Wednesday, November 12, 2014

Sporting Chance

Author: Alexa Milne
Publisher: Totally Bound Books
ISBN/BIN: 9781784302702
Genre: {M/M}, Sports, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Iestyn is the total opposite of a jock.  He’s a geek, a school teacher and, while not in the closet, he does not advertise his sexual orientation.  Dan is the country’s most famous rugby player.  Part of that is due to being good at what he does, but some of it is because he’s openly gay.  No one would ever think that these two would have anything in common until Iestyn fell at Dan’s feet.

Sporting Chance is a fast paced novel by author Alexa Milne.  While the book centers on a sports figure, the story is not so weighed down with the subject that it becomes overbearing.  Both main characters are easily likeable and I loved the way they first meet.  While there seems to be a spark at their initial meeting, it is only because of the pushiness of friends that the two reconnect. 

The chemistry between Iestyn and Dan is strong and I loved seeing them together; however, their relationship is not an easy one.  Although both men are out, they receive a lot of flack from others, which ends up affecting both their careers.  The problems that come their way make Iestyn’s fears regarding starting a relationship with Dan understandable.  I really felt for the men but could not help feeling that both men gave up to easily. 

Once again it is up to friends to help the men find their way.  While I loved the way the author brings them back together, as well as how the story was wrapped up, I also thought the end felt a little rushed. 

All in all, Sporting Chance was a good book and I am glad I had the chance to read it.

Tuesday, November 11, 2014

Prince of Faith

Author: Belinda McBride
Publisher: Loose-Id Publishing
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-62300-144-5
Genre: {M/M} Space Opera Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

The thought of revenge against his former friend Griffin Hawke is the only thing keeping Markus Dayspring alive. Markus has been held captive for so long he has lost all sense of time. Caius has been on a mission to locate Markus for months, even with his health starting to fail him; Caius is determined to complete the mission.

Prince of Faith is the third book in the An Uncommon Whore series. The plot illustrates the emotional influence of rape. Not only is the body sullied, the mind is raped of a person’s self esteem. Shame, as well as fear of touch, becomes a major factor to a rape victim. Healing the psychological problems is a longer process than curing the physical body. The storyline has enough background narration to easily indentify the characters from the previous books.

Markus is a member of royalty. He is a cousin to king Helios Dayspring in addition to being a spy for the temple priest. Markus was instrumental in the rescue of Helios, who had been a slave with no memory of his past. False information classifying Markus as a traitor lead to his capture, forcing Markus into slavery.

With the return of most of his memories, it is Helios who assigned Caius the duty to find Markus. Caius eagerly accepted because he has secretly loved Markus for years. Successfully liberating Markus causes another problem. Though from different sources, both Caius and Markus have lethal addictions. Scarcely strong enough to navigate the space ship, Markus manages to get them to a hospital. Caius is in critical condition and Markus is barely conscious. 

Belinda McBride has created a fascinatingly enjoyable saga. I suggest reading this series in sequence. 

Blue Mountain

Author: Cardeno C.
Publisher: The Romance Authors, LLC
Publisher URL: www.cardenoc.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781942184010
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx
Release Date 11-21-2014

Omega wolf Simon Moorehead and his mother ran from his birth pack when he was a teenager. Now his mother is dead and even though being on Blue Mountain land is dangerous, Simon’s come home to bury her. When he’s found by pack members, a huge and dangerous looking alpha comes for him. Despite the fear, Simon fights the urge to submit and to his surprise, the alpha takes him home.

Aside from his twin brother, the alpha of the Blue Mountain pack, Mitch Grant doesn’t have any friends, because everyone’s afraid of him. He protects the pack but wants what his brother has—a mate—and finding Simon gives him hope. But first he has to get Simon to stop rejecting him and their mating and give them a chance.

Blue Mountain is the first release in Cardeno C’s new series, Pack Collection. I like the combination of these two men. Simon is a rare male Omega who has had a rough life and has been on the run for years. Mitch is an alpha like his twin but instead of running a pack of his own, he protects those under his care in his brother’s pack. In reality, while he and Simon are very different, they both live on the edge of their worlds. 

I enjoyed the integration of Mitch’s brother and his family, and particularly liked the few scenes where his cute little niece is included. But too much of the story takes place within the confines of Mitch’s home while he and Simon are dealing with their issues and getting to know one another. Yes, these things are vital to developing their relationship, but the rehashing got rather tedious. 

Drawing the Devil

Author: Jon Keys
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN: 978-1-61922-461-2
Genre: {M/M} Cowboys
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx
Release date 2-3-2015

Nothing gets the adrenaline pumping in Dustin Lewis like the thrill of riding a bull. Nevertheless, there is some major risk involved in a rodeo. Luckily, for Dustin, bullfighter Shane Rees was at hand to save Dustin from a near death-by-bull ride on the most dangerous bull Diablo.

Drawing the Devil is an exciting preview into the rodeo competitions. The main theme is romance. The plot illustrates the dangers of being talented, as well as being gay, in what is socially considered a tough man’s sport. The risk of being gay is that bullies exploit homosexuality as an excuse to justify their brutal attacks on strangers they are actually envious of. The characters are creditable.

Dustin has an ADHD medical condition; he takes medicine so that he can center his attention, except bull riding makes Dustin so overexcited it takes hours to calm down. One calming solution Dustin found is the intimacy he shares with Shane.

Shane is a loner, although he is openly gay to a few people.  Shane’s scarred face, due to an encounter with a bull, has lowered his self esteem. His relationship with Dustin is the first time Shane has hopes for a future with a husband at his side. Like any budding romance, Shane and Dustin have a few verbal fights, however their relationship is build on friends first then evolving into love.

Jon Keys has created an impressive saga that I found enjoyable. The rodeo action details in addition to the intimacy scenes are fascinating.

Forged in Fire

Title:  Forged in Fire
Author:  Juliette Cross
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61922-491-9
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph
Released January 27, 2015

Genevieve’s life has changed overnight, ever since she had to be rescued from a demon on her twentieth birthday.  Jude has some things to say to Genevieve, the least of which he has to tell her is that she is a Vessel and will have to choose to serve light or dark.

Forged in Fire, the first book of The Vessel Trilogy, blends a story of angels, demons and mythology seamlessly into a fantastic story that I did not want to put down. The author does a great job of keeping readers on their toes, especially when she pulls in the Greek and Roman mythology, after dealing with demon hunters banishing demons.

Jude is quite old with some major issues and is fighting his attraction to Genevieve, since remaining pure is one weapon Genevieve has to keep her light.  As she learns more about her role as a Vessel, Genevieve must accept Jude’s, and other hunters, help to learn about her powers. There is a major surprise regarding Jude and one about the first Vessel.

Jude and Genevieve has help from Kat and George, but other characters such as Dante and other demons, including one of the princes, make life very hard for them.  Having hurtful memories dredged up doesn’t help either.  Mindy, Genevieve’s friend and roommate, helps to keep some situations humorous.

Anyone looking for a happily ever after in this book will be disappointed, as there is a lot more to come before Genevieve grows into her full power.  A prophecy keeps popping up that will have lots of influence in the last two books in this trilogy.  I am waiting for the next two books as I want to know what is going to happen next. 

Bad Behavior

Title: Bad Behavior
Author: K.A. Mitchell
Publisher: Samhain Publishing 
Publisher URL: samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61922-426-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary BDSM Series
Rating: 3 Nymphs 
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx
Release date 12-16-2014

David Beauchamp, known to his friends as Beach, is a member of the rich and idle social class, which leaves him with too much time to get into trouble with the law. Currently David is awaiting a court date for his latest misadventure. Probation Officer Tai Fonoti has been assigned to David’s case, however, David is promptly reassigned to another officer once Tai realized David is the same man Tai had a sexual encounter with the night before.

Bad Behavior is the fifth book in the Bad in Baltimore series. The main theme is an education in BDSM with an abundance of kink scene examples. There is sufficient amount of background information for plot building. Both main characters are bi-sexual.

Beach is a trust fund baby, a mid thirties man with the personality of a spoiled child who lacks self control, direction as well as self esteem. In his mind he should be punished for the useless life he leads. Beach seeks approval for obeying his master.

Tai is a control freak in the only area he can have total control, which is during a sex scene. Tai is interracial, which could account for some of his dominant traits.  Another issue Tai has is that he refuses to relinquish contact with a former girlfriend and her child. Tai’s attitude resembles a sort of reverse discrimination towards submissive men.

Although I recognize the fundamental nature of this story, I am not a fan of BDSM. I find the theme distressing along with being exceptionally demeaning. Nevertheless I read Bad Behavior because I have read the prior books in this series which I found enjoyable. My rating is based solely on the writing structure of the storyline, not the subject matter. 

Patchwork Heaven

Author: Jaime Samms
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781632164070
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Mystery, BDSM
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Twins Coby and Bruce never dreamed their band, Patchwork Heaven, would take off the way it did.  Now that they have the fame, they also have the problems.  For Bruce, it’s staying away from temptation in the form of drugs.  For Coby, it’s a stalker he can’t seem to shake.  Thankfully, Gregor is there to watch over and protect Coby, and soon the attraction they try to hide from each other is blazing out of control.

Patchwork Heaven is a new book by author Jaime Samms.  This story pulled me in right from the beginning.  Coby is the lead singer in the country music band, Patchwork Heaven.  What started out as fun is starting to take its toll on Coby and he isn’t sure how much longer he can hold on.  Not only is he starting to crack under the pressure of being a star, he also has to deal with the worry he has that his twin will return to drugs as well as the fear that one day his stalker will get to him when he least expects it.  The author does a great job bringing Coby’s fears, confusion, and, of course, lust out in a realistic way.  His attraction to his bodyguard, Gregor, is strong but the older man is a true professional and keeps his feelings for the musician on an employee/employer level.

Gregor wants to make Coby his, but he’s too much of a professional to step over the line.  When things start spiraling out of control, however, the two men find themselves coming together in a way that really heats up the pages.  Coby has a lot of issues and quirks that keep him from really enjoying life.  Gregor is all control and, while he never comes out and says it, he has Dom written all over him.  This makes him a perfect match for Coby and Gregor’s strengths enables him to bring calmness to the younger man that is really needed. 

While I enjoyed the interaction between the two men, one of the things that stood out, for me, was the effect this new relationship had on Bruce, Coby’s twin.  As twins, there is a specially closeness between Coby and Bruce. The connection allows them to feel the way the other does, good or bad.   As the oldest twin, Bruce has always taken care of Coby and, while he would never want to be without his twin, the craziness that goes on in Coby’s head is sometimes too much for Bruce to handle.  When Gregor steps into the picture, Bruce is finally given a reprieve.  You can almost feel the relief that Bruce feels because of this.  I like that the author gave Bruce and the other members of the band a bit of side story in Patchwork Heaven

The mystery surrounding Coby’s stalker will keep the reader entertained, wondering just who he may be.  I was surprised by the way he was able to get to Coby and the fact that it was so easy. 

The author does a wonderful job wrapping this story up in a way that the readers will like.  This is one story I plan on reading again in the future. 

Friday, November 7, 2014

Spectrum Skies

Author: D. J. Manly
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com
ISBN: 978-1-61124-691-9
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Keeping law and order on Spectrum is a challenge most of the time. However, during the dark season, enforcing the law is almost impossible. Nevertheless, Captain London Weaver, the head of the Human Enforcers, and Captain Pascal St-Maurice, the head of the Specs Enforcers, are determined to work together for the safety of all the residents.

Spectrum Skies is the first book in Spectrum Skies series. The setting is a South Pacific island named Spectrum. The island is cloaked by magic to protect the immortal residents. But, many generations ago a ship load of humans found the island and were allowed to settle as well as raise families. The dramatic plot centers on the two divisions of cops joining forces to destroy a demon who can kill both humans and immortals. The characters are creditable.

Past experience with vampires has caused London to become bitter. London has an almost racist attitude regarding humans cohabitating with immortals, especially vampires. Yet, London finds vampire Pascal too irresistible to completely ignore though London tries until Pascal saves London’s life.

Pascal is a fashion diva, a good natured jokester and a gentleman. He shows every law abiding citizen the respect they are due. Pascal has been secretly attracted to London for years; though he never approached London as a potential lover. Pascal never forces himself on anyone, plus he only bites the men who ask to be bitten.

D. J. Manly has created a fantastic saga that I thoroughly enjoyed. The storyline features a vast array of interesting creatures, brawls as well as amazing intimacy scenes. 

The Severing

Title: The Severing
Author: D.J. Manly
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN/BIN: MLR-1-02014-0309
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary; Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Billy can’t remember the details of how he died. All he knows is that he is stuck in limbo because he was murdered. He can see living people going about their business, unaware of the fact that restless spirits walk among them. He sees Alex, the man who now works for the company Billy once worked for; the man who sits at his old desk in his old office. Billy feels drawn to the man and follows him around, thinking that Alex has pretty much taken over his life. Alex even frequents the same gay bar that Billy vaguely remembers going to...

Terrance has been cursed with being able to talk to the dead; a skill that doesn’t do him any good as no living person will ever believe a word he says. When he meets Alex purely by chance, he tells the man that he has a ghost following him around. Terrance knows it is a mistake to talk to people about what he sees, but something compels him to talk to Alex about Billy.

Alex can’t handle crazy people right now. Things were bad enough with the stress of his new job, but now his best friend Wes has gone missing. He dismisses Terrance’s ramblings at first, but soon realises Terrance knows things no one else could possibly know about him. Alex wants to ignore him, but there is something about Terrance that makes Alex want to put his trust in him. But with people going missing and a serial killer on the loose, will Alex live to regret it?

The Severing is the first book in a new series by the author, and based on this first offering, I will definitely be coming back for more. The concept of limbo, where spirits of those whose life has been taken from them too soon must wait until their case has been resolved, was fascinating and I can see this setting offering up plenty more stories. All the characters introduced in this book were interesting. Alex, Terrance, and Billy were really good characters, as were the supporting cast who I am sure we shall see more of in the future. The highlight of the story for me was the chemistry between Alex and Terrance. I loved the attraction between them and was thoroughly invested in the development of their relationship. Billy was also very likable and I really wanted him to get the closure he deserved. The way the characters’ lives entwined was really well done. I got used to the author’s style of writing pretty quickly but I was slightly confused by the point of view changes to begin with. The storyline had some very chilling moments and some nice twists and turns. Overall, I would highly recommend The Severing and look forward to reading more in the series. 

Bind

Title:  Bind
Author:  Katie Porter
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1619218802
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Men in Uniform, Suspense, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Astrid knows her last chance is with Command Force Alpha (CFA) since she became a whistleblower at her last job.  Nicky is bound and determined to take out the organization that shot him and put other agents in danger.  When Astrid asks him to help her do one thing that will let her get close to someone in the organization, Nicky is unprepared for the emotional rollercoaster.

The third book in the Command Force Alpha series, Bind, showcases the commander of CFA and his taste for using rope.  Astrid finds she loves being tied up by Nicky.  What both are unprepared for, especially being boss and employee, is the emotions that come out between them.

Nicky thinks Astrid is too young for him, though, and balks at taking her on an undercover assignment.  Not only do they both work through some emotional issues that they have buried, but they work well together.  The chemistry between them is intense.

There were a few light hearted moments between a few of the agents who end up being Nicky’s and Astrid’s guards.  Based on one situation at the end, it is obvious that either Nicky or Astrid was targeted, though as it progresses, it becomes obvious who it is.  

Bind is my favorite story in this series so far as the author does a great job about the different techniques of using rope.  She obviously did a lot of research.  In addition, I learned a lot about Nicky, because he had been such a commanding figure in the previous stories and Bind showed a different side to him.

Readers do need to read this series in order, and I am looking forward to the next one about CFA. 

Warning: This book contains very intricate rope work that should not be attempted without proper training. 

Piercings and Sandpaper Kisses

Author: SA Welsh
Publisher: eXtasy Books Inc
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0092-7
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Zeke’s been an enforcer with his pack for years. After returning home from visiting his younger brother Remy, an alpha of another pack, he notices that his pack mates are avoiding him and his even his business has dropped off. Then he learns that his alpha and the inner circle are shutting him out and seem determined to destroy him.

To protect his sisters and their children, Zeke’s forced to flee with them to Remy’s and they barely escape. Being with his brother’s pack means he’s lost all his possessions and bank account, which is devastating. The good news—he meets his mate. The problem—his mate, Ashlock is vampire, and because of a past experience, Zeke fears them. Fate couldn’t be wrong in giving him a vampire for a mate—right?

Piercings and Sandpaper Kisses is the third and latest release in SA Welsh’s Blood Moon Pack Alliance series. Due to the connection of the characters, I recommend the books be read in order.

I was waiting for this new release and wasn’t disappointed. It’s a fun and entertaining read. It has tension, danger, betrayal, anger and fear, mixed in with healthy doses of friends, family, bantering dialogue and sizzling sex. I enjoyed how the previous characters are incorporated into the plot and seeing Zeke and Ashlock’s relationship develop. There are vivid descriptions and a good sense of Zeke’s discomfort around vampires, although it’s nearly the end before the reason behind it is revealed. 

The author did a good job with personality development and I’m always happy when vampires and werewolves are included in a story, so Zeke and Ashlock’s pairing was perfect for me. There are a few surprises along the way but those would be spoilers, so—no—I won’t tell. I hope you enjoy it. 

Catch Me When I Fall

Author: John Wiltshire
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN/BIN: MLR-1-02014-0308
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary; Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Jake is an ex-soldier who is trying to make a new life for himself as a forest ranger. He thought he could finally settle down and forget about his past, but when he is visited by his guardian angel, Gabriel, Jake soon realises he can’t escape who he is.

A man appearing naked in your backyard claiming to be an angel is worrying enough, but believing him and inviting him into your home? Jake swears he has gone crazy, but there is just something otherworldly and very believable about the guy. Plus, he just so happens to be extremely beautiful. After talking with Gabriel, he learns that the angel is not actually here on earth by choice, but rather, as a form of punishment. Jake is also perturbed to learn that Gabriel knows absolutely everything about him, including what went on with his friend Jono in Afghanistan and why Jake felt the need to run as far away from it all as possible.

While Jake is desperately trying to cling on to the life he had made for himself, Gabriel is being a general nuisance as he gets used to his human body and tries to figure out a way to redeem himself. So Jake is surprised at how much Gabriel means to him and how quickly the angel becomes a part of his life. When Jono appears in his life again however, Jake and Gabriel realise that there is more to this situation than they first thought. Fate is transpiring to bring these people together at just the right time, leaving Jake with the hardest decision he will ever have to make.

Catch Me When I Fall has a very inviting style of writing that made it no effort at all to read. There were a lot of interesting concepts explored – Jake’s transition from military to civilian life, as well as his denial about his feelings towards his friend Jono that has caused him so much heartache. The writer found a good balance between these human concepts and the paranormal elements of angels watching over you, and the possibility of an angel feeling human emotions, which led to a very interesting story. Jake was a likable character despite some frustrating behaviour at times. The chemistry between Jake and his angel Gabriel was very appealing to me. I love the idea of an angel and a human having such a strong bond, but I feel it will always be bittersweet – like star crossed lovers facing a huge struggle to get their happy ending. Catch Me When I Fall certainly has bittersweet moments but I would definitely recommend it to fans of the genre

Molten

Title:  Molten
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0090-3
Genre:   {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Nanette can do things with fire and ends up volunteering for the Volunteer Project.  She is sent to a Guardian world to be the one to do repairs when there are disasters.  Rand also has a like power and can’t get the new person out of his mind.

The latest story in the Terran Times Second Wave series, Molten, picks up on the same world from Mandate.  There are different disasters that seem to be regular occurrences on the planet, so Nanette is assigned to be the one to repair things on the planet, whether it be with stone or metal.

Nanette and Rand meet again at a festival, but even though they have great chemistry, Rand puts his foot in his mouth.  It is only after another disaster that they finally get together, where they heat things up literally and figuratively.

The other Guardians make appearances, along with some delightful young ladies.  I had to laugh at Rand’s mother’s reaction to something Nanette did when they were first introduced. 

I am looking forward to seeing what the next book in this series holds, and wonder if it will be about the last Guardian on this particular planet.

The Demon's Door

Author: Ari McKay
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-819-6
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Thomas Carter is on a mission to rid the city of soulless creatures that prey upon humans. Sadly, Thomas cannot distinguish the good from evil supernatural until he meets Julian Schaden, a vampire who becomes a mentor, in addition to a lover, to Thomas.

The Demon's Door has a rather slow-paced plot, illustrating very little demon fighting. The majority of the storyline consist of researching demons, along with Julian teaching Thomas the techniques of intimacy. The characters are somewhat interesting but not entirely engaging.

Thomas grew up on a farm sheltered from the outside world. His naïveté regarding the fundamentals of human life makes him appear mentally challenged.

Julian is a sociable man who enjoys the nightlife of gay bars as well as the supernatural community in the city. Over the years Julian has assisted demon hunters, including all of Thomas’s family. 

The dramatic ending of The Demon's Door is enjoyable.  

Off Campus

Title: Off Campus
Author: Amy Jo Cousins
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 9781619223936
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph
ARC: To be published Dec. 30, 2014

Tom went from being the golden boy everyone wanted to be with to homeless with no real friends, almost overnight.   Now that he’s at the point where his life is turning around, he isn’t going to let anything stand in his way.  Not even a horny roommate.

Off Campus is the first book in a new series, Bend or Break, by author Amy Jo Cousins. This isn’t the usual campus story as both main characters have been in school for some time and just happened to meet for the first time when they are assigned to the same room in off campus housing.  From the start it was easy for me to like Tom.  He is a young man who carries the actions of his father heavily on his shoulders.  Through no fault of his own, Tom finds himself homeless and struggling to make things work.  While I feel bad for him, it is easy to see that it is making him a stronger man.  Reese, on the other hand, comes across as a bit of an ass from the very beginning.  The lengths he goes to in order to get Tom to move out will make you shake your head.  It is only as I came to know the character that I started to understand why he behaves the way he does.  The reasons behind Reese’s actions may be difficult for some readers. 

The author spends quite a bit of time bringing these two together.  At times I wondered if they would ever get together, yet once the two start opening up, their relationship moves fast.  This does not mean that everything becomes hunky dory between them.  The relationship between Tom and Reese has many ups and downs.  More than once I thought this story would end on a bad note. 

For me Off Campus started on a slow note, and it took a while to warm up to one of the main characters, I also found myself enjoying the story.  I am curious to see what the author has planned for a follow up and look forward to the next book.

Wednesday, November 5, 2014

Prime Imperative

Author:  Monette Michaels
Publisher:  Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL:  www.liquidsilverbooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62210-156-6
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Fantasy, Sci-Fi, Series
Rating:  5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Brianna ends up being one of the Prime ‘Lost Ones’ and contacts Prime to see if her mate is still alive.  Turns out that her mate is Iolyn Caradoc.  He is excited but upset when he finds himself across the galaxy when she needs protection.

Prime Imperative is the third book in The Prime Chronicles series and the story of the third son of Prime’s leader.  It picks up not long after the last story, and things are escalating when Brianna is scheduled to go to Prime, to continue research regarding the fertility and birth rate issues that are destroying the Prime population.

The chemistry between Brianna and Iolyn is intense, partly because of the mate mark they received when they were young.  As they learn about each other, Iolyn is frustrated because he can’t quite accept Brianna is a battle mate. Brianna gets upset with him because she knows she can help even if she is a doctor.

Iolyn’s brothers and their mates help Iolyn and Brianna adjust and some other friends are there as well.  One of the bad guys from previous books ends up causing more trouble, but there was a twist that I did not see coming, and the resolution does not resolve all the issues brought up.  

I am happy to see that there will be more stories in The Prime Chronicles.  I am anxious to see how the author will resolve one of the biggest issues facing the Prime.  This series needs to be read in order to get the best picture of what is going on with the Prime.  This series is a keeper to be read again.

Missing, But Not Dead

Author: Christiane France
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com
ISBN: 978-1-61124-686-5
Genre: {M/M} Mystery Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Greg Stewartson, co-owner of the Amethyst Cove Security & Investigations, is not looking for a boyfriend when a chance meeting with Ash Tyler at the beach turns into a mutual attraction worth exploring.

Missing, But Not Dead is part of the Amethyst Cove Mysteries series. Greg’s policy of not dating clients falls into a grey area to the rule. Although technically speaking, Ash did not hire Greg to investigate his case; Greg is intrigued enough to do a little research on his own.

Ash was adopted, he had a wonderful life with loving parents, but now as an adult, Ash wonders who his birth parents were. The few clues Greg has managed to gather leads to a mystery Greg is determined to solve. 

Christiane France has created a fascinating opening saga. The storyline inspires a number of questions as well as a few clues to wet your inquisitive appetite. However, the readers will have to wait until the next installment because this episode ends in a cliffhanger. I greatly enjoyed Missing, But Not Dead and look forward to the next addition. 

Out of CTRL

Title: Out of CTRL
Author: SA Welsh
Publisher: Totally Bound Books
ISBN/BIN: 9781784302795
Genre: {M/M}. Mystery
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

They say you can’t go home again and no one knows that more than Andrew.  When he is pressured into returning home for a family affair, he hopes he can just go in and then leave again with no problems.  Unfortunately, things don’t turn out like he hoped and he soon learns that not everything in the past was what he believed.

I am a big fan of SA Welsh and was excited to get a hold of this new story.  Out of CTRL grabbed my attention right from the beginning.  Andrew is one of those people you hear about every so often that is so good on a computer they can hack into anything.  When he ends up doing just that, he finds himself in trouble with the CIA.  Wanting to stay out of jail, Andrew finds himself working for the government, and making good money doing it. 

Teddy is an old friend of Andrew’s.  When Andrew took off, Teddy was at loose ends and confused as to what happened.  It was hard to reconcile the Teddy Andrew hated with the character that the readers meet.  The two main characters have a strong history, one that has left them both slightly confused and angry.  I will be honest and say that because of the way Andrew feels about Teddy I had a hard time liking him in the beginning.  I was curious to see how this would play out between the two men, especially since it was easy to see that there was some strong chemistry between them.

Secrets start to come out almost from the moment Andrew returns to his home town.  I was shocked by the actions of one of Andrew’s sisters.  I also thought his parents reason for always siding with her was lame, to say the least.  But the secrets in Andrew’s hometown aren’t the only ones troubling him. 

Something fishy is going on at Andrew’s job and, while he thinks he may have a handle on everything, Andrew could be wrong.  This is the one part of the story I wish the author would have spent a little more time on, but the fact that I found this part of the story a little light, does not hinder the story in any way. 

Out of CTRL is a well written story and one I will be reading again.

Beyond the Compound

Author:  Claire Thompson
Publisher:  Romance Unbound Publishing
Publisher URL:  http://romanceunbound.com
ISBN/BIN9781937337742
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Hailey is the object of a bidding war when her six month contract is put out for her services as a slave.  It is bought by the nation’s latest heart-throb in Hollywood, Ronan.  Ronan is pleasantly surprised that Hailey has no idea who he is. 

Beyond the Compound is a wonderful story about one lifestyle choice within the BDSM community.  The Compound is a well-known BDSM Club and training facility for both Doms/Masters and submissives, especially if you want to have a high protocol sub.  I liked the way the author showcased that the submissive would get half the proceeds so they would not lose anything when they went back to their life.

Ronan and Hailey are well suited for each other and both start to fall for the other, though they aren’t sure how to proceed.  The author showcased what happens when a celebrity’s life is under constant scrutiny and, as a result, Hailey and Ronan finally admit their feelings for each other.

I loved what happens when they return to The Compound and the author gives readers more glimpses of the club.  Those familiar with the lifestyle will really enjoy some of the scenes that follow. 

I really enjoyed this book and think it should be on the bookshelf of those that enjoy BDSM stories.  This is one to read again and again.

Reluctant for Romance

Author:  Pamela Judge
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN:  9781619223301
Genre:  {M/F} Retro Romance, Contemporary
Rating:  3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Carly Ray is overwhelmed and not quite sure where to start.  She wants to focus her attention on her mother, but pending unemployment and lazy siblings keep getting in Carly’s way.  Her anger boiled over when the arrogant man who ran her mother over shows miniscule remorse.  She intended to give him a piece of her mind but winds up giving him a piece of her heart.

Declan O’Halloran tried to explain, but the feisty woman never let him get a word in.  It was just easier to agree to her demands.  Convincing Carly to accept his help and his attention was not an easy task.  Carly made it clear that their time together was only temporary but Declan wanted more.  He knew they made a great match, even though Carly didn’t think so.

Carly never wanted to be like her mother, who was a domestic dynamo.  Catering to someone hand and foot was not the life for Carly.  Nothing was more important to her than a career.  After getting to know Declan, Carly was confused.  She knew she loved him, but Carly also thought she could never be the kind of woman he needed.  Declan was a family man, who wanted a simple family life.  And he refused to settle for the no strings hook up Carly was offering him.  It was all or nothing.  Carly nearly lost her shot at happiness because she didn’t realize that Declan wasn’t trying to change her or trap her.  Carly’s mother had gone to the extreme caring for her grown sons so I understood how this could make Carly want to avoid a similar situation.  I wouldn’t want to be a maid for three grown men either.  I found myself getting angry at how they expected Carly to do everything for them.  I wasn’t able to get over my anger at the mother for crippling all of her children though.  Actually I had to give Carly’s brothers credit for changing their tune by the end of the story.  At first I just assumed they were lost causes.  

Reluctant for Romance shows the struggle that many women have today, the balance between a career and a family.  There is nothing wrong with having your cake and eating it too, and I was relieved that Carly finally realized that.  Sometimes you don’t truly know what you want until you get it and that was true of Carly.  She overcame her fear and realized Declan didn’t want to change her, he just wanted to love her as she was.  Read their story and I bet you won’t be able to resist a man like him.

Making His Move

Title:  Making His Move
Author:  Rhyannon Byrd
Publisher:  Self Published
Publisher URL:  www.amazon.com
ISBN/BIN:  ASIN: B00NYAQXB8
Genre:  {M/F}, Contemporary
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Sophie is awkward socially except when she is talking to Chris.  She is attracted to him, but just knows he doesn’t want anyone like her, but when Chris gets a misdirected text. he decides to make his move.

Making His Move is a fast paced read.  It is intense in sexual and emotional chemistry between two people who are friends but unsure how to take things to the next level.  Sophie has a friend that is constantly trying to get her to ask Chris out.  Chris is unsure when it comes to Sophie, but extremely confident in the rest of his life.

Once the two get together, the pages burn so keep plenty of ice on hand.  There is a slight hiccup in their relationship at the beginning, but that is taken care of very quickly.  

Those that are fans of Rhyannon Byrd will not be disappointed in this story.  It is more intense than some of her others, but continues with the dominant hero and the feisty heroine, once she get over her shyness.  I will be reading this one again.

Tuesday, November 4, 2014

No Boundaries

Title: No Boundaries
Author: SE Jakes
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: samhainpublishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-61922-263-2
Genre: {M/M} {M/M/M} Mystery Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 
Release Date: November 18, 2014

Cole Jacobs is getting a fresh start on life by doing a job he enjoys. Cole has a new career as an auto mechanic. Unfortunately, Cole realizes he also has a stalker who knows all the nasty details of his past. As a favor to his boss, private detective Marcus Lowry agrees to investigate Cole’s possible stalker case. Marcus has his doubts the case is real until they both receive undeniable proof that their lives are in imminent danger.

No Boundaries is the first book in the Phoenix, Inc. series. Phoenix, Inc. is the name of a Private Investigations business owned by Styx, Law and Paolo, three former armed forces, CIA and cops. The plot is a nail biting suspense with military tactics employed. The characters have emotional baggage from their past that continues surface from time to time. Trust is a major issue for Cole as well as for Marcus; both men have secrets too painful to share.

Cole was forced to live on the streets at a young age. He did whatever he had to do to survive. Cole suffers from anger issues but he is not a violent man. Cole relieves his stress by doing fighter training. Cole’s past as a rent boy subdued his sexual desires until he met Marcus.

Marcus has the guiltiness of failure from his days as a CIA operative, though the mission was accomplished according to plan, he did not accomplish the goal to his own satisfaction. Marcus is also suspicious of his attraction to Cole because of a prior cheating boyfriend. 

SE Jakes has created a fascinating thriller that I enjoyed immensely. The mentally twisted stalker is terrifying. No Boundaries also features ménage intimacy scenes between Styx, Law and Paolo, as well as intimacy scenes between Cole and Marcus.

Soothing the Zebra’s Fears

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0076-7
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

At nearly 300 years old, Diego realized that if he ever wants to have a mate, he would have to go looking.  Unfortunately that means leaving his position as alpha and hitting the road with Kontra and his group.  While he likes the guys, he is having a harder time not being an alpha than he thought he would.  Everything changes when he smells his mate, who has no idea that he himself is a shifter.

Soothing the Zebra’s Fears is the latest addition to the Kontra’s Menagerie series.  This story finds Kontra and his men once again on the road, when a stop for chow brings them trouble they weren’t expecting, thanks to Diego meeting Zachary.  I liked the way in which the author introduces Zachary to both the readers and Diego.  This is a young man who is used to being under his mother’s thumb to some extent, and while Diego acted as if the younger man was a shifter, Zachary has no idea about this part of his heritage.  It is easy to see that the younger man’s mother is not happy about the date Diego and her son are planning on going on, but I assumed it was just the reactions of an over-protective, prejudiced mother.  The real reason will surprise the reader and the final show down is very interesting. 

As for our main characters, Diego and Zachary make a great couple.  Because of his age, Diego is a little jaded while Zachary is on the innocent side so they end up balancing each other perfectly.  I loved watching Diego introduce Zachary to the shifter world.  The younger man’s reaction to the others shifting around him is what you would expect from someone who has no knowledge of the shifter world.  The connection between these two is strong, even in the beginning, and the chemistry between them is intense. 

Fans of this series are sure to love this new book.