Thursday, May 3, 2012

Darcy Burke

Title: Darcy Burke
Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand Publishing
ISBN/BIN:   1-61926-627-X
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Ayden Magee is a wolf shifter, one so traumatized that he has been in his animal form for over a year.  When Darcy Burke shows up at the home of his friend Zane and Zane’s mates, the vampire knows immediately that the wolf, who has been roaming the vineyard, is his mate.   Now he just has to save Ayden, his brothers and a variety of other shifters. 

When Darcy and Ayden meet, their connection, as can be expected, is strong from the beginning and although Darcy fails to heed the warnings concerning Ayden, he wastes no time making love to his mate.  This leads to some serious problems for the warrior vamp and I couldn’t help but feel for him.  It’s also because of this that Darcy and Ayden end up at the infirmary where a variety of Marius’ and their mates show up.  It is here that we learn just what makes Ayden’s Kappa wolf so different from all the other shifters.  I must admit I was more than a little curious about Mr. and Mrs. Marius’ hidden desires, but in no way surprised by who the alpha vampire was in the family.  While things start out good for our two main characters, they change fast.   In some ways, I was surprised that Darcy did not understand why Ayden was upset about being made immortal without his knowledge, yet at the same time I can understand Darcy’s confusion over the whole thing.  As you might have guessed, the author introduced several new characters, two of whom are Ayden’s younger brothers.   While the middle brother is close to being claimed, it is the younger that I am most curious about and can’t wait to see what Ms. Flynn has planned for him. 

Darcy Burke is the second story in Joyee Flynn’s Beyond the Marius Brothers series, which takes place in the same world and at the same time, as the Marius Brothers series.  There are many intersecting story lines and because of that, previous characters show up as secondary characters.  For this reason, I would strongly recommend that you not only read the stories in order, but read the Marius Brothers and The O’Hagan Way series, as well

No comments: