Friday, February 13, 2009

Magic Happens…


Title: Magic Happens…
Author: AKM Miles
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: Gay Erotic Romance Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Guy Daimer is on a journey that may not be simple but is necessary. While lying in a coma, Guy had a chance meeting with Daniel. Daniel asks Guy to deliver a message to the man he loves, Trent. The question is will Trent believe him, considering that Daniel died over a year ago?

Trent Casey is still mourning the loss of his lover and has had a hard time moving forward. He has no desire to allow another man into his heart or bed. When Guy starts to share his story, Trent is sure that Guy is playing with one card short of a full deck. However, the more they talk, the more Trent starts to accept some of the story Guy is relaying to him.

Daniel always believed magic happens on Halloween. What better time to move forward and find something new to believe in. Magic Happens… is a heart-warming paranormal romance, set in a secluded area where the two men have time to get to know each other. Trent is miserable without his soul mate. Guy tries to contain his jealousy over the obvious love shared by Daniel and Trent. Together they form a friendship that will help Trent find a new reason to live. You can feel Daniel working his magic, trying to help Trent and Guy find the happiness and love they deserve.

Confessions of a Confederate: The Calhoun Saga


Book Title: Confessions of a Confederate: The Calhoun Saga
Author: Taylor Kincaid
Publisher: Forbidden Publications
Publisher URL: http://www.forbiddenpublications.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: Paranormal Romance Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Fire Nymph

Gwen is a published author with a serious case of writers block. She is convinced by her aunt to rent out an impressive mansion to help inspire her creativity. Wanting to know everything she can about the house and its history, Gwen goes to see the town gossip Abigail. While listening to Abigail’s story about the history of the mansion, Gwen finds herself caught up in a tale of two brothers and the woman they both love.

This story intrigued me and kept me reading wondering if the woman in Abigail’s story would find love. I am looking forward to reading the second book and continuing the story.

Something Deeper


Title: Something Deeper
Author: Shara Azod and RaeLynn Blue
Publisher: Lulu
Publisher URL: http://www.lulu.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: Contemporary I/R
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph


Dream Builder (4.5 Nymphs) by Shara Azod is the moving story of a tough-as-nails woman, Toni. Even though she’s a short little thing, Toni has more curves than an hourglass and more moxie than most men. Working in construction has Toni assuming that no man will stick around for a relationship that is deeper than just sex. Until Toni is forced to work with Leland, she had no idea how wrong she was.

Leland wasn’t usually attracted to black women but the moment he laid eyes on Toni, he couldn’t fight his desire for her. No matter how hard the spitfire tried to push him away, Leland knew he would increase his efforts to win her over. Would Leland be able to convince Toni that he wanted her in his life, not just his bed?

I loved the chemistry between Leland and Toni from the moment they met. I was so afraid that Toni would let their differences kept them apart in the beginning. When Toni realized that she was her own worst enemy, I almost wept for joy and was sad to see their story end.

Cashmere Sky (4.5 Nymphs) by RaeLynn Blue blew me away. Sky wasn’t feeling comfortable about the freak mixer her crazy friend had dragged her into, but she decided to try and have fun anyway. After the harsh treatment from her ex-husband, Sky certainly needed fun in her life.

When Cashmere spots a shy, masked beauty, he knows he has to spend the evening with her. Once he gets to know her better, he realizes that one evening won’t be nearly enough. He wants forever. Can Cashmere convince Sky that he is serious about her?

Just as I started cheering for Sky to warm up to Cashmere, he goes and messes everything up. After a peek into his heart, I had no choice but to forgive him. How could I not fall in love with a man who could love so deeply? Sky had been emotionally broken and I so wanted Cashmere to be the one man to help her heal. I admit that I had concerns about Cashmere that included more than just his age, but RaeLynn Blue made my concerns disappear like mist. It was so easy to embrace Sky, because she is a perfect example of many women. There isn’t a woman alive who doesn’t have insecurities and fears when it comes to the opposite sex. It inspired me watching Sky let go and become free with the man she loves.

Something Deeper isn’t just the title, but also a perfect description of this Azod and Blue collaboration. Each story has a unique brand of sweetness that allows you to bond with the characters, like a friendly neighbor. It was beautiful to see fantasy become real life, with a few stumbling blocks along the way. If you enjoy unconditional and unconventional love stories that make your heart smile, then you had better not miss this one.

Lonely Hearts


Title: Lonely Hearts
Author: Adrianna Dane
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-865-5
Genre: LGBT Erotic Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

The events planned by Enduring Vows owner Caleb Wilson have made him well known. He believes in creating perfect weddings and commitment ceremonies to help start the couple’s future together off with a bang. His job doesn’t leave ample time for socializing or finding a man of his own, but Caleb dreams of finding the love his parents share.

James “Diamond Jim” Morgan has no room in his life for love or a permanent lover. He keeps his sex simple and doesn’t want any complications in his life. There are secrets in Jim’s life that make moving towards a relationship a painful thought. Jim soon discovers his heart won’t give him a choice after he meets Caleb. He can fight it, and he can run, but there is nowhere to hide.

Adrianna Dane blew me away with Lonely Hearts. I got what I was expecting and then had a heaping helping of suspense thrown into the mix. In addition, while I guessed some of what was to transpire I had no clues about the level of deceit and betrayal until the final revelations became known. I absolutely love the characters in this story. Jim is too scared to be himself and admit what he wants. He is trying to please his father, but there is no way Jim can make the ultimate sacrifice. Caleb makes you adore him from the very beginning. He has the “I’m gay and…” stance, but has a grace and sweetness that just draws you in. They are a perfect match. The lovemaking is scorching, and will leave a few pages turned up at the edges. While some of Jim’s actions ticked me off, I started to understand but not completely forgive some of his actions. Lonely Hearts is definitely worth keeping for your cold winter’s night – lazy summer’s day collection.

Snowfire: Foxy Lady


Author: Marteeka Karland
Publisher: Changeling Press
ISBN: 978-1-60521-195-4
Genre: Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 2.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Caen Nymph

The Faery prince Gualin is looking for a mate, and he already has someone in mind. Snow fox Dalla has lusted after the prince like many of the other creatures in the woods. He’s good looking and royalty. However if Gualin wants her, he’s going to have to earn her.

Snowfire: Foxy Lady is a sweet magical story about two creatures coming together during a mating season. I like the image the author portrayed for her characters, and I found it refreshing that Dalla was a snow fox in this tale. However the flowery prose (especially during the sex scenes) made the prose a little uncomfortable to read. I believe if the author didn’t resort to using lyrical prose for her sex scenes, then the overall enjoyment of the story as a whole would have been much better. In this setting I would have loved to see more information on the world and back story on the characters (especially Dalla).

With the flowery prose and lack of development, Snowfire: Foxy Lady just fell short for me.

Wednesday, February 11, 2009

A Taste Of Honey


Title: A Taste Of Honey
Author: Christiane France
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-470-9
Genre: Gay Historical Interracial
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Marquis de Vernnay, Antoine Auguste, is a man who likes his sex hot, steamy and exciting. At twenty-four, he is a regular at la rue Charles V but finds the women offered for his enjoyment aren’t keeping his fires stoked. Something is missing, something that will help him get over his sexual boredom. What Antoine needs is A Taste of Honey.

Honey attracts Antoine from the moment their eyes met. He is exotic, sensual, and knows how to give his partner pleasure. One night of passion leads Antoine to the place where it all began. He wants Honey back in his bed, and if possible permanently. Can the Marquis gain Honey’s affections for more than one night?

Christiane France spices up A Taste of Honey with passion and a little mystery to solve. The extremes that Antoine was willing to go to had me shaking my head. Of course, watching him and Honey interact shows their mutual attraction. When push came to shove, Antoine didn’t care what obstacle was in his way. I never got the full story on Honey and found myself wondering about his past. Ms. France tells us how he came to meet Antoine, but I would have loved to know a bit more about his past, like why he decided on his first occupation, or in fact if he had a choice in the matter. Overall, this is a great historical romance for a cold evening night.

The Wolf's Sister


Title: The Wolf's Sister
Author: R. F. Long
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-60504-237-4
Genre: Fantasy Romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

River Holt has been Jeren’s home her entire life and with the death of her father, her existence is spun out of control when her brother, Gilliad, becomes Lord of River Holt. Her once beloved sibling is teetering on the edge of madness, and she’s desperate to escape the vile clutches of him and his despicable best friend. Afraid misuse of dark magic will send him into total madness, Jeren flees the city, and ends up under the care and protection of Shan, an Elite Fey’na warrior. As they are pursued across the snowy northern plains, they come to rely, trust and love each other. Afraid that Shan will hate and despise her, she keeps silent about her connection to her brother, even after she learns Gilliad is responsible for the murder of Shan’s innocent sister. If Shan discovers Jeren’s deception it could very well destroy everything they have created together; trust, respect and most importantly, love.

The Wolf’s Sister is the first release in the new fantasy romance series, A Tale of the Holtlands by author R.F. Long. This author is new to me, and I’m pleased with the tightly constructed plot, smooth flow and nice job of describing the two races that are the focus of this story. Add in animal totems, vastly differing belief systems, death, anger, madness, betrayal and unexpected love and you have all the components needed for an entertaining afternoon read. I look forward to seeing where this series goes with the next release, The Wolf’s Mate.

Mr. Fix-It


Title: Mr. Fix-It
Author: Kiernan Kelly
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: None
Genre: Futuristic, M/M
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Matt’s stress level goes up a notch when, due to a computer glitch, he receives a sexy male android instead of the robotic vacuum sweeper he ordered. But after pushing a few buttons, Matt soon learns this is the best mistake that ever happened to him.

Mr. Fix-it is Murphy’s Law gone high tech; whatever can go wrong, will go wrong. Kiernan Kelly creates an enjoyable snippet based on the realistic woes of dealing with a computerized customer service.

Tag Team 1: A Simple Mind


Title: Tag Team 1: A Simple Mind
Author: Sarah Colter
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-515-8
Genre: Gay Erotic Romance, Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Kerry 'Sunshine' Sutton is a professional wrestler in Mobile, Alabama. His lover and long time best friend, Lomian Sanders, keeps Kerry on his toes. Lomian believes Kerry is a bit simple, but Kerry is about to prove he’s far from stupid. Fingered as the offenders in a federal investigation that could equate to years of imprisonment, the lovers know they have to discover the truth. When the pieces start to fall into place, Kerry’s sister seems to be a possible culprit. Can he turn her into investigators if the implications are true?

Tag Team 1: A Simple Mind is the first installment of Sarah Colter’s new series. Kerry is sweet and loving, traits that were instilled in him at a young age. Lomian, while not a man to flaunt his feelings or sexuality, wouldn’t trade Kerry for anything in the world. The men are compact, handsome, and loved by their fans. I felt a bit sorry for Kerry, who only wanted Lomian to reciprocate his love. He handles it better than most, and refuses to give up on Lomian. The story moves at a fast pace, and while it doesn’t go deeply into wrestling or the match Kerry and Lomian partipate in, it is a source for light reading with hot sex and a quick mystery to be solved. I’m looking forward to seeing what happens next to Lomian and Kerry.

High Line


Title: High Line
Author: T.A. Chase
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-389-0
Genre: Gay Contemporary Romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

When CJ Lamont agrees to help up and coming actor, Garrett Johnson, learn about racing, he never imagines that their meeting will eventually change his life. Deeply in the closet, CJ can’t deny his attraction to Garrett, but that doesn’t mean he’s willing to give up his carefully scripted life either. CJ’s been unhappily married for eight years, and he’s finding it increasingly difficult to lead a life that’s a lie. He and his wife divorce and in her bitterness, she lashes out during an interview, telling the world his secret. When his life falls apart, his rescue and salvation come from an unexpected source, Garrett, who he hasn’t seen in nearly a year, and who currently considered one of Hollywood’s leading men.

Garrett Johnson’s acting career is really taking off and professionally, things couldn’t be better for him, but personally the opposite is true. Rich, his long-time lover, is spiraling into a deep pit of drug and alcohol addiction, destroying their already rocky relationship. Garrett wants the love and companionship his twin brother, Kasey, has found with his lover. Recently returned to the states, he’s shocked when he finds CJ in a gay club, desperate and ready to do something he’ll regret. Wanting to help, Garrett whisks him away, offering CJ a place to stay and a chance to heal.

As time passes, the two men grow closer; their relationship changing from friends to lovers. When CJ is unexpectedly given the chance to put his life back together, he must make a decision. Can he, or will he, return to living a lie and give up his chance to love Garrett, or will he grasp the love he’s always wanted and move on, leaving the past behind?

High Line is the second release in T.A. Chase’s ongoing Love of Sports series. Garrett and CJ are both likable men who deserve to find the happiness they’ve been searching for their entire lives, and the author does a nice jobbing describing their emotions. Watching as Garrett’s and CJ’s personal lives implode was painful, but not unexpected, and only made the story sweeter when CJ came back into Garrett’s life at a time they both needed it most. I loved the time Garrett spent letting the hurting CJ come to grips with the changes in his life, never pushing him into a physical relationship he didn’t want, or wasn’t ready for. This, like nothing else, displayed the depth of caring and patience that Garrett was capable. While both men had lived their lives in the public eyes, it was ironic that they preferred a simpler, more private existence. In other words, the other was the missing half needed for personal happiness.

I have no idea where this series is going with the next release, but I’m certain it will be as entertaining as the rest of T.A. Chase’s other books. Read and enjoy.

Ma Ma Loa


Title: Ma Ma Loa
Author: A. J. Llewellyn
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: None
Genre: Vampires, M/M
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Temeura has been suffering dreams of his sordid past since his nephew moved out of the nest. His loving husband Jimmy, who has the ability to dream walk, spends the nights rescuing Tem by leading him back to here and now. Jimmy has his hands full with his snarky mate until he finds the perfect Valentine gift for Tem and the underworld.

Ma Ma Loa is a holiday episode featuring the main characters of A Vampire in Waikiki. As always, the amazing A.J. Llewellyn inserts a snippet of island history, this time featuring Chinese immigrants. Ma Ma Loa is another enjoyable segment in this series.

Monday, February 9, 2009

Rhiannon’s Run and Other Tales


Title: Rhiannon’s Run and Other Tales
Author: Chris Neeley
Publisher: Forbidden Publications
Publisher URL: http://www.forbiddenpublications.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: Thriller
Nymph Rating: 2 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Silver Minx

The Perfect Wife 1.5 Nymphs- This is a story about a corporate business man named George and his wife Vicky. George is worried about Vicky becoming an overeater and consults a woman named Lorelei for help. George loves his wife but has aspirations to move within his company. Lorelei gives him a potion to give to Vicky. The results were not what George expected.

Rhiannon’s Run 2 Nymphs- A story about three children that go missing in a small town of Rome City, Kentucky. FBI Agent Robert Rhodes is assigned to the case and he doesn’t believe the stories that the children were taken by the ghost of Rhiannon Creager. Ghosts don’t exist, right? Agent Rhodes is about the find out the answers for himself.

Friends 1 Nymphs- A story told by a writer named Carrie. She is telling how she came by her story ideas. Thing is, it is odd how she gets them. She drinks the blood of her friends.

Boundless Love 1.5 Nymphs- Kathleen learned to astral project her soul. She met a man named Larry, who was a writer. Problem was she had come to him in her astral form and that was the only way he wanted her. So he did the only thing he thought he could to have her with him forever. He killed her. He did it because he loves her, right?

Bad Things 2 Nymphs- Ruth is getting herself a fresh start. A divorce from an abusive husband, a new home, and a new job; Ruth is ready to treat herself. She is starts a garden, the garden her ex wouldn’t allow her. She finds a huge rose bush called the Blood Rose. One day while weeding her new garden, she pricks her finger. A beautiful butterfly appears. Ruth figures out that her butterflies aren’t really butterflies and they drink blood…her blood.

Mommy’s Good Girl 1.5 Nymphs- Jenni’s mom is leaving Jenni with her Great Aunt Ethel for a night while she goes to a meeting. Jenni has a severe allergy to bees and is afraid of them. Aunt Ethel had a daughter named Rachel and she keeps mistaking Jenni for Rachel. No one knows what happened to Rachel. Jenni is about to find out.

This entire collection of short stories is all about diving into the darker side of ghost stories. Truthfully I am not sure what to make of them. I was fascinated and horrified at the same time. Many times, at the end of the story I couldn’t believe it ended there and it makes you wonder. Admittedly, when I read the first one, I was having a moment where I couldn’t believe what I was reading but in a strange way, it drew me in. One of the biggest complaints I have for all of this collection is I found the endings so short and unexplained. For example in Rhiannon’s Run, it never explains why the girl was such a terror or even what happened to her. You can assume that she is a ghost but how did she die? This collection is full of questions such as these.

Year of the Cat


Title: Year of the Cat
Author: Selah March
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-460-0
Genre: Gay / Fantasy / BDSM / Shapeshifter
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Etienne LeFevre knew his greedy brothers would rather see him dead and unable to claim his birthright, so he left his warm home to take shelter in a ramshackle cottage. With the company of a stray cat and his lute, he tries to make due even though he is cold, exhausted and hungry. The arrival of a stranger provided more than a helping hand to stoke the fire in the hearth. The man ignited the desire in Etienne’s heart. Cursed for decades, Jacques has lost most of his compassion. He lives as a predator and sees young sweet-natured Etienne as prey. Soon, Jacques will discover Etienne is more than just a willing bedfellow who needs protecting for his own good.

Selah March writes of love, betrayal, forgiveness and personal-growth in Year of the Cat. Etienne has lived in his books and has no “street smarts”. Jacques has lived, done what he must to survive and has no qualms taking necessary risks. From the moment they met, Jacques felt something for the younger man that he wasn’t ready to identify. There were moments where I wanted to hit Jacques with a skillet, but I had to remember this was Etienne’s adventure; his time to learn and grow. There were hard lessons and sacrifices made by both men, but love is a powerful tool. This is definitely a story you don’t want to miss.

Trapped


Title: Trapped
Author: Selena Illyria
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.net/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-851-8
Genre: Multicultural Vampire Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Kit has been in love with Rysen for over one hundred years. The day he rejected her as his consort was the day she became a woman scorned, preparing to prove that he made a mistake. She has become strong, fierce, and determined; a mercenary no one wants to cross. So why has Rysen tracked her down and why is he demanding she yield to him?

One of the hardest decisions Rysen has ever made was turning Kit away. He has harbored feelings for her since the moment they met and is ready to claim the woman he loves. However, there is a plot brewing that could take Kit away. Rysen will come face to face with a ghost from his past. They will have decisions to make and a new journey to embark upon.

Selena Illyria knows how to start a series. Kit has beauty, brains, and fighting skills that leave no room to doubt how she became a successful mercenary. Rysen knows no other could be his match except Kit. The match will begin a process no one thought possible and will be made of equal parts of strength and desire. I tell you these two had over one hundred years of make-up sex in their path and they tried to squeeze in at least fifty of those years in this first installment. Rysen never wanted to hurt her, but he didn’t want to see her hurt either. I’ll give the man credit; he was willing to make hard decisions. Ms. Illyria includes a few twists in this book that set up the next installment. From the setting to the characters, I enjoyed this story and I cannot wait to see what happens next.

Celtic Sacrifice


Title: Celtic Sacrifice
Author: Sheryl Brennan
Publisher: Underdog Press
Publisher URL: http://www.underdogpress.com/
ISBN: 978-0-615-25561-3
Genre: Historical Fantasy
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Ceana was destined to be the Druid priestess who would revitalize the vanishing beliefs and Druid mystical powers in Ireland. Claimed by two men who love her, Ceana searches for the answers to her confusing dreams and the shrouded path of her true destiny.

Celtic Sacrifice is more than a romance story; it is a tale rich in enchantment and Druid ceremony. I was fascinated by the meaning of the rituals. Sheryl Brennan has created an admirable illustration of how destiny is not set in stone; we each walk the path we choose to travel. Did Ceana choose the right path? Maybe the answer lies in book two of this thrilling Enchantment series.

The Elf And Shoemaker


Title: The Elf And Shoemaker
Author: M. L. Rhodes
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-457-0
Genre: Gay / Fantasy / Fairy Tale / Witchcraft / Magic
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Logan Shoemaker likes being his own boss. He owns a metaphysical store, Shoemaker’s Magick Shoppe, and he has no expectations of becoming rich. However, that doesn’t mean he wouldn’t live comfortably with enough money to pay his bills. The economy has played havoc with his income and Logan’s ability to keep a decent meal on the table. Logan has tried to remain upbeat, but receiving the electric company’s disconnect notice seems to push him past his normal slumping point. One drink leads to Logan emptying a bottle of wine and before he falls asleep, he whispers one final prayer for help.

The next day, Logan knows something important has changed. Did he dream it all? Has his lonely existence finally caught up to him? A man, pointy ears, and a night of passionate bliss as he has never had it before are all in the corners of his mind. The experience is trying to take shape into a solid memory but how could someone get into his home? Logan gains solid proof of the previous night’s occurrences and its name is “PASSION”.

M. L. Rhodes takes us into the life of Logan, a single hardworking man who just wants to keep his new business afloat and find someone to love. He’s fair and friendly, not to mention handsome and caring. Logan is everything a man could ever want in a lover but has little time to focus on such thing, thanks to being a sole proprietor. The Elf And Shoemaker is a love story of a modern day man meeting his fairy tale hero. After learning about each character, it was clear why they fell in love. If you like a bit of magic with your romance, I would suggest reading The Elf And Shoemaker.

Camp Hell


Title: Camp Hell
Author: Jordan Castillo Price
Publisher: JCP Books
Publisher URL: http://www.jcpbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-0-9818752-5-5
Genre: M/M Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Rating: Mystical Nymph

Victor Bayne is a valuable commodity as a fifth level psychic but he has little memory of what happened to him at the Heliotrope Station training facility and not knowing is driving him to distraction. He also can’t find any information about himself, or any of the other people he trained with. It’s like he, the others and the station itself never existed. Who and why had his records been erased, and why is he being followed, by whom and to what purpose? Are he and Jacob being spied on in their own home? Between dealing with his past, his love and life with Jacob, and trying to determine why people are dying unexpectedly at LaSalle Memorial Hospital, Vic has a lot on his plate. Add in trying to help Jacob and his partner, Carolyn, with their current case, he’s on overload. Just who exactly are the people from the Federal Psychic Monitoring Program, and what do they want with Vic?

Camp Hell is the fifth release in the ongoing PsyCop series, and I’ll admit up front that this one is my favorite. Ms. Price takes the readers on a fast-paced rollercoaster ride of love, passion and fear as Vic struggles to discover all he can about Heliotrope Station, otherwise known as Camp Hell, by the people who trained there. The plot of this book is ingenious in its complexity, pulling pieces of Vic’s past and present together, allowing him to come to grips with what happened to him and how it shaped his personality. It shows why Vic has panic attacks and why he relies so much on mood-altering chemicals, thus helping the reader understand his personality and its quirks, as never before. The amount of information Vic has repressed is phenomenal, and the scenes with Stefan are so vividly described, it was like I was experiencing the halls of Camp Hell myself, instead of seeing them through Vic’s eyes.

Jacob is still his sexy, protective alpha self, and he has a much more prominent role in Camp Hell than in any other release, thus far. His and Vic’s sex life is still as hot and intense as before, but it has taken on an aggressive, sensual edge that it didn’t have before, both men letting the passion and desire swirling between them to fire their lust and tenderness higher. Couples may have difficulties, but there’s never any doubt about Jacob’s love and devotion to Vic, the man he loves. Still, we’re allowed to see a side of him we’ve never seen before, as the couple tries to come to grips with the knowledge they are being followed and watched at every turn.

When you add Vic and Jacob to a cast of complex and vivid secondary characters (both old and new), you have excitement, intrigue, and a plot that will keep your interest from beginning to end. I for one can’t wait to see where this series goes with the next PsyCop release. Keep writing, Ms. Price.

Loving Lucas


Title: Loving Lucas
Author: Lisa Marie Davis
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-935192-44-2
Genre: m/m, contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Nicholas Demetris returned to Cedar Point, North Carolina five years ago to become the sheriff of his hometown. While he doesn’t flaunt his sexuality, he doesn’t hide it either and has the support of the people he grew up with. Returning home did not just offer an opportunity to claim a job he loves. It also gave him the opportunity to meet the man of his dreams. Too bad Lucas won’t allow them to be more than friends.

Lucas Kiefer survived a hellish ordeal that most would have succumbed to and has the physical and emotional scars to prove it. He loves Nic and dreams of them making love and sharing a life together. Unfortunately, his past hurts have a firm grip on Lucas and there is no room for Nic to advance to the ranks of lover, or is there?

Ten years later, Lucas’ attacker is back and out for revenge. Nic refuses to lose the man he loves to a monster, and will do anything to protect him. Can he help Lucas acknowledge the fact that they love each other and deserve a chance at happiness?

Loving Lucas is a wonderful story about survival, love, and trust. Nic doesn’t have to hide in the shadows with his desires. In addition, while he wants Lucas, he refuses to push the other man into a situation he’s not ready to accept. Lucas is scared to open up, but the resurfacing of his attacker pushes him to be honest about his feeling for Nic. Lisa Marie Davis combines action, suspense, and loving tender moments of sexual bliss to makes Loving Lucas a fantastic story.

Leaving Earth


Title: Leaving Earth
Author: Loribelle Hunt
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 9781595785190
Genre: Bondage, Light BDSM, Series
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Daggar, the Delroi’s Warrior Caste Overchief, sees Dr. Kendall Marks when she arrives on Delroi to visit Laney, his sister-in-law. Daggar realizes that she is his mate and wants to dominate her immediately.

Kendall is very independent. She is not only a doctor, but a soldier as well and used to command. In the bedroom, Kendall is a complete submissive though. Kendall feels the pull to Daggar but doesn’t want to trust the connection.

As both Daggar and Kendall come to terms with their relationship, a rebellion is brewing on both Earth and Delroi. An assassination attempt is made on Daggar’s life and Kendall becomes his doctor, as well as his mate.

Leaving Earth is a very intense suspense and action story. As Daggar and Kendall come to terms with their relationship, they are dealing with plots and a subplot against both planets. Ms. Hunt has woven a very intriguing story. I felt I was actually on Delroi in the middle of the action. My advice is to have ice water handy when you read the very hot sex scenes between Daggar and Kendall.

A Match Made by the Council: The World


Title: A Match Made by the Council: The World
Author: Kara Larson
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-533.2
Genre: Gay Erotic Romance, Urban Fantasy
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Josh Korinthos is a knight in need of a roommate. Traveling for Council business keeps Josh too busy to invest time into a real relationship. In addition, the salaries he receives from the Council and Renaissance Faries are barely covering his bills. Yes, a roommate is in order – enter Kai Llewellyn.

Magician technophobic Kai is a bit weird, but he’s nice, cares for Josh, and a fantastic cook. Josh notices the strange hours Kai keeps, but respects his privacy. So when the Council asks him to rescue a missing Mage, Josh wonders if this is a coincidence or could this be his missing roommate.

Kara Larson delivers an entertaining story about Mages, Knights, and Demons in A Match Made by the Council: The World. Josh is handsome and sized to take out even the toughest linebacker. Slender attractive Kai may have a warm heart but he is no one’s pushover. The combination of the two men is a balance that rivals a ‘ying yang’ experience. Ms. Larson mixes action, humor, mystery, and a few passionate erotic scenes to create a wonderful reading experience. I hope there are upcoming stories on the delightful secondary characters.

Awakening


Title: Awakening
Author: Terry O’Reilly
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60168-156-0
Genre: M/M Historical Romance
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Rose Nymph

Jonathon Carver always knew something was missing from his life. A Puritan school teacher living in colonial America, he never dreamed that the answer to his prayers would come with the arrival of Nathaniel Morgan, the master cooper. Life was never going to be easy for the pair once they gave in to their desires but it wasn’t their intention to hurt anyone. It’s the society they live in that has forced them to keep secrets but with Jonathon’s betrothal to sweet Rebecca finalized and his brother’s suspicions raised; it seems that fate is working against them. If only there was some way to escape the shackles of their lives…

I experienced mixed emotions while reading Awakening as it was an enjoyable read but difficult to get through at certain times. The style of writing was quite basic; the simplistic prose distracting me from enjoying it early on. However, it was not so bad that I couldn’t persevere and I am glad I did as the author was still able to create a vivid and believable setting, despite my initial concern. Although the characters’ actions were frustrating a lot of the time, this is testament to the authenticity of the period and I did come to care about the characters’ happiness.

There were some very interesting plot twists and the ending, which I won’t spoil for anyone, took me by surprise. However, surprising as it was, I can’t say it was all that satisfying, with the author tackling the difficulty in getting the right balance between historical accuracy and the readers’ desires. I personally wanted a happy ending but understand that homosexual relationships didn’t end happily in the period in which Awakening is set. I understand that there is a sequel to this story and I am looking forward to seeing how the author builds on this subject.

One Thousand Brides


Title: One Thousand Brides
Author: Solange Ayre
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419910289
Genre: Futuristic, Rubenesque
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

While trying on her wedding dress, Janis Stone hears an arrogant man declaring to be an alien in need of wives for himself and his shipmates. What she thought to be a hoax turns out to be Jan’s new reality. Jan is one of one thousand women taken from Earth to become Brides of the Terilian colonists.

Secondus Delos of the Tawny-Spotted Pelt is Jan’s doctor. Drawn to her from his first moment’s glimpse, Delos has decided he wants Jan for himself. The only obstacle in his way is a leader who outranks him. Will Jan and Delos find a way to become mates, or is she destined to be with a man she doesn’t love?

One Thousand Brides preceeds Bride Reborn.

Delos is handsome, intelligent, and cares enough to get to know about the woman who has him spellbound. Jan, blinded by the opportunity to get married, failed to see that there wasn’t much to gain by the union. I’m so happy they took her away before she made the biggest mistake of her life. A relationship is fine if you actually gain what you give up and she wasn’t going to get that. Ms. Ayre delivers romance, action, and a new alien race. I predict women reading this book and saying “darn why can’t regular men be like this?”