Wednesday, April 26, 2017

Darkest Hour Before Dawn

Author: Charlie Cochet
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-609-2
Genre: M/M Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

The Love between THIRDS Team Leader Sebastian Hobbs, a tiger and Chief Medical Examiner Hudson Colbourn, a wolf never died even though they both tried for seven years to move pass their breakup. However unforeseen circumstances plays a major role in the reunion of the lovers and family.

Darkest Hour Before Dawn is the sequel to Thick & Thin and the ninth book in the THIRDS series. The story answers the questions of Hudson Colbourn’s biological family history and also gives the reader some insight to Hudson’s relationship with the Hobbs family.

The action part of the plot center around Hudson’s medical care of Dex who is now a jaguar hybrid, a condition that makes Dex and Hudson very beneficial to the Intelligence team leader as well as the racial groups determined to takeover the world.

The heartwarming side of the plot features the emotional attachment between Hudson and Sebastian, the interaction with team members and a few interesting revelations. 

Overall, Charlie Cochet has added another enjoyable and impressive installment to the THIRDS series.

Overseer’s Chain

Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-1053-7
Genre: {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

As an assessor, Isabella was in a unique position to hide some of the women designated as breeders.  When she is caught, she finds that her punishment may not be that bad since she will be bound to the Overseer.

Overseer’s Chain is the third book in the Brace for Humanity series.  In this book, we finally get Isabella’s story as she has been a secondary character in the previous ones.  This book is fascinating as the author went into a lot of detail about the humans on Imrahl and it was a surprise.  I must give the author kudos for the way she has created this world.

Isabella has been given a lot of access to the history and confidential files not available for humans.  Iktabi didn’t realize just how much Isabella knew, but her knowledge becomes invaluable when he assigns her as his assistant for her punishment.  What Isabella didn’t know when he first tethered her to him is that she is also Iktabi’s mate.

This book is a little different as well because it tells the story of Imrahl and the Rrassic.  It is an interesting story, especially because of the threats the Rrassic use to keep the humans in line.  Several characters from the previous stories show up. 

It will be interesting to see where the rest of this series goes considering this new information.  I am looking forward to reading those stories.

Destiny

Title:  Destiny
Author:  Faith Starr
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-197-7
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Suspense, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Jordan is working on her Doctorate and is looking at BDSM and comparing the consensual nature with an abusive relationship since she works at a women’s shelter for abused women.  Noah is one of the owners of Hilltops and is helping her understand some of the appeal of the lifestyle.

Destiny is the first book in the Hilltops series.  Hilltops is a high end BDSM private club with some very strict guidelines.  Three brothers own it, but as it is now successful, at least one of the owners wants to stay in the office instead of participating as a profession Dom.

There is a twist at the end that shows Noah exactly what his feelings are towards Jordan but until that happens, Noah isn’t sure what he wants beyond having Jordan.  Jordan is attracted to Noah, but is insecure about their relationship. The chemistry between them is explosive and it is noticed by Noah’s family.

I had to laugh at Noah’s family because of the way they reacted to Jordan.  Noah is very surprised by his uncle’s assessment as his uncle transitions to retirement.  The relationship Jordan has with her best friend’s father is complicated.  He is her advisor, but their relationship becomes contentious especially after Casey ends up in the hospital.  

The author kept my interest and I am looking forward to reading the rest of this series.  Though it started slow, the story itself is very compelling.  The author did a good job showing both points of view in the way she changed the voice.  I will be reading this one again.

There’s This Guy

Author:  Rhys Ford
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-499-9
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jake is living a life he hates.  He works hard at a job that makes him money and cares for a father he wishes would die.  He dreads going home and being alone, not sure if he will be around the next morning.  Then Dallas comes into the picture and Jake must face the truth he has been hiding for so long.

I am a big fan of Ms. Ford and have her on my must buy list.  I think it is important that readers know that this story is a little different than what we normally see.  Readers should know that There’s This Guy also has themes that can be triggers for some readers.  For me, this was one of the author’s best stories and I could not put it down.  From the first page, I was pulled into the story.  Jake made me cry and many times I worried about how this story would end but I should not have worried as the author does an outstanding job with Jake.

Jake is a welder.  While he works hard at his job, it is his art that keeps him going.  He comes from an extremely abusive childhood and, at times, I could not decide who I hated most, his father who was the abuser, or his mother who turned her back on Jake when he needed her the most.  Because of the abuse and the way he was raised, Jake is full of self-hatred.  The way he handles it will leave you crying so be prepared. 

The other main character in this story is Dallas.  Dallas comes from a loving and accepting family.  He is openly gay and does not care what others think.  He’s bought the building across the street from where Jake works and plans on turning it into a club.  From the moment he sees Jake, he is pulled to the other guy but knows not to pin his hopes on anything.  When he finally meets Jake, he is even more drawn to him but can clearly see that the other man is haunted by something.  The two men are drawn together and slowly Jake learns to accept himself but it is not an easy road.  I love the passion that exists between Jake and Dallas and love the way Dallas is there for Jake along his journey.

The one similarity between this book and the others the author has written is the wonderful secondary characters that are present.  Some are there throughout the whole story like Celeste, while others pop in for short periods of time like Dalllas’ mom.  Regardless of how long they are in the book, they play important roles in the story and help move it along.  

From beginning to end, There’s This Guy will hold your attention.  Fans of Ms. Ford’s are sure to love this book as it is one that stays with you long after you finish.  

Taking Her Down

Title:  Taking Her Down
Author:  Vonna Harper
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-140-9
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Shana has dreams and fantasies about being dominated, especially since she owns her own business and is always in charge.  After a friend runs across a website for an adventure, she signs up.  What she doesn’t know is that the Dom she is paired with also has one of the same fantasies.

Taking Her Down is the third book in the Carnal Secrets series.  Ms. Harper keeps the intensity of the previous books in this one.  Readers should be aware that there are also a few triggers as well.  The author also does a play on the acronym BDSM in the name of the business in the story.

Jim is an attorney who used to go to the island as the Dom paired with a client in order to satisfy his need to dominate.  He sometimes thinks he is living his fantasy and takes Shana with him.  As far as he is concerned, this is not a game and he thinks Shana is a natural submissive that he is going to keep. The two have chemistry, and Jim has a knack of keeping Shana on edge without thinking of using her safe word.

The two secondary characters make their appearance in the first part of the book, but the rest is everything that Jim does to make Shana’s experience what he thinks she needs. 

This story has been revised for being released by Totally Bound as it has been previously published.  I thought Taking Her Down was the best of the three stories in this series.

Unspeakable Words

Author:  Sarah Madison
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-335-0
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Mystery, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jerry Parker is an FBI agent and, while he thinks he is great at his job, he has yet to oversee a case.  He’s tired of being everyone’s go-to guy for information and feels wasted at the office.  When his boss puts him in charge of picking up a visiting agent, he’s beyond mad, but then everything gets turned on its head and Jerry wonders if he has just met the man of his dreams.

Unspeakable Words is the first book in The Sixth Sense series by author Sarah Madison.  It is a mystery that centers on two FBI agents, both of whom have reputations of being problem children.  Jerry is assigned to the San Francisco office.  While he loves the city, he is tired of the way he is treated by the other agents.  Known for his photographic memory, Jerry is used as a font of information for his co-workers.  Because of his talents, he comes across as cold and crass, therefore unliked by his fellow agents.   John Flynn is in San Francisco for only a few days to follow up on a cold case involving a serial killer.   He’s intrigued by Jerry even though he thinks the guy is a pain in the ass. 

I love the connection that forms between these two men.  There is some tension between the two that intensifies as their time together continues.  I worried about Jerry in the beginning because it was easy to see that he was lusting after John, yet the other agent appeared to be clearly straight.  Everything is not what it seems between the men or the case they are involved in. 

The guys are supposed to be interviewing a possible witness in the Grimm Fairy Tale murders that occurred a few years ago.  Their witness keeps putting them off, however, and when the men finally get the chance to meet with her, they come across something else instead.  Now John can read people’s minds, and both he and Jerry must figure out how to handle the changes to the case, as well as their relationship.  

I was pulled into this story from the beginning.  The author had me turning the pages to see what would happen between the men as well as with the case they are investigating.  I loved the various twists and turns and thought the author did an outstanding job handling the changes that John must contend with.  

I don’t believe that I have read anything by this author and decided to give this “new” series a try.  Imagine my surprise and joy when I realized that this is a second edition and that I could still find books two and three.  This is one story that I will be reading again, and I cannot wait to start book two.

Her Submission

Title:  Her Submission
Author:  Vonna Harper
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-113-3
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Kaci is trying to survive and rebuild her life with jobs she chooses. Reno sees her and ends up kidnapping her. 

Her Submission is the second book in the Carnal Secrets series.  Be aware there will be triggers in this book for some readers.  Reno was injured and is not currently a trainer for Carnal.  He also hasn’t decided if he is going to keep Kaci for himself even though he takes her to his home, not the Carnal training facility.

Kaci has fantasies of being forced to submit, but she doesn’t trust easily as she grew up hard.  After being betrayed by her then boyfriend and spending two years in juvie, she is trying to rebuild her life, when Reno enters it. 

Both Kaci and Reno end up facing some hard facts as Reno trains her.  Several times he deviates from the normal training program he used at Carnal.  As they both learn more about each other, they discover feelings for each other. 

Reno does talk to a friend that is a former trainer as well.  He is confused because Kaci doesn’t react like the ‘normal’ captive he is used to dealing with. Reno must make some decisions as he starts getting feelings for Kaci about what is he going to do with her. Will he also decide to go back to Carnal or join his friend’s business? 

The books in Carnal Secrets are very intense and will invoke strong emotions.  I am intrigued enough to want to know what the next story will be.  Readers should be aware that this book has been previously published by a different publisher and been revised for release by Totally Bound.

Tuesday, February 28, 2017

Alien Salvation

Title:  Alien Salvation
Author:  Tracy St. John
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-064-8
Genre: {M/F/M/M}, BDSM, Sci-Fi, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Lindsey and her parents went into hiding once her sister became the Kalquorian Empress. They are barely surviving after the nuclear holocaust when Bacoj, Japohn and Vax crash on the planet.

Alien Salvation is the fourth book in the Clans of Kalquor series and picks up several months after the leaders on Earth decided to explode nuclear bombs as Earth was invaded.  The survivors are barely hanging on.  The author is very descriptive about what is going on as people try to survive. 

Lindsey approaches the Kalquorians to make a trade for food because she and her parents are barely surviving.  After a deal is struck, Lindsey gets to know them and the four decide to become a clan.  Because of who Lindsey is, the men make a decision that could have some extreme consequences.

The author did a good job showing the emotional impact that decision had on the whole family.  I had to laugh about Empress Jessica’s reactions when she found out about it, as it seems she has quite a temper.  While there were some secondary characters, the story revolved around Lindsey, Bacoj, Japohn and Vax, as well as Lindsey’s parents.  I loved the mother’s reactions about the deference she was given as Jessica’s mother.

I really enjoy reading this series and will be reading it again, as well as the next book.  This book has been revised and re-released after being published before by a different publisher.  The purchase link is for Amazon as the book is not available through the publisher in the United States, but is available through them outside.

Two Cowboys and a Baby

Author:  BA Tortuga
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-385-5
Genre: {M/M}, Western, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Release Date: March 15, 2017

For the most part Hoss has everything he needs.  It’s not until he finds a baby on his front porch that the cowboy realizes what has been missing.

Two Cowboys and a Baby is Ms. Tortuga’s contribution to Dreamspinner’s Dreamspun Desires line.  Fans of the author are really going to love this new story as it has everything we look for from her.  This story is also a great starter story for those looking to try the M/M genre or this author for the first time. 

The characters are well written and pull you into their story right from the beginning.  Hoss is a busy man.  He runs a ranch and occasionally rides in the rodeo.  When he has the time, he hangs out with his best friend, Bradley.   Bradley is a jack of all trades.  He lives in an old trailer on Hoss’ ranch.  He doesn’t need much and works just enough to get by, leaving him plenty of opportunity to hang out with Hoss.  What neither of these guys know is that the love they have for each other is returned.  Although this by itself would lead to all kinds of problems, the author throws in a little twist in the form of an infant.

Only in a small community, or romance book, would a sheriff let two men, who find a baby on their porch, take said child home.  Yet that is just the case in this story and, as Hoss and Bradley learn to care for Shayanne, they also learn more about each other.  I really love the connection that exists between these two men and seeing it grow was fun to watch.  I also loved the way they are with baby Shayanne and seeing them shopping at Walmart made me laugh. 

There are many times in this book when the readers will find themselves laughing out loud.  But that does not mean this is a light read.  There is a twist with Shayanne that I did not see coming and it has a strong effect on the men’s new relationship.  This twist also reveals a secret regarding Hoss, that made me a little mad on his behalf.  There are some great secondary characters in Two Cowboys and a Baby that help move this story along.  Hoss’ mom is something else and, more than once, I had to laugh at the things she said. 

Readers are sure to enjoy the way the author wraps up this story.  From the characters to the situations that pop up around them, there is something for everyone.  This is one book I will be re-reading again.

Not His Type

Title:  Not His Type
Author:  Cameron Allie
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0965-4
Genre: {M/F}, {F/F/F}, Contemporary, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Brooke does not want to be the liaison between her boss and Gabe when she goes home to care for her dying mother, especially since Brooke and Gabe do not have a good history.

Not His Type is the second book in the Unexpected Changes series.  Even though there may be a few triggers for some readers in this book, it did a good job letting readers know some of the major issues Brooke faced while in high school. In one sense, I am not sure that in real life, because of their past, Gabe would have started dating Brooke. 

Gabe has several women he has sex with in a group.  He manages to talk Brooke into going to his room and participating in sex with his ‘girls’.  Gabe is surprised when he starts to have feelings for Brooke and gets upset when he realizes she doesn’t want to continue their relationship after her mother dies.

Several of their friends have plenty to say since they know what happened in high school and Brooke’s best friend with benefits also has a lot to say to both.  Between him and Brooke’s mother, Gabe finds out about the reasons Brooke behaved the way she did, and why she missed so much one year in high school.  Gabe’s family also has some interesting things to say, including encouraging Brooke to hang in there. 

Not His Type was an unexpected story that was intense, but very informative about issues regarding cutting, anorexia and stalking.  The author did a good job integrating these issues into the story and showing how relationships can evolve despite very rocky beginnings.  I am looking forward to the next stories in this series.

The Hated Finn

Author:  Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN: 978-1-4874-0982-1
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

The shifters and vampires have been working hard to destroy the scientists and all they stand for.  After the last raid, Viktor was put in charge of tracking down many of the vendors who supplied the scientists and their labs.  One of those vendors is Finn and Viktor is shocked to discover the man is his beloved.

The Hated Finn is the 39th book in Ms. Richards’ Wolves of Stone Ridge series.  This new story has a vampire and shifter couple at its center, which is not new.  What makes this story a little refreshing is that, once Finn realizes that Viktor is his mate, he does not automatically fall for the mating pull, but the connection between them cannot be denied.

Viktor is the vampire in this story.  He has some bad history with the scientists and is determined to make sure everyone involved with them pays.  That’s why he is a little shocked to find out that Finn a shifter but also his beloved.  Finn is an ostrich shifter.  He also raises ostriches for their meat and sells it online.  One of his biggest clients is a pharmaceutical company, so he’s little concerned when they seem to have dropped off the map.  He’s unsure which upsets him more, what he finds out about the lab or that the vampire on his door step is his mate.

I loved the chemistry between these two.  When Finn decides to give Viktor a shot, they go on a date and, while they do not end up in bed, the chemistry shines through.  They have some serious issues to overcome, however, such as Finn’s desire to stay away from all paranormals, and Viktor’s time spent with the scientists.  If not for the fact that Viktor is in major need of blood, they would have had to settle those issues before falling into bed. 

There are several secondary characters, most bad, that help move the story along.   I was surprised by the way the interaction between Viktor and the deputy played out but loved the way it introduced Drako to the paranormal world that exists around him.  

Fans of this series will enjoy The Hated Finn.  It is a well-done addition to this ongoing series.  

Love in the Line of Fire

Author:  Michael Murphy
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-207-0
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jonah Pratt is head of the First Husband’s detail.  He has worked hard to get where he is but has had to keep his sexual preferences to himself.  When someone tries to kill the First Husband, Jonah is shocked by what follows, especially the feelings he develops for the civilian that helps.

Love in the Line of Fire is a fast paced read that will keep you turning the pages.  Mr. Murphy introduces the readers to two characters that have strong alpha personalities, yet realize that there is something in the other that they need.  Jonah is in the Secret Service.  As head of the First Husband’s detail, he has a lot on his plate.  This leaves him with little time for a social life. However, since he is in the closet he has learned to deal.  Benji is former military and currently attending the same college where the First Husband teaches.  He happens to be in the right place at the right time when an assassin takes a shot at the First Husband.  The author does a great job writing such a serious scene.  The confusion, terror, and adrenalin that you would expect to occur, in a situation like this, comes through clearly. 

This situation brings the two men together and it is while they are dealing with the after-math, that they realize that they have something in common that few others do.   The connection the two are forming is fragile and when a misunderstanding occurs, the relationship that is starting to develop almost comes to an end. These two are really something when they come together but things happen that bring Benji’s secrets and insecurities to the forefront.  More than once, I wanted to cry for Benji.  The PTSD he suffers, due to his time in the military, has a strong hold on him.  His reactions to various situations is realistic, which the author portraits perfectly.     

There is a lot in this story to keep the reader turning the pages.  I was up late into the night wanting to know what would happen next and how things between Benji and Jonah would play out.  As a side note, the situation with the First Husband and the President was as intriguing as the main story and I wondered why the author wasn’t touching more on this.  It was not until later that I found out that Love in the Line of Fire could be considered a follow up to a previous book by this author.  If after reading this current story you want to find out more, I suggest picking up The President’s Husband, I know I plan to. 

Love by Design

Author: Sam B. Morgan
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-68252-289-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Benjamin McIntyre is torn between pleasing his very traditional father and being happy in his personal life. For Ben, true happiness can only be found in the arms of Jeremy Lanzo.

Love by Design is a charming on and off romance. Ben and Jeremy have a mutual attraction to each other, but both men desperately try to hide their feelings.

Ben is bisexual and the vice president in his father’s international commercial construction company. He has an exuberant personality that works well for gaining new clients. However, his personal desires also show in his demeanor when Jeremy is within Ben’s sight.

Jeremy is openly gay and the lead designer at McIntyre. Although he has been in love with Ben for several years, Jeremy has the capacity to hide his emotions well or at the very least keep a safe social distance between them.  

Sam B. Morgan has created an enjoyable saga featuring some of the pitfalls of an employer / employee relationship. 

Naked Nights

Title:  Naked Nights
Author:  Vonna Harper
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-108-9
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Marina is a jockey but has gotten on a couple of the owner’s bad side because they don’t think a woman should be one.  They decide to remove her from the equation by hiring a group called Carnal to kidnap her.

Naked Nights is the first book in the Carnal Secrets series by Vonna Harper. This book has been revised from a previous release and publisher. Readers should be aware that this book is full of triggers and may also make some angry as well.  The basic premise is that Carnal kidnaps women, making them into sex slaves, which they sell.  It is also definitely outside the normal BDSM safeguards usually associated with the lifestyle.

Trey is a former professional football player who was injured and got involved with Carnal as an investor, but decides to become a trainer.  Marina is his first captive trainee.  Trey starts questioning himself as things progress, especially as he starts to know Marina.  The authorities aren’t too happy and are constantly questioning him about his methods, even sending another trainer to demonstrate some techniques, which doesn’t go over well.

Marina also questions herself, as she starts this journey she is forced on.  Several scenes are very intense and some can even be called torture.  Conversations confuse her feelings and the night before her auction, where the other women are as well, is bad.  The day of the auction is a surprise for Marina.

This book kept me guessing right up until the end.  Of course, there is a happy ending for Trey and Marina, but to get there is very intense.  There were times I had to put it down, just to keep perspective that this was just a story and not ripped out of headlines.  I don’t doubt the rest of this series will be as intense.  

The Prize

Title:  The Prize
Author:  Ashe Barker
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-122-5
Genre: {M/F/M}, BDSM, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Jessie wins a raffle that entitles her to one free month at the Vivant Club.  Along with the membership, she gets to have a night with two of the Doms in the club.  What she gets is Mark and Greg.

The Prize is the first book I’ve read by this author, and I really enjoyed her knowledge of the subject matter.  This is a fast-paced intense story about the first night Jessie claims her prize. The Vivant Club is an exclusive BDSM club that caters to some very wealthy people and has some very stringent requirements. I loved the butler and Jessie’s reaction to him.

Jessie is very surprised when she first arrives at the club.  Once she finishes the paperwork, she meets Greg and Mark. The scenes and chemistry between the three are very intense.  Both Doms are very knowledgeable and no-nonsense about what they want from Jessie. 

In the future, I would like to know more about the Vivant Club and possibly what happens to Jessie, Greg, and Mark after this first night.  I will be reading The Prize again in the future.  

Readers should be aware that this book was part the His Domain anthology by Totally Bound.

Corian: Ragadon Desire

Author:  Kymber Rowean
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0793-3
Genre: {M/F/M}, Ménage, Paranormal, Sci-Fi
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Nierra is a Corian, one of the ‘promised ones.  She is taken by the Confederacy, but until she is mated, they keep her on a short leash.  Nierra is very surprised when it turns out she has two mates, not one, and that they are dragons.

Corian: Ragadon Desire is the first book I’ve read by Kymber Rowean.  I do hope there will be more stories in the future about this world.  I do have to say when I first started reading this book, it was slow and I got a little confused because of the way it started.  There wasn’t a whole lot about this universe and it wasn’t until a third of the way into the book that things started to make sense.  Things do jump around between what is going on with Brok, Colin and Nierra.

General Dolvechz is the man that is keeping Nierra, along with others, prisoner. The General is a very cruel man and has plans to escape the Confederacy since he has lost power because Nierra hasn’t mated in the years she has been a prisoner.  Lots of other characters help the story along, both good and bad.  There are so many twists in this book once you get past the first part. 

Sabotage and intrigue abound as Nierra, Brok, Colin and others try to escape Dolvechz and his manipulations, especially since he is also being hunted.  There are a few light-hearted moments toward the end, and some people are reunited with family.  I did love the ending. 

As I stated above, I would like to read about some of the other characters in the future and hope the author turns this into a series as several threads need answering.

Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Wolfmanny

Title: Wolfmanny
Author:  Julia Talbot
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-287-2
Genre: {M/M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Publish Date: Feb. 6, 2017

Kenneth was given custody of his nieces and nephews after the death of his sister.  But Kenneth is not only an Alpha, he’s also CEO of a large software company and doesn’t have the time to take care of the children on his own.  He’s gone through several different nannies and, after his oldest bites the latest nanny, he’s forced to look somewhere else for help.  What surprises Kenneth is that the nanny he is expecting turns out to be a many, as well as his mate.  Having Jack show up gives Kenneth the courage to claim Miles, his beta and other mate as well. 

Wolfmanny is the first book in Ms. Talbot’s new series, Nose to Tail, Inc.  This first book is a great shifter story with a few twists thrown in to keep the reader’s attention till the last page.  This is a ménage story that centers on the Alpha, Kenneth Marcon, his beta Miles, and the newest member of the household, Jack. 

First there is Kenneth.  From the beginning, it is easy to see how much he loves his nieces and nephews.  After caring for them so long, he sees them as his own children and will do anything for them.  I also liked the way he is with Miles, even before he claims his beta, he sees the man as his.  But Kenneth has a strong sense of responsibly and does not know when to step away from work.

Then there is Miles.  Miles is the pack beta.  It is his responsibility to be there for the pack when Kenneth isn’t.  He’s also Kenneth’s right hand man when it comes to the business.  When the new manny shows up, he is intrigued by the other man and is surprised by Kenneth’s reaction.

Last there is Jack.  Jack used to be an enforcer in his original pack.  He also has military training and has worked as a manny many times.  He is just what the Marcon family needs, not because they are bad kids but because they are young wolves with a lot of energy.  He is also just what Miles and Kenneth need as he helps Kenneth learn to relax and shows Miles that he is wanted.   With him there, the other two men are finally comfortable acknowledging their feelings for each other, as well as Jack.  I loved the chemistry between these three men.   Even though things move fast, it comes across naturally so the relationship between the men does not seem rushed.  Before the men have a chance to complete the mating, Kenneth must go away on business which leads to some hairy situations. 

There are a few little situations that pop up that will keep the reader’s attention.  One really surprised me and I felt bad for Simone, Kenneth’s oldest.  I also loved the children, especially Ginny and Thomas.  There are also a few other secondary characters that really help make the story.  

I am curious to see what the next story will be about and hope we will not have to wait too long.

Thick & Thin

Title: Thick & Thin
Author: Charlie Cochet
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-389-3
Genre: M/M, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Release Date Feb 1, 2017

Everything is changing for Destructive Delta; the biggest change will be Dex and Sloan’s life together as well as a change in their career duties.

Thick & Thin is the sequel to Smoke & Mirrors and the eighth book in the THIRDS series.  Kidnapped from the home he shares with Sloan, Dex is interrogated by a mysterious Therian where Dex learns the whole truth about his parents, John and Gina Daley’s homicide. This new information has set Dex on a mission to root out the secret government agencies, but access to the identities of the underground operation means he must become an undercover agent for the Therian Intelligence Network.

The second part of Dex’s mission, along with soon to be husband Sloan, is to protect their Destructive Delta family.

Thick & Thin answers questions of events introduced in Smoke & Mirrors, as well as opens the doors for the next level of crime fighting. Think of it as FBI agents promoted to CIA in the world today. 

Charlie Cochet has created another impressive and enjoyable installment to the THIRDS series. I look forward to discovering the answers to the burning questions of who is this underground government and what do they want? 

Wulf and the Bounty Hunter

Author:  Gail Koger
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-227-1
Genre: {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Wulf meets Yakira as a child, after she steals his credit chip.  Not only does he discover she is a Jones, he realizes she is his mate and wants to protect her until she is 21, when he can claim her.  Yakira gets away and doesn’t meet Wulf again until she is close to being of age.

Wulf and the Bounty Hunter is the sixth book in the Coletti Warlords and highlights another Warlord and a Jones woman.  Those that have read previous stories know that a Jones woman has a way of constantly being in trouble and is also very smart and, for the most part, is also a warrior with lots of psychic talent.  Yakira is no exception to this rule, as is the non-stop action in this stories.

I love the way Ms. Koger works humor into her stories.  The women are constantly snarky to all, including their Warlords.  A lot of characters from previous books show up as Yakira and the sister of her heart constantly come up with ideas that get them into trouble. I was constantly laughing at the mishaps.

Between kidnappings, threats, and trying to get together, Yakira and Wulf get to know each other and Yakira doesn’t want to wait to mate.  Even though things get hot and heavy between them mentally and with kisses, Wulf keeps putting her off.  They have some great chemistry and I laughed at how quickly they left their bonding ceremony. 

I am looking forward to reading more about the Coletti Warlords in the future.  This is one series I am looking forward to reading over and over again.

Destination, Wedding!

Author:  Xavier Maine
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-198-1
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Release Date: Jan. 30, 2017

Ethan and Gabriel are finally getting married.  That is if they can get to the church on time.  With Mother Nature putting her two cents in, the men are worried about what this will mean for the happiest day of their lives.

Destination, Wedding!  is the sixth book in the Brandt and Donnelly Capers series.  In this book, Ethan and Gabriel are ready to get married but when a previous case causes them to lose their wedding venue, the simple wedding they planned becomes a destination wedding in England.  If that is not a big enough problem, the men become separated.  First when Ethan has to go to San Diego for a conference, and then later when a volcano erupts in Iceland, causing many flights to be canceled.  This is really the first time the two men have been away from each other since becoming partners while on the job, and both are struggling with that separation.  As Ethan and Gabriel make their way to England, they are forced to take a deeper look at who they are as individuals and what the other person means to them. 

I really loved this story.  I have been waiting for these two to get married from the moment they got together and wondered how the author would go about doing that.  This story did not disappoint.  The separation Ethan and Gabriel are forced to endure is one full of adventure for both, yet they still miss the other and while Gabriel sees just how much Ethan means to him, it is Ethan that really under goes the biggest change.  When these two finally meet up again, watch out because they will burn up the pages.

There are a lot of secondary characters in Destination, Wedding!.  Of course, Bryce and Nestor are there and these two will have you laughing from the moment they show up until the last page of the book.  When they went to the truck stop, I laughed so hard I almost cried.  Bryce’s logic, when it came to getting to England was over the top crazy, does not do their trip justice. 

There are also several new secondary characters introduced, some of whom play important roles in this story.  There is also a couple of minor mysteries, both of which are slightly shocking.  

This story is slightly different from the previous ones and has become my favorite of the bunch.  I hope the author has no plans to end this series yet as I would love to see more of Ethan and Gabriel in the future