Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Chances with Angel

Author: DJ Manly
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-68252-152-6
Genre: {M/M} Mystery 
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Angel Broderick, a TV daytime drama star, is being stalked by a maniac.
  
The betrayal of his wealthy lover caused David Robinson to lose his LA job as an illustrator. Moving back to New York, David has a chance meeting with Angel and the encounter permanently changed David’s life.  

Chances with Angel is a thriller with a touch of budding romance. Well known as an actor, Angel has fans who adore the character he plays on TV and David happens to be one of them. However, the few fans that meet Angel realize he is not like his fictional character. In fact, one fan’s twisted mind cannot distinguish fiction from reality. The New York detectives are making little progress while the stalker is becoming bolder.

David, who is just starting to get his life back on track, becomes the prime suspect. Not willing to have his new life destroyed, David does his own investigation, but will the detectives listen to David’s findings? 

DJ Manly has created an intriguing and enjoyable saga. David’s romantic betrayal in LA almost made me cry. 

The Devil You Know

Author:  Evi Asher
Publisher:  Extasy Books
Publisher URL:  http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0715-5
Genre:  {M/F} Paranormal, Demons
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Being a Hell Lord who gets kicked out of Hell is working out much worse than Eligos imagined.  He was filthy and sleeping on the streets.  All he wants is to feel warmth from the flames and smell sulfur once again.  The one person who started this mess is also the same person responsible for leading him down a more frightening path.  The set of rules Eligos lives by have served him well until now.  In Hell, there was never much to stir his carnal needs, but that all changes when he meets a temping mage.

Stracey has a thing for bad boys who needed a little fixing and Eligos fits the bill.  In the past, Stracey had gotten into trouble in this kind of situation and she didn’t want to do it again.  But ignoring Eligos was going to be impossible, even if she hadn’t been forced to go on a mission with him.  A woman would have to deaf, dumb, and blind to resist all that hotness that he exuded without even trying.

The inevitable happens and Stracey and Eligos give into the best sex of their lives.  Plus, they find out their mission was a smoke screen for a bigger plan that they both had no say in.  Stracey and Eligos have little time to deal with their feelings about the life changing events they’ve been sucked into like a house in a tornado.  Danger brings an unexpected clarity, even though things don’t wrap up nice and neatly..

The Devil You Know is the fourth installment of the Echelon series and proof that Evi Asher knows how to keep readers hungry for more.  I loved the chemistry between all the characters in this story but I especially enjoyed the immediate heat between Stracey and Eligos.  Sometimes instant attraction isn’t easy to accept and readers need some build up.  Stracey’s sassy mouth coupled with Eligos’ high handed attitude couldn’t have been more perfect.  Falling from Grace isn’t such a bad thing in this case.  I felt for the couple by having their lives mapped out for them but I think it was the best thing for them.  If you don’t pick up their story, you will truly be missing out.

Where I’ll be Waiting

Author: Monika De Giorgi
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0669-1
Genre: {M/M}, Fantasy        
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jesse’s life has been rocky for as long as he can remember.  His parents left a lot to be desired and his choice in boyfriends has always been bad.  Jesse isn’t surprised that he starts dreaming of the perfect man, he’s only surprised when those dreams start taking over his life.

Where I’ll Be Waiting is a modern spin on the Sleeping Beauty theme, only this story has a few more twists than the fairy tale.  Jesse was raised by strict abusive, religious parents.  He wanted for the day that he went away to college so that he could live the life he waited.  Only his parents catch him with his boyfriend and what happens next causes Jesse even more problems.  Jesse takes so many hard hits in his life that he ends up building walls to protect himself from more heartache.  While readers would find this understandable when Jesse’s history is revealed, it ends up playing a big part of the story later in the book. 

Cameron has a loving family yet worries about disappointing them because he would rather work than go to college.  He loves his job at the local bookstore and his job allows him to feed his book habit. It is one of those purchases that change his life in ways he never expected. 

These two young men pulled me into their story from the beginning.  I found myself feeling for Jesse and the things he went through in his life.  It was also easy to understand how he thought he was going crazy due to the dreams and the way they made him feel.  As for Cameron, I was glad that his upbringing was so different from Jesse’s and readers will be able to see how that will come in handy as he tries to help Jesse fight his demons.  There are several little twists in this story that will hold your attention and will keep you wondering just what is really going on.  Don’t be surprised if you find yourself close to tears a time or two.  I thought the author did a great job with both these characters as well as the plot, handling both in a way that made the story believable.  

The author, Monika De Giorgi, is new to me, but after reading this story, I will be looking for more books from her.  

Cadence Falls

Title:  Cadence Falls
Author:  Beth D. Carter
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-041-9
Genre:  (M/F/M}, Cowboys, Western
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Three best friends became lovers, but due to a misunderstanding on Everett’s part, the three went their separate ways.  Amanda thought she would be with Cooper and Everett together, but refuses to be with Cooper without Everett.

Cadence Falls is now a stand-alone story that used to be part of the Boots, Chaps and Cowboy Hats anthology. This is a fast paced story that brings Amanda, Cooper, and Everett back together when a dangerous felon escapes.  Everett is now a tracker with an elite government unit and is on loan to the U.S. Marshalls’ office. The chemistry between the three is good, though I was surprised at how quickly they picked up their relationship once they talked things out, and after Cooper decks Everett. 

This book gets real emotional as the three try to get answers from the others. Some of Cooper’s friends were a little harsh in their opinion of Amanda, but admitted they could accept her if it would make a difference in his attitude.  I had to laugh at the way Amanda finally admitted she loved the two men.  I will say I had chills while reading part of Cadence Falls as there were some familiar situations that brought back some headlines in the news recently.

Needing a Vampire’s Aggression

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0734-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, BDSM, Series          
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Parker is still grieving the death of his husband.  To the shifter, it does not matter that ten years have passed; the loss of his human husband is just as strong today as the day Donnie died.  When Parker comes across Nikolai at a poker game, he is not prepared to acknowledge his mate and leaves.

Needing a Vampire’s Aggression is the 35th book in the Wolves of Stone Ridge series by author Charlie Richards.  This new story brings a member of the Kuznetsov Vampire Coven to the forefront once again.  Nikolai is the coven’s second and acts as the group’s enforcer.  He is used to doing what is needed to keep his family safe, regardless of what it calls for.  Because of this, Nikolai is a little more intense and darker than other members of his family.  I liked that these same facts made the Kuznetsov family protective of Nikolai, especially when it came to Parker acknowledging the mate connection. 

Parker is a wolf shifter and member of the Stone Ridge pack.  It is easy to feel for the shifter as he continues to pine for his late husband.  While I felt for Parker, I could not help but think how messy things could have been if Donnie had still been alive when Nikolai came into the picture.  The author does a good job showcasing the struggle Parker went through when it came to dealing with his grief, meeting Nikolai, acknowledging the mate connection and handling the feelings of disloyalty that he has because of his growing need for the vampire.

With the help of friends, these two are brought together in a situation that really heats up the pages.  Some readers may find what happens next a little off putting but the scene is well written and true to the characters.   

Of course, fans of this series know that the books are never just about the romance between the main characters and Needing a Vampire’s Aggression is no different.  Nikolai, at Jared’s request, participates in a mission that is supposed to be well planned. However, more than one problem pops up and things get a little out of hand, which means Parker will be forced to come to terms with his feelings faster than he planned.  I can’t wait to see how the next stories play out, especially after the way the mission ended. 

Fans of this series are sure to enjoy this story as it is one that should not be missed.

Awakening the Alpha

Author: Carolina Valdez
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-68252-151-9
Genre: {M/M} Shapeshifters         
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Former Navy SEAL sniper Blaze Canis finds out the hard way that trust is a part of love. Keeping secrets from his lover, Native American Logan Swift Rider almost destroyed their relationship shortly after it began.

Awakening the Alpha is a budding interracial romance. The setting is Yellowstone Park with some interesting history about the area including the dangerous animals the tourist is likely to encounter.

Blaze is an alpha werewolf who chose not to be the leader of a pack because he is gay. The thought of mating with a female was unacceptable for Blaze so he chose instead to join the Navy. Now that he has retired, Blaze misses the friendship of his military unit.   

Logan left the reservation to become an artist. Also being gay, Logan could not carry on the Shoshone’s expected tradition of marriage and fathering children. Logan continues to speak his native language at times as well as remembers some of the myths learned as a child. It is one particular native myth that caused a major misunderstanding between Logan and Blaze.

Carolina Valdez has created an amiable saga that I enjoyed. I found the Shoshone tribe history especially interesting.  

Totally Bound & Pride Publishing's new partnership with WHSmith

For more information, please click here for Totally Bound Publishing and here for Pride Publishing





Congratulations to Totally Bound and Pride Publishing from everyone at Literary Nymphs

Thursday, June 30, 2016

Smoke & Mirrors

Author: Charlie Cochet
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63477-388-1
Genre: {M/M} Shape shifter Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx
Release Date: Jul 8, 2016

THIRDS Agent Dexter J. Daley is in big trouble. The last thing Dex remembers is falling asleep beside his mate Sloane Brodie. How did Dex wind up tied to a chair in a room with no windows? And why is this Therian wolf asking questions about Dex’s long deceased mother?

Smoke & Mirrors is the seventh book in the THIRDS series. The plot is a combination of intense gripping suspense, top level conspiracies, life or death apprehension, engaging characters and tension breaking comedy. In this episode, Dex is fighting a personal battle between his beliefs and the reality concerning his parent’s demise and the secretive Intelligence Agents.  

Dex is highly intelligent as well as extremely perceptive, good skills to have when analyzing the adversary.

Perplexing tidbits of information from a power hungry mad scientist coupled with an unexplained medical condition has planted seeds of suspicion in Dex and drastically reduced his sense of well being.

Before his kidnapping, Dex liked to play pranks on his team mates to raise everyone’s spirits, but now the team noticed there is something different about Dex even though he tries to hide his strange symptoms.

As more information is revealed, Sloan is also affected, dealing with his anger concerning issues in the past as well as guilt regarding a future with Dex, Sloan temporarily rejects his relationship with Dex until Ash gives Sloan a strong verbal kick in the butt, shaking Sloan out of his self induced pity party. 

Charlie Cochet has created so many twists and turns in this brilliant episode of the THIRDS, I was literally hanging on the edge of my chair. Dex pulls out all the emotional stops of the readers. I absolutely enjoyed Smoke & Mirrors.

Quell

Title:  Quell
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0792-6
Genre:  {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Within the Nyal Imperium, prison guards have a special talent that can keep prisoners calm. Amylia has been recruited by the Volunteer Project and is a guard at one of their prisons. At a court appearance, Amylia is kidnapped along with the prisoner, the Queen of Rohul, she is guarding in court who is being broken out of prison. Since Amylia befriended the Prime Queen while she was a prisoner, as a reward, Amylia becomes a province queen with the Queen's brother-in-law, Gyrion, as her Consort.

Quell is the 35th book in the Terran Times Second Wave series. In one way, this book is different from the previous ones in this series.  Rohul is ruled by women.  Each province is ruled by a Queen and their consort, with one Prime Queen for the planet.  I was surprised about the way a Province Queen could become the Prime Queen and how quickly it could happen.

I had to laugh at some of Gyrion’s antics after he met Amylia.  There are several instances that endear her to the people, one is where she uses her power to vanquish one of Gyrion’s former lovers.  The instance with the beast was so funny, especially the days that followed that instance. 
                                                                                                                       
I loved the way Amylia handled the Imperium when they came looking for her and their former prisoner.  Amylia and Gyrion learn about each other and their chemistry is hot.  The epilogue was a surprise. 

I enjoyed reading Quell and will be reading it again for the humor in it. There is one more book in the Terran Times Second Wave series according to the author and a lot of answers will be given in that story.

Tuesday, June 28, 2016

Worth Fighting For

Author:  Cheyenne Meadows
Publisher:  Totally Bound
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-049-5
Genre:  {M/F} Action & Adventure, Contemporary, Cowboys & Western
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Experience has given April firsthand knowledge of what it means to be abused, so she has a soft spot for others with the same background.  Instead of coming home with one horse like she planned, April winds up with two.  She finds the perfect stable for her horses, but the owner was proving to be a bit difficult.  His expertise with animals clearly didn’t extend to people, because the man wanted nothing to do with April.  She had no idea why the man didn’t like her.

It isn’t just April that Dusty wants to avoid; it’s all women in general.  Dusty’s life has been turned upside down because of war and women.  The unsettled tension between his brothers has left Dusty with only his dog and his stable.  April is the one person who might upset his normal routine and Dusty doesn’t want that.  She’s constantly underfoot trying to help, which makes it impossible for Dusty to ignore his attraction to her. 

The nurse in April wouldn’t let her turn her back on anyone or anything needing compassion.  I was expecting April’s past to be more detailed, but honestly I’m glad it wasn’t as bad as I was imaging.  She was just so sweet, I would have hated to think of her dealing with more bad things.   Even though Dusty is bad tempered most of the time, April is drawn to him.  Something in his eyes touched her and April wanted to get to the bottom of his pain.  If that meant opening up about her own troublesome past, so be it.  To say that Dusty had been wronged by a woman would be an understatement.  Under the circumstances, I understand why he had sworn off relationships, even the one with his family.  When you add PTSD into the mix, that makes things worse.  Getting close to another human being was hard for Dusty, so it moved me to see how good he was with animals.  There is something about a man bonded with his dog that just makes me feel warm and fuzzy, especially if the man is smoking hot. 

I fell in love with April’s horse, Mischief, and he was the center of some of my favorite scenes.  Dusty’s brothers also made me feel very comfortable and left me curious to know more about their lives.  Everything came together like a hand and glove in Worth Fight For.  The right amount of turmoil was added, without being so sad that I needed to take a break to calm down.  Things weren’t perfect for Dusty and April but I felt they dealt with everything perfectly.  This story will renew your faith in people and give you the hope that everyone can have a second chance.

Cops and Robby

Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Publisher URL: www.wildecity.com
ISBN: 978-1-925313-92-5
Genre: {M/M/M} Contemporary, Taboo
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Robby knows first hand that being a prostitute is a dangerous occupation; thankfully Robby is rescued and sheltered by Cole and Morgan Caldwell, a couple of unique brothers that just happen to be cops.

Cops and Robby is a short story that exposes the secrets of three men. The plot highlights the three men growing into a loving long-term relationship.
 
Robby comes from an abusive home and turns to prostitution for his survival. Even after his rescue, Robby lives in fear of his vengeful pimp.

Cole and Morgan are brothers as well as lovers; this too could be perceived as survival after the family tragedy that occurred in their young lives. What started out as non-sexual comfort evolved into a deeper expression of brotherly love as adults.

Cops and Robby is an impressive and enjoyable saga. There is a small amount of Incest, but the main theme, as well as the intimacy, is a romantic ménage. 

Harmony

Title:  Harmony
Author:  Jillian Verne
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-114-4
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Teodor always believed he was a sinner and not a good man. Other than his music, he could not accept his nature.  Because of this, he ended up abandoning Eva, the love of his life.  What happens when he realizes he may lose her forever?

Harmony is the fourth book in the Masters of the Order series and this story is about Teodor and his struggle to accept himself.  One thing that is a little different from the previous stories is that this book goes from the past to the present and also looks at things from Eva’s, as well as Teodor’s, perspective.  In this respect, sometimes the story was a little hard to follow, but it makes perfect sense as you witness the full impact of Teodor’s struggle.  Harmony is a very intense and emotional book.

Part of Teodor’s problem was his addiction to drugs, which added to his sense of guilt and self-loathing.  He did not want to accept the things that Eva loved as right between the two and ended up leaving Eva.  Eva herself made some choices after that that had a big impact on her self-worth.  Readers should be aware there is one ménage scene that makes Eva realize she deserves better.

I loved that several of the Doms and their ladies helped both get to the point that they needed to be so they could eventually be together.  There are places that may be difficult for some, especially the suicide thoughts, and I was actually in tears reading some sections.  Another influence that added to Teodor’s view of himself was his brother’s input and his opinion that he freely shared with Toedor. The author has a lot of insight into the lifestyle and the responsibilities of a Master/Dom to his sub and the sub’s responsibility.  As always, open communication is stressed as the key to a successful BDSM relationship.

It was very clear from the beginning that Teodor and Eva had some intense chemistry together.  The author was also very sensitive to the fact that Eva was seventeen when the two met.

There are still a few Master’s that haven’t gotten their relationship yet and Teodor’s fellow band members are also interesting and hopefully will get stories as well, as they have had Teodor’s back from the beginning.  

I am looking forward to reading more of the Masters of the Order series.

That’s One Cross Vamp

Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-78651-462-2
Genre: {M/M} Vampire Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Erin Meyers is tired of the empty direction his life has taken; it is time for a change. Vampire Jude has been waiting for years for Erin to notice him as more than a friend, Jude wants to have a long term relationship with Erin.

That’s One Cross Vamp is the sixth book in The Vamp for Me series. The plot features Erin going through some life changing decisions and the support from the vampire coven especially Jude.

Erin is a psychiatrist who has helped several of the vampires deal their fears, yet Erin has avoided facing his own fears until his health forces Erin to deal with all of his issues.

Jude has secretly loved Erin for a long time, but watching Erin go through a variety of one night stands was more than Jude could tolerate, so he watched and hoped for his chance with Erin from an emotionally safe distant.

Bailey Bradford has created an impressive and emotional addition to this series. I especially enjoyed Erin’s willpower to conquer his health issues as well as Jude’s determination to provide all of Erin’s needs.
  

This series is best read in sequence starting with My Life Without Garlic.

A Dandelion for Tulip

Author: R. Cooper
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-63477-314-0
Genre: {M/M}, Urban Fantasy, Series        
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

David has been in love with Tulip almost from the moment they met.  But Tulip is a fairy and, even if he wasn’t straight, David does not believe he is good enough for the other man. 

A Dandelion for Tulip is the sixth book in the Being(s) in Love series by author R. Cooper.  This new book pairs a human with a fairy once again. In this story, our human is David.  A student struggling to get his PhD in the study of Beings so he doesn’t have time for a relationship.  That does not stop him from falling in love with longtime friend, Tulip.  Since Tulip is straight, however, David knows all he will ever have is his friendship.  I liked David.  The author did a good job bringing this character alive in a way that you could easily picture this slightly nerdy young man, who is a little on the socially awkward side, try to come to terms with his feelings for a friend. 

Our fairy is Tulip.  Tulip has been around for a while and during that time, he has been rejected in a way that has left its mark.  To protect himself, he guards his feelings well so it is no wonder that David does not know the real Tulip.  Even though Tulip is older than he looks, he still has a bit of innocence about him.  I felt a little bad for him a time or two as he tries to keep from falling in love with David.  But the more Tulip rejects David, the more David begins to feel unworthy of love. 

While A Dandelion for Tulip is not an angst-driven story, there are a few misunderstandings that cause bad feelings between the characters.  The author has done such a good job making this story come alive that it is easy to feel for the characters and, more than once, I wanted to tell them to stop being so careful and go after what they wanted.  

This story was a great addition to this series.  While each story can stand alone, I would recommend that you read the books in order as it will give you a clearer understanding of the world the author created.  If you have not yet tried any books by R. Cooper, I would strongly suggest that you start with this series.   

Demon Duke

Title: Demon Duke
Author: S.J. Frost
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02015-0561
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Calvin Blackwood is a healing witch, still learning his craft. Sadly, Calvin’s magical powers are not strong enough to heal his ailing brother, but Calvin can summon Sal, a demon duke who has a fondness for humans, especially Calvin.

Demon Duke is the second book in the Paranormal Nobles series. The well-written plot is a combination of compassion, a touch of drama and characters that are believable, as well as incredibly hilarious.

Having loss their parents to ill health, Calvin’s older brother Nathan is the only family Calvin has left. Calvin and Nathan are very close and do whatever they can to help each other even though their beliefs are extremely different.

Calvin knows if he summons a demon, he will be expected to compensate the demon with sexual favors. That being said, Calvin also knows that summoning Sal for help will be a price he is more than willing to pay since he is already attracted to the sexy demon.    
Sal is an unusual demon in that he forms emotional relationships; Sal enjoys socializing with humans and vampires. Vampire prince Valentin and his cousin Basil are Sal’s best friends. Sal secretly loves Calvin though Sal refuses to admit it. The only relatable demon traits Sal has is his enormous sexual appetite, his battle abilities along with his superior magical powers. 

S.J. Frost has created an outstanding saga. The interactions between the characters is truly entertaining, I think Sal is my favorite character because he is a clever, boastful, sweet talking, badass. Although Calvin is a badass when necessary, he’s normally a little more reserved than Sal.  

The Power Games

Title:  The Power Games
Author:  Brynley Bush
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-110-6
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Contemporary, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Ava arrives at the tryouts for a new reality show with her friend Emmett, who is helping her with her agenda against her step-father.  They don’t let anyone know just how inexperienced she really is about BDSM.  Ava ends up getting paired with Roman.

The Power Games is the first book in the Club Helix series, and is by an author I have never read before.  After reading The Power Games, I have to say that Ms. Bush is an author that has been added to my must look for list as she is very knowledgeable about the BDSM lifestyle.  While a lot of scenes in this book are very intense, she explains things Ava has questions about in a very understandable way that gets to the heart of things.

Roman knows that there is something slightly off, but is immediately captivated by Ava.  He has his own demons, but once Ava starts to trust him, she also realizes he can make her face some of her demons.  The chemistry between the two is very intense.  Readers should also know that the last major scene between them in the contest can cause some triggers as it is a very intense kidnap scene with the scene continuing into role-playing.

Things come to a head between Roman and Ava after a scene triggers Ava, so she has to come clean.  Ava learns the most important lesson in a relationship with a Dom is communication.  Roman and Ava renegotiate her contract and limit list once they clear the air.  I loved the last part of the book where they admit they love each other, though that was also the only part I didn’t like, as I would have liked to know a little more about what happened between them after that.

There are a few secondary characters that help the story along; it is a reality show after all.  The relationship between Ava and Emmett is explained as well as the full reasons Ava decided to do the contest.  I have to give the author kudos for the concept of doing this contest to coincide with the opening of Club Helix and the interest it generates. 

I am looking forward to more stories in the Club Helix series, especially if they are as intense and well written as The Power Games.  This book is one to read again and should be on every BDSM lover’s bookshelf.

Valet

Title: Valet
Author: Jet Mykles
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-68252-113-7
Genre: {M/M} Historical Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

As the new Earl of Rose Hall, Johnnie must carry on his inherited duties. That means staffing the household with enough servants to meet the needs of the Rose family, as well as invited guests. Due to family hardships, Tyler seeks a job closer to his childhood home and applies for a position as footman; however the immediate attraction to Tyler inspires Johnnie to offer Tyler a position as his personal valet.

Valet is the first book in the Rose Family Chronicles. The genre is not a customary historical but a mix of time periods combined together with a few modern amenities incorporated. The time period mixture was done on purpose by the author. I think it adds more significance to the socially forbidden couple. The fans of the Heaven Sent series will recognize the engaging characters. The plot is a gratifying romance.

Johnnie is an easy going man, yet he takes his responsibilities seriously. He has had a few sexual flings but no long term affairs.  What Johnnie really desires is a cherished relationship, preferably with a man not part of the nobility.

Tyler is a hard working shy man who is always mindful of his servant status; he feels uncomfortable being treated as an equal by Johnnie. Though Tyler and Johnnie truly love each other, Tyler’s biggest fear is losing Johnnie when Johnnie is required to wed and provide heirs. 

Jet Mykles has created an outstanding incredibly enjoyable saga. I could almost feel the love Johnnie and Tyler share.     

Quick

Title:  Quick
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0706-3
Genre:  (M/F), Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Camile is a paid companion that is being used to cover an ambassador’s preference for men.  When they attend a festival on Namkor, Camile is given what the natives call the gift, which means she cannot leave the planet for at least a year. Mordem is one of the Guardians that will be training her.

The 35th book in the Terran Times Second Wave series, Quick, is a little different than previous stories in the series.  Camile is chosen to become a Guardian by the planet and also becomes hated because she is an outsider.  Several of her relationships change due to her new status.

Her main instructor is Mordem, who had been her lover before she was chosen.  I found it interesting that those chosen could reject their gift and go back to their previous lives after a certain time.  Another interesting fact in this story is that Camile and Mordem could not be lovers until after she had finished training, since other societies in this series could.  The chemistry between Camile and Mordem is intense and I did have to laugh about the fact that Mordem’s brother also tried to make a play for Camile and some of the antics he used.

The author continues to make this series fresh with each new world and societal mores she creates.  Readers should be aware that references to the Yemish ambassador’s sexual preferences are mentioned even though there is actually no sexual scenes. There are only a few more stories for this series in the works and I am looking forward to reading them.

Wednesday, June 1, 2016

Bastet

Title: Bastet
Author: TA Chase
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02016-0555
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Kellan Largent, a grad student at Harvard, is waiting at the bus stop when a handsome stranger approaches and strikes up a conversation with Kellan. The stranger is Baz, a man that seems very interested in Kellan’s research into the Earth Warrior cult. However, Baz is not the only one interested in Kellan’s finds; there is an evil man who will do anything for the immorality spell, including kill Kellan for the temple’s secret location.

Bastet is the first book in the Earth Warriors series. The well-written plot has suspense, action and a dash of cultural history, interwoven with steamy romance, as well as moments of humor. The characters are believable with great interaction between them. Baz is one of seven chosen to be an earth warrior by the Egyptian deity Isis who granted them immorality, along with the ability to shift forms. Their objective is to protect the Earth from destruction and keep the secrets of the Earth Warriors from mortals.

Kellan is shy unless he is talking about his passion for knowledge, then Kellan turns into a chatterbox. Although his intellectual mind finds it hard to believe Baz can shift forms, Kellan feels safe with Baz. Their growing love for each other is articulated with sultry touches, as well as incredible intimate scenes.

Baz was sent to keep Kellan from finding out the truth about the cult, but also to keep Kellan alive. Kellan’s research discoveries on ancient Egyptian religious cults have placed his life in jeopardy. While performing his duty as protector, Baz fell in love with Kellan. Baz is a romantic who treats Kellan with loving respect.

T. A. Chase has created an extremely enjoyable saga. I look forward to the next installment in the Earth Warriors series.

Unbreak Me

Title: Unbreak Me
Author: Julieanne Lynch
Publisher:  Totally Bound
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-032-7   
Genre: {M/F} Erotic, Contemporary
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Though she has overcome many obstacles, Molly Rice still struggles every single day.  Being born to horrible parents started the empty existence she deals with.  Life is better, but far from perfect.  If there was any way Molly could become wallpaper and blend into the background, that would be her wish.  But what she gets is the unexpected chance to save someone else. 

Connor Ellison just can’t do it anymore.  The money and upscale lifestyle doesn’t give Connor what he truly needs.  Between his job and his parents, all the happiness has been drained from his life and nobody seems to understand that.  At the lowest point of his life, Connor meets a pretty brunette who stops him from doing something stupid.

Molly butts into Connor’s life just in time to help him turn things around.  He’s surprised that a complete stranger could have such compassion for him, considering his parents didn’t seem to give a damn.  She was the only one he felt comfortable with, and Connor didn’t want to give that up.  Because of her past, dating wasn’t something Molly thought about much.  Dealing with her addiction was more than enough to monopolize Molly’s attention, but still there was the emptiness.  Being with Connor made some of her demons disappear and gave Molly the hope for love.

The couple’s bliss is constantly being interrupted by people who do their best to bring them down.  Molly and Connor become distant when too many negative people and events crop up and things take a turn for the worse.  Molly is involved in an accident that nearly kills her and some people are holding Connor responsible.  Without Molly by his side, Connor gives in to his father’s demands.  At this point, it seems the couple will never sort things out, but after a lot of time and soul searching they do.

If you are having a pity party, then I challenge you to read Unbreak Me.  I was so outraged and devastated by the lives of Molly and Connor, that it made my bad days seem like a picnic in the park.  The physical and mental abuse Molly suffered was difficult to read about.  I am amazed that she could be so positive and helpful with Connor.  I loved her opening words to him when they met.  Molly’s humor and honesty turned the entire situation around and I loved that about her.  Connor now makes me believe that maybe the best things in life are free.  He had plenty of money, a high profile job and lifestyle, but his family was awful.  He and Molly will always be broken, but because they found each other, now they have closure and hope

Beauty, Inc.

Title: Beauty, Inc.
Author: Tara Lain
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-62380-890-7
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx
Release Date: June 8, 2016

Beauty is Chemist Dr. Robert “Belle” Belleterre, a kindhearted young man who is the exact opposite of his father and two older brothers. CEO of Beauty, Inc, Magnus Strong looks like a beast but in reality is a very compassionate man.

Beauty, Inc. is part of the fairytale series A Pennymaker Tale. The plot consists of strong intelligent characters, realistic trauma, emotional conflict, a touch of humor and dazzling scenes of intimacy.

Belle is fighting an uphill battle alone, trying to save his father’s business while his father and brothers are thoughtlessly doing everything to destroy it. When Belle is forced to move to New York and work for Magnus, Belle’s loyalty begins to change. Belle is very much attracted to Magnus, but feels guilty about turning his back on family.

Magnus continues to wear his scars as a reminder of his past, he does not believe he is worthy of love until Belle breaks through Magnus’s shield. Magnus does everything within his power to help others yet he denies his own desires for happiness.
  
Tara Lain has created a marvelously uplifting saga that I immensely enjoyed. The main characters are a perfect example of what it means to love thy neighbor. Even though Belle’s family seems to be callous, the reason for their actions is comprehensible.  

Finding Family

Author: Connie Bailey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781634771528
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Dreamspun Desires        
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Charles made his money the old fashion way.  He inherited it.  Much to his shock, he also inherited his three small cousins.  Knowing children won’t fit into his playboy life, Charles hires a nanny to care for the children.  Jon knows what it is like to be an orphan and has no trouble bonding with the kids; it’s the uncle he is worried about.

Finding Family is an interesting new book by author Connie Bailey.  It follows a well-used theme, yet there are some refreshing aspects to it as well.  Charles is a rich man who lived his life for himself until the day his parents died and he is named head of the family business.  Shortly after the death of his parents, his uncle and aunt pass and he finds himself the guardian of his three much younger cousins.  Charles now finds himself with a lot on his plate, yet he is not ready for all the responsibilities thrown at him.  I have to say that I spent a majority of the book not liking Charles.  He lost his family members, due to alcohol, and is following in their footsteps.  He also had no concern for his cousins and, more than once, I wanted to smack him and tell him to step up.

Charles’ assistant knows he needs a nanny and after the children have gone through several women, many of whom thought it would give them a chance with Charles, he hires a man.  Jon grew up in an orphanage, staying even after he ages out.  He knows that it is time to go out into the real world and when the offer to become a nanny comes up, he takes it.  Jon has no idea what to expect and he is shocked when he sees the life he has stepped into.  I liked Jon, especially the way he handles the children.  More than once, he had me laughing as he dealt with the kids and started to show them the love they had been missing. 

There is a relationship building between Jon and Charles, but while the relationship is in its infancy, the two men are faced with issues that cause problems in more than their relationship.  Money is missing from Charles’ company and Charles has been made the fall guy.  There is one point in this story, while Charles was working, when I thought “You idiot, that’s going to come back and kick you in the butt.”  While it was easy to see the problems come Charles’ way, the why and who behind them was surprising.  

The various little twists and turns keep the story moving nicely and I really liked a couple of the secondary characters. I think it would be interesting to see them get stories of their own.  The author did a great job wrapping Finding Family up and I think fans of this author are really going to like this new book.