Saturday, September 8, 2012

My Regelence Rake


Author: J.L. Langley
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-60928-952-2
Genre: {M/M} Science-Fiction Regency
Rating: Golden Blush
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Release Date: 10-02-2012

Since he was a teenager, Prince Colton Townsend’s yearned for Captain of the Guard, Lord Sebastian Hastings. He’s done everything possible to gain the man’s attention but nothing’s worked. When he catches Sebastian in a compromising position with a young lord, he realizes his unrequited love is hopeless. Instead of wallowing in self-pity, Colton focuses his attention on horseracing and building a top-notch stable facility.

Because of his age and station, Colton requires a bodyguard and he gets Sebastian. When they attend a horse auction and come across an abused stallion, his thoughts turn to getting the injured animal away from the owner. Their altercation starts rumors flying and they only get more hateful until the only answer is for Sebastian and Colton to announce their engagement. Marrying Sebastian is Colton’s dream but can he find happiness with a man who refuses to share the secrets of his past? What about the danger swirling around them? Who’s responsible and can they be stopped before it’s too late?

My Regelence Rake is J.L. Langley’s latest release in her Sci-Regency series. Because the characters from the previous releases play important roles and there’s an underlying ongoing storyline, the books should be read in order.

The long awaited third book in this unique M/M series is finally here and I couldn’t be more pleased with the results. Ms. Langley has done it again—and she exceeded my expectations.  The personalities of Colton and Sebastian are fully developed, the plot’s exciting with several twists and turns that integrate new and old plotlines and the flow is smooth. But that not’s all. We also get more of the wonderful world building, vivid descriptions and bantering dialogue I’ve come to expect from this talented author. Even Colton’s horse is a cute and welcome addition with her humorous antics. Who would have imagined a filly playing fetch? It certainly made me chuckle and I think it will you too.

As the story setting is the royal residence, we get to see most of the characters from the previous books. They’re woven into the story with great skill, adding balance and a sense of love and family. Its here we meet some new men; Dalton, Rourke and Robert, who I expect to see in future books. There are a number of unanswered questions and dangling threads, but that’s not unexpected since certain components of the story deal with ongoing political problems. I look forward to see what happens in the future and can’t wait to see which book comes next. Please don’t make us wait too long.

Love Means…Renewal


Author: Andrew Grey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61372-565-8
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Western, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Eli and Goeff are as busy as ever.  Between running the ranch and raising a little boy, the men have had little time together lately.  When Eli becomes sick, Goeff starts to realize that there are more important things than the ranch.

Love Means…Renewal is the latest addition to the Love Means series however, unlike the other stories in this series, Love Means…Renewal is a short story.  The story gives the readers a small glimpse into Eli’s and Goeff’s lives.  Both men have been very busy, meaning the two have had very little time together which is starting to put a strain on them, all of which the author brings across very realistically.  The men also face some serious issues when allegations are leveled against Eli, who then becomes sick.  I wished the author would have spent a little more time on this aspect of the story and hope the author has plans to carry this over in a larger story.   I liked the fact, however, that the problems the men find themselves facing makes them see how important life is.

As I said earlier, Love Means…Renewal, is a short story.  It gives the reader just enough of a fix to hold them over until the next Farm Series novel.  So if you want to see how the men at the ranch are doing, then I suggest picking up this newest addition to Mr. Grey’s ongoing series.

Resilience


Title: Resilience
Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-78184-052-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Growing up with bigoted and violent parents made for a terrible childhood and it’s not much better as an adult. Even working as a deputy sheriff doesn’t stop the brutality and forget about any personal happiness. Thankfully his friend Gabe and Gabe’s partner Mika are in his corner or Todd doesn’t know what he’d do. Between dealing with his crazy, abusive folks and a Sheriff who tortures animals, Gabe’s life can’t get much worse.

Adam Soames needed a change, so he bought the veterinary practice in Shasta, hoping to start a new life. It’s not long after moving to town that he meets the man of his dreams, but their life together comes with problems he never anticipated. Todd is everything he ever wanted and when he’s attacked and nearly killed, it’s up to new friends Gabe and Mika to get them through the difficult times.  Then the biggest bombshell drops—their friends aren’t exactly human but are wolf shifters and because Todd’s been looking for his missing friend, Jameson, trouble is coming their way.

Resilience is the latest release in Bailey Bradford’s Southwestern Shifters series. Please note that this is definitely NOT a standalone book because of all the returning characters and relationships. I recommend the books be read in order.

The story is broken up into three sections. In the first you see Todd and Adam as you met them in Rescued, only from their viewpoint, so you understand in detail what happened to them in the first book and how their relationship came about. In the second part, they deal with Todd’s abusive father and in the last, hunt for Jameson and learn of the existence of shifters. As much as I like these two guys, for me there’s too much of a definite division between the sections and it made the story seem a little disjointed.

What I liked:
  • The author’s new and creative way to convert a human to a werewolf with a plausible explanation and intriguing historical background.
  • The love and passion between Todd and Adam.
  • Nicely done integration of characters from all previous releases.
  • I like bringing in the European shifters and want to know more about this new group.

My niggles:
  • Todd couldn’t overcome a lifetime of abuse just by falling in love. There was no mention of getting any outside help or counseling.
  • I’m still on the abuse. Almost everyone in town knew about it and no one did anything. Why was only the father imprisoned when the mother was responsible too?
  • I noticed a couple of name inconsistencies.
  • Todd managed to take a gun on an international flight…not happening.

Well, I guess that’s it. Watch for Reverence coming next in October.

Let the Rain Come Down


Author: Gabrielle Evans
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61926-955-2
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Oscar has spent the last ten years being controlled by others. Now finally free, the young shifter is unsure of what he wants or how to live.  When he meets Demitrius, he’s surprised by all the things the huge shifter makes him feel.  As the two men feel their way around being mates, Oscar begins to learn what it means to have someone always at his back.

Let the Rain Come Down is the sixth book in the Moonlight Breed series.  The story revolves around two shifters who want love, but don’t believe they deserve it.  Demitrius has isolated himself from others, due to his perceived disfigurement, and now he no longer knows how to react around others, something that causes him more than a small amount of pain.  When it was revealed that Oscar was a white shifter, his parents could not get rid of him fast enough.  The abuse his handlers doled out leaves Oscar with his fair share of scars.  These two are perfect for each other and I loved watching them learn to come out of their perspective shells.  Oscar has many secrets however, and it’s easy to understand his fears but Demitrius gently overcomes those fears and the passion that exists between these two is intense. 

There are many wonderful secondary characters, some new and some the readers will remember from previous books that help move this story along.  There are also new shifter breeds introduced and I can’t wait to see the little ladybug find his mate. 

With each new story, the author expands the world in which this series takes place.  No longer is this just a series about a group of white shifters struggling to stay hidden from the rest of the shifter world.   More and more characters are added to this series covering everything from fae and werewolves, to vampires and shifters of all varieties.  These characters, both heroes and villains, make this a rich world that keeps the readers coming back for more. 

Fans of this series are sure to love Let the Rain Come Down and while these stories can stand alone, I would highly recommend reading them in order.

Zero to 165


Title: Zero to 165
Author: AR Moler
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61040-340-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Life for Cam and Mason is just as hectic as ever. As they try to balance working for Division P with Cam’s military service and Mason’s medical practice, they also have to find time for each other. It’s not easy on the lovers, who seem to be busy all the time. Even moving in together isn’t the perfect answer either, when their schedules don’t match. Cam’s flying with the Navy and Mason’s trying to find a new partner for his orthopedic practice and being apart even for a short time is difficult. Just when it looks like things are smoothing out, fate throws them a huge curve ball, sending their lives in an unexpected direction.

Zero to 165 by AR Moler is the newest look into the lives of Cam and Mason, who we first met in Hell Dogs Squadron and Seeking the Balance. So as you can imagine, I recommend you read these books first.

It’s been almost three years since the release of the first books, so it’s nice getting to see what’s happening with these two lovers with psychic abilities. Their relationship is deeper—more intense—than before and the developing emotional and psychic bonds are well done. Between their part-time jobs at Division P and Mason’s medical practice, several characters seen previously are back and a handful of new ones have been added for interest.

The story is just over 36K, so things zip along timeline-wise at a fairly fast pace. The author also weaves in all the parts of the guys life well, but some of the scenes are just too jerky—and short—it’s distracting and left me with a feeling of wanting to know more. The big dramatic moment comes near the end and caught me by surprise—I didn’t see the story going in that direction, but I like it. It also fits and I can’t wait to see where it takes Cam and Mason in the future.

Finally Fallen


Author: Z. Allora
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-60820-696-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Dusty Davis always feels like the odd man out at the after-parties for the band.  The other band members all have that special someone in their life, Dusty is the only loner until he meets the beautiful J. Unfortunately, J’s identity and Dusty’s wishful thinking of J’s identity do not match.

Finally Fallen is the third book in The Dark Angels Series. The name of the series is also the name of the rock band. Dusty is the drummer. The plot illustrates some interesting issues. The two main cause-and-effect issues are forced to be in denial and rape recovery. Dusty’s issue is dealing with a religious fanatic mother who turned to the church as a way to hide her own misery. Being gay is a sin in his mother’s small mind so early on, Dusty chose denial for the sake of peace in the family. The traumatic events of his past raped J’s mind as well as his body; J suffers panic attacks if someone invades J’s personal space.

Finally Fallen is a charming and enjoyable story of Dusty and J’s journey of sexual discovery. Because of the love they already share, J and Dusty explore non-invasive activities to express their intimate desire. 

Friday, September 7, 2012

Tattoos & Teacups


Author: Anna Martin
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publishers URL: www.dreamspinnerpress.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61372-590-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Scotsman Robert McKinnon is thirty-two years old and has lived in the United States for half his life. As a college English professor, he lives quietly giving lectures, reading and visiting with a few friends. One night he agrees to go out to a pub and everything changes. Chris walks into his life, with his outgoing personality, bright tattoos and drum playing. It doesn’t matter that he’s nearly a decade younger or that on the surface, they seem so different. It works for them. Robert wasn’t looking for love when he met Chris but being together is fun and it’s bringing him out of his boring shell.  But can two men with such different backgrounds find a path to permanence? And what about Chris’ band? What happens when he has to go back on the road? Can they make a life together work long-term or are they doomed to fail?

Tattoos & Teacups is the newest release by author Anna Martin. It’s a sweet and entertaining look at the lives of two men vastly dissimilar on the outside but a perfect fit of the heart. There’s nothing fast about this romance, instead it’s gentle, not slow really but moving at a believable pace that allows Rob and Chris to build a true relationship and grow into a couple. Their personalities are fully developed, the descriptions are vivid, the secondary characters add great depth and a sense of family, she wrote kids that weren’t obnoxious brats—thank you Ms. Martin—and some of the dialogue is downright funny.

And no I didn’t forget about the emotional aspects of the story. There are plenty of intense feelings on both Chris and Robert’s part throughout—and yes some are filled with pain and angst. But I understood why the author wrote them that way. It made sense and didn’t go on for ages, which I appreciated. I did spot a couple of plot niggles too, but neither stopped me from enjoying this heartwarming tale. Plus I love the tattoos Chris had. I just wish I could have seen them. 

Sweet Hell


Title:  Sweet Hell
Author:  Rosanna Leo
Publisher:  Liquid Silver
Publisher URL:  www.liquidsilverbooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-59578-955-6
Genre:  {M/F}, Contemporary, Sequel
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Josie wants to open a winery, but is stuck in her family’s bakery.  Dionysus notices her after he is on his way to visit his cousin that gave up his immortality to be with the woman he loves. 

Sweet Hell is actually a sequel.  I realized this after I started reading this one and several references were made to For the Love of a God.  The author weaves a lot of mythology from the Greek pantheon into this story that, at times, reduced me to tears, so fair warning to keep tissue on hand.  I have to give her kudos for coming up with a very imaginative story that will keep a reader interested.

Be aware that though the chemistry between Dionysus and Josie is intense, the story is more about the characters and finding their way to each other, as they face some very harsh testing as their relationship progresses.  There were times I wanted to slap some of the secondary characters, starting with Josie’s brothers.  The author also gives a reader some interesting insights at the way she portrays some of the major gods.

The way the author has portrayed some of the Greek pantheon makes me want to read more about them.  I will be looking for the first book to read and will be reading this one again.

Liam's Happiness


Author: Kam Miller
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com/
ISBN: 9781614952466
Genre: {M/M} Shifters Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Werewolf Liam O’Donnell is special but he is also gay, which would normally be a death sentence in his birth pack were it not for his gifts. Escaping his abusive grandparents, Liam lives as a lone wolf in the Canadian wilderness. When Alpha wolf Griffon Connelly finally found Liam, fear caused Liam to run, it was only the enticing scent of Griffon that lured Liam back to the man as well as back to a new home with Griffon’s pack.

Liam's Happiness is the first book in The Portland Pack series. The superb plot illustrates a heartwarming amusing interaction between the characters, a little drama from a past antagonist and sensual intimacy. The characters are adorably engaging. Though Liam was subjected to mental and physical abuse most of his childhood, he did have one friend who did everything he could to help Liam including aiding Liam in escape. Denied schooling, Liam is sorely lacking in werewolf education. However, Liam immediately senses that Griffon was trustworthy.  Not only is Liam the Alpha’s mate but as a peacemaker, Liam is essential to the whole pack. The love and respect displayed by the pack allows Liam to release some of his fears. Griffon is a compassionate Alpha who cares for all of the members of his unique pack.  Finding his mate after years of searching, Griffon experiences a joy he has never known. Griffon is dedicated to keeping his feisty mate Liam safe for the rest of their lives, a mission also shared by Liam.

Kam Miller has created an outstanding happy for now saga that I enjoyed immensely. I look forward to the next installment.

Hot and Cold


Title: Hot and Cold
Author: Gabrielle Evans
Publisher: Siren Book-Strand
Publisher URL: www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62241-055-2
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Theris wasn’t supposed to have a mate so the elders didn’t invite him to the UPAC gathering. He knew the big event was happening and thought it might be exciting—that something interesting might occur—so he showed up anyway. Theris was right. He just didn’t realize the excitement would be meeting Ry, the most gorgeous man he’d ever seen.

When Ryo Dantis’ grandfather sends him to the gathering, he isn’t thrilled, especially after hearing the elders’ crazy toast.  That changes when he spies the cute guy with the brilliant smile across the room. After chatting for a few minutes, Ry decides Theris will make him the perfect mate.  It doesn’t matter how happy Ry is with his new mate, his grandfather’s furious he didn’t mate with a female. That anger with Ry’s disobedience turns to threats and when Theris disappears, Ry’s frantic. Can he find the man he loves before it’s too late?

Hot and Cold is Gabrielle Evans newest release in the Midnight Matings series. It’s an easy read—a fun romance with another interesting pairing.  This time it’s a Djinn and a Reaper, both of which I’ve never read as characters in any paranormal story. It’s an unexpected choice that I appreciated.

For a story of a little over 35K, I thought the personalities of Ry and Theris were pretty well-developed and I enjoyed how they interacted, even if their relationship gets off to a quick start. The little bit of light BDSM in their relationship surprised me since it wasn’t mentioned in the blurb, so just be aware. There are a few secondary characters that the author gave starring roles. Ry’s grandfather, our evil villain—I like how Ry stood up this jerk—and a couple of interesting friends of Theris. You’ll find them and where they live very interesting (spoiler alert).  There are several twists and turns that take the plot into directions I didn’t expect but the ending is a little abrupt. Even so, overall I enjoyed the premise for the story and found the characters very appealing. 

Thursday, September 6, 2012

Powerful Moves


Title:  Powerful Moves
Author:  Tonya Ramagos
Publisher:  Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN/BIN:  1-62241-057-6
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Elena runs into Tavius when he ends up hugging a tree after going through a portal between their two worlds.  The vampire he is after is a century-old enemy of her adoptive parents, which can spell disaster for Earth.

The first book in the L.U.S.T. series, Powerful Moves, is, at times, funny as both Elena and Tavius learn about each other’s powers and learn to trust each other.  I had to laugh at the acronym for the Logistical Unit of Specialized Talents that the author came up with for the agency that Elena worked for.  It made for some very light-hearted moments that could be construed, at times, as having two meanings.  Though the name is unusual, the agency serves a very serious purpose.

The cast of characters are unusual, but I could see each one as realistic even with their unusual powers.  Tavius’ recharging methods made for some very hot scenes between him and Elena.  I did have to laugh at Cedric and his reaction when he met Tavius.  I want to learn more about Michael and Gideon other than the overriding fact that they are basically Elena’s parents, and I was very surprised about the facts regarding her real father and wanted to know more about why.

I have to say that the author did keep the suspense going throughout the book, especially at the end.  I did not really see the solution coming the way it played out, but thought it worked very well.

I am looking forward to learning more about the various agents I met in this book and am looking forward to reading the next one in this series.

Perfect Persuasion


Author:  Scarlett Scott
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  http://www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781419940705
Genre:  {M/F} Contemporary 
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

If Claire Morton wants to keep her sanity and her pregnancy a secret, she has to get away.  Resigning from her position at the law firm is her only option.  Claire’s boss is a domineering bastard with more sex appeal than one man should be gifted with.  That doesn’t stop Claire from drooling over him though.  It’s getting harder each day to keep from jumping his bones, when she remembers the romp they shared.

Claire is being childish just because they’d had sex and Logan Monroe has no problem telling her so.  He can’t lose her from his work or from his life.  When he discovers that their weekend of sex made a baby, Logan lays down the law.   One way of the other, Logan is determined to be involved in his child’s life.  Now he just has to map out a way for him and Claire to get along outside the bedroom. 

Regardless of how much they both annoy each other, Claire and Logan can’t resist each other.  Their passion is so much bigger than their disagreements.  But too much has gone unsaid between them and it threatens their future together.  Someone from Claire’s past also causes tension in Claire and Logan’s growing relationship.  In the end, they put all their cards on the table and it brought the couple closer.

Logan was totally misunderstood by Claire, but mostly because it was his own fault.  Childhood shapes us all, and Logan was still a victim of his childhood in some ways.  Financially Logan had overcome, but not emotionally.  Logan never let Claire see “the real Logan” or shared his feelings with her.  Instead he made demands and came off as controlling and distant.  There was one particular scene where she called him inhuman, and that scene left me crushed.  What he said in response to her made me want to hug him.  As a woman and a mother, I wanted to side with Claire, but I found myself leaning towards team Logan.  That doesn’t mean that I didn’t identify with Claire, because I did.  She was Logan’s match and I loved reading how she got inside his head and his heart. 

Perfect Persuasion is a great reminder of what happens when people aren’t afraid to share themselves, even though they might be afraid.  This couple risked it all and it paid off with love.  If I were you, I wouldn’t risk the chance of not reading this captivating story.

Lightning Rod


Title: Lightning Rod
Author: Vaughn R. Demont
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN: 978-1-61921-084-4
Genre: {M/M} Urban Fantasy Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Publication Date: 10-09-2012 

James Black is hurled into a role he neither asked for nor desired. However, fate has declared James will be a sorcerer and so his magical training journey begins.

Lightning Rod is the second book in the Broken Mirrors series. The intricate mystery plot features a number of mythical creatures; wizards, dragons, gods, goddesses, coyote shifter as well as zombies. There is also a great deal of dangerous confrontations with the ex-boyfriend who refuses to die along with the other creatures, all of whom seek to kill James. The characters are creditable. James is a passive college student who finally escapes his abusive live in boyfriend only to end up in the grips of death. Saved by destiny and a god, James is delivered into the hands of his new caretaker, a dragon named Dave. Confused regarding his purpose as well as grieving the lost contact with his family, James goes in search of magical help. Rescued from yet another attempted murder by a powerful sorcerer named Cale, James becomes Cale’s apprentice as well as his lover.

Vaughn R. Demont has created an absorbing and enjoyable fantasy with an unexpected happy for the moment finale. 

Feathers and Filth


Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher URL: www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61926-867-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

When Fabian Norris learned of the UPAC conference he wanted to go, even though he didn’t get an invitation. He snuck away from home and caught a flight to Scotland, determined to have an adventure.  When it’s toast time, Fabian doesn’t drink his champagne because of his allergies—then the elders make their crazy proclamation.  As chaos breaks out, he spies a cute man across the room and he wants to protect him.

Magnus Duffy doesn’t drink, so he doesn’t consume the drugged champagne. When he and Fabian try to leave the castle together, they wind up with mating seals. He’s smitten with his new mate but has no idea what paranormal species he is. At first he believes Fabian is a giant—which is okay but then he learns the truth. Fabian is an ogre—and he hates ogres after what happened in his past. Can Magnus and Fabian work through their differences or will their mating wind up being dissolved?

Feathers and Filth is a Midnight Matings series release by Joyee Flynn. I like the odd pairing in this one. I didn’t expect the odd pairing of a beautiful bird shifter and an ogre. They’re both interesting guys and I mean really. An ogre that’s tenderhearted—what a unique idea.

I liked that neither character drank the drugged champagne. That’s the first time it’s happened in the series. Ms. Flynn still came up with way they’d be mated that allowed their relationship to be drawn out in a different manner. Fabian and Magnus both have pretty well developed personalities and there’s enough background information given to understand how they’re feeling. Twists and turns keep the story interesting, the plot flow is smooth and the romance between Fabian and Magnus is sweet.

My niggles:
  • I really disliked the word filth in the title.
  • The big potential drama regarding their mating/elders is resolved too quickly.
  • A couple of important points are left with big dangling threads.

I guess that’s it. Look for the next book in the series, the recently released Hot and Cold.

Wednesday, September 5, 2012

Heartstrings


Title: Heartstrings
Author: Eresse
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
ISBN: 978-1-59578-954-9
Genre: {M/M} Hermaphrodite Fantasy Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Eiren Sarvan is a gifted healer, yet mending his as well as his lover Ashrian Mithani’s broken heart is beyond the skills of any physician. Time is the only remedy to heal the wounds, dull the pain, adjust to the loss and renew the love Eiren and Ashrian once shared. 

Heartstrings is the fourth book in the Chronicles of Ylandre. This is a particularly heart wrenching, emotional rollercoaster episode. The setting is fantasy; however, the personality flaws of the characters are exceptionally realistic. Both men are members of the royal family, though Eiren seems to be more gifted than Ash.  Eiren appears to be the victim because he is the only one who is monogamous. Yet there are underlining traits such as being selfish at times and assuming Ash should know Eiren’s unspoken wishes. Ashrian’s sexual misconduct is the result of his fears of rejection. The main problem Eiren and Ashrian have is that they do not discuss their feelings with each other so both men are victims to their emotions. Still, the love they share is marvelously evident in their sensual lovemaking.

Eresse has created a bittersweet saga that will bring the reader to tears along with the feeling of all hope is lost for Eiren and Ashrian, but keep reading because the storyline builds into a extremely enjoyable happy ever after finale.  

Taming the Boss Lady


Author:  Jan Bowles
Publisher:  Siren Bookstrand
Publisher URL:  http://sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62241-232-7
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Kelly takes over from her father, not knowing she has an enemy she will be blindsided with.  Because of her position, she has had a problem finding a man that will dominate her and not be so impressed with her position, it affects the relationship.  Matthew realizes exactly what she needs and sets out to give it to her.

Taming the Boss Lady, the third book in the Masters of Submission series, takes a look at a very powerful woman that seems to scare men once they realize who she is.  Matthew doesn’t care about that with the exception that she didn’t tell him herself, so he pushes her to make sure she knows it makes no difference to him.

As the book progresses, we get to see the difference that being a submissive in her personal life, to another powerful figure, relieves her stress to the point she is able to do what she has to.  Kelly’s story is so true about powerful people in positions that seem to rule their lives to the point of excluding everything else.  The health problems that this creates are also highlighted.  I really like the solution the author gives us within this story about living the BDSM life.  I realize that this is not the answer for everyone, but it works here.

I loved Matthew.  He accurately assessed what Kelly needed, though in real life communication is the key in this lifestyle.  I was really blindsided by who Kelly’s enemy was, because it really threw Kelly’s world into turmoil.  I should not have been surprised by the reason the person did it for, because it happens all too often in families.

This series is one that can be read as standalone books, though I will be reading the series again.  I am looking forward to the next book.

Forever May Not Be Long Enough


Author: Mychael Black & Shayne Carmichael
Publisher: Torquere Press Publishers
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-338-2
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Vampire Prince Mael Black and his soul companion Warrior Angel Cian have little private time together, due to the demands of their London vampire court. When a summons from Diocourides, the father of all vampires, reveals a threat from a powerful enemy, Mael and Cian are thrust into a battle that could end the lives of all members of the Romanorum.

Forever May Not Be Long Enough is the third and final book in The Prince's Angel series as well as the Inferi Brotherhood series, since the characters are from both series. The key character focus is on Mael, Cian and their family unit. The captivating plot features numerous layers of intrigue. Someone is killing shifters, as well as staking vampires. Suspicions, along with tempers, are out of control. Family betrayal, jealousy, heritage issues and insecurity is illustrated throughout the storyline. Sensual love scenes plus an action-packed magical battle featuring the wizards, mummies, vampires, angels and spiritual guides from the Romanorum short stories is incorporated.

Mychael Black & Shayne Carmichael has created an exceptional and very enjoyable finale to the combined series of the Romanorum vampires. Find the beginning of Mael and Cian's story in The Prince's Angel, And the Two Shall Become One. Find the beginning of Inferi Brotherhood in Beneath the Mask which is part of the Spiked anthology, Sight Unseen and Necessary Evil: The Two of Wands. Also featured are characters from Blood Ties and Blood Magic.

Reader advisory: These series books are best read in sequence.

The Florist


Title: The Florist
Author: Serena Yates
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781614956891
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Dylan White’s never been good at putting down roots.  Even taking a job close to his family didn’t work out. After quitting his last job, a vacation white-water rafting seemed like the break he needed, except he’s tracked down by a lawyer with bad news. His friend Mike has died, leaving him everything—including a florist shop. It’s a shocking turn of events but Dylan can’t let his friend down. He’s determined to make the shop a success. The only problem is one of the employees is determined to see him fail. A sudden offer to buy the shop is a little too convenient. What’s up?

Sean Mellick literally runs into Dylan on the day he comes into the attorney’s office to talk about Mike’s will. He’s smitten by the tousled haired, energetic man. Despite his heavy case load as a defense lawyer with the same firm, he wants a relationship and pursues Dylan. They get along well but there’s a lot going on to get in their way. Will the stress of the shop cause Dylan to run again or will he stay this time? Can they make a life together work?

The Florist is the latest release in Serena Yates’ Workplace Encounters series. I liked the premise of the story and having the bombshell news of his friend dropped on Dylan in the middle of his wilderness vacation is a nice twist. I just wish we’d seen a little more of Dylan’s initial distress instead of moving the story forward so quickly. I liked the personalities of both men—they are pretty well done for a story of this length—but Dylan’s is more fully developed. 

The plot flows well and there are plenty of twists and turns to keep the story moving forward, even if some of them are expected. The romance is sweet and lighthearted, Dylan and Sean are cute together and there’s enough of a mystery to keep things interesting. The desire between these two starts off quickly but it works, and when it turns physical—it’s passionate. As you might expect, the villain gets his just desserts and the guys their HEA in the end. 

His Little Tart


Title:  His Little Tart
Author:  Sindra van Yssel
Publisher:  Loose Id
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:   978-1-61118-895-0
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating:  5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

After getting hired to serve pastries at Bondage Ranch, Constance ends up staying to experiment and play with Aidan.  After a while, she realizes she only wants to play with Aidan even though it means she will probably lose her business.

His Little Tart is the fourth book in the Bondage Ranch series and shows us a woman who is trying to run her business by denying what she wants, even as she learns more about herself.  Aidan is an investment capitalist that only wants to play as he travels the world.  Constance is confident about her abilities where her pastries are concerned, but very insecure otherwise. 

I actually liked this book better than the others of this series.  The author showed more of the characteristics of each character as the story progressed, though the ending had a twist that I saw coming but she threw a wrench in that as well.

Aidan was very in-tune with what Constance could handle and he also pushed her as she was learning more about the BDSM lifestyle and what he expected of her.  I did want to slap Aidan a few times, because he just didn’t have a clue at times.  Constance wasn’t much better in one place.  I had to laugh at one scene because Constance decided to make sure she pushed boundaries.

I hope the author gives Master Diego his own story after seeing him show up in this book.  Though a secondary character, he caught your attention.  Each book does reference characters from the previous stories, but you can read this one by itself.  I will be reading this series again and think it should be on every BDSM lover’s bookshelf.

Finding Release


Author: Silvia Violet
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com/
ISBN: 9781614955436
Genre: {M/M} Shifters Cowboy Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Coleman Wilder, a half-breed werewolf, has earned the respect of most people in the small town of Cranford, Tennessee because of the fine horses he raises on his farm. Life is good for Cole until his friend, horse shifter Jonah Marks, is found at a rescue ranch. Unable to shift back to human, half starved and beaten, Jonah who had been missing for a year, found salvation as well as love with Cole.

Finding Release is the first book in the Wild R Farm Series. The plot is centered on the emotional and physical abuse employed by religious terrorists, who exploit a twisted version of the Bible as an excuse to hide their psychotic personality. Being gay, along with growing up in a fanatical household, has left Jonah with emotional scars that are slow to heal. Jonah fears for his and Cole’s life, he would rather run away than face his abusive family. However, Cole becomes Jonah’s security blanket, which gives Jonah the courage he needs to face his enemy. Cole is openly gay yet he fears losing control of his wolf side. For this reason, Cole has never sought a relationship before Jonah returned. The unlikely pairing works well together. Each man provides what the other needs to feel mentally whole. The story also illustrates especially sensual intimacy scenes, expressing the underlying bond that had always been there between Cole and Jonah.

Silvia Violet has created an exceptionally impressive as well as thoroughly enjoyable saga. I look forward to the next episode.     

The Wolf Who Loved Her


Author:  Kasey Moone
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-60659-681-4
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary, I/R, Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

After being open for a month, business was still slow so Joni Watson was hoping that some paying customers would visit her bookstore.  What she didn’t want was the rudeness she got from the sexiest guy she’d ever laid eyes on.  The stranger was barking orders at Joni as if he owned the place.  And yet, that didn’t stop Joni from finding the stranger irresistible.   She was turned on and off at the same time and Joni didn’t know why.

Ian McNeal was worked up and in a hurry.  He didn’t have time for this chatterbox when he had pack drama to deal with.  But, one whiff of Joni’s scent had Ian’s wolf on overload.  Leaving her alone now was not an option, especially since he might have brought danger to her doorstep.

Attraction is immediate between Joni and Ian, even though they don’t exactly like each other when they first meet.  Joni takes the news that Ian is a wolf and that she’s his mate with a bit of fear at first, but she gets on board.  Ian does his best to keep Joni safe but things still go wrong, and Joni’s life is endangered.  During this time Joni discovers something about herself that brings about a happy ending for the couple.

I love it when a couple meant to be together start off on the wrong foot.  It seems to make the passion leap off the pages.  This story is short but it’s packed with more than enough to keep readers on the edge of their seats, like I was.  The Wolf Who Loved Her left me wanting more because I am curious about Ian and Joni’s new beginning.  I see so many more possibilities with Ian’s pack and Joni’s self discovery so hopefully Kasey Moone agrees. 

Impulse


Title: Impulse
Author: Moira Rogers
Publishers: Samhain Publishing
ISBN: 978-1-60928-767-2
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Sera Sinclaire’s a coyote shifter and a submissive, and it’s gotten her in trouble more than once. This time it’s landed her in New Orleans, a city full of dominant wolves and their powerful personalities makes it hard to be self-reliant since her friends keep trying to protect her. That’s particularly true of one sexy alpha, Julio Mendoza, who makes her blood simmer and who calms her wounded soul.

Julio’s a strong wolf and a member of the Southeast council. After suffering a trauma months before, his empathic shrink insists he needs a vacation and when Sera’s abusive ex-husband shows up, Julio decides to take her along. Away from the duties of his pack job, Julio and Sera relax, flirt and seduce each other. Not everyone is happy with their growing relationship and some would kill to keep them apart. Can Julio protect the woman he loves—even from dangerous members of his own family?

Impulse is the latest release in Moira Rogers’ Southern Arcana series and due to the recurring characters and ongoing storyline, I recommend the books be read in order.

I really enjoyed the detailed world-building and the numerous returning characters in this series. I have to admit I’m a sucker for series in general and getting to know individuals as they change from interesting secondarys to story leads. Julio is one such person and I never expected that the trauma he experienced in the last book would lead to him seeing a shrink. I don’t think I’ve ever read of a shifter needing one. It’s a twist I didn’t expect and I love it. The same goes for Sera. She has some issues, which I won’t name, that caught me by surprise. The authors did a nice job developing the back stories and personalities of both these individuals and while they’re shifters, it certainly made them more human and relatable.

The story is well-written, fast-paced, has a good continuation of the plot line and ends with plenty of action and drama that ties up several of the leftover dangling threads. And I forgot to mention there’s lot of emotional upset for Sera and plenty of sizzling hot sex. I don’t know what direction the series is going next but I anxiously await the next release.

Daryk Warrior


Title:  Daryk Warrior
Author:  Denise A. Agnew
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781419940033
Genre:  {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Eryk finds Mia in the ocean, not knowing if she is trying to drown herself or not.  Mia escaped her world because she wants to be a healer and she is tired of being oppressed because she is a woman.  Eryk doesn’t want a mate but suspects Mia is his.

The fourth book in the Daryk World series tells us about the last survivor of a ship that crashed on Dragonia.  Daryk Warrior brings some of the opposing ideals between the Daryk Ones and the rogue Daryk Ones to a head in this story.  The major contention between the two is how they view and treat women from Magonia. The author has created a world where, while woman are free to a certain extent, they also need to have a protector. 

I liked the way that the author shows the evolution that Mia goes through as she learns more about herself and Dragonia. Eryk also is undergoing a change as he comes to realize that Mia is nothing like the two women in his past.  The connection between the two also effects how both will survive after a major conflict.

It is hard to tell by the way this story ended if we will see more of Daryk World and the Daryk Ones.  I hope we do.  I would like to see how the conflict ends between the two groups, as well as learn more about some of the other Daryk Ones that showed up in this story.

Monday, September 3, 2012

The New Guy


Title: The New Guy
Author: BA Tortuga
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN/BIN: none listed
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Western Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

The bull riding season is in full swing and the usual bullfighters are in the arena protecting the riders. This year Coke has a new recruit to train. His name’s Sterling and he’s the most promising man Coke’s come across in a long time. The only problem is Coke’s lover, Dillon, seems to think the younger man is taking too much of a personal interest in him. He’d never get involved with another man, but can Coke convince his cowboy?

The New Guy is the latest release in BA Tortuga’s Roughstock series. With the length of the story so short, it would be best to have read other releases featuring Dillon and Coke to get an understanding of their relationship but it’s possible to read The New Guy as a standalone.

This look into the Roughstock world is a quick read and broken into two parts. The first takes place in the event arena and re-introduces several of the previous characters. It is nice seeing them and the bantering dialogue between them, Coke and Dillon is fun. It’s also where we briefly see the new guy, Sterling. There’s not enough time to develop his personality, so I don’t know how I feel about him. He seems more a reason for Dillon and Coke to have sizzling make-up sex (in the second part) once they get back to their room, than anything else. I’m expecting him to show up again in the future, so maybe we’ll learn something interesting about him at that time