Wednesday, September 1, 2010

Karma Chameleon


Title: Karma Chameleon
Author: Willa Okati
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-851-8
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal, Shape-shifter
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Qualities we usually seek in a lover or best friend are quite different from those Arden possesses. He’s shameless, with a sex drive impressive to nymphomaniacs and lucrative gigolos alike. However, when you look underneath his crass exterior Arden’s heart is waiting for love…if it could sew up his mouth long enough to grab someone’s interest.

Shavey enjoys being with Arden. The two have used various areas of the apartment vigorously during their sessions, (oh if the walls could talk). And even though Arden squashes every attempt the big man makes at addressing his true feelings, Shavey refuses to give up. Unfortunately for Arden, his option to run has expired. A chameleonic shape-shifting curse puts Arden just where Shavey wants him. It’s time for Arden to face the facts… life is better with someone to love.

In Karma Chameleon, we get a full view of Arden at his best and worse. Arden isn’t used to people loving him with all his quirks. He’s come to expect others to leave him high and dry at his lowest moments. I believe that’s why he acts out at times. “Why wait… let me help you to the door” seems to be his mental train of thought. Shavey enjoys being a pillar of strength for others can lean on. The man has that patience of mother’s with small children and those with pets who just seem to enjoy messing up the carpet.

They weren’t beating down love’s door, especially after witnessing their best buds find happiness in each other’s arms. I’ll be the first to admit that they are the perfect couple. Shavey needs someone to protect, even if the harm comes from their own silly actions. And Arden, he needs Shavey to keep him from harming himself, the mischievous devil.

From their overzealous sex that could put a Sweating to the Oldie's video to shame, to the zingers always readily available to keep me laughing, there wasn’t anything about this story I didn’t love. Those who’ve enjoyed the Tomcat Jones series will find themselves pleased with this latest installment and wondering when the crazy cat will have his own tale.

Driftwood


Title: Driftwood
Author: Harper Fox
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-60928-157-1
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Dr. Tom Penrose suffers from a severe case of PTSD, due to his time in Afghanistan. All the doctor wants, when he is not working at the local hospital, is to be left alone. Between his numerous neighbors and his new infatuation with Flynn Summers, he does not seem to be getting his wish.

Driftwood is an intense story of two men, Tom and Flynn, both suffering from PTSD. In many ways, the two men are a lot alike because they both basically ignore their problems, including the self-destructive issues, they have as a result of the PTSD. Although the men suffer for different reasons, both display aspects of the disease that come across realistically, as does the struggle one of the secondary characters face as he tries to get military benefits for his PTSD. The strength in which the author was able to portray the men’s struggles lead me to believe the author did one heck of a job researching the issue. While the connection between the two men is strong, it is not always a healthy one. After some introspection by Tom and Flynn, followed by some minor disasters, the author pulls these two slightly damaged men together in a way that will more than satisfy the reader.

Although I ended up enjoying the story, I did find it to be dry at times, especially in the beginning. Once the relationship between Tom and Flynn started to develop, the story really took off. I will be looking for more stories by Harper Fox and suggest you do the same.

A Game of Skills


Title: A Game of Skills
Author: T.C. Blue
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-257-2
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

It’s dangerous working as an agent for the Farmingdale Gentleman’s Club, an organization whose services are offered to the highest bidder. When his latest mission goes awry, Simon doesn’t expect to be rescued by a man he doesn’t know and a child who seems to know things she shouldn’t, but he is. He also doesn’t expect or want the sizzling attraction he feels for his male rescuer, Morgan, either.

Morgan has his best friend’s child, Rico, with him and they’ve been on the run from a group of people bent on taking the unusually talented young girl captive and they’re willing to kill to get her. He doesn’t need the complication of helping a dangerous stranger but Morgan can’t deny their chemistry and developing feelings for Simon is the worst thing that could happen.

Between Simon’s life as an agent and the group of crazies chasing them, Morgan’s life is totally screwed up. Can he and Simon keep Rico safe and make a life together, or does he keep running and hope he can stay ahead of their pursuers?

A Game of Skills is book two in the Farmingdale Gentleman's Club series. Be aware that while it would be helpful to have read the first book, you can read this one as a standalone.

There’s a lot going on in this well-plotted action suspense book and it all starts off with a bang when Morgan discovers he’s being followed and he, Ellie and Rico end up in the middle of a shoot out, fighting for their lives. This is one example of the fast-paced over-the-road adventures of Morgan as he struggles to stay ahead of the people determined to turn Rico into some kind of lab experiment. I loved how much Morgan cared for Rico and the extremes he was willing to go through to keep her safe. He’s a great primary character—he’s ex-military, strong, smart, loyal, dedicated, determined and he’s devoted to and willing to kill for this special child that he loves like his own.

Morgan and Simon have an undeniable chemistry from the first moment they meet, but it doesn’t stop them from going their separate ways and then spending weeks apart, thinking of each other, either. I loved the extremes Simon is willing to go through to find Morgan and Rico and of course, he and his team do it just in the nick of time. The rescue allows the author the time needed to develop the relationship of the reunited lovers into something they want but are both scared to death of. They’re plenty hot together, but don’t count out cute and endearing too.

Rico’s a great character and is truly the glue that pulls the plot together—and not just between Morgan and Simon, but later with Patrice, the head of the Gentleman’s Club. Allowing Patrice to develop feeling for Rico changes her personality; it makes her human and likable, causing her to make out-of-character decisions. Ms. Blue did a nice job with the paranormal aspect of Rico’s personality and made the special child she is, even more special when the extent of her psychic talent is revealed.

Yes, the passion and growing love between Morgan and Simon is horribly important to the ongoing story, but the paranormal twists and finding the people responsible for tracking Rico ultimately turns into the backbone of the story. And it’s here that that the unexpected turns just keep coming and coming. (And no, I’m not telling you anything else!) Let’s just say that the villain is someone you’ll find reprehensible, cold and calculating, and like most bad guys, will get their just desserts.

By the end of the story, it’s seems like the author will be making changes at the Gentleman’s Club and I for one can’t want to see what’s going to happen in the next release in this thrilling adventure series. I hope to see more of Morgan, Rico and Simon in the future.

To Take Up The Sword


Title: To Take Up The Sword
Author: Brynna Curry
Publisher: Lyrical Press
Publisher URL: http://www.lyricalpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61650-190-7
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

After one of his cases turns out not to his liking, Special Agent Gabriel Spiller is taking some much needed time away from work, reevaluating his position with the FBI. All of the death threats he’s received since the “not guilty” verdict haven’t helped much, either. He lost his partner, Serena Roarke while searching for some missing diamonds and now her sister, Leannan has found him.

Leannan O’Neal hears her dead sister, Serena, tell her that if she was ever in trouble, find Gabriel to protect her. Leannan is a school teacher in a small town, with a boring life, but finds herself on the run and knows that she must trust her sister, in order to survive the villain’s threats. Lea ends up helping Gabe in a shootout but killing someone affects her in a negative way. It’s not something she normally does, and having to do it is not sitting well with her.

To Take Up The Sword is a quickie. It’s an intriguing and enjoyable tale that kept me reading all the way through to find out how this story would end. Ms. Curry wrote a distinctively well plotted story that lead the two main characters on a chase across several states and the villain is indeed heartless to accomplish his goals. I was a little surprised at the betrayal from a person close to Gabe, but did understand why it was necessary towards the end of the book.

Gabe and Lea learn to trust each other quickly in order to survive the weather, bullets and bombs, along with exploring their mutual attraction, which blossomed into satisfied need for the both of them. I have requested the first book, to have a better understanding of the characters and their history. I really enjoyed reading this story, and this is my first from this author. This is the second book in the Elemental Magic series, and I am wondering who the next story will be about.

Hot Rod


Title: Hot Rod
Author: G.A. Hauser
Publisher: The G.A. Hauser Collection
Publisher URL: http://www.authorgahauser.com/
ISBN: 9781453624852
Genre: {M/M} Erotic Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

After ten years in prison, Rod Reynolds is about to reclaim his life. Being wrongfully convicted and sentenced was only the beginning of the hellish decade. The acts he performed to remain safe are ingrained in his every waking thought leaving Rod to wonder if he will ever enjoy sex again, until he meets Dr. Foley Russell.

Foley has his own demons to conquer. The war vet has an onslaught of nightmares detailing the events of being a doctor on the frontline. He sees a kindred spirit in Rod. More importantly, he sees a man who needs him as much as he needs Rod.

The events leading to Rod’s imprisonment lead those around him to rally for justice. After a decade spent in misery, will Karma grant Rod both vindication and love?

G.A. Hauser has quickly climbed to the top of my favorite authors list, thanks to her latest release Hot Rod. Rod is your average hard working man, who trusted the system and was betrayed in the process. Handsome Doctor Foley is a patient man, with the capacity to love unconditionally. The two men make a breathtaking couple. The gentle reassurances Foley supplied to help Rod reawaken his passion made him likeable.

Hot Rod is a fast-paced well plotted read. From the characters to the setting, the story is perfectly packaged and will leave readers begging for more. Those who are fans will be pleased and new comers will add this sensational author to their “must read” list.

My Summer of Wes


Title: My Summer of Wes
Author: Missy Welsh
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-833-4
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Malcolm was your typical geek in school, which of course made him the target of bullies. While he may have had to put up with the beatings and name calling, at least he always knew they were wrong about his being gay. Then he meets Wes.

My Summer of Wes definitely belongs in the coming of age category. Malcolm has just graduated from high school and he could not be happier. Unfortunately, the treatment he received at the hand of bullies, as well as the neglect from his parents, left him with a few insecurities. Wes is an openly gay, 24 year old mechanic, whose passion is restoring old cars. The opening scenes of this book drew me right in as I watched Wes meeting the bullies that had tormented Malcolm, and then a short while later Malcolm himself. Malcolm’s reaction to Wes’ openness and his growing confusion over his own sexuality come through clearly and realistically. The author uses Wes’ maturity and openness to show Malcolm that it is important to be true to yourself. I loved that the author allowed Malcolm to find his way naturally without any pressure from Wes, while at the same time having Wes by his side. The moment in which Malcolm realizes he is indeed gay had me chuckling. Though there are a few rough times, this is basically a sweet romance, and one that I will be re-reading again.

Out of the Darkness


Title: Out of the Darkness
Author: Kate Sherwood
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-555-5
Genre: {M/M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Leaving his old life behind and moving to California has been hard on Dan Wheeler and it has taken months for his world to smooth out and for him to get comfortable in his new home. He’s making a life with lovers Evan and Jeff, but it’s hard figuring out the dynamics of a threesome when two of those three have been together for years. When the relationship works, it’s wonderful—they laugh and have fun together but when it doesn’t, Dan thinks he’s crazy for getting involved with the established couple. He thinks about running.

It’s not just the newness of his relationship with Evan and Jeff causing Dan problems. He’s still struggling with the death of his long-term lover Justin and whether he deserves to be happy without him. Then there’s Evan and his crazy jealousy that starts to make even Jeff uncomfortable. Jeff has his own problems too. He’s the oldest of the trio and is still afraid he can’t keep up with his partners either in or out of bed in the long run. Despite the problems, misunderstandings and pain they’re going through, Dan cares for his partners. He just has to decide whether he’d be happier with or without them in his life.

Out of the Darkness is a sequel to Dark Horse and takes up almost immediately where the first release ended, so consequently the books need to be read in the order written. The first book introduced the characters, relationships and huge backstory of Dan, Evan and Jeff and if you don’t read it, I’m afraid you’ll be hopelessly lost. That goes for the numerous secondary characters that filter in and out of the story. Most were introduced previously and play varying degrees of plot importance, but for the most part, who they are really isn’t explained in Out of the Darkness so take it from me, read Dark Horse first.

Dan continues to be the focal point of this relationship, but I’m happy to say there isn’t as much angst and emotional pain as in the previous release. This one shows the three having a good time together—having fun—laughing, going out, meeting friends and in general, being normal. That’s not to say that Dan still isn’t being a bit wishy/washy and I have to admit there were times I wondered if he was ever going to get his feelings straightened out. Still, Ms. Sherwood did a great job writing Evan and Jeff as understanding and loving men willing to give Dan the time he needed.

I loved that Ms. Sherwood took the time for the men to realize that there was more to their relationship than sex and that they needed to slow down, date and get to know each other as people, not just lovers. These scenes are very nicely done and showed not only how much Dan, Evan and Jeff cared for each other, but how they handled their sexual frustration. These guys want their relationship to work but there were still times I was left wondering whether they could get past their difficulties and make a workable decision of what they wanted and who they wanted to be with.

The epilogue was a nice addition to the story, wrapping up a few of my questions and letting me know that these loving men could be happy together. FYI-You can find a few additional scenes located on the author’s website that you might want to check out. I’d love to see a story revolving around Dan’s best friend Chris.

Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Obsidian: What You Wish For 2


Title: Obsidian: What You Wish For 2
Author: Alex Jacobs
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-987-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, BDSM
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Ever since the journey of discovery into his sexuality led him into the arms of Nicol, Jared Cross has never been happier. He may now realize that he was just going through the motions in previous relationships but his eyes are only beginning to open to the delights of relenting to Nicol’s powerful aura. Both men are learning what the other wants and needs from a partner but before they can start developing the natural order of their relationship and take things to the next intriguing level, Jared is hurt. Nicol instantly rushes to his lover’s side but things get complicated when Jared’s family turns up. Jared doesn’t think he is ready to face up to all that he is publicly just yet but with Nicol in the same room as his family, answers are demanded. Jared and Nicol are about to learn just how deeply the connections between family, love, sex and happiness run.

Obsidian: What You Wish For 2 is the sequel to What You Wish For and continues the developing D/s relationship between Jared and Nicol. There is a definite split between two very stirring, emotional subjects in this book. To begin with, the continuing definition of Jared and Nicol’s roles in their relationship takes center stage. I enjoyed reading this as it made me question my own ideas of balance in a relationship. I could also really appreciate the amount of trust and love between the two characters. The delicate balance that exists in Jared and Nicol’s relationship seemed very clear and strong in places but in some instances it came across confused and very fragile.

The focus then revolves around a terrible accident that forces the two parts of Jared’s life to crash violently. This was a surprising direction to take but did force Jared to face up to his true identity. The behavior of some members of Jared’s family was too realistic for my liking and their ignorance wasn’t enjoyable to read, although I guess it wasn’t supposed to be. The connection between Jared and Nicol was heartwarming to read as it was strengthened in the face of hostility and to witness Jared finally coming to terms with who he really is gave a sense of pride and joy. The emotional drama, although a little draining, helped solidify their love. The author has created two very likable characters with a lot of chemistry but the combining of their loving, tender relationship and the D/s exploration hasn’t quite gelled together completely yet.

Possession


Title: Possession
Author: Marteeka Karland
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-470-2
Genre: {M/F}, Sci-Fi
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Diana refuses to call her Darkling to her until her best friend is taken.

Possession is the third book in the Darkling series and continues the stories of those protecting mankind. Each Darkling has a special woman, meant only for him, but it is up to the woman to call him to her. Diana is frustrated and realizes that she has made things difficult between Magnus and herself. Keep ice handy as you read this book. The author kept the dialogue between them going fast and furious and kept me waiting with bated breath about how they might resolve the main issue between them. This one will be read again.

Home


Title: Home
Author: William Neale
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-213-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Lucas Reed, a Cleveland, Ohio advertising executive, stood by his father’s open coffin, wishing he could have avoided this Southern custom of standing constant vigil beside the dearly departed. Lucas had been banished from his boyhood home for the past five years after he had told his father he was gay. Finally, only one person remained in line - Rogan James, the former high school bully and now Moorestown, Tennessee deputy chief of police who had once made Lucas's life miserable. Lucas was expecting Rogan to hurl one of his trademark insults or taunts. However, Rogan surprises Lucas with a long overdue apology.

Home is a well constructed love story with developed characters. The storyline illustrates the painful rejection by some of the small-minded Baptists residing in Moorestown. When Rogan’s sexuality is exposed, guys who used to go fishing with Rogan now have something else to do when he ask them. He no longer gets invited to poker nights or bowling. Rogan hid his true desires for Lucas by having sex with lots of girls. Rogan has actually loved Lucas for years except he was afraid of social intolerance and remained in the closet. Lucas was attracted to Rogan. However, he could not put up with Rogan’s harassments. Adding another layer of drama is a Moorestown newspaper reporter who is secretly obsessed with Rogan. In the reporter’s delusional mind, Rogan belongs to him and Lucas is an interloper.

What I found impressive is that Home expresses the messages that love does not have a gender plus being gay has nothing to do with a person’s ability to do a job well. William Neale has created a fantastic romance saga that I greatly enjoyed.

Summer Song


Title: Summer Song
Author: Louise Blaydon
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-453-4
Genre: {M/M} Historical
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

When Kit O’Reilly returns home after a summer spent away with family, he doesn’t expect anything to have changed. He’s looking forward to seeing his best friend, Billy Bronner, again. Billy and Kit had grown up together and were more like brothers than friends so when Billy doesn’t react to his return quite as expected, Kit starts to investigate.

Billy thought his life was pretty perfect; the all American dream guy who could make any girl weak at the knees with his winning smile and buff body stuffed into ridiculously tight jeans. He is the captain of the high school football team and can easily impress any stuffy teacher with his winning smile and cool demeanor. He was feeling a little down about having to spend the summer without Kit but all that changed when he met Leonard Nachman.

Billy seems to hit it off with Leonard immediately and before he knows it, he’s spending every spare minute in the intriguing new guy’s company. Swimming at the beach, talking on the phone or just hanging out in each other’s room, Billy has never experienced such a connection with another human being. With deepening feelings that Billy decides are too strong to ignore, he soon starts to dread the end of summer. He also knows deep down that no one would ever understand how things have changed, not even Kit. Kit thinks he’s being left behind and Billy doesn’t know how to fix things. He always seemed so in control of things but Billy better think carefully before he makes his next move or he could lose everything important to him.

Summer Song is written with a great deal of energy, encapsulating the spirit of youth and adventure. The use of language adds to the energy and also creates a rich, 1950’s setting. The perspective changes a lot between the three main characters at a good pace but it was nice to see supporting characters get a voice near the end of the book, to keep the style fresh. I really got a sense of connecting to the characters, especially Leonard, but this did take a little getting used to as being inside these young men’s heads was quite exhausting! There was the odd occasion when I couldn’t keep track of whose perspective the writing had switched to but this didn’t happen often. The plot really captivated me. The complexities of the characters’ relationships were a joy to read and this was the true strength of the book. I wasn’t really expecting the little twist at the very end but I think readers will be happy with the way things were wrapped up.

Something New


Title: Something New
Author: Cameron Dane
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-824-2
Genre: {M/M/F} Suspense
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Abby Gaines hasn’t invested her heart in others since the day she was left orphaned after her parent’s brutal murder. Being dumped in the foster care system, abandoned by those who knew her family and the justice systems inability to convict the man identified as the culprit, has left Abby with little faith. Her daily life takes a turn for the worse when dreams of the eventful day come back to haunt her. When it becomes too much to bear, Abby calls on the two men she knows will help without a second thought, Rodrigo Santiago and Braden Crenshaw.

Braden knew it would be a matter of time for Abby to ask for assistance. He’s carries a flame for the red-head that burns as bright as the one he carries for Rodrigo. This dilemma gives the three the perfect opportunity to clear up a murder mystery while pursuing their mutual attraction. And while he knows Abby may be willing, he’s unsure if Rodrigo will be as open-minded when it comes to loving a man and allowing him to enter his life.

Rodrigo has a great deal going on with his own life, thanks to the relationship he’s trying to forge with his father, but that doesn’t mean he’s willing to turn his back on Braden and Abby. In fact, he’s never been attracted to a man, and Braden seems to pull a need out of him he didn’t know existed.

Will the threesome find the happiness in their adulthood that they missed for so many of their childhood years?

Something New is the latest installment of the A Fostered Love series. Cameron Dane has captivated me once again with her ability to create a story that not only incorporates action, suspense, and a passionate relationship amongst her main characters but still leave room to deliver a few powerful messages to her reading audience. Rodrigo and Braden have one thing in common, their ability to put the welfare of the ones they love above all else. Their differences add a balance to the relationship that will ensure Abby is never bored. Even with the haunting past looming over Abby’s head, she’s no wilting flower and can stand toe-to-toe with these two outstanding men. With their Alpha male mentalities, she couldn’t have been written any other way. I would have to say each character equally impressed me with what they brought to this story, but the one who touched my heart the most was Braden. He would go to any length to see them happy, and was willing to do it secretly. He didn’t need or want praise for his actions, he just wanted his lovers to smile and be content.

Their interaction liquefies the ink on the pages; I could feel their heat licking my skin with each new scene. And while the sex is explosive, I found myself drawn more to the positive events that occurred in the characters lives. Messages of love, friendship and faith wait your reading pleasure in Something New.

Blue Rose


Title: Blue Rose
Author: Sui Lynn
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-576-0
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Quinn has finally left home for college, yet he worries whether or not he will be able to make enough money to send home while going to classes at the same time. When luck hands him the ideal job, as well as the ideal man, he decides to grab both.

Blue Rose was an interesting story that grabbed my attention from the very beginning. The author created two strong individuals who will eventually bring the reader to tears. Quinn has taken care of his mother and baby sister since the death of his father. Enjoji heads the family business. Both men have strong ties to their families and heavy responsibilities, all of which comes through clearly. Both men also come from Asian backgrounds and the author has peppered the story with a strong Asian influence. The men are drawn to each other from the start, with both the attraction and the commitment they have for each other coming through in such a way that the reader will have no trouble believing in their love. While the beginning of the story almost comes across too sweet, the author certainly makes up for that later in the story. There are some very interesting twists and turns that make sure readers won’t be able to put this book down. Blue Rose is a strongly written story that will earn a spot on many readers’ keeper shelves.

However, one small warning for the reader: There is mention of sexual abuse of a child, and while not a deeply descriptive detail, it may still be uncomfortable for some readers.

Unwanted Desire


Title: Unwanted Desire
Author: Aubrey Ross
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-352-1
Genre: {M/F} BDSM, Shape-shifter
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

With the intention of making the Barbary lions pay for the murder of a wolf, Jizette is kidnapped by the grieving widower. He wants her brother to find out who killed his mate, but Jizette fears she will eventually be killed.

When Kage takes Jizette out of Alpha Colony to hide her from the wolf pack to protect her, he realizes that she is his mate. Both Jizette and Kage are surprised because she is a lion and he is a wolf. The Department of Morphological Affairs (DOMA) went beyond what Alpha Colony had even imagined, based on the information the shape-shifters had.

Unwanted Desire continues the story of the morphs in this third installment in the Alpha Colony series, but with a few twists. The attraction between Kage and Jizette, as well as the chemistry, comes through loud and clear. The relationship between the two is very realistic as it reminds us of some of the issues that people of different ethnic or cultural backgrounds face. I was a little surprised by the resolution between Kage and Jizette, though it was a very realistic one. I could not put this one down as Ms. Ross kept you wondering what would happen as each shifter group tries to find the person responsible for the murder.

Though you can enjoy each story in this series as a stand a-lone, I recommend you read each in order to get the full effect of what is happening in Alpha Colony.

Monday, August 30, 2010

Mysteries & Magick


Title: Mysteries & Magick
Author: Christine McKay
Publisher: Cerridwen Press
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419922695
Genre: {M/F}, Fantasy
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Satyr Vael

Poisoned Magic - 4 Nymphs
Samantha works in a new age store and has been lusting after the sophisticated John for a good long while. When the chance arises, she goes after him--with a bit of magickal help. In magick, however, there are distinct lines one doesn't cross, and Samantha never meant to cross them. Now she must deal with the consequences, which include the attentions of some not-so-savory folks.

Pierce My Heart - 5 Nymphs
Jessie is one of those "fortunate" people who've managed to attract Fate in a less than pleasant way. Sissy (Lachesis, an aspect of Fate) is determined to knock some sense into Jessie with the help of Archangels Michael and Deacon. Can Jessie handle all that Fate has in store?

Mysteries & Magick is a wonderful duet of stories revolving around magick and mayhem. Christine McKay never fails to delight and this novel is no exception. Out of the two stories, I'd have to say Pierce My Heart is probably my favorite, though I loved Poisoned Magic, too.