Wednesday, October 2, 2013

The Case of the Dragon’s Dilemma

Authors: Amber Kell and RJ Scott
Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-78184-457-1
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

While Bob and Sam take their adopted vampire daughter to check out private schools, Mikhail stays behind to keep an eye on the remaining rescued child—a girl. He doesn’t expect much to happen, so when Sirens make a portal into the house in an attempt to kidnap Eliza again, Mikhail’s forced to fight off the attack alone until a sexy stranger arrives to help.

Jin is a dragon-shifter and the Captain of the king’s guard. He arrives in time to save Eliza and he’s determined to take the princess home and discover who’s behind the kidnapping and why. Doing his job isn’t easy because of his unexpected attraction to Mikhail. But then after so many years of being alone, Jin didn’t expect to find his mate to be a siren-vampire hybrid either.

The Case of the Dragon’s Dilemma is the newest release in the End Street Detective Agency series. This is a part of an ongoing storyline and they must be read in order or you’ll be lost.

Talk about fun. And it had dragons too. What more could I ask for? Well, that would be a well written plot, good characters with nicely developed personalities and a smooth flow. Well, guess what? I got it. There are even some dark and dangerous elements to add some excitement. And I can’t forget the steamy sex between mates Jin and Mikhail. 

I was pleased we saw more of Sam’s familiar and learned more about him. Who knew they could be so powerful? We even get betrayal, craziness, and more information about the Sirens and a lead in to the upcoming storyline…think Zombies. I can’t wait for the next one. 

Swing for #3

Title: Swing for #3
Author:  RaeLynn Blue
Publisher:  Razor’s Edge Press
Publisher URL:  http://razorsedgepress.com
ISBN/BIN:  06557-02109
Genre: {M/F/M} Contemporary, I/R, Ménage
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Tonya wanted to enhance her marriage; she just hoped she was going about it the right way.  After deciding on the right swing club, Tonya was a bit nervous about going through with her plan.  Things would change after this, and Tonya could only hope it would be for the better.

Having Tonya as a wife brought Kirby so much joy.  He would do anything to please the woman he adored, even if it meant sharing her with another man.  Though they’d agreed on everything, Kirby did have one unmentioned detail about their night ahead.  Hopefully Tonya isn’t too upset once she finds out. 

Tonya and Kirby are in love, there’s no doubt about that.  Kirby is very secure in his marriage, which put my mind at ease.  He knows that Tonya is doing this for them, not just herself.  I was amazed at how understanding he was and I was glad he didn’t just leave things up in the air.  I liked the fact that he had a plan.  Understanding the third person they invited into their love making made the ménage feel very natural. Though it was explained, I was curious about the relationship between the two men and about Kirby’s past. Swing for #3 is a short story that brings two people closer together by adding a third.  Readers will enjoy their encounter as much as I did.

Rise of the Blood

Author: Lucienne Diver
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61921-654-9
Genre: {M/F} Urban Fantasy Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Life isn’t going smoothly for Tori Karacis and being linked by the tabloids to Apollo Demas isn’t helping. It’s making her cranky and her honey, Detective Nick Armani isn’t happy either. Things get worse after she learns Zeus and Poseidon have escaped from jail—and then Tori receives several death threats. Getting her and Nick out town for her cousin’s wedding in Delphi can’t come fast enough, but the plane isn’t a safe place to be. It’s almost jerked out of the sky by an angry god. But being on the ground in Greece isn’t any safer than the air. A long forgotten cult attempts a blood sacrifice and accidentally awakens Rhea, a mother goddess who has long been dormant. Now she’s back in the world, angry and out of control. What else can go wrong at the wedding? Rhea tries to awaken the titans.

Rise of the Blood is the newest release in Lucienne Diver’s paranormal series, Latter-Day Olympians. Due to the ongoing story line and recurring characters, the books should be read in order. 

There’s a lot going on in this story. It’s really pretty much non-stop action of one type or another from beginning to end. Along with it you get a smooth plot flow, nice imagery, a unique locale, lots of interesting characters and great bantering dialogue. That’s not to say there aren’t serious moments too, because there’s plenty of danger once Tori and Nick get on the plane. Relationships are evolving and changing, we learn more about the various gods and there’s even betrayal, earthquakes and a trip to Hades as part of the plot. What more could you want? It really has a bit of everything. And you get a funny, kick-ass heroine too. My only big complaint is the abrupt ending, which I found jarring.  

Accidental Alpha

Author: Poppy Dennison
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Publisher URL: www.wildecity.com
ISBN: 978-1-925031-48-5
Genre: {M/M} Werewolf Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Job skills never die but sometimes, a career can change directions. Former cop Lex Tompkins was trained to protect and serve the city. Now Lex must learn to protect and serve as Alpha to a werewolf pack. On the other hand, Lex’s new job comes with some unexpected perks, like discovering his neighbor Spencer Robinson is a werewolf, as well as Lex’s new love interest.

Accidental Alpha is the first book in the Pack Partners series. The characters are creditable. Lex is a naturally kindhearted person instilled with good judgment, although he had turned into a gloomy hermit because of slow-to-heal injuries incurred during a crime investigation. After Lex was bitten by the least likely suspect, Lex’s life has purpose again. He has formed a connection with every member in the pack and he has the pack’s respect for the reason that Lex rules with impartiality. For months Spencer tried to get Lex to notice him but the attraction did not become mutual until Lex was turned. Now Spencer is undecided by the possibilities of becoming the alpha’s mate. 

Poppy Dennison has created a splendid heartwarming romantic comedy that I enjoyed immensely. I look forward to the next series installment.

Monday, September 30, 2013

Strong Enough

Author: Cardeno C.
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62798-052-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Emilio Sanchez might only be twenty-two but he’s ready to settle down, just like the rest of his siblings. When he spies math professor Spencer Derdinger at his family run construction site, he’s smitten. The man of Emilio’s dreams is shy but they still become involved quickly. That doesn’t mean Emilio has an easy time earning Spencer’s trust because of his past hurt. The one thing Emilio knows is that being with Spencer is what he wants and he’s willing to be patient.

After a bad breakup, Spencer doesn’t trust easily and he rarely dates. When he’s approached by a gorgeous, young construction worker he’s shocked, but he can’t deny his attraction. For the first time in his life, he does the unexpected and takes Emilio home and it changes his life. Instead of a one-night stand, Spencer has the possibility of real love, if he can let go of his past and let Emilio into his heart for the forever kind of future he longs for.

Strong Enough is the new release in the Family series by Cardeno C. Please note it’s a standalone, so the books can be read in any order.   

Okay. It’s entertaining, sweet and charming. It’s a true story of opposites attract. Some might say it’s cheesy or even sappy but I don’t care. I thoroughly enjoyed it and couldn’t stop reading until I reached the end. Yes, there isn’t a lot of outside conflict but poor Spencer is filled with enough personal angst to sink a relationship without any help from the outside. Thankfully he has the ever patient Emilio. 

The author did a great job developing the personalities and backgrounds of both men. The imagery is good, the flow’s smooth and the emotions believable. Oh and the sex—steamy. I can usually pick a favorite character but in this case, I can’t. I like them both. I hope you like the book as much as I did.

Cross Purposes

Author: Eresse
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
ISBN: 978-1-62210-011-8
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Keosqe Deilen thar Essendri is heir to the ruling aristocrat of Sidona, as well as a cousin to the monarch Rohyr Essendri. Although Keosqe has the wealth to support a family in luxury, a love match does not seem to be in his future until he offers to share his home with his long time friend’s younger brother, Tristan Marante. Spending years in the same household slowly develops into a strong bond of love but not without the pain of heartache Keosqe and Tristan must undergo.

Cross Purposes is the fifth book in the Chronicles of Ylandre series. This is an intricate series that imitates a historical regency romance but with all male characters.  The inhabitants of the planet Aisen are the results of the Naere, a race of hermaphrodites colonizing as well as breeding with the planet’s native people. The Naere colonists were a highly cultured warrior race, with mental power to heal or wound; they were also long-lived and strong. They could communicate without speaking out loud. Some of the Naere kept their breeding with the native gelra to the barest minimum consequently retaining much of the physical strength, endurance and most of the mind gifts, while others bred indiscriminately with the gelra, which resulted in the diminishment or disappearance of many of the characteristics of the Naere in succeeding generations.

Each book features a different couple whose storyline’s timeframe is parallel with the first book Sacred Fate. All of the characters are connected in some way to the royal family of Essendri. Keosqe is head of the Ministry of Internal Affairs. There is a spy in their midst Keosqe is attempting to hunt down while dealing with his unreciprocated love for Tristan. Unfortunately, Keosqe is not successful in hiding his emotions from his many cousins who all try to help. Not only is Tristan a gifted healer, he is very perceptive. Tristan is aware of Keosqe’s failed love life. Because of his own family’s fall from grace, Tristan fears being cast aside when Keosqe tires of him.

Eresse’s impressive Cross Purposes is a marvelously emotional saga that I thoroughly enjoyed. 

More Than Truth

Title:  More Than Truth
Author:  Amanda Vyne
Publisher:  Loose Id, LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:   978-1-62300-400-2
Genre: {M/F/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Brit leaves Incog to find out what happened with the research she thought had been destroyed, when she worked for the other side.  Twins Tag and Vincent are her mates and try to protect her when she falls under suspicion of harming the Arcanes.

The third installment of the Arcane Crossbreeds series, More Than Truth, is the best story of the series so far.  The author gives us more information about the Drakes and how they are dying out, in addition to more about the Triumvirate and the rebels.  There were quite a few surprises in this story, as well.

Brit has immersed herself in science and doesn’t quite know how to handle the fact that she has two men as mates. She doesn’t need the complication as she is trying to save the life and family of a friend.  Circumstances bring new discoveries about the possibility of changes within the various Arcane societies.

I had to laugh at Tag and Vincent’s family dynamics, especially when their parents show up.  Almost all the previous characters in the other books show up as well, with one character’s behavior totally blindsiding me.

Once Brit, Tag and Vincent get together, the pages burn.  I was surprised by the mating heat and the fact that Drakes get their mates pregnant once they mate and get marked.  

The surprise ending leads into the next book in this series, and I have my suspicions about what that means.  This series needs to be read in order to get the full effect of the story and the future ramifications to various Arcane societies.

Behind Every Cloud

Author: Penny Brandon
Publisher: Loose Id
Publishers URL: http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62300-478-1
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Kurt was eighteen when his parents died.  Putting his personal life on hold to care for his fourteen year old sister, Kurt is now ready to test the waters again after twelve years.  Sasha is not who he would have chosen but for some reason, he can’t seem to get the younger man out of his mind.

I loved this new book by author Penny Brandon.  Behind Every Cloud is a fast-paced read and will leave you anxious to see what will happen.  Both characters are interesting; however, Sasha is my favorite.  He’s your stereotypical poor little rich boy.  After a tragic incident when he was a child, he is assigned a body guard and spends the rest of his life constantly being monitored.  Unable to handle being controlled by his family, he finally rebels.  To say Sasha takes a trip on the wild side would be an understatement.  I like that, in many ways, Sasha is not what he seems.  I found it heartbreaking that when Sasha needs someone watching his back, he really has no one to turn to other than a stranger.

Kurt is a businessman whose personal life has taken a back seat to everything else.  The way he went out of his way to care for his sister shows you just what type of guy he is, so it’s no surprise that he would step in when he sees Sasha in need of help. 

I loved the instant connection these two have, even though neither is sure what is going on between them.  When their relationship heats up it is intense, but readers know that when secrets are kept they have a way of coming out and usually cause more than their share of problems.  While I can understand why Sasha kept secrets from Kurt, I can also understand Kurt’s point of view and am not surprise by his reactions.  

The author wrapped the little twists in this story up wonderfully.  I am excited to see just what other stories the author has out, as Behind Every Cloud was very well done.