Saturday, May 21, 2016

Torquere Press' Love Conquers All Charity Anthology


From diagnosis to ringing the bell, cancer is a bitch. Torquere is looking for fully realized 3,000-10,000 word cancer themed stories with a HEA ending for an anthology titled "Love Conquers All." Proceeds will benefit DJ Manly in her battle with this horrible disease.

Please send your submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Love Conquers All" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is August 15, 2016; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.

If the completed anthology reaches a minimum word count of 60K, the book may go to print. Terms of contract will be electronic and print rights for three years, as well as an electronic and print copy of the book.  Print rights are reserved for six months. If the print rights are not optioned, all print rights revert to the author.


We'll also be releasing the story on its own in ebook format. Royalties for the single title electronic version will be 45% net on books sold through Torquere Books and 35% net on books sold through our distributors, again for a period of three years. Torquere Press will be donating all proceeds of their royalties to DJ Manly. If you are interested in donating your author portion of royalties please let us know on your submission.

Friday, May 6, 2016

Bind - repost

Title:  Bind
Author:  Sierra Cartwright
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781784305895   
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Lara approaches her best friend’s brother about marrying her in order to save her family’s company.  Connor agrees, provided Lara is his wife and submissive in truth. 

The first book in The Donovan Dynasty, Bind, is an intense book that gives a look behind the scenes in the closed world of corporations, as well as BDSM.  I liked that the author did a good job showing that a BDSM relationship between a Dom and sub is what the couple makes it.  There was only one issue I had regarding this and that was the whip, as that would not be something used in the beginning on someone new.  However, I loved the references used regarding the ‘Indiana Jones’ franchise.

Connor is very patient with Lara, especially explaining things to her, but he makes it clear what he expects should he help her.  The chemistry between the two is very intense and I had fun watching their relationship grow.  I’m glad Connor finally came around in one area at the end of their story.

There were several interesting secondary characters and I loved Connor’s assistant.  I had to laugh at that relationship as it provided some lighthearted moments, as did Lara’s neighbor and her dog, Suzy.  I wanted to slap Lara’s father, but he redeemed himself at the end.  Both families were interesting, to say the least, and had a lot to say about Connor’s and Lara’s relationship. 

It will be interesting to see how this series turns out as it is about the three Donovan brothers, though I hope to see one about Erin as well.  The author included an interview about the series at the end of Bind.


This is a repost of our review from last year to help promote the release of this book in mass market paperback in the UK.  Congrats, Sierra and Totally Bound

Thursday, April 28, 2016

Perfect Strangers

Author: Edward Kendrick
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-78651-413-4
Genre: {M/M} Crime and Mystery
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Raphael Koenig needs a vacation plus if he is lucky, a sexual fling. New Orleans is the vacation location and Alden Durant provides the fling.

Perfect Strangers is a detailed dark crime story with surprising twist and turns including a touch of romance. The plot is well written and well paced. The realistic characters are justified in their actions or not, depending on the reader’s point of view.

Raphael Koenig is an assassin working for an underground vigilante network.
When Raphael is not correcting a miscarriage in the justice system, he works as a construction laborer. He self medicates with whiskey to ward off the nightmares of his dark childhood, but Raphael considers his kills as righteous because he only assassinates bad people.

Alden is an intriguing character; Alden reveals nothing about himself to Raphael. It is only by accident that Alden and Raphael discover each other’s profession. The intimacy Raphael and Alden shared evolved into love, though they both believed they would never meet again. However, fate has a way of bringing star crossed lovers back together along with revealing the truth. 

Edward Kendrick has created a very impressive saga that I thoroughly enjoyed.  

You Complete Me

Title:  You Complete Me
Author:  Megan Slayer
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-076-5
Genre: {M/F}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Hagan isn’t dead, though being left in the sun when he tried to help a friend doesn’t help.  He hides when he realizes there are hunters in the woods and is surprised when Emily rescues him instead of finishing him off.  Both are very surprised when they realize they are mates.

You Complete Me is the fourth book in the Battle Scarred series.  Emily knows that something is wrong among the Hunters. Because they are supposed to keep the balance among the Supers, to Emily, there doesn’t seem to be any rhyme or reason for hunting most of the Supers she and her partner are ordered to hunt. 

While You Complete Me picks up Hagan’s story and his part in the war, the previous book was about Ava, who he helped escape.  Things come to a head in the war, though there are a few surprises especially at the end. All the previous characters have parts to play, and Ky helps Hagan realize something he already knew.

This story is different as it is slower paced than the previous ones.  There are a few areas where things pick up, but Hagan’s and Emily’s relationship is one of two high points of the story. The interaction with the Source was also sort of anticlimactic. You Complete Me does resolve some major issues though. 

Be aware the Battle Scarred series was previously published by another publisher with the pen name Wendi Zwaduk.

For the Love of A Wolf

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0693-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series          
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Stake has a major problem.  He has no filter between his brain and his mouth and while he does not mean to hurt anyone with what he says, he has.  Things have gotten so bad that he is close to losing his job.  Sent by his boss, as punishment for his last comments, to help clear trailheads, Stake meets Cecil, who can’t wait to get his hands on Stake.

For the Love of a Wolf is the 34th book in the Wolves of Stone Ridge series.  I liked this newest addition to the series as the characters, especially Stake, are entertaining and leave you wanting to know what is going to happen.  Stake isn’t the first character we have met that has trouble with his mouth running away from him, however, usually this is done by a character that’s young, maybe slightly flighty, not someone mature and with a solid career.  This switch was an interesting change and I felt a little for Stake as he struggled to watch what he said. 

Cecil, on the other hand, is one of the Rochette brothers.  After watching his younger brother find his mate, Cecil is ready to find his own.  When Cecil meets Stake, he is surprised by the other man.  He also can’t believe that the person he sees is the same one everyone has such negative comments about.  I like Cecil’s determination not only getting to know Stake, but also in showing the other man that there is nothing wrong with him. 

The connection between the two men is intense, but since they are mates, readers would expect nothing less.  Seeing Cecil show Stake what he can expect from a male lover, especially one who wants to please him, really heats up the pages of this story. 

Many previous characters show up to give these two a hand.  Needless to say, Stake’s mouth causes a bit of a problems but not ones that can’t be overcome.  Fans of this series are sure to like For the Love of a Wolf and those who have not yet tried the books in this series really should. 

Missing, Presumed Dead

Author: Christiane France
Publisher: Chris Grover
ISBN: e000000002287
Genre: {M/M} Mystery Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Private investigator Greg Stewartson gets a late night visit from his brother Vance and Tim Fensham. Vance is a Hollywood star maker and it seems one of his clients has gone missing.

Missing, Presumed Dead is the first book in the Amethyst Cove Mysteries series. Tim Fensham is the brother of an up and coming movie star who has gone missing. She was last seen in Amethyst Cove, a California coastal town.

The central question of the plot is whether the starlet chose to disappear or was she the victim of a murder?

Former cop Greg Stewartson, now co-owner of the Amethyst Cove Security & Investigations, takes the reader through all the possible scenarios and Greg’s investigative procedures.

When not working the case, Greg and Tim are trying to resist their attraction for each other. Although Greg would like to have a relationship, he has a rule about mixing business with pleasure. Tim is also interested in a relationship but he lives in San Francisco, too far away to be a permanent boyfriend. 

Christiane France has created an impressive saga that I enjoyed immensely.    

A Cold Wind

Title: A Cold Wind
Author: Neil Plakcy
Publisher: Loose Id
Publishers URL: http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-68252-095-6
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, Series          
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Aidan and Liam have finally found the home they want to call their own; the only problem is that the house has all the ear marks of being a money pit.  In order to inject some much needed cash into their bank account, the two men take a job protecting a Russian business man.  Almost right away, their work and personal lives collides.

A Cold Wind is the eighth book in the Have Body Will Guard series.  Readers should note that this is a series that needs to be read in order, so if you have not read the previous seven books, you may want to wait on this review.

Aidan’s and Liam’s lives have been going along as normal with the only big change being the purchase of a new home.  While Aidan is excited, Liam is a little more leery.  When more of the house needs to be repaired than what they thought, and their handy man is deported, the two men begin to wonder if they have bitten off more than what they expected.  Thankfully a job request comes in that adds money to their dwindling coffers, giving the two a chance to step away from home repairs and get back to what they know.

I am always happy to see a new story added to this series.  While Liam is not always one of my favorite characters as I think he’s too short with Aidan at times; these two are one of my favorite couples.  I like the way Aidan has of mellowing Liam out on occasion, just as I like the way Liam reinforces Aidan’s abilities when the other man is feeling incapable.  I also like the way the author weaves the various mysteries through each of the books in this series. 

In A Cold Wind, the two men are assigned the job of watching a retired Russian business man who believes someone is after him.  Slava’s a Russian rags to riches story.  As part of that story, he found a woman he thought he could love and had two children.  The whole time he kept his personal preferences to himself as much as possible.  When the Russian government starts making noise about taking some of Slava’s business, the Russian begins preparing for the future.  Unfortunately he did not realize one of his enemies would go as far as he does and everything Slava has kept secret comes out. 

Thierry is Liam’s and Aidan’s new neighbor.  He’s also a widower having a hard time getting over the death of his spouse.  He’s drawn into the story when a storm takes out a window at Liam’s and Aidan’s new house and they are forced to return, bringing Slava with them.  You can see the chemistry develop between the two older gentlemen, but with Thierry’s grief and Slava’s safety issues, it is easy to see that things will not play out smoothly. 

There is a lot going on in A Cold Wind and while it seems obvious who the bad guy may be, I can’t help thinking that there is more going on.  I like that the author keeps the readers wondering what will happen next by throwing in a variety of twists and turns. There is also a big change in store for our main characters and I cannot wait to see where this takes them. 

Fans of M/M stories that are about more than just the sex should really give this series a shot.  The world created by the author, and the cases Liam and Aidan find themselves working, will make you a fan of Mr. Plakcy and will have you looking for more stories by this author. 

Godsend

Title:  Godsend
Author:  Jillian Verne
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-041-3
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Alessandra, who is known as Alex, is an attorney on the wrong side as far as Sabin is concerned.  He realizes she doesn’t know what she has gotten herself into as he battles an oil company that has sued him.  Sabin finds he can’t get Alex out of his mind, especially when he realizes she is a sub.

Godsend is the third book in the Masters of the Order series.  Sabin’s friends never thought he would fall for someone and are amazed when they realize he has fallen for Alex.  Once Alex figures out what her boss and clients are hiding, she gets fired and ends up working for Sabin and his partners. 

Sabin and Alex have some very intense chemistry.  Things in Alex’s past caused Sabin to trigger her fear and they have to work through that.  In addition, Alex has a stalker.  In true fashion, members of The Order come through to help Sabin make sure Alex gets to have her dreams.

While it is easy to see who some of the bad guys are, the stalker was a complete surprise.  The description and way the author weaved in everything that was happening made it was easy to think it was someone else.  The intensity of the mystery in this story kept my interest to the point I stayed up all night reading to finish it.

Hockey and football fans will appreciate the humor when Alex and Sabin make a bet, then later when Sabin meets Alex’s father.  I loved it, especially since I happen to be a fan of both teams mentioned.  I especially liked the remark about hockey, men and their character. 

I am looking forward to the next story.  Each one centers on one of the Masters of the Order, but each happens to bring the previous couples into the story to help with the relationship featured.

Amended Soul

Title: Amended Soul
Author: Kate Steele
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-68252-106-9
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Sequel
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Jamie Hardin is starting life over; he got divorced then bought a house in another state. Jamie wanted to be close to his eldest son, Rio. However, Rio is not the only one Jamie wanted to be close to; Jamie discovered he has an instant attraction to werewolf Jed Matranga.

Amended Soul is the sequel to Altered Heart. The characters are charismatic with a touch of humor. The plot reveals the reason why Rio ran away from home, as well as the actions Jamie took to insure his adopted son, Jack, would never have to deal with the same horrors Rio endured.

Reuniting with Rio generates several new dilemmas for Jamie. Although Jamie’s son is now a werewolf, Jamie knows very little about werewolf culture. Jamie is perplexed by Rio’s reaction when Jamie and Jed happen to be in the same room together. It is as if Rio is jealous of Jamie’s attention directed towards someone else. Rio reverts into an angry protective wolf.

Jamie has never been attracted to another man before so he is puzzled by his sexual feelings for Jed. Because Jamie is human, Jed refuses to enlighten Jamie on the real meaning of interspecies mating, which causes a number of misunderstandings between the two men. Jed wanted Jamie to recognize his true feelings devoid of pressure from others. 

Kate Steele has created a splendidly moving and exceptionally enjoyable heartwarming saga.    

Boss

Title:  Boss
Author:  Sierra Cartwright
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78430-657-1
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Kelsey walks into her office to find out the company she works for has been taken over by the Donovan family.  Kelsey must make a decision to continue working for Nathan Donovan, especially when she finds out he also wants her for his sub.

Boss is the third book in The Donovan Dynasty series.  Nathan is the youngest Donovan brother and in charge researching companies they might want to either take over or invest in.  Due to circumstances beyond the old owner’s control, Nathan is now the new CEO of Kelsey’s company.

Kelsey stays away from dominant men in her personal life yet is interested in at least checking out the new BDSM club, not realizing that one of Nathan’s older brother is part owner.  Nathan decides to take her under his wing for the week and takes her to the club.

The chemistry between Kelsey and Nathan is off the charts. Kelsey tries everything Nathan wants her to, while Nathan fights losing control.  The author does a good job showing how someone can embrace a BDSM lifestyle with the right person helping them.  Nathan, as a Dom, is patient, though insistent that Kelsey follow his orders.  He keeps checking to make sure she is aware she can always use her safe word and can discuss some things.

There are some humorous moments with Kelsey’s girlfriend, the coffee shop owner, and one of Kelsey’s neighbors.  The situation with the hamster is very funny.  All of these moments had me laughing out loud.  Nathan and his family have some interesting dynamics and the situation with Nathan’s wristwatch and the heart is hilarious. 

I’m looking forward to the next book in this series as there are still a few Donovans running around.  Each book can be read by themselves, but the reading the books in order will give some interesting insights to the various siblings.

Violet & Her Alien Matchmaker

Author:  Jessica Coulter Smith
Publisher:  Coastal Escape Publishing
ISBN/BIN:  n/a
Genre:  {M/F} Sci-Fi
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

With no money and a mouth to feed, Violet Wilcox has her back against the wall.  Being jobless and having no family to help her leaves Violet with very few options.  The alien dating agency is her last hope.  Surely there was a male looking for a family somewhere.  Or at least that’s what Violet thought until the agency asked her to leave and refused her help.

Tiraz wasn’t going to stand by and watch the woman and boy be brushed off like trash, so he takes them home.  It would be hard, but not impossible to find a mate for Violet.  Until that time, Tiraz showers mother and son with some of the things missing in their lives.  Tiraz keeps his promise of helping Violet search for a mate, but realizes his mistake as the attraction between them grows.  Will Tiraz be able to walk away from Violet and Simon without looking back?

In such a short time, the three of them become a family.  Tiraz says he isn’t ready to settle down but his actions show otherwise.  Violet wants a father for her son, but more than that, she wants Tiraz in her heart forever.  Neither of them is ready for the feelings that come in like a storm.  Something happens to Simon that forces the couple to face reality and make a decision.  Tiraz upsets Violet by taking actions into his own hands before discussing it with her.  In the end, Violet accepts Tiraz’s reasons and forgives him and they work towards their happy ending. 

Violet & Her Alien Matchmaker is the first installment in the Interstellar Love Agency series.   Jessica Coulter Smith have given readers a story that will make their hearts beat faster from all the touching family scenes.  Part of me felt Violet’s struggle as a single mother.  No matter how hard she tried, she just couldn’t get ahead.  It made me sad when I discovered some of the most basic things she and Simon had been doing without.  Tiraz was so generous with his affection and his resources.  He was obviously meant to be a father, whether he thought he was ready or not.  Because Violet had been exposed to so little, everything Tiraz does for her seems even grander.  If you want to be introduced to a man who knows how to make a girl feel special, then you need to read about Tiraz.

Dying For a Thrill

Author: Mark Zubro
Publisher: MLR Press
Publishers URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN/BIN: MLR-1-02016-0533
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, Police Procedural, Series          
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Everyone is used to their lives going to hell when a blizzard hits.  For Mike King, things go from bad to worst and he’s not sure who to trust other than his team.

Dying For a Thrill is action-packed from the very beginning.  With its vast cast of characters, however, it is also confusing at times, but don’t feel bad because main character Mike King is just as confused. 

Mike is a private detective.  He and his team have just finished a case and are planning on heading home, hopefully before the worst of the blizzard hits.  A young man comes into the office and passes out, but not before claiming someone is out to kill him. I had to laugh and shake my head at the reaction of Mike and his crew when Jamie passes out.  Not only do none of them seem overly concerned, but the information that comes out regarding Mike’s past relationships is crazy. 

The information that Jamie reveals is something you would expect to see on the big screen and more than once, I had to go back and re-read a passage because the young man’s tale is a little over the top.  Before long Mike, and the readers, will see that not everything is what it is supposed to be.

There are many twists and turns in Dying For a Thrill that the reader will be left guessing who to believe and what is really going on.  I liked that in this story.  I liked having a mystery that isn’t easy to figure out, while at the same time going a little crazy trying to decide just who the bad guys are, and trust me, there are several to choose from.  

Dying For a Thrill is a story in which the main focus is the mystery that Mike and his crew find themselves involved in, instead of the romantic interest of its main character.  While this story may not be for everyone, I strongly suggest those readers who enjoy a good mystery give this book a chance.  As the first story in the A Mike King Mystery series, there are more stories to look forward to, and I am curious to see what the author has planned for Mike next. 

Wednesday, April 20, 2016

You Belong to Me

Author:  Megan Slayer
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-075-8
Genre: {M/M/F}, Ménage, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Ava escapes from the rogues and ends up with Joachim and Padraig.  In the battle that has heated up, Ava was rescued and has been enlisted in the fight.  She has also been informed by the Sources that she is going to end up with two mates.

You Belong to Me is the third book in the Battle Scarred series.  Joachim and Padraig have been friends forever, it seems. They finally realize the depth of their feelings for each other, after meeting Ava.  They both suspect she is their mate, but some of the signs are slow to come.  Only after a visit to Padraig by the Sources, and a confession by Ava, does the bond manifest itself for the three of them.

Ava, Joachim and Padraig end up going through several trials before they can breathe and trust their bond will hold.  Once they realize it will, they waste no time in finalizing their bond.

As new information about the rogues is revealed, questions abound about them and exactly what they want.  New allies are made among those that are trying to survive.  Several things happened that solidify the alliance among those gathered at the mansion.  The author added new characters as well as several twists and turns.  Things are heating up even more and it looks like there will be more surprises before it ends.  I’m looking forward to the next story. 

Readers should be aware this book was previously published by another publisher, but has been revised for Loose Id.

Assassins Love People Too

Author: S.C. Wynne
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-68252-104-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

The deadly game of hide and seek continues for Dillon Carter and Marc Francis. Unfortunately, love for Dillon has distracted Marc from performing the basic assassin rules.

Assassins Love People Too is the second book in the Assassins in Love series. In the first book, Assassins are People Too, Marc is attracted to his neighbor Dillon but never sought an acquaintance until one of Marc's enemies attempts to murder Marc in the elevator. Dillon hits the enemy with a potted plant to save Marc. Instantly, Marc and Dillon develop a strong sexual bond that, months later, develop into a relationship.

Marc Francis is a paid assassin for an unofficial top secret agency in the government. He was recruited during his service in the Army. His assignment is to eradicate serialized murderers. Marc doesn’t do relationships, he has trust issues and he seldom reveals his emotions. This has become an issue between Marc and Dillon. Neither man is sure the relationship is real love. However, Dillon’s identity has been compromised and Marc is determined to protect Dillon.

Dillon is a kindhearted man who rescues discarded plants and looks for the goodness in everyone. Dillon is totally oblivious to the clandestine operation of the political world; he is beginning to realize that polite conversation with the wrong person can have deadly consequences. 

Overall, S.C. Wynne’s Assassins Love People Too is enjoyable. However I thought the enemy take-down scene in the latter chapters lacked the intensity required to summon a realistic suspense reaction. The main features of this installment are careless mistakes, insecurity about Marc’s retirement as well as Dillon’s apprehension regarding Marc’s former sex partner. The assassination of a fanatical enemy is not the end of problems for Marc, there is another villain targeting Marc’s friend.

One Night in Budapest

Author: Lucy Felthouse
Publisher: Tirgearr Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 9781310183492
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Hermione had hoped for a romantic getaway with her boyfriend, but after an unexpected breakup, she finds herself alone on a night time river cruise in Budapest. There was no way she was going to miss out on an experience of a lifetime just because he had fallen for someone else. Her camera at the ready, Hermione puts the past behind her and concentrates on capturing all the beautiful sights of the city.

When a gorgeous waiter named Emil walks into view however, it’s a little harder to concentrate. He seems to have taken a shine to her, and offers to act as tour guide for the remainder of her stay, leaving Hermione with a choice – spend the evening with a handsome local who knows all the secrets this city has to offer, or spend the night alone wondering what if? It doesn’t take long for Hermione to make her decision…

One Night in Budapest is a light hearted fantasy about visiting a far off exotic land, meeting a gorgeous man who you have instant chemistry with, proceeding to have the time of your life with said man, and just maybe falling in love when all is said and done…I was in heaven reading it. I loved Hermione and Emil. The anticipation between them built nicely, although there were misunderstandings that definitely made my frustration levels rise. I think that just made the ending that much more satisfying though. And there were such vivid descriptions of Budapest, it really made me yearn for a vacation of my own. 

One Night in Budapest is part of the publisher’s City Nights series that offers up stories from a variety of authors. I can highly recommend this instalment and look forward to seeing what else the series has to offer.

Planting His Dream

Author: Andrew Grey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781634772174
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary          
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Foster is tired of milking cows.  All he wants is to get away and live somewhere he can be himself.  When his father passes, Foster has to put his dreams on the back burner and realizes that what he wants has always been right in front of him.

Andrew Grey brings the readers another well done story that will pull them in from the first page.  Foster and Javi are the main characters in Planting His Dream.  Both have a lot in common.  Foster’s family has owned their farm for many generations.  Through thick and thin, they have worked the land, but Foster wants something different from his father.  Javi’s family also works the land but, unlike Foster’s family, Javi and his family travel from state to state picking other people’s produce.  Javi wants something different as well, but is worried about leaving his mother and siblings with a father that drinks.  When the two are brought together, there is an instant attraction but Javi is only there for a short time and Foster goes back to his old life. 

A lot happens in a year and, when Javi and his family return to the Gaylon farm, Foster is running things.  The men are a year older and the feelings that started to blossom when they first met are even stronger now.  The men also have even more responsibilities now than a year ago and it seems as if these two will never find their happily ever after.  

Planting His Dream has a lot of ups and downs and, more than once, I could not keep from crying.  Foster and Javi are the type of characters that will have you pulling for them from the beginning and the passion that exists between them is intense.  I liked watching both these men come into their own.  I will admit I did not think this story would end well but I liked the way the author wrapped everything up.  This story is one that fans of the author will love and, if you have not yet tried anything by this author, I would suggest you give Planting His Dream a chance.  

Prohibit

Title:  Prohibit
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0649-3
Genre: {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Cleo wants to honor her parents’ request to not be part of the Volunteer project but, due to her genetics, ends up drugged, kidnapped, and on her way to Lrrko as one of the Brides.  Helbri realizes he has to earn her trust since she did not come to Lrrko willingly.

Prohibit is the 31st story in the Terran Times Second Wave series and ends the mini-series about the Lrrko Brides.  I loved this one, as Cleo is basically an escape artist and can’t seem to be confined by the Lrrko tanks.  I had to laugh at her antics at times.  In addition, she soaked up what she could of the Lrrko.  Cleo learns the full story about what happened to their women.

Cleo seems to get into trouble without trying.  Helbri recognizes her nature and tries his best to keep her happy, but he decides to leave her on Lrrko in a tank while he completes one last mission. Of course, Cleo won’t stay put. Once they return to Lrrko, Helbri’s defense of Cleo and the answers he gave when the Elders tried to punish Cleo for her latest infraction were interesting and based on the timing when Cleo signed the Bride Contract.  I thought the Elder created the perfect solution.

I loved the relationship that Helbri and Cleo forged once Cleo started trusting him.  Their chemistry together is intense. 

The author has created a wonderful world that will continue for a few more books according to her comments at the end of this book.  The stories in the Terran Times Second Wave series are very fast paced, but takes readers on some amazing adventures.  I am looking forward to the next story.

A Taste of Honey

Author: Ari McKay
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-944449-38-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary 
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Boone loves his family, but he is not looking forward to spending time dodging his match-making mother’s potential bride picks. Boone decides his best defense will be to take an offensive position by escorting Honey AKA Rob to the family reunion.

A Taste of Honey is a sweet friends to lovers story. Boone and Rob are best friends and co-workers. Although Boone’s dates have always been with women, the regularly scheduled hangout time Boone spends with Rob is more enjoyable. Boone is especially attracted to Rob dressed as Honey.

The family reunion brought about a number of revelations for both Rob and Boone. Rob, who is gay, discovered that he is loved and accepted, regardless of whether he is dressed as Rob or Honey.

Boone, who was considered straight, discovers his feelings for Rob have grown beyond mere friendship and that most of his family members were very open-minded about sexuality.

Ari McKay has created an impressive, as well as, delightful saga that I enjoyed.


Two Pet Dicks

Author: John Inman
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781634767910
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery        
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Maitland Carter and Lenny Fritz have been friends since they were young boys.  They have gone through everything together, including discovering that they are gay.  While they have always been tight as friends, in between boyfriends, their relationship turned to one with benefits.  Now their relationship is changing once again and Maitland and Lenny are a little nervous.  Will this make them even stronger or will it doom their friendship?

Two Pet Dicks is the newest book by author John Inman.  The characters in this book are lifelong friends who have done everything together.  Working as pet detectives, the two men have been kicked out of Lenny’s dad’s basement and are finally opening an office.  Before they know it, they have cases coming out of their ears.  There is a lizard stealing ex, a runaway foul mouthed bird, an escaped gerbil, and finally a lost puppy.  Two of these cases are “normal” but leave you wondering just how the heck Mait and Lenny will solve them.  One is more than what the men signed on for and the other has a twist that readers will not see coming.  

With everything going on, Mait and Lenny are surprised to realize that they have feelings for each other that go beyond friends.  Their friendship is both a blessing and a curse.  They’re excited and scared about taking the next step and the author brings everything they are feeling across in a way that is realistic.  The chemistry between them is also believable and I loved that the way they care for each other comes across so well.

The mystery in Two Pet Dicks will hold your interest just as much as the romance.  Although Lenny comes across as not too bright at times, he figures out what is going on first and, if you pay attention to the clues, you will figure it out at the same time.  All though this is a mystery, it is not dark and will have you laughing.  More than once I found myself laughing out loud, and when Ed shows up things go even crazier.  This was a great story, but I must confess I am a big fan of this author.  I love the way he mixes humor into his stories.  I also love that the characters are likeable and easy to relate to and that the stories pull you in from the beginning.  

If you have not yet tried anything by this author, I strongly suggest you do so and Two Pet Dicks is a great place to start.

Jacie and the Alien Bodyguard

Author:  Jessica Coulter Smith
Publisher:  Changeling Press
ISBN/BIN:  07651-02467
Genre: {M/F} Futuristic, Sci-Fi
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Transition isn’t easy for Jacie Montgomery, but she’s making it work.  Pregnancy has forced Jacie to face her new reality and travel to Terran.  Once her baby’s father makes her his mate, Jacie hopes things will work out.  She just hopes he’s happy about her sudden appearance.

Being Jacie’s bodyguard was Barimere’s job while she was on his planet.  Getting involved in her personal life and dealing with her crazy cat was completely unexpected.  From the moment he laid eyes on Jacie, Barimere started imagining things that were off limits to him.  Having a family of his own was only a fantasy for Barimere.  It would be unfair to Jacie to give her false hope.

Barimere has scars that are more than physical and Jacie’s pregnancy is getting more complicated with the passing of each day.  However, the interference of real life does not put out the flames of desire that burn between the couple.  As a warrior, Barimere has been in many fights, but none have been as taxing as the struggle to let Jacie go.  Jacie can’t understand why Barimere refuses to commit to her, but eventually she accepts his rejection.  Just when she needs his support the most, the stubborn man is missing in action. 

My heart goes out to Jacie in Jacie and the Alien Bodyguard, which is the sixth installment of the Intergalactic Brides series.  That poor woman seemed to have on rose colored glasses when she first arrived on Terran.  I was cringing at the expectations of a confrontation between her and the alien who got her pregnant.  Jacie took every surprise like a true champion in the end and I was so proud of her. 

Barimere was exactly who she needed and Jacie was the perfect match for him.  I was moved by Barimere’s deep feelings, good and bad, and it made me clap when he got his happy ending.  After all the pain he experienced, Barimere deserves a mate who doesn’t make him feel as if they are settling.  Reading this story is a good example of why things happen for a reason.  We don’t always understand why walking through the fire makes things better in the end.  Jessica Coulter Smith gives readers a story that will leave them hot, hopeful, and hungry for more.  

Wednesday, April 6, 2016

Paradise

Title:  Paradise
Author:  Jillian Verne
Publisher:  Loose Id
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-040-6
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Contemporary, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Isabella grew up in a sheltered Catholic household, but knows she has fantasies that don’t quite gel with her upbringing.  After receiving some bad news, her roommate decides Isabella is going to have some fun.  Jacques sees Isabella at the gallery and is very intrigued by her, as she seems to have no fear of saying ‘no’ to him.

Paradise is the second book in the Masters of the Order series.  This story is about Jacques, Nico’s cousin, and Isabella enters his life at a time he starts to feel like there is nothing in his future.  Familiar characters sprinkle this story with a few new ones, such as Isabella’s family, her brothers in particular.

Isabella works at a cancer center and is familiar with Jacques’ name, but she refuses to let him run roughshod over her.  Jacques knows he should leave her alone as she has never been involved with BDSM.  As they spend time together, he realizes she is a natural submissive.  Their relationship has some very big bumps along the way, but they work things out.  I also loved Jacques’ nickname for Isabella as it showed exactly what he thought of her.

I had to laugh at Jacques’ friends in the Order, as well as Isabella’s oldest brother.  Some of the antics were so typical of brothers toward each other and an older brother’s protectiveness of a baby sister.  Readers should be aware that several incidents in the book are also tear-jerkers so keep tissues on hand.

I have to say I am really enjoying the Masters of the Order series.  The relationships between the Masters and the people they bring into their circle are interesting and very real.  Ms. Verne’s grasp of how BDSM lifestyles are and some of the consequences of losing control are very realistic.  This is a series to be read again and should be on every BDSM lover’s bookshelf.