Thursday, March 25, 2010

Wanna Be Your Dog


Title: Wanna Be Your Dog
Author: Glyn Soitiño
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-940-8
Genre: {M/M} Shifter
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Saturday was the day when visitors came to adopt one of the rescue dogs. However, Ethan is determined to stay at the shelter. He has been here nearly three months and was tired of running from his troubles. Luke Ashton’s footsteps came rushing down the aisle, hoping he was not too late to adopt a dog. There was something about Luke that aroused Ethan’s interest and the prospect of adoption suddenly seem more attractive.

Wanna Be Your Dog is a fantastic dog shifter short story. The developed plot is well paced. Ethan and Luke are primarily honest, as well as engaging, characters; even the pathetic ex-boyfriend is attention-grabbing. Ethan is suffering from the loss of loved ones and remorse for his actions two years ago. His natural inclination to protect saves Luke’s life after Luke's ex initiates an attack on his life. Loneliness after discarding his offensive boyfriend motivated Luke into adopting a dog. Luke immediately bonds with the dog and his caring personality willingly accepts Ethan’s unique qualities when they are revealed. The storyline is heartwarming. The love scene is spectacular. Glyn Soitiño has created an exceptional saga that I thoroughly enjoyed.

I Love Rock n Roll


Title: I Love Rock n Roll
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-049-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Rock star Keifer Zane has had an eventful year. Starting when the tabloids plastered his sexual orientation on their front pages, followed by the death of his mother has been tough enough. To say it’s been rough would be an understatement. The presence of a relentless stalker has added another layer to his already chaotic life. If it wasn’t for Archer Adams, his bodyguard, Keifer knows it would have been impossible to endure these trials.

Archer didn’t expect to become attracted to Keifer. After spending months getting to know the persona and the man hidden from public view, his attraction has built from a flickering flame to a roaring fire. If Archer is nothing he’s a professional, but one look into Keifer’s eyes and he remembers he’s also a man.

Archer has a job to perform, and believes Keifer’s safety is more important than his desires. Keifer, on the other hand, wants his bodyguard to help him feel alive again. With danger closer at hand than either man could ever predict, is it possible to have both a lover and protector, or are they setting themselves up for heartache?

Keifer and Archer are an interesting pair. Keifer hasn’t allowed his fame and fortune to jade him. He’s simply a man who wants to stop hiding his true nature and start living life to its fullest. Archer is a skeptic when it comes to long distance romances, and for good reason. While they are both at different places in their lives, they couldn’t fight their attraction. Ms. Lynn incorporates action, suspense, and some delicious scenes between Keifer and Archer in I Love Rock n Roll. When Archer finally let down his guard, there was no turning back. This is the third book in the Bodyguards in Love series. What I love the most about these stories is how Ms. Lynn’s characters come from various backgrounds and the settings never stagnate. It’s hard to get bored with a series that’s so well rounded and I’m looking forward to seeing which bodyguard will fall head over heels next.

Clockworks and Corsets


Title: Clockworks and Corsets
Author: Regina Riley
Publisher: Lyrical Press
Publisher URL: http://www.lyricalpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61650-130-3
Genre: {M/F} Erotica, Steampunk
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Satyr Vael

Captain Rose Madigan is reluctant to take on a particular job but she trusts her all-female crew, and they all need the work, so off they set off on a trip that none of them will ever forget. Madam Ruby runs a bordello and she’s power-hungry and eager to get her hands on whatever remains of a mad scientist’s lost lab. However, when Rose and her crew--including the young socialite Gabriella Upstairs--find the laboratory, they also discover something unexpected.

Atom Loquacious, son of the missing scientist, has his own secrets and they could spell doom for everyone. Unfortunately, Gabriella finds herself falling for him, further complicating matters all over.

Clockworks and Corsets is a wild, sometimes funny, sometimes incredibly hot ride! I’m a big fan of steampunk and this book delivers all everything I love about the genre in one well-written, riveting package. The love scenes aren’t overdone, yet they’re explicit and still manage to stay true to the time period. If you’ve never read steampunk, make this your first!

Ugly Duckling


Title: Ugly Duckling
Author: Lena Austin
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-394-1
Genre: {M/M} Shapeshifters
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Dominick Falchetti walks out of his publisher’s office with no regrets. Dom refused to pander to prejudiced people by writing genres that do not appeal him. Given the name of Bedtime Stories Press, Dom contacts them and his man-love stories were accepted. There he meets Jean-Paul Noir, his new editor and perfect lover.

Ugly Duckling is a heartwarming short story. Dominick is an author, who shifts into something else when he has been sexually awaken. Jean-Paul is an incubus and the only one who has accepted Dom’s other form without fear. Although the story is short, the plot has depth. The storyline reveals the origins of the creatures they have become, in addition to a feasible action that optimistically can be employed. Also illustrated are the human emotions of being different from the rest of society. Acceptance of the person you are as an alternative to someone’s perception of you is the key feature in this well-written book. The characters are intelligent and believable, as well as sensual. The amazing Lena Austin never fails to deliver an engaging saga with some of today’s social allegations incorporated. Ugly Duckling is an impressive saga that I enjoyed.

Emergency


Title: Emergency
Author: Drew Zachary
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-942-2
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Brian and Stephen have been friends for some time now. Their jobs as an EMT and Doctor give them something in common. But what happens when Brian, who is gay and always had a thing for his straight friend, finds out that Stephen is not only going through a divorce but isn’t as straight as Brian thought he was?

Emergency is the second book in the A City Hospital series by Drew Zachary. This time around, the author brings the reader the story of Brian, an EMT, and Stephen, a Doctor. The author uses the longtime friendship of these two men as the building blocks for their relationship. When Stephen comes out to Brian and decides to pursue a more intimate relationship with him, he does not waste any time. The passion between these two entertaining characters is both intense and sweet, as the author uses these times as one of the ways to show the depth of feelings the men have for each other. Just because Brian and Stephen were already friends when their relationship changed does not mean things will be easy for them however.

That Stephen understood what it was he needed in his life, made the changes, and then didn’t worry about what others thought is one of the things I enjoyed about this story. That the author allows the characters to feel some insecurity over all the changes they have been going through lends credibility to the story, making it entertaining for the reader who will want to stay around to see how things turn out.

Although I would have liked to have seen a little more angst in the story, as well as a visit from the characters of the first book, I still found Emergency a fun read and can’t wait to see what the author will bring to this series next.

A Matter of Time IV




Title: A Matter of Time IV
Author: Mary Calmes
Publisher: Club Lighthouse Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.clublighthousepublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-897532-88-1
Genre: {M/M} Murder-Mystery
Rating: 5 Nymphs/Golden Blush
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

As usual, trouble has Jory Harcourt on its radar. Life is settling down for him and his lover, Detective Sam Kage, when an old threat resurfaces. It doesn’t hit home how dangerous the situation is until Sam is caught in the crossfire, leaving Jory scrambling to find the culprit. How much can one untrained gay man playing Kojak uncover? You would be surprised!

Before I begin, let me say that, in order to enjoy this book, you have to know the history behind Sam and Jory. You have to experience their trials and tribulations to grasp how far this couple has come; to see clearly how much they’ve both grown individually and together, and to finally be able to celebrate their union.

Now that being say…it’s official, I absolutely love Mary Calmes. She took me on the ride of my life with A Matter of Time IV. I don’t think I’ve ever talked to a character so much in my history of reviewing. Jory is one of a kind. His brain seems to shut down during two critical moments and he acts before he truly thinks, when he is hurting, or someone he loves is harmed. I was on the edge of my seat for a majority of this book wondering, “What can he get into next, surely there is nothing left”. Well let me tell you, with Jory, there is always something left.

Sam has grown into a partner Jory could be proud to have in his life. There was no doubt in my mind of his love for Jory. To say Jory is important to him is an understatement. There were times where he made such touching declarations of love that I couldn’t help but forgive him for all the hurt he previously caused.

Mary Calmes fills the pages with action, suspense, drama, and sex that left me gasping for air. Ms. Calmes has anchored herself on my “must read list” of author’s. For those who’ve waited to see Sam and Jory finally get it right, the wait is over!

Last Flight of the Ark


Title: Last Flight of the Ark
Author: D.L. Jackson
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-675-3
Genre: {M/F} Science Fiction, Ménage
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Colonel Kaleb Titan is piloting the Genesis I, aka the Ark. He is a molecular geneticist and in charge of the two woman crew on a mission to transform a planet into one suitable for human habitation. On the last leg of the trip, about twelve hours from arriving at their destination, the women are awake and hostile and he is bitten. They are forced to go through a genetically-altering gamma radiation cloud at the time and there are changes in him. The first thing Kaleb finds different about himself after being bitten is that he has a better sense of smell, and all he wants to do is have sex with his two crew members…..together. These two ladies have been trying for the last eight months to get his attention, and now it might be more than they can handle.

With the early arrival of their sister ship, Kaleb’s sixth sense kicks in and he realizes that there will be trouble with the Genesis II. When he gets a whiff of the visiting crew, he knows everything is not what it should be, and he begins to take steps to find out what is wrong. What he discovers is that the other crew are allergic to the canines on his ship, and he must get to the bottom of exactly what is going on. The steps that he is forced to take is to ensure that the crew of the Genesis II are kept from further danger by the hijackers. It leaves him questioning his actions, morals and everything else he does. Thanks to his crewmates, who work to keep him centered, he is able to take command of the mission and get everyone onto the planet safely.

Last Flight of the Ark left me excited and wanting to read more about the characters of this story. I am impressed with the talent of D.L. Jackson, because of the creativity of the story, and the in-depth details given of the city on Terra II. It seemed that the hijackers were so sure of themselves by taking over planets and with the fact that they thought no one would figure out what they were up. Kaleb being a scientist knew something wasn’t right, and it had him thinking about how he was going to able to find the problem. The efforts he took to preserve everyone’s well being were foremost, and he wanted to salvage the trip.

This is truly a fascinating book, and l hope that there will be more written about some of the secondary characters. They really need a story told of their survival of change and bonding together. Read and enjoy!

Tuesday, March 23, 2010

A Game of Chances


Title: A Game of Chances
Author: T.C. Blue
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-037-0
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Marcus is trying to get over the painful breakup with his controlling boyfriend, Stephan, and not interested in dating any time soon. It’s too painful. When he gets a phone call from Tanner, the man who’s moved into his old apartment, Marcus thinks he’s going after misdirected mail. What he doesn’t know about the cute red-head is that Tanner is an operative for a gray-ops organization and their meeting isn’t accidental, but planned, to allow him to gather information on Stephan. It seems that Tanner’s on a personal mission of revenge and retribution that started out with the death of his ops partner and Stephan is the final link to bring him the closure he needs.

The two men become lovers and when danger threatens, there’s just one thing for Tanner to do. To keep Marcus safe, Tanner knows he must disappear, leaving the love of his life behind in safety. What he doesn’t know is that Marcus has secrets of his own and to get Tanner back, he’s willing to do anything, including joining the very organization that turned his lover into a killer.

A Games of Chances is the first book in a new series by T. C. Blue, Farmingdale Gentleman's Club, and the first book by this author that I’ve had the pleasure of reading.

It’s obvious from the beginning that Stephan is a jerk and Marcus is lucky to get rid of him but that doesn’t lessen his pain. When he meets Tanner, my first thought was this new guy is just what Marcus needs to heal, despite Marcus’ constant reminders to himself that Tanner isn’t his type. Yet in the beginning I wasn’t certain what to make of Tanner, since he’s far from what he seems. But that’s the case with Marcus as well…he isn’t what he seems either. So, both men have unhappy and unsavory secrets they’ll unwilling to share.

This is one aspect of the plot that I enjoyed. T. C. did a great job doling out pieces of information in a seamless manner that made sense and that moved the plot forward at a steady pace. But the best thing of all was the love story woven through the many unexpected twists and turns. It seemed every time I turned a page, I learned something new about Tanner and Marcus that explained more about their behavior and pasts.

The attraction between these two is immediate and as the complex story progresses, it’s apparent they’re perfect for each other. I know I probably haven’t done this complicated book justice but take it from me, give it a try. It has great characters, romance, mystery, suspense and action, mixed in with a healthy dose of angst, electrifying chemistry and passion. If you’re a lover of spies, espionage, shadowy organizations and specially trained operatives, then A Game of Chances is for you. I look forward to the next book in this new series.

Boning Up


Title: Boning Up
Author: Summer Alan
Publisher: Red Sage Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.eredsage.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60310-374-9
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Carly Neal has worked too hard getting herself into college to let some pompous, self-involved professor fail her now. It’s his fault she’s struggling – the man’s human anatomy lectures redefine the word boring and the textbook he’s working from is ancient. It’s no wonder the information isn’t sinking in. Whatever the cause though, Carly realizes she needs serious help if she’s going to pass.

Brock Larson needs a recommendation from the cantankerous teacher so takes the opportunity to interrupt a heated discussion between Carly and the professor with a proposal. Brock will tutor Carly, in return for the professor’s signature on his paper. Carly is furious that both men are so wrapped up in their own egos, they don’t even acknowledge her existence in the room. Brock can see that Carly doesn’t take lightly to being the subject of a wager so will have to use all his powers of persuasion to convince her that this deal with the devil is the best bet for both of them.

In Boning Up, Summer Alan had me panting with the novel way in which Brock helps Carly learn human anatomy in such a short space of time. Images of a couple of hot, sweaty study sessions with lots of hands-on advice, combined with the tempestuous love-hate relationship that quickly develops between Carly and Brock had me on the edge of my seat. The study sessions may be the stuff of college students’ dreams but the sexual frustration and insecurities were all too real and left me quite hot under the collar. The professor was a mean, jaded man who made the perfect villain, having long since lost interest in his job and gets his joy from tormenting his students. Reading Carly’s attempt to escape the assumptions the professor and Brock are making about her was an emotional roller coaster experience.

Red Sky in the Morning


Title: Red Sky in the Morning
Author: Auburnimp
Publisher: Shadowfire Press
Publisher URL: http://www.shadowfirepress.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Lucifer is used to making hard decisions, and his latest may not be easily accepted. The time to include high-ranking demons in the angel’s council is upon them. While he doesn’t expect everyone to open their arms to the newest members, he hopes over time others will see the princes as a valuable asset to the council.

Sandalphon isn’t prepared for the meeting. All of his misconceptions about demons fly out of the window after he meets Nybbas, Prince of Trickery and Magic. The attraction overwhelms him, as nothing has ever done before.

Nybbas shares in the attraction and refuses to allow Sandalphon to walk away without truly getting to know him. In the background, there is one person working to undo all the good done since the war. Will the threat be taken seriously or has the council learned from past mistakes?

Red Sky in the Morning is the first story in the Auburnimp’s latest series Angels and Demons. The story includes enough detail to help those who haven’t read the previous series Fallen Angel follow along. Sandalphon’s innocence and honesty make him a wonderful match for Nybbas. Nybbas’ ability to know just what Sandalphon needed helped him to accomplish what he wanted most; a fair chance at gaining the angel’s heart. I wasn’t sure if Sandalphon would be able to get past their differences, but Nybbas knew just want to do.

Those who enjoyed Fallen Angel will be happy to see familiar characters return for their reading pleasure. I’m anxious to see more angels and demons enter into friendships and unions. Auburnimp has incorporated fascinating characters with a written plot that is sure to keep readers happy and eager for more.

Monday, March 22, 2010

No Rest for the Wicked


Title: No Rest for the Wicked
Author: A.M. Riley
Publisher: Loose Id.
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-546-3
Genre: {M/M} Vampire, Mystery, Suspense
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Adam and Peter are on a date at Hollywood’s Grauman's Chinese theater when Adam discovers the body of a computer software genius drained of his blood and stuffed in a stall in the men’s bathroom. Being a vampire himself, Adam knew this was a vampire killing. Peter, a homicide detective, feels it is his duty to call in the dead body and ends up working the case, putting an end to Adam’s evening plans for the two of them.

No Rest for the Wicked is the fantastic follow-up to Immortality is the Suck. Adam was a vice detective before his officially dead vampire status; he has gone through a lot of changes in the past year. The main change is his feelings for Peter. Adam realizes he loves Peter and that he is more than a sex partner. Because of Peter, Adam drinks bagged blood rather than feed from humans; he also helps him investigate homicide cases and attempts to get Peter to slow down for his health. Peter, who has loved Adam for years, is finding it hard to believe that Adam no longer is a commitment-phobe. The stress of adjusting to Adam’s condition has set Peter on a relentless quest to discover the vampire who changed Adam; he refuses to break his bond with Adam, even for a human younger man who desires him.

Set in Los Angeles, No Rest for the Wicked is a well written captivating plot. The characters are believable with emotional realism. The storyline is an intriguing blend of mystery, romance and side-splitting commentaries. The clues Peter, Adam and their teams gather during their investigation reveals a new vampire gang is operating in Los Angeles. Now the questions are can they stop the gang completely? Will Peter remain human? And will Adam and Peter’s relationship continue? The amazing A.M. Riley has created another exciting and very enjoyable episode for Adam and Peter; hopefully there will be more of these outstanding characters in the future.

Falling


Title: Falling
Author: D.W. Marchwell
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-935192-18-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Scott Alan understands the dangers of being a logger. News that his brother Brian is in the hospital has Scott Alan rushing to be by his side. Receiving a favorable prognosis of Brian’s condition alleviates the stress caused by the accident. The situation is Scott’s worse nightmare come to reality. Soon after his arrival, he meets logger Hank Ballam and Scott’s life will never be the same.

Hank has no desire to work indoors. He prefers the open spaces and beautiful serenity logging offers. The only thing that could improve his situation is to have acceptance among his peers. Unfortunately, he doesn’t see that coming to fruitation. Scott takes away Hank’s loneliness and provides the gentle push Hank needs to start fulfilling his dreams. A budding friendship soon morphs into more.

Scott has finally found the one person who completes his life. Does Hank have the same notion or is this just a fling?

Falling takes us to a logging town named Duncan, where two unlikely characters fall in love. Hank doesn’t believe in losing. He will fight to become the best at what he does, which causes jealousy to surround him. Scott has the ability to make friends wherever he goes. His easygoing way and quick humor are a balm to those surrounding him. However, people should never look at his size and think he’s a pushover. If he’s nothing else, Scott is scrappy.

D.W. Marchwell takes the slow road to building the relationship between Scott and Hank, but that’s not to say the book flows slowly. The story moves at a moderate pace to keep the reader’s interest. Each new scene between Scott and Hank feels like a natural progression verses feeling forced. When they finally decide for more, they reminded me of two energizer bunnies. Scott and Hank drew on my emotions and had me hoping they could make a go at a relationship.

I’ve never read a story about loggers and thanks to D.W. Marchwell, Falling is believable with the descriptive scenes surrounding Hank’s job. I could imagine the views, smell the crisp clean air and understood Hank’s compulsion for the great outdoors. D.W. Marchwell delivers fascinating stories that leaves you anxious for more.

Fawnskin


Title: Fawnskin
Author: A. J. Llewellyn & D. J. Manly
Publisher: Amber Quill
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-653-6
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary Paranormal Mystery
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Rallus needs to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life and his stressful job with the FBI. He moves to the small, quiet mountain town of Fawnskin, in hopes the change of scenery will allow him to relax, enjoy and re-evaluate his life. He doesn’t expect to fall in love with another newcomer to the area, Knox Baylor, or that his new home hides some sinister secrets.

Knox takes the unusual job of shommerin, a corpse watcher at a local funeral home, out of desperation. The young man has lived out of his car for the last two months and barely had enough money to reach Fawnskin before his gas tank hit empty. He’s unhappy, out of money, tired and hungry, which explains why he falls asleep while at work, accidentally releasing the angry spirit or dybbuk, of Mr. Harold Hoxheimer. At first he tries to hide what happened, but it’s not long before Harold’s spirit creates havoc and mayhem in the small town, opening wounds and exposing long held secrets the townspeople would just as soon remain hidden.

Before Rallus and Knox can find Harold’s wandering spirit and keep him from jumping from body to body, there’s a horrific murder and a small boy is abducted. Can these two lovers discover what Harold wants and why evil has come to this idyllic town or will they go down in defeat, allowing the darkness to spread?

Fawnskin is the first release in a new series by authors A. J. Llewellyn & D. J. Manly.

It’s an unusual and intriguing story that starts off normally when Knox arrives in Fawnskin looking for a job but it turns into something else, rather quickly. In the first three chapters, there are so many odd characters and goings-on introduced, I didn’t know what to think. This is particularly true of the previously unknown to me orthodox Jewish custom of shomerim; the guardians of the souls…those individuals who sit with a deceased body to protect the soul from wandering away, and turning to an evil spirit. Why Knox would even think of applying for this strange job is beyond me, but it is a great plot hook.

Rallus is also an interesting man, who even though new to town, has secrets of his own. It takes a while to get a handle on what makes him tick. In fact, the authors do a great job of doling out information on his background and why he came to town at strategic points in the story, each one surprising me more. And a couple near the end, are so unexpected, I could hardly believe it. (Sorry...no spoiler here.)

While many of the strange and secretive occurrences in town are solved before the end, many others are left hanging, to be dealt with in future releases. I admit it. There were more than a few things going on that left me with questions and the feeling of being a little disjointed, but it didn’t interfere with my enjoyment. Rather, it made me want to know more about the town; its citizens, Rallus, Knox and the wandering spirit of Harold and what he wanted. I’m looking forward to the next release in the world of Fawnskin and its strangely endearing inhabitants.

Happy Birthday, Baby


Title: Happy Birthday, Baby
Author: Patricia Pellicane
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-1-85715-051-6
Genre: {M/F} Historical
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Out for a ride, Meg ends up in a downpour and lost. She finally finds shelter to get out of the rain and is greeted by a total stranger, who is willing to help her. The first thing he does is give her a drink of spirits to warm her up and from that point on, Meg doesn’t remember much. Because of her one night fling, she has ruined her chances for marriage.

Jack is excited about the birthday gift his friend, Mike, is sending him and he is so wound up, he throws caution to the wind when Meg shows up. He finds it a bit humorous with her act of innocence, and continues on with a wild night of love-making. When he figures out months later who she really is, his desire for her has not lessened at all.

Happy Birthday, Baby is a quickie story about two people who do little talking, and spend most of their time engaged in sexual pursuits. When Jack realize what Meg was saying to him was true - she was an innocent - it changes his actions. I must say that the way this book turned out was more than I expected, because I thought that Jack would not be so resourceful, but found that he would not give up on Meg. There is a lot going on, regardless of the length of the book.

Ms. Pellicane did a great job of creating scenes that made me want to explore England and someone to spend time alone with. I found the main characters to be very engaging with each other before they finally accepted what was natural for them by accepting a more permanent situation. It seemed that Meg wanted to resist Jack, as most women usually do, mostly on her part of thinking that he deceived her. But in the end, she let her emotions take over and expressed what she wanted from him.

Special Delivery


Title: Special Delivery
Author: Heidi Cullinan
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 13: 978-1-61581-359-9
Genre: {M/M} BDSM
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Sam Keller is dumping boxes in the dumpster behind his aunt and uncle’s pharmacy when he meets Mitch Tedsoe, an independent trucker making a delivery to a shop across the alley. Flirting swiftly leads to sex in the back of the truck, as well as Sam’s chance for an adventure on a road trip west.

Special Delivery has a well written plot, illustrating the philosophy of indulging in emotionally void sex. The characters are in depth, as well as realistic.

Sam is a part time student in nursing school and working in a pharmacy stockroom. Before his mother died, he promised to be a good man someday. However, the kinky thrills he yearns for can’t be found in Middleton, Iowa. Sam is bewildered by his need to experience the kinky side of sex and feeling shame for failing his late mother’s wishes. The road trip gives him an idea about how psychologically deteriorating the lifestyle can be. Seeing Mitch in his old element and acknowledging that he is in love with him, Sam is despairing over the possibility of losing Mitch to his former exploits.

Mitch had escaped his self-indulgent past of picking up random men then casting them aside after sex games, two years before meeting Sam. On a downward spiral of mental self destruction, he avoids the enticement of his friends in Las Vegas, who are still in a lifestyle where sex is a game to be played with no feelings for their possible harm to others. The reformed Mitch tries hard to curtail Sam from his path of discovery, finally realizing that experience is the best teacher along with, hopefully, having an opportunity for a better life together. Heidi Cullinan has created an interesting storyline that fans of BDSM will find enjoyable.

Advisory: The publisher’s list of book genres/themes may be unreliable. This story was listed simply as Contemporary with no mention of BDSM but has since been changed.

Sunday, March 21, 2010

Midnight Dalliance


Title: Midnight Dalliance
Author: S. J. Frost
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Short Story
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Dalton Harrington has waited for this moment for years in hopes of one day becoming a prize winning rider. Dalton’s finally saved up enough money to buy Midnight Dalliance, a beautiful black stallion who looks every inch the champion his pedigree suggests. Unfortunately, his new horse comes from a less than capable trainer. Dalton is worried that his inexperience as a rider, combined with Midnight’s behavioral issues means the pair are facing too high a hurdle to jump. Enter Kelvin Crofton, a true champion of the sport and a man Dalton has admired from afar for as long as he can remember. Kelvin can see the potential in this up-and-coming rider, if only he can show the man what a little faith in team work can achieve. Dalton’s a willing student but can he find it in his heart to trust his new horse with his dream, and his new friend with his heart?

The chemistry between Dalton and Kelvin is fantastic. I really am impressed with how quickly and easily the shape of both characters merged. Both seem like gentle, friendly, likable guys who actually care about people’s feelings and that was very refreshing to read. My imagination ran wild with the possibilities between these two from the start. Midnight Dalliance is a very good example of a short story. I was teased with just enough of Dalton’s background to capture my initial interest and his admiration of Kelvin, a mysterious cowboy he admires and wishes to emulate, had me hooked. Kelvin, in particular, is a kind hearted character who I became attached to immediately. The unpleasant character of Midnight’s previous trainer gave balance to the story, although why Dalton had any dealings with him in the first place is a mystery. I do get the feeling the trainer was very persuasive though and this could have been explored a little deeper to add substance to Dalton’s character. However, with smooth, effortless writing and a detailed setting providing a wonderful reading experience, I highly recommend this snapshot in the lives of Dalton and Kelvin.

Captive Heart


Title: Captive Heart
Author: Anne Kane
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-370-5
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal, Urban Fantasy
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

After hearing her soft voice and staring into her brown eyes, Haydn knew that Cassie was meant to be his forever. His days of being a player ended with the flutter of her eyelashes. Then the room temperature dropped to freezing and Haydn realized it wasn’t going to be easy, convincing Cassie to give him a chance.

Cassie knew from experience what it meant to be bound to a dragon and she refused to live that horror again. But she just couldn’t stop her heart from melting when she thought of Haydn and the passion he made her feel. Can she let go of the past and follow her heart?

Cassie has been to hell and back because of a dragon, so she’s apprehensive about going out with Haydn. To her surprise, not only did she feel safe with Haydn, but she also feels lust, like she had never experienced in her entire life. The connection was just too strong to keep fighting. Haydn knew exactly what Cassie needed and he gave it to her. Witnessing such a virile man like Haydn being tender and sharing the reins of control with Cassie made me fall deeper in love with the Dragon Kin series. One of the most appealing things about dragons is how hard they fall for their mates from the first second they meet. I am wild for a good chase with a dash of drama and hot sex between a couple and Captive Heart falls into this category. I know readers will definitely be seduced by Cassie and Haydn’s wondrous story, just like I was.

Freaks in Love


Title: Freaks in Love
Author: T.A. Chase
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-657-4
Genre: [M/M] Futuristic/Fantasy
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

It’s been a generation since the nuclear bombs fell and life isn’t easy in the devastated world left in its wake. James is trying to survive in Triad City and working for the head of the West Side Crime Association while hiding a secret that could get him killed isn’t easy. When all the city crime leaders are lured to a meeting and brutally assassinated, in order to save the one friend he has, James makes the decision to return to the desolate place he vowed to never set foot in again-Freak Town.

Magpie tried to convince his boss, the leader of the East Side Crime Association, that going to the joint leader meeting was a mistake but no one would listen. He’s seriously wounded in the ensuing firefight and when he regains consciousness, he learns he’s in the one place Magpie never expected to see; the walled off area of the city known as Freak Town. His friend, James, isn’t who or what he thought. Instead, the tall, deadly man is a mutant and one of those affected by the radiation fallout. He’s also the only person Magpie can depend on to survive.

Once Magpie is healed of his injuries, he and James need to leave Freak Town. If they aren’t gone before the mutant uprising to take over Triad City starts, they could both wind up dead. As they struggle to avoid the gangs trying to kill them, can these two stone-cold-killers open up their hearts to a love they never expected or will their differences be too much to overcome?

Freaks in Love is the latest release by T.A. Chase and to my knowledge, the most unusual book written by this talented author. I admit it. I wasn’t certain what to expect from this novella after reading the blurb, but I’ve never meet a book by this author I didn’t enjoy and this one isn’t an exception. The post-nuclear war premise isn’t a new one. Yet, this well-plotted futuristic has enough twists and turns to make the story fresh and interesting. Add in some great characters, vivid descriptions, dangerous situations and a love unexpected, and this M/M story has all the components needed for an entertaining and enjoyable read. Give it a try. You’ll be glad you did.

I particularly like James, aka Snake. He’s so much more than expected when first introduced. Yes, he is a killer and an unusual mutant, but he’s also caring, tender, possessive and determined to keep Magpie safe. Despite his mutant physical attributes, at heart; he’s no different than any other man, and that makes him vulnerable to emotional hurt. Magpie and his personality play off James nicely; in many ways similar, but in so many others totally different. Yet, they fit together…make a good match, and not just physically.

At heart that’s what this story is about. Take out the radiation-created mutants and the world gone mad, and you’re left with the essence of the story…and that’s Magpie’s acceptance and love of James, despite their seemingly insurmountable differences.

Feather Adored


Title: Feather Adored
Author: Lorie O’Clare
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419927348
Genre: {M/F}, Shapeshifter
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Beel Halk is a member of one of the prominent families in Banff and has played the field, with almost no effort on his part. He notices the two newest females on a tree and wants to get to know them a little better. When a couple of other owls try one of their tricks on them, he witnesses Andrea get very aggressive, protecting her sister.

Andrea is trying very hard to give her sister a normal life, and reclaim her own life, after their Mother’s murderer follows them, with the intent of killing them. She has her dreams but is afraid to lower her guard. Beel is doing a very good job of getting past it the longer they are together, even as her past comes to haunt her.

The third book of the Raptors Revealed series continues the story of the Halk family. In Feather Adored, Beel is attracted to Andrea and realizes he has no desire to think about other females. The chemistry between the two is so sizzling, you might want to keep ice handy. The author has created a very interesting suspense story that is a little different from the previous books. Some of the leopard characters from previous books also show up in this one. Ms. O’Clare gives you a little more background about the tension between the different shifter species in this one. I am looking forward to reading the next book.

Charly’s Chocolate Factory


Title: Charly’s Chocolate Factory
Author: Celia Kyle and Lizzie Lyn Lee
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-371-2
Genre: {M/F} Interracial, BBW
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Selling sensually delicious chocolate treats at her shop, Charly’s Chocolate Factory, has definitely made Charlene’s business quite the cash cow. As much as she loves her work, Charlene has to admit that it’s been a long time since she encountered a man she actually wanted to lick chocolate off.

Linc has avoided his job as long as possible, but there is no way around it. Wagner and Sons wants Charly’s Chocolate Factory booted from the building and they chose Linc to do their dirty work. He expected it to be less than pleasant, but Linc didn’t expect to be attracted to the owner.

One night of knee buckling sex could turn into more if the couple actually finds a spare moment to talk. Charlene and Linc are so drawn to each other that I practically saw steam rising from the pages. There’s something wonderfully wicked about strangers who can’t keep their hands off each other that catapulted this story to another level for me. Charlene isn’t the wallflower I initially assumed and that made me like her more. She has an adventurous side that I think every woman should have. I felt Charly’s reaction to being evicted was realistic. Linc was placed between a rock and a hard place but I was glad he never gave up trying to make things right for Charly. The authors did a fantastic job of not labeling Linc as a bad guy, even though there was one second I had my doubts about him. Thank goodness I was wrong. The ending of this impulsively erotic story feels like a beginning and left me hoping for more about this couple in the future.