Wednesday, May 1, 2013

Dragonblade


Title: Dragonblade
Author: Mychael Black
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN: 978-1-61921-613-6
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Publication Date: 07-02-2013

General Kalen Ysindroc, along with his elven lover wizard Micheil Thierauf, is on a quest to stop Kalen’s half brother Braen, who has vowed to return their evil father from the grave. Death, as well as secrets, foils their mission; yet Kalen’s new found strength will triumph.

Dragonblade is the second book in the Secrets of Socendor Series. The story has an intricate plot of elves, ghosts and dragons, in addition to other fanciful creatures. The most prominent character traits illustrated are honor plus esteem for each other regardless of the social status or hereditary origins.

Kalen and Micheil are equal partners in all things. Their relationship exhibits trust, respect as well as unconditional love.  Kalen learns more of his true ancestry, secrets regarding Micheil’s past are revealed and that Braen is not Kalen’s enemy. The brothers must form an alliance if their evil father is to be defeated. The human king’s realm is all but destroyed. Everything is contingent on Kalen and the few survivors who follow him.

Mychael Black has created a fantastic romantic escapade that I enjoyed immensely. I look forward to the next installment of this amazing magical series. 

Frozen Hearts


Author: Teegan Loy
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781614958925
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Erik Fox is a champion hockey player but the game isn’t fun anymore. Knowing there’s no chance with the guy he left behind when his parents forced him to change schools while a teenager; Erik still hopes for a normal life. He anticipates that quitting hockey will infuriate his father but not that it will precipitate a fight that will leave him battered and bruised.

Back to being a full time student, Erik’s shocked at how many people care that he’s left hockey behind. What’s even more surprising is how many care that he’s gay and involved with Tyce, his former high school lover, who is also a student on campus. Can these two find a way to rebuild their trust while navigating through the multitude of hostile people determined to keep them apart?

Frozen Hearts is the first book by Teegan Loy I’ve had the opportunity to read and I’m glad I took a chance on it.

Others see Erik’s life as perfect because of his hockey success but in reality, it’s a mess. That means the story’s filled with plenty of angst and drama. Whether it’s family, friends or strangers, there’s lot of pressure on Erik while he attempts to rebuild his relationship with Tyce. I have to say, it makes for some pretty intense moments and I commend Ms. Loy at how well she handles it.

I’m not a big sports fan but I like Erik, Tyce and their story. The first paragraph caught my attention and the hockey premise and well rounded personalities kept my interest until the end. The pacing never flagged, the descriptions are vivid and there are some nicely done flashbacks about their time together as teenagers. Secondary characters are numerous and several are important, helping both men through the rough times facing them.

Don’t let the serious nature of this story scare you away. Yes, the situations Erik and Tyce face will likely make you feel unsettled and maybe make you teary-eyed but there are also some wonderful lighthearted moments too. So, if you enjoy intense, emotional filled stories, then you should give Frozen Hearts a try. I’d love to see a sequel featuring Tyce’s friend Sam, sometime in the future. Hint. Hint.

The Guilty Werewolf


Author: RJ Scott
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-77111-510-0
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Werewolf Declan Finlay refuses to believe his best friend Connor is a traitor to Glitnir. Declan is determined to rescue Connor from the clutches of the murdering vampire holding Connor hostage. Declan’s mission is upset when the council appoints incubus, Levi Tiernan to join Declan on the hunt.

The Guilty Werewolf is the second book in the Supernatural Bounty Hunters. What I found interesting in this fascinating episode is the plot mirrors a dictatorship rule. Werewolves are drafted based on bogus criminal charges. Incubuses are born into the position of royal guards. Few in the realm have a choice of occupation. All of the characters are engaging. Trading insults in their interaction with each other adds amusement. The intimacy scenes are heartwarming.
              
Declan realizes his view regarding the government is flawed. Not all the council members are honorable. In fact, his different political view is the source of conflict between Declan and Levi. Believing Levi is a traitor, Declan wasted years in love/hate turmoil with Levi. It was only after finding Connor that Declan began to recognize the truth in Levi’s story. Levi is assigned to assassinate the convicted. However, Levi’s real mission is to join the underground movement to remove the corrupt council members.

RJ Scott has created an intriguing as well as very enjoyable saga. I suggest reading The Vampire Contract first to better appreciate the main theme of this series.

The Case of the Wicked Wolf


Authors: Amber Kell and RJ Scott
Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-78184-292-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Sam and Bob are juggling more than one investigation but the most important one is of a missing child. Alpha Hartman Hunter’s young daughter Shelly is who they’re tracking but as the search continues, they find that other paranormal children are missing too. Who could have taken them and why? When they learn it could be humans and paranormals working together, things get even more complicated.

Getting his little girl back is almost all Alpha Hunter can think about. He needs all the help he can get and in desperation turns to his ex-lover. He gave up the demon Danjal Naamah for the good of the pack—so he could mate with a female and have cubs for the next generation—but he’s miserable. Now Hart’s ready to makes changes, but first he has to find Shelly and face down a challenge for his place as Alpha.

The Case of the Wicked Wolf is the new release in the End Street Detective Agency series. The story takes up immediately after The Case of the Cupid Curse left off, so they need to be read in order.

There’s a lot going on in this second release. It’s a nice mix of the relationship of Sam and Bob, their investigation into the missing kids and what’s going on between Hart and Danjal. It’s really surprising the authors managed to cram so many plotlines into a little over 100 print pages, and did it without making it seemed rushed. I enjoyed the entire story but particularly liked the part that dealt with Shelly and what is going on in the pack. It brought in lots of action, suspense and mystery, along with danger and even some betrayal. 

You’ll find a variety of different paranormal creatures as secondary characters scattered throughout the story. Some are old and others are new introductions but all add interest and help move the story forward at a nice pace. The plot flows pretty smoothly, there’s lots of vivid imagery and I appreciated that the authors tied up most of the plot threads. Two left dangling are the mystery of Sam’s heritage and the purpose of his newly acquired treaty bracelet. I can’t wait to find out more about them in the next release, The Case Of The Ghastly Ghost

Keeper of the Flame


Author:  Bianca D’Arc
Publisher:   Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:   978-1-61921-367-8
Genre:  {M/F}, Shape-shifters, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Lera arrives at an inn where Hugh has been caring for a baby gryphon and ends up on the run with both, as she flees for her life from assassins known as Eyes.  Hugh is in Helios to determine if they are truly friendly to Draconia, but finds his mate in Lera instead, not knowing she is not only the Queen but also the Keeper of the Flame.

The latest in the Dragon Knights series, Keeper of the Flame, brings Prince Hugh into the middle of a rebellion by Lera’s cousin for rule of Helios. The Keeper of the Flame, the person that wields the fire of the Goddess using it to dispense justice, is not necessarily the ruler of Helios, though in this case, Lera is both.  In addition, the gryphons are undergoing an evolution among their species which brings additional problems.   This was an interesting twist by the author as more is learned about the relationship between dragons, humans and the gryphons.

As this series progresses, readers learn about the various countries surrounding Draconia and what the relationship is between them. As we met the various characters, we met mates for the royal black dragon shifters or knights and some show up more than others within the books and this one is no exception. 

In addition to the intrigue and suspense, there are quite a few lighthearted moments, especially between Hugh, Lera and the baby gryphon, Miss.  I loved the way both reacted to Miss, going out of their way to make her feel loved and accepted.  I also laughed at the very realistic look at parents trying to get together and having to be careful when the kids are around as Lera and Hugh had some major chemistry together.

I am looking forward to the next book as there is not yet a resolution about the enemies of Draconia.  This series does need to be read in order as the characters and intrigue are very much intertwined.

Threadbare Gypsy Souls


Author: T. A. Chase
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-409-0
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Traveling the back roads to California, Nash Rhodes is not looking for trouble when he rides into Fallen Creek, Wyoming. Nash just needs a quiet place to recover for a few days. Nevertheless, trouble finds Nash the moment he steps in to protect the lady who owns the Watering Hole Bar.  Nash also gets the attention of werewolf Cullen O’Murphy. Soon after meeting Nash, Cullen develops into protector, as well as lover.  

Threadbare Gypsy Souls is an intriguing mystery. The plot is a multifaceted trail of secrets slowly unveiling a number of surprises designed to seize the reader’s attention throughout the story. The characters are engaging, as well as amusing at times.  One of the secrets Nash and Cullen both share is that they are in the closet gay. Nash is on the run from the leader of a motorcycle gang who took exception to having a gay man as a member in the gang. Cullen has had altercations with homophobic wolf shifters. Cullen is not part of a pack; he prefers to mind his own business as a small rancher. There is more to Nash than meets the eye; one trait that is apparent is that Nash is a gentleman with southern manners.

T. A. Chase has created a marvelous saga. I shall not incorporate any spoilers. However, Threadbare Gypsy Souls has ample battles, sensual intimacy, plus wonderful character interaction in addition to being exceptionally enjoyable.   

Autumn Breeze


Authors: A.J. Llewllyn & D.J. Manly
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781614958130
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Working for the same office of the Marshall’s service isn’t easy on a developing relationship but Sean and Nicholas make it work. When they go undercover as potential boyfriends to serial killer Trendon Patrick, they get a taste of what it’s like having someone they care about in danger. Those feelings only get worse for Nicholas when Sean is kidnapped by Trendon and their fellow Marshalls have to rush to find him before its too late.

Autumn Breeze is the newest release in the Orgasmic Texas Dawn series.  The story picks up shortly after the last book left off and continues the developing relationship between Sean and Nicholas. You’ll also see plenty of Kieran and Jubilee, so I suggest the books be read in order.

There’s a lot going on in this book. You get to see both the personal and professional sides of Nicholas and Sean’s lives. It’s a pretty good balance and I’m happy the mix includes a look into the lives of Kieran and Jubilee and their family too. I enjoyed seeing the development of their relationship and personalities. The cases the Marshalls are working involves some pretty strange criminal cases and they definitely kept my interest and me turning the pages. My niggle about them is that they could have been so much better if they’d been fleshed out and not resolved so quickly. It left me feeling a little let down, but still, there are lots to enjoy—nicely scripted action, snappy dialogue, sizzling sex and good friends. I also can’t forget to mention cute Juan, who Kieran and Jubilee are still trying to adopt.

Tuesday, April 30, 2013

Three Little Words


Author: Allison Cassatta
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-406-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

A breakup with his live-in boyfriend of five years has Matt questioning whether he will ever have a death do us part relationship. The only constant connection Matt has other than his family, is his best friend Luke. Matt and Luke have been friends since high school, sharing everything except how they truly feel about each other.

Three Little Words is a well written heartwarming friend to lover romance. The convincing characters are engaging. The main setting is Memphis, Tennessee. Matt works construction, which requires traveling around the country to job sites. Being a good provider as well as a protector for his partner is an embedded trait of Matt’s personality. However, Matt’s former boyfriend did not appreciate having a hard working regularly absent partner, so he cowardly dumped Matt. The love Matt has for Luke is a deeper bond than just friendship, but since Luke had never shown any inclination of being gay, Matt cloaked his true feelings. Matt would never do anything that would jeopardize their comfortable friendship. Luke is a well respected kindhearted fireman. Luke has spent most of his life in the closet because he fears parental rejection. Traumatic events, along with the fear of permanently losing Matt, compelled Luke to come out as well as confess his love for Matt to his parents. As expected, this revelation broke Luke’s family ties.
 
Allison Cassatta has created a compassionate saga that I thoroughly enjoyed. What I found most intriguing is how the different family dynamics influences an individual’s behavior. Matt’s family understands plus supports Matt as well as his partner. Matt is loved for who he is; sexuality is a fact not a choice in his family, so Matt is content to be himself. Luke is made to feel like an outcast, unloved and unwanted by his family. 

Nature of the Beasts


Author:  Trista Ann Michaels
Publisher:  Loose Id, LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62300-199-5
Genre:  {M/F/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Sarah, Dmitry and Dastan end up in Montana ranching.  After arriving, women start being killed by a rogue shifter.  Sarah ends up facing a life-changing revelation and life-mated to Dmitry and Dastan.

The fifth book in the Spark of Magic series, Nature of the Beasts, brings Dmitry, Dastan and Sarah to the mortal world.  This also brings changes to some relationships forged in previous books among the humans and shifters.

There is a lot of emotional tension between Sarah, Dmitry and Dastan, due to feelings and the very strong chemistry between the three.  Because of Sarah’s background, a very surprising revelation causes upheaval in her life.  It also brings a lot questions as well, though the author did a good job of resolving those toward the end.

The author introduces a couple of interesting characters, one that causes a lot of havoc throughout the book, and one that may be in one of the future stories, at least I hope so.  I did have to laugh at some of the conversations that happened, especially in the salon, then later with some of the main secondary characters.

Part of the storyline could lead to an interesting story in the future. Though most can be read as stand-alone books, I recommend reading the series in order because of the rich interaction between the both the protected world and ours.

Incomparable


Title: Incomparable
Author: Julia Talbot
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-456-3
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Watching Nikolas perform on stage has Ashe questioning his own sexual ability. Of course the gossip around the club is that Nikolas does not date co-workers, so Ashe is surprised that he is the exception when Nikolas asks him for a date.

 Incomparable is the latest addition to the Bloodrose series. Ashe and Nikolas decided to take it slow, get to know each other before jumping into a relationship. However, three months had passed and Ashe was still not moving towards intimacy. Finally Nikolas makes the first move with disastrous results.

Julia Talbot has created a delightfully pleasant short story that I found enjoyable. 

Ascension


Title: Ascension
Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-78184-285-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Conner Sutherland hasn’t been in love for years—since before he died when he was still Laine’s lover. He’s alone and feeling sad—looking into the lives of those he cares about. Laine found Sev years ago and Connor wants him to be happy, but he wants the same thing for himself and doesn’t think he’ll ever have it. Connor’s problem is that he’s watched Sev’s nephew Ro – Rogelio -  grow into a man he’s attracted to and knows he can’t do anything about it. After all Connor’s dead and Ro’s very much alive with his whole life ahead of him.

Ro’s knows Connor through his long friendship with Laine and Sev. What Connor doesn’t realize is that Ro and is just as attracted to him, even knowing that he’s dead. Neither understand that sometimes fate intervenes when you least expect it, bringing you the thing you desire most—the person you love.

Ascension is the latest release in Bailey Bradford’s Southern Spirits series. While there’s quite a time lag between this book and the last, the characters are recurring so the books should be read in order.

What to say? I’ve waited a long time for our prank-loving ghost Connor to get a story of his own, but I still had a hard time with it. It’s not that I didn’t like most of it. It’s just that it’s so sad. Not just in the way that made it possible for Ro and Connor to be together but the pain and anguish felt by Sev and Laine. But that’s not even all. It seems that on nearly every page something emotionally unsettling is happening to one of the many characters. Aside from Ro and Connor finding happiness together, it certainly didn’t make for a very uplifting and happy book. Truthfully—it’s pretty gloomy.

The premise is original, the story is well written and I appreciated getting to see so much of Sev and Laine, but really, less depressing would’ve been nice.  Getting a ghost and a living/breathing person together is difficult, and Ms. Bradford used all her creative talent for it to work—and it does. So, if you enjoy a premise that’s a little on the unusual side, give this ghost/human story and their happily-ever-after a try.

Torn


Title: Torn
Author: Shawn Bailey
Publisher: Silver Publishing
ISBN: 9781614958956
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs  
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Sam Mason needs an immediate escape plan, hopefully before his drug addict boyfriend, Tony, turns brutal. As it happens, Sam notices a man watching him. Attorney Justin Quick is more than willing to help Sam out of the chaos; with luck, Justin may be able to convince Sam to spend the night.

Torn is a realistic well-paced action love story. The characters are complicated as well as engaging. Sam, along with his best friend Caleb, lived on the streets during their latter teenage years. Both are hard working independent men with dreams of owning a restaurant. Sam and Caleb worked at the same club; however, they did not live together. Sam lived with Tony and Caleb lived with his boyfriend. Justin is an honorable wealthy man. Justin chose to work because he enjoys it, not because he needs the money. At their first meeting, Justin was sexually attracted to Sam. Discovering that Sam was an excellent cook, Justin vowed to do everything within his power to help Sam achieve his dreams.

Shawn Bailey has created a fantastic saga filled with emotional drama. Sam and Caleb were abused by their former boyfriends, Caleb has issues from the past that were never dealt with and Justin is somewhat confused regarding his status in Sam’s life. The intimacy scenes are incredibly sensual. I thoroughly enjoyed this happy ever after romance.

Prince Claimed


Author: Amber Kell
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-78184-286-7
Genre: {M/M} Futuristic Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Prince Bleine is a Thresl and up until now, he’s always had female mates.  This time, his brother intervenes when his life is in danger and he ends up mated to a human male. It’s an unexpected turn of events but Bleine quickly accepts Sarler as his mate.

Sarler comes from a world where loving a man isn’t just frowned on but it’s worthy of death, so being bonded to Prince Bleine gets the men off to a rocky start. Sarler can’t deny his attraction to his new mate but he’s having trouble dealing with the situation based on how he was raised. There’s a lot to understand about Bleine and the world he now lives in and it seems there are enemies around every corner. Can Sarler and Bleine work on making their relationship work while trying to discover a traitor?

Prince Claimed is the second release in Amber Kell’s The Thresl Chronicles. It takes up shortly after Soldier Mine left off, so the books should be read in order.

I liked the first book in this series, so I was looking forward to this release. The Thresl world is intriguing, and here we get to learn more of their history—including a few surprises that even Bleine and his brother, the king, didn’t know. The revelations bring an important new character into the story and I expect to see a lot more of him as the series progresses. There’s also lots of angst, pain, and potential for all kinds of betrayal.

The story pacing is steady and there are plenty of secondary characters scattered throughout. The personalities of Bleine and Sarler are pretty well-rounded considering the book’s length. I guess that’s one of my biggest complaints—the length. There’s so much crammed into Prince Claimed 82 print pages that the story of their relationship suffers. I wanted to know more—to feel more about what was going on with them. Don’t get me wrong, I think the story is entertaining and that the series has great possibilities. I believe more attention needs to be paid to the couple while building the world around them, even if that means the book needs to be longer.

For those of you bothered by dangling threads…be aware that there are lots left to be handled in the next release, so expect the story arc to be carried over.  I look forward to seeing what happens in the Thresl world next.

Getting Real


Author: Christiane France
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-401-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

For the first time in his life, TJ Delaney is facing a financial dilemma. His father is holding TJ’s car, allowance and credit cards until TJ is gainfully employed. Cole Labelle also has a dilemma; only Cole’s problem is how to cut the apron strings metaphorically choking the life out of him. TJ and Cole finally meet at the office building where they are both employed. The initial sparks between them soon evolve into a budding romance. 

Getting Real is a charming new beginnings story. The characters are credible. Although TJ knew of his father’s struggles to succeed in life, TJ had not given much thought to actually working to survive. Being a college dropout with no work experience, TJ realized his chances for finding a job were very slim. Fortunately TJ’s hobby was considered a marketable skill for one company. TJ’s new office was located in the building managed by Cole. TJ and Cole are very attracted to each other. However, TJ is openly gay and Cole is deep in the closet. With the help of TJ, Cole is able to gain enough courage to make a fresh start. Nevertheless, Cole’s courage does not extend to actually telling his family he is gay.

Christiane France has illustrated an interesting social point of view in this happy for now enjoyable saga. Even though Canada has legal same-sex marriage, not all of society accepts it. Cole’s family considers being gay as a humiliation that is devastating to the long-established family image. 

Passionate Vengeance


Author:  Elizabeth Lapthorne
Publisher:  Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL:  www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78184-239-3
Genre:  {M/F}, Mystery, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Abby is rescued by Tristan and Lucas after she is kidnapped and placed into a mental institution by the doctor doing unauthorized experiments on her.  Lucas has been dreaming about Abby ever since The Agency found out she might be in danger after some records were found detailing some of those experiments.

The fourth book in The Agency series picks up where Passionate Immunity ended.  Passionate Vengeance resolves some issues that have been hanging around, but not all questions are resolved regarding the vaccines that have killed other people or the partners the doctor and traitor may have had.  Some of the shots ended up having dangerous pathogens infecting the unsuspecting patients, who are later given a vaccine to counteract them.

Abby and Lucas have an almost instant chemistry.  Some of the secondary characters urge caution, though some teasing occurs about this relationship.  The other partners put Abby and Lucas on notice about covering for each other as they learn trust in their new partnership. There was also an incident with the medical doctor at The Agency that bothered me a little and I hope this situation is resolved in a future story.

The author does a good job explaining about how tedious investigations are and how the smallest piece of information can bring a major turn in a case.  I would never have put that particular piece of information into the mix and it was a very big surprise, which also led to a surprise ending.  The ending was not something I would have guessed.  

Treat


Title: Treat
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61040-453-2
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary BDSM Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Treat and Killian had a terrible time when their sub Peter died. They’re just getting used to being on their own when their life is thrown into turmoil. Killian’s kidnapped and tortured, and during the rescue attempt he’s injured further. The recovery is difficult not just physically for Killian but on their relationship too. Can Treat find a way to help his lover get over the damage caused by a madman, or will the painful memories drive this committed couple apart forever?

Treat is the newest release in Sean Michael’s Hammer series.  While reading this one as a standalone is possible, you might want to read Beaten, in order to get an idea of what lead up to the kidnapping.

This isn’t a typical BDSM story because Killian spends most of it recovering. He needs time to heal mentally and physically, which means lots of TLC from Treat. It also means the story is full of angst from both men as they deal with the aftermath of Killian’s ordeal. The description of the emotional pain experienced by Killian is handled nicely and Treat is wonderful, giving him support and care during this time. I also liked seeing a little of the parents. They are a nice addition.

My niggles:

I’m afraid the subject matter of this story is too painful and intense to be handled well in such a short length.
Killian’s been through a horrible ordeal—why no talk of professional help.
His injuries are significant and while they mention a doctor, actually seeing one is glossed over.

I do have a favorite scene. It’s near the end where Treat puts all of Killian’s piercings back in place. I found it arousing but tender and heartfelt at the same time.

Redemption of the Beast


Author: Amylea Lyn
Publisher: Silver Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 9781614958895
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

When Sasha had to kill his twin, he knew he could no longer live in the Katrian village.  Now in self-imposed exile, he expects to always be alone, but then he meets his mate and wonders if he will ever be able to claim him. 

Redemption of the Beast is the third book in the Outside the City series.  Because one of the main characters was just a child when first introduced, the story picks up fifteen years after the end of the last story. 

Sasha has continued to live away from his people, only coming into the village when he has to deliver lost humans from the city.  The Katrian warrior continues to evade his mate, Micah, worried that he is not worthy of the young human male.  Readers will remember both characters from the previous books.  I found it interesting that after Micah matured, Sasha was able to continue to stay away from him even though his urge to mate was strong.   I understood why Sasha felt he had to stay away from the younger man and wondered how the author was going to have the tough warrior overcome his fears. 

While I liked Sasha, I must say that Micah became my favorite.  Introduced to the readers as a child, Micah is now twenty-one and while no longer as sick as when we first meet him, he still suffers from the occasional medical issues.   As the reader can expect, this causes those around the young man to be overly protective.    Needless to say, everyone’s protective instincts come to the forefront when Micah’s attempts to make Sasha jealous go horribly wrong. 

The two men have many obstacles to overcome before they can come together, one of which is Micah’s kidnapping.  It’s during this time that the author introduces many twists and turns into the series plot.  Some of these twists were a surprise and while one was a given, the reason behind it was surprising and one few readers will see coming. 

Redemption of the Beast is also peppered with many secondary characters that are familiar to the reader.  These men keep the reader entertained while helping to move the story along.  Readers will also find out who the next couple is to get their story told, and I wonder what changes their journey will bring to the rest of the Katrian. Redemption of the Beast is a great addition to this series and the books should be read in order.

Follow That Dress


Author:  Cherrie Mack
Publisher:  Liquid Silver
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-93176-129-1
Genre:  {M/F} Contemporary, Romantic Comedy
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Crystal Manfreid’s life changed the day she ran into the rudest man she’d ever met.  Not being one to sugarcoat things, Crystal was quick to let him know exactly how she felt about him.  The man was stiffly conventional, cold and totally out of her league.  He challenged her independence and made her wonder about a future together, even though he’d sworn to her there was no future for them.

Robert Salinger is a man accustomed to getting what he wants and right now, he wants Crystal to get on board with his proposition.  She’s an unusual young woman with a certain kind of fire that Robert finds attractive.  What he needs now is someone who’s smart and unknown in his circle.  Once their arrangement was over, Robert and Crystal would go back to their own separate lives.  That’s what Robert kept telling Crystal.  Unfortunately, he was having a hard time accepting his own words. 

Crystal and Robert seem to have nothing in common, which creates some humorous moments.  There was no doubt that Robert needed Crystal in his life.  He’d become distant from life, even his own family.  Crystal gave him a jolt that let us see a more human side of Robert.  I wanted to see that in Robert.  Crystal also had a family history that had shaped her to be the strong person she was.  I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, but when it comes to matters of the heart, sometimes Crystal’s strength worked against her.  I understood Crystal and I found it easy to relate to her.  I think we all have a little Crystal in us.

Follow That Dress is an offbeat romance between two unlikely people who make the perfect odd couple.  I love romantic comedies and this one has some great lines and funny situations that left me giggling after I finished the story.  The moments I loved the most were when we find out that Robert isn’t as uppity as we think he is.  One in particular was when he picks up Crystal’s book and discovers what she’s reading.  But hands down, my favorite would be the night Robert meets Crystal’s sister.  I nearly laughed myself out of my chair.  Cherrie Mack obviously has a talent for creating romance from situations that are not the norm.  She made the couple’s differences work in a way that felt comfortable.  It made me excited to wonder if or when things would boil over.  This first installment of the Off the Rack series has hooked me and I can’t wait to see what happens next.  Readers, this one is a must-read.