Wednesday, May 23, 2012

Nate’s Deputy

Title: Nate’s Deputy
Author: Lavinia Lewis
Publisher: Total E Bound Books
Publisher’s URL:
ISBN/BIN:   9780857159557     
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Nate isn’t looking for a mate, in fact, he’s just trying to get by one day at a time and the fact that he’s lonely is just something he will have to live with.  Jared is the new deputy in town and he has hopes of one day soon becoming sheriff.   If his brother doesn’t start staying out of trouble, and if Jared can’t stop obsessing over Nate, then his hopes just may end up going down the drain. 

Nate’s Deputy is the fifth story in the Shifter’s Haven series.  This story tells the tale of Nate and Jared.  Nate is Rick’s older brother and, to be honest, I had totally forgotten about Rick and the reasons for his death.  When the story starts off and Nate’s and Rick’s history is revealed, it was easy to understand why Nate was so reclusive.  The author did a good job bringing the grief and pain, as well as the guilt that Nate continues to suffer across realistically.  As for Jared, he and his brother are new additions in town.  Even though their childhood was rough, the death of their father hits both Jared and his brother hard.  Hoping a new environment will be good for both of them, Jared decides to move.  Of course, he never thought he would meet someone like Nate.  The confusion and uncertainty that Jared feels in the beginning, due to his attraction to Nate, is understandable.  I liked that the author allows Jared to work through his issues without dragging them out through the whole story.  These two do heat up the pages, however, once they get together. 

With Nate’s Deputy, the author introduced some new twists to the underlying sub-plot.  The actions of some of the supernatural council members are sure to be seen in upcoming additions to the series.  There were more than a few surprises in this book, one I did not see coming at all and was actually shocked to see happen.  While the books in this series can be read as stand-alones, the underlining plot is enhanced with each new story, so I would strongly recommend that you read the books in order.

No comments: