Saturday, September 25, 2010

Out of Light into Darkness


Title: Out of Light into Darkness
Author: T. A. Chase
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-274-9
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal, Vampire
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Centuries old vampire Andor sees humans as a food source. He has excluded love and relationships from his life, but one man will test those two thoughts and help Andor see him through new eyes.

Sven understands the rules of the compound. While he is attracted to Andor, he refuses to be just another member of the “herd”. Andor’s candidness about his health and desire for Sven help to alleviate some of Sven’s unease. Andor finds himself fighting for his life, to save Sven, and protect his territory. Are the acts too much to expect a blind master vampire to perform?

T. A. Chase’s current release Out of Light into Darkness showcases a not-so-perfect vampire with a physical disability. You could see the internal and external battles Andor fights as he attempts to recover some of his independence. Sven knew how to help Andor cope and encouraged him to focus on his strengths. Their compatibility was evident. After a few scenes I knew Sven could handle the brooding vampire. Sven’s allure is a mixture of determination, gentleness and sass. The combination was lethal to Andor and won him over completely.

Out of Light into Darkness has a pretty good action scene and some erotic moments that leave little doubt that Andor isn’t all “hearts and roses” but he knows how to leave his lover sated.

If you’re looking for a diverse vampire story, pick up a copy of Out of Light into Darkness.

Walking on the Sun


Title: Walking on the Sun
Author: BA Tortuga
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61040-045-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Sonny will do anything to get MJ back, even walk back into hell. Not knowing whether his precious is alive or dead, Sonny can only count on their motley group of friends for help.

Walking on the Sun is the fourth and final story in the Road Trip series. Before reading this book, I went back and re-read the first three. I had forgotten just how much both Sonny and MJ could be poster children for the dysfunctional. I also forgot just how much fun they were. I was once again drawn into their world and by the end of book three, with the intense cliffhanger the author saw fit to leave us with, I was more than ready to start Walking on the Sun.

Ms. Tortuga does not disappoint with this latest installment. MJ and Sonny are joined by their friends Duncan, Cowboy, Neil and Padraic and the characters are just as intense and crazy as ever. The story picks up right where Underpressure ended, so it is necessary to read the books in order. Walking on the Sun is full of action that will keep you reading, as well as intense emotional scenes that will bring you close to tears.

There were times I wondered how this story could be wrapped up so that it did justice to the characters and by the end, I think the author did a wonderful job. While this looks like it is the last story in this series, I hope we will eventually see Sonny and MJ again.

The Swap


Title: The Swap
Author: Devon Rhodes
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-738-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

News of a company layoff unnerves Jim LaRue. Discovering his co-worker Tommy Graves is on the list doesn’t sit well with the big man. Tommy’s new home purchase marks the beginning of him reclaiming his life after a horrendous year. The strain of finding employment would come at the wrong time and make Tommy’s life stressful once again. Jim’s solution is simple. He plans to take Tommy’s place on the list of layoffs.

Tommy is devastated when he discovers Jim is out of work. Jim isn’t just a friend. He’s the man who occupies Tommy’s fantasies. Fear of Jim’s reaction has kept him from expressing his desires. However, one stolen kiss opens the door for the two men.

Tommy hires Jim to assist him with his renovations. Jim is having trouble accepting Tommy as both a boss and a lover. Will the two find a happy middle ground to develop their relationship in, or will Jim’s insecurities get in the way?

Devon Rhodes’ The Swap is part of the multi-author Working Stiffs series. Jim and Tommy are both likeable characters. It was easy to understand their mutual attraction. They complement each other, Tommy’s gentler side mixes well with Jim’s gruff exterior. Jim’s actions were admirable. He considered the state of the economy and still overlooked his own. The sexual energy is tender and caring some moments, while ferocious and passionate at others. I loved the concept and the characters for The Swap and plan to read more books by Devon Rhodes in the future. The fast pace story is a wonderful addition to the Working Stiffs series.

White Out


Title: White Out
Author: Heidi Champa
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-733-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Cameron Phelps is a brilliant young environmental scientist and he’s dedicated to working on finding the cause of global warming. He didn’t expect to be doing his research on a cold and desolate scientific research station in Antarctica but that’s exactly what happens when Avery, the supposed love of Cameron’s life, steals a fellowship he wanted. Then to make his pain even worse, Avery’s final hateful words nearly shreds his heart.

Living with a bunch of strangers at the coldest place on earth takes some getting used to and more than once, Cameron doubts his judgment for agreeing to the six month commitment. That changes when he meets Ryan, an ice driller and five-year veteran of the station. The older man intrigues Cameron and instead of staying safe and warm inside his lab, he suddenly finds himself accompanying the driller outside to investigate the beauty of the brutal frozen landscape. It’s not long before Cameron and Ryan are deeply involved but that doesn’t mean it’s smooth sailing because both men carry around painful emotional baggage that could destroy their new relationship.

White Out is a first for me by author Heidi Champa and it won’t be my last. Let me say that what first attracted me to this story was the unusual location. I never expected to see a romance set in the cold and dangerous wasteland of Antarctica, so finding this 25K novella was a pleasure. It was obvious from the outset that Ms. Champa did her research when it came to the important details of living life safely in the blistering cold world of a scientific station at the bottom of the world. Her descriptions were full-bodied and well-written, making the station and its inhabitants come alive.

Cameron was easy to like from beginning—a nice guy that would make a great best friend or brother and Avery’s treatment of him was horrid. Ms. Champa skillfully shifted his personality in a matter of a few pages and turned him into a villainous character, easy to dislike, for causing our guy Cameron so much pain. Well done, Ms. Champa. The initial meeting between Ryan and Cameron isn’t the fiery chemical reaction typical of many romances but is, instead, a simmer that turns into a full rolling boil over a period of days.

The way this romance unfolded I found a little unusual in that Cameron didn’t more than literally run into Ryan until page 34 and they didn’t have any personal contact until a little later. After that, it was full steam ahead but it was done in such a way that it didn’t feel rushed, which now that I think back on it, I find surprising, so thumbs up Ms. Champa. Anyway, I found this to be an enjoyable afternoon read that kept my attention from the first page to the last.

Love Eternal


Title: Love Eternal
Author: Wayne Mansfield
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-286-7
Genre: {M/M} Vampires
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Evan was fond of walking the streets at night. The night offered him solitude. Evan’s favorite place to walk is The Lane, a tree-lined path where men meet for sex. Evan rarely joined the casual sexual encounters offered there. One night, Evan noticed a man leaning against a tree trunk, the stranger's eyes were cold but beautiful, their gaze piercing and unnerving. Evan had a brief moment of recognition, as if he had gazed into those beautiful eyes before. For days after their first meeting, the handsome stranger haunted Evan's every waking thought. Evan soon discovers that he and the stranger were once lovers a long, long time ago.

Love Eternal is a well written short story. The title says it all, love that transcends death. The storyline reveals the history of the two men, as well as the transformations of each of their lives. The characters are detailed. Evan lives a somewhat morose life that changes when he meets his soul mate again. The love scene is very sensual. Wayne Mansfield has created an impressive saga that I greatly enjoyed.

Shrouded Angel


Title: Shrouded Angel
Author: Shayla Kersten
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419929731
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

As with many of the Virkolans, Patrea has a reason to dislike the Angellum. The loss from years past lingers, leaving Patrea less than eager to form close bonds. One man has gotten past his defenses, his bunkmate Hadreal.

Hadreal is a touch older but has cleaved out a portion of his heart, just for Patrea. In the past, he was reluctant to act on the attraction. New developments between the two have left Hadreal sure the feelings are mutual.

A truth withheld, a battle for life and a surprising discovery will thrust Patrea and Hadreal into each other’s arms. Is it enough to help the attraction grow into something more substantial?

Shrouded Angel is the second story in the Virkola Dreams series. Shayla Kersten does a fantastic job of developing the storyline, thanks to her interesting characters, surprising twists, explosive action scenes and delicious erotic moments. Patrea’s fears are understandable and well illustrated. I felt my heart race a bit each time he came in contact with those who took so much from him. Hadreal is the mate who helps Patrea to begin healing, while providing substance for his sizzling sexual craving. They take their lovemaking seriously, leaving little doubt that two very dominant men are eager to play. The story’s developments leave room for at least two more stories and I’m anxious for the next installment.

Jasper’s Journey


Title: Jasper’s Journey
Author: Lisa Marie Davis
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com
ISBN: 978-1-61581-586-9
Genre: {M/M} Mystery, Suspense
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jasper never planned on going home again. He has good reasons to stay away but when an old acquaintance calls saying his mother needs him, he can’t help but go.

Author Lisa Marie Davis uses some hard hitting topics as the background story in Jasper’s Journey. This is a story that will grab you from the beginning. Both Jasper and Zander are suffering; Jasper, from the tragic events in his childhood and Zander, from survivor’s guilt due to an IED explosion in Iraq. The feelings and struggles these two have, as a result of their issues, come across realistically. I liked how the author was able to work around Jasper’s many issues as she brought these two together.

While some aspects of the mystery are easy to solve right from the beginning, others are not, which will keep you reading till the end. The events surrounding Jasper’s childhood are prevalent to the story, and while the scenes are not overly descriptive, some readers may still have difficulty with them.

If you have not read anything by this author yet then pick up Jasper’s Journey. It is sure to make you a fan.

Satisfying Olympia


Title: Satisfying Olympia
Author: Robin Gideon
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-1-85715-268-8
Genre: {M/F/M} Ménage a trios, Historical-Regency
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Olympia Whyte, a young widow, is returning to London’s haute monde, after being secluded for almost two years in mourning. She’s not sure of herself as she is bombarded by suitors vying for her attention and a few men are more determined than others to have her for themselves. While at an evening dinner, Olympia witnesses her closest friend participating in unbecoming sexual behavior. It shocks her, but doesn’t stop Olympia from watching more than she should and she soon finds herself accosted and in an unwanted sexual encounter with a stranger herself. This creates a series of events beyond her control, leaving her confused and sexually wanting, at the same time.

Colby Beldon, Duke of Tasley and Prince Leland Mallery are two friends who are determined to pursue Olympia and they mean to have her alone or together. These two men find themselves attracted to each other, and Colby is not exactly happy about wanting another man, because of his public status. As they both spend more time with Olympia, it becomes obvious to the three of them that they only want each other.

Satisfying Olympia is the first release in the new Regency England series. I am overwhelmed by the loyalty that the three characters showed each other after becoming a trio. When I read this story, I just knew there would be the usual ton mamas after the single men for their daughters and boy, was I surprised at the turn of this book.

Olympia proved to be strong-willed and her ability to explore her sexuality showed that she had room to grow. I thought that she could have handled one of her suitors a little better, to defuse his determination to have her for himself.

The men, Colby, Leland and the villain, really were so much alike in character, it would have been very hard to choose between them. My only aversion was with the villain, especially after his true character came out and his reasons for wanting Olympia. As the villain plotted how his life with Olympia will be, it left me wondering what would have happened if he had gotten her under his complete control. I found myself liking Colby and Leland more for their fierce protection of Olympia, and hers towards them.

Ms. Gideon really created quite a story of how the Ton life can be and she had me mesmerized with the characters and their need to please each other. There were moments of laughter, anger and sexual frustrations throughout the book, and I won’t give away the spoiler. But I will say read and enjoy.

Reader Advisory: This book contains scenes of M/M, M/F/M, anal sex, light bondage, voyeurism and explicit language.

Wednesday, September 22, 2010

Carnal Moves


Title: Carnal Moves
Author: KoKo Brown
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419928741
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Work, online spades and dance classes twice a week are the highlight of Macy Beaumont’s life. She’s practically a hermit. When her friend convinces Macy to attend a dance, Macy finds herself paired with the giant man she had been having x-rated thoughts about.

Gideon is a half-demon with deep-rooted issues. His doctor tells Gideon he needs to work less and play more, so Gideon takes up ballroom dancing. When he meets Macy, Gideon realizes that this lush beauty is the one for him. If the complications of his job don’t create problems for the couple, then Macy doubting the reason for Gideon’s sudden feelings certainly might.

Gideon never lacked for female attention, but until Macy came into the picture, he never wanted a relationship. She changed his entire outlook on everything, without even knowing it, or knowing what he really is.

Disappearing children, the possibility of being vanquished and his change of heart about his job cause problems in the whirlwind romance between Gideon and Macy. The plot is original and kept me guessing with the turn of each page. Even before the love for Macy softened Gideon, I liked him. There is just no way to resist a demon who knows all the right moves, on the dance floor and in the bedroom. The scene where Gideon tells his shrink what his hobby is had me laughing out loud. KoKo Brown delivered a well-written story that unfolds like a warm blanket and leaves you dying for more. Carnal Moves kept me curious even after the last line and I know readers will feel the same way.

Silence


Title: Silence
Author: Lena Austin
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-454-2
Genre: {M/M} Vampires, Werewolves
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Detective Cameron Douglas, a werewolf retired from the force, after he is deafened in an attempted murder while working the investigation into the death of the mayor's secretary. ENT therapist Noel Miller is a vampire, who wants to be more than Cam's interpreter.

Silence, part three of a multi-author series, Dire Wolves, has a well-constructed action plot of living with disability, a mystery, as well as two lonely men finding romance. The setting is Florida. The detailed characters have realistic issues and the lovemaking is especially sensual. While still in the hospital, Cam’s boss paid a visit to announce that Cam’s badge had been retired. Cam was furious over leaving the murder case of his mother’s best friend still unsolved. Cam’s life had suddenly become a double edged sword; adjusting to the loss of his hearing and realizing that there was more than a little attraction to Noel. Both Cam and Noel have a two-fold reason to conceal their true nature from the humans they work amongst. To the world they live in, werewolves and vampires do not exist, plus being gay is equally unthinkable.

The amazing Lena Austin has created an impressive action-suspense saga interwoven with humor in addition to intriguing secondary characters. I thoroughly enjoyed Silence.

Tuesday, September 21, 2010

Talker


Title: Talker
Author: Amy Lane
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-598-2
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

We live in a society where people fail to look past a person’s outward appearance and discover their hidden beauty. Tate "Talker" Walker knows this truth all too well. The scars he gained early in life are camouflaged behind makeup and tattoos. Most don’t take the time to see what a unique and giving man Talker is, but one person not only sees him but, in time, falls in love with him.

Brian Cooper is a loner. The moment he met Talker, Brian knew he found someone to fill that void. Over the course of years, the two became friends and his feelings evolved. He now has to face the reality that he’s gay and wants Talker all to himself. Can he help Talker see the truth or is he destined to be little more than Talker’s “safe haven”?

Amy Lane’s Talker is a brilliantly written story about two men with a great deal of baggage but also an extraordinary love. Brian is the strong silent type. He doesn’t talk unless he has something to say and doesn’t take his few rare friendships for granted. Talker has lived with various types of pain for most of his young life. My heart cried out for him, because no one truly took the time to see the whole picture the way Brian did. I think that was one of the good things about his silence; it gave Brian the opportunity to examine his surroundings and recognize things most people failed to distinguish.

The erotic encounters between Brian and Talker weren’t perfect, but that made them more believable to read. Their embrace focused on their emotions versus the desire for an orgasm. Talker is about friendship, love, finding happiness and learning to see the beauty within one’s self and those we hold dear to us. The messages resonate throughout the story and definitely had me reaching for a tissue a time or two.

I loved reading Talker and look forward to picking up more of Ms. Lane’s stories in the near future.

Fall Down The Mountain


Title: Fall Down The Mountain
Author: P.D. Singer
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-283-6
Genre: {M/M}, {M/M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Not only is Mark having a hard time handling the after-effects of an avalanche, he is also being hassled by his good-natured friends to jump back into the dating pool. Now it seems that his boss’ wife and a process server are both determined to make his life a living hell.

P.D. Singer’s Fall Down The Mountain is part of the ongoing Mountain series and varies slightly from the previous books. While the earlier stories centered on Kurt and Jake, this new book is all about Mark. Mark was introduced in a previous story and he instantly became someone you wanted to know more about. I was glad to see him finally meet someone he could possibly call his own. Although Mark and Allan obviously belong together, theirs is not a smooth relationship and I am hoping the author has more stories planned as I would like to see these two truly get their happily-ever-after.

Other than the romance between Mark and Allan, there are a couple of secondary plotlines that play heavily into the story. At times, I wondered how they all would fit together and was happy with the outcome.

A couple of side notes regarding this book. First, while I would recommend reading the earlier books, Fall Down The Mountain will catch you up on anything you may have missed. Second, there is one ménage scene that occurs in the beginning of the story. If this is not to your liking and you wish to by-pass these few pages, it is possible to do so without ruining the rest of the story.

Kingdom Cum


Title: Kingdom Cum
Author: Zenina Masters
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-639-6
Genre: {F/M/M/M}, Ménage a Quatre, Sci-Fi,
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Raleigh is a clone and has become the object of obsession by a prince who has done everything to get her under his control. He sends Azeel, Rafael and Hector, also clones, to bring her to him. The prince doesn’t realize that he has sent Raleigh her mates.

The author has created an unusual society about a race of clones. Each trio of male clones will have one female that has a set protocol before they can reproduce and keeps them from reproducing with humans. Kingdom Cum explains the different mating ritual than those of humans and is also the story about the obsession of one man for a woman. The author has realistically captured the obsession that a stalker has when he is obsessed with a person that could be taken from news reports. Legally, Azeel, Rafael and Hector try everything in their power to remove the threat to their mate.

As I wondered how this story would be resolved, the author threw in a twist at the end that really surprised me. In a society that accepts clones, this twist would be very realistic and also explains the protection, by the emperor, of Raleigh’s family. I am looking forward to reading additional stories from this author.

Sunday, September 19, 2010

A Deadly Game


Title: A Deadly Game
Author: J.P. Bowie
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-143-3
Genre: {M/M} Suspense
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Nick Fallon's journey to his new career and happy relationship was a long and painful road. The one memory that stands out in private investigator's mind about his former career was the arrest of Francisco Garcia. The bust was one of the highlights of his career on the Pittsburgh Police Department and also, a time of great sadness.

Nick learns of Garcia’s escape from prison and knows the cunning former drug dealer is ready to make good on his promise for vengeance. Nick’s fears his lover, Eric Jamieson, will be harmed in the crossfire. Will Garcia flawlessly execute his plans? All parties involve soon discover that revenge is A Deadly Game.

J.P. Bowie brings us an exciting new series, A Nick Fallon Investigation. Nick Fallon uses a mixture of his former police training with his instincts in his position as a private investigator. He has self-confidence in his abilities but never comes off cocky, something most former policemen seem to take with them after the career change. I loved his relationship with Eric. It was solid and they had great chemistry, but it’s clear that Nick is in the dark when it came to his lover’s grit. Eric’s “stand by your man” ideals are definitely a corner stone in their partnership. I could understand why he loved him.

Garcia is a villain with a great deal of pain feeding his determination and whose ruthlessness and state of denial propelled this story. Each new attempt on Nick’s life took over my senses. I cheered each time Nick narrowly escaped the madman, but soon realized that they were slicing away Garcia’s tiny amount of sanity.

A Deadly Game is a balance of action, suspense and sensationally written erotic scenes. Those who have read J.P. Bowie’s previous stories know what to expect, while newcomers are sure to discover a new author to add to their “must read” list. Buy a copy and enjoy.

A Subtle Breeze


Title: A Subtle Breeze
Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-154-4
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary Paranormal
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymphs

Surviving a vicious attack in his hometown has turned Ezekiel Matthers into a recluse, leaving the rancher emotionally wounded and physically scarred. He may look healed on the outside but in reality, he’s far from recovered from the assault. He suffers from periodic near-debilitating panic attacks and refuses to go into town, aside from visiting his mother’s grave. In the small town world in which he inhabits, he’s resigned himself to living his life alone.

Help comes in the form of two meddling woman--Zeke’s sister, Enessa and her best friend Gloria, when they cook up a scheme to hook up Gloria’s handsome cousin, Brendon with the increasingly lonely Zeke. Brendon doesn’t mind the interfering—far from it, but the question is whether Zeke can overcome his fears and accept the love and hope that’s being offered.

Can the occasional visit by Zeke’s deceased mother help the men find their way to each other? It’s a matter of time will tell, but time isn’t on the lover’s side. Someone in town hates Zeke with every fiber of their being and they’re not above trying to kill the men to get rid of them.

A Subtle Breeze is the first release in the new series, Southern Spirits, by Bailey Bradford and my first introduction to this author. It’s a sweet love story with a paranormal twist I didn’t expect-the ghost of Zeke’s mother making intermittent appearances-the scent of her subtle perfume on the air during times of stress and unhappiness. She gives a few physical nudges too!! The inclusion of the mother’s spirit was a nice touch but it is a plot device that never overshadows the romance of Zeke and Brendon. It just helps it along.

The author does a nice job describing Zeke’s unsettled emotions and how it affects his life years after his assault. I thoroughly enjoyed the first meeting between Zeke and Brendon-their attraction was fiery hot and instantaneous and when Enessa and Gloria left so the men could be alone, I couldn’t help but laugh. Considering how much he mistrusted strangers, Zeke’s ready acceptance of Brendon into his bed and life seemed a little fast, but it was handled believably, nonetheless. And maybe the whole point is that on several occasions, it was pretty obvious Mama’s spirit approved of Brendon for her son.

I loved the inclusion of Enessa and Gloria, as they helped round out the story by providing important family background, support and love. Their other two sisters the readers didn’t get much information about until the end and even that was limited. I would have liked to know more. The other character that was a great addition to the story was Sheriff Laine Stenley, who is the focus of the next release When the Dead Speak.

There’s some stuff that goes on near the end of the story that ramps up the tension and danger of Brendon and Zeke (and no, I’m not divulging what it is); just know that the actions of the villain of the piece becomes more obvious and like most villains, gets their just desserts in the end. Read this and enjoy.

Captain’s Price


Title: Captain’s Price
Author: Lyla Sinclair
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419930034
Genre: {M/F} Historical
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

After weeks of traveling on The Redemption under the guise of a boy, Julianna Burton blows her cover. With no money to pay for her passage, Julianna fears the captain will refuse to deliver her to her original destination. She had no problem with working off her fare, until she found out what kind of “work” the dangerously magnetic captain wanted her to do.

Captain Drew Price had several options to pick from for handling the stowaway he discovered but, selfishly, he chose the lewdest one possible. Good intentions battled against molten desire for the wide-eyed beauty. If nothing else, Drew intended to protect Julianna from the men aboard his ship. But who was going to protect her from him?

Julianna and Drew share more than raw desire for each other. They both struggled with indecisiveness, caused by actions of their fathers. Julianna vowed to remain untouched, even though Drew made her want to do wicked things. Drew wanted Julianna to choose him and allow him into her heart, not just her bed. Drew’s anger and method of punishment in one particular scene left me breathless. I sank into this story like quicksand from the internal struggle each character had. Drew had more depth, honor and morals than I thought, but secretly hoped for. Regardless of her spunk, Julianna’s naiveté at times was so unexpected, I literally blushed for her. Once or twice, I feared she wouldn’t snap out of her schoolgirl thinking before losing Drew forever.

Lyla Sinclair created an enticing dilemma that would make any woman glad to pay the Captain’s Price without hesitation. I have added her name on my growing list of authors to watch.

Stone Canyon


Title: Stone Canyon
Author: AKM Miles
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-194-5
Genre: {M/M} Suspense
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Rancher Micah Stone is on a mission to discover who murdered his adoptive mother. A letter from his mother, delivered by her lawyer, instructs Micah to contact Private Detective Able Kenton. Together, Micah and Able set out to find who killed Micah's mother and why.

Stone Canyon is a well-written, well-paced mystery, interwoven with romance. The setting is Oklahoma. The characters are detailed as well as convincing. The storyline is about greed, along with corporate takeover. Micah was saved from a life on the streets when he was offered a job on the ranch as teenager. One year later, Micah was adopted by the loving couple who owned Stone Canyon ranch. Micah grew up to be a compassionate man who extends kindness to others by offering honest down-on-their-luck men a place to start over. The men are happy to have a second chance and show their gratitude by working hard, as well as respecting Micah as a good friend. Able is also a compassionate man who is surrounded by a supportive family. Upon first meeting, there is a definite attraction between Micah and Able. The two men share harmonizing personality traits, which enhances their lovemaking. The secondary characters add humor. Micah has a male housekeeper who seldom steps foot outside the house and Able, who lives in Oklahoma City, has a huge dog that is better than any alarm system. The talented AKM Miles has created an impressive saga that I enjoyed immensely.

To Bed a King


Title: To Bed a King
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-279-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Bodyguard Raven Stone knows the stigma of labels all too well. He uses his body to gain the attention of others, but Crown Prince Ghazi Zahar wants Raven to realize there’s more to him than just a willing body. There’s a soul and kindness that draws people to him.

Ghazi doesn’t want to give Raven scraps of time and attempts to squelch his attraction to Raven. However, Raven’s lure is too strong and exposes the king to an embrace he refuses to live without.

The new secrets uncovered could spell disaster for the country if they aren’t contained. Working together, the couple will handle the difficulties while revitalizing hope and the economy for the future generations of Jurru.

To Bed a King, the sixth installment of the Bodyguards in Love series, takes us back to Jurru, where Raven finally gains his chance at love and acceptance. I could understand his apprehension. Raven’s past was sullied from his actions over the years. While he wants Ghazi, he doesn’t want to taint his image. Ghazi looks in Raven’s eyes and knows him to be all he could hope for in a partner. They both had obstacles to overcome. Ms. Lynne characters’ emotions fluctuate throughout the tale. Their apprehension, desire, love and rage drew me in and reminded me of the rollercoaster ride love takes us on.

The mixture of action, suspense, passion and drama makes To Bed a King a fantastic read. To those unfamiliar with the Bodyguards in Love series, while you could read this story without the older installments, I would recommend reading them in order.