Saturday, December 20, 2014

All That Heaven Will Allow

Author: D.W. Marchwell
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781632161673
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jimmy’s life started out rocky but now he’s finally at a place where he is happy.  The one thing missing, however, is a forever love and Jimmy is beginning to wonder if his time has passed.  But in walks Derek, and soon Jimmy’s life could not be any more perfect.

All That Heaven Will Allow is the newest book by author D.W. Marchwell.  This is a well written story with strong characters who will grab you from the beginning.  Jimmy grew up in an abusive family environment.  It took him a while to reach the point where he is finally happy.   While he would like to find someone to spend the rest of his life with, he knows that may not happen and finds other ways to fill the empty space in his heart.  Derek is a bit of a pain in the beginning, but it is easy to understand why.  I could not believe the way Derek’s ex-wife and children behaved and thought they should have been put in their place sooner.   The first meeting between Derek and Jimmy made me smile and I loved the way Jimmy sets him straight. 

There is a strong attraction between the two men that really sets the pages on fire.  While some might find their instant connection unrealistic, it was one of the things I enjoyed the most in this story.  I wondered how the author would bring these two together since Jimmy was settled and Derek was still foot- loose. 

There are a few obstacles that Jimmy and Derek must overcome before they can find their happily ever after.  One obstacle is so big and unexpected that, I must admit, I was a little worried.  I loved the way the author wraps everything up, however, and the last few pages are sure to make you smile.

Intimate Details

Author:  Tina Donahue
Publisher:  Siren-Bookstrand, Inc.
Publisher URL:  www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-63258-535-6
Genre:  {M/F/M}, Ménage, BDSM
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Mike and Cody end up hiring Shana after she shows up for an interview with their entire lives in a file, including some very private information, that she used her hacking skills to get.  Her goal is to work with their pro-bono cases as well as exacting justice for her past.

Intimate Details had a lot of details about some of the hacking that can be done by a good hacker.  The only thing I was a little worried about is just how much can actually be hidden by a hacker without leaving some kind of trace.  As the story progresses, readers will learn a lot about Shana and the reasons she started hacking.  I was glad the author had the men convince Shana that there were ways to go about things legally instead of risking jail time.

Mike and Cody are best friends and are instantly attracted to Shana.  Eventually the three act on their attraction, though Shana resists letting them know about her past.  The scenes are hot, and eventually Shana lets them know more about her, which makes the men do their best to help and protect her. 

I was a little disappointed with the ending, as I felt the author jumped to the epilogue a little too soon.  I would have liked to know more about how they arrived at the solutions they did.  All in all, this was a good story that kept my interest.

The Alpha King

Author: Viktor Alexander
Publisher: Rooster and Pig Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 9780692325810
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Science Fiction, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Talon loves his job and his family and wouldn’t change a thing.  Okay, maybe one thing.  The fact that he is a Vermithian means he can get pregnant and, since that is one thing he wants to avoid at all cost, he limits his sexual relationships to one night stands and all the protection he can find.  When his latest job finds him crash landing light-years away from his scheduled stop, the rest of his life starts to spin out of control.

The Alpha King is the newest book by author Viktor Alexander.  This is a second edition and has been greatly expanded, so I would urge those who have already read the first edition to think about repurchasing. 

The Alpha King is the story of two young men affected by the actions of their parents. Talon, a young man who has no knowledge of his past, is grateful for the love of his adoptive parents and sister.  He is also a bit of a free spirit whose actions, as well as what comes out of his mouth, made me laugh at times.  Blaze is the king of his people and takes his role seriously, sometimes too much.  He carries around a lot of guilt when it comes to his younger brother and worries about repairing the damage he has caused. 

You would think the free spirit and responsible royal would have little in common, yet they click from the beginning.  While some might think that has a lot to do with the mate bound, it also has to do with the men themselves.  Blaze and Talon balance each other out, allowing them to grow into their roles as Alpha King and Alpha Queen.

As you would expect, the relationship between these two is the main focus of the story.  It is full of ups and downs, with twists thrown in, that readers may or may not see coming, yet there is a lot of secondary plot lines woven into this first book of the Passion’s Hero series.  I am curious as to how each of the future stories will play out and hope we do not have to long to wait before we see book two. 

The Alpha King is a good starting point for those readers who have not yet tried anything by this author and, if you are a fan already don’t forget to pick up this second edition as the expansion is worth it.  

Species of Guy and Other Party Tales

Author: J.P. Maines
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02014-0340
Genre: {M/M} Satire
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Peter London describes navigating the treacherous domains whilst searching for the perfect long term monogamous relationship candidate.

Species of Guy and Other Party Tales gives fairly amusing details of the various traits, as well as the lack of ethics of some gay men. However, these descriptions could apply to any single man or woman. The narration reminds me of a stand-up comedy act.

The rating of Graphic: meaning high level of sensuality, detailed love scenes, graphic description of anatomy and of sexual acts did not match. The storyline simply did not live up to my expectations based on the book’s rating.

Each chapter is an explanation of the titles such as The Northern Gay Cheating Rules; Thrust the Trust, The Candle Guys, The Waving Guy, The Phantom Guy, The Bullshit Guy and so on. Each episode is a lesson in ethics according to Peter. 

Species of Guy and Other Party Tales is, to some extent, enjoyable despite the fact that my interest was not fully engaged by the characters.

Velvet Diamonds

Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press Publishers
Publisher URL: www.torquerepress.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61040-826-4
Genre: {M/M} BDSM Anthology
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

The release of Velvet Diamonds brings together in one anthology five previously published shorts that all take place in the world of the BDSM club, the Velvet Glove. The stories cover differing needs of the participants, and the plot lines vary from tender, sweet and those that are more sexually dominant in nature. Take a look and hopefully you’ll find something that appeal to you.

A Bird in the Hand - 3 Nymphs 

I like Kestrel and Jim and always enjoy seeing them as secondary characters in one of the ‘Glove books, but I have missed how they got together. That’s why I’m pleased their story is included in this release. While Kestrel’s mannerisms are a little over-the-top, he’s a nice guy and Jim is too. The story is sweet and the pacing is even but the descriptions lack the details to tell the reader where the story is taking place. It could be happening anywhere in the world, instead of the one the ‘Glove’ series is set in. That’s the biggest problem with this short—it’s not grounded in its setting.

A Peace Within the Quiet - 4.5 Nymphs

Gloucester and Katashi are new characters to me and the telling of their meeting and the gentle developing of the relationship is lovely. The background of each is placed nicely and the vivid details and ceremonial mannerisms of Katashi pulled me into the story. The pacing flows evenly, and while there are plenty of emotions expressed, they’re calm and controlled. I like these guys and would enjoy seeing them again.

Love and the Farmer - 3.5 Nymphs

This is a quick look at hard-to-control sub, Love, and visiting Farmer, Freddie. There’s lots of anger and emotions in the beginning coming from Love. It ultimately gets him disciplined and taken to Freddie where they have a vividly described BDSM scene. The read is quick and pacing smooth, but the ending is very abrupt.

Three to Heal - 4 Nymphs

Jean was severely burned in a bombing, leaving him terribly scarred. People stare at him, which makes him uncomfortable. Being introduced to Richard and Noel changes his life. This short is different than many of the other ‘Glove’ releases because of Jean’s injury history and its aftermath. This is a lovely example of how people are more than what you see on the outside…you have to look deeper than the skin and scars, and that’s exactly what Richard and Noel did. It’s tender but sexy; shows fear but hope and has a storyline and characters that pulled me in immediately.

Raw Need - 3.5 Nymphs

Issak is a high-powered businessman but he’s also a sub with needs of being totally dominated. This trip to the Velvet Glove, his Top is Car and the new experiences shake Issak to his core. This addition to the anthology is all about giving a sub what he needs; so while there’s a portion of set-up where Issak and Car met and come to terms, the remainder in all a BDSM scene. The pace is even, there are brief flashes of previous characters and there are good descriptions but I feel no attachment to either character. 

Naughty Nights (Box Set)

Author:  Kate Hill
Publisher:  Changeling Press
Publisher URL:  www.changelingpress.com
ISBN/BIN:  07173-02311
Genre:  {M/M/F}, {M/F/M}, Ménage, Bisexual, Paranormal, Sci-Fi
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Enslaved - 4 Nymphs

Darkrock and Strongsea have been forced into a marriage to merge their two sectors, as they are constantly at war.  As a gift, Radiance is given to them as a slave after she crashes on their planet.  She later ends up married to the two men.

Commanded - 4 Nymphs

Finesse has been hired by Radiance’s family to make sure Radiance is okay.  What happens instead is that she ends up in Blackstare’s and Rocksurf’s custody as their sector is at war.  Once she fulfills her mission to Radiance family, Finesse ends up staying and marrying the two men.

Devoured -  4 Nymphs

In an unusual move, Passion is allowed to become an ambassador to Shandra, even though she must be in the company of male co-workers to actually travel to the planet.  Timber and Red rescue her after she is kidnapped by thieves and ends up paying what is known as the Sacred Debt.

I really enjoyed the Naughty Nights (Box Set) by Kate Hill.  Ms. Hill happens to be one of my must read authors, though this is the first time I have read these particular stories.  She has created an interesting world on Shandra with ideas and customs regarding women that will drive independent women crazy.  Because of the lack of women on Shandra, one woman marries two men.  Some of these male couples could also be lovers, or in the case of Passion, she marries two brothers.

The contrast between the three stories regarding the circumstances of the marriages is interesting. One common theme is that all the men think Earth women are wild.  The women end up making some strides within the sectors, regarding the rights of women. 

Each story has a conflict that must be overcome, which allows all to give voice to their feelings.  The chemistry between each triad is intense.  Each of these stories were previously published as separate novellas.

The Goat Farmer’s Guardian

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books Inc
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0121-4
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 2.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

After the death of his wife, Zander Wheeler tried to put his life back together but instead things got worse. Zander discovered he’d been seduced by a married man and was unable to escape his clutches. Desperate for help, he called his friend Logan and discovered that the paranormal world existed and that a vampire has been using him as a blood supply.

The situation brought him into contact with Geoffrey, a gargoyle who claims to be his mate. Zander isn’t comfortable with the idea of a ‘mate’, which leaves Geoffrey on the edges of his life and living in the woods to guard him. When an overly aggressive Billy goat attacks Zander, Geoffrey comes to his rescue, giving them the chance to talk. Can they learn to trust each other and build a relationship?

The Goat Farmer’s Guardian is the latest release in A Paranormal’s Love by Charlie Richards.  Be aware that some of the characters are recurring and I suggest you read Restitution From His Mate where Zander is introduced.

I’ve been thinking about this review for several days and truthfully I had trouble starting it. I think my problem is that the plot had a great potential that fell flat. With Zander being so mistrustful of paranormals because of his previous bad vampire experience, his mating with Geoffrey is a seesaw of emotions. One minute he’s making accusations of being manipulated and then the next, he invites Geoffrey inside his home. Then BAM, he decides to move forward with their relationship as if he never had any doubts. 

Another peeve is the lack of information given to Zander about the world he’s entering as Geoffrey’s mate. I guess I’m frustrated with the number of things that are glossed over—roosting, molting, claiming and even the move to the gargoyle compound. And the conflict of the story seems to end in a flash. I wanted to see Zander and Geoffrey learn about each other and grown into their relationship. I’ve read the rest of the books in this series and had hoped to enjoy The Goat Farmer’s Guardian but instead, I was just disappointed.

Saturday, December 13, 2014

Winter Hearts

Author: Fyn Alexander
Publisher: Loose Id
Publishers URL: http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62300-506-1
Genre: {M/M}, Western
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

After a failed relationship, and a beating outside a saloon, Luke is running from who he is.  Hoping to start over, he heads for the Dakota Territory, getting a land claim he plans to farm.  When one of the worst winters on record hits, Luke heads for town renting a small home to stay in for the winter.  When Sam shows up during the middle of a blizzard, Luke has no choice but to let him stay, but has he made a terrible mistake?

Winter Hearts by Mr. Alexander is a well written western that will grab your attention from the beginning.  The story takes place during the 1880’s, a dangerous time for men like Sam and Luke.  Having to hide their true selves from everyone else keeps them from finding the happiness they both crave. 

Since this story is set in the Dakota Territory, I wondered how the author would handle the men’s relationship with the feelings regarding same sex relations during that time.  What I liked was that, while Luke was cautious of those around him and how he behaved, Sam was more carefree and in many ways innocent of what others would think.  The way these two men balance each other out is one of the things I liked the most about this story.  There is chemistry between them that heat up the pages as well, so it is easy to understand why the relationship between Luke and Sam moves so fast.

As you would expect the relationship does not go unnoticed and soon the men are forced to face what being gay during that time means.  I honestly did not expect this story to have a happy ending, as I could see no way for the author to move the men in that direction.  I loved the way the author chose to wrap the story up and think many others will as well. 

Fans of this author are sure to love Winter Hearts and, if you love the western sub-genre, I would recommend picking this one up.

Like Stars

Title: Like Stars
Author: Selina Kray
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02014-0332
Genre: {M/M} Historical 
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

On the threshold of a duty bound adult, Viscount Nathaniel Thredgold seeks the adventure of a soldier before he is required to marry and provide an heir. Unfortunately, his escapade turns into seven years of grief for his family and best friend Wesley Douglas.

Like Stars is a Regency budding romance set in England during a time when a same sex couple was a hanging offense. Nate and Wesley are two teenagers exploring their sexuality, although Wesley is fairly sure he is gay. I got the impression Nate is bi-sexual since he did experience intimacy with females while he was away fighting a war. The plot illustrates the strong bond of friendship between Nate and Wesley more so than lovers.

Nate sustained numerous injuries during the war that left him disfigured enough that his family did not recognize him; even Wesley believed Nate was an imposter. The main reason Nate returned home after so long an absence is to make amends for the impetuous way he left home.

Heartbroken by the loss of Nate, Wesley continued his schooling. Wesley became a doctor who chose to practice in his home county of Haversham rather than London. Of all the people that knew Nate, Wesley is one of the last to acknowledge Nate, as well as forgive him.

Like Stars is a charming as well as enjoyable friends to lovers saga.  

It’s Okay

Title: It’s Okay
Author: AKM Miles
Publisher: ManLoveRomance Press
Publishers URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN/BIN: MLR-1-02014-0311
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Mystery, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph
                                           
Its spring break and Gom is hoping to spend the time with his partner and family.  Problems arise, however, when the young police officer is pulled into one emergency after another.  Thankfully, his family and lover are there to lend a hand.

It’s Okay is the latest addition to the Scarcity Sanctuary series.  While the main couple in this newest story is Gom and Casey, this is not a story about their relationship.  In many ways, this is a family centered story as many, if not all, of the Scarcity family show up.  I loved seeing every one back together again as the author does a wonderful job bringing the sense of family across.  I loved how they are all there to help each other regardless of what the problem is. 

It’s not only the Scarcity family that needs the occasional hand however.  Soon Gom is called into duty and he finds himself going undercover once again.  The cases he finds himself working on are intense, especially the first one.  I could not believe the way Kade has been treated and am glad that things worked out the way they did.  The second case was a bit of a surprise, and I hope we will be seeing more of Viho in the future. 

It’s Okay is a great addition to this series and one I am sure fans of the author will enjoy. I absolutely loved the wedding/commitment scenes in this book and am sure many others will as well.   I would recommend reading this series in order, for those new to it, so readers can get a strong grasp on the various characters in the series.  

Once Upon a Pirate

Author: Jambrea Jo Jones
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02014-0333
Genre: {M/M} Dragon Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Valda Rollins is stuck in a cell with Flame; a dragon obsessed with bodybuilding and can hear voices in his head. Valda begins to wonder if Flame is crazy or is it magic?

Once Upon a Pirate is part of the Ever After Series. This is a short installment that ends on a “to be continued” very important mission. The characters are wonderfully captivating as well as entertaining.

Valda is a wizard who became a pirate to escape the fanatical members in his family. He has a reason to hate dragons, yet Valda discovers not all dragons are bad.

Flame is a lovable dragon who just wants to protect the good guys, especially his mate Valda. Keeping his body in top form through daily exercise means Flame will be battle ready to defend his love ones. 

Jambrea Jo Jones has created another fantastic addition to this romantic comedy series. I enjoyed Once Upon a Pirate immensely, and I look forward to the next episode in the Ever After Series.

Manifest

Title:  Manifest
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:   eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0124-5
Genre:  {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

After Melia finds some kidnapped victims, she accidentally finds herself bound to Dornin-tah, the oldest son of the family she found. Dornin-tah didn’t realize that the beautiful woman he saw on his way to his family didn’t have the thick skin that would prevent scratching until it was too late.  He finds he doesn’t mind at all that she is now his.

Manifest is the latest story in the Terran Times Second Wave series.  I really like this series as the author has come up with some very interesting alien life forms and customs that help keep the various stories fresh.  One constant is the Terran, or someone from Earth, that is willing to leave to start a new life which may include being a mate to one of those aliens.

In this case, Melia had no intention of doing nothing but her job as a custom agent.  She was one on earth, but wanted to go to the stars.  Melia has a sixth sense about shipments being contraband, which led her to finding the tah family.  Even as her life changes because of Dornin-tah, her life is threatened.

Melia and Dornan become bonded and have some explosive chemistry.  I loved some of the reactions Melia had to some of the customs she had to endure when she was introduced to the Adru-Skari society.  Some of Dornin’s family’s reactions were funny as well.

Ms. Grace has a knack for transporting you into the various worlds she has created.  As I read more of the Terran Times Second Wave series, I look forward to future stories.  

The Hit Man Cometh

Author: Edward Kendrick
Publisher: Totally Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.totallybound.com
ISBN: 9781784303136
Genre: {M/M} Crime, BDSM
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Murder is just business for Mick Whalen; that is until he develops an immediate attraction for the target Gavin Wilde. Not only is Gavin kinky in the bedroom, he proves to be an asset to Mick’s hired assassination profession.

The Hit Man Cometh is an interesting plot featuring the criminal’s point of view. Murder is conducted like any other business. There is a boss who handles the assignments, as well as money transactions. Job files are sent to the hit men and another corpse becomes a story in the news.

Mick is a “no remorse” human, who likes the feeling of power he gets from being in control. His attitude is that the people he kills caused grievances to someone willing to pay for them to die, so Mick is just carrying out a task.

Although Gavin, a coyote shifter, is a former con man, he is not a killer without justification. Teaming up with Mick was more in the form of being Mick’s bodyguard, rather than becoming a hit man.

Edward Kendrick has created a saga that I found both impressive as well as a little distressing. The industry like set up is impressive. The information available through research is distressing because moral values along with a person’s anonymity do not exist in Mick’s world.  

A Chaotic Range

Author: Andrew Grey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-63216-150-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

For David, daily life on the ranch is pretty simple. It’s mending fences and taking care of the cattle but when a snowstorm rolls through the area, they find a stranded motorist almost frozen in his car. He's surprised to discover that the stranger is Brian Applewright, a guy he knew in high school, and that Brian's ranch boss fired him for being gay.

A new job on the ranch is a wonderful turn of events for the unemployed Brian and gives him a chance to get reacquainted with David, his high school crush. After a recent break-up David has issues of his own to deal with, and starting a new relationship is something he’s not interested in. But circumstances and human nature has other ideas and it isn’t long before the attraction of their earlier years is back and stronger than before. The question is whether they can move past the pain of their previous mistakes and make a life together.

A Chaotic Range is the newest release in Andrew Grey’s Range series. Due to the overlapping characters and the continuing use of the same location, I recommend the books be read in order.

It’s hard to believe it’s been 18 months since the release of a book in this entertaining series. I always look forward to each one and was beginning to think the series had come to an end and I’d missed the notice. With this long awaited release, fans can be assured of another well written and plotted story that fits wonderfully into the family of books.

The book begins with the life threatening snowstorm in which Brian is stranded. It’s well written, allowing the reader to feel all the pain and despair he experiences in this situation and how he got there. The rescue and the opening scenes with the men from the ranch are equally gripping and reminded me why I enjoy this series so much. The descriptions of ranch life are nicely done but those involving the storms are particularly vivid. 

I like David and Brian and while there aren’t a great many details about their high school years, there are enough to understand their renewed attraction. These two have a lot of baggage and I really expected them to have more trouble moving past them, but they move quickly into a relationship—really too fast, considering their pasts. Seeing the nice integration of several of the previous characters was enjoyable and it certainly grounded the story in the established setting. So despite my niggles, I enjoyed it and will be looking for the next one. Happy reading.

Till We Ain’t Strangers Anymore

Author:  Aliyah Burke
Publisher:  Totally Bound
ISBN/BIN:  9781784303143   
Genre:  {M/F} Contemporary, Multicultural
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

One month is the time Marine Brent Agers has left to get himself together.  The pains in his body aren’t going away as fast as Brent wants and he’s restless, so he hits the road.  Brent pulls into a small town, hoping he can relax in peace without being disturbed.  When he runs into a woman who has him hot and bothered, Brent becomes more confused.

Life is good for Maya Brennan.  Work, friends and pets keep her going.  Her simple life becomes very complicated when Brent shows up in her town and becomes her neighbor.  He changed her life when they hooked up on vacation in ways Maya never imagined.  But, Brent doesn’t seem to remember her and all the epic sex they had.

Memory comes crashing back to Brent and he’s determined to rekindle things with the woman who’s given him many sleepless nights.  Maya tries, but she can’t resist Brent’s charm.  Things heat up between the couple and they become acquainted as Brent’s month of leave comes to an end.  Brent is torn but he knows he wants more than a fling, while Maya believes that a fling is all that can happen between them.  After some soul searching on both parts, the couple gets the ending they deserve. 

Maya and Brent’s past should have made their reunion easy and magical.  Even though Brent didn’t remember Maya, he felt drawn to her.  Of course Maya would be angry if her lover didn’t remember her.  Who wouldn’t be? I kept waiting for the moment Brent would remember and I was anxious to see how he’d handle it.  It had me turning the pages faster.  I loved the small town vibe and how everyone was so protective of Maya and she of them.  But, Maya did issue an ultimatum to Brent that had me disagreeing with her.  I don’t think she was fair in some of the demands she made of the man.  I was wringing my hands, thinking the couple could never work out this bump in the road and yet they did.  Till We Ain’t Strangers Any More is the third book in the Interludes series, but the first of the series that I have read.  Reading it as a stand alone was not a problem, but obviously one can’t help but be curious about the previous stories.  Aliyah Burke never disappoints with her characters or plots so I suggest for more fun, pick up the series.

Rack & Ruin

Title: Rack & Ruin
Author: Charlie Cochet
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63216-420-9
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

A war, street gangs, extremists fighting for principles and revenge, violence has always been a part of Earth’s history. With each new generation of mankind the hostility as well as history is repeated.

Rack & Ruin is the third book in the THIRDS series. The setting is a future time, yet the issues illustrated are realistic problems of today’s world. Featured is the team members’ emotional conflicts between a dangerous job, painful memories and personal relationships.

The exciting plot exhibits the violence between the Order of Adrasteia, an extremist group of humans on a mission to exterminate all the shifters known as Therians and the Ikelos Coalition, a Therian group seeking revenge for their slaughtered family members.

The Therian Human Intelligence, Recon, Defense Squadron A.K.A the THIRDS  is a military style version of law enforcement consisting of teams of both human and Therian agents working together to implement peace. The Thirds are, for all intents and purposes, caught in the middle of the warring factions.

What I find really interesting is that the shifters are actually a medical creation by the world’s top scientist. Animal strains of DNA were infused into a vaccine created to cure a lethal virus infecting millions. However, some who survived the virus developed an altered human DNA. The children born with the ability to shift were deemed abominations by their own parents. Therians became the targets to be despised by bigots, replacing the homophobic attitude of an earlier era.

Charlie Cochet has created another exhilarating installment to this extremely enjoyable series. The characters are absolutely engaging. The storyline blends intense skirmishing, moments of amusement along with poignant romantic clashes. 

Thursday, December 4, 2014

TORQUERE PRESS ANNOUNCES EXCITING CHANGES FOR 2015

(November 28, 2014) Torquere Press is preparing for big but exciting changes coming in the New Year.

Torquere Press, a royalty paying, full-service publisher of gay, lesbian, transgender and bisexual romance, began in 2003. The oldest ebook publisher for the GLBT community, Torquere has published several best-selling authors such as Sean Michael, Julia Talbot, Chris Owen, BA Tortuga, and Kiernan Kelly.

Torquere publishes every genre of romance, from paranormal to western to sci-fi, as long as the main characters are GLBT. They have also expanded with Prizm, the first YA GLBT publisher and a subsidiary of Torquere Press, which began in 2008 and targets a young and new adult audience.

As of January 1st, 2015 there will be:

  • Updated Ownership and Company Officers
  • New Marketing Strategies and Ideas
  • Increase of Social Media Presence
  • Updated Submission Calls
  • The Exploration and Addition of New Genres
  • Continuing Success With Current Authors
  • Expanding New Author Submissions
  • Positive Steps Towards the Growing Demand for Romance


We are really excited for all of the positive changes headed in Torquere Press’s direction, and look forward to expanding and growing on this journey with all of you. We thank you for your years of support, and your encouragement towards all of the new exciting things that the future will bring! 

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

Unicorns and Rainbow Poop

Author: Sam Kadence
Publisher: Harmony Ink Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781632164186
Genre: {M/M}, Young Adult, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

As a member of Vocal Growth, Dane was always able to keep his problems in the background.  Now that the group has fallen apart, Dane has nothing to help him focus and all his problems are soon at the forefront. With no way to handle them, Dane crashes big time. 

The second book in the Vocal Growth series, Unicorns and Rainbow Poop picks up a few months after book one ends and centers on Dane and Bas.  While Bas is a character the readers know well, Dane was just touched on in On the Right Track.  From the start of Unicorns and Rainbow Poop, the readers come to know Dane and the troubles he faces.  His issues are serious and the author does a good job bringing them, and what Dane goes through to fix them, across in a realistic manner.  Dane isn’t the only one going through a rough patch however.  Bas is still estranged from his family and, when his grandmother, the only family member to stand by him after he came out, passes, he finds himself falling back into a severe depression.  The two young men find themselves thrown together by a mutual friend and, while they really have nothing in common, they soon find themselves drawn to each other.  There is a connection between the two men but Dane has a great fear of being gay, one of the things that exasperates his mental health issues.  Bas, on the other hand, has no plans to go into the closet for anyone so you would wonder how these two could ever find their way into a relationship. 

While the author does a good job handling the young men’s issues, there were a few points in the story that, for me, were a little farfetched.  However, these moments move the story along and the fact that this is a work of fiction makes them a little easier to overlook. 

Many characters from the first book show up in this story to lend Dane and Bas a hand.  There are also a few new characters introduced.  While all these characters help move the story along, not all of them are likeable.  There are also a few little twists in the story, one of which was really surprising and I hope will be the focus of the next book.  

Vocal Growth is the type of series that needs to be read in order so that the reader will have a clear understanding of all the primary characters.  Unicorns and Rainbow Poop is not only a great title but was a good second story and for those who may be curious, the Rainbow Poop is a rainbow cookie, one that may just show up in my holiday baking this year. 

Sanctuary

Title:  Sanctuary
Author:  Eden Bradley
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61922-544-2
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating:  5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Devin is confused about her feelings after going to a club for fetish night and seeing Shaye flogging a woman.  Shaye notices Devin and talks to her.  Later on, the two get together and explore Devin’s feelings about BDSM.  Shaye is doing his best not to fall for her.

The first book of the San Francisco Doms series, Sanctuary, is about the exploration of a newcomer to the BDSM scene and her feelings.  Sanctuary is an exclusive BDSM club that is only for those that are very serious about their lifestyle.

Devin and Shaye have an immediate attraction to each other that both are a little leery about at first.  They have more problems dealing with their individual backgrounds, as that causes those doubts.  Eventually, the two end up wanting the same thing after working through their feelings.  The scenes between them combust with their chemistry.

Those familiar some of Ms. Bradley’s work will not be disappointed in this revision of Sanctuary.  I am looking forward to the others in this series and recommend that those that have read the earlier version get this one. 

This book has been previously published and has been revised from its original release.

His Omega

Title: His Omega
Author: A.C. Katt
Publisher: MLR Press, LLC
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN/BIN: MLR-1-02014-0324
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

After his father threw him out of the house for being gay, Sean Quinn’s been living on the streets.  When his friend Leroy is killed while trying to protect him, Sean runs from the scene and straight into the roadway, and to the first vehicle he sees, the limousine carrying Alpha Armand La Marche.

Armand is returning to his brownstone after a meeting with the North American werewolf council, when he and his driver see a terrified young man fleeing an alley. They stop and when Armand opens the door he realizes the young stranger is the one he’s been looking for—he’s found his mate.  Armand needs to convince this scared man to stay with him so he can explain about wolves, mates and claiming, and that Sean’s an Omega. Most importantly Armand needs to protect him from a killer. 

His Omega is the first release in A.C. Katt’s new series, The Werewolves of Manhattan.  I like both Armand and Sean. Their personalities are pretty well developed and the circumstance of their initial meeting is interesting. They make a good match but while I feel the premise has a great deal of promise, I had some trouble getting into the story because of the uneven plot flow and stiff dialogue. There’s more than enough action and danger and numerous secondary characters to move the plot along. I particularly enjoyed the little girl Elena...a real cutie. One of my biggest niggles is that after a build up, the ending is anti-climatic. 

Magnet

Title:  Magnet
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0116-0
Genre:  {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Polly is going for training as a Guardian where she is going to be based at the same base with at least three other Terrans.  There she ends up meeting the last unmated Guardian, Loesh.

Magnet is the latest story in the Terran Times Second Wave series.  The author goes into a little more detail about the contracts that the Volunteers sign.  In addition, there happens to be a very interesting part of this story that the author indicated she included after seeing the cover.  I loved that and hope we see more of George in the future.

Polly’s talent is attracting energy and is trained to use it to help a lot on the planet where she becomes a Guardian.  Loesh hopes she will be attracted to him enough that she will agree to become his mate, as he wants one who is a Terran.

During a theft attempt, part of an experiment leaks and ends up having a big impact on Polly, as well as Loesh.  The implications are big, but so is the humor that follows as well. 

I am looking forward to more in this series.  As I read more about this world, I have been enjoying it and have been going back and reading some of these stories again.

Between Good & Evil

Author: LM Brown
Publisher: Totally Bound Publishers
Publisher URL: www.totallybound.com
ISBN: 9781784303006          
Genre: M/M/M Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Tristan is a demon, turned by his former companion Lawrence, who is in truth an incubus. In exchange for his restored memories of his lovers Machidiel and Alastor, Tristan must become Lawrence’s trainee or find a human to replace Tristan. Another dilemma for Tristan, Machidiel and Alastor is an innocent human is wrongfully trapped in the underworld.

Between Good & Evil is the second book in the Heavenly Sins series. The plot has a religious hypothesis that is closer to realism than some Christian viewpoints. The characters are fascinating.

Tristan is an ethical man who was deceptively turned into a demon. Tristan didn’t want this life and has done his best to be the same good man he was when he was mortal. Although he is a subordinate in the underworld, he has more power than the demon king.

Mac is an angel on a mission to save the souls of his two demon lovers Tristan and Alastor. Saving Alastor is a challenge since Alastor was demonized for a sin committed during his human life. Mac has met with several challenges as well as been disciplined by the archangels for Alastor and Tristan‘s actions.

Alastor is an expert at mind manipulation, yet he has withdrawn from his demon activities. Alastor’s sole focus is his lover’s wellbeing. Alastor’s capacity to love helps to inspire a possible redemption in his future.

An interesting observation of the archangels is that they are aware of all the events in progress, yet they are forbidden to interfere with destiny. Tristan, Mac, and Alastor must choose their own path as they struggle through one crisis after another.   

L.M. Brown has created an enjoyable as well as an Impressive saga illustrating resentment, vengeance, hatred as well as distressing chaos. Tristan is a good example of bad things happening to good people. I kept hoping for deliverance; however Between Good & Evil sadly has a bitter ending. 

Furious Fire

Title: Furious Fire
Author:  Shiloh Walker
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61922-502-2
Genre: {M/F}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Finn is tired.  He knows Will is keeping him from going completely insane, but he can’t stop thinking about the woman he loved when he was human.  Finn is very surprised that he is attracted to Kalypso, because he wants nothing to do with another woman since he watched Becky die.  Almost too late, he realizes that Kalypso is Becky in this life as Kalypso keeps coming back after dying each time she finds Finn.  This time just might be her last even though Will is trying to interfere.

The eighth book of the Grimm’s Circle series, Furious Fire, has a lot of surprises.  Those familiar with this series know that the Grimm are actually angels, protecting humans from the demons trying to come through from hell, and that Will is their leader.

This book has a lot of surprises, especially toward the end that might take this series in a slightly different direction.  In previous stories, Will has helped various Grimms find the one they love.  Humans that die in certain circumstances have the chance to become Grimms, but Kalypso is different due to the circumstances of her death.  Once Will realized why Finn was having so many problems, he sought out Kalypso.

Lots of Grimms from previous stories show up in this one, because demons are suddenly changing tactics, and they are needed in the war.  I was really surprised by what happened with Will and Sina, as this is a real game changer for the future.  While some of the stories are more erotic than others, the relationships are so true to life, even though they are fighting demons. 

I am looking forward to reading future stories in this series, and will be reading them again.