Monday, July 21, 2014

Cowboy Take Me Away


Author: Lorelei James
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61922-397-4
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary Series
Rating: Recommended Read
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Carson McKay wants Carolyn from the moment he sees her across the dance hall floor. She’s gorgeous, sexy and the woman meant for him. He knows it. She’s not convinced, which is why Carolyn slugs him on the jaw when he tries to steal a kiss. It doesn’t deter Carson…it just makes her more perfect.

Carolyn might have attended a catholic school but she’s not innocent. She doesn’t trust the sexy cowboy but when he kisses her again, she practically ignites. Then the truth comes out. His last name is McKay and their families have been fighting for decades. Carolyn will have to ignore the feuding, and look past his shallow exterior to see the good man underneath if she wants to find the happily ever after that will give her decades of love.

Cowboy Take Me Away is the sixteenth and final book in the Rough Riders series by Lorelei James. I admit it. I can’t believe this beloved series has come to an end with a story about the couple that started it all. I’m so glad Ms. James allowed the Rough Riders to come full circle with the telling of how Carson and Carolyn met and had a life together. It now seems complete.

As I sat down to write this review I realized that as much as I’d enjoyed the other books, I loved this one…everything about it, and I rarely say that. It’s definitely my series favorite. Once I started reading, I didn’t want to stop and over 400 pages are hard to finish in one day, but I managed. 

There’s a lot going on in this book…drama and family, and yes it would be great if you’d read some of the previous books, but I think this one can stand on its own. Even though Carson and Carolyn have been in the periphery of earlier books, we didn’t know much about their personalities but here we learn about them as people…and I like them. I didn’t expect the book to start in the present and then jump into the past with a series of flashback scenes from both their perspectives. I’m not a huge favorite of this technique but here it works well, and it’s a perfect plotline answer. It allows you to discover so many things about their life together, whether good or bad, funny or sad…and yes, you might need tissues. The plot pulls in their kids, uses great imagery, has a smooth pace, plenty of surprise, lots of sex, and the pain and drama…it’s heart wrenching. This well written and complicated story is really all I could have asked for in Carson and Carolyn’s book. I hope you’ll give it a try. You won’t be sorry. Enjoy.

Reluctant Consort

Author:  Lora Leigh
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave   
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781419938962
Genre:  {M/F/M}, Fantasy Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Arabella knows she is going to die at her father’s hand.  The only regret she has is that she will have to give up her two warriors. Her brother asks for help to save her life, unaware that Caedan and Daelan will be the ones to come for her.

Reluctant Consort is the fourth book in the Wizard Twins series.  Ms. Leigh has created a wonderful complex magical world.  The previous books don’t need to be read in order, but future stories following Reluctant Consort will if the ending is any indication of what is to come. 

Arabella is a Sorceress who is half human.  Along with Caedan and Daelan, Arabella is actually going to usher in a new age in magick, but there are some major obstacles to be overcome.  The author went into more detail about the area where these men are from, as well as what they are.  Even though they are twins, they are not royal and are surprised when they realize exactly what Arabella is and that she is theirs.  Their chemistry is explosive when they get together. 

As the story progresses, several twists occur that some secondary characters create, but others have solutions to.  As this series progresses, readers will learn more about this wonderful world that Ms. Leigh has created.  Her fans will enjoy this series.

Reuniting Galerir

Author: Anna Lee
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02014-0261
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

The kingdom cannot prosper without trust. Having defeated the evil plaguing Galerir, King Tomas and his knight Griffin set about gaining the trust of all the residents, including the magical creatures.

Reuniting Galerir is the third book in The Galerir Saga. This is an incredibly heartwarming plot blended with deadly magical fights, fascinating creatures plus sensual expressions of Tomas and Griffin’s love for each other. The dragons are the main focus in the storyline. Dragons have been the protectors to all the kings of Galerir. Now that Tomas is king, a young dragon named Sera is the guardian of Tomas and his lover Griffin. Sera was with her two charges throughout the battles fought to destroy evil.

Tomas began his journey with two goals, the first goal has been accomplished, the second goal was to obtain community acceptance regarding his secret commitment to Griffin.  What Tomas and Griffin discovered is that the only objections they encountered to having two males as Galerir’s rulers were those who greedily sought to gain access to the throne by forcing their unwilling daughters into attempting to seduce Tomas. 

Anna Lee has created an incredible finale to The Galerir Saga.  I especially enjoyed all the fantasy creatures. The Prince of Galerir is the first book in the series, followed by The Battle for Galerir. I suggest reading the books in sequence.

And Call Me in the Evening

Author: Willa Okati
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781623001179
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Zane and Eli have been a couple for awhile but they still have issues—trust and open communication being at the top of the list. They love each other and have a good life together so that should be enough, but not knowing what your partner is thinking can cause more problems than you realize.

That becomes obvious when they’re home from their latest assignment with Medicins Sans Frontieres. Zane loves traveling but Eli is ready to settle down and open his own clinic. Unfortunately, they can’t talk without Zane getting angry and when Eli’s ex-wife comes to town, their problems only get worse. With their life suddenly so unsettled it’s no wonder Eli’s having chest pain—and not telling anyone. Can they work through their problems or will Eli’s pending health crisis destroy their future?

And Call Me in the Evening is the second release in Willa Okati’s And Call Me in the Morning series. Due to the ongoing relationships of the characters, you need to read the books in order.

I can’t believe it’s been four years since we first met Zane and Eli. I loved these guys when they were introduced and feared there’d never be any further books about them. Imagine my surprise when I came across the blurb for their new story and realized the long awaited second book was finally here. I was shocked—and pleased—and happy.

These two are a good match, but each is full of flaws and insecurities. The author did a great job of describing the rollercoaster of emotions experienced, showing they aren’t perfect but full of human failings. They’re really likeable men, dedicated, responsible and loving but they don’t communicate well and that’s where the trouble in their relationship begins. They keep their feelings bottled up and don’t talk. That’s my big niggle. Eli didn’t talk, Zane got angry. I’m not a big fan of using lack of communication for the serious trouble in a characters relationship, while in reality I know it happens. It’s a catch-22.

I liked how the secondary characters are woven into the story. These individuals are wonderful friends to Eli and Zane and its nice seeing them again. The imagery is vivid, the dialogue snappy and there’s plenty of drama. And Call Me in the Evening is well written, full of pain and angst—but most of all love. I’m not going to deny that it isn’t perfect, but overall I found it enjoyable and entertaining, and I want more about these two loving men in the future.

Perfect Imperfections

Title: Perfect Imperfections
Author: Cardeno C.
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL:
www.dreamspinnerpress.com
ISBN: 978-1-62798-878-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

When rock star Jeremy Jameson wanders into the bar Reg Moore is working at, the pair fall into easy conversation. Reg recognizes the musician but can tell that the man is looking for some much needed anonymity, so just acts his usual laid back, friendly self. At first, Jeremy thinks the barman can't have recognized him, he's so used to getting a reaction, but he has to admit it's nice to be treated as just a regular guy for once.

They hit it off, and Jeremy finds himself talking more with Reg in one night than he has with anyone else in a long time. There is just something about the guy, and before he knows it, Jeremy is inviting Reg on his upcoming tour. Reg has always wanted to travel the world, and the opportunity to do it with such cute company has Reg jumping at the chance. As for Jeremy, he has never been able to relax and be himself around someone like he can with Reg, and having him by his side to ground him and keep his ego in check is just what the doctor ordered. Jeremy's relationship history is rocky at best however, and it's not long before past failures have him counting down the days until Reg gets bored with him and the rock star lifestyle. Will Reg be able to persuade the talented superstar that he has fallen for the man behind the legend?

Perfect Imperfections is a very enjoyable read, with entertaining characters who are immediately likeable. I read this book on a long haul flight and it was the perfect way to wile away the hours. I recommend to any fan of the genre as it has a really engrossing storyline and some scorching scenes between Jeremy and Reg. Personally, Reg is my favorite character, as he is relaxed and easy going, but focused on making Jeremy happy – a dream come true to me. Jeremy is anything but the stereotypical rich, young, spoiled brat rock star. Through Reg we get to dig under the surface to see that Jeremy is kind, gentle and much in need of love. Of course, he is far from perfect, and I love how Reg can accept all of the musician, imperfections and all. What's even better, he helps Jeremy accept them too. The author did a good job of teasing me, testing my patience as our two guys figure each other out, and the ups and downs of being famous were also interesting to explore.

Lesser

Title:  Lesser
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-77111-956-6
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Sci-Fi, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Iridia is surprised that she is chosen to be a Guardian, then Avatar of a planet. Her ability to become invisible to those around her is what made her the best candidate.  Zanthan was raised by the planet and is Iridia’s co-Avatar.

Lesser is the eighth book in the Terran Times Second Wave series.  I found the description of the planet, Tharos Prime, to be very interesting. The planet destroyed the entire population after the populace murdered his Avatar, and Tharos Prime is slowly trying to recover from the destruction he wrought by allowing inhabitants back to his surface.  The descriptions the author gave of the various peoples, including the Guardians, allowed to populate the planet was interesting. I loved the description of the “Blue Fairy” as the description was clearly in the realm of science fiction.

I had to laugh at Zanthan’s mother.  She was so concerned about someone taking advantage of him, she didn’t listen to her own star that she was the Avatar for.  Tharos Prime was a big surprise.  There were a few interesting and humorous moments as the Guardians introduced themselves to the various groups on the planet.

The chemistry between Iridia and Zanthan was hot.  They had some communication issues to get through, once Iridia realized Zanthan knew she was his co-Avatar.

Ms. Grace has created some wonderful and interesting worlds to put this series.  Fans will not be disappointed.  I am looking forward to the next book in this series.

Pets

Title: Pets
Author: Mychael Black
Publisher: Changeling Press
BIN: 07017-02260
Genre: {M/M} Urban Fantasy
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Ian Bishop found love where he least expected to find it, in the arms of Terian Thunderhoof.

Pets is an enchanting short story romance. The characters inspire a warm happy feeling in the area of the heart as well as a smile on your face.

Ian is a man of integrity who values all life.

Although on opposite sides of the war, Terian is drawn to Ian whom he suspects is a compassionate man. A few months after the war ended, Terian’s suspicions about Ian are proved correct when he claimed Ian as his pet. 

Mychael Black has created a very enjoyable snippet that is an ideal break from the daily routines.      

The Art of Breathing

Author: TJ Klune
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press  
ISBN/BIN: 9781627989268
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Sequel
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Changes are coming to Tyson’s life and the young man can’t help wondering if they are coming faster than what he is ready for.  The biggest change will be leaving Dominic behind and that is the one that plays the biggest part in how Tyson’s life turns out. 

The Art of Breathing is the sequel to Who We Are by author JT Klune.  Readers will want to make sure they read these stories in order, as the history of the characters is important.  In The Art of Breathing, The Kid takes center stage and I loved that the author starts this book off with a prolog so that the readers can get reacquainted with the main characters before jumping into the meat of the story. 

While there are several light hearted moments in this book, and times you will have to keep yourself from laughing out loud, this is not always an easy story to read.  In fact, The Art of Breathing is full of angst and more than once I found myself close to tears.  Tyson, who we all know as The Kid, has more than his share of issues and, as he is the center of this book, the reader will soon become familiar with all of them.  Some may not agree with the direction in which the author has taken Tyson, but given what has happened in his past, the issues that the young man faces are realistic and the author handles them in a believable way. 

Once the romantic relationship between Tyson and Dominic starts, the reader can’t help but hope things will start turning around for Tyson. However things don’t work out that smoothly.  There are a lot of obstacles that these two have to overcome; thankfully they have a lot of ‘family’ members there to help them.  This means the readers get the chance to catch up on several previous characters.  Many times when they show up laughs are sure to follow. 

Although the relationship between Dominic and Tyson is a primary part of the story, the family relationship with Tyson, Bear, Otter, and Tyson’s mom and little sister is just more important at times than the one between Dominic and Tyson.  There were times that I worried about the relationship between Bear and Tyson but could understand Tyson’s need to stand on his own two feet.  

There were a few little twists that I did not see coming and I loved the little cliffhanger the author ended the story on.  There is still one story left before we will have to say good bye to this group of characters and, while I am curious to see what will happen next, I hate the idea of saying good bye.  If you have not tried any books by this author, then you should start with the stories of Bear, Otter, and The Kid.  

Dare To Love Forever

Author: JC Wallace
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com
ISBN: 978-1-61124-610-0
Genre: {M/M} Vampire Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Tabula Rosa vampire Carson Locke is starving, yet the thought of biting someone nauseates him more than the thought of dying a slow painful death. Nevertheless, Sanatore vampire Lincoln Samuels decides Carson is worth saving. Fortunately Carson survives, unfortunately Carson becomes something the vampire world has never seen before in addition to Carson is now bonded to Lincoln.

Dare To Love Forever is the first book in the New Vampire Justice series. This story has a fast paced exciting plot. The theme’s focus is the extent of corruption a psychologically disturbed fanatic will go through to achieve power. The plot is a combination of humor, political affairs, mystery, gripping action, as well as sizzling intimacy. The interaction between the characters is entertaining.

Carson has been thrust into a world unknown to him after his mother was killed. He was taught as a child that his bite could destroy others, so he vowed never to feed directly from another. Before meeting Lincoln, Carson’s emotional state was in such a deep depression his body could not heal. Although Carson is a dangerous vampire when warranted, he has the personality of an incredibly kindhearted man.

Lincoln heads a team in the New Vampire Justice police force. He is protective as well as compassionate to everyone who deserves it. Lincoln sensed there was something special about Carson, so Lincoln took a chance that Carson would not resurrect another chaotic experience of rejection like the one in Lincoln’s past.

JC Wallace has created an extraordinarily enjoyable saga. Carson and Lincoln are so attuned to each other it creates an especially romantic picture of forever lovers. I look forward to the next episode.

Blood on the Ice

Author: Katriena Knights
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61922-136-9
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Hockey. It’s ring wing Travis Payne’s life. His dream of winning the Stanley cup is one step closer when the Chicago Blackhawks win a place in the finals. His future changes one night when he’s attacked by a vampire and he wakes up in a special room at the Cook County Morgue. Travis isn’t human any more…his rights have changed and he can no longer play hockey in the NHL.

That doesn’t mean Travis can’t play hockey for the local vampire hockey team, the Chicago Cobras. Unfortunately, being a vampire means the Stanley Cup will forever remain out of reach. Travis isn’t happy and it’s up to Cobra captain Marcus Antonius to teach him how to survive in the vampire world and to deal with his new teammates and their style of hockey.  The former Roman gladiator would also like to help Travis directly into his bed. Can Travis let go of his old life and make a new one with Marcus?

Blood on the Ice is by a new author for me—Katriena Knights.  It has two things I love, vampires as the main characters and hockey, so I had to give it a try. What more could I want…a well written story of a human learning to be a vampire while battling the NHL.

It’s an interesting twist on the genre—vampires out in the world and openly playing hockey. I loved the details of Travis trying to handle being a new vampire. It’s one of the things that really set the story apart. It covered the hard parts of his new life instead of glossing over them, and showed his uncertainty and emotions during this difficult time. This transition phase is also a good way of getting Marcus into his life…and this guy is interesting and seen so much during his long life. I like him and together he and Travis make a good couple.

What I liked: It’s obvious the author knows her hockey from the vivid imagery used in the rink during practice and in the games. The action is fast paced and realistic. There are several wonderful secondary characters that really flesh out the story. In fact, I’d like to see more of them and could see Blood on the Ice being the first book in a vampire hockey series.

My niggles: The set up was a little long—meaning Travis and Marcus didn’t meet for several chapters. That being said, the guys didn’t get their relationship started for awhile and didn’t get physically close until maybe 70% through…but it was hot and sexy. Enjoy.

Diego

Title: Diego
Author: Angel Martinez
Publisher: MLR Press
Publishers URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN/BIN: MLR-1-02014-0254
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Fantasy, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

After the challenges Diego and Finn have faced, they are looking forward to some peace and quiet.  However, when Finn returns early from a business trip and finds Diego in a compromising position, Finn is unable to control his powers and things go from bad to worse. 

Diego is the second story in the Endangered Fae series.  While I always recommend reading a series in order, it is possible to read Diego even if you have not yet read the first book, Finn.  For those who have read the first book, the author very easily pulls you back into the world in which this series exists.  Right from the start, it seems like you are reconnecting with old friends and, as Finn and Diego prepare for Finn to leave for a few days, the reader can’t help but worry about Diego.  The chemistry between the main characters is just as strong as it was in the beginning and when they come together they heat up the pages, and while this is an important part of their relationship, it is not the one that plays the biggest role in this story. 

Instead, Diego takes the readers into the realm of the Fae.  The men do not travel to this world together and their journey back to each other is full of adventure.  But it is not until Diego, Finn, and several of the Fae find themselves back in Montana that things really get intense.  There are several times when I worried about the characters in this story and wondered a time or two if Diego would ever be the same after they meet up with members of the government. 

Diego is a fantasy/paranormal story that has something for everyone.  This series made me a fan of the author’s and has ended up on my must read list.  I am looking forward for the next book in the series and am curious to see in what direction the author is taking it.  

Flux Orbit

Title: Flux Orbit
Author: Emily Veinglory
Publisher: Loose-Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-62300-145-2
Genre: {M/M} Science Fiction
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Political deceit condemns Earth’s last survivors to a lifetime spent on a spaceship. Greed, as well as corruption, sets the ship on a path of destruction.

The theme of Flux Orbit is somewhat confusing. The space ship Apteryx is the last ship to leave Earth. With no destination charted to another planet, the spaceship has been hovering over the flux planet for fourteen years. What I found perplexing is the dialog of Kell, whether it was his thoughts or he was conversing with the alien. The development along with the purpose eluded me.

The characters did not fully engage my interest, although there were moments illustrating a possible romantic attraction between Jorihn Parr and Kell. All of the characters are devoid of emotional displays associated with humans. 

Flux Orbit is a Here and Now saga. The segments of the storyline I could comprehend I found enjoyable. 

Put a Ring On It

Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press Publishers
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN/BIN: None listed
Genre: {M/M} BDSM Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Billy and Montana are at the Hammer with their friends to celebrate the first anniversary of Jim and Marcus. The party goes smoothly until an issue arises with Montana about the possibility of marriage. Then a misunderstanding occurs over something simple, making Billy realize that something’s wrong. Why is Montana reluctant to consider marriage? Billy has to figure out how to reconnect to the man he loves. Will it lead to a stronger relationship and marriage, or not?

Put a Ring On It is the latest release in the Hammer Club family of books. Because of the ongoing relationships, it would be beneficial if you’re familiar with the characters before reading this short.

I admit it. I love the Hammer and the couples that frequent it and Billy and Montana are one of my favorites. Having this short start on a happy note and quickly move to one of misunderstanding and conflict wasn’t something I expected for this couple. They’ve been together for a decade but the prospect of a change is troubling for their relationship. The author does a good job of explaining the emotions of both Billy and Montana and how Billy goes about trying to fix what’s wrong. 

The pacing is smooth and the imagery good. As expected, after Billy and Montana return home, there’s lots of sizzling sex to work through their problems. I do wish that there had been more time spent actually dealing with their issues, instead of the quick gloss-over that’s covered here. I did appreciate the unique ending and I think you will too.

Strength of the Mate

Author: Kendall McKenna
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02014-0257
Genre: {M/M} Shifter Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Not everyone is qualified to be a leader; good principles must be ingrained in the personality. Because of the werewolf society management fails at Camp Fallujah, Iraq, the Marine True Alpha Noah sends his Omega, Dawson Rivers to investigate and correct the problems. Upon arrival at the camp, Dawson discovers he has an ally as well as a mutual attraction with Adam Madison.

Strength of the Mate is part of the Tameness of the Wolf Series. The plot exhibits the tense apprehension expected in a war zone environment. Military procedures, along with living conditions, are illustrated. The storyline also gives an insight to the political associations of war. The characters are amusing and engaging as well as believable.

Dawson is a werewolf peacemaker with Marine integrity, very approachable to everyone. However, Dawson has an inimitable power that can cause any combatant to promptly coward down. Dawson had a brief acquaintance with Adam stateside, since Dawson worked with Marine Major Tim Madison who is Adam’s older brother. Meeting Adam again at the camp only enhanced Dawson’s budding attraction into a full blown desire to have Adam as his mate.

Adam is a human civilian contracted by a private business to drive fuel tanks between military bases. This is a very dangerous job; nevertheless Adam almost has a death wish because of a tragedy from his past and he is now suffering from survivor’s guilt. Adam may have a few issues but he is by no means lacking in courage. Adam has zero tolerance for bullies, he is not afraid to take whatever action necessary to stop abuse. Adam’s honorable traits are very much attuned to Dawson’s personality.

Kendall McKenna has created an outstanding saga. The interaction between the congenial characters along with the detailed description of the wolf activities is superb. I thoroughly enjoyed Strength of the Mate.

Friday, July 11, 2014

Edge of the Enforcer


Author:  Cherise Sinclair
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62300-398-2
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating:  Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Lindsey left Texas, after killing her husband and taking files that can protect her to keep from being murdered.  She has been working under a false last name and tries not to make friends.  She has always been attracted to deVries but knows she can’t give him what he needs.  deVries is attracted to Lindsey, but is blindsided by his feelings once he knows her better.

Edge of the Enforcer is the fourth book in the Doms of Dark Haven series and is the best one so far, in my opinion.  Several issues in the book can be taken from the news and the research regarding those issues was great.  I loved that the author also made distinctions, and showed how relationships can work within the BDSM lifestyle when there are differences in what either the Dom, or submissive can tolerate or need. 

Lindsey needed some pain stimulation, but was not a masochist and could tolerate only so much.  deVries was a true sadist and used his need to come down from the adrenaline rush of his jaunts as a mercenary.  I found the resolution interesting, because it worked after several misunderstandings.  The chemistry between the two is hot and some scenes will leave you breathless.

Once Lindsey and deVries come to an understanding, things get real interesting between the two as deVries and company help Lindsey resolve her past.  A lot of characters from the previous books show up to help.  I liked the resolution about the bad guys, for obvious reasons. 

Fans of Cherise Sinclair’s books will not be disappointed in this highly anticipated story.  While Edge of the Enforcer can be read alone, for the best enjoyment, readers should read the entire Doms of Dark Haven series.

Fanging Around For a Broken Wolf

Author: SA Welsh
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-77111-960-3
Genre: {M/M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Jacko needs to get himself and his little sister, Rose, away from their evil mother. He tries to fight in a pack contest for a pack position but that doesn’t work out well. Still the alpha welcomes him into the pack and even rescues his sister before she can be harmed further. Shortly after the rescue, Jacko meets Lavi and Van. The two vampire elders are just the type of men he’s always wanted and his wolf agrees…and soon he’s certain the gorgeous vampires are his mates. Can he live in their world? Can their mating survive the difference and the danger from his mother?

Fanging Around For a Broken Wolf is the second release in SA Welsh’s Blood Moon Pack Alliance. It begins shortly after the first left off, so the books should be read in order.

As much as I enjoyed the first book, I liked this second one more. Jacko and his two vampire mates make for a fun and entertaining read even though the subject matter is rather dark. I mean it would have to be considering the things that Jacko experienced in his life. Even his little scene-stealing sister Rose has problems because of their mother. The resulting fears that Jacko and Rose have are very real, which explains why they have difficulty trusting initially. I thought the author did a nice job handling these problems and showing how Van and Lavi are strong and protective with the wounded siblings. The two elder vampires are truly a pair of compelling guys. I really like them.

Overall I found the story to be well written with a fast-paced, complicated plot. It moves the ongoing story line forward with suspense, action, good integration of previous characters and plenty of action and danger. I can’t fail to mention the nicely developed personalities of all three primary guys and how well they fit together. There are twists not just with the plot but with the men as well to keep you guessing. I really hope that Van, Lavi and Jacko play continuing roles in future books.

The Legend of Uncle Everett

Author: Gene Taylor
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62798-641-0
Genre: {M/M} Historical, Western
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Blake had heard stories of the infamous feud between his great Uncle Everett and rival in love JB Sanderson. It is only after both men have passed on that Blake discovers just how intense things got between the two of them. They had supposedly fallen out over a girl, but while sorting through Everett’s belongings, diaries are uncovered that detail a secret love between the two men that if discovered, would have caused untold damage to their families reputations in 1930s small town Texas. Now that Blake knows the truth, he decides it’s time Everett and JB’s story is revealed.

I found the writing in The Legend of Uncle Everett relaxed and welcoming, as if I was a friend being let in on a family secret. I was very interested in the premise of love being covered up by a feud, and the lengths the characters went to in order to dupe everyone was a lot of fun to read. Everett’s great nephew Blake acts as narrator, hand picking the special moments in his Uncle’s and JB’s secret life that he is willing to share, and I think Everett and JB would be happy that Blake is finally telling their story. I feel that The Legend of Uncle Everett was a huge undertaking, as it was a vast love story that spanned many years. Whereas the story could have lost its way, getting tied down with 40 plus years’ worth of love story, I think the author did a good job of providing just enough detail into the characters’ lives while still maintaining intimacy and mystery. Everett and JB’s love was a sweet story, sometimes bittersweet, but one that I definitely could have read more of.

Taste of Lacey

Author:  Linden Hughes
Publisher:  Loose Id
Publisher URL:  http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62300-004-2
Genre:  {M/F}   Multicultural, Contemporary
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Lacey Bishop is a focused woman working her way through a list of goals.  Right now the only thing Lacey cares about is building up her catering business.  She’s got the degree and the skill to make it happen.  With everything going according to plan, Lacey is thrown for a loop when her brother’s best friend takes their relationship to a new level.  Rye goes from practically being family to being the only man Lacey wants in her bed. 

Ryder McKay had helped move in the furniture in Lacey’s bedroom.  Never in a million years did he imagine he’d be lying in her bed, waiting to douse the flames their kiss had started.  Rye never saw Lacey “that way” before, but after discovering the temptress beneath the surface, there was no way he was giving Lacey up.  All he has to do is convince Lacey that he’s in for the long haul and hope her family doesn’t come between them.

There has never been a lack of women in Rye’s life, and Lacey knows that.  He can have anyone he wants, and Rye wants Lacey.  Rye thinks his intentions are crystal clear, and is somewhat hurt by Lacey’s idea of where they stood as a couple.  How could she have such a low opinion of him? 

Lacey isn’t as open with everyone as Rye is in regards to their changed relationship, especially with her family.  Lacey is upset when she feels that Rye goes over her head and keeps her in the dark about relevant information.  Jealousy from an unexpected person causes tension between the couple and Lacey is almost forced to pick sides.  

When two people with history decide to change the rules of their relationship, things get steamy.  Lacey and Rye were so comfortable with each other, I was surprised it took them so long to hit the sheets.  As a mixed couple, racism was part of their issues, but I was glad that it didn’t dominate the story.  I think Rye was a typical male at some points, because he assumed that Lacey should know the extent of his feelings without verbalizing them.  More communication would have cut down on the misunderstandings for sure.  But I’m not letting Lacey off the hook either.  She should have confided in Rye instead of holding back.  I know Lacey thought she was doing the right thing and that she tried to trust him, but she always had doubts.  Finally she started listening to her heart and realized that Rye wanted more than a Taste of Lacey, he wanted her forever.  When a couple has history like Lacey and Rye, it’s easy to feel comfortable with them.  I felt as if I knew who they were immediately and I was sad to see their story end.  

Master Delacroix

Author: Trista Ann Michaels
Publisher:  Loose Id, LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62300-364-7
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Nathan is a former FBI agent, now semi-retired, and owns a BDSM club.  Connelly calls on Nathan for help with research for the villain in her latest novel, unaware they have something in common, which is the man that killed her husband and his fiancé.

Master Delacroix is the second book in the Crime & Punishment series.  Readers should be aware that the first book in this series is published by a different publisher and this book can be read alone. 

Nathan has a talent that also was, in part, the reason his fiancé was targeted by a serial killer.  The fact that Nathan gets impressions and sometimes thoughts from other people also caused friction with him and his father.  He used it as an agent, but now uses it as a Dom with his subs.

Connelly is surprised at how well Nathan understands her, but Nathan is confused as he can clearly read her thoughts.  As he helps her get more comfortable with wanting to know more about the BDSM lifestyle, Nathan also sets up a scene with his brother and his former partner for Connelly to experience something she wanted to try.  The scenes between Nathan and Connelly are hot and they discover that Connelly is a masochist to his sadist.

The intrigue woven into Master Delacroix is expertly dispersed into the love story between Nathan and Connelly. In addition, the relationships that they have with several secondary characters have an influence on how the story progresses.  There were several surprises throughout the story, but those that are familiar with the BDSM lifestyle will find lots of humorous interactions that result with Connelly’s introduction to BDSM. 

Ms. Michaels has a good grasp of the BDSM lifestyle and this is a good one for the bookshelf.  I will be reading this one again.

The Paranormal Detection Agency

Author: Anne Brooke
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com
ISBN: 978-1-61124-618-6
Genre: {M/M} Romantic Comedy
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Things that go bump in the night is an understatement for Aaron Riley. The only solution for Aaron is to seek help from paranormal investigator Jack Atkinson.

The Paranormal Detection Agency is an amusing promising romance highlighted by sweltering intimacy in addition to the presence of ghosts as well as other worldly creatures. The characters are admirable.

Aaron is attempting to remodel his deceased grandmother’s house but angry spirits have discontinued the builder’s progress. Aaron did not believe in ghosts until he witnessed their destructive powers.

Jack is gifted with the sight; he can see as well as hear all manner of paranormal beings which makes him perfect for his chosen profession. 

Anne Brooke has created a splendid short story that I enjoyed immensely. 

Pride and Modern Prejudice

Author: AJ Michaels
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62798-710-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Liam Bennet can usually get along with anyone. At least he thought so, until his brother starts dating Bingley and Liam meets William Darcy, Bingley’s business partner. They’re frequently thrown together but Will’s proud, cold, arrogant attitude only annoys Liam. As he goes off to college, Liam’s forced to deal with his conflicted feelings toward Darcy, his father’s job loss and his best friend, Charlotte, getting involved with his obnoxious cousin, Collins. To make matters worse, an old acquaintance of Darcy’s, George Wickham, comes to town causing trouble and his young brother is endangered. When Wickham’s past is exposed and Liam learns the truth of Darcy’s part in it, can Liam admit his mistake and confess his true feelings for Darcy?

Pride and Modern Prejudice is the first book by AJ Michaels I’ve read. As you can tell from the title it’s a modern version of the Jane Austin classic. I admit it. I’ve read the book and likely seen every movie version, so this new release is perfect for me. I suspect that others who love the original will likely feel the same way. *Be aware that just because the author’s made the main characters men doesn’t mean she’s turned this updated story into an erotic romance.*  So If you’re looking for that, this might not be for you.

The classic Austin tale has vivid descriptions, humor, plenty of charm and lots of great scenes between the characters, and this new version does too. The backbone of the story is basically unchanged—by that I mean the people and their relationships. It’s their country, jobs, education, and how they conduct their everyday lives that have been significantly changed. The author’s really done a nice job pulling these two things together—the books classical past and the contemporary nuances of the new release. As I swiped each page on my reader, I couldn’t wait to see what next change I’d find. I’m happy to say, each and every one worked and made sense in the new world the author has created. Enjoy. 

I can only hope the author tries converting another classic romance into a M/M contemporary in the future.

Somebody’s Been a Bad Little Wolf

Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-77111-949-8
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Levine has sat by and watched as every man he has ever been interested in has found their mates.  Knowing his shyness will keep him alone for the rest of his life if he doesn’t do something, the young omega wolf decides to approach the next man that walks through the pack’s door.  Imagine his surprise when the next man is Colt, a lone wolf looking for a pack. 

Somebody’s Been a Bad Little Wolf is the newest story in the Wayne County Wolves series by author Stephani Hecht.  The characters in this story are brought together in an interesting way and the chemistry between them is strong, thanks to the mate pull.  Levine is a shy omega wolf who is used to being overlooked.  He knows some of that is his own fault but can’t seem to change his behavior.  I could not help but feel sad for the young wolf.  He so wants to be loved, but his fear of rejection keeps him from approaching any of his crushes.  He did surprise me, however, as I never thought he would be brave enough to follow through on the advice given to him by Toby. 

Colt is looking for a pack since his last one was destroyed by Rand.  Colt surely suffers from survivor’s guilt after the destruction of his pack.  It is easy to understand why he feels that way although he has no reason to.  After hearing about how things were with his old pack, it is also easy to understand why he is unsure what to expect with the Wayne County pack.  It was fun watching these two get to know each other.  Both men are a little unsure how to act with each other but the mate pull is strong and the two men end up spending a lot of time together. 

Somebody’s Been a Bad Little Wolf was a fun read that helps move the series along.  Several former characters show up to give the new couple a hand along the way.  This, of course, means there are several snarky lines that will make the reader laugh.  Fans of this series will love this new book as the couple grabs you from the beginning and won’t let go until the last page.