday
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Grant and Trey regret leaving Evie in New Jersey, but they don’t think she can accept what they are.  Evie decides to go to Montana to visit for Christmas.

A Christmas in Paradise is the nineteenth book in the Paradise series.  This book is a little different from the previous ones, as there is not a shattering life event.  Instead this book is about three people reconnecting and figuring out what they really want and need.

Evie already knew about the two men being shifters and is hurt by the fact the two didn’t talk to her as she thought of them as her best friends.  Grant and Trey know she is their mate, but were afraid to share their secret in case of rejection and didn’t think she could handle a poly relationship.  It is easy to tell that they have chemistry.

A few characters from previous books make a very brief appearance. I was a little puzzled about how Evie became friends online with Gemma though. 

I hope there will be more in this series and that readers will learn more about the Rangers who became shifters and their future mates.

Melissa’s Christmas Wish

Author:  M.R. Kelly
Publisher:  eXtasy books
Publisher URL:  http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0956-2
Genre:  {M/F} Paranormal, BBBW, Holiday
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

All Mel wants is to spend her last night as a student hanging out with her best friend.  However, things don’t go as planned when Mel finds herself in a dangerous situation.  As far as Mel knows, all hope is lost and she could perish at any moment. 

Serghei is a vampire who is no stranger to protecting others. When he has visions of a beautiful, mysterious black woman, he knows he has to help her.  Unfortunately Serghei has no idea who she is or where to start.  All he knows is that something about her is drawing him in.

Melissa’s Christmas Wish has a lot of drama and story packed into this short read.  I was sad when it ended.  Mel’s relationship with her best friend was so moving.  They seemed to understand each other more than their families.  That kind of bond is hard to come by and I appreciate M.R. Kelly reminding me of the importance of a great friend.  I was impressed by the amount of honor that Serghei has.  Without hesitation, he jumped to help Mel and without hesitation, Serghei also decided to walk away. Thank GOD Mel was not afraid to share her feelings with him.  Readers will be rejuvenated from this story, no doubt.  The blend of action and romance is impossible to resist.

The Alien’s Holiday Gift

Author:  Lee-Ann Wallace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0957-9
Genre:  Science Fiction, Holiday, 
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Petra is constantly being rejected as a mate because she can’t have children.  She is very surprised when Kartoc, her guard, approaches her about becoming his mate.

The Aliens Holiday Gift by Lee-Ann Wallace is the first book by this author I have read.  It is a fast read but there were a few gaps regarding questions.  Why the Morgaths were looking for mates among human women was a question never answered.  The mating process was interesting because of the various transformations involved for both parties.

Kartoc has a reason he chose Petra that is revealed toward the end after she goes through a traumatic event.  I could understand why Petra decided Kartoc could have anything he wanted after that revelation.

Several of the secondary characters were interesting and one decided to ignore the rules for choosing a mate, which resulted in a tragedy for him.  Unfortunately, Petra also had a hand in what happened because she wasn’t quite ready to change her mind about leaving Morgath. 

I will be looking for other books by this author to read and will probably read this one again.

Solider of Fortune

Author:  S.J. Frost
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02016-0666
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Conrad is a mercenary and makes no bones about it.  He’s done jobs and worked for people that would make the average person cringe.  That does not mean that if the right person came along, he won’t be a softer gentler man. 

Soldier of Fortune is a great story for those that love at least one of their main characters to be a little on the dark side.  Conrad is a mercenary but, unlike those we normally see, he did not get his start through the military.  In fact, Conrad started training while still a teenager and when readers realize why, his actions become understandable.  Conrad has been doing his job for many years now and while he had an exit plan, he did not realize that he would be putting it into effect so early.

Lucas is the son of a wealthy man.  Since it has always been just the two of them, Lucas and his father are close.  When Mr. Hartman decides to run for public office, Lucas couldn’t be prouder until someone takes a shot at his father during a campaign stop.  When Mr. Hartman hires a bodyguard, Lucas is shocked by how drawn to the other man he is. 

There is an instant connection between Lucas and Conrad from the very beginning.  I loved their first meeting and had to laugh at Lucas’ reaction to Conrad.  The connection from Conrad’s side is just as strong but, where Lucas deals with worry that Conrad is straight, Conrad wonders about being good enough for the younger man.  Thankfully neither of these are issues that the author drags out. 

Woven through the story of Lucas’ and Conrad’s relationship is the mystery of who tried to kill Mr. Hartman and why.  This part of the story is a little predictable, but readers will still find themselves turning the pages to see how everything will play out.  This is also where Conrad’s dark side really shines.  I liked that this was something that Lucas could deal with and that he even worried about being so accepting of Conrad’s actions. 

I did think the story ended a little too soon and I hope the author will bring them back for more.  Fans of Ms. Frost’s are sure to enjoy Soldier of Fortune and those who have yet to give this author a try should do so.

Friday, January 13, 2017

Five Minutes Longer

Author:  Victoria Sue
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63477-916-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Science Fiction
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Finn Mayer has wanted to be in the FBI since he was 14 years old.  He’s worked hard to accomplish his dreams, putting up with more than anyone should so when he is denied his dream, he is devastated.  Just when he is ready to find something else, he gets a call that changes his life.

Five Minutes Longer is a new book by author Victoria Sue. I want to say right off the bat that I hope the author plans to turn this into a series as there is still a lot of story to tell.  All the characters, both main and secondary, will pull you into the story from the beginning and you will not put the book down until you have finished it. 

Finn is dyslexic and has worked hard to overcome his problem.  He has also kept his learning problems to himself to keep from facing the ridicule his brother and mother would send his way.  Unfortunately, Finn does not get into the FBI like he wanted.  To make matters worse, he finds himself the target of his mother and brother’s BS and decides he has had enough.  Getting ready to walk out the door, Finn get a call asking him to come to Florida for training.

Talon is an enhanced human.  Bigger and stronger than a normal human, enhanced humans also have special powers, all of which make them targets of those afraid of them.  Hoping to show that normals have nothing to fear from the enhanced, Talon and the FBI form a special unit, but there is one problem.  The powers that be want the unit to be made up of normals and enhanced, something that Talon and the others making up the unit are against. 

Unaware that he is being set up to fail from the beginning, Finn is excited about his chance to get into the FBI.  Then he realizes what is going on.  Determined to prove to everyone that he can be an asset, he works hard, but it’s too bad he can’t get Talon out of his mind. 

The attraction between these two is intense.  Both want the other but fear getting involved.  Talon also has a few issues that pop up, keeping him from admitting just what the young normal means to him.  Outside factors also play into the men’s relationship, usually showing up just when you think Talon and Finn have a chance at a relationship.  

There are a lot of little twists and secrets in Five Minutes Longer that will keep you reading.  There are also moments that will tug at your heart strings.  As I stated in the beginning, I really hope the author plans to make this a series.  I am curious to see what happens with the other members of H.E.R.O.  and I think Talon and Finn have more to tell as well.  Fans of the mystery, science fiction, or action sub-genres are sure to like this story and should really give it a try.  

My Mistletoe Master

Author:  Cameron Allie
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0837-4
Genre:   {M/F} BDSM, Holiday, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Amelia has stayed away from home after humiliating herself at a party with her brother’s best friend, Nick.  Because of his loyalty to her brother, Nick has always regretted not telling Amelia how he felt.  Things will change this year at Christmas.

My Mistletoe Master is the first book in the Unexpected Changes series by Cameron Allie.  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect as this is the first book by this author I have read and not all authors can write about BDSM well.  I was pleasantly surprised, especially as Nick wasn’t an established Dom and the story indicated that he was doing research so he could meet Amelia’s expectations.

I had to laugh at both Amelia’s and Nick’s reactions when she thought she was alone and started watching a kinky video and Nick caught her.  That was the catalyst for the rest of the story.  I found it interesting that Amelia is the one that didn’t want people to know they were together after that.  There were also some very funny moments when her brother was trying to figure out what was going on as well as almost catching them.

Several of Amelia’s relatives are funny and I had to laugh at Amelia’s grandmother.  With trying to conceal their relationship, Amelia’s ex showing up at a party, and other friends trying to make a play for Nick, there were plenty of times that would make you cry, laugh, or want to slap someone in this book.

The author did a good job of showing how both people try to find their way when both were inexperienced, but one party already knew about their submissive side.  I’m glad the author made sure to mention safe words and that Nick made sure Amelia used them. 

I want to see where the author takes this series. I sort of want to see what happens with Amelia’s brother.

Treasure for Treasure

Author:  R. Cooper
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63477-888-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Joe wants out of Everlasting.  The town is supposed to be special, yet all Joe has ever found is pain and heartbreak.  Now back in town, after leaving for college, Joe is working as a barista and selling his paintings on the side.  When dragons return to Everlasting, many are scared, but Joe is just pissed.

Treasure for Treasure is the seventh book in the Being(s) in Love series.  This story is nice and long, which I liked, as it gives the readers a chance to get to know the characters.  In this story those characters, both main and secondary, really make this story shine.

The main characters are Joe and Zarrin.  Joe is a normal human.  He has a long history in the small town of Everlasting.  Growing up poor and a minority, he had his fair share of bullies and bigots to contended with.  The one thing he thought made a difference was his boyfriend.  That is until he realized he was just being used.  Joe’s history with the town is introduced in the story’s prologue.  Normally I can take or leave prologues, but this one pulled me in and I felt so bad for Joe and what he had gone through. 

Zarrin is a dragon and, like Joe, has a long history with the town of Everlasting.  Zarrin’s family goes back to the start of the town and his several times great-grandmother.  Dizhen’s magic was strong, protecting the town and those that lived there.  When Dizhen passed, her heirs were tasked with the protection of Everlasting.  Most ended up leaving, that is if they even showed up until Zarrin. 

Zarrin is young and weak by dragon standards.  He’s the only one in his family with any interest in the town yet, while the town folks are afraid of him, Zarrin does not feel he has what it takes to step into Dizhen’s shoes.  I really loved Zarrin.  He wants so badly to be a dragon his family can be proud of, but it boils down to the fact that they are so different that no matter what he did, they would not change their opinion of him.  In the end Zarrin proves to himself and others just what type of dragon he really is. 

The relationship between Zarrin and Joe starts out rocky and stays that way for some time.  There are a lot of misunderstandings on both sides, plus the fact that Joe has a big chip on his shoulder where the dragons are concerned.  The turning point in their relationship is very harsh and I felt so bad for Zarrin I wanted to cry. 

By far Treasure for Treasure is my favorite of all the books in the Being(s) in Love series.  While each book can be read on its own, many of the books tie in to each other so new readers to this series may want to read the books in order.