Saturday, February 21, 2015

MLR Open Calls for Submission

OPEN CALL FOR SUBMISSIONS!

What’s My Purpose?

We all bounce around before we know what (or who) we want to be. Whether it’s a just starting out guy trying to figure out what now after graduating from college or an older guy that gets let go through layoffs or someone just unhappy with their life deciding to change – everyone needs someone to stand by them as they figure it all out.

Submissions should:
  • Have at least one character that is trying to figure out what they want to do with their life
  • Be a minimum of 10k, maximum of 40k
  • Any subgenre is welcome and all prohibitive guidelines are observed
  • Submissions should be sent to special_submissions@mlrpress.com
SUBMISSION DEADLINE: May 1, 2015 – stories will release starting in July 2015

Any questions can be sent to Kris Jacen at KrisJacen@mlrpress.com
Second Chances
Don’t we all wish we had a second chance at something? What if it’s a second chance with the love of your life? Misunderstandings happen. People change. Priorities get skewed. What if you could get that second chance with the love of your life, after things have gone oh so wrong?

Submissions should:
  • Have a couple getting a second chance at love together
  • Be a minimum of 10k, maximum of 40k
  • Any subgenre is welcome and all prohibitive guidelines are observed
  • Submissions should be sent to special_submissions@mlrpress.com
SUBMISSION DEADLINE: May 5, 2015

Any questions can be sent to Kris Jacen at KrisJacen@mlrpress.com

Rev Your Engines
Put on some leathers. Piercings? Tattoos? Straddle a motorcycle. Then hit the road. The bad boys catch our attention and our imaginations. What would happen on the open road? What about back at a club’s bar.Motorcycle clubs are family. Breaking in to one or out of one could be the death of someone. In this close nit group figuring out love could be a challenge. 
SUBMISSION DEADLINE: March 30, 2015

Any questions can be sent to Kris Jacen at KrisJacen@mlrpress.com
Submissions should be sent to special_submissions@mlrpress.com

Wednesday, February 18, 2015

Ghost’s Dilemma by Morwen Navarre

Ghost's Dilemma
by  Morwen Navarre  

A warm comfort read for cold nights.
ghost covergif

Genre: M/M Fantasy Romance
Publisher: Torquere Press
Release Date: February 4, 2015
Pages: 180
Series: Book 2 of Ghost's Sight (Book 2 can be read as a stand alone)

You blush and you growl. I want to keep you like
you are just then. All smooth, bare skin and pink cheeks. Your eyes shining up
at me brighter than your witchmark.


blurb





Moon shine on me, Ghost. When you look at me like this, how can I even think of anything but making love to you?
Ghost is content to spend all his free time in bed with Gerry. But scandal and hate surrounding Ghost's appointment as the first male witch and a deadly epidemic force Ghost to make choices that might cost him Gerry's love.
Spurred on by a message from his mentor, Ghost embarks alone on a journey through mystical underground tunnels and lost civilizations to the frozen lands of his origin, seeking a way to neutralize the threat back home. While he struggles to find a balance between his duties as a witch and his calling as a seer, all Ghost really wants is to return to the haven he has found in Gerry's arms.

Use the coupon code "sweetheart2015" and save 15% at Torquere

clip_image004clip_image006

Book 1
is on sale for $0.99 for a limited time here http://goo.gl/w1WDRL

Excerpt



Warm. Warm, strong arms surrounded him. Ghost smiled and moved closer, burying his face in the hard muscle of a shoulder. He knew he needed to get up to tend to his patients, but he was still so tired. He nuzzled deeper into the shoulder that was… clearly not Gerry's.
"The little one wakes." A deep, rumbling voice pierced his fog of sleep.
Ghost shoved hard against the arms holding him. He wriggled free and sat up. He heard a door close somewhere behind him. "Let go of me," he growled. He was wide awake now, his heart pounding against his ribs.
The man belonging to the arms was bare-chested, as was Ghost, to his chagrin. He was quite relieved to see he still wore his breeches, though relief didn't stop him from glaring at the man in the bed with him.
"You're fierce, little one. This is good to see. It means you are not too soft, like the rest of the outlanders from down below." The man sat up as well. His long white hair was bound back in many braids, each one tipped with a bead carved from the red wood of the South. An intricate black tattoo covered both his arms. The man's blue eyes watched Ghost with undisguised amusement. "You have jewels in your head, little one. Did the woman decorate you so?"
"What woman?" Ghost retorted, watching the man for any untoward movement. "Are you talking about the Witch? Is she here?"
"Outlanders do not ask. They listen. And answer." The man's voice dropped to a warning snarl. "Hair and eyes do not make you one of us, little one. Do not presume you have a place here."








aboutclip_image008




I've always been a writer in some way, whether it was writing on the walls as a child, the copious notebooks I filled as a teen, or the volumes of fan fiction I wrote as an adult. Now I write erotic romance. We are creatures of sensation, craving touch and filled with desires we might not even want to admit to ourselves. Try as we might to ignore and deny the passion inside us, it's still there. It cries for attention and finds its outlet in my writing.
Ghost's Sight was written in response to a prompt from a friend and is an impassioned tale of two men who find each other in unexpected circumstances. Their story continues with Ghost's Dilemma and possibly a third volume yet to come.

clip_image010clip_image012clip_image014clip_image015clip_image016clip_image018



Tuesday, February 17, 2015

Cupcakes and Crushes

Author: Keri Ford
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61922-679-1
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx
Release Date: 04-14-2015

Teenage heartache is hard to overcome. It drove Annie Cookie away from her family and hometown and she swore never to return.  She made a life for herself doing a job she loves, but when an injury prevents her grandfather from operating the family bakery, Annie agrees to return temporary. She knows about the seven hundred cupcakes but the wedding cake for her hateful half-sister has been kept secret. That’s one bake job Annie refuses to do, no matter what.

Cade Revlin’s had a crush on his brother’s ex- girlfriend for years.  Now that Annie’s returned, he intends to spend as much time with her as possible.  He wants her to stay, but with all the bad history and harsh feelings between the sisters that might not be possible. Cade has until the cupcakes are delivered to convince Annie to stay—with him and her family.

Cupcakes and Crushes is the first release in the new contemporary series, Turtle Pine, by Keri Ford. I admit to being intrigued on reading the blurb for this small town romance. I wasn’t disappointed, and found it a fun and entertaining read. It had just about everything needed to keep my attention. Past betrayal and heartache, family animosities and pain, but healthy doses of love, loyalty and affection too.

Aside from the things I’ve already mentioned there’s a great many other reason that I enjoyed this book. The world building and its vivid details is well done. I believe the town Ms. Ford created could exist. The details of Turtle Pine and the townspeople make the plot seem realistic and add depth to what’s going on in Annie’s life. The pace is steady; the tone of the story is serious with moments of playfulness, and it has fun, snappy dialogue that makes this family drama sing. I can’t forget to mention the romance between Annie and Cade. Moving quickly on the surface in the present but grounded firmly in their mutual history. It’s all wrapped around the pain and angst of the past. The author creatively tackles what caused the rift between the sisters and at least partly heals the wounds by the end. I thought it was well done and I really don’t have any complaints. It will be interesting to see what happens in this town next. I’ll be waiting. I hope you will too.

Happy Furry New Year

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0202-0
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series          
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Rowan has watched his friends and pack mates find mates of their own.  While he’s happy for them, he can’t help wondering when his turn will come.  Then he’s introduced to Wesley and he wonders how he’ll be able to stay away from the young man.

Happy Furry New Year is the latest book in the Wolves of Stone Ridge series.  This story grabbed me from the beginning.  The main characters are total opposites and I wondered how the author was going to handle what could have been a delicate situation. 

Rowan is a teacher at the local high school. While playing poker with the guys one night, Jared, a pack member, gives him the heads up about a new student.  The student is Wesley, an eighteen year old human, who knows nothing of the paranormal world around him.  Some may be turned off by the fact that there is a teacher/student relationship between these two; however, the author makes sure to stress the fact that Wesley is eighteen, the school year is almost over, and Rowen does try hard to ignore the mating pull that goes into effect once he sees the younger man.

Rowan and Wesley balance each other out perfectly.  Rowan is a strong, dominate alpha male while Wesley is a mischievous hacker into older men.  The fact that Rowan is willing to take care of Wesley the way he craves does not hurt either.  The passion that exists between these two is intense and will burn up the pages so beware.

There are a few twists that add to the story, which force Rowan to tell Wesley about shifters.  I loved the way the younger man reacted and thought the author did a wonderful job tying the loose ends together.  

This newest story is one I will be reading again and I am sure it will end up on many readers’ keeper shelves. 

Fissures

Title: Fissures
Author: D. J. Manly
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: amberquill.com
ISBN: 978-1-61124-739-8
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

War is imminent on Spectrum Island and it is up to human London and vampire Pascal to stop it before a total destruction occurs.

Fissures, the third book in the Spectrum Skies series, is packed with heart -stopping action. The main issue of this plot is the pros and cons of mixed species couples, very similar to the conflicts regarding interracial couples in our world today. Hate crimes are committed on a daily basis; even London becomes a victim to a kidnapping because he is loved by a vampire.  Pascal is the most powerful of all the vampires, so it falls to him to restore equality, in addition to permanently exiling the political extremist. 

D. J. Manly has created an outstandingly realistic saga that is incredibly enjoyable, as well as a little scary. The chaotic circumstances is gripping, the characters arouse a multitude of emotional reactions.  

An Opportunity Seized

Author:  Donna Gallagher
Publisher:  Totally Bound
ISBN/BIN:  9781784304188
Genre:  {M/F} Thrillers and Suspense, Rubenesque
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Toni Grimaldi considers herself to be a bit on the plain and plump side, but she owns it. Being part of a high society family doesn’t give Toni a high society mentality.  She enjoys being in the background and having normal life experiences.  This London vacation was just the getaway Toni needed, with no overprotective parents and no awkward situations, or so she thought.

Jason was never supposed to make direct contact with Toni.  Protecting a spoiled rich heiress on shopping sprees was what he expected to do on this job. Boy was he wrong, because this magnetic woman was nothing like Jason imagined.  After realizing he wanted a more intimate relationship with Toni, Jason feared how she’d handle the truth.  At the same time, Jason can’t let his desire for Toni sidetrack him from the danger he was hired to protect her from.

Their surprise romantic getaway is interrupted by an accident back home.  Toni’s entire family is being threatened, so she needs to deal with that on top of whatever is happening with Jason.  Does he really want Toni for herself or is he interested in her money and status?  Jason’s previous track record on relationships wasn’t good, so Toni was worried.  Jason had no doubts about his feelings for Toni, but concerns about being an employee for her family while sharing her bed. 

Donna Gallagher has given us an exciting start to the Haven Security series with An Opportunity Seized.  Even though we aren’t all rich and high society women, I think readers will get Toni, because she is simple.  She takes pleasure from the little things in life.  She accepts who she is without being too hard on herself.  And at the end of the day, Toni was stronger than I originally thought.  Jason brought out that strength in her.  For as much as Toni’s parents tried to groom her, I was pleased that they really loved her as she was.  I felt that projected from the pages.  Jason was such a good guy and I loved the fact that he would literally give you the shirt off his back. The scene when he first spoke to Toni was so embarrassing, I think my cheeks turned red.  This is a wonderful blend of risk and romance that will leave readers anticipating the next story.

Claimed By Love

Author: Skye Jones
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: www.lsbooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62210-177-1
Genre: {M/M} {M/M/F} Paranormal; Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Kayley has had a pretty rough few years, ever since the man she thought loved her destroyed her trust and almost ended her life. Fearing for her family’s lives as much as her own, she took the only option left open to her – she ran. Time, distance and the help of medication allowed her to carve out a new life for herself, but the fear of what she left behind never truly goes away. To make matters worse, she’s started having strange dreams – highly erotic dreams involving two men that she has never even met. She wakes up flustered and horny as hell but try as she might, she just can’t seem to find the release she craves.

She hadn’t kept much contact with her family – things just seemed easier that way – but when her cousin Will and some friends come to town on vacation, Kayley decides that she has let fear rule her life for too long. She thought she was ready to be social again, but nothing prepared her for the shock of meeting the men of her dreams, Luke and Sean. On the surface, Luke and Sean are colleagues of Will’s but unbeknownst to Kayley, they are wolf shifters. They have been dreaming of a woman who will make their unit complete, but they never thought it would be a human. Kayley can’t deny the pull she feels towards the two beautiful men, but she is so very afraid to let anyone get close again.

She wants to let go of the fear once and for all, but Kayley can sense Luke and Sean are not all that they seem. Can the promise of love and protection be enough for Kayley to accept all that these men are? Or will the threat of the past and worries about the future destroy their bond before it’s even taken hold?

Claimed By Love is the first book in the author’s Wild Hunters series. The book is full of strong, believable characters that I could empathise with. The only character I struggled with at times was Will, as I found his behaviour a bit frustrating. Although this first book did well to set the scene and introduce characters that I look forward to seeing again, reading this felt a lot like I was picking the story up half way through. The characters’ back stories are very interesting but are written in such a way that I felt like I’d missed out on something. This distracted me slightly from being able to completely lose myself in the story.

There are some nice twists and turns in the plot and I was certainly eager to find out what fate had in store for these characters. By far the biggest success is how well the connection between Kayley, Luke and Sean is written. Their bond is palpable, the build-up and tease of it all fantastic to read. The sex scenes between these characters are extremely erotic. Their chemistry is thoroughly enjoyable to read and I love how they are three distinct individuals, all with rich backgrounds that drew me in, coming together to become one very sexy, loving unit. I recommend this book to fans of the genre and look forward to catching up with this world again soon.

Dawning of Light

Author:  Tami Lund
Publisher:  Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL:  http://www.lsbooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62210-171-9
Genre:  {M/F} Fantasy, Fairies, Paranormal, Shifters, Suspense
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Cecilia Druthers is a lightbearer, who leaves the coterie to unwind from time to time. Sometimes a girl just needed a little freedom, so where’s the harm in that?  Thanks to a protective king and friends, Cecilia is assigned a bodyguard, who acts more like a babysitter.  He’s the most obnoxious and rude shifter alive and his sole purpose seems to be ruining all fun for Cecilia. 

Finn Hennigan had never met anyone who was more of a danger magnet than Cecilia.  She did whatever she wanted with no concern for the consequences and then yelled at him for doing his job.  Finn wasn’t happy about being assigned to “Cecilia duty”, but something about her made him curious.  Finn always imagined he’d wind up with another shifter, so why was he feeling drawn to the one lightbearer who wasn’t even his type?  Cecilia was driving him insane, in more ways than one.

Coterie life had changed and the union of lightbearers and shifters was becoming more acceptable, but not by everyone.  Finn and Cecilia had to deal with the prejudice of their families but also the threats from hate groups.  Finn doubled his efforts to keep Cecilia safe and to keep his hands off her, but failed on both counts.  Cecilia came to terms with the fact that she wanted to be mated to Finn.  Now all she had to do was convince Finn, while at the same time figure out who was trying to kill her.

Dawning of Light is the second book in the Lightbearer series, and it seems that Tami Lund stepped up her game with the suspense in this story.  There are some big reveals that kept me guessing and left me shocked.  Both Finn and Cecilia had family issues that made me angry.  I was disgusted by some of the family actions and couldn’t believe the things a parent would do to their child.  The come- backs and arguing between Finn and Cecilia was nice foreplay and it made their union very spicy.  If you enjoy couples who don’t see the forest because of the trees, you have to read this story. 

Shifter

Title: Shifter
Author: Jace Payne
Publisher: Loose Id
Publishers URL: http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62300-580-1
Genre: {M/M}, {M/M/M/M}, Paranormal, Series          
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

After four years, Kayden is heading home.  While he’s looking forward to returning home, nothing can prepare him for the changes he finds, especially those caused by his ex.

Shifter is the first book in the Dark South series by author Jace Payne.  This is an interesting shape-shifter story that will pull you in from the first page.  In some ways, this story takes readers back to the old time shifters we grew up with.  Humans know nothing of the paranormal world that exists around them and a bite from a shifter will turn a victim on the next full moon.  At the same time, this story keeps the intensity level at the height readers have come to expect in their books today. 

Kayden is human and after being attacked by his ex, his world begins to change.  He does not know what’s going on with him and, when he is told what to expect, he’s not too sure he really believes it.  Paul is a feline shifter who has found refuge with Kayden’s parents.  Like Kayden, Paul’s introduction into the shifter world was also the result of a violent attack.  The attraction between these two men is instant.  I loved the way Kayden reacts when he sees Paul for the first time and had to laugh a time or two.  The men move from strangers to lovers in a short period time and the love scenes between them are hot. 

This story has a lot going on, and it would be very easy to unintentionally give too much away.  There are some unexpected turns in Shifter that will surprise readers.  I did not see some of those twists coming and think others will be just as surprised.  There are several secondary characters that help move the story along.  Not all of them are likeable and some of the secondary characters call out for stories of their own. 

Shifter by Jace Payne is a well written paranormal story that is sure to bring the author many new fans.   I am curious to see the direction the author has planned for this series and hope the next book will be out soon.

Burning Submission

Author:  Trista Ann Michaels
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62300-819-2
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Jennifer was kidnapped and experimented on because of her talents.  Josh is on medical leave from the FBI and is asked by a friend to help out Jennifer.  The sparks between them may be life threatening.

Burning Submission is the fourth book in the Crime and Punishment series and is my favorite so far.  This story has a novice to the BDSM scene who finds out she enjoys it.  I loved that the author kept the story going even between the very hot scenes between Josh and Jennifer.

Jennifer has a lot of trust issues and is also afraid of what she can do.  Josh eventually overcomes, at least with him, her trust issues.  Josh confronts and challenges her to learn more about what she can do. Then she can learn control, to avoid a repeat of what happened when she escaped her captors.  I was a little surprised toward the end of the story.

As Josh’s and Jennifer’s relationship progresses, some characters from past stories show up to help.  Connolly helps Jennifer come to terms with some of her feelings and Nathan counsels Josh.  I laughed out loud as some of the talks that went on between the two couples and friends, especially some that Josh and Jennifer had. 

While readers should read this series in order to get the most out of it, all the stories including, Burning Submission, can be read alone.  This is one series that keeps the suspense going and also showcases various BDSM relationships.  This is a series that will be read again and I can’t wait to see who is next in future stories.

The Rover Bold

Title:  The Rover Bold
Author:  Anna Markland
Publisher:  Amazon Digital Services
Publisher URL:  http://www.amazon.com
ISBN/BIN:  N/A
Genre:  {M/F}  Medieval 
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Vikings are warriors who claim what they want with little mercy.  Bryk Gardbruker is proud to be a Viking, but he’s grown tired of plundering and raiding.  He knows force is not the best answer, but most of his countrymen disagree with him.  Once Bryk was viewed as a hero among his people and now they think he’s a coward.  Leaving Norway in search of a better life across the waters has Bryk conflicted.  He trades painful memories for uncertainty.

Life has not been kind to Cathryn from the moment she was born.  After being left as an infant at the doorstep of a convent, Cathryn has spent her entire life there.  Cathryn has no family and no hope of having one.  An opportunity for Cathryn quickly turns into danger that changes everything.

Bryk had no intentions of taking Cathryn with him, but that was the only way to keep her safe.  Something about Cathryn called to Bryk and he couldn’t resist her.  Cathryn was afraid of the giant man, but something about him made her fears disappear.  She took a leap of faith and discovered how gentle and caring the Viking was.  Cathryn was having lustful feelings she never though possible and Bryk seemed to return them.  Communicating verbally was hard, but the language of love and lust wasn’t a problem for the couple.

Bryk’s Viking brothers are willingly following his lead in the new land and things are working to their advantage.  He is being viewed in a more honorable light and he’s found happiness that he thought would never return after the death of his family.  Cathryn experiences adventures and finds love that she never thought existed with Bryk.  Danger returns but in the end, it brings unexpected family for Cathryn and Bryk and a wonderful life that has been waiting in the wings for them.

The Rover Bold is the first of the series Viking Roots 1 and what a great beginning it is.  How can you not fall hard for a sensitive but menacing man?  It is impossible!  Bryk made me feel safe, as if I were in the story myself.  He was such an honorable man, and I loved the fact that he stuck to his principles about not destroying towns and killing just for the fun of it.  He was still able to maintain that Viking swag and make me believe it.  Cathryn was one lucky woman to meet this gentle giant.  It was cute when they tried communicating and how they relied on feelings sometimes more than words.  There were so many memorable characters and historical information on top of this romance.  The author will grab readers by the collar with this book and leave them panting for more.

Love Means…Endurance

Author: Andrew Grey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781632163615
Genre: {M/M}, Western, Series          
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Geoff and Eli have been together a long time and, during those years, there have been many changes.  Friends and family have found loves of their own; the farm has expanded in many different ways, keeping both men busy.  The most important change in their lives has been the addition of a son, who keeps both men hopping.  It’s while everything is going smoothly that the two men get some news neither ever expected to hear.

Love Means… Endurance is the latest addition to Mr. Grey’s series Love Means.  This story brings the series full circle as it once again centers on Geoff and Eli.  When Eli becomes sick, both men are shocked to hear what is wrong.  I have to admit that I was as well and could not believe that the author was doing this to Geoff once again.  The story is heavy and the author does a good job showing how an illness in the family affects everyone, not just the person who is sick. 

Geoff and Eli have a long road ahead of them and both men are feeling pulled in multiple directions.  Geoff has a farm to run, a young son to care for, and a sick husband he has to be strong for.  At times, he feels as if he is falling apart and sees no clear end in sight.  As for Eli, he struggles to stay strong, hoping to keep things as normal as possible for his son, and feels guilty for what he is putting everyone through. It is easy to understand why the men feel the way they do and this keeps the story believable. 

As heart-wrenching as this story is at times, one thing comes out loud and clear and that is how important family is, and several of the previous couples come together to help Geoff and Eli in their time of need.  I liked that we get to see past characters again and wondered if we would be seeing some of them in their own stories once again. 

I liked the way the author wrapped up Love Means…Endurance, giving the story a happy ending while keeping it realistic.  While I can see this as a final story in the series, I hope the author has plans for more.  

Brokered Submission

Author:  Claire Thompson
Publisher:  Romance Unbound Publishing
Publisher URL:  http://romanceunbound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1937337759
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

While out with a group of investors, Dylan and Zoe are attracted to each other.  After she gets a phone call that throws all her hard work out the window regarding a funding deal for research, Dylan brokers a deal with Zoe to be his submissive and trainee for 48 hours.

Brokered Submission involves a very experienced Dom and a total novice in the BDSM scene.  While the story is compelling, there were a few issues regarding safety that needs to be addressed for those unfamiliar with the lifestyle.  One is having a safe call where someone else knows where you are, who you are with, and will check in with you every so often to make sure you are okay. Another is checking references to make sure someone has a good reputation, though that is not always foolproof.  Another is going through a checklist for limits about what you will or will not do, or what you may be willing to try.  That being said, this was actually a good story.

The author did a good job showing Zoe’s emotions as she is introduced to BDSM. I loved that there were some discussions of those emotions and what they might mean to a submissive.  The author also pointed out that what BDSM between the people involved, in a relationship, is what they want it to mean and not what others expect it to be.

The chemistry between the two is hot.  I also loved the way Dylan broke the news to Zoe that he wanted to continue their relationship without the deal hanging over them, as Dylan also makes some of his own discoveries about himself.    

Some of the secondary characters were pretty colorful.  I liked the idea of having a ‘sub club’ or support group that allows someone to vent or to talk about what is going on, especially if it turns out that the “dom’ is a ‘wanna-be’ and is actually an abuser instead.  I’m glad that Zoe’s experience with “Master” Cameron showed what happens when the community does a good job of policing themselves.

Those familiar with the lifestyle will enjoy Brokered Submission, but it is a great book for readers that may have just a little experience or haven’t read a lot of BDSM books.  I will be reading this one again.

Shadowboxing

Title: Shadowboxing
Author: Diana DeRicci
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02014-0360
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

The setting is a west coast gay friendly community known as Arbor HeightsThe key elements of this highly emotional plot are sexual identity discovery, friendship evolving into lovers and horrific family secrets.

The main characters are Wayne Hightower and Erich Villalobos, who are co-workers. Both men are well-mannered decent guys with well-suited personalities.

Wayne is convinced that it was his duty to marry a woman and have children. He never questioned his parent’s plan for his life and did everything he could to find the right woman. However, Wayne was rejected by every single woman he dated because of his one little problem; he was not attracted to women. Wayne discovered this flaw in his character when he visited a gay bar with Erich. Intrigued by the amorous display of men kissing, Wayne realized he had never felt that with a woman.

Erich does not broadcast that he is gay at work, but he admits that he is gay when asked. When Erich invited Wayne out for a drink, it was merely as friends. Because Erich and Wayne clicked as friends, they spent more time together. After a time, their friendship escalated into a sizzling romance.

Shadowboxing is part of the Arbor Heights series. This enjoyable poignant installment illustrates an example of extreme homophobic actions that I found distressingly realistic of the brainwashed hypocrites in the world today. I was incensed by Wayne’s parents but overjoyed by the happy ending. 

Should Have Put A Leash On It

Author: SA Welsh
Publisher: eXtasy Books Inc
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0198-6
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Micah’s personality is a bit prickly and his mouth gets him into trouble all the time. Even his attempts at teasing his pack mates usually falls flat. That’s particularly true with his brother’s best friend, Rylan, a guy who he’s been arguing with for years. Part of the problem is the bad feeling Rylan has at being only half-were and at having his mother dump him off on the pack when he was a kid.

Micah didn’t realize how serious their animosity was until his alpha brother warned him to get along or else.  But before he can make amends with Rylan, he’s kidnapped. The entire pack hunts for Rylan but Micah is desperate to find him working himself into exhaustion, letting his judgment slide and even challenging his brother. It takes six weeks before Rylan’s found and he’s been severely tortured…maybe too badly to save him.

Should Have Put a Leash On It is the latest release in the Blood Moon Pack Alliance series by SA Welsh.  Due to the ongoing plot line and returning characters, it would be best to read the books in order.

Micah is a jerk at the beginning.  That being said, I enjoyed the way the author used the circumstances and emotions to change him a little at a time, turning him into a guy with a much nicer personality by the end. Yes, he still got angry and did stupid things but they didn’t stop me from liking him. Then there’s Rylan. His history with the pack is great background information and I loved the snarky, snappy dialogue between him and Micah. As well done as it is, I do wish that they could have gotten together in some other manner than being a torture victim.  But it was great watching Micah realize that the hurt and recovering Rylan was his mate…the hard-headed guy! 

The overall book is entertaining. It has a smooth pace, good imagery and I enjoyed seeing the previous characters playing prominent roles. I have no idea who’ll be featured next, so look for it, I will be.

Comes a Peace

Title: Comes a Peace
Author: George Seaton
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02014-0358
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

The story is set in northwestern Colorado, home to ranchers and a small town community.

The plot brings to the forefront several emotional issues that are common to anywhere in America, especially the dying breed of independent farmers and ranchers. Diehl is an Army Veteran suffering from symptoms of PTSD. There are several abusive bullies causing trouble with others rather than deal with their own inner demons. Also included in the storyline is a transgender high school boy just beginning to discover his true identity.

The main characters are Diehl and Joe, two hardworking honest men who happen to be gay. The hatred they deal with stems from the twisted attitude that gay men somehow would taint any work they performed or any people they associated with. Only a few judged Diehl and Joe on their good work ethics.

The secondary characters having the most interactions with Diehl and Joe are the three members of the Kluge family. John Kluge is a rancher who values honesty, regardless of a man’s sexuality. John’s sons are Herman, in the closet gay and Henry, a homophobe troublemaker.  

Comes a Peace is part of the Big Diehl series. What I find most intriguing about this enjoyable saga is the exceptionally realistic illustrations of secrets, personality revelations, hidden agendas as well as false assumptions made by some of the general public. 

Wednesday, February 11, 2015

Negative

Title:  Negative
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4814-0201-3
Genre:  {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Aster came back from the dead with a special talent.  When Aster is assigned as a bodyguard to Lady Abrieth, she meets Yodin, who is considered the god of war on Rekfa.  What happens when she meets him at a celebration?

Negative, the latest in the Terran Times Second Wave series, is a bit different than the previous stories because it involves beings more like gods than people.  I was intrigued by the author’s description of how Aster and Yodin became the way they were.

The avatar on Rekfa takes Aster away from Yodin, so she can grow into her powers and talent.  Yodin isn’t happy, but later realizes it was right, though he finds the separation difficult.  I had to laugh at some of the situations he got himself into as the god of war and sex.  I could also understand some of Aster’s feelings when she learned more about Yodin.

Aster and Yodin have some great chemistry together.  Aster knows she wants to be with him, but knows she can’t live in his dark world.  Yodin realizes she needs light and a way to create things, so he ends up compromising so he can make Aster happy.

The avatar and some of Yodin’s old friends help things along, though there is one sad event that casts a pall for a while.  There were also some humorous scenes involving the avatar, Lady Abrieth, and Lerodan.

This book was a fun book to read and can be read alone.  I am curious to see what the next one is about.

Something More for Santa

Author: AKM Miles
Publisher: Man Love Romance Books
Publishers URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN/BIN: MLR-1-02014-0349
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Holiday          
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Derek loved his mother and did everything to make her final days peaceful.  Now he is left in debt.  Working several jobs to cover the past due medical bills is starting to wear the young man down.  Little does he know that things are about to change, thanks to a little elf that happens to overhear Santa’s wish.

Something More for Santa is the latest release from author AKM Miles.  I have to admit that this story sounded vaguely familiar to me, but for the life of me I could not remember if I had read it or not.  This newest expanded edition is one I will not forget however, and I plan on reading it again in the future.

From the beginning the author pulled me into this story.  All the main characters are well written, in fact while the story is about Derek and Max, Michael, Max’s son, plays such a strong role in this story, that he could be seen as a third main character.  Derek and Max meet after Michael looks for someone to help his father with his “main headache”.   At the time Derek is working as one of the Santas at Martin’s department store and happens to be on break, and feeling sorry for himself, when he meets Michael.  The three are drawn together once again, after Max goes searching for his son who has wondered away from his sitter.  There is a strong connection between Max and Derek, making it easy for the readers to see that these two belong together.  The addition of Michael is a bonus for Derek, as these two bond almost from the moment the little “elf” asks “Santa” for help. 

Even though the connection between the two men is intense, and their relationship flows easily, there are interferences from multiple outside forces that shake things up a time or two.  These little twists and turns keep the readers turning the pages to see what will happen next, while adding just enough suspense to keep the story from being too sweet.  

Something More for Santa is a definite keeper and sure to bring this author many new fans.

A Healing Man

Title: A Healing Man
Author: Sandrine Gasq-Dion
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Publisher URL: www.wildecity.com
ISBN: 978-1-925180-92-3
Genre: {M/M} Romantic Comedy Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

NYC cop Tiernan Callahan realized that self-denial becomes a thing of the past when confronted with unadulterated desire. The object of Tiernan’s desire is wounded warrior Dario Ramos, who is a friend of the Callahan’s unjustified enemy Casper Kennedy.

A Healing Man is the fifth book in the Men Of Manhattan series. The characters were first introduced in A Fighting Man featuring Casper Kennedy and Army Ranger Slater Cassidy. Casper was engaged to Tiernan’s brother Mason who was killed in Iraq. Slater and Dario were survivors of that same war.

Tiernan’s attitude regarding gay men stems from his uncompromising religious mother. Tiernan’s fears of rejection from his family overrule his true personality. The bigoted attitude is also causing problems with his performance on the job. Learning to face his demons brings about a positive change in Tiernan, but not without some apprehension for his future.

Dario is a man of compassion, dealing with his own demons as well as with physical pain on a daily basis, he recognizes the sufferings of others and tries to help anyway he can, regardless of a person’s sexually. 

Reading Sandrine Gasq-Dion’s A Healing Man I found exceptionally enjoyable illustrations of crimes in progress action, Tiernan and Dario’s incredibly sensual budding romance, vastly appealing secondary characters, especially Danny Finnegan, Tiernan’s work partner plus Dario’s mother. The two of them provided most of the storyline’s hilarity.