Saturday, June 12, 2010

Zellia’s Blade


Title: Zellia’s Blade
Author: Kitty DuCane
Publisher: Loose Id, LLC
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-598-2
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Shape-shifter Suspense
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

After helping his friend out in Colombia, Blade realizes that the woman he met at the compound is his mate. He is not happy that she keeps trying to run from him. He also realizes that someone is trying to kill her, but she is keeping her secrets to herself.

Zellia was at the compound because of her father. She wants to find the daughter she has never seen, but trusts no one. Blade is a complication and she doesn’t want him to get hurt or killed because of her.

Zellia’s Blade continues the story started in Dominating Victoria. This one has a lot more suspense and close calls. The way the author keeps you enthralled will have you on the edge of your seat, wondering about the next crisis. Blade is very frustrated and tries to do his best to keep Zellia safe, but she wants to try to make it on her own.

The chemistry between the two of them will melt ice so keep plenty on hand. Blade is extremely dominant and Zellia realizes that she likes it –at least in the bedroom. I am looking forward to reading more from Ms. DuCane and will be reading this one again.

Dominating Victoria


Title: Dominating Victoria
Author: Kitty DuCane
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-438-178

Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Shape-shifter Suspense
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Hayden is very upset when he finds Victoria trying to kill two drug dealers and realizes that she is his mate. She is also interfering with his investigation as well as his peace of mind. He tries to get her to open up to him and let him help her, but he is not about to let her go through with her plans.

Victoria was raised by her father to be a lethal weapon and he made sure to keep her identity secret. Victoria uses her codename until Hayden and his friends realize who she is. Victoria is drawn to Hayden but will not be deterred in her mission to kill the man responsible for killing her dad.

Dominating Victoria is fast-paced and keeps you on your toes. The heat between Hayden and Victoria is intense and will keep you hot and bothered. Victoria trusts no one, but Hayden is going to keep trying. He knows eventually he will have to tell her he is a werewolf, but keeps putting it off until it is almost too late. There is a surprise at the end of the book and I am looking forward to the next one in this series. This is one for the bookshelf to be read again.

Shattered Illusions


Title: Shattered Illusions
Author: Lisa Alexander-Griffin
Publisher: Pink Petal Books
Publisher URL: http://www.pinkpetalbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-0-9826784-8
Genre: {M/F} Suspense, Light Erotic
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Cage Sinclair is heading home after doing ten years in prison, after having been framed for a heinous rape charge. When he gets there, he finds Morgan, his ex-girlfriend, living in his parents’ home because she had nowhere else to live. Seeing her again brings all of the love he felt for her to the surface in full force; even after she didn’t testify for him. When Cage finds out that she had a son by him, and kept it from him for all those years, makes his feelings for her uncertain.

Morgan kept silent about the ugly truth surrounding Cage’s setup and his being sent to prison. Her own secret is the cause of him going away in the first place, because she was blackmailed and the blackmailer knew the real villain. Morgan only wants to protect her son as any mother would, and she would just as soon keep Cage for the rest of their lives as well, now that he’s back, if he will have her.

Shattered Illusions is a touching story of how love can survive between two people, who have to deal with deceit and lies being told to cover the wrongdoing. It is a little daunting to know that one or two people can hold a town at their mercy and take lives at will, for their own pleasure. The two main characters are people who only wanted to live for themselves but their lives were disrupted by others evildoing. The villain thought he was above the law, doing what he felt and causing the town’s people to turn against one another.

There is a lot packed into this short novella--full of plotted out schemes, a kidnapping, and a man determined to clear his name. Ms. Alexander-Griffin has created a detailed story of how crime doesn’t pay and she tells of a lasting love that saw Cage and Morgan through the ten years that was taken from them. Now I can add this author to my list of must read books.

Friday, June 11, 2010

And Hell Itself Breathes Out


Title: And Hell Itself Breathes Out
Author: AR Moler
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-991-0
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

DCPD Homicide Detective Evan Garrett’s psychic instincts are triggered when several victims are murdered under strange circumstances. Also investigating unusual homicide cases is John Bentley, Director of Special Investigative Services. Meeting at a crime scene, John recognizes the psychic abilities in Evan and requests a meeting to compare notes. The meeting, as well as the mutual attraction, encouraged John to recruit Evan for a job at SIS.

And Hell Itself Breathes Out has a well constructed suspense plot. The setting is Washington, DC. The storyline features black magic murder rituals and intuitive abilities, in addition to white magic pagan beliefs. The developed characters are believable. Evan is bisexual, dating a woman until she discovers he is pagan, which promptly ends their relationship. Although Evan had enjoyed the sexual aspect, he was not too upset over their break-up. Meeting John, Evan realized they share a special connection. Evan’s touch had a calming effect on John, being the only person who could keep John grounded. John, who is also bisexual along with being recently divorced, carried a crushing amount of emotional baggage. He felt responsible for incidences that were completely out of his control. John is driven to find the serial killers. It is only when Evan is with him that he is able to sleep.

AR Moler has created an intriguing saga that captured my attention from the beginning paragraph to the end. The story highlights the profile of the killers, the victims as well as the emotional chaos of the agents. The intimate scenes are fantastic. I enjoyed And Hell Itself Breathes Out immensely.

Toy Box: Domination


Title: Toy Box: Domination
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerepress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-988-0
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary BDSM
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

The Sound of Pleasure, a Found story – 4 Nymphs
Tanny loves to run and no matter how hard Billy tries, it doesn’t make sense to him. When Tanny confesses how pushing through the pain when he hits a wall where he doesn’t think he can take another step, reminds him of a scene, Billy sets out to show his loving sub that nothing is as good as what they can do together

The Sound of Love, a Forged story – 4 Nymphs
Jeremy is still having difficulty dealing with the aftermath of his double amputation. When he comes home in a really bad mood and in pain after a couple of falls at the forge, it’s up to Simon to remind his stubborn lover that together they can overcome anything life can throw at them.

The Sound of Home, a Bent story – 3.5 Nymphs
Marcus has been out of town at a leather convention for several days. When he returns home, it feels like forever since they’ve been together. It doesn’t take long before these two long term lovers are back into a scene, showing each other just how important love and home really is. It’s everything.

Toy Box: Domination by Sean Michael is a compilation of stories that delve into the lives of three couples involved in an ongoing dominant/submissive relationship. Readers first became familiar with these men in their own Hammer book and I, for one, am happy to see them again in this anthology of shorts. In each story, you’ll find the couple involved with whatever kink works for both partners. Each story is short, but gives the reader a nice glimpse into each couples lives since we say them last.

The Sound of Pleasure-Tanny and Billy work hard at their relationship and this look into their lives is probably the strongest and my favorite. The expression of Billy’s love and patience for his partner is tender and caring, while at the same time passionate, intense and dominating. Each step they take forward in their partnership is a bit painful, but over time they’ve discovered that together they can get past anything and come out stronger on the other side. Good job Mr. Michael.

The Sound of Love-I admit it. I love Simon and Jeremy and don’t feel that we see this great couple nearly enough. While some might feel that Jeremy isn’t getting past his injuries fast enough, I say that in reality he’s progressing at a believable pace. It’s understandable that the independent iron worker would have difficulty accepting the limitation his double amputation has put on this life, and Mr. Michael has done a great job expressing his fear and uncertainty. Yet through all his trials, Jeremy knows he has a solid and endearing relationship with the love of his life—Simon, the man who always knows what he needs.

The Sound of Home-I’ve read the Hammer series since Marcus and Jim were first introduced in Bent. The characters Mr. Michael created are intense, passionate and caring but from my viewpoint, not all of Jim’s changes are for the better. He might have been in need of direction and submission when he first met Marcus, but he could still function. Now it seems he’s turned into a completely needy sub that can’t go three days without his Master telling him what to do. I love that Marcus is able to give Jim what he needs to be happy and content, but he’s become so dependent that I wonder what would happen if the worst occurred and Marcus died or become permanently disabled. I’m afraid he’d fall apart, shrivel up and likely die. My Jim needs a little backbone back please.

Dear Mister President




Title: Dear Mister President
Author: Adam Fitzroy
Publisher: Manifold Press
Publisher URL: http://manifoldpress.co.uk/
ISBN: 978-0-9565426-0-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

When an assassination attempt on the President occurs, Colonel Chad Ryan just happens to be at the right place at the right time to stop it. He never expects to be given a position in the White House because of it.

When Dear Mister President came up for review, I hemmed and hawed before finally deciding to give it a try and only decided after reading a favorable review on another site. I am glad I picked this story up, as it was better than I expected.

The characters are not your typical 30 year old hunks. Instead Doug Kearny is in his mid-50’s and is the President of the United States and yes he is married, but readers should not let that discourage them from getting this story. While President Kearny is happily married, his wife understands that her husband is gay and will, one day, fall in love with another man. In his late 40’s, Chad is a Colonel in the USAF. He has reached his goals and is not an overly ambitious man. With the recent repeal of the Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell act, Chad is becoming more comfortable revealing that he is gay. You would think that two men with little in common would not fit well together; however, the author does a wonderful job showing the reader how much Chad and Doug need each other.

Although there is some political intrigue, it does not clog up the story; instead Dear Mister President is a story of love and acceptance, something that is clearly evident as Chad bonds not only with Doug, but with his wife and daughter as well.

This was one of those stories that I hated to see end. I wanted to know how things would play out. Would Doug be re-elected? Would his and Chad’s relationship become public? Hopefully we will see more of these two and those questions will be answered. Hint! Hint!

Jewel of the Dragon


Title: Jewel of the Dragon
Author: Lynne Connolly
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-800-6
Genre: {M/F} Shape-shifter, Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Deverell Wyvern’s name speaks for itself, that is if you know what his last name means…dragon. He is a wealthy, sexy, tall dark Welshman, who is considered a playboy, and who works for auction houses around the world. When he strolls into Alix’s jewelry shop for a pendant that looks like the one from his family, there is no doubt that it is. He realizes that her brother, Clay is trying to trap a shape-shifting dragon. She wants nothing to do with the organization bent on the destruction of all Talents and even though she desires Deverell, she has to warn him of the danger her brother presents.

Alixandra Lancaster has conflicting emotions regarding her loveless life. She wants to be in control of her destiny and live out her dream of having her own specially designed jewelry store. Her brother is a thorn in her side, with his constant badgering to stay with his harmful PHR society, and she knows they mean to kill all Talents. The minute Deverell has his back turned to her in the store, she starts thinking sexual thoughts. Now that she has had a taste of him, there will not be another man who can take his place in her life.

I have really enjoyed reading the Department 57 series and now that I have read Jewel of the Dragon, I can truthfully say Ms. Connolly’s writing doesn’t disappoint. She has created a wonderful paranormal series that kept me wanting to learn more about all of the characters; those from past books and new ones that join the Talents, too. In this story, there is a descriptive tale of how dragons vary in color and size. I am captivated by Deverell’s dragon, when in his true form.

All of these characters brought something to the story, whether it was learning more of what their talents were, or the villains that had been brainwashed to believe that those stronger than them needed to be eliminated. There are definitely secrets that were kept from Alix by her brother and when you read the book, you will learn even more about them. I was impressed by Alix’s strong will and determination to disconnect her family ties; to live a life without restrictions.

I believe that from the first moment Deverell and Alix meet, there is a bonding but first, they have to get past issues of mistrust and betrayal to build a solid relationship. There is a lot of steamy hot sex scenes between them and I must say that I was cheering them from the beginning to the finish of the story to survive the PHR society, who would have destroyed them without help from Department 57 people. This book can be read alone but to really enjoy, read all of them in order.


Publisher’s Note: This book is a re-edited version previously released by another publisher.

Achan's Peace


Title: Achan's Peace
Author: Jade Buchanan
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-429-0
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal, Shapeshifter, Sci-Fi
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

It’s been months since Achan Steinsson was kidnapped and abused. The experience still clings to him, coating him in uncertainty and fear, while clouding his memories with painful dreams that plague him. Those around him believe that Achan’s dreams are getting worse and they are unsure of how to help him get past the event.

Hunter Miles understands Achan’s nightmares. The fact that his brother kidnapped Achan makes him feel responsible for his pain. However, below the guilt is a deep attraction that has Hunter hoping they can repair the damage and move forward with one another.

When Tafa Morn decided to visit Felid, he expected to reconnect with his cousin, not to find two mates who needed guidance and love.

Three men, all wounded souls all worthy of love, is what I discovered in Achan's Peace. Jade Buchanan’s sixth release in the Pridelands series takes us back to those fantastic characters we’ve all grown to enjoy. I was wondering what kind of mates Achan would wind up with and I have to say I’m pleased with the outcome.

Hunter’s abuse by his family hasn’t tainted him. I would say it made him stronger and helped him to identify love when it came knocking. Tafa is a force all his own, but knows when to show his strength as well as his more tender side. The three together are a perfect combination.

I found this latest installment in the series a fast-paced story centering on the healing properties of love and the importance of family and friends.

Idaho Pride


Title: Idaho Pride
Author: Sarah Black
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-442-8
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Lee Hunter and Jeremy Sheridan recently discovered that not only do they live in the same apartment building, but across the hall, yet have spoken only in passing. That all changes when an attempt to defuse an explosive situation between their friends results in them being arrested and ordered to do community service hours together, cataloging tombstones at the local cemetery.

Jeremy is involved in helping several local gay young men and he convinces sports writer Lee to mentor one of them—Luis, a troubled young intern for his magazine. It’s during a day of service with Luis tagging along that the three make a tragic discovery, which triggers research for an article for Lee’s gay magazine, Idaho Pride.

As the two adults grow closer, Luis becomes more important than ever—especially after they discover their young friend’s past and that he’s been living on the street. When Jeremy’s ex-partner and Lee’s ex-lover threaten to destroy the family the three are building, it becomes Jeremy’s responsibility to defend those he’s come to love.

I want to say upfront that the blurb for Idaho Pride doesn’t do the story justice—it’s so much more. It deals with several heavy issues in a creative, yet tasteful manner and without making the story depressing, slow paced or maudlin. It covers gay teenage suicide and homelessness, homophobia, the emotional and physical pain of a parental beating when confessing they’re gay, fear and hopelessness. It’s also an interesting and refreshing romance between two men who have on first look, little in common.

Lee is a great character, and I love his ‘I don’t like labels’ attitude, while still readily admitting that he likes sleeping with men. While on the surface he appears comfortable in his own skin, underneath it seems he isn’t completely happy—he doesn’t have relationships, no friendships other than with sportspeople and considers himself a ‘real’ guy. He’s big, muscular, physically fit and often uses terms like powder-puff, fruit and flake; watching him change his thinking and actions as he gets more involved with the lives of Jeremy and Luis…that’s a great moment to see.

Jeremy is a compelling and interesting man. On the surface, he might appear rather soft and needy but to my way of thinking, at his core he’s pure steel, while still being kind, caring and loving.

Young and troubled Luis might have been a secondary character but each time he entered a scene, I was left with a feeling of wanting to know more about him—his past, his present and his future. I for one would like another story—maybe a few years down the road, with him as one of the primary characters.

If there was one thing I’d change, it would be to eliminate the little subplot that involved Jeremy’s ex-partner. This portion of the story feels more stuck in than important and doing away with it would have allowed further development of another more important character—for instance, Capt. McClain.

Perfumed Heat


Title: Perfumed Heat
Author: Judy Mays
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781843607427
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal, Werewolf, Shape Shifter
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Artemis Gray was expecting an evening of high finance and business negotiation. His company was looking to break into the women’s fragrance market, having mastered men’s cologne. Unfortunately that meant dealing with James Parfumes, a company headed by the nastiest woman Artemis has ever had the misfortune to meet.

His plan had been to get in, do the deal then get the hell out of there before saying something the human part of him might regret. All that changed when he laid eyes on Moira Archer, assistant to the head of James Parfumes. Moira’s scent is like nothing Artemis has ever smelt and his werewolf soul stirs for the first time since the devastating loss of his mate. It takes all his self control not to stake his claim right there in front of everyone but he can see that Moira needs to be handled just right if she is going to fully submit to him. One thing is for sure – no one is going to get in his way now that he has finally found her.

Perfumed Heat is the first book in Judy Mays’ Heat series and what a scorcher of an introduction! Head of the Gray family, Artemis is a strong, Alpha character who oozes sexual dominance. The chemistry between him and Moira was electric and the author does an excellent job of describing the attraction between werewolf mates and the effect female heat has on the coupling. Even in this relatively short story the erotic element of their relationship was sweltering. I feel the length of the book did hinder the storytelling slightly. As the story progressed, the pace seemed to stop and start and it may have been beneficial to allow for more time for the plot to unfold. This is a minor problem though, as there was more than enough intrigue to keep me reading until the end and I cannot wait to read the next installment.

In the Heat of the Night


Title: In the Heat of the Night
Author: Judy Mays
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781843607946
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal, Werewolf, Shape Shifter
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Serena Wilde has been doing a great job taking care of the wolves in the preservation center and an even better job hiding her true self from her boss, Dr. Kearnan Gray. No matter what effect he has on her body, Serena is determined not to let a man back into her life after the disappointments she has encountered with human males in the past.

Her experience with werewolf males hasn’t been much better and it’s thanks to Alex, the possessive Alpha in her pack that she’s on the run, never staying in any one place for too long. However, Kearnan Gray has been watching her ever since she first arrived and is determined not to let her get away from him. Kearnan may think he has everything under control but he may have bitten off more than he can chew this full moon.

In the Heat of the Night is the second installment of the Heat series and I loved returning to Judy Mays’ werewolf world. Focus shifts to another Gray family member as we meet Kearnan, a guy who likes to keep to himself. I was a little unsure of the plot at first as Kearnan tries very hard to persuade Serena to stay with him. It’s obvious that he will do anything to get what he wants and I am glad that he questions whether he has gone too far, some of the time. It’s obvious that the pair needs to figure out for themselves what they want but when they finally do, it’s deliciously explosive. The introduction of Alex and Serena’s pack is a very welcome addition to their world and the descriptions of the wolves when fighting was very well done. The sex scenes were amazing and I am fast becoming a huge fan of the author’s writing.

A Midsummer Night’s Heat


Title: A Midsummer Night’s Heat
Author: Judy Mays
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419900242
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal, Werewolf, Shape Shifter
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Finally able to enjoy a vacation after years of taking care of her family and the business, Belle was hoping not to run into any trouble. Her father had found a new mate and the fragrance company was doing well – she deserved some time to herself. The last thing she needs is a couple of wannabe hunters, thinking they have permission to shoot at whatever animal comes their way.

Since being spurned by the woman he thought was destined to be his mate, Alex had been distracted from his Alpha duties and if he wasn’t careful, the pack would have to step in. Taking a run to try and clear his head seemed like a good idea at the time but he hadn’t counted on fools shooting at him. When he wakes in Belle’s cabin, the last thing he remembers is a loud bang and excruciating pain. When he realizes the beautiful but stubborn Belle has nursed him back to health, he can’t believe his luck. As the two of them get to know each other in the privacy of her cabin, love starts to blossom but Alex has a pack to look after and Belle has a secret she needs to tell Alex if he is truly to become her mate.

A Midsummer Night’s Heat is the fantastic third installment of the very enjoyable Heat series and things just keep getting better. With the return of Alex, a character who wasn’t at his best in the previous book, I wasn’t sure if I could warm to him as a main character but the author has created a wonderfully rich and complex world and Alex fit perfectly when interacting with Artemis Gray’s daughter, Belle. If you looked up the definition of feisty, I think there would be a picture of Belle and I loved her Alpha traits. She wasn’t taking any nonsense from anybody, including the stubborn, opinionated male Alpha Alex. I think this is my favorite story so far, as the characters are stripped down, having to face and overcome one of the ugliness of human character traits – prejudice. I love how the characters’ lives in this series are all intertwined and I am really starting to feel a connection to this world. I really recommend fans of this genre give this series a try.

Solstice Heat


Title: Solstice Heat
Author: Judy Mays
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419903977
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal, Werewolf, Shape Shifter
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Garth Gray had only stopped by to check on his sister, now that she was Alpha female to a new pack. Garth is a loner and needs to keep on the move but he knew Belle would kill him if she found out he’d passed by without visiting. However, when his sister tells him that she’s found Eileen, his mate and first love, everything changes.

Eileen had suffered a great deal in her short life. Separated from the love of her life because of her family’s prejudices then forced into a life mated to a controlling, manipulative bully, she had thought there was no hope. When the Alphas of this new pack granted her sanctuary, the long road back to recovery begins. However, she never dreamed she’d see Garth again. Now that he stands before her in all his rugged glory, she can’t believe her eyes.

Their chemistry may have returned as soon as they were back together but a lot has changed since they last saw each other. With a violent mate still staking a claim on his woman and his past catching up with him in more ways than one, Garth needs to decide what is most important to him soon.

Solstice Heat is the fourth story in Judy Mays’ Heat series, which focuses on the closure of a relationship that began years ago when Garth and Eileen were teenagers and first in love. Not much is known about Garth from the previous books in the series so it is nice to get to know him more. I feel a lot from his past is still a mystery and I don’t think we’ll find out more until the next installment, as he definitely needed to get things sorted with his mate first. I love how the author creates attraction and chemistry between characters and the heat between Garth and Eileen was palpable. I also love seeing bad characters get their comeuppance and after the pain Eileen has suffered, it’s great for her to finally escape her controlling ex and family. Eileen is a wonderful character and the sensitive subject of abuse is handled with care.

Carnal Intentions


Title: Carnal Intentions
Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-561-0
Genre: {M/M}, Shapeshifter, Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

When one of the nearby wolf packs comes knocking on his door, Mitchell knows they’re up to something. Just what is the question and how much does his mate really know?

Up until now, the stories in the Lost Shifters series have centered on the missing brothers. While Carnal Intentions does, as well, it is not a missing brother who finds his mate but rather Mitchell, who is reunited with his mate, Dean, a wolf shifter.

The two burn up the pages almost from the beginning. Their relationship is not without its problems as Dean’s need to stay loyal to his pack plays heavily into the reason behind their separation, something that Mitchell has a hard time understanding. You would think that given the issues in his relationship with Dean, Mitchell would have been a little more understanding when it came to his siblings and their mates. As with the previous books, all the siblings and their mates make an appearance in this story. The meshing of all the different personalities is wonderfully done and the one-liners are sure to have the reader chuckling.

As I mentioned before, the felines are looking for one of their missing brothers and Noah is sure to steal the reader’s hearts. Several times, I was tempted to jump to the end just to make sure things turned out well for him. There are two brothers still needing their stories told, Noah and Andy. I, for one, can’t wait; I only hope there will be more stories after all the felines find their way home.

Man About The House


Title: Man About The House
Author: Mina Carter
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-400-9
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Working back-to-back shifts and trying to study has left Janelle without any energy for cleaning. When she uses a cleaning spell to conjure up a male housekeeper, Janelle gets more than she bargains for. Even though the hot hunk just appeared in her apartment, something familiar about him is making Janelle weak in the knees.

If it meant spending time in the Janelle’s bed, Corvin was willing to do anything the delectable woman wanted. Hopefully she wouldn’t be too angry once she discovered he was really a god.

Janelle and Corvin have an amusing first meeting that leads to a very hot and heavy make-out session. When Janelle doubts Corvin’s attraction for her, he is forced to get creative so he can gain another chance with the woman of his dreams. Man About The House is a quirky addition to the Wicked Wraiths series and I thank Mina Carter for bringing the heat and the humor in this story. I loved how desire struck Corvin and Janelle like an electric shock. I look forward to reading the next story in the series.

Divine Intervention


Title: Divine Intervention
Author: Trista Ann Michaels
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-715-6
Genre: {M/F} Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Walker has worked hard at his job as head of security for Senator Prescott and his daughter, Heather. He’s watched her grow up from the tender age of twelve; he felt very close to her through their good-natured bantering over how she wouldn’t be a problem for him. Now that Heather has grown into a lovely woman, Walker can no longer deny his growing feelings for her and decides he needs to separate himself from her. Although he changes his focus more onto her father, he’s always thinking of her and checking up on how the new team guarding her is coping with her antics of escaping them.

Years later, Heather is the target of several men who want to stop her father from making their crimes public and she has been injured because of it. Once again, Walker is in charge of protecting her and she is determined to show him how much she loves him. Even with him trying to keep his distance, nothing will stop the attraction they have for each other and having to be on the run only puts them together more.

Divine Intervention, truly a great story of murder and suspense, had me thinking hard about how greed can make men contemplate harming others for their own gain. The main characters were able to get away from the villains and while running, they spoke of their love for each other during the stressful times. Heather and Walker really heat up the story with their steaming hot love sessions, when they were able to temporary forget their troubles.

The creativity of Ms. Michaels has wowed me, leaving me wanting to read more of her books to experience more of her writings. I really enjoyed how she included the financial crisis going on today; it made this story more believable for me. There is not a lot of past history given, surrounding most of the characters, for a better understanding of why Heather’s father felt the need to take on the villains that were almost untouchable. This is a very enjoyable read and I will be looking for more from this author.

Tainted Blood


Title: Tainted Blood
Author: Sam C. Leonhard
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-411-4
Genre: [M/M] Urban Fantasy
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

At birth, Gabriel Jordan was left in a trash bin by his drug addicted mother. He then lived with his beloved grandmother for several years but when she slipped into madness, he ended up in a variety of foster homes until he ran away to the streets for good. Now he tries to make a living taking pictures for a private investigator that pays him barely enough money to survive and he often doesn’t have enough money to eat every day. It’s during a stake-out that he spies Dr. Aleksei Tennant floating to the ground from the window of the apartment of the woman he’s following.

Tennant introduces Gabriel to a world he didn’t know existed, teaching him about portals to other worlds, runes and people who are of mixed blood—tainted blood, just like Gabriel. Together they build a new and, at times, fragile friendship while hunting down a serial killer who is killing people not completely human. While on another world, the killer attacks Aleksei and Gabriel, putting their lives and budding love in danger and if they don’t discover the murderer’s identity, they could end up his next victims.

Tainted Blood is the first release for new author Sam C. Leonhard. It’s a well-written and suspenseful urban fantasy filled with magical portals to seventeen worlds, mixed-race children, murder, mayhem, runes, government oppression and race ID cards. Gabe and Tennant are both likable and while some of the aspects of their world are a bit stereotypical, it didn’t prevent me from enjoying this entertaining fantasy. In fact, it left me wanting to know more, especially about Gabe’s true genetic heritage and what it will mean to his future, which I hope might be revealed in a second book.

The differences between Gabe and Tennant is huge, but that didn’t stop them from developing feelings for each other—it might have been slowly, but that only made their joining more intense and passionate when it finally happened. The details of the numerous killings and their hunt for the murderer were handled nicely, and while I figured out the race of the killer fairly quickly; the identity of who wasn’t revealed until almost the end—and that did catch me a bit by surprise.

Twice Blest (A Bonded Story)


Title: Twice Blest (A Bonded Story)
Author: Jay Lygon
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
Genre: {M/M} Vampires
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Vampire Brandr is out for a night of seduction when he meets Jamie, a computer science major at UCLA. However, they come across Kyle before reaching Jamie’s apartment, putting an end to their evening before it starts. Several nights later, Brandr returns home to find Kyle and Jamie having sex. It seems Jamie has been turned and Brandr has two sexy vampires sharing his home.

Twice Blest continues the Bonded series, which felt out of sequence to me. Brandr was a Viking in his former life. Now he is a vampire who writes romance stories. Brandr lived alone in his home outside of West Hollywood until he found newly turned Kyle. Feeling it was his duty to teach Kyle how to be a good vampire, Brandr invited Kyle to stay with him. Last episode showcased three vampires living with Brandr, Kyle, Jamie and Henry. Plus Tyler, a human who was accidently bonded to Brandr. This episode features Jamie’s story.

The amazing Jay Lygon has created another addition to this thoroughly enjoyable hilarious and steamy series. I look forward to the next installment.

Thursday, June 10, 2010

Gay Pride


Title: Gay Pride
Author: Kim Dare
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-135-3
Genre: {M/M} BDSM
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Who knew a rainbow colored flag could be so mouthwatering? Surely not Crenshaw, a seasoned Dominant who isn’t looking for an inexperienced submissive. Nevertheless, that’s just what he gains in Jayden. The fact that he’s naked under the simple silk covering makes it harder for Crenshaw to turn him away.

I have to admit I love Crenshaw’s style. He’s a man who knows his own mind and while he didn’t see a new sub entering his life at this point, he recognized Jayden’s potential. With all that Jayden does wrong, Crenshaw recognized the jewel hiding under the grime, ready to sparkle and shine with the proper tutelage. Crenshaw’s ability to access Jayden’s needs through simple gestures, silent praise, or correcting without humiliating exemplifies the types of BDSM stories I enjoy reading the most.

I found this seventh story of the G-A-Y series enjoyable, and at times, entertaining with the splashes of humor. Those who appreciate light BDSM play or who follow the series will no doubt be happy they read Gay Pride.

Nine-tenths of the Law


Title: Nine-tenths of the Law
Author: L.A. Witt
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-033-8
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Zach thought he found the perfect boyfriend but Nathan showed up and Zach found out he was really just “the other man”.

Nathan can’t believe his boyfriend is cheating on him. When he shows up to surprise Jake and his date, Nathan realizes he’s had enough.

Would you confront the person your partner is cheating with? Just how innocent is the other man? Those are the concepts that drive Nine-tenths of the Law by L.A. Witt. While the premise of the story is interesting, it was the characters that I had a problem with.

Nathan is a lawyer, who finds out his boyfriend of four years is cheating. Zach co-owns the local movie theater; he’s also unwittingly “the other man”. The chemistry is present from the time of Nathan and Zach’s first meeting and it is easy for the reader to see these two as a couple. However, the struggle to overcome the hurt and insecurities that result from their previous relationships with Jake pop up in Nathan and Zach’s current relationship, especially for Nathan.

While it is understandable that he would have trust issues, Nathan’s insecurities almost take over the story and left me wondering how the men could have a future. I was not surprised when Zach finally put his foot down, only shocked that it took so long.

Snared


Title: Snared
Author: JL Merrow
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-562-3
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Englishman Martin Lowrie is on holiday in Scotland. On his way to the Bed and Breakfast where he has a three day reservation, he stops to rescue a wildcat caught in a snare. The next day, Martin meets, and is very attracted to, an Irishman named Calum O’Donnell. Later that night, Martin discovers Calum is the wildcat he rescued.

Snared is a fantastic, as well as humorous, were-cat shifter romance. The spoken language is mild British jargon, which adds to the humor. The main characters have a heartwarming appeal. Martin and Calum personalities’ are well-suited. Martin is a lonely in-the-closet gay man, hiding his true sexuality from his family and co-workers. However, he has a positive attitude in addition to a caring nature. Meeting Calum set into motion a series of events that allowed Martin to experience a freedom he has never known before. Calum has spent his adult life searching for someone who could accept the cat side of his nature. Calum first approached Martin merely to thank him for saving his life, yet Calum soon realized the connection with Martin went beyond gratitude.

JL Merrow’s Snared exhibits emotions ranging from hilarity to heartbreak, along with a sensual love scene. I thoroughly enjoyed Snared. I hope there will be more of these amazing characters in the future.

Finding Zach


Title: Finding Zach
Author: Rowan Speedwell
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-447-3
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

At age fifteen, Zach Tyler, son of one of the world’s wealthiest software tycoons, was kidnapped from the airport in Costa Rica. During the years of his captivity, he’s been treated like a dog - starved and emotionally and physically abused by a sadist drug lord. It’s only by chance that he’s rescued from the Venezuelan jungle; hundreds of miles from the spot where he was abducted. After months of extensive physical and mental rehab, now twenty year-old Zach works slowly to rebuild his life…or at least tries to.

David, his childhood best friend and the person he fell in love with, has spent the intervening years filled with remorse and guilt at what happened. No man…no relationship has a chance of succeeding; the memory of his love for Zach coloring his feelings. When he discovers the boy he thought long dead is, in fact, alive, he’s overjoyed but that quickly turns to pain when Zach rejects him.

Two years later, David returns home and soon he and Zach set about mending their wounded relationship. If they can get past their painful history to build a strong present, they have a chance at future happiness but David doesn’t know everything that happened to the man he loves and discovering the truth just might destroy their fragile trust.

Finding Zach is the first book by author Rowan Speedwell that I’ve had the pleasure of reading and it won’t be my last. When I read the blurb, I was hopeful that I’d be treated to a well written and thought provoking story of rescue, redemption and hope and I’m happy to say I wasn’t disappointed, because it’s all that and more. Please be aware that the first portion of the story deals with Zach and what happened to him while in captivity is gut-wrenchingly painful and filled with angst, depressions, self loathing and hopelessness. Just hang in there—the feeling will quickly pass, making way for a tale of hope, caring and love.

I have to commend the author for picking such a tough subject and for creating a great character in the tortured and abused Zach. His struggle to get his life back is handled with realism, creativity and emotional pain. David makes a nice loving counterpoint to the scared and angst-filled Zach. There’s nothing he won’t do to make the love of his life happy. That’s true of the supporting characters—Zach’s parents Richard and Jane, and David’s mother, Anna. There are even a few old friends that help round out the plot and help to move the story forward—and the PTSD is handled lightly to keep the story from getting maudlin and depressed.

My only real complaint is the speed at which the ending and its issues are wrapped up. After spending so many pages getting to that point, it didn’t make any sense to me to handle the news reporter, MIT and David and Zach’s happily-ever-after so quickly.

Survival Games


Title: Survival Games
Author: J.E. Taylor
Publisher: eXcessica Publishing
Publisher URL: http://excessica.com/
ISBN: 1449958923
Genre: {M/F} Erotic Thriller
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Ty Aris has obeyed every order his step-brother Frank has given him until he grabs Jessica from a parking lot and his life changes forever because of it. He has produced the most graphic black market porn and snuff films ever published. Now all he thinks about is how he can free Jessica - before she becomes the next star - and himself from the hell they are in. Even though she hates him after what had been done to her, he still wants to help her get away.

Jessica Connor, working mother and wife, wakes up in a nightmare that is beyond anything imaginable and at the moment, there is nothing she can do about it. She refuses to give in to his demands, pleas or his desire for her and yet a physical bond is formed between them. The sexual abuse that she gets from the brother, whenever Ty is absent, shakes her badly but the threats of death for Ty by the brother, keeps her from telling him what happened.

Survival Games is the most graphic thriller I have ever read and the first in the Games Trilogy. It’s a good thing I am not weak at heart, as while reading this book, there were a few times it was hard to continue. I was extremely proud of Jessica’s determination to live and her vow to get back to her children. She really fought hard not to be submissive and I believe that would have ended her life much quicker. The real villain, Frank, is heartless towards everyone and that included his own brothers, who he had no problem using or destroying.

There is so much to take in with the physical and mental abuse done to the tortured victims - it was sickening - and knowing they wouldn’t be leaving said there was no hope to begin with. I won’t say what was done, but be prepared if you decide to read this story. It was surprising at how they covered up each crime, as was Ty’s knowledge of computers and other equipment available to him. Ms. Taylor, you have done a fantastic job of describing how dramatic one’s life can be, and I look forward to reading the next book in this series.

Wednesday, June 9, 2010

Crossroads: Shadowland


Title: Crossroads: Shadowland
Author: Keta Diablo
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-956-3
Genre: {M/M} Mystery, Suspense, Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Rand has held up his end of the bargain and now he wants Frank to hold up his. Frank’s latest case means traveling to the Big Easy and in turn, bringing Rand into the fold as a part of the PI business. Rescuing two young boys from an angry ghost is making Frank uneasy. He’s never come across such a strong paranormal force and doesn’t want Rand caught in the crossfire. However, Rand is tired of Frank’s overprotective nature and it leads to events that could change their lives forever.

Crossroads: Shadowland is the fourth story of the Crossroads series. Keta Diablo’s characters are evolving with each new tale. Frank is allowing more of his emotions to surface. While I know he’s not comfortable with expressing his love, his protectiveness and willingness to give Rand what he needs says a great deal about the big man. Rand is still young, as you could tell with some of his reactions to Frank’s protectiveness, but he is starting to come into his own. I believe when Frank starts to see him as a mature adult he will loosen the reins some, but will still try to protect the man he loves.

Traveling to New Orleans for this story was a nice change of setting. I loved the secondary characters, and the plot of Crossroads: Shadowland. I have no doubt there is more to come just from the ending of this tale, but the question that I was left with is will Rand and Frank stay together? I’m anxiously awaiting the next installment to get that answer and to see if the events have left Frank more protective or if he will see the error of his ways.

In and Out


Title: In and Out
Author: L.B. Gregg
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60168-288-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Holden has been stuck in his home for over two years but when he gets a new gardener, things start to change and Holden wonders if it’s time to get out.

In and Out is the latest addition to the Men of Smithfield series. It is also my favorite. The characters in this story grabbed me from the beginning. Holden has suffered from agoraphobia ever since he was humiliated on national television by his then-lover and business partner. After the one time world traveler and adventurer withdrew from public life, he never expected to leave his home again. The author did a wonderful job bringing across the frustration and problems Holden faces due to his fear of going outside. Since this story is told from Holden’s point of view, we are treated to a variety of snarky opinions regarding those in the community of Smithfield, as well as those who invade his home.

Adam is a slightly shy, innocent young man who also happens to be a felon from the wrong side of the tracks. Trying to improve himself, Adam gets a job as Holden’s gardener. The author’s ability to bring Adam’s home-life to life makes it easy for the reader to understand Adam’s desire for change. When Adam finds a body on the property, the fun really begins.

The author has loaded this story with many wonderful secondary characters that will leave the reader wondering “who done it”. As the story primarily centers in and around Holden’s home, things, at times, almost have a comedy of errors feel to them. This story also reminded me of an old time Agatha Christie movie.

With a combination of great characters and intriguing story line, In and Out will keep you entertained until the last page.

Silent Lodge


Title: Silent Lodge
Author: Lynn Lorenz
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-583-8
Genre: [M/M/M] Historical
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Six months after the death of his wife and child in the birthing bed, Peter is still devastated - barely able to function. He’s quiet, sober and reclusive and goes about his daily routine only because of his dedication and loyalty to his Duke. He’s not interested in another woman and even though he, Duke Logan and his lover, Drake were briefly involved in the past, Peter has no physical desire for them. He doesn’t feel he deserves the happiness.

Logan and Drake are worried about their old friend and devise a mission to give him purpose again. They send him to the far northern border of Logan’s land on a fact-finding mission to determine if Duke Weathers intends to invade Marden. When Peter arrives at the lodge he’s supposed to use as his base of operations, he finds Arvel, the fragile, young, deaf/mute caretaker being assaulted by several village bullies. In Arvel, he also finds what he needs—a reason to live and when Arvel’s lover Gareth returns, all three men become lovers.

With his mission in mind, Peter is finally forced to return home, where he finds Caelin, a young, scarred man who becomes his special lover. Setting up a full-fledged outpost at the lodge means Peter must once again leave Marden. The question is whether his new lover, Caelin will join him when he leaves and make a life at the outskirts of the kingdom.

Silent Lodge by author Lynn Lorenz is the fourth release in her ongoing series, In The Company of Men and while it can be read as a stand-alone, for continuity of character relationships and understandings, it would benefit the reading public to maintain the written order.

Once again, Ms. Lorenz has given her readers a story with great heart and chemistry and encased it in a well-written and plotted story that flows at a believable, even pace from beginning to end. To that, she’s added a good emotional and physical connection between Arvel, Peter and Gareth and she’s done it with a bantering, witty dialogue, mixed in with historical realism. These men are great together, and despite the differences in the backgrounds, their relationship works for them.

The point of view shifts seamlessly from man to man, allowing the reader to get a better understanding of what each man is thinking and feeling. This is particularly important when dealing with Arvel, due to his deaf/mute status, and frankly I love that Ms. Lorenz took the chance on writing her character with such a physical limitation—and she did it well.

Lastly—I love the cover, but then all the covers for this series have shown not only talent, but a good sense of what the story is about and what the characters look like. All in all, you can’t go wrong with this latest series release.

Repercussions


Title: Repercussions
Author: Auburnimp
Publisher: Shadowfire Press
Publisher URL: http://www.shadowfirepress.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Uriel has defected and no longer trusts his brothers. His outlook not only hurt those who love him, but also has caused a situation that could be disastrous if it’s not rectified. Lucifer doesn’t want anyone to act on emotion and plans to discover what is behind Uriel’s new views. A key piece of information falls into Ariel’s lap; unfortunately he’s in no position to share his knowledge with the others. Will they put the pieces together before it’s too late? Is the enemy stronger than they once thought?

Repercussions, the fourth story of the Angels and Demons series, deals with revelations about the plot, who’s behind it, and the incentive leading some to switch teams. It’s nice to see that not everyone is falling for the smoke and mirrors. Some of the facts surprised me. However; they explain the motivation behind causing the duress. There was a substantial amount of information within the story, and I read the tale twice to ensure I didn’t miss any important facts. Overall, Repercussions laid the foundation for what should be a spectacular ending.

Scent of Persuasion


Title: Scent of Persuasion
Author: Nikki Duncan
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-994-6
Genre: {M/F} Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Actress Kami Evans needs to know why her stepbrother, Channing, would take his own life when he had so much to live for. She decides to take a job with Madam V’s, an escort service used by Channing, hoping to find the culprit responsible for his death. When she walks into Breck’s office for her date with him, her senses are so overwhelmed with emotions, she has to fight against them to do the job she was sent there to do.

Breck Lawson is FBI, working undercover as CEO for his best friend Trevor, who’s in a coma and he’s not finding any information on why Trevor was targeted. His date that evening with Kami, for the fundraiser that had been planned by Trevor, turns out to be more than he expected, because she wowed him. He finds that he wants more from her than a one night stand. What he discovers is that Kami is more than meets the eye and she has a lot of information connected to his investigation. Breck is torn between keeping her close to him because of the investigations and turning off his feelings for her.

Now that I have read Scent of Persuasion, I feel more a part of this series because this is close to real life of the FBI. This is the second book in the Sensory Ops and it is a surprise to know that Breck would be the next character to find love. The one thing I was confused about, until almost the end of the book, is who the villain was and it lead me to believe that there is more than one. It made reading this story more enjoyable with the banter from the whole team.

Ms. Duncan has written an enjoyable story and I am looking forward to who will be her next character falling in love. It was very ingenious of Ms. Duncan to include the DNA testing and mind control, which helps the reader to realize how powerful the villains could become, if not discovered. I truly enjoyed reading this book and am hoping to read about the twins next.

Sounds to Die By


Title: Sounds to Die By
Author: Nikki Duncan
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-677-8
Genre: {M/F} Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Kieralyn Beckett is the new agent on the FBI team and like most rookies, puts too much effort into being able to handle the job. She has been contacted by her college roommate via email and now her friend is missing. What Kieralyn needs is an expert in the field of communications, Ian Cabrera, to listen to the garbled recording, decipher it, and tell her what information he can. Her instincts tell her to not get involved with Ian, but her body has other ideas.

NSA “listener” Ian Cabrera finds enjoyment in analyzing data for the company and he’s secretly searching for his lost father, a missing CIA operative. He was blinded as a child, while rescuing his younger sister from a fire, and now has honed his other senses to be more able to cope in society. From the first time he speaks with Kieralyn, he knows he wants more from her than just a meeting. His willingness to let her lead the way, only makes him want to protect her more.

Ms. Duncan really did a great job writing Sounds to Die By because wanting to know how Ian and Kieralyn would make it through the book alive, definitely kept my attention and I wasn’t disappointed either! This is the first book in the Sensory Ops series, and I am already looking forward to seeing who the next story will be about.

All of the characters play an important part and are needed because of their connection through the numerous agencies. There were times when I wanted to shake Kieralyn for being so gung-ho. The background given on the characters said a lot, in regards to how they felt about each other, and that was a plus for me. Ms. Duncan put a lot of effort in showing how a blind person can function, and gave me a peek into how it could be done. The plot was well formed and had me trying to figure out things along with Ian and Kieralyn. This was an enjoyable story for me.

The Landlord


Title: The Landlord
Author: Jeff Erno
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-545-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

College student Mark Matheson supplements his income by cleaning houses. Mark meets Aaron Culver when he is hired to clean Aaron’s apartment. Days before graduation, Mark lands an entry level journalist job at the newspaper office and is looking for an apartment. Aaron owns apartment complexes plus has an available apartment above his own. The only problem is that Mark has a serious attraction to Aaron. Conversely, Mark is not the only one faced with temptation.

The Landlord is an emotionally charged relationship between not-quite-believable characters. The premise is that Mark and Aaron are confused about their sexuality; however Aaron’s character does not support this assertion. Mark is an extremely shy man who thinks he may be gay but isn’t altogether sure until he has interactions with Aaron. Because of his timid personality, Mark meekly follows Aaron’s directives, as well as runs from problems rather than deal with the issues.

Aaron has a narcissistic personality. He presents a successful, well-dressed businessman image to his clients, yet he is content to live in a dirty apartment, paying others to clean up his mess. Aaron’s sexual activities are careless, having unprotected sex with his girlfriend the night after sex with Mark. It is only the loss of Mark’s convenient housekeeping and available intimacy, along with facing future parental duties, that prompts Aaron to reveal the truth to his girlfriend, along with making an appeal for Mark’s return.

Jeff Erno has created a pleasant story with a mild BDSM overtone plot.

Taming Black Dog Four


Title: Taming Black Dog Four
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-011-0
Genre: {M/M} {M/M/M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

The men of Black Dog Four knew their team started out as an experiment to see if lovers made better teammates than friends did. Those months brought about a closeness that surprised them all but in the end, the death of their client ripped through the team and left them all reeling from the event.

The team is brought back together to guard Addy Constentine. The desire, attraction and love lurk below the surface for each of them. Will they give love a second chance or decide their love affair should remain a fond memory?

Taming Black Dog Four is the latest release of the Bodyguards in Love series. Carol Lynne has a great deal going on in this installment. Not only do we finally get the details of the past relationship shared by Black Dog Four, we also gain perspective on two other relationships. The story is a mixture of duplicity, desire and danger. The team has a strong bond and connection. Addy was more like a big sister than a client, which helped the men feel comfortable enough to explore their relationship. Taming Black Dog Four ends with the mention of a new character, whose background only leads me to believe he is going to have one heck of a story in the near future. Those who have enjoyed the series won’t be disappointed by the latest release. Pick up a copy and enjoy.

Sanctuary Unbound


Title: Sanctuary Unbound
Author: Moira Rogers
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-046-8
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Painful past failures have kept lumberjack vampire Adam Dubois hidden in his cabin home deep in the Great North Woods for eight decades. His life takes a hundred-eighty degree turn when he learns his old friends; the Alpha pair of Red Rock Pass, Sam and Gavin, need his help. Traveling into an unknown situation brings him face-to-face with his past and a female werewolf who will change his life forever.

Life is lonely for Pack doctor Cindy Shepherd, and she’s in need of a little affection and companionship but unfortunately, available men are a little limited in Red Rock Pass until vampire Adam Dubois arrives. She’s surprised at the intensity of their attraction, and more than willing to share in a little time together between the sheets—after all, it’s only sex. Isn’t it? What she doesn’t realize is that her vampire lover will dredge up painful memories, opening old wounds that haven’t completely healed.

Neither Cindy or Adam ever expected their casual relationship to turn serious, but when he learns that mistakes of his past are at the root of what is threatening his friends, he’s determined to set things right. Through it all he knows Cindy - his Cindy - will stand beside him in defense of all they hold dear but unfortunately, it might not be enough and they could both wind up dead.

Sanctuary Unbound is the forth release in Moira Rogers ongoing series Red Rock Pass and while it could be read as a stand-alone, it would be easier to understand the plotline and character relationships if they are read in order.

I admit it. I have a thing for stories with vampires so I was thrilled when I discovered that vamp Adam Dubois was the male lead in this newest series release. He was interesting when first introduced in the last book, but learning more about him and what makes him tick has made this story a pleasure to read. Watching him change his rather aloof attitude and become an integral part of life in Red Rock Pass was nice to see, as was the renewing of his old friendship with Alpha pair, Sam and Gavin.

Becoming a trusted and active member of the werewolf community might have been difficult, if not for the intense physical and emotional attachment he and sexy doc Cindy develop. Their chemistry is fast, intense, unexpected and not to be ignored. In truth, these two have enough emotional baggage to sink an aircraft carrier, but through it all they persevere, their new and budding relationship coming out stronger in the end. And did I mention the fire and passion these two people generate? It’s hot!

The entire story is enjoyable, but the scenes that stand out for me are those near the end where Adam is forced to confront the evil vampire who has threatened the Red Rock sanctuary from the very beginning. Even while Cindy stands nearby in defense of the vampire she’s come to love, at times you don’t which way the battle will go, or whether Adam will be destroyed by the power he’s forced to use in defense of his friends. You’ll have to read the book to find out the ending—my lips are sealed.

Ties That Bind




Title: Ties That Bind
Author: Anne Patrick
Publisher: Awe-Struck Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.awe-struck.net/
ISBN: 978-1-58749- 732-2
Genre: {M/F} Romantic Suspense, Paranormal, Mystery
Rating: Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Jo is considered the expert of the experts in profiling serial killers. Her gift allows her to see and feel what a victim feels right before they die and eventually starts getting an idea of what the killer is going to do. Jo goes back to her hometown to help with the murders of decapitated women. She has not been there in almost ten years and is estranged from her mother and older brother.

Austin Garrett took over the position of sheriff after Jo’s father died. He is actually from Los Angeles and had hoped, when he moved, he would not have to deal with the kind of murders he is now facing. Austin takes one look a Jo and can’t believe she is actually an FBI profiler. After some rocky times during this case, he and Jo eventually fall in love with each other.

Anyone that loves intense mystery and suspense stories is going to love Ties That Bind. The author has a way of keeping you on your toes as you read this book. There are so many twists that you will have a difficult time guessing who the killer is. Ms. Patrick keeps you guessing until you get close to the end of the book. I actually guessed wrong, but the man could have been the killer from the clues the author dropped.

This story has a lot of romantic and subtle Christian undertones but they don’t detract from the mystery. I could not put this one down. The evolvement of the relationship that Jo and Austin have is a realistic journey that we have all had at one time. Jo’s relationship with her family also adds to some of the stress she has. I am looking forward to reading other mysteries by this author. Ties That Bind is one book to be placed on every mystery lover’s bookshelf to be read more than once.