Saturday, March 14, 2009

Lucky Haunts


Title: Lucky Haunts
Author: Jamie Craig
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 9781602724808
Genre: Paranormal / Ghosts / Hauntings / Menage (M/M/F)
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Virgin Nymph

Shane Norton works for the Rio Hotel in Vegas, and his best friends, Lucky and Stella Marshall have moved to be near Shane. Lucky and Stella want Shane but fear rears its ugly head, leaving them without their heart’s desire. After a terrible argument, Lucky and Stella take off and have a fatal car crash, leaving Shane with grief and loneliness.

Stella and Lucky come back as ghosts and decide that Shane is the person they still want. Shane is wonderfully surprised that his best friends are alive; well, if you can call being a ghost “alive”. Stella makes a move on Shane first, that’s when Shane realizes that he can see her, but not Lucky. Lucky doesn’t know why Shane can’t see him and it’s driving them both crazy. Shane had some decisions to make about his ghosts, but Lucky and Stella had made their decision, they are sticking with Shane.

Jamie Craig took me on a journey that made me ask what I would do if I was in Shane’s shoes. I enjoyed this book because everyone had issues and they had to put aside their differences and make their relationship work. Not knowing if their relationship could stand this new test kept the suspense building in Lucky Haunts.

Friday, March 13, 2009

Courting Calvin


Title: Courting Calvin
Author: Amber Kell
Publisher: Literary Road
Publisher URL: http://www.literaryroad.com/
ISBN: 978-1934037-58-4
Genre: Paranormal/Gay
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

The abduction of Calvin Sanders’ sister turns his world upside down and thoroughly tests his resolve. Help comes in the form of Alesandro Delora, a vampire who is quite smitten with Calvin. With a bit of intervention, Alesandro may be able to not only save Calvin’s sister, but also gain the affections of his reluctant lover.

Courting Calvin, book three of the Moon series, starts with the introduction of Calvin, a fantastic carpenter trying to keep his sister safe and happy. He never expected to find a connection with Alesandro. Alesandro has lived long enough to not just say he’s been around the track, but that he helped to build it. Calvin is like the sweetest treat to him and Alesandro wants the tasty man all to himself. While their attraction is instantaneous, Calvin knows his current situation could dampen his relationship prospects with Alesandro. The erotic encounters are spread throughout the book but don’t take up the entire story. This is definitely something I appreciated since it gave the still developing characters a chance to grow. I love the direction the series is taking. While some aspects are common among paranormal books, some elements are truly all Ms. Kell’s and make enough difference to allow the series to stand on its own.

Baiting Ben


Title: Baiting Ben
Author: Amber Kell
Publisher: Literary Road
Publisher URL: http://www.literaryroad.com/
ISBN: 978-1934037-57-7
Genre: Paranormal/Gay
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Ben is a lone wolf in search of a mate. When Thomas Moon comes to his assistance, Ben isn’t sure of what to make of the wolf. His lone wolf status could be a problem that he doesn’t want to think about. After Thomas accepts Ben, the unthinkable happens. The one wolf from his former pack that he wanted as his mate, Dillon, has come to claim the man he loves. Is Thomas willing to share Ben with Dillon or will there be a fight to gain solo access to Ben’s affections? Both men aren’t above Baiting Ben to get what they really desire.

Baiting Ben is book two in the Moon series. Ben wants a mate, having no desire to grow old alone. Thomas has waited a long time to have a mate of his own, but isn’t selfish enough to not consider how his decisions affect Ben. Dillon has no trouble expressing his love for Ben and is willing to do whatever it takes to get him. Amber Kell picks up the action in this release and thickens the plot. She sets up the next story in the series nicely, and I’m ready to see what happens next. Ms. Kell mixes a multitude of paranormal elements that are sure to bring pleasure to those who enjoy paranormal stories with a suspenseful twist.

Attracting Anthony


Title: Attracting Anthony
Author: Amber Kell
Publisher: Literary Road
Publisher URL: http://www.literaryroad.com/
ISBN: 978-1934037-56-0
Genre: Paranormal/Gay
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Architect Anthony Carrow mourned his former lover’s death for three years and reluctantly decides it’s time to live again. He accompanies his best friend Steven to an exclusive club that caters to mate-seeking paranormals. Tony hopes a bit of mixing and mingling might get the ball rolling. He gains more attention than he expected and now has Silver Moon, a powerful alpha, ready to mark and claim him. Silver sees Tony and declares his scent a potent aroma and his look just plain enough to be acceptable. However, there is more to Tony than meets the eye.

Attracting Anthony is the first book in the Moon Series. Silver is use to getting what he wants, and has no trouble using some persuasion to gain Tony’s affections. Tony is scared to lose another mate, but something about Silver is too compelling to resist. There is definitely a great deal of chemistry between the men and the plot, while not as strong as I would have hoped, leaves room for development and the potential for a wonderful series. I enjoyed Attracting Anthony and look forward to reading the next installment.

Object of His Desire


Title: Object of His Desire
Author: Ava March
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-468-2
Genre: Historical, M/M
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Country gentleman Henry Shaw is standing in an out-of-the-way corner, watching the decadent delights available to the house party guests of Somerville Park, the wealthy marquis Arsen Grey’s Durham Estate. Henry is secretly in love with Arsen and has no wish to indulge in the sexual activities of the other guests. Little does Henry know that this party is a test of his devotion and the establishment of the plans Arsen has for their future together.

Object of His Desire is an erotic exploration of two compassionate men discovering the true love to be found in each other’s arms. Henry is not interested in Arsen’s wealth; he loves the man. Arsen is tired of the counterfeit friends and oppressive lifestyle of a well-heeled Englishman. Ava March has created a well written plot that is psychologically seductive to your senses. The love scenes are tantalizing and incredibly sensual. Object of His Desire is an exceptionally pleasurable story that I very much enjoyed.

Thursday, March 12, 2009

Passion


Title: Passion
Author: M. L. Rhodes
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-477-8
Genre: Genres: Gay / Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

CEO Robert Bauer, with hard work and dedication, has risen farther than expected. Dedicating the past fifteen years to building his company and deciding that the measure of his happiness had nothing to do with having someone to go home to, Robert took his pleasure in quick romps, when time permitted. However, seeing Jesse McIntyre changed all of that. Jesse is a bartender at JB’s and keeps the patrons at arm’s length by pretending he’s straight. He has no desire to open himself to love, and doesn’t believe he’s capable of accurately judging a person’s character to even entertain the notion of anything beyond a simple hello.

Over the past few months, they have spent time finding out small details about one other, but never taken the time for personal contact. Mother Nature proves she’s a better matchmaker than most, when a snow storm pushes the men into close quarters. However, the only way they will have a relationship is if Jesse and Robert find a way to lose the baggage, and focus on their deep longing, their desire, and their mutual Passion.

M. L. Rhodes knows how to create some heat, and dress it up in a plot that grabs your attention. I loved Robert when he was first introduced in The Elf And Shoemaker. Handsome, charming and a man who was searching for love even if he didn’t realize it. Jesse was frightened of putting himself in harm’s way, on an emotional and physical level. There were moments where I expected one or the either to just walk away. Passion contains dashes of humor, drama, and mind-blowing orgasmic-inducing lovemaking scenes sure to curl toes. I’m looking forward to reading more from this talented author in the near future.

Snowfire: Reunion


Title: Snowfire: Reunion
Author: Anne Kane
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-189-3
Genre: BDSM
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph


After her relationship ended, Kassie just wanted to regroup and get away from everything. She never expected that building a raunchy snowwoman would help get her groove back, but it did.

When Kassie notices a lusty-looking snowman beside her snowwoman, things take an interesting turn. Someone from Kassie’s past is interested in picking up where they left off and she decides to take them up on their anonymous offer.

Whoever said you can’t go home again was completely wrong. Snowfire: Reunion is the kind of homecoming that makes a woman never want to leave her house again. Anne Kane delivered an off the wall, humorously hot story that left me panting for more.

Blackpoint Revisited


Title: Blackpoint Revisited
Author: A. J. Llewellyn and D. J. Manly
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-246-6
Genre: Contemporary Romance, M/M
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Authors of gay romance, Thomas Carter and Matt Lucas, continue their honeymoon with Matt’s family at a beach house on Oahu. Surrounded by the lively group, Thomas and Matt find little quiet time to write when unexpected events and a close encounter with a shark interferes with their peace.

Blackpoint Revisited continues the story of Thomas and Matt, whom we first met in Blackpoint. Thomas has lead a secluded life up until his marriage to Matt, so this visit is a lesson in tolerance for Thomas. His new mother-in-law is well-meaning but just a little pushy in her efforts to please, causing Thomas to face painful memories. Matt must not only deal with his egotistical brother’s dramas, but the effects Hollywood fame will have on his marriage. The one thing that is very clear is that Thomas and Matt have a strong love for each other. The wonderfully gifted A. J. Llewellyn and D. J. Manly pulled me right into the story, giving me a front row seat to all the action and I cannot wait to see what happens next to Matt and Thomas in this enormously enjoyable Blackpoint series.

Wednesday, March 11, 2009

Born of Fire


Book Title: Born of Fire
Author: Hailey Edwards
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-516-9
Genre: Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Fire Nymph

Cilium, a mythical Phoenix living among the humans, is just trying to fit into the life of loneliness she has grown to expect. An unmated Phoenix poses a problem for the humans, as she needs to feed off their energy. Even though she has found that the sun works just as well, the urge to use the humans is unbearable at times.

Fiach, a half-breed demon and Fae, lives among the humans using them as source of food and quick satisfaction, until the scent of a particular woman awakens his soul and has him feeling inadequate. Making a deal with a demon to get close to her, he vows to know how this woman has such a hold on him, with just her scent.

What happens when Fiach awakens the Phoenix inside Cilia to the point of no return? Will Fiach survive his first encounter with Cilia, or will the demon he made the deal with put an end to all curiosity permanently?

Ms. Edwards did a fantastic job creating a story around my favorite mythical creature. Reading about the Phoenix is this light was fantastic. I am looking forward to many more books by Hailey Edwards. This is an excellent read and I will be stocking my virtual shelves with stories from Ms. Edwards.

Emperor of the Wind


Title: Emperor of the Wind
Author: Charlotte Boyett-Compo
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419919305
Genre: Futuristic, Shapeshifter
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Miriam Quillan shares a special connection with Ryden Bakari, the Emperor of Aduaidh Prime. Regardless of his role as the Burgon and the fact that he is the most powerful man in the megaverse, Ryden is first and foremost a man in love. When it comes to Miriam, he is just like any ordinary man. His prime object is to keep his love happy, regardless of the pain he must endure to make it happen. There is but one person in the megaverse capable of molding Ryden like putty, and it’s a good thing Miriam loves him as much as he loves her.

In Emperor of the Wind, book eight of the WindVerse series, Ryden finally gets to claim his woman. The two lovebirds have waited patiently and now there isn’t a piece of clothing safe from their passionate interludes. We get a chance to see a few of the old cast come back and give words of wisdom, as well as some insight into the direction the next book is taking. Emperor of the Wind is primarily set on the backdrop of a romantic beachfront setting, and allows us to glimpse a more human side to the Burgon.

Breaking The Silence


Title: Breaking The Silence
Author: Katie Allen
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419919534
Genre: Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Rose Nymph

William Jackson never thought he’d be able to live a normal life or do the things normal people do. After suffering such a traumatic childhood, he’d resigned himself to solitude. Moving from town to town for work suited him fine, as it meant no ties and no potential to get hurt. Will hadn’t meant to get attached to his new house in Minnesota but there’s just something about it that feels like home. Of course, the daily glimpse of a beautiful stranger walking her dog might have something to do with it. One of these days he may even get up the courage to introduce himself but until then, he’ll make do with watching from his bedroom window.

Oblivious to her silent observer, Jenny Fitzgerald is having a tough time herself. Sure, she has her job, which she enjoys despite the ever increasing unwanted attention of Evan. She has good friends and her dog Rosie is always there to greet her with affection when she gets home, but her bed is feeling very empty; the lack of dates weighing heavy on her heart. When Jenny bumps into a handsome blonde stranger one day while out walking Rosie, she’s instantly drawn to him. He may be a quiet, shy guy but Jenny just can’t take her eyes off him and they are soon walking Rosie together. With Jenny and Will’s friendship going from strength to strength, they’d be forgiven for thinking they’d finally found what they were looking for but someone’s been watching them and isn’t prepared to sit by and watch their happy ever after.

Breaking The Silence is a very well written, erotic romance story with interesting and endearing characters. The build up and anticipation of a relationship has always been my favorite part and it was wonderful to read as Will and Jenny’s friendship deepen and progress; their lives joining together. The sex scenes are plentiful and absolutely scorching. Jenny’s a likable woman whose friendship with colleague Christian adds some relief to the intensity of the story. I was intrigued by Will’s past as the author successfully built a character with substance and depth.

My only real criticism is that the plot seems disjointed at times. To begin with, the focus is fully on the budding relationship between Jenny and Will and how Jenny helps Will out of his shell. However, if it wasn’t for the reader advisory warning about a violent, near-rape scene, I would have been very shocked at the turn of events after their relationship had been established, as it was so out of synch with the atmosphere created in the beginning. Although what happens to Jenny does help her connect with Will in the end and was sensitively dealt with, I felt this aspect was rushed. This didn’t interfere with the enjoyment I got out of Jenny & Will’s relationship though.

Claimed by Darkness


Title: Claimed by Darkness
Author: Mia Watts
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419920325
Genre: Vampire/Shape-Shifter/Gay
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Virgin Nymph

Damien and Dr. Wolfrik “Rik” Usher are best friends. Damien and Rik lust after each other, but neither wants to make a move, but thanks to a foretold prophesy, things are about to change for these two men.

Rik is bitten by a werewolf, and the prophesy unfolds right before Damien eyes. Rik is The Keeper, the one who saves the Vampire race. Rik is changing and he finds it difficult to hide his sexual attraction from Damien. Damien doesn’t want to take advantage of Rik while he’s becoming a changeling but his blood calls to Damien and he responds. Damien and Rik fall into a relationship that can drive them apart or keep them together. Ultimately, Rik must find a cure!

This book grabbed my attention from the first page, all the lust and tantalizing foreplay is enough to make you want to take a cold shower and they haven’t made it to the bedroom yet! The suspense was killing me to see if Rik would find a cure before all hell broke loose. This story had me at the edge of my seat. From lust to lovemaking to sheer desire and extasy, this book will leave you wanting to be Claimed by Darkness.

From the Ashes


Book Title: From the Ashes
Author: Hailey Edwards
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-524-4
Genre: Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Fire Nymph

Cilia and Fiach are back in a new adventure. Wanting to commit, for all eternity, to each other, Cilia and Fiach return to Faerie, to gain Fiach’s Mother’s blessing and be bound together in the way of the Fae.

The couple is faced with a trial of love, which puts them through challenges only true, destined love can survive. Are Cilia and Fiach meant to be together, or will his mother prove that their love is false?

Ms. Edwards did it again! This was an excellent read from the cover to the “About Author” section. I was unable to tear myself away from my computer screen. I had to finish and find out if Cilia and Fiach survived the trials and were blessed in their commitment. I must say that the answer will shock you! A must read and a permanent fixture on my virtual bookshelf.

The One That Got Away


Title: The One That Got Away
Author: Rhianne Aile & Madeleine Urban
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-935192-58-9
Genre: Contemporary, M/M
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Working for rival newspapers doesn’t have any influence on David Carmichael and Trace Jackson’s friendship. When Trace receives a call from David asking for assistance, he dashes to the rescue with only David’s health in mind. The two men have always been close, and Trace decides the best way to lend a hand is to move in so he is more accessible to his ailing friend. Who knew a migraine, an unforeseen accident, and six weeks required for recuperation could spell love? Surely not David and Trace, but their friendship will grow leaps and bounds over the coming weeks. Now if Trace, known to be heterosexual, can accept his attraction to his best friend, and if David decides falling in love with Trace is worth the risk, they avoid spending years filled with regrets over The One That Got Away.

Rhianne Aile and Madeleine Urban have created a perfect bubble for two men to work on their mutual attraction in this entertaining story. Trace is a known flirt and a lover who leaves you satisfied. David isn’t ashamed of his sexuality but has never discussed his preference with his best friend. Their comfort level was already high, and it allowed them to explore their feelings in a loving environment. I knew Trace loved David when he dropped everything to take care of his friend. I loved how the authors wrote in the uncomfortable moments creating a real feel for the book, without taking away from the new bond that was forming between the men. There is an even level of heat and reality in this book, along with a few moments of humor. I have to add The One That Got Away to my “re-read” list, and recommend it to those who enjoy contemporary male-male novels.

Photo Play


Title: Photo Play
Author: Pam McKenna
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419921353
Genre: BDSM
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Darla is making a last ditch effort to spice up her love life since her fiancé is leaving her unfulfilled. She hopes sexy pictures will do the trick. She makes an appointment with a photographer that has been featured in several articles.

Kon Drummond is a Dom who is emotionally shy, due to three divorces. He decides that he wants Darla but only for the afternoon. He thinks he can take her and her photograph and never see her again.

Photo Play is a very intense story of seduction and learning about one’s sexuality. It did start a little slow, but once the story gets going you will need ice, fans and anything else to keep you cooled down from the heat between Darla and Kon. Darla’s discovery of herself will make you reflect on what you may really want. Photo Play is one to add to any BDSM lover’s bookshelf.

Tuesday, March 10, 2009

Valentine’s Victory


Title: Valentine’s Victory
Author: Viola Grace
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55486-235-0
Genre: Fantasy/Romance/Paranormal/Elves
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx


Victory Valentine Dexter, known as Valentine. What a name for a teenaged girl that has been damaged with beatings and rape by Lios elves. When she finally gives into her feelings of sexual frustrations towards Mythos, it changes her way of thinking forever. Her power of seeing the matches between males and females in her visions will be the main function of finding mates, along with the other jobs the Sisters of Silverwood have. With the love of Mythos aiding her along, nothing could go wrong….or so they thought.

Mythos, Elven healer, has patiently withheld his affections for Valentine, who needs to accept their relationship as a bonded couple. He has been waiting years for her to grow up and realize who or what she has become in her new life, and then her eyes are opened up to let him into her life completely. There is nothing he won’t do to keep her now, that she has accepted his love.

Valentine’s Victory is a beautiful story about how love can survive anything thrown at it, even violent brutality. Now I have a much better understanding of why the Sisters of Silverwood were needed; the magic brought back to Earth after being depleted by those that abused their magicical powers. Each of the ladies holds a certain ability that enhances and works with the others in order for them and the other magical kingdoms to live in harmony.

This is the seventh and last book in the Sisters of Silverwood series. I was very pleased there will always be more sisters matched with every type of being; from mermen to dragons. From the beginning of these books, there is the need of some connection that each character brings to the relationship that is necessary for them to bond together. Viola Grace has done a wonderful job of writing about different beings living among the others, functioning as a positive group to the help of others.

Blue Rose




Title: Blue Rose
Author: Lena Austin
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60168-183-6
Genre: Paranormal Ménage, M/F/M
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

The King of Powell Mountains has declared that it is time for Princess Zara to marry. The royals, young and old, come to bid for Zara’s hand. The top contenders are Prince Bram, her father’s choice, and Prince Kennit, who appeals to Zara but before a selection can be made, Zara is poisoned and the only antidote is the petals of the Blue Rose. With Bram and Kennit at her side, Warrior Princess Zara goes to Hell.

Blue Rose is an amusing fable reflecting elements of true human nature often hidden from view. Zara is a warrior, but she is also a warm and compassionate woman who enjoys bed play. Kennit has a vast quantity of knowledge that serves them well on their journey; he has loved Zara from afar for years and wishes only to please her. Bram is a boorish, full of himself, glorious champion in his own mind. They all have secrets and together they go to Hell seeking the Blue Rose before Zara’s time runs out. There to guide them through the many levels they must navigate is a fun loving demon who takes great delight in adding a little something extra to the tour making it even more intriguing. The remarkable and entertaining Lena Austin has created a captivating plot with brain teasers and insight on the many traits of the personality. The cast of characters will tickle your funny bone with the play on words dialogue. Enticing love scenes, along with revealed secrets, makes Blue Rose an alluring fantasy not to be missed.

Monday, March 9, 2009

Come to Me




Title: Come to Me
Author: LaVerne Thompson
Publisher: Freya’s Bower
Publisher URL: http://www.freyasbower.com/
ISBN: 978-1-935013-76-1
Genre: Interracial/Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph


No matter how many women he slept with, Baron Munro still felt empty inside. Marathon sex just wasn’t what he wanted anymore. Only one woman haunted Baron these last few months and she was a mystery he was dying to solve. If Jasmine could get him this hot and bothered with her voice, Baron knew he had to meet her in person. And Baron had no intention of taking no for an answer.

Jasmine Sandler was scared out of her mind. She was seriously considering going out with a tenant, one she had never actually met in person. Though the entire thing seemed crazy, Jasmine had to follow her heart. Every instinct in her body was telling her that their connection was the real thing.

If I could give Come to Me a higher rating, I would because this story is fantastic! This couple’s passion jolted me like an amusement park ride that I never wanted to end. Baron is hooked the moment he hears Jasmine’s voice on the phone and hops a plane, just to go on a date with her. I loved the fact that he was so impulsive and sure of himself. The airport scene is etched in my mind as one of the hottest and most hilarious first meetings I have ever read. LaVerne Thompson, thank you for bringing the heat in this clever story.

Crux


Title: Crux
Author: Moira Rogers
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-459-0
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Urban Fantasy
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Living in the supernatural rich environment of New Orleans gives Jackson Holt plenty of opportunity to put his private investigator skills to good use. He and his partner, Alec, are very good at what they do so when their friend, club owner Nicky, asks him to do some digging into the past of a new female employee, Jackson readily agrees. What he discovers is a frightened, beautiful woman on the run from a deadly stalker, which brings his latent protective instincts roaring to the surface. It also makes him more than willing to use his magical skills to keep her safe.

Mackenzie Brooks is a woman on the run from a crazy short-term boyfriend, who claims her for his lover; except the wild tales he’s told her of shapeshifting cougars, and her destiny to revive their dying race isn’t as insane as it sounds. It also doesn’t explain how he and his thug friends always manage to find her, no matter how far, or how many miles she’s run. It’s only after her new boss and P.I. friends get involved that Mackenzie is forced to realize the uncomfortable and unsettling truth. There’s far more to the world than she ever imagined and that includes shapeshifters and a powerful magical spell holding her first change at bay that is rapidly eroding.

Crux is the first release in a new series, Southern Arcana, by talented writing duo Moira Rogers. They’ve created another well-crafted and exciting paranormal world hiding in plain sight from the eyes of us mere mortals. It’s filled with intriguing primary and secondary characters, a great paranormal plotline, a realistic locale and well placed background information. The build up of tension between Jackson and Mackenzie is well done, especially the scenes while they traveled to Mahalia, Jack’s mentor, seeking help. All the different characters work well together, moving the story along at a nice pace that allows the reader to feel like a participant in the story. While the shifting at the end was nicely done, I would have like to see more interspersed throughout the story. Lastly, the ending culminated a bit quickly, leaving me wishing that it had been longer and more developed. Overall, this shifter tale is a good beginning to a new and intriguing series. I look forward to seeing where the authors take the Southern Arcana world with their next release.

Sunday, March 8, 2009

Glad Hands


Title: Glad Hands
Author: Angelia Sparrow and Naomi Brooks
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419919473
Genre: M/M, Futuristic
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

The United States, as we knew it, is no more. It has become a country divided; each new territory with its own rules and some unfortunately, harsher than others with punishments as extreme as stoning.

Chuck Hummingbird is one of the fortunate ones, regardless of the circumstances that drew him and his family to Pacifica. Chuck is proud of his Cherokee heritage and is not ashamed of being gay. He enjoys the open road and the schedule that being a truck driver has afforded him.

Chuck accepts a special job that he believes should be as easy as pie, but his assignment is anything but. He will travel a road he didn’t anticipate and, thanks to his kind nature and ability to see the good in a stray, Chuck will find a companion, savior, lover, and friend all within a blue-eyed drifter by the name of Seven.

Angelia Sparrow and Naomi Brooks bring the thunder with Glad Hands. I’ve read a previous book by Angelia Sparrow that introduces the new lay of the lands, so to speak, of the United States and the territories. I loved her writing style then, and this new book has cemented that thought into my mind. Chuck is an incredible man. He has an open mind, with the ability to give kindness and help when people need it the most. I knew when he saw Seven there was no way he would turn his back on the younger man. Seven has had more hard luck than a gambler at a fixed roulette table. Between his family, the man he thought he loved and the treatment received at the hands of countless others, I would have thought his heart would have hardened. However, something in his soul wanted to be loved and accepted for the exceptional man he is. I’m elated that a part of Seven, no matter how small, refused to be tainted, stood its ground, and never gave up hope. This was a great story and I have a feeling there is more to come from this dynamic duo in the near future.