Tuesday, May 26, 2015

Acting on Love

Author: S.J. Frost
Publisher: MLR Press
Publishers URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN/BIN: MLR-1-02015-0389
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Series        
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Until recently Brandon has been living his dream and loving it.  But when the play he was supposed to star in closes before getting off the ground and he bombs his latest audition, Brandon wonders what he is going to do.  And how everything will affect his relationship with Shunichi.

This novella is the eighth book in the Conquest series.  Readers of this series have met both main characters before, as Brandon is Jesse’s older brother.  As an actor in the theatre in Chicago, he has gone as far as he can.  Shunichi is a martial arts instructor and one of the best in his field.  These two men have a strong loving relationship and neither man can imagine living a life without the other in it.  Although both men have faced issues in the past, the author gives them one more to overcome. 

Brandon has the chance to reprise a role on Broadway that he is well known for.  The problem is the separation that would bring between the two men.  The author does a good job showcasing the problem and how it would affect both men, as well as the various ways in which they can be solved.  I think the readers will like the way in which the author wraps everything up, allowing both men to continue to have what they need and still stay together.

Of course Jesse and Evan show up and, in fact, they play an important part in allowing Brandon to follow his dream.  These two bring some over the top moments to the story as well.  Several other former characters show up to give Brandon and Shunichi all the encouragement they need. 

Fans of this series are sure to like Acting on Love and, while it is not necessary to read all the books in this series first, I would recommend reading the first two books.  

Butt Riders On The Range

Author: Anthology
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Publisher URL: www.wildecity.com
ISBN: 978-1-925313-12-3
Genre:  {M/M} Comedy
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Hung Like A Horse by JP Barnaby - 4 Nymphs
Horse shifter Riley Harper is as skittish as a colt, always afraid someone would discover his secret. Fortunately, Riley’s days of hiding comes to an end when he meets John North, a Missouri farmer who turns out to be Riley’s new protector, friend and lover.  A striking heartwarming romance, the characters are engaging with a touch of amusement.

Chinchilla Chimichangas by Kage Alan - 4 Nymphs
Chris, along with his very opinionated imaginary friends, is taking a Route sixty-six trip mapped out long ago by his father. Detoured by a storm to a small farming community in Oklahoma, Chris meets Cameron, the cowboy of his dreams, as well as sanctioned by his make-believe friends.  The imaginary friends are especially humorous and contribute a pleasant balance to an emotional theme.
  
Squatting With Spurs On by Kiernan Kelly - 4 Nymphs
Live, love and repeat this is the magical time warp Dooley McCallister and Buck Caldwell are caught in. Dooley has no memory of his previous life spans, but fortunately Buck remembers each and every one. No matter the current century, Buck and Dooley always go back to their first Montana home together.  This story gives a humorous innovative meaning to the turn of phrase “I will always love you”.

Faux Cowboy by Shae Connor - 3 Nymphs
Doug Shaw heads to New York in hopes of having a little fun. Growing up on a farm in Wyoming did not offer much for a gay cowboy. However, meeting the cowboy pretender Jackson James at a western themed saloon soon fulfilled Doug’s erotic riding desires. Enjoyable as a one time read only, the casual hook-up theme did not exhibit any noteworthy actions or believable personality qualities. The unexciting one-dimensional characters did not completely employ my interest.   

Hooves And Horns by Eden Winters - 5 Nymphs
Kerry Abrams is a champion bull rider and Armando is a champion bronco rider. Though Kerry and Armando enjoy pleasing their rodeo fans as well as each other between shows, the secret to the lover’s rodeo success is that they are both shifters.  The character interaction is laugh out loud hilarious; I enjoyed the vibrant descriptions that draw the reader into the storyline.

The Boy From Battalion Bluff by Jevocas Green - 5 Nymphs
High noon everyday the townsfolk would gather on Main Street. The men gathered in hopes of being selected and the women gathered in envy to watch Dr. Feel-Good walk down the center of the street. The Doc’s mission was to select one lucky man to receive the Doc’s special brand of relaxing therapy. After waiting for months for his chance, Toby, the stable boy, finally got lucky. The principle of this plot is the old west meets another world. The storyline features exceptionally loving characters and a blissful conclusion.

The Five Hells War by Ally Blue - 5 Nymphs
Sometimes it is the little guy who wins. Salvador Flint owns a small ranch surrounded by greedy corporate ranchers willing to try everything, including hiring corporate lawyer Balthazar Shellenbarger to force Salvador out of business. But upon meeting Salvador, Balthazar found Salvador to be an honest man with a skill for more than ranching. The setting is not Earth, however the corruption illustrated in the plot is a realistic image of Earth. The storyline provokes outrage and the characters encourage cheers.   

And The Horse He Rode In On by TC Blue - 4 Nymphs
Texas sheep rancher Tyler and poacher Jason is an unlikely pair of shifters, yet there is an undeniable attraction between them that works. Of course it took months for the two to find common ground. Nevertheless Tyler and Jason managed to work through their differences to become lovers. The main features of the plot are an amusing dialog merged with compassionate characters. 

Overall, Butt Riders On The Range is a marvelous assortment of incredibly entertaining stories.

Brielle and the Alien Geek

Author:  Jessica Coulter Smith
Publisher:  Changeling Press
ISBN/BIN:  07359-02373
Genre:  {M/F} Sci-Fi, Futuristic
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Life delivers Brielle a super serving of lemons when she loses her job, her apartment, and her man.  Becoming a Terran bride seems to be the only solution to Brielle’s problems.  Hopefully Terran males aren’t as bad as Earth men.

Work is Syl’s life, so he never seriously considered having a mate before.  His experiences with women up until this point have been clinical.  After meeting Brielle, Syl wonders what it would be like to have this woman want him, as much as he wants her.

Brielle and Syl are hesitant with each other, but eventually surrender to the chemistry growing between them.  Being mated is what they both want, but others around them don’t agree with their union.  Once again, Brielle’s life is on the verge of being shaken up like an earthquake because of a man. 

The Intergalactic Brides series kicked off to a great start with Brielle and the Alien GeekJessica Coulter Smith shows us that whether they are alien or human, a man in love is a force to be reckoned with.  The author laid a foundation with the world of Terran that will keep readers drawn in and enjoying the different layers.

Bombshell

Title:  Bombshell
Author:  Danica St. Como
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62300-754-6
Genre:  {M/F}, Suspense, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

MacBride is distracted after going back to Catamount Lake because of a woman he met at an explosives training seminar.  He doesn’t know Keko is the daughter of one of the best explosives expert in the country. 

Bombshell is the third book in The Men of Sanctuary series and is Sheriff MacBride’s story.  This is also a re-edited and revised book from another publisher, now under Loose Id’s label.  Of the series, this has to be my favorite book so far as Keko is such a kick-ass heroine.

I loved Keko’s sass and the fact that she gives as good as she gets when her friend Kamaka teases her, especially about MacBride.  Even though she acts out of character at the conference when she hooks up with MacBride, she is surprised to find the chemistry is still there when she gets an assignment to Catamount Lake.  The two of them have a hard time keeping their hands off each other.

A unique bomb is found that results in Keko ending up in MacBride’s neck of the woods.  As things progress, several characters from past stories show up to help, as well as a few new ones that help the story along.  This story has lots of suspense and humor in it.  While the main subject matter is a very serious subject, the story also showcases some of the problems, as well as some of the solutions, to something that also makes headlines. 

The Men of Sanctuary series should be read in order to get the most out of it, especially since the first book, A Strength of Arms, lets readers know how Sanctuary came about.  Bombshell is a good addition and I am looking forward to the next book.

Finding Freddy Venus

Author: Neil Plakcy
Publisher: Loose Id
Publishers URL: http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62300-856-7
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, BDSM, Series          
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Aidan and Liam meet their newest client and Aidan couldn’t be more surprised.  Freddy Venus is a former porn star and has played in many of Aidan’s fantasies, but the years haven’t been good to him and someone is now out to get him.

Finding Freddy Venus is the seventh book in the Have Body, Will Guard series.  This newest book finds Aidan and Liam taking on a new client while contemplating their six years together.  The author pulls you right back into Aidan’s and Liam’s world from the first page and will hold your attention until the very last sentence.  I like that the author has these two questioning some of the aspects of their relationship.  For me, it makes the series more realistic as everything is not always rosy.  The fact is that a lot of their issues come from a lack of communication, which leads to unnecessary worry, which also plays true to life.

As for the mystery aspect of Finding Freddy Venus, this starts out like readers would expect.  Freddy has a stalker.  Only Newt isn’t what everyone thinks, especially Freddy, who can’t seem to get the older man out of his mind.  These two secondary characters are so opposite from each other that it is hard to picture them getting together.  Not only are their personalities complete polar opposites, but so is the way the carry themselves.  This is the only part of the story I had an issue with.  Not because Newt is overweight and does not take care of himself, but because of the way Freddy treats him in the beginning.  Freddy’s attitude bordered on abusive and it was hard for me to like him in the beginning.  As the story progressed however, both these secondary characters grew on me and I wanted to see them find their happily ever after.  When the mystery surrounding Freddy is wrapped up, readers will be surprised by all the secrets that are revealed. 

This is a series that needs to be read in order.  Fans of this series are sure to love this new book and wonder where the series is going, especially after Liam’s and Aidan’s fears are made apparent.

Unworthy Heart

Author: Dorothy F. Shaw
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61922-845-0
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Ryan Donnelly’s a single father and he’s determined to be a great dad and to become successful at his career in a L.A marketing firm.  The failed relationship with his son’s mother makes him reluctant to get involved with any woman, and then he meets Maiya Rossini, a co-worker he’s been dealing with online. Nothing about the feisty red-head is his type and the strength of their attraction scares him.

Maiya grew up with an alcoholic mother in a trailer park and she’s worked hard to get an education and become successful. Getting involved with any man is out of the question. Ryan’s buttoned-down persona isn’t her type but their attraction is too intense to deny, but Maiya will try. If Ryan’s wants a relationship, he’ll have to convince Maiya to take a risk; otherwise she’ll run and never look back.

Unworthy Heart is the first release by Dorothy F. Shaw in her new contemporary romance series, The Donnellys.

This is a first time read of this author for me so I wasn’t certain what to expect. What I got was a fast paced book with vivid description and interesting personal histories. I like how the author wove both Ryan and Maiya’s family into the plot, giving them both serious emotional baggage to overcome. I particularly enjoyed the scenes that included Ryan’s young son. He’s a cutie. Also, the ones with Maiya’s ill mother are very well done.

Both Ryan and Maiya are serious about their jobs but that doesn’t mean they don’t make poor decisions about their sexual encounters that could have been professionally damaging. I admit it. This bothered me—a lot. I found the sexual tension well written but shock, I thought there was too much sex in this plot. It overbalanced the romance and Ryan and Maiya aren’t allowed enough time to actually get to know each other. 

Truthfully, I liked them as individuals interacting with family and friends much more than I did as a couple because in the first half of the book they were constantly doing ridiculous things or making poor decisions. It wasn’t until the last 25% or so that I could believe them being together. 

Equinox

Title: Equinox
Author: Jace Payne
Publisher: Loose Id
Publishers URL: http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62300-828-4
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series          
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

When a night on the town with friends goes horribly wrong, Victor finds himself literally at death’s door.  Not sure how he will get back to normal, Victor follows the advice given to him by one of his nurses and heads out of town.  He’s not looking for anything special, just some time to find the person he used to be.  What he finds instead, will change his life.

Equinox, the first book in the new series, Secrets of Salem, is a well done story that pulled me in from the first page.  Victor is recovering from a life altering event.  When readers find out what happened, they will be shocked yet able to understand why Victor needs a calming place to stay for a while.  Rayne owns a shop in Salem and happens to be more than what he appears.  There is a lightness to Rayne that is just what Victor needs.  The attraction between the two men is strong and builds quickly. 

I liked the way and pace that the men’s relationship moved and did not feel short changed in any way. It’s something that I don’t always find to be true in novellas. The author also does an excellent job with the world building in this story, as well, and I found myself curious about the other residents of Salem 

There are a few secondary characters, of which Rayne’s parents are two.  These two are something else, especially his mother.  There is some conflict which is easily handled and the main characters do find their happily ever after.  While I am curious about who will show up in the next stories, I would love to see Victor and Rayne again.  Readers of the paranormal sub-genre are sure to love this new story by Jace Payne and, for those who have not yet tried this author, it is a good book to start with.

Deep Deception

Author: Z. A. Maxfield
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN: 9781619228498
Genre: {M/M} Vampire Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Independence is important to Adin; however since becoming vampire Donte’s lover, Adin has encountered a source of danger he is not prepared to manage alone or creatures he never knew existed, like a boy named Bran.

Deep Deception is the second book in The Deep series. The plot centers on Adin’s rescue of a kidnapped entity who appears to be a human boy, but there is more to Bran than being an orphan living on the streets. Several secrets in Adin’s past are revealed through dreams. Donte’s trust is broken by some he considered friends and re-established in others he considered enemies. Adin and Donte embark on a new beginning, secure in the love they share.

Adin is on a mission to discover who or what Bran is, along with why Adin’s rival collector Ned Hawiche is so determined to procure Bran. Donte is on a mission to protect Adin as well as Bran, but a mysterious illness jeopardizes Donte’s undead life. 

 Z. A. Maxfield has created an exciting saga that I enjoyed immensely. I look forward to the next installment of this series.                

Spring Break at the Villa Hermes

Author: Xavier Mayne
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781632166524
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, Series          
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Donnelly and Brandt are coming up on an anniversary and to celebrate, as well as to give his lover a much needed break from all the wedding planning, Brandt arranges for a week getaway.  What should have been a week of relaxing turns into more when some unexpected guests, as well as a hurricane show up.

Spring Break at the Villa Hermes is the fourth story in the A Brandt and Donnelly Caper series.  A year has passed since our main characters became engaged and the wedding planning has gotten a little out of hand at times.  Both men are feeling pressured and to give them some time alone, they head south for a week on the beach.  If you have read the other stories, you know that these two young officers always end up helping others when they are most needed.  It’s no different in this story as the two men find themselves helping out a group of young men looking for a good time during spring break. 

Unfortunately, it seems at times that Brandt and Donnelly are only secondary characters in this story as the college boys have a variety of secrets and problems that bring about more than a few surprises.   This is not necessarily a bad thing because Ted and Bark are great and I loved watching them, as well as the others, as they came into their own. 

The mystery aspect of Spring Break at the Villa Hermes is also a little light and does not really come into play until the latter part of the story.  There is a little different from the previous stories and I hope future additions to the series will bring back the stronger mystery side story that the author is so good at.  Another factor that fans of this series will notice is missing would be Bryce and Nestor, although they do make a brief appearance at the beginning.  To bring that touch of crazy to the story that these two usually supply, the author introduces two new secondary characters, one of whom is almost as crazy as Bryce.  

Spring Break at the Villa Hermes will keep the readers entertained with a wide selection of characters that all help keep readers turning the pages.  Readers should keep in mind that, to get the most from this series, it is best to read the stories in order.

Obedient

Title:  Obedient
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0324-9
Genre:  {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Shape-shifter, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Zelia dreams of being alone with a child, but her family keeps her pretty busy.  After Zelia foils an assassination attempt, she is offered her dream through the Volunteer Project.

Obedient is the 22nd book in the Terran Times Second Wave series.  This was a little different than some of the other books in this series, as Zelia has actually befriended a few of the aliens at the Volunteer Project. 

Zelia doesn’t feel appreciated by her family and is constantly trying to please them by obeying what they ask.  After she saved several of the aliens, she finally tells someone her dream and is surprised when they can accommodate her.  Of course, there are a few complications to clear up before making her dream happen.

I liked Rad, who turns out to be the father of her child.  The chemistry between the two is intense and I liked the way Rad gives Zelia her space due to her request.  Some of the secondary characters are from the first Terran Times series and end up being in this book.  The group on the planet was an interesting side story. 

I am looking forward to the next story, as Ms. Grace constantly surprises with the various twists of characters and the planets involved. 

Friday, May 15, 2015

Seeing Double

Author: AKM Miles
Publisher: MLR Press
Publishers URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN/BIN: MLR-1-02015-0401
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Series        
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Ben is starting his first day on his new job when he finds himself with a problem only his father, Soldier, can solve.  However, things move in a direction that no one sees coming and soon the Scarcity Sanctuary’s past comes back to haunt them.

Seeing Double is the seventh book in the Scarcity Sanctuary series.  Like the other books in this series, this story pulled me in from the very first page.  The author continues to write characters that readers will like.  I could not help falling for both Ben and Chip and don’t even mention the twins.  There are times when these two steal the story. 

Ben is one of the Scarcity Sanctuary boys, so fans of this series will have run into him a time or two already.  He’s close to finishing his master’s degree but first he has to complete an internship, which is how he finds himself at the Showhouse Theater.  The manager of the theater is a real piece of work and readers will be surprised by what they learn about her as the story unfolds.  When she sends Ben out to the alley to make sure an old dumpster is ready for pick up, the young man finds more than what he bargains for. 

Chip is a young man stuck on the streets after his religious parents kick him out for being gay.   The last two years have not been easy for him, especially since he has been trying to stay out of the hands of a couple of pimps.  When he finds himself on the wrong side of a beating, he figures his time has finally come.  But he did not count on the help of two little munchkins, JoJo and JaJa.

The twins are something else and, at times, they either had me laughing or close to tears.  While not main characters, they do play a very important part in this story and I loved how they bonded with both Chip and Ben.  It is because of these two that I may never look at bunny slippers the same way again. 

There is a lot going on in Seeing Double, but the author does a wonderful job keeping things moving.  The relationship between Chip and Ben moves at a slower pace than what some may be used to, but due to Chip’s age and both men’s backgrounds, it works in this story.  The many little issues that pop up during the course of the story will cause the readers to turn the pages just to see how each problem is solved.  There were some OMG moments in the book, but I would have to say the way the twin’s foster father was handled was my favorite. 

This is a series where it is easy to care about the various characters that make up the world in which the books take place.  At the end of each story, I find myself wondering who will get the next story, or if new characters will be brought in.   I also hope this is one series that the author has no plans of stopping any time soon.

Bound in Black

Title:  Bound in Black
Author:  Juliette Cross
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61922-497-1
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph
ARC - July 2015

Genevieve makes all kinds of deals to try to save Jude after he is taken.  She knows her actions will have consequences, but she doesn’t care.  She needs him for the upcoming war. 

The conclusion of The Vessel Trilogy, Bound in Black, is full of twists and turns as the world heads toward the start of war between good and evil.  I was surprised by the numerous characters that make appearances and their roles in this story. The twists kept coming as the suspense kept building.

Genevieve has some big surprises about Thomas and just who Prince Bamal’s Vessel is.  The scene with the other Vessel was a shocker that caused me to shed some tears.  Despite how strong Genevieve is, she shows just what a woman in love can do.

Genevieve doesn’t know if she will get the true Jude back once he is returned.  I loved the scene with the Arch Angel and her other friends.  Readers learn more about what the Arch Angel can do.  In addition, Genevieve keeps growing in power and displays some surprising gifts. 

Despite the darkness in most of the book, I loved the way the author kept me on my toes.  The Vessel Trilogy is one series to be read back to back to get the full impact of what is going on.  I will be reading this again, and look forward to more from this author.

Deep Desire

Title: Deep Desire
Author: Z. A. Maxfield
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN: 9781619227965
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Adin Tredeger has found a treasure, a centuries old journal of a man loving a man. However, Adin is not the only one seeking this rare book. Vampire Donte Fedelta is also searching for this journal. 

Deep Desire is the first book in the Deep series. The plot details an exquisite romance between Donte and his soul mate and one true love during Donte’s life as a human. The book is titled Notturno, which means “forbidden love” in English. The setting for Notturno is fifteenth century Italy. The characters are believable.

Adin is an amusing professor of literature; who travels for the college in search of historical erotica. Although Adin has numerous friends with benefits, he has never been in love.

Donte is a talented artist whose writings are full of romantic feelings. Emotionally, Donte still lives in his human past; he continues to honor the vows he made to the lover he even now grieves for. There is no room in his vampire heart to love Adin, but there is a strong attraction that comes close. 

I thoroughly enjoyed Deep Desire; the most significant elements in this superb saga are the journal’s incredibly poignant expressions, as well as the sensuous intimacy Donte and Adin shared.    

Unbreakable Bonds

Author: Taige Crenshaw and Aliyah Burke
Publisher:  Totally Bound
ISBN/BIN:  9781784304935
Genre:  {M/F}   Multicultural, Time travel
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Books mean more than income for Ta-Mara LeBreaux, they are a retreat.  Where else could she find such a perfectly handsome alpha male?  Ta-Mara couldn’t imagine what it would be like to have such a man in her life.  Destiny steps in so she no longer has to imagine.  Ta-Mara can’t logically explain why the mystery man needing her help reminds her of the man she’s half in love with from her favorite story.  Living in the moment brings Ta-Mara happiness she never thought possible, but doubts of the future have her frightened it could end any moment.

Levi Jefferson Davis Madison is saved by a woman with a syrupy voice, and he has no idea how it happened.  Something about Ta-Mara feels safe so Levi can’t help wanting her.  He might not understand modern technology or clothing, but Levi knows that Ta-Mara is the perfect woman for him.  Part of Levi isn’t ready to open his heart and the guilt is doing a number on him.  Levi doesn’t want to forget the reason he’s in this strange time, but he’s not willing to leave Ta-Mara’s side. 

Ta-Mara and Levi are hazy on the exact circumstances that bring their two worlds together.  They try not to question things too much for fear it will end the fantasy they are living in.  With Ta-Mara’s help, Levi adjusts nicely to modern day life, but things aren’t always easy.  Neither Levi nor Ta-Mara are completely honest with each other and the secrets they keep almost drive them apart.  Once they are able to share, other obstacles get in the way.  Love conquers all and matters turn out how destiny wanted. 

Racism plays a big part in Unbreakable Bonds and brings love full circle.  Levi is from the South during an era where race mixing isn’t acceptable and Ta-Mara is from the current time, where race might not be an issue at all.  There are two women in Levi’s heart so he’s torn between the past and present.  I can easily imagine Levi in all his glory during the past, but I must say I loved him best during the times he was adjusting to the twenty-first century.  I guess a SUV would freak out anyone accustomed to horses.  When Levi entered a bathroom for the first time, I felt how overwhelmed he must have been.  Under the circumstances, I’d say the man adapted like a duck takes to water.  Ta-Mara’s giving nature makes for some very touching scenes and I know readers will feel how genuine she is.  I bet I won’t be the only one looking hopefully at my bookshelf after reading this novel.

Hunting April

Title:  Hunting April
Author:  Danica St. Como
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62300-751-5
Genre:  {M/F}, Contemporary, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

April is on the run and ends up slamming into Glennon.  Glennon realizes she is hurt and takes her to safety and tries to help.  After a misunderstanding, April leaves and runs into Daniel.  What happens when they take her to Sanctuary for safety?

Hunting April is the second book in the Men of Sanctuary series.  This book was republished, with a few additional pages added, by Loose Id.  I liked the way the majority of characters interacted with each other and I loved the way Angelo’s uncle took matters into hand once April approached him.

April is attracted to both Glennon and Daniel, but ends up being really attracted to Daniel.  The two have some heavy chemistry together, though they have trouble communicating with each other, which ends with some hurt feelings until they clear the air.

Several of the secondary characters were in the first book, but April’s former fiancé, as well as other characters, are persistent keeping April and Daniel on their toes.  Lots of suspense and twists keep this book flowing along with a surprise at the end. 

I really enjoyed reading this series, and readers can read this book alone, but readers should read this series in order to get the most of it.  I will be reading it again and look forward to the next story.

Saturday, May 9, 2015

Happy Mother's Day from Torquere Press



Happy Mother’s Day!! 

For all of the wonderful Mother’s out there that sometimes just need a good book and a great escape; we are offering you this amazing coupon. Code: MOM2015 will get you 45% off both Torquere Press ( http://www.torquerebooks.com/ ) and Prizm ( http://www.prizmbooks.com/zencart/ ) 

Don’t miss out on one of the best coupons EVER!

Thursday, April 30, 2015

Going to the Chapel: Don't Ask

Author: J.J. Massa
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-887-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

A choice, to be socially accepted or be yourself, this was the dilemma Captain Zachary Smith and his secret lover FBI agent Falk Thayer must decide.  

Going to the Chapel: Don't Ask is a short story exploring the issues of being gay in a civil servant career. The plot is emotional, featuring clandestine intimacy along with public rejection. The characters are creditable.

In order to maintain his honorable military status, Zack hides his sexually by flirting with every woman he meets, as well as going through the painful task of dating some of the women.

Falk has the same goals as Zack; Falk desires to move up the FBI ladder. To reach those goals, both men would have to sacrifice their chance for happiness with each other. 

J.J. Massa has created a delightfully charming happy ever after saga that I very much enjoyed. 

Tempting the Bear

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0326-3
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Wren Cleaver has watched over his goddaughter Penelope since her parents died when she was a teenager. Now she’s an adult and he still worries—this time because Golren, the man she’s dating, is so much older. One night when they leave on a date, Wren follows them to the mysterious Falias Estate, outside of town. He sneaks inside the arboretum and hides, hoping to learn more about Golren and the estate residents. Instead, he sees two huge snakes change into men and promptly passes out, hitting his head.

When Wren wakes, he’s faced with facts he never imaged. The paranormal world isn’t a creation of fiction—it’s real and he’s fallen into the middle of it by following Penelope to the estate. What’s more he’s attracted to a stranger and has feelings he can’t explain. Can Wren make sense of the changes in his life and move forward with his new mate, or will he reject the paranormal world and what it offers?

Tempting the Bear is release twelve in Charlie Richards’ A Paranormal's Love series.  Be aware that there isn’t an ongoing plotline at this time but since there are numerous recurring characters, reading some of the previous books would be helpful.

I found Wren to be different than many of the other leads in this series. Yes, he’s gay but he starts off acting like an overprotective and disapproving father. That he’d follow Penelope on a date and hide in the shrubs is kind of cute, in a stalkerish kind of way. I also liked how he reacted to his first view of a paranormal shifting. It’s a nice change of pace and a creative opening to him meeting his mate. Good going Ms. Richards. 

Perseus, the clutch doctor, has been waiting a long time for a mate and I’m glad he’s finally found his in Wren. They are an unexpected pairing on the surface but ultimately it works between them. I admit their relationship is rushed and I think it’s because of the lengthy set-up. There just didn’t seem to be enough time devoted to developing and making their new relationship work. It suddenly did. Initially I thought the health inspector bothering Wren had the potential of being interesting but I was disappointed. There was little additional development and the issue is handled abruptly at the end. It almost turned into a plot idea that could have been eliminated. There are also a few inconsistencies. 

Anyway, I liked seeing all the previous characters and how their relationships are progressing. The pace is fast, there are enough descriptions to pull the reader into the story and the sex is sizzling. Watch for the next one.

Wings of Change

Title:  Wings of Change
Author:  Bianca D’Arc
Publisher:  Liefde Press
Publisher URL:  http://liefdepress.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781311914675
Genre:  {M/F/M}, Ménage, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Lucia runs to Kaden to let him know his dragon, Reynor, is not healing and along the way runs into Marcus and his dragon as well.  Both men are attracted to her and try to convince Lucia that it is the way of the Dragon Knights to share a wife.

Wings of Change is a novella of the Dragon Knights series that needs to be read between Prince of Spies and FireDrake (book 4 and 5 in series).  Wings of Change was released by itself after being published in the I Dream of Dragons Volume 1 Anthology.  The novella is also published by a new publisher to be purchased at either Amazon, Smashwords or Barnes & Noble.

The book introduces the Gryphons to Draconia and the readers of this series. Lucia is a priestess in her country. Running for her life, she ends up in Draconia.  She won’t stand by while Reynor is hurting and in need of healing.  Lucia ends healing Reynor after she realizes that nothing else is working, which causes an interesting scene involving a Gryphon feather.

Lucia is attracted to both Marcus and Kaden, but isn’t sure how things would work as she always thought she would only have one husband.  I enjoyed the way the knights, involving several of their friends, introduced Lucia to the idea of a relationship with them. The chemistry between them is hot.

After the Gryphon that Lucia was raised with shows up in Draconia, everyone learns the history behind the Gryphons and Dragons, as well as their common enemy.  Along with the Gryphons, several members of the royal family help the story along.  Even though there is a crisis going on in the royal family, all agree that Lucia’s, Marcus’ and Kaden’s wedding should go forward.  

I really enjoyed Wings of Change as it brings characters from various backgrounds to Draconia.  There are several threads that will be showing up in the future. This series needs to be read in order to get the most out of it.

Tuesday, April 28, 2015

The Dragons’ Demon

Author: Marie Harte
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61923-016-3
Genre: {M/F/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx
Release Date: 06-09-2015

Eve Sinclair works for her father, Asael, the fallen angel turned demon. Her job as a higher demon is to push humans into making their decision toward heaven or hell.  A prank by her two older brothers goes wrong…again, and puts Eve Sinclair in a terrible situation that’s bound to upset the delicate balance between the races when they steal a dragon’s egg. A royal egg. Knowing the pure essence of the egg is in danger, Eve rushes to rescue it and runs into the egg’s irate older brother, Ranton.

As the commander of the Dragon Legion, Ranton isn’t someone to mess with and he’s determined to learn who’s behind the theft of the egg. But something else is going on. He can’t explain his attraction to the small demon and his little brother, and future king, is communicating with both him and Eve from inside his shell. The three of them are connected and Ranton’s determined to find out why and claim what’s his. Eve.

The Dragons’ Demon is the first release in Marie Harte’s Ethereal Foes series. Please be aware that this book was previous published.

I’m a fan of plots that feature dragons, but pairing one with a demon isn’t something I think I’ve come across before. It’s unusual but then Eve isn’t a normal type of demon either. She’s much more like her human mother than her demon father.  I guess that’s why I like her. She didn’t think or act like a demon. As you can guess from what I’ve written, the author did a good job developing her personality and making her likable, despite her situation. Then there’s Ranton. His position as dragon commander shows his power and position and his physical description is also vivid. We’re told some of his past but I don’t really have a feel for him aside from being bossy and arrogant.

The pace of this story is fast. I mean everything from the beginning to the end seems to happen quickly and there isn’t time for any kind of relationship development between the characters. It’s all heat and chemistry.  The sex scenes are well written but for a novella of this length… there are too many, overbalancing the rest of the plot. I did enjoy the secondary characters, whether dragon, demon or angel and it should be interesting to see what happens to this diverse group in the next book. It’s also an interesting twist to add Ranton’s newly hatched brother to the mix…spoiler alert. His character bears watching in the other books, as I don’t have a clue where it’s going even with the hints.  

Firebird

Title: Firebird
Author: Pelaam
Publisher: Totally Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.totallybound.com
ISBN: 9781784305253
Genre:  {M/M} Fantasy
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Freedom is a forbidden luxury for all who live under the Great Monarch Maurus rule, especially for Arturri and his new found mate Cassian.

Firebird is a touching romance interspersed with some vicious events. The background descriptions emulate modern earth, but their style of dress mirrors the eighteenth century.

The plot features a jaded unfeeling monarch too self absorbed to rule in fairness, a malicious head of security who takes great delight in beating people plus a slave like society forced to endure the ruler’s brutality. The characters are creditable.

Arturri is called a firebird; however he is man in form as well as intellect. Arturri has an emotional depth that exceeds those of most earthlings.

Cassian is intelligent as well as compassionate. Cassian is a perfect match for Arturri. 

Pelaam has created an impressive short saga that I very much enjoyed.

Knight Takes Queen

Author:  Elizabeth Lapthorne
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781784305024
Genre:  {M/F}, Suspense, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

During a hacking attempt, Peter drops in on Jane and ends up partnering with her to find the hacker and what they wanted.  Peter has been slowly trying to change their friendship into a relationship with Jane.

Knight Takes Queen is the tenth book in The Agency series.  I laughed when I realized the title of the book was a play on Peter’s and Jane’s chess game as well as Jane’s old gaming handle. 

Peter is a field agent and takes it on himself to protect Jane when they realize the Agency is under attack, especially when Jane pulls the plug to protect Agency systems.  The chemistry between the two is hot and both are willing to take the steps to change their relationship.

When they find the hacker, the couple face an interesting dilemma as they realize why the Agency was hacked.  What they learn is something that could have been handled better and I really liked the resolution, as it was so true to life in cases dealing with covert agencies when it is for the agency’s benefit. 

Knight Takes Queen can be read alone, although to get the most out of The Agency series, the stories should be read in order.  I am looking forward to see what surprising covert problem will be next.