Friday, January 13, 2017

Five Minutes Longer

Author:  Victoria Sue
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63477-916-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Science Fiction
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Finn Mayer has wanted to be in the FBI since he was 14 years old.  He’s worked hard to accomplish his dreams, putting up with more than anyone should so when he is denied his dream, he is devastated.  Just when he is ready to find something else, he gets a call that changes his life.

Five Minutes Longer is a new book by author Victoria Sue. I want to say right off the bat that I hope the author plans to turn this into a series as there is still a lot of story to tell.  All the characters, both main and secondary, will pull you into the story from the beginning and you will not put the book down until you have finished it. 

Finn is dyslexic and has worked hard to overcome his problem.  He has also kept his learning problems to himself to keep from facing the ridicule his brother and mother would send his way.  Unfortunately, Finn does not get into the FBI like he wanted.  To make matters worse, he finds himself the target of his mother and brother’s BS and decides he has had enough.  Getting ready to walk out the door, Finn get a call asking him to come to Florida for training.

Talon is an enhanced human.  Bigger and stronger than a normal human, enhanced humans also have special powers, all of which make them targets of those afraid of them.  Hoping to show that normals have nothing to fear from the enhanced, Talon and the FBI form a special unit, but there is one problem.  The powers that be want the unit to be made up of normals and enhanced, something that Talon and the others making up the unit are against. 

Unaware that he is being set up to fail from the beginning, Finn is excited about his chance to get into the FBI.  Then he realizes what is going on.  Determined to prove to everyone that he can be an asset, he works hard, but it’s too bad he can’t get Talon out of his mind. 

The attraction between these two is intense.  Both want the other but fear getting involved.  Talon also has a few issues that pop up, keeping him from admitting just what the young normal means to him.  Outside factors also play into the men’s relationship, usually showing up just when you think Talon and Finn have a chance at a relationship.  

There are a lot of little twists and secrets in Five Minutes Longer that will keep you reading.  There are also moments that will tug at your heart strings.  As I stated in the beginning, I really hope the author plans to make this a series.  I am curious to see what happens with the other members of H.E.R.O.  and I think Talon and Finn have more to tell as well.  Fans of the mystery, science fiction, or action sub-genres are sure to like this story and should really give it a try.  

My Mistletoe Master

Author:  Cameron Allie
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0837-4
Genre:   {M/F} BDSM, Holiday, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Amelia has stayed away from home after humiliating herself at a party with her brother’s best friend, Nick.  Because of his loyalty to her brother, Nick has always regretted not telling Amelia how he felt.  Things will change this year at Christmas.

My Mistletoe Master is the first book in the Unexpected Changes series by Cameron Allie.  I wasn’t quite sure what to expect as this is the first book by this author I have read and not all authors can write about BDSM well.  I was pleasantly surprised, especially as Nick wasn’t an established Dom and the story indicated that he was doing research so he could meet Amelia’s expectations.

I had to laugh at both Amelia’s and Nick’s reactions when she thought she was alone and started watching a kinky video and Nick caught her.  That was the catalyst for the rest of the story.  I found it interesting that Amelia is the one that didn’t want people to know they were together after that.  There were also some very funny moments when her brother was trying to figure out what was going on as well as almost catching them.

Several of Amelia’s relatives are funny and I had to laugh at Amelia’s grandmother.  With trying to conceal their relationship, Amelia’s ex showing up at a party, and other friends trying to make a play for Nick, there were plenty of times that would make you cry, laugh, or want to slap someone in this book.

The author did a good job of showing how both people try to find their way when both were inexperienced, but one party already knew about their submissive side.  I’m glad the author made sure to mention safe words and that Nick made sure Amelia used them. 

I want to see where the author takes this series. I sort of want to see what happens with Amelia’s brother.

Treasure for Treasure

Author:  R. Cooper
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63477-888-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Joe wants out of Everlasting.  The town is supposed to be special, yet all Joe has ever found is pain and heartbreak.  Now back in town, after leaving for college, Joe is working as a barista and selling his paintings on the side.  When dragons return to Everlasting, many are scared, but Joe is just pissed.

Treasure for Treasure is the seventh book in the Being(s) in Love series.  This story is nice and long, which I liked, as it gives the readers a chance to get to know the characters.  In this story those characters, both main and secondary, really make this story shine.

The main characters are Joe and Zarrin.  Joe is a normal human.  He has a long history in the small town of Everlasting.  Growing up poor and a minority, he had his fair share of bullies and bigots to contended with.  The one thing he thought made a difference was his boyfriend.  That is until he realized he was just being used.  Joe’s history with the town is introduced in the story’s prologue.  Normally I can take or leave prologues, but this one pulled me in and I felt so bad for Joe and what he had gone through. 

Zarrin is a dragon and, like Joe, has a long history with the town of Everlasting.  Zarrin’s family goes back to the start of the town and his several times great-grandmother.  Dizhen’s magic was strong, protecting the town and those that lived there.  When Dizhen passed, her heirs were tasked with the protection of Everlasting.  Most ended up leaving, that is if they even showed up until Zarrin. 

Zarrin is young and weak by dragon standards.  He’s the only one in his family with any interest in the town yet, while the town folks are afraid of him, Zarrin does not feel he has what it takes to step into Dizhen’s shoes.  I really loved Zarrin.  He wants so badly to be a dragon his family can be proud of, but it boils down to the fact that they are so different that no matter what he did, they would not change their opinion of him.  In the end Zarrin proves to himself and others just what type of dragon he really is. 

The relationship between Zarrin and Joe starts out rocky and stays that way for some time.  There are a lot of misunderstandings on both sides, plus the fact that Joe has a big chip on his shoulder where the dragons are concerned.  The turning point in their relationship is very harsh and I felt so bad for Zarrin I wanted to cry. 

By far Treasure for Treasure is my favorite of all the books in the Being(s) in Love series.  While each book can be read on its own, many of the books tie in to each other so new readers to this series may want to read the books in order. 

Oops!

Title: Oops!
Author:  Anne Kane
Publisher:  Changeling Press
ISBN/BIN:  07866-02538
Genre:  {M/F} Contemporary, Guilty Pleasures, Humor
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

They say things happen in 3’s and these three friends definitely make some things happen.  Caroline, Jackie and Stephanie have come up with a plan to save their business.  These ladies are the proud owners of a quaint bed and breakfast.  Or, at least they were until they discovered some illegal changes in the paperwork, which now has them evicted. 

The friends refuse to take this lying down so they decide to snatch the traitorous man who caused this.  They would convince him to do the right thing by giving him the scare of his life.  In theory it sounded like a plan that couldn’t fail, but in reality things took a left turn right from the beginning.

Jebediah kept telling the ladies that he wasn’t the man they were looking for, but they refused to listen.  Truthfully, they all seemed kind of frightening, except for Jackie.  Something about her was calling to him, so Jebediah became less upset about being tied up. His hands ached to have a much better purpose, if only he could convince Jackie to untie him. 

Eventually the ladies realize their mistake, but not before things take an erotic turn. The whole situation brings out things in Jackie that she has never acted on and Jebediah is about to lose control.  Just when it seems all hope is lost, Jebediah gives the ladies some information that saves their bed and breakfast. 

Something about kidnapping a man and having him helpless gives every woman a rush.  Oops!, the first installment of the Yule Tied series was an adventure gone wrong but man, it couldn’t have ended more perfectly.  I felt like I knew this group of women so I knew they wouldn’t hurt a fly.  I was shocked because I thought all of them were more straight laced, and boy was I mistaken.  Jackie had no shame in her game when it came to Jebediah and I liked that about her.  She gave her two girlfriends a show I doubt they were expecting.  Thank goodness Jebediah was on their side.  This quick read has everything from comedy to action and adventure.  The ending was so clever and unexpected, I loved it.  Anne Kane did an outstanding job on kicking off this series, and readers will be missing out if they don’t pick this one up.

Alien Conquest

Title:  Alien Conquest
Author:  Tracy St. John
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-063-1
Genre: {M/F/M/M}, BDSM, Sci-Fi, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Cassidy has been in a convent on Europa for three years.  As her grandfather comes to get her to go back to Earth, the convent is taken captive by the Kalquorians.  Cassidy becomes the chosen one for Captain Tranis and his clan.

Alien Conquest is the third book in the Clans of Kalquor series.  This book goes into more detail about how the Kalquorians try to re-educate the women, although the medic in the clan determines that it is the wrong approach to take.  I will warn readers that there is more sex in this book compared to the others I read previously, and there are some things that could cause some triggers. 

One of the reasons the Captain was following Cassidy’s grandfather was because of his position in the military on Earth, as the Kalquorians want to end the war by an invasion. There is a major surprise for everyone in the Galaxy that I did not see coming.  This will affect all the rest of the stories in the series for sure.

I really liked Cassidy.  She was extremely smart and wanted to learn as much as she wanted, but her education had been cut short.  As Tranis, Lidon and Degorsk were trying to break her repressive training regarding pleasure, they discovered this fact and offered to provide tutors so she could study anything she wanted once they returned to Kalquor.  It was clear the chemistry between the four was hot, but Cassidy kept going back and forth about enjoying it, or thinking she was terrible for enjoying herself.  Things do work out in the end. 

I have enjoyed reading this series so far and am looking forward to reading more. As with previous books in this series, Alien Conquest is available through this publisher if you reside outside the U.S., otherwise the book can be purchased at Amazon (hyperlink for title), which is where the author’s website sends readers in the U.S.  Readers also need to be aware that this series was published previously and has been revised for Totally Bound.

Regifted

Title: Regifted
Author:  B.J. McCall
Publisher:  Changeling Press
ISBN/BIN:  07869-02539
Genre:  {M/F} Paranormal, Christmas
Rating:  3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Fern Lantry volunteered to work late, not expecting anything exciting to happen.  She is happily surprised when her boss gives her a Christmas gift.  Fern’s happiness takes a nose dive when she realizes the gift has been regifted to her.  But, Fern puts on the exotic perfume anyway.

Pace Holden misses the mountains and his pack, but something was giving him hope that Christmas would be better than he originally thought.  The scent of his new neighbor was driving him crazy, and he just had to meet her.  She was human, but she smelled of wolf pheromones, and Pace didn’t know why.  A storm hits and causes all the power to go out, giving Pace the perfect chance to get close to Fern. 

Things between Fern and Pace move quickly in Regifted, the second installment of the Yule Tied series.  Once the couple start going down the road the perfume guided them to, there was no turning back.  Fern has never been up close and personal with a shifter before and she’s dying to take whatever her wolf lover is ready to give.  As far as Pace is concerned, Fern is going to be his forever.  Reading about the couple’s time together left me with a warm happily ever after feeling that I never get enough of.  I loved the fact that two lonely people find each other during the holidays.  Readers should give this story a read and hope that Santa is half as nice to them. 

A Bond of Truth

Author: K.C. Wells
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-134-9
Genre: {M/M/M} High Fantasy, Sequel
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Prince Arrio of Teruna, Prince Kei of Vancor and Dainon of Kandor are three strangers destined to be soul mates for a lifetime.

A Bond of Truth is the sequel to A Bond of Three. The sequel features the next generation of lovers set in the fantasy world. Some of the inhabitants of this world were blessed with special gifts to help mankind. These talents are featured throughout the story, bringing a whimsical premise to a budding romance.  

Prince Arrio is the adopted son of King Tanish and his two consorts. Arrio is a caring young man who is loved by all in the kingdom.

Prince Kei has lead a sheltered life, mainly because of being the younger son of an overprotective mother. Kei loves adventure and was finally allowed his freedom when the King gave Kei permission to visit his brother Sorran, one of King Tanish’s consorts.

Since Kandor has been at peace for years, Dainon’s duties as a warrior are not needed, so at the request of King Rohar, Dainon travels to Teruna to seek aid. Dainon comes from a kingdom where same sex couples are outlawed.   

The three men are well-matched in personality; all three are honorable along with having compassion. Arrio and Kei have magical gifts, while Dainon has the good instincts as well as the skills of a warrior. Arrio, Kei and Dainon also have the emotional fears of a new relationship.

A Bond of Truth is an enjoyably enchanting tale into sensual explorations.

Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Enemy of My Enemy

Author:  Tal Bauer
Publisher: Nine Star Press
Publisher URL: http://ninestarpress.com
ISBN: 978-1-911153-96-2
Genre: {M/M}, Political Thriller, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jack and Ethan are back, and so is their most hated enemy.  The men must pull in all their chips to find out what is going on, and even then, it may not be enough.

Enemy of My Enemy is the second book in the Executive Office series by author Tal Bauer.  This is a series that must be read in order, so if you have not read Enemies of the State, you may want to stop reading this review to keep from seeing any spoilers.  

Enemy of My Enemy starts where Enemies of the State ended, with Ethan agreeing to move into the White House, becoming the First Gentleman.  He also agrees to go to work for Irwin, heading an off the books black-ops mission.  As you can imagine, many in the White House circle are not happy and soon Jack finds himself looking for a new Vice-President.  It was interesting seeing how these two strong men worked to make this new change in their relationship work.   But soon their relationship has more rough turns than either expected. 

When Madigan returns, he sets into motion a plot that will have the readers wondering just what the hell is going on and whether Jack and Ethan will ever be able to stop him.  In Enemy of My Enemy, Madigan’s crazy really shines through.  The things this nut job does, and the plans he has, is just one of the many parts of this story that will keep the readers turning the pages.  There are other twists in this book that will grab the reader’s attention as well.  More than once I was worried how things would turn out.

Many of the characters we met in the first book, besides Madigan, Jack, and Ethan, show up in this story as well.  Puchkov’s life takes an interesting turn and so does Lt. Cooper’s.  I can’t wait for both their stories. 

While I enjoy the romantic aspect of this series, for me, it is the political thriller area where the author really shines.  I love the way the author has of pulling the readers in, and keeping the story fresh.  The only real problem I have found, would be that it is very easy to reveal spoilers while talking about this book.  I think everyone will be surprised by the way Enemy of My Enemy plays out, and I hope book three is just around the corner because I really need to know what happens.

The Last Dance

Title:  The Last Dance
Author:  Kierney Scott
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-219-6
Genre: {M/F}, Suspense, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Georgina ends up working as a spy because she started using cocaine to lose weight when she was vying for the prima ballerina spot in the ballet company she was working for.  Her latest target is not someone she wants anything to do with.  Roman knows Georgina is a plant, but can’t resist her.

The Last Dance is a story of a woman trying to survive her past and the mistakes she made.  Once she gets involved with Roman, her life changes as she is caught between her handler and Roman, two very dangerous men.

At first this story starts slow, but picks up as it goes along.  The chemistry between Roman and Georgina is hot, but things are complicated by the fact Roman knows she is supposed to target him.  There are some facts that Georgina is not aware of about her handler that make what happens toward the end surprising, as I certainly did not expect some of things that happened.

I do have to say, I didn’t like Roman at that point at all.  The reasons are all explained at the end, and Roman and Georgina do get their happily ever after, but I’m not sure I would have been as forgiving about what he did. 

The other characters in the book are a mixed bag.  Some I liked, but even then, what they did and who they worked for sent a lot of mixed signals when it can to helping Georgina.

I would say this story could be a cautionary tale for women who want to work in other countries.  Once the story picked up, it was one I had to finish.  This was also the first book I have read by this author and will be looking for more.

Falling into Darkness

Author: L.M. Brown
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-78651-509-4
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy 
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx
  
A bond of heavenly love forms between Michael and Lucifer in the realm of angels, the only paradise Michael and Lucifer will ever know after Lucifer falls from grace, leaving Michael torn between good and evil.

Falling into Darkness is a stand-alone book of Michael and Lucifer’s history before the Heavenly Sins series. Lucifer was the favored above all the angels in heaven; he was titled son of the morning by God. Michael is an archangel, one of his duties is to watch over mankind and save the souls of those worthy.

The storyline has a religious overtone as a backdrop. Falling into Darkness features the angel wars as well as the emotional drama of good versus evil. However, the main theme is the compromises made to achieve enduring love between Lucifer and Michael. Lucifer is a powerful angel, a little vain and a charlatan. What is interesting to me is, unlike other angels who break the rules, Lucifer still retained his powers to create demons, so in that sense he was a God of the underworld and perhaps an example of wickedness. 

L.M. Brown has created an impressive illustration of the dilemma in regards to making the right choices. I enjoyed Michael and Lucifer’s sensual romance.

Enticement

Title:  Enticement
Author:  Sierra Cartwright
Publisher:  Totally Bound Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-109-6
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating:4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Ella doesn’t want to fall in love with someone that won’t be there for her.  When she ends up flirting with a man that has some issues with the word no, her best friend’s brother rescues her.  What she doesn’t count on is falling in love with him as she thinks he is so wrong for her since he is a military man.

Enticement is the second book in the Master Class series by Sierra Cartwright.  Those familiar with Ms. Cartwright’s work know she writes mostly within the BDSM genre.  I did have one issue with this book, and that was the choice of the safeword that Ella has.  It was discussed within the story as to why she had that particular word, but those familiar with the lifestyle will probably still have an issue with it as I do.  Other safety issues were addressed appropriately.

Ella is curious though she has dabbled in the past in BDSM.  Until Pierce comes along, she really hasn’t experienced the way an experienced Dom can make a sub feel.  Sometimes I did think Ella was trying too much to please Pierce, but soon realized she was into what she and Pierce were doing.  The two have some great chemistry, but the biggest problem is Ella’s mindset.

Pierce has his own issues that involve his family.  As the story progresses, friends step in to try to help and other issues come up.  I loved the way the story did end and enjoyed the way that Ella and Pierce reconciled.  There were a couple of surprises. 

Though this stories has been previously published with another publisher, this series can be read as standalone stories so far.  I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

Hunting Season Hijinks

Author:  Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN: 978-1-4874-0901-2
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

It’s hunting season again, but unlike most seasons, Gideon is on his own since his father is sick.  But things don’t go the way he had planned, and Gideon can’t decide if he is surprised or not.

Hunting Season Hijinks, the 38th book in Ms. Richards Wolves of Stone Ridge series, touches on one of the odd ball questions that floats around in my head whenever I read a story about shifters.  How come no one gets caught by hunters while running around in the woods?  In this newest book, that is exactly what happens.

Gideon has grown up around Stone Ridge and, while investigating the woods, he has noticed many unusual things.  This has lead the young man to have an open mind about what is around him.  This comes in handy when, while bow hunting, he takes down a deer that runs off.  After tracking it, he comes across a naked man who has been shot, in the same areas that Gideon shot the deer.  Gideon is surprised by the feelings the man brings up, especially once he becomes conscious again.

Alejandro is on the run.  His herd requires him to mate with several females to enlarge the size of the herd. The problem is that Alejandro is gay and there is no way he can get any female pregnant.  The only thing left is for him to get out of Arizona before his alpha or beta can kill him.   While looking for the Stone Ridge pack, with hopes of getting accepted into the area, Alejandro smells something that intrigues him, but before he can find out what it is, he is shot by a hunter. 

I liked the way these two met.  It is so far from the norm, which is a refreshing change, that you can’t help getting caught up in the story.  I also liked the connection between the two men, and the fact that they waste no time jumping into bed, fits with the flow of the story.  The chemistry between them is hot and the care Alejandro took with Gideon made me smile. 

I had started to wonder if there would be any real conflict in Hunting Season Hijinks and the author did not disappoint.  There is the problem with Gideon’s ex, who brings some surprising and deadly results, as well as the issue of Alejandro’s herd that must be settled.  I liked the way the whole story plays out and think this could easily be one of my favorites in the series.  

Mischief & the Masters


Author:  Cherise Sinclair
Publisher:  Self Published
Publisher URL:  http://cherisesinclair.com/
ISBN/BIN9780997552942
Genre:  M/F/M, BDSM, Series
Rating:  Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Uzuri fears big men, especially Doms.  Master Z has allowed her two years to get her act together at Shadowlands, but her time is now up.  Uzuri is looking for one short Master for herself, but she ends up with the Drago cousins who are not short, by any means.

Mischief & the Masters is the twelfth book of the Masters of the Shadowlands series and is one of the best in the series.  Those that have followed this series know that Uzuri is a prankster and pulls pranks on those Masters that she trusts, thus earning a nickname of Mischief.  She is also very soft hearted and will do anything she can for her friends, but she doesn’t open up to others or ask for help.

Alastair and Max are looking for someone, but aren’t sure they want to take on Uzuri’s problems.  They agree to help at Master Z’s request.  Uzuri ends up staying with them after almost getting run down.  The chemistry between the three is scorching hot, but to voice their feeling as their relationship progresses will depend on what happens after Uzuri’s problems take a deadly turn.

The usual care about communication and safe words are threaded throughout the book as both Alastair and Max are the type of Doms most of us would want to have.  They really look out for Uzuri, and even though they find some of her pranks funny, they don’t let her get away with disobedience.  One incident also has consequences for a couple of her friends, though one thing Uzuri learned comes in handy at the end of the book.

The Masters and Shadowkittens from previous books all show up to help when needed.  The way the author tends to weave the problems the main characters have, along with the solutions, kept me on the edge of my seat.  Because of Uzuri’s penchant for pranks, there are also some very lighthearted moments and, at times, I was laughing aloud.  This is also a book I could not stop reading once I started. 

I am looking forward to seeing what Ms. Sinclair has in store for Holt in the future.  Those that are fans will not be disappointed in this book at all.  The wait was well worth it.

The Dark Side

Author: Laura Baumbach
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02016-0629
Genre: {M/M} Suspense Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

As a child Alex Throne was taught to stay calm and think of an escape plan. Those lessons served adult Alex well when he was kidnapped. Unfortunately, Alex’s only escape was a fall into the ocean; fortunately Alex fell within reach of Reese Holt.

The Dark Side is the first book in the Reese Holt series. The plot is like a deadly complex puzzle, each piece is a clue adding to the big picture of the perpetrator’s identity. The plot exhibits a touching good vs. evil description, making it easy to feel emotionally involved in the down-to-earth, sometimes amusing characters.

Alex is a modest man that becomes the pawn in this thriller, he has no interest in taking over his billionaire father’s companies. Instead Alex chose to do part of the accounting work as a concession to his father’s concern for safety plea. Although Alex was not involved in the company’s main operations, he was targeted because of his highly intelligent accounting skills as well as a threat to any corruption within the company.

Security specialist Reese Holt is the owner of Overlap Security Service, a company that deals with high risk assignments. Reese, along with his staff, are all compassionate, highly skilled, the best of the best former military. Though Reese and his team are classified as civilians, they perform their missions in a precision military manner.

Rather than the billionaire’s request to hire him after returning Alex to his home, it is the hint of a mutual attraction between them that influenced Reese to become Alex’s bodyguard. Each new concentrated attack on Alex’s life garners more multifaceted clues until the list of suspects emerged and the quarry is finally captured.

The Dark Side is an excellent enjoyable saga. The engaging main characters are well-matched with similar backgrounds and personality traits. The combat style fighting is intense with a few surprises included. The criminals are a cold blooded nasty piece of work that inspires a cheer when they were eliminated.    

Heart of the Hunted

Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0916-6
Genre:  {M/F},  Sci-Fi, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Bree has been reclassified as a breeder.   While she is out trying to furnish her new home, she is kidnapped.  Arix happens to be the hunter on duty when the call comes that one of the prized breeder’s is missing.

Heart of the Hunted is the second book in the Brace for Humanity series by Viola Grace.  Ms. Grace’s new series has some very interesting tidbits about Imrahl in this book, including why the planet exists.  I like this new series so far.

Bree has been kidnapped to be a breeder on another planet. She escapes at first with the help of some interesting animals, called the skark, that think she smells like one of them.  Arix finds her, but must rescue her again after the kidnappers find her again.  The descriptions that the author uses to explain what is going on with the kidnapped women is very vivid.

Arix and Bree end up bonded due to an accident, but Bree is very happy about the situation as they have some intense chemistry.  I had to laugh about one of the characteristics that the Luthin-Rrassic have and what happens when Arix takes Bree out for dinner.  When Bree ends up pregnant there is another surprise in store for both.

I like this this new world that Ms. Grace has created.  The society she has created is interesting, though it did take some getting used to the reason for the Breeder classification that some women are given.  Some of the antics that the women do are funny and, in this case, the skark add to the fun.

I am looking forward to more about Imrahl and the various Rrassic as they try to win their mates.

Friday, November 11, 2016

Smart Bart

Title: Smart Bart
Author:  AKM Miles
Publisher: MLR Books
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02016-0630
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, Series
Rating:  5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Bart has watched his older siblings find the love of their lives, one by one.  While he is happy for them, he can’t help being a little envious.  Although he has known he was gay for a while, he just did not feel like it was necessary to say anything since there was no one in his life.  But, then Eric steps fully into his life and Bart won’t have it any other way.

Smart Bart is the tenth book in the Scarcity Sanctuary series.  This book is about the last of the seven original boys introduced in the first book.  While it is not necessary to read all the books in the series before starting Smart Bart, you should read the first book to understand why Bart is special to so many people. 

In Smart Bart, Bart, now an adult, is working in the financial department of the hospital.  He finds himself drawn to one of the hospital’s young patients, Mark.  Mark is six years old and will die of cancer unless a bone marrow donor can be found.  Eric is Mark’s brother and guardian.  He’s been working three jobs to pay Mark’s medical bills, but it still isn’t enough.  Bart is as drawn to Eric as he is to Mark and he can’t help wanting to help.  When Eric shows up to visit Mark, and it is obvious that he has been in a fight, Bart steps in to help. 

After the death of their parents, Eric gets custody of his little brother.  Shortly after, Mark becomes sick and everything starts to fall apart.  Eric does not care what happens to him, he just cannot lose Mark.  When Eric starts to fall behind on hospital bills he goes to a loan shark for assistance.  Unfortunately, not even working three jobs is enough and soon the loan shark isn’t very happy. 

There is a lot that goes on in this story and, while there is a strong attraction between the men, with so much being thrown at them, and Eric not in the physical condition to do more than cuddle, Bart and Eric get the chance to learn more about each other.  That is one of the things I love about Ms. Miles’ books.  The men take their time rather than jumping into bed, so the relationship they build is a strong one.  This does not mean that the men don’t eventually heat up the pages. 

One of the other things I enjoy about this book, and all the others in the series, is that the author always brings back many of the previous characters.   There is an interesting twist with one of the characters that plays strongly into this book.  Then there is Soldier.  Soldier and Dillion are always there for their boys, and those they bring home, regardless of how old they are.  While some may see Soldier’s actions as being pushy, it is easy to see that everything he does is out of love. 

I would love to see more books in this series, and I am curious about what the author has planned next.

A Chance for Us

Author: Jake C. Wallace
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63477-722-3
Genre: {M/M} Vampire Series
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

New Vampire Justice Officer Max Kincaid is attracted to women only or so he always thought until he rescued Justin Masters from a fanatical vampire.

A Chance for Us is the second book in New Vampire Justice series. The plot is slow paced with less than convincing characters or actions to engage my attention. The setting mirror today’s privileged society of corrupt politicians, discrimination and civil unrest.

The characteristics of the vampires are the same as a human. Vampires eat food and drink synthetic blood; only the fangs distinguish them from the humans. The attraction between Justin and Max was more credible as friends rather than two men in love

The key point of this plot is finding the missing humans and vampires associated with the bite clubs. However, there is one exclusive bite club hiding a sinister connection to a fanatical vampire attempting to gain vampire domination over humans. Justin was one of the evil vampire’s hostages. The NVJ investigation of the bite club reveals a vivid description of pain slaves and masochists. Further investigation revealed how humans were constrained by the pain slavery.

Overall, focusing on the mystery premise as well as the profiling of possible suspects, I found A Chance for Us enjoyable. 
    



The Outfielders

Author:  Robert P Rowe
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63477-868-8
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Sports
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Tony had his life planned out, but as often happens in real life those plans get tossed around until he is only living day by day.  With all his dreams dashed, at twenty-four,
Tony finds himself still living at home worrying that things are never going to change.

Tony is gay, but because he has grown up in a small town and is worried about what his family will say he does nothing.  He was planning on coming out while away at college.  But things don’t go as planned, and Tony finds himself working at the big box store that is slowly killing the town he lives in, instead.  If it wasn’t for his few friends, and the store’s baseball team, Tony doesn’t know what he would do.   

One of those friends is Alex.  Alex also works at the big box store and has been friends with Tony for some time.  But Alex does not know that he is the object of Tony’s secret crush.   When Tony’s “girlfriend” decides to help him get the man of his dreams, things go a little crazy.  

I loved the way the author used a gay romance story to help Alex and Tony find their way.  At times, it does get a little confusing, but bear with it.  There are a lot of emotions in The Outfielders.  From the confusion, friendship, lust and love that Tony and Alex feel, to the anger, fear, and acceptance that several of the secondary characters go through.  There are also moments of laughter.  More than once, i found myself laughing, usually at Tony’s expense.  The scene where Tony’s father gives the young men a new set of speakers is really over the top.  

The Outfielders is my first book by Mr. Rowe.  I enjoyed this story, especially as I live in a small rural town and could see the similarities between my town and Mr. Rowe’s fictional one.  The characters in this book are also well done, even the secondary ones.  I found myself curious as to how the story would play out, and i think others will like just as much.  

Guarding His Mark

Author: SA Welsh
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-78651-430-1
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Being a part of the Shifter Protection Specialists Inc. is not only a job, it is Khan’s family and he would never abandon his adopted shifter brothers. Nevertheless, a night out for some casual entertainment is occasionally desired. It was on such a night that king cobra shifter Khan met Dr. Casey Jameson, a scientist in need of venom to produce a life saving serum. Except the first night of their meeting, the focus was on producing a more intimate cure for what ailed both of them.

Guarding his Mark is the third book in the Shifter Protection Specialists Inc. series. The action filled plot highlights trust issues, greed, deception, betrayal and humorous interaction between characters. The characters are creditable.

Casey is on a personal mission to develop a cure before it is too late. His research shows that king cobra venom has the best potential for a successful serum. Casey is a brilliant scientist, but not very good at judging people. It is this flaw that causes Casey major problems.

Khan has trust issues stemming from the betrayal of his natural family, so discovering that Casey is a scientist, brings back bad memories of the past for Khan. However, the attraction between Khan and Casey is so strong that neither man can forget each other or the night they spent together.

SA Welsh has created an exceptionally enjoyable intense action installment to this series. From the beginning Casey’s life is in jeopardy and just when you think Khan and Casey have escaped, another attack immediately strikes without pause.  

Guarding His Mark

Author: SA Welsh
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-78651-430-1
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Being a part of the Shifter Protection Specialists Inc. is not only a job, it is Khan’s family and he would never abandon his adopted shifter brothers. Nevertheless, a night out for some casual entertainment is occasionally desired. It was on such a night that king cobra shifter Khan met Dr. Casey Jameson, a scientist in need of venom to produce a life saving serum. Except the first night of their meeting, the focus was on producing a more intimate cure for what ailed both of them.

Guarding his Mark is the third book in the Shifter Protection Specialists Inc. series. The action filled plot highlights trust issues, greed, deception, betrayal and humorous interaction between characters. The characters are creditable.

Casey is on a personal mission to develop a cure before it is too late. His research shows that king cobra venom has the best potential for a successful serum. Casey is a brilliant scientist, but not very good at judging people. It is this flaw that causes Casey major problems.

Khan has trust issues stemming from the betrayal of his natural family, so discovering that Casey is a scientist, brings back bad memories of the past for Khan. However, the attraction between Khan and Casey is so strong that neither man can forget each other or the night they spent together.

SA Welsh has created an exceptionally enjoyable intense action installment to this series. From the beginning Casey’s life is in jeopardy and just when you think Khan and Casey have escaped, another attack immediately strikes without pause.