Thursday, August 4, 2016

Enemies of the State

Title: Enemies of the State
Author: Tal Bauer
Publisher: Nine Star Press  
Publishers URL: http://ninestarpress.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-911153-33-7
Genre: {M/M}, Political Thriller, Series        
Rating: Golden Blush
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Ethan has worked himself up to the most wanted position in the Secret Service, head of the Presidential detail.  Having been with Jack since the race for office, Ethan has spent a lot of time with the widower.  Now in office, Ethan is surprised by his feelings for the new President.

Tal Bauer is a new author for me and after reading Enemies of the State, I will be looking for more from this author.  Enemies of the State is definitely a book for those who love thrillers and those looking for a book with a little more meat on it will want to pick this story up, as well.  The author has done an excellent job with the character and world building and readers will find themselves pulled in from the very beginning of the story. 

Ethan is a member of the Secret Service.  He has worked hard to make it to the top and is not going to let anything take his accomplishments away.  Ethan is also gay, something that is widely known.  He also has a love ‘em and leave ‘em reputation, something he is fine with.  He is honored to be in charge of the new Presidential detail, as Jack is someone he believes the country needs.  Once in the White House, however, the standoff attitude that is needed for the Secret Service becomes hard for Ethan to hold on to. 

Jack never imagined he would find himself in the White House.  When his wife died while serving the country, Jack realized he had to step up and do his part in making America safe.  Soon he found himself running for office, and 15 years later he is the new President of the United States.  Jack is a people person, however, and the isolation that he is suddenly faced with, due to his new job, leaves him a little lonely.

Jack and Ethan soon find themselves exploring new ground and both men are confused and worried.  Yet, as they struggle with the growing change in their relationship, they both continue to give everything to their jobs.  While the relationship between these two is a strong part of the story, and the author handles the many obstacles they face in a realistic way, it is not the only focus of the story.

The author uses many of the problems faced today as issues in Enemies of the State, giving the book a current up to date feel.  Several of these issues are the focal point for a group that is planning a major coup, not only of the United States, but other areas of the world as well.  The way the author handles this part of the story is amazing.  The twists and turns leave you wondering just who the bad guys are and, while I was able to guess one, some of the others surprised me.  I was up late into the night because I could not stop turning the pages to see what would happen. I think readers will be happy with the way the story was wrapped up. 

According to the publisher’s website, Enemies of the State is the first book in The Executive Office series.  I hope the second book will be out soon as I am very curious about what the author has planned next.

Clan McKinloch: The Boxed Set

Author:  Kaitlin Maitland
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-176-2
Genre:  {M/F, M/M/F, F/F, M/M}, Contemporary, Collection
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Stars, Stripes, and Xmas Bells - 4 Nymphs

Trip McKinloch is in the Air Force and will be returning to his unit the next day.  When he meets Ashton at a Fourth of July celebration, they spend a wonderful night together.  What happens when they meet at Christmas and realize they have not gotten each other out of their system makes for some family drama for Trip.

Hearts, Candy, and Clover - 4 Nymphs

Gavin McKinloch opens his own bakery, but is still hurt over the situation with Ashton and Trip.  Ashton’s best friend, Luce, hangs around and wonders how she can make Gavin realize she’s the one for him while Gavin is trying to figure out if Luce could love him.

Kiss Cam Connection - 4.5 Nymphs

Micah and Brody have been together for five years, but they haven’t been able to find a woman they both can love.  They help out Nena at a ball-game, but forget to get her contact information.  Using the missed connections listing on Craigslist, they end up finding Nena.  Despite the men knowing she is what they want, Nena must make the decision to be part of a ménage relationship.

Junebugs, Haunted Houses & Jack o’Lanterns - 4 Nymphs

Donal McKinloch is trying to come to terms with his wife, Stacey, wanting a divorce.  A lot boils down to miscommunication and Stacey’s parent’s expectations.  Once Stacey realizes what is going on, how can she make it up to Donal, especially since she has to face his family as well.

Cupid, Mardi Gras & Auld Lang Syne - 4 Nymphs

Zoey has always known she is attracted to women and she is extremely attracted to Morrie McKinloch.  Morrie only knows she has difficulty with men but never considered another woman until her brother dares Zoey to kiss her.  Morrie now knows what she wants, but knows it won’t be easy coming out to her family.

Roses, Rallies, and BBQ - 4.5 Nymphs

Ossian McKinloch has decided he won’t start a relationship since his last one ended badly.  What he doesn’t count on is meeting Jax, Brody’s business partner, and his attraction to him.  The two men’s friendship becomes love, though both have some obstacles to overcome.

The Clan McKinloch Boxed Set has all five stories of the McKinloch series.  Kiss Cam Connection is part of the Missed Connections series but is a tie in to the McKinloch stories as well.  The McKinloch siblings work in the family pub with the exception of Trip, which doesn’t sit well with his parents.

I loved reading about all of them, but my favorite McKinloch sibling has to be Ossian also known as Oz.  My heart broke a little as I was reading his story and what happened between him and his friend from the Marines.  I hated Luke’s wife and was very relieved when Oz decided to try another relationship when Jax came along. 

Each story has a unique situation that each sibling has to overcome due to what is supposed to be a family curse.  Reading each story does give credence to the curse based on the trouble each sibling has getting to their “happy ever after”.  I will be reading these stories again in the future.

Closer by Morning

Author: Thom Collins
Publisher: Pride Publishing  
ISBN/BIN: 9781786514400
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery        
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Dale is a B-list actor.  One who has always kept a secret, even from himself.  After moving from the States to England in order to be closer to his son, Dale has finally landed a role that may turn his career around.  He never expected to meet someone like Matt, or for life to start imitating art, both of which leave Dale wondering just where his life is heading.

Someone is killing young gay men, only no one has any idea how the victims are tied together.  On top of that, the murders resemble what is unfolding on the set of a new thriller being filmed in town.  Is there a connection or is it just a coincidence?  This is the premise the author lays out for readers in Closer by Morning and one that will leave you guessing until the end.  Readers should know that while the author is not overly graphic in his descriptions, he does touch on topics that may be hard for some readers to handle. 

While the murders are a primary point in the story and one that ties all the characters together, this book is also a romance. The author brings us two characters that can’t seem to help but fall in love.  Dale is an actor who has always struggled with his sexuality.  He has gone so far as to marry and father a child, one he loves deeply, to keep from admitting to himself, and others, who he really is.  Matt is a lawyer.  He is good at his job, but not at relationships.  He is also openly gay.  The men meet at an exercise boot camp and, while there seems to be a connection, they are afraid to say anything for fear of being wrong.  Of course, this does not last long and soon the two are forming a friendship that quickly moves into something more. 

I like the passion that exists between the two men. I also like that, while Dale is currently in the closet, he realizes he will have to eventually come out and is not forcing Matt to go back in.  It is interesting to watch the relationship develop between these two and thought that for all Dale’s fears of being found out, he could not seem to help the PDA’s from occurring.  I also liked the relationship that Dale had with his son and could not help but chuckle a few times when they were together. 

Matt is also a likeable character and I felt for him when it came to dealing with his ex.  I could not help wondering how someone as strong as Matt ended up with someone like Jamie, and if that would play an important part of the story.  I liked the fact that, while things did not work out well for Matt in regards to Jamie, he did not let that keep him from developing a relationship with Dale.  I also liked that Matt understood that Dale would need time to feel comfortable with the feelings that were developing between them and had no plans to force him into anything. 

Both men are surprised to find themselves pulled into the murder investigation that is currently going on.  Neither man can imagine that they would have any connection to the case, and I had to agree with them.  I was just as surprised as they were when everything started to come together. 

The author did a good job keeping this part of the story going.  He has peppered Closer by Morning with so many secondary characters that I could see one or more being the “bad” guy.  I was also surprised by the way the killer was caught and am sure readers will not see it coming.  Closer by Morning was an interesting read and I will have to keep my eyes open for more books by this author. 

Quit

Title:  Quit
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0800-8
Genre:  {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Minerva is wasting away as she waits for her daughter to get out of the tank. Her daughter had to be put in it after she got to the point Minerva couldn’t keep carrying her.  What she didn’t know is that the father is on his way to make sure Minerva is still around to take care of her.

Quit is the 36th and last book in the Terran Times Second Wave series.  Minerva was one of the first generation of Terrans in the Terran Times series.  Minerva has a unique talent that has allowed her to act as Recruiter Norz for years.  Now as her role changes to wife and mother, she is chosen to fill another role that will be unique to Terra.

I loved Imbolt’s description.  He would definitely be memorable under any circumstances, but he fills his role as ambassador and later Minerva’s husband admirably. Imbolt also made sure Minerva got well and I had to laugh at some of Minerva’s minor rebellions when they first met.  They hit it off very well together. 

I am going to miss this series.  Despite each story being very fast paced, the author transported readers to various worlds and created some unique societies on those worlds. I think it was wonderful that the series ended with the tie in to the first group of Terrans that went into space.  I will be reading the Terran Times Second Wave series again.

Marriage of Inconvenience

Author: M.J. O’Shea
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-63477-528-1
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Dreamspun Desire        
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Release date: Aug 15, 2016

Kerry has always wanted to be a publicist for A-list celebrities.  He knows he has to pay his dues, but he’s tired of monitoring Twitter and Facebook accounts while everyone else gets the plum jobs.  When actor Jericho Knox screws up big time, Kerry finally gets his turn to prove himself, but is this really what he wants.

Let’s address the elephant in the room before going any further.  Marriage of Inconvenience is predictable from the very beginning.  If you ever read one of the many Harlequin romance books back in the day then the feel of this story will be a familiar.  That does not mean that this is not a book worth picking up. 

Kerry is out of his depth in Marriage of Inconvenience.  The career he has always wanted is not what he thought it would be, something that becomes clearer when he is thrown into the middle of a sex scandal.  I could not believe that Kerry did not think things through when he agreed to become “the man on his knees” in the photo that exposes Jericho Knox.  At the same time, I could not help but feel a little sorry for him as he starts to see the reality of the life he wanted.

Jericho, on the other hand, is an obnoxious actor who has the chance at the role of his life.  However, when he is caught in a compromising position it takes everyone working for him to clean up the mess and put a good spin on it.  In the beginning, it is easy to dislike Jericho a little.  But as the story moves on, the reasons for them become clearer, making it easier to understand his actions. 

These two are thrown together under tough circumstances and at first they clash constantly, which is to be expected.  As they get to know each other, and start coming together as a team, the attraction between them builds.  They do eventually heat up the pages of the book and it was good to see them finally come together for real, rather than for the press.  

Even with the predictability of the story, this was a fun book to read.  Fans of Ms. O’Shea are sure to enjoy this new book and, those looking at the M/M genre for the first time, can’t go wrong with Marriage of Inconvenience.

Protecting the Land

Author: A.J. Marcus, Caitlin Ricci
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-4874-0751-3
Genre: {M/M} Werewolves Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Werewolf Justus is having a hard time adjusting to life on a ranch, the problem being he must stay in human form and wear clothes.

Protecting the Land is the second book in the Wild Lands series. An agreement made between the werewolf pack and the Abbey family has worked well for both groups. The Abbey family’s claim includes a forest that is the pack’s hunting grounds. Humans stay out of the forest and the pack protects the Abbey family from trespassers. Justus has been sent to guard the ranch.

Henry doesn’t know about the agreement nor does he know werewolves even exist. The only thing Henry knows is that Justus is not qualified to work on a ranch. When miners encroach on ranch property, secrets are revealed. 

Protecting the Land is an interesting as well as enjoyable addition to the series. Although Henry and Justus are charming characters, I mourn the lost of the more entertaining characters featured in the first book Claiming the Land

Bomb Tech

Title:  Bomb Tech
Author:  Fiona Roarke
Publisher:  Nickel Road Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.amazon.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-944312-060
Genre:  {M/F}, Romantic Suspense, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Alex met Veronica when he gave a presentation to her class.  Later, he ends up rescuing her from a fake bomb in the middle of town.  With help from Alex’s family, Alex and Veronica try to find out who is trying to kill them.

Bomb Tech is the fourth book in the Bad Boys in Big Trouble series and introduces us to the fourth Langston brother.  Alex became a fireman after his time overseas as a bomb tech.  In this story, we learn more about The Organization, the private law enforcement group that was introduced in Biker and that Alex is being actively recruited for, since most of his brothers now work for them.

Once Alex and Veronica get together, the chemistry is intense.  They have a few obstacles to work through such as a stalker, houses blowing up and smoke bombs. Alex has to overcome his undeserved reputation with the ladies, as well. 

Alex’s brothers and their boss from The Organization help with safe houses and other resources.  I was very surprised about who the stalker actually ended up being as all the clues pointed to one of Alex’s friends.  The scene where the stalker was revealed raised my heartrate for sure. 

I’m looking forward to reading the next book in the Bad Boys in Big Trouble series, as there is one more Langston brother we haven’t met yet.  While each story can be read alone, I recommend this series be read in order to get the most out of it as each story includes some of the previous characters.

Claiming the Land

Author: A.J. Marcus, Caitlin Ricci
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-4874-0733-9
Genre: {M/M} Werewolves Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Elijah Abbey and his family have claimed land that is the ancestral home of a group of werewolves.

Claiming the Land is the first book in the Wild Lands series. The plot is about the early cattle ranch settlers and ruthless claim jumpers in the Colorado territory.

There are two groups of humans, one bad and one good. Elijah’s family are the good humans. The Abbey family consists of a windowed father, three sons and a daughter-in-law. Elijah is the youngest son, the best shooter and gay. Elijah has no desire to kill the wolves, watching the Abbey encampment from a safe distance. This is not the case of the claim jumpers who kill the wolves for sport.

Werewolf Armand, who is one of the pack’s warriors, spends most of his time in wolf form. However, even as a wolf he is attracted to Elijah. With so many of the pack being killed by the bad humans, Armand approaches Elijah with a proposal: if they leave most of the forest untouched, the wolves will get rid of the bad humans for them.

A.J. Marcus and Caitlin Ricci have created an impressive saga. I especially enjoyed the pack’s code of respect traditions.

Saturday, July 30, 2016

Bodyguard

Title:  Bodyguard
Author:  Fiona Roarke
Publisher:  Nickel Road Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.amazon.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-944312-05-3
Genre:  {M/F}, Romantic Suspense, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Chloe can’t believe she let her boss talk her into going on a blind date since it is turning into a disaster.  If it wasn’t for the sexy man she ends up kissing for the big screen when the camera gets focused on them, she would probably be screaming.  Deke can’t believe he met such a beautiful woman while he was working. 

Bodyguard is the third book in the Bad Boys in Big Trouble series.  Helping out a friend, Deke ends up talking to and kissing the beautiful woman next to him while attending a baseball game with his boss. Obviously, Chloe and Deke hit it off with some intense chemistry.  Two things that are very obvious in this series, so far, is that the heroes are all brothers and each have fallen in love almost at first sight, which creates some problems along the way.

The intensity of this story is just as intense as the previous stories.  Chloe picks up a stalker that ends up with her being kidnapped.  The kidnapper is someone that I didn’t see coming.  I actually thought it was someone else.  Chloe keeps her head, but trying to come up with different ways to escape that won’t get Deke’s brother killed is hard.

There is a difference in the way the Bodyguard ends that is a bit different than the first two.  I really liked it, especially the scene with Deke’s mother and the broccoli. 

While each book could probably be read by themselves, I recommend that the Bad Boys in Big Trouble series be read in order.  There will be laughter and tears, and I am so looking forward to the next story.

Fight the Tide

Author: Keira Andrews
Publisher: KA Books
ISBN: 9781988260068
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Parker and Adam are on a sailboat, traveling down the East Coast hoping to reach the islands in the south. Zombies are everywhere, the world is in chaos and trust is a thing of the past.

Fight the Tide is the second book in the Kick at the Darkness series.  The slow moving plot mirrors a television series with the exception of Adam, an untrained werewolf who can only partly shift because his parents died before Adam was taught how the completely shift. Parker is human and the only one with sailing experience.

The storyline illustrates some emotional traits of loss, along with fear. However, neither the characters nor the action exhibited fully engaged my attention. 

Overall, Fight the Tide is enjoyable as a sweet man love romance without enthralling bold drama.  

Bouncer

Title:  Bouncer
Author:  Fiona Roarke
Publisher:  Nickel Road Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.amazon.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-944312-03-9
Genre:  {M/F}, Romantic Suspense, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Reece is undercover for the DEA at a high-end club, looking for information on how the target is keeping his records once he accepts a client.  He meets Jessica and ends up working with her once her agency decides to use Reece to obtain access to the club.

Bouncer is the second book in the Bad Boys in Big Trouble series and is actually about the next Langston brother.  Reece refuses to take any of the women up on their offer of hooking up since he knows they are only doing it because he happens to be one of the club’s bouncers.  He’s been burned once in a relationship already because of where he’s been working undercover for the last year.

Jessica is an FBI agent, who met Reece while trying to change her tire.  She has been looking for a hook up that won’t turn into a relationship and decides Reece will do nicely.   Both end up deciding to try for a relationship and their chemistry is intense.

Several obstacles abound when both agencies try to do end runs around the other, with Jessica and Reece in the crosshairs.  Both have instructions to not inform the other about what they are doing.  I found it interesting that both their bosses knew that the other agency was running ops, but not informing their two agents.  It reminded me of the issues that keep coming up about inter-agency cooperation in light of today’s climate.

I had to laugh at Jessica’s family, especially when it became clear Reece knew one of her brothers.  There are several humorous incidents and one agent that keeps harassing Jessica, keeps running afoul of both her boss and Reece.  He definitely deserved what happened to him after he blows Reece’s cover. 

I am looking forward to the next story in the Bad Boys in Big Trouble series because it features another Langston brother.

Anubis

Title:  Anubis
Author: T.A. Chase
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02016-0570
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Dr. Jamil Ahlid, the head archaeologist has made discoveries in Petra that brings back painful memories for Anubis. 

Anubis is the second book in the Earth Warriors series. When human warriors die and are chosen to be Earth Warriors, they lose memory of their human names, but not their memories of their death through all of eternity. Anubis is the Egyptian god of funerals and death.

The mission of the seven Earth Warriors is to collect ancient books and artifacts that could be used to create immortality.

In his human life, Anubis was a ruler’s lover who became a political sacrifice to save the citizens of Petra. Anubis forgave his lover, however he never got the chance to tell him. As a centuries old immortal, Anubis has never loved again until he meets Jamil.

Jamil is not seeking fame, riches or glory. Jamil is an archaeologist to learn as well as teach mankind’s history. His discoveries go to public museums rather than private ownership. Jamil and Anubis share an immediate attraction that quickly grows into a mutual love.

T.A. Chase has created an intriguing and very enjoyable saga. I especially enjoyed the interaction between all of the Earth Warriors.

Biker

Title:  Biker
Author:  Fiona Roarke
Publisher:  Nickel Road Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.amazon.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-944312-01-5
Genre:   {M/F}, Romantic Suspense, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Kaitlin has decided she wants to lose her virginity and that her next door neighbor, Zak, would be the perfect candidate to help her do so.  Zak is attracted to Kaitlin but is undercover and knows he will be leaving within a few weeks, so doesn’t want to act on his attraction.  When Kaitlin decides to act and follows Zak, things get taken out of their hands.

Biker is the first book in the Bad Boys in Big Trouble series.  I was caught up in the story from the start.  This is a fast-paced suspense story that has a lot of twists and turns.  There are also some humorous moments, especially after Zak and Kaitlin get together. The chemistry between the two is intense.

Kaitlin has her reasons for doing what she did and the number one reason is her step-sister.  There is a lot of rivalry between the two and Kaitlin has had enough of the bragging Brooke does.  Zak, once he’s on board, makes it easier for Kaitlin to face her, especially when things take a surprising turn after Kaitlin is kidnapped.

Zak’s family is very supportive, but he has a few differences of opinion with his boss.  The men and group Zak is investigating keep changing somewhat and he finds out that if Kaitlin hadn’t followed him that one night, he was supposed to be executed by one of the group.  Of course, he doesn’t find this out until the end of his investigation.

I think the author did a good job of showing how some undercover operations can be ended to protect undercover agents for the future.  I loved the way the author ended the story and really enjoyed the ending, especially Zak’s family’s reactions.  

This is the first book I have read by this author and I am looking forward to reading the rest of this series.  I am also going to be looking for other books she may have written.

Tuesday, July 26, 2016

Chances with Angel

Author: DJ Manly
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-68252-152-6
Genre: {M/M} Mystery 
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Angel Broderick, a TV daytime drama star, is being stalked by a maniac.
  
The betrayal of his wealthy lover caused David Robinson to lose his LA job as an illustrator. Moving back to New York, David has a chance meeting with Angel and the encounter permanently changed David’s life.  

Chances with Angel is a thriller with a touch of budding romance. Well known as an actor, Angel has fans who adore the character he plays on TV and David happens to be one of them. However, the few fans that meet Angel realize he is not like his fictional character. In fact, one fan’s twisted mind cannot distinguish fiction from reality. The New York detectives are making little progress while the stalker is becoming bolder.

David, who is just starting to get his life back on track, becomes the prime suspect. Not willing to have his new life destroyed, David does his own investigation, but will the detectives listen to David’s findings? 

DJ Manly has created an intriguing and enjoyable saga. David’s romantic betrayal in LA almost made me cry. 

The Devil You Know

Author:  Evi Asher
Publisher:  Extasy Books
Publisher URL:  http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0715-5
Genre:  {M/F} Paranormal, Demons
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Being a Hell Lord who gets kicked out of Hell is working out much worse than Eligos imagined.  He was filthy and sleeping on the streets.  All he wants is to feel warmth from the flames and smell sulfur once again.  The one person who started this mess is also the same person responsible for leading him down a more frightening path.  The set of rules Eligos lives by have served him well until now.  In Hell, there was never much to stir his carnal needs, but that all changes when he meets a temping mage.

Stracey has a thing for bad boys who needed a little fixing and Eligos fits the bill.  In the past, Stracey had gotten into trouble in this kind of situation and she didn’t want to do it again.  But ignoring Eligos was going to be impossible, even if she hadn’t been forced to go on a mission with him.  A woman would have to deaf, dumb, and blind to resist all that hotness that he exuded without even trying.

The inevitable happens and Stracey and Eligos give into the best sex of their lives.  Plus, they find out their mission was a smoke screen for a bigger plan that they both had no say in.  Stracey and Eligos have little time to deal with their feelings about the life changing events they’ve been sucked into like a house in a tornado.  Danger brings an unexpected clarity, even though things don’t wrap up nice and neatly..

The Devil You Know is the fourth installment of the Echelon series and proof that Evi Asher knows how to keep readers hungry for more.  I loved the chemistry between all the characters in this story but I especially enjoyed the immediate heat between Stracey and Eligos.  Sometimes instant attraction isn’t easy to accept and readers need some build up.  Stracey’s sassy mouth coupled with Eligos’ high handed attitude couldn’t have been more perfect.  Falling from Grace isn’t such a bad thing in this case.  I felt for the couple by having their lives mapped out for them but I think it was the best thing for them.  If you don’t pick up their story, you will truly be missing out.

Where I’ll be Waiting

Author: Monika De Giorgi
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0669-1
Genre: {M/M}, Fantasy        
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jesse’s life has been rocky for as long as he can remember.  His parents left a lot to be desired and his choice in boyfriends has always been bad.  Jesse isn’t surprised that he starts dreaming of the perfect man, he’s only surprised when those dreams start taking over his life.

Where I’ll Be Waiting is a modern spin on the Sleeping Beauty theme, only this story has a few more twists than the fairy tale.  Jesse was raised by strict abusive, religious parents.  He wanted for the day that he went away to college so that he could live the life he waited.  Only his parents catch him with his boyfriend and what happens next causes Jesse even more problems.  Jesse takes so many hard hits in his life that he ends up building walls to protect himself from more heartache.  While readers would find this understandable when Jesse’s history is revealed, it ends up playing a big part of the story later in the book. 

Cameron has a loving family yet worries about disappointing them because he would rather work than go to college.  He loves his job at the local bookstore and his job allows him to feed his book habit. It is one of those purchases that change his life in ways he never expected. 

These two young men pulled me into their story from the beginning.  I found myself feeling for Jesse and the things he went through in his life.  It was also easy to understand how he thought he was going crazy due to the dreams and the way they made him feel.  As for Cameron, I was glad that his upbringing was so different from Jesse’s and readers will be able to see how that will come in handy as he tries to help Jesse fight his demons.  There are several little twists in this story that will hold your attention and will keep you wondering just what is really going on.  Don’t be surprised if you find yourself close to tears a time or two.  I thought the author did a great job with both these characters as well as the plot, handling both in a way that made the story believable.  

The author, Monika De Giorgi, is new to me, but after reading this story, I will be looking for more books from her.  

Cadence Falls

Title:  Cadence Falls
Author:  Beth D. Carter
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-041-9
Genre:  (M/F/M}, Cowboys, Western
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Three best friends became lovers, but due to a misunderstanding on Everett’s part, the three went their separate ways.  Amanda thought she would be with Cooper and Everett together, but refuses to be with Cooper without Everett.

Cadence Falls is now a stand-alone story that used to be part of the Boots, Chaps and Cowboy Hats anthology. This is a fast paced story that brings Amanda, Cooper, and Everett back together when a dangerous felon escapes.  Everett is now a tracker with an elite government unit and is on loan to the U.S. Marshalls’ office. The chemistry between the three is good, though I was surprised at how quickly they picked up their relationship once they talked things out, and after Cooper decks Everett. 

This book gets real emotional as the three try to get answers from the others. Some of Cooper’s friends were a little harsh in their opinion of Amanda, but admitted they could accept her if it would make a difference in his attitude.  I had to laugh at the way Amanda finally admitted she loved the two men.  I will say I had chills while reading part of Cadence Falls as there were some familiar situations that brought back some headlines in the news recently.

Needing a Vampire’s Aggression

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0734-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, BDSM, Series          
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Parker is still grieving the death of his husband.  To the shifter, it does not matter that ten years have passed; the loss of his human husband is just as strong today as the day Donnie died.  When Parker comes across Nikolai at a poker game, he is not prepared to acknowledge his mate and leaves.

Needing a Vampire’s Aggression is the 35th book in the Wolves of Stone Ridge series by author Charlie Richards.  This new story brings a member of the Kuznetsov Vampire Coven to the forefront once again.  Nikolai is the coven’s second and acts as the group’s enforcer.  He is used to doing what is needed to keep his family safe, regardless of what it calls for.  Because of this, Nikolai is a little more intense and darker than other members of his family.  I liked that these same facts made the Kuznetsov family protective of Nikolai, especially when it came to Parker acknowledging the mate connection. 

Parker is a wolf shifter and member of the Stone Ridge pack.  It is easy to feel for the shifter as he continues to pine for his late husband.  While I felt for Parker, I could not help but think how messy things could have been if Donnie had still been alive when Nikolai came into the picture.  The author does a good job showcasing the struggle Parker went through when it came to dealing with his grief, meeting Nikolai, acknowledging the mate connection and handling the feelings of disloyalty that he has because of his growing need for the vampire.

With the help of friends, these two are brought together in a situation that really heats up the pages.  Some readers may find what happens next a little off putting but the scene is well written and true to the characters.   

Of course, fans of this series know that the books are never just about the romance between the main characters and Needing a Vampire’s Aggression is no different.  Nikolai, at Jared’s request, participates in a mission that is supposed to be well planned. However, more than one problem pops up and things get a little out of hand, which means Parker will be forced to come to terms with his feelings faster than he planned.  I can’t wait to see how the next stories play out, especially after the way the mission ended. 

Fans of this series are sure to enjoy this story as it is one that should not be missed.

Awakening the Alpha

Author: Carolina Valdez
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-68252-151-9
Genre: {M/M} Shapeshifters         
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Former Navy SEAL sniper Blaze Canis finds out the hard way that trust is a part of love. Keeping secrets from his lover, Native American Logan Swift Rider almost destroyed their relationship shortly after it began.

Awakening the Alpha is a budding interracial romance. The setting is Yellowstone Park with some interesting history about the area including the dangerous animals the tourist is likely to encounter.

Blaze is an alpha werewolf who chose not to be the leader of a pack because he is gay. The thought of mating with a female was unacceptable for Blaze so he chose instead to join the Navy. Now that he has retired, Blaze misses the friendship of his military unit.   

Logan left the reservation to become an artist. Also being gay, Logan could not carry on the Shoshone’s expected tradition of marriage and fathering children. Logan continues to speak his native language at times as well as remembers some of the myths learned as a child. It is one particular native myth that caused a major misunderstanding between Logan and Blaze.

Carolina Valdez has created an amiable saga that I enjoyed. I found the Shoshone tribe history especially interesting.  

Totally Bound & Pride Publishing's new partnership with WHSmith

For more information, please click here for Totally Bound Publishing and here for Pride Publishing





Congratulations to Totally Bound and Pride Publishing from everyone at Literary Nymphs

Thursday, June 30, 2016

Smoke & Mirrors

Author: Charlie Cochet
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63477-388-1
Genre: {M/M} Shape shifter Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx
Release Date: Jul 8, 2016

THIRDS Agent Dexter J. Daley is in big trouble. The last thing Dex remembers is falling asleep beside his mate Sloane Brodie. How did Dex wind up tied to a chair in a room with no windows? And why is this Therian wolf asking questions about Dex’s long deceased mother?

Smoke & Mirrors is the seventh book in the THIRDS series. The plot is a combination of intense gripping suspense, top level conspiracies, life or death apprehension, engaging characters and tension breaking comedy. In this episode, Dex is fighting a personal battle between his beliefs and the reality concerning his parent’s demise and the secretive Intelligence Agents.  

Dex is highly intelligent as well as extremely perceptive, good skills to have when analyzing the adversary.

Perplexing tidbits of information from a power hungry mad scientist coupled with an unexplained medical condition has planted seeds of suspicion in Dex and drastically reduced his sense of well being.

Before his kidnapping, Dex liked to play pranks on his team mates to raise everyone’s spirits, but now the team noticed there is something different about Dex even though he tries to hide his strange symptoms.

As more information is revealed, Sloan is also affected, dealing with his anger concerning issues in the past as well as guilt regarding a future with Dex, Sloan temporarily rejects his relationship with Dex until Ash gives Sloan a strong verbal kick in the butt, shaking Sloan out of his self induced pity party. 

Charlie Cochet has created so many twists and turns in this brilliant episode of the THIRDS, I was literally hanging on the edge of my chair. Dex pulls out all the emotional stops of the readers. I absolutely enjoyed Smoke & Mirrors.