Wednesday, November 3, 2010

Jesse


Title: Jesse
Author: Jan Irving
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-876-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Western
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Love unconventional… That pretty much describes the bond shared by Jesse Coulter and Kyle Jacob. A bond that became apparent when Kyle was Mac’s, Jesse’s deceased brothers, lover. It’s been three years since he’s seen Jesse. No longer is he a boy, but a Harley riding man who knows his own mind. His mission is simple. He has come to claim the man who owns his heart.

Jan Irving’s latest release, Jesse, takes us to a small town where we meet Kyle and Jesse - two men with totally different personalities that ultimately become a fantastic couple. At first, I wasn’t sure how I would feel about Kyle and Jesse becoming a couple. I was apprehensive, knowing that Mac was Jesse’s brother and that he shared a wonderful relationship with Kyle. After I delved into the story, it was clear that the connection Kyle had with Mac was completely different than the one shared with Jesse. He fought the attraction like a pro, but he was no match for Jesse’s unwavering love and desire to finally openly claim Kyle.

Jesse’s determination and fierce love for those he holds dear to his heart made him a likeable character. He was willing to sacrifice a great deal to keep everyone happy, but the one thing he was unwilling to forgo was the possibility of finally becoming Kyle’s partner. They give each other a great deal during this story, acting as an anchor and shield during rough times. I don’t think there is any obstacle that could stand in this family’s way.

The backdrop is a beautiful ranch with the gentlest horses I’ve read about in a while. They definitely add an authenticity to the setting. Jan Irving doesn’t allow love to come easily for this couple. There are pitfalls ladled throughout the tale. Some definitely harder to overcome, but all designed to allow the men to see how fortunate they are while increasing their desire to make things work out. Both characters are so complex, it was hard to imagine them together. But as their similar quirks came to light, those differences added a balance to their relationship that was enticing. Their sex is passionately sensual with just the right amount of heat, gentleness, and rawness to that kept me fanning.

I will admit I’m a Jan Irving fan. Her books always include life lessons and characters that draw you into their tales and keep you enthralled until the last sentence. Jesse is about finding love, accepting your difference, learning to live again and the importance of family. Those who have a fetish for cowboys and men with Harleys will be happy they purchased Jesse.

Devotion


Title: Devotion
Author: Blak Rayne
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-55487-650-1
Genre: {M/M}, Futuristic
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Slade and Reeve have always been friends, neither realizing just how much one wanted the other. Neither realized the changes that would occur when a chance encounter moves them from friend to lovers.

When Devotion started out, it was a little confusing, as the author threw so much background story up front that I was unsure just who the story was about. Once the confusion cleared and Slade and Reeve take over, the story flows more smoothly. The connection is easy to see between the two and they waste no time burning up the pages. I would like to say that this is an easy-going romance; however, Devotion is full of angst. When the men have to separate, Slade’s life changes drastically. Slade’s behavior as he deals with these changes, especially after Reeve returns, comes across believably. Reeve’s behavior and need for revenge when he realizes what has happened rings true, as well. When the men are separated once more, I almost wanted to cry.

Devotion is a story that covers a large period of time and has a large group of secondary characters. As a futuristic, Devotion has a lot going for it, as the action will keep the reader glued to the pages. The secondary characters also help move the story along, with several of them playing key roles in the story line.

As Devotion drew to a close, I was shocked by the ending but am glad to see that the author already has a follow up coming out soon and am waiting to see what will happen next.

Trick or Treat


Title: Trick or Treat
Author: Lisa Anne Vance
Publisher: Devine Destinies
Publisher URL: http://www.devinedestinies.com/
ISBN: n/a
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Operating room nurse Angie Preston is still feeling hurt and lonely after finding her boyfriend in bed with another woman and even though it’s been months, the death of his wife has left firefighter, Rob Hendricks, feeling just as alone. Neither is interested in getting involved again, but it doesn’t prevent them from being dragged to a Halloween party they didn’t want to attend. When they meet, sparks fly, leading to a night of passion they can’t forget. The question is whether it will lead to a lasting love.

At 29 pages, Trick or Treat is a fast-paced and fun holiday read showing that sometimes you can find love in unusual places when you least expect it. Angie and Rob are easy to like characters and their lonely lusted-based attraction is realistically portrayed, as is Angie’s reactions the next morning. I particularly liked how Ms. Vance developed Rob’s personality and the manner in which he went about looking for Angie.

The secondary characters are few - Angie’s friend and Rob’s brother - but they both play short-lived but vital parts. There are some sensual scenes but none that I’d call blistering hot. Read and enjoy!

Blacque/Bleu




Title: Blacque/Bleu
Author: Belinda McBride
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-866-2
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: Golden Blush
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Lukas Blacque’s attraction to his neighbor, Oliver Bleu, is as deeply closeted as the fact that he’s gay. It’s a secret he doesn’t want to become pack knowledge. When his father approaches him about preparing him for the future and his desire for grand pups, Lukas feels he has an obligation to his pack to do as requested.

Bleu has admired the well muscled werewolf from afar for years. Battling insomnia has taken a toll on the vamp’s body. But after an encounter, Blacque makes an offer that Bleu would be a fool to refuse. An offer for blood!

One passionate encounter turns into a weekend they will never forget. Blacque is honor bound to follow through with his plans. And Bleu’s past is finally catching up with him and wants either his submission or his life.

Will the men find a way to form a lasting bond before it’s too late?

Blacque/Bleu is Belinda McBride’s current release and part of the Celebrating "Coming Out Day" 2010 series. The story is about facing your demons, acceptance and finding love. Blacque’s sheer size and power frightens most of the people around him. He keeps to himself and has qualities so unlike the wolves around him that I could understand his apprehension to come out and to share time with the pack. It was nice to see him find his place among those in his community. Bleu shares the same characteristic. He has taken the time to understand his town and its inhabitants. It was a thing of beauty to watch as Bleu and Blacque allowed their attraction to surface and finally acted on it. Pure raw passion exploded off the pages and a deeply rooted desire for love, devotion and a mate blossomed and refused to allow this couple to truly walk away.

Ms. McBride’s writing style is flawless. She pulled me into the fast-paced story with wonderfully detailed characters, a seamless plot and the well-developed storyline. The characters were flawed but believable, in spite of being paranormals.

Blacque/Bleu is a mixture of action, suspense, drama, tiny dashes of humor and breathlessly erotic scenes. From the intimate moments of sharing between Bleu and Blacque to the exquisite fight scenes, I was on the edge of my seat from the first paragraph and the story refused to let me go until the last sentence. I wouldn’t complain if a few more stories about the inhabitants of Arcada were published. In fact, I would be ecstatic if they are in the works.

Hope of the Spirit


Title: Hope of the Spirit
Author: Mark Alders
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-692-1
Genre: {M/M} {M/M/M/M} Science fiction
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Jacob, Callum and Zane are on a mission to rescue Mr. Barnaby from the time vampires, known as the eternals. The only hope for success is to find the key hidden in the haunted lighthouse, located at the border of Pembroke Eve. Build on a rock outcropping in the Pacific Ocean, the journey is not without some danger to reach the lighthouse’s shore. The three men don’t have any idea what they are looking for. However, a voice from an unknown source directs them to the safety of a waiting spaceship.

Hope of the Spirit is the fifth book in The Pembroke Eve Chronicles. This well-written episode features the saviors of Pembroke Eve in an intense conflict with the time vampires. The eternals want power. They also continue to plan new ways to take over Earth as their food source. The developed characters have all advanced into maturity. Each man has a distinct personality that blends well with the others. Jacob is the curious one, while Callum is dramatic along with being cautious. Zane is a vigorous warrior. The love shared by Jacob, Callum and Zane is expressed frequently, as well as in an assortment of intimate positions. Zane’s new love enthusiastically participates in the sexual proceedings with the three friends. Jacob has realized that his duty now is to serve as king in the dragon realm. Callum consents to reside with Jacob. Zane has chosen to continue to travel throughout space with his soul mate. Mark Alders has created an amazing as well as enjoyable adventure to be continued in the Pembroke Eve spin-off series, Diary of the Eternal War.

Back to Normal


Title: Back to Normal
Author: Wren Boudreau
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.net/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-865-5
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Two men have never been more different than Greg and Finn. Greg works several jobs while struggling with the fallout of a divorce. Finn is the typical “good time” boy never staying with one man long enough to remember their name. Yet when these two meet, the attraction between them is instant.

While this may be the typical “coming out” story, Back to Normal was still a fun story to read. The two men, Greg and Finn, are drawn to each other from the beginning yet, both have reasons to stay away. Greg truly struggles with his sexuality and his growing feelings for his new boss, Finn. The emotions the author rings out of Greg are realistic to what someone in his shoes would be experiencing. However, I was surprised by Finn’s reactions and how his instant feelings for Greg caused such an extreme change in his lifestyle. Back to Normal is not all angst though, as there are several light hearted moments when Greg ‘talks’ with his aunt, who seems to pop in and out at the most unlikely moments. While I would have liked to have seen Greg’s family and ex-wife’s reactions to his being gay, I loved how the author wrapped the story up. Back to Normal is one I will be adding to my re-read list.

Second Helpings


Title: Second Helpings
Author: Scarlet Blackwell
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: samhainpublishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-60928-245-5
Genre: {M/M/} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

When French chef Luc Tessier won the heart of his lover, Englishman food critic Daniel Sheridan, he thought he’d won the biggest and most important battle of his life. Little did he know that he might have won the initial battle but he hadn’t won the war—not by a long shot. His biggest battle is one he ever expected with the arrival of Daniel’s unpleasant and opinionated mother on their doorstep.

The relationship between Daniel and his mother has never been close and he’s afraid if she learns he’s gay, it will destroy what little there is. That means he’s still in the closet and determined to stay there, despite the strain it’s putting on his lover and their growing relationship. It also means Luc isn’t going to get laid any time soon.

The weeklong visit is pushing both Daniel and Luc to the brink and being on his best behavior is making the already arrogant and cranky Luc snap and snarl more than usual. He’s desperate to keep Daniel in his life but his attitude might drive him away forever.

Scarlet Blackwell has scored another hit with Second Helpings, the second release in her new Table for Two trilogy. It’s a humorous and fast paced look into the quirky and often volatile relationship of new lovers Luc and Daniel.

I admit it. I love these guys and watching them work through their relationship issues is alternately great fun when they’re getting along or having blistering hot sex, and terribly painful during the times Daniel’s mother is causing them problems. Ms. Blackwell has done a nice job putting the guys through their paces as they struggle to get through the week of “visit hell” and her vivid personality descriptions of Mrs. Sheridan makes the woman easy to dislike. That’s especially true after the emotional blackmail of her son is revealed.

There are many pleasant moments in this short gem but the one that truly stands up strong and proud is when Daniel confronts his personal demons. These scenes are, by far, my favorite and with which the author excelled. I can’t wait to see what happens in the last installment of this keeper trilogy with the release of The Last Supper when Luc and Daniel tie the knot.

The Trap


Title: The Trap
Author: Indigo Wren
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-226-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Leaving Ethan Locke behind was the most difficult thing David Holmes had ever done. After three years David still finds it hard to think about his former roommate. The ideas they shared for a bright future have made Ethan a wealthy man. Discovering his attraction frightened David, propelling him to run from their dreams and his feelings. How could he look Ethan in his eyes after the truth was revealed? David knew his only option was to run, right?

Ethan wants answers, and he wants David in a position where there is no alternative but to deliver them. He knows they could have had a wonderful future as business partners, companions and lovers, if David would have manned up. Well Ethan’s plan leaves David no choice but to face his feelings.

The Trap takes us to a beautiful tropical island where the truth is finally revealed and old friends have an opportunity to rekindle their connection. I understand David’s apprehension and I loved Ethan’s tenacity. Ethan is a man on a mission. His love for David is clear especially after you see the extremes that he went to for an opportunity to test their attraction. I thought David’s fears would overrule his heart. There’s one scene where he decided to sacrifice their connection to protect Ethan. At that moment I knew Ethan made the right choice to love his former roommate. David has so many fears to overcome, but his heart and body knew Ethan was capable of keeping him safe and loved. The couple ignites the pages with their fiery arguments and passionate encounters. Their sense of humor definitely adds lightness to the story.

Indigo Wren has a wonderful writing style. You could feel the emotions of both characters rolling off the pages. The believable conflict and banter in this fast-paced story drew me in from the first chapter. I found myself rooting for the men. It was difficult to believe they could stop being stubborn and give into to their mutual love, but eventually they did. Those who enjoy BDSM and second-chance love stories will be happy they bought a copy of The Trap.

Jaynell's Wolf


Title: Jaynell's Wolf
Author: Amber Kell
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: http://silverpublishing.info/
ISBN: 978-1-920468-70-5
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Fantasy
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Jaynell Marley arrives at Mayell Wizard Academy to complete his training. Jay had already had years of advanced private tutoring, therefore his school enrollment is more to honor his father’s wishes. Joining his new dorm roommates for pizza, Jay literally bumps into werekin Thomas Sparks. A sniff at Jay’s neck has Thomas proclaiming that Jay is his mate.

Jaynell's Wolf is the first book in the Wizard's Touch series. The plot is well written plus vastly entertaining. The main characters are impressive, along with amusing secondary characters. Jaynell is a powerful wizard who wonders why his father insisted that Jay attend a school when it is clear Jay surpasses everyone in magical skills. However, Jay has an unpretentious personality. Thomas is a considerate protector, as long as others keep a respectful distance from Jay. The secondary characters include Gnomes, dragons, half elf, wolf pack in addition to a variety of wizards in training. I thoroughly enjoyed Jaynell's Wolf. Amber Kell has created a fantastic flight of the imagination that is laugh-out-loud hilarious, interwoven with heartwarming moments as well as rousing scenes of intimate passion. I look forward to the next addition to the Wizard's Touch series.

Chubby is the Night


Title: Chubby is the Night
Author: Viola Grace
Publisher: Devine Destinies
Publisher URL: http://www.devinedestinies.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-711-9
Genre: {M/F}, Paranormal, Vampire
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Max saves her cousin from a vampire, but ends up attacked herself. As she struggles, she bites the vampire and ends up in front of the vampire tribunal because she is neither completely human or vampire. In order to live, she must find the Guild Master, Gregori.

Chubby is the Night was a fun story to read. Max is insecure about her size but is very independent and resourceful. The author dealt with a lot of real issues that big beautiful women face, including the idea that someone like Gregori would not be interested in them. I liked the way Ms. Grace handled Max’s issues. The relationship Max has with Gregori and his household will keep your interest as does the surprise attack. I will be reading this one again.

Rein Me In


Title: Rein Me In
Author: Alyssa Brooks and Larissa Lyons
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419928802
Genre: {M/F} Western
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Trusting men was a mistake and Suzy Miller had learned that painful lesson more than once. They all made promises that they had no intention of keeping, as far as she was concerned. Even her dreamy cowboy from college, who had pursued her relentlessly, let Suzy down. From that moment on, Suzy decided to remain single and sexless, except for the fourteen days out of the year when she let her hair down. While on her annual wicked getaway, things get out of control when Suzy’s cowboy for the night turns out to be too much for her to handle.

Things changed drastically one tragic day for Jonah McKenzie. Now because of family drama and bills, he carries the weight of the world on his broad shoulders. A quick drive to clear his head turns into a rescue mission when Jonah spots a woman in trouble. She is nothing like the sweet and sexy girl that Jonah has been pining for all these years, but something about the wanton woman is getting him hot and bothered.

Suzy is shocked when she runs into Jonah again, but she is even more shocked when she realizes he doesn’t recognize her. The opportunity to get inside the pants of the cowboy who had set the standard for all her fantasies was too good to pass up. When she releases all her pent up desires, Jonah thinks Suzy is too brash for her own good. Their torrid night together was some of the best sex that either of them had in their lives. Eventually the light bulb goes off, and Jonah realizes that Suzy is the same Suzy whom he walked away from in college. Everything about the sweet girl he once crushed on was changed. She had turned into a sexual spitfire, all because of him.

Rein Me In is not only the title of this brilliantly written story, but also the taunt that Suzy throws out to Jonah. And I have to say his methods of taking control will raise your temperature at least ten degrees. Inside, Suzy is still that same girl from college who was head over heels for Jonah. But on the outside and only for two weeks out of the year, she was a vamp who liked sex with a little bit of pain. Jonah’s disappearance was a major turning point in her life, and I enjoyed the way the authors gave me small glimpses into their past. The universe definitely did a number on this couple by breaking them up before they were officially together. Sometimes, things are just meant to be and Jonah and Suzy fall into that category. My heart cried for Jonah in the scene when he was delivered some terrible news, right after having a perfect first date with Suzy. I loved this emotional scene. There are some very memorable supporting characters and Jonah’s grandmother is one. I found myself wanting to strangle her on numerous occasions. Jonah and Suzy were both easy to identify with and I know readers will eat up their story. This second story in the Bottoms Up series reinforced my lust for cowboys and made me a fan of the writing duo Alyssa Brooks and Larissa Lyons. I look forward to more of their fantastic stories. If you like a sweet love story with sex that will make you blush while turning the pages, then this one is for you.

Why Jay Ran Away


Title: Why Jay Ran Away
Author: Jade Archer
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-313-5
Genre: {M/M} Futuristic
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Jay and Nic share a passion unlike any either has ever experienced. Jay loves Nic beyond distraction but when he overhears Nic agreeing to a diabolical plan, he feels crushed. Surely the man who owns his heart couldn’t be so heartless.

Nic knows Jay is the source of his happiness and he wants to protect his lover. The information Jay hears has put him in danger and Nic’s only option is to try to find Jay and explain his side of the story.

Will Nic be able to convince Jay he’s the same man he’s always been? Can the two reconcile their differences before blood is drawn?

Why Jay Ran Away has lessons on trust, the importance of communication and learning to admit fault. Jay is a sweet gentle slave with a ferociousness that only comes out to play when someone threatens his lover. Nic is accustomed to being the hero and saving the day. His caring nature definitely drew Jay to him. Who wouldn’t feel safe in those big strong arms? Their attraction is beyond just the physical. The men share a mutual desire to see justice come for those like Jay.

I was worried that Nic would lose Jay because of his actions. I could understand why trust and honesty are so important to Jay. His position as a slave and witnessing the horrors suffered by others of his kind makes trusting outside of their race difficult. Jade Archer’s third story in the Contact series includes action and enticing erotic scenes. The storyline and characters are well developed and left me anticipating the next installment.

Banpaia


Title: Banpaia
Author: A.J. Llewellyn and D.J. Manly
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-702-7
Genre: {M/M} Vampire
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Feng Li is a suicidal young man barely existing in Chinatown, Los Angeles. Days before Halloween, a dark eerie mist blankets the area; young men are disappearing only to return, one by one, with no memory of what happened to them. They seem the same, but they are different. All the men have things in common, life’s misery and Banpaia.

Banpaia is a well written intriguing psychological suspense. The setting is an economically depressed section of Los Angeles. The characters are exceptionally convincing. Feng Li has an unbearably abusive home life. Feng works a mundane job as a desk clerk in a rundown hotel located mere blocks from skid row. One of Feng’s few delights in life is his friend Russell, who would allow Feng to sleep at his apartment when Feng going home is not an option. Also, Feng and Russell read Japanese manga. Feng and Russell both share a love for the novels. As Feng’s gloomy life becomes more chaotic, Feng is pushed to the brink of despair. Suddenly the mist surrounds Feng. The mystical creature, the legendary, centuries-old Japanese vampire called Banpaia saves Feng, but from what? Life or death?

The dynamic duo of A.J. Llewellyn and D.J. Manly has created an emotionally intense saga that I enjoyed immensely. I was touched by the agonizing quandary of Banpaia; the vampire’s sorrow comes to life and envelops the heart.

Cum To Me


Title: Cum To Me
Author: Zenina Masters
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN : 978-1-55487-596-2
Genre: {F/M/M/M}, Ménage a Quatre, Sci-Fi
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Pelly has a major problem as she tends to teleport naked when she climaxes. One day she teleports to the Law Offices of Tamer, Zel, and Marn and learns she is a clone and they are her mates.

Cum To Me is the first book of the Four Ever More series about matched sets of clones. The author goes into detail about the clones in the prologue, which makes this story realistic from the standpoint of the premise. I found it interesting that in this story, special dispensation had to be granted in order for them to live on this world in a poly relationship. The author has created a realistic premise that could actually happen in the far future, based on the current cloning experiments in our society. I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

Where a Hand is Always Needed


Title: Where a Hand is Always Needed
Author: Kara Larson
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/M} Drama
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Graeme wasn’t looking forward to spending his summer out in the middle of nowhere. He’d much rather be back in the city but he knows there could have been much worse punishments for his recent behavior at school then staying with his Aunt and Uncle. He didn’t have high expectations of what the summer held in store for him but when a plane crash puts his whole family on high alert, Graeme wonders if maybe the outback is just the right place to be after all.

Where a Hand is Always Needed is a short story included in the Healing Hearts Charity Anthology. I loved reading this story as it gave me an insight into the young mind of Graeme, a man I first got acquainted with in Sliding Down the Pohutakawa Root. This story is set before Graeme met Amiri in New Zealand and focuses on Graeme’s summer with his Aunt and uncle in the Australian Outback. The language and descriptions of Graeme’s surroundings and extended family is wonderful. The slow realization of the possibilities awaiting Graeme in his future was tenderly sweet and a joy to read.

Like Pizza and Beer


Title: Like Pizza and Beer
Author: Elle Parker
Publisher: Lyrical Press
Publisher URL: http://www.lyricalpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61650-195-2
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Dino and Seth are still a work in progress when it comes to being a couple. The two longtime friends can’t stay away from each other. Will they be able to survive the addition of family and an ex?

Elle Parker’s Like Pizza and Beer picks up shortly after the end of Like Doughnuts and Coffee. Once again, the reader is pulled into Dino’s and Seth’s world. The chemistry between the two men is still as intense as ever but this time around, it is Seth who is feeling a little insecure regarding their new relationship. The feelings the men bring out in each other, whether it’s love or anger, come across realistically. I could understand Seth’s anger at Dino when the two were caught in a compromising position and was surprised that the issue of Dino’s coming out did not come up sooner.

Like the first book, Like Pizza and Beer also includes a little mystery. With two cases to solve this time, one concerning Seth’s sister and the other Dino’s ex, the men are kept busy. The mysteries are entertaining and will keep the reader as glued to the pages as the romance between the two men.

If you are interested in this book, keep in mind that you will need to read Like Doughnuts and Coffee beforehand.

Perilous Partnership


Title: Perilous Partnership
Author: Ariel Tachna
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-634-7
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy, Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

During the war, the partnership between Raymond Payet and Jean Bellaiche was rather rocky but in the months since it’s end, they’ve settled into a loving and committed personal relationship that gives them balance and satisfaction. Jean drinks only Raymond’s blood and Raymond spends each night wrapped in Jean’s arms.

Raymond being appointed president of l’Association Nationale de Sorcellerie and Jean continuing in his role of chef de la Cour of the Parisian vampires puts an unexpected strain on both men. It only gets more intense with the formation of a foundation for research and education into the partnership bonds between vampire and wizards begins. There are opponents - vampires, human and wizards - who’d like to see them fail and some aren’t above using vandalism, threats and arson to get what they want.

Working closely and juggling two careers while dealing with threats and uncertainties is difficult. It tests Raymond and Jean’s relationship and when Jean wants to take it to the next level, Raymond balks at the pressure. Can these two passionate men find a way to make their love work or with the demands of their professional lives pull them apart?

Perilous Partnership is a sequel to the Partnership in Blood series. While this release does include all the primary characters from the four previous books, it focuses primarily on Jean and Raymond, the growth of their relationship and the life they’re building together now that the war is over. For readers of the series, this sequel is an absolute must. For those who have yet to read the books, I would recommend that they be read in order to get the greatest understanding out of the continuing plot line and character relationships.

Since the war is over the overall pace of this book, at least in the beginning, is slower. Life is getting on, partnerships are developing and jobs are changing as vampires and wizards are going back to a world without the constant threat of war. Ms. Tachna vividly describes the attitudes, dangers and difficulties experienced with starting their new research center in the countryside. The new characters are well developed and add interest to the story; the old characters give familiarity and continuity.

From the moment Jean and Raymond were introduced, they became one of my favorite partnership couples, so I was thrilled to find them the main characters of this release. Ms. Tachna did an excellent job with the growth of their relationship, showing not just their love, tenderness, passion and commitment but their uneasiness and fear of being hurt.

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed the premise for these books and the characters, and recommend them to any reader who enjoys paranormal fantasy; especially those involving vampires, wizards and magic. I’d love to say that there was going to be additional books planned but at the end of the story, I just couldn’t tell, and the author’s website didn’t give me a clue.

Hallowed Bond




Title: Hallowed Bond
Author: Eresse
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-735-4
Genre: {M/M} Hermaphrodites, Futuristic
Rating: Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Dylen Teris returns home, after an evening of performing his duties, to find a stranger huddled on the front steps. Riodan Leyhar had been robbed of his belongings and was lost in the city. After learning the circumstances of Riodan’s dilemma, Hirlen, Dylen’s father offers shelter to Riodan.

Hallowed Bond is book two in the Chronicles of Ylandre. The setting takes place in the city of Rikara located in the dual-gendered realm of Ylandre, which is on the planet of Aisen. The exceptionally well written plot features love, political espionage, as well as social traditions that mirror historical Regency settings. The characters are especially realistic. Following in the footsteps of his father, Dylen is a companion who provides sexual services and/or social companionship for a considerable fee. Dylen is well educated, highly cultured and generally approved of by the high ranking society. The famous fraternity of companions is well known for their supreme discretion. Born an illegitimate child, Dylen knew the name of his sire; nevertheless chose to keep it a secret. When Dylen fell in love with Riodan, Dylen’s birth status is the bone of contention that separates the lovers.

Riodan loves Dylen. However, Riodan surrenders to his ambassador father’s aspirations of a higher social position after Dylen forces him to recognize the futile idealism of a future relationship. Years later, Riodan suffers through a loveless engagement of marriage arranged by his parents until he and Dylen have a chance meeting at the court of Rohyr Essendri, Ylandre’s powerful monarch. Dylen is now a member of the royal intelligence team and Riodan is a diplomat. Rohyr Essendri’s interference reunites Dylen and Riodan, giving them an opportunity to repair their broken hearts.


Eresse has created a spectacular episode to the extraordinarily distinct Chronicles of Ylandre. Like the first book Sacred Fate, Hallowed Bond is a captivating blend of political intrigues, social prejudice, emotional turmoil, magical powers as well as breathtaking love scenes. I recommend this excellent series to everyone who enjoys unparalleled all male romance stories.

Libra: Outlined in Ink


Title: Libra: Outlined in Ink
Author: Vivien Dean
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-754-0
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Action
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

It’s been years since Jarrett has seen Eli, his best friend’s little brother, so he’s unsure why the FBI thinks he can track the young man down for them. When Jarrett and Eli meet up again, the attraction between the two is instant, but who is out to get Eli and why.

Libra: Outlined in Ink is part of Amber Allure’s multi-authored series entitled Boys of the Zodiac. The characters in this story will grab the reader from the beginning. The innocence that surrounds Eli, when he really is not always that pure, makes you want to protect him, and I could not believe how easily Jarrett planned to hand over Eli to the FBI at the start of the story. It is easy to see a connection between the two men and readers should prepare for one hot read.

As Libra: Outlined in Ink progresses, more and more twists are revealed, keeping the reader guessing as to what exactly is going on and who really are the bad guys. While a couple of these twists you may be able to see coming, some will actually surprise you.

Although to me it felt like the story ended rather abruptly, Libra: Outlined in Ink will be one I plan on reading again

Faerie Bound


Title: Faerie Bound
Author: Jenna Castille
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419930843
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal, Shape-shifter
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Garrick Rhine may be the Alpha of the strongest post-war Lupin pack but he has a submissive side that begs to find a dedicated master. Admitting he’s gay seems a small matter when he thinks of the packs reaction to his sexual desires to be dominated. Garrick turns to Divine Intervention in hopes of finding a mate and master. He soon discovers the God and Goddess have a wicked sense of humor when his match is revealed.

Faolan is a faerie prince who decided living in exile was a paradise compared to living in court and doing his Queen Mother’s bidding. Don’t let the piercing fool you. Under that delicate looking skin lives a Dominate who can have his pick of subs. After centuries of existing, Faolan is ready to live and love. He wants a dedicated sub all to himself.

Faolan and Garrick understand their match comes with its own hurdles. Their match won’t be easily accepted thanks to the war, but they focus on exploring their attraction while believing that fate brought them together for a reason. Faolan wants to make sure Garrick truly is ready to be his sub. Garrick wants a mate who can appreciate his kink and take care of him in the bedroom. These characters are beautiful together. Each understands what is needed inside and outside the bedroom to keep their relationship healthy. Their differences make the story much more enjoyable. They are definitely the ying-yang combination. And watching Faolan’s dominate side come out to play is breathtaking.

For those who enjoy shape-shifter stories, there are two great shifting scenes that keep the story flowing effortlessly, thanks to the action they add to this well written tale.

Jenna Castille’s primary and secondary characters are believable and have great personalities that draw you in. There are a few supporting characters that I hope will gain a story of their own in the near future. I found Faerie Bound to be a fantastic paranormal erotic story that is sure to bring new fans to this talented author.

Sunday, October 31, 2010

Black Heart


Title: Black Heart
Author: Tracy Cooper-Posey
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419906572
Genre: {M/F} Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Having just escaped into Acapulco, Mexico with their lives, Nicolas Escobedo, Josh Benning, Callida Munro, and Minnie Benning, are trying to pull the Vistarian survivors together. Nick knows he will eventually have to take a stand for the people, but that doesn’t stop him from hoping that there will be someone else to assume the role of winning back the country.

In the meantime, Minnie is becoming out of control with her anger around Nick’s niece, Carmen, the president’s daughter. Because they are so much alike in truth, the two of them continue to fight. One thing that becomes obvious between them is that they have a common goal. Minnie refuses to believe that Duardo, her beloved army captain is dead, and she is about to make some decisions that may cost everyone their lives. What she finds back in Vistaria is not what she hoped, but there might be a way for everyone to survive yet.

Zalaya has taken control of Minnie and everyone knows he has a nasty reputation with crippling others. He has to make her believe that she is nothing to him, without explaining why their situation is dangerous at the moment. They both know that the possibility of survival of the insurrector may be at a big loss to everyone involved.

Here again I was sucked in quickly, wondering what would happen to this group of people. Black Heart gave me hope to know that the main characters did have hearts of gold and they managed to overcome tragedies. Ms. Cooper-Posey really got my thoughts flowing with her in-depth plotted story that kept me reading on to learn that maybe the one person who believed that her loved one wasn’t dead was a true leader.

Minnie started out very flaky but through endurance, she gains some serious insight into her own character and grew up. Once she begins to realize her part in causing some of the danger, she knew what she had to do, and she did get things done. Duardo took on a role that was very dangerous for him, and yet he knew that he had to be responsible for his people’s survival. I was happy to know that he lived and was able to be there for Minnie in the end.

Gun n Lovers is an amazing series that is not yet finished and with all the characters involved on both sides, it’s only going to get better. I am excited to move on to the next book to be surprised at the outcome and enjoy learning of the peace the Vistaria people will find in the end.

Red Leopard


Title: Red Leopard
Author: Tracy Cooper-Posey
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781843604242
Genre: {M/F} Suspense
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Calli Munro is on her way to the country of Vistaria. She’s going because her uncle needs her help but she doesn’t know what’s in store for her when she gets there. What she finds is trouble in the form of her feisty cousin, who she has to watch over, and finds herself in trouble for defending her own honor. When she is released from jail, she realizes that her savior, Nicolas Escobedo, is going to be a big thorn in her side because he is determined to keep her safe from herself, and that’s before she can even get a handle on the lay of the country.

Nicolas Escobedo is the powerful Irish bastard half-brother of Vistaria’s president and he has tried to keep a low profile while helping to keep the peace. He is a major support to his brother, helping keep the country under control along with bringing financial support to the people. He has earned much respect from the Army and the men surrounding the President as the Red Leopard and tries to keep a low profile because of the title. From the moment he sees Calli, he wants her and yet he knows that she is off limits, especially her being an American. Nicolas seemed to think that he had to put his own personal life on a rigid hold in order to show the people that he can be the person they need to depend on, and it seems it to be working.

Red Leopard is the first book in the Guns n Lovers series and I found myself sucked in quickly into this story. The reasons for the attractions of the two main characters were obvious, but add in a bloody revolution and you got quite a story. I am finding myself enjoying reading everything Ms. Cooper-Posey has written, and this story only sparked my interest in learning more about her characters.

Calli’s character impressed me because of her strong constant willingness to put herself last and always think of others first; it was a redeeming quality for me. I thought that her cousin was a little too fickle and for a young woman, she needed a leash. Calli surprised me with her quick thinking in each situation she came upon, regardless of the danger to herself, and she always thought of the greater need.

Ms. Cooper-Posey excelled in her storytelling of how much a country can go through when different factions have ideas of being in control. It helped me to better understand most of the characters with the history given surrounding the carnival scenes, and the revolt that the rebels were determined to start. I am looking forward to reading the next story in this series to see where the characters go next.

Found


Title: Found
Author: Mychael Black
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-532-7
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Lying on the floor bleeding and broken, AJ is sure he is going to die. But instead of dying, AJ awakens in a hotel room bed with a handsome man watching over him.

Found is the first book in the Dark Reign series. The well-written snippet has the promise of intrigue with possible shifter versus vampire battles on the horizon. AJ has the misfortune of working for the sadistic vampire Dalton Gray, who releases his frustrations on his employees when his plans are not to his satisfaction. With no memory prior to life with Dalton, AJ’s savior provides a welcome relief. The mystery man holds the key to AJ’s past as well as AJ’s future. The love scenes are incredible. Mychael Black has created a fantastic story. I am looking forward to more enjoyable episodes in the future.

Vamp Camp




Title: Vamp Camp
Author: Wynn Wagner
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com
ISBN: 978-1-61581-613-2
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Vampires
Rating: Golden Blush
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Marten Larrson is eager to leave his little backwater town in Texas. When World War One breaks out, Marten joins the Navy, only to spend time behind a desk predicting the weather. It’s only after a trip up in a balloon goes wrong, that Marten gets the adventure he’d been looking for.

Author Wynn Wagner has started off the Vamp Camp series with a boom. In the first book by the same name, the author introduces several key characters, as well as laying the groundwork for future stories. Although there are several characters that will grab the reader’s attention, the story is told in the first person from Marten’s point of view. This young man has a very snarky sense of humor. As this story is set during and shortly after the First World War, much of that humor is at the German’s expense. As a German myself, I found myself laughing out loud, and could not help thinking the author either did some very through research or must be German himself. The vampire society in this story is slightly different than what the reader may be used to, which keeps Vamp Camp from being boring and predictable.

As for the characters, Marten, while not overjoyed with his new lifestyle, takes to it rather well after meeting up with Menz, a much older vampire, and Oberon, Marten’s lover. The relationship Marten has with these two men, while vastly different, is intense and realistic. Menz’s role as mentor is one Marten needs and the growing affection and friendship is easy to see. With regards to Oberon, Marten never expects to meet someone like the young man he is drawn to, or that it is possible for two men to have feelings for each other the way he does for Oberon. The uncertainty Marten feels concerning Oberon is very believable, and one the readers will be able to understand about Marten’s occasional confusion.

Vamp Camp is not just about Marten learning to survive as a vampire or falling in love. There are several twists and turns, and a whole lot of action to hold the reader’s attention. While there are some areas of the story which some readers may find objectionable, Vamp Camp was an excellent read that kept my attention until the very last page. After reading the short blurb for the second book, I cannot wait to see what will happen next.

Sovereign's Gladiator


Title: Sovereign's Gladiator
Author: Jez Morrow
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419930812
Genre: {M/M} Historical
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Devon is only twenty-eight but he rules as Sovereign in a rich province in the powerful Raenthe Empire. As the ruler of his section of the empire, he’s expected to be strong, assertive and dominant in all aspects of his life; except in the privacy of his dreams where he desires to surrender to the power of an even stronger man.

The one man who stars in his dreams and tortures his waking hours is Xan, a champion gladiator who, as a member of a rebellious tribe, was once sentenced to death in the area. After several years, Devon also was the man who granted Xan a pardon and his freedom.

There’s rebellion in an unruly outer region of the province and Devon is determined to discover its cause, and he needs a personal first guardsman for the dangerous journey. Its while on this expedition into the wilds that passion and desire explode between Devon and Xan, except betrayal and long held prejudices threaten to destroy any chance they have of happiness.

Sovereign’s Gladiator is the first non-contemporary book by Jez Morrow that I’ve read, and as a history buff, I really liked the quasi-Roman setting. The first thing that stands out for me is the rich world-building. Despite the story’s shorter novella length, the vivid details of the buildings, dress, different peoples and customs makes the story setting come alive as if of a much greater length.

While the story brims with romance, desire and passion, there’s a lot more going on here for Xan and Devon to deal with--namely uncertainty, unrest, deceit and betrayal. All these and maneuvering through a minefield of misunderstandings between class and culture endangers their lives and threatens their new relationship. It’s here that Ms. Morrow excelled. She took all these different aspects and, with flair and creativity, came out with a well paced plot that made historical sense and two main characters her readers could care about. Read and enjoy.

Turn The Other Cheek


Title: Turn The Other Cheek
Author: Chris Owen
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61040-046-6
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Mallory never really understood the need to share his private life with the rest of the world. He is dedicated to his life as a firefighter but when his shift ends, his time is his own, to do whatever he wants without having to answer for his actions. It just so happens that Mallory chooses to spend his free time with Will – a fellow fireman who works at the same station as Mal. Will shares Mal’s passion for dancing and from the moment they first met the pair generated plenty of heat, on the dance floor and between the sheets.

Although their relationship is progressing nicely, Will can’t help but feel a little frustrated. He and Mal both know that as soon as their relationship goes public, it will mean the end of working together. Despite preferring to keep Will all to himself, Mal knew he would have to tell the guys at work eventually – he sure as hell isn’t going to compromise anyone because of his feelings for Will. He just wishes things could stay private for a little bit longer. It is decision time for Mal but can he finally choose what he really wants out of life?

Turn The Other Cheek is the sequel to Cheek To Cheek and follows Mal and Will as their relationship deepens into something serious enough to make both men take a step back and re-evaluate what they really want. Chris Owen has always created characters with depth that speak to my heart and it has been very enjoyable to witness Mal and Will’s relationship evolving from lust to love. It was very easy to get swept up in the pair’s need for each other so the difficulties they subsequently face in making their situation work affected me too. Neither character was perfect but they were able to accept each other for who they were so I was able to see the good in both of them. I can tell that a lot of work has gone into creating a world full of interesting characters with their own stories to tell. Turn The Other Cheek pulled me deeper into a world I am already familiar with and I could happily read more of Mal and Will’s story.