Friday, July 11, 2014

Edge of the Enforcer


Author:  Cherise Sinclair
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62300-398-2
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating:  Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Lindsey left Texas, after killing her husband and taking files that can protect her to keep from being murdered.  She has been working under a false last name and tries not to make friends.  She has always been attracted to deVries but knows she can’t give him what he needs.  deVries is attracted to Lindsey, but is blindsided by his feelings once he knows her better.

Edge of the Enforcer is the fourth book in the Doms of Dark Haven series and is the best one so far, in my opinion.  Several issues in the book can be taken from the news and the research regarding those issues was great.  I loved that the author also made distinctions, and showed how relationships can work within the BDSM lifestyle when there are differences in what either the Dom, or submissive can tolerate or need. 

Lindsey needed some pain stimulation, but was not a masochist and could tolerate only so much.  deVries was a true sadist and used his need to come down from the adrenaline rush of his jaunts as a mercenary.  I found the resolution interesting, because it worked after several misunderstandings.  The chemistry between the two is hot and some scenes will leave you breathless.

Once Lindsey and deVries come to an understanding, things get real interesting between the two as deVries and company help Lindsey resolve her past.  A lot of characters from the previous books show up to help.  I liked the resolution about the bad guys, for obvious reasons. 

Fans of Cherise Sinclair’s books will not be disappointed in this highly anticipated story.  While Edge of the Enforcer can be read alone, for the best enjoyment, readers should read the entire Doms of Dark Haven series.

Fanging Around For a Broken Wolf

Author: SA Welsh
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-77111-960-3
Genre: {M/M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Jacko needs to get himself and his little sister, Rose, away from their evil mother. He tries to fight in a pack contest for a pack position but that doesn’t work out well. Still the alpha welcomes him into the pack and even rescues his sister before she can be harmed further. Shortly after the rescue, Jacko meets Lavi and Van. The two vampire elders are just the type of men he’s always wanted and his wolf agrees…and soon he’s certain the gorgeous vampires are his mates. Can he live in their world? Can their mating survive the difference and the danger from his mother?

Fanging Around For a Broken Wolf is the second release in SA Welsh’s Blood Moon Pack Alliance. It begins shortly after the first left off, so the books should be read in order.

As much as I enjoyed the first book, I liked this second one more. Jacko and his two vampire mates make for a fun and entertaining read even though the subject matter is rather dark. I mean it would have to be considering the things that Jacko experienced in his life. Even his little scene-stealing sister Rose has problems because of their mother. The resulting fears that Jacko and Rose have are very real, which explains why they have difficulty trusting initially. I thought the author did a nice job handling these problems and showing how Van and Lavi are strong and protective with the wounded siblings. The two elder vampires are truly a pair of compelling guys. I really like them.

Overall I found the story to be well written with a fast-paced, complicated plot. It moves the ongoing story line forward with suspense, action, good integration of previous characters and plenty of action and danger. I can’t fail to mention the nicely developed personalities of all three primary guys and how well they fit together. There are twists not just with the plot but with the men as well to keep you guessing. I really hope that Van, Lavi and Jacko play continuing roles in future books.

The Legend of Uncle Everett

Author: Gene Taylor
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62798-641-0
Genre: {M/M} Historical, Western
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Blake had heard stories of the infamous feud between his great Uncle Everett and rival in love JB Sanderson. It is only after both men have passed on that Blake discovers just how intense things got between the two of them. They had supposedly fallen out over a girl, but while sorting through Everett’s belongings, diaries are uncovered that detail a secret love between the two men that if discovered, would have caused untold damage to their families reputations in 1930s small town Texas. Now that Blake knows the truth, he decides it’s time Everett and JB’s story is revealed.

I found the writing in The Legend of Uncle Everett relaxed and welcoming, as if I was a friend being let in on a family secret. I was very interested in the premise of love being covered up by a feud, and the lengths the characters went to in order to dupe everyone was a lot of fun to read. Everett’s great nephew Blake acts as narrator, hand picking the special moments in his Uncle’s and JB’s secret life that he is willing to share, and I think Everett and JB would be happy that Blake is finally telling their story. I feel that The Legend of Uncle Everett was a huge undertaking, as it was a vast love story that spanned many years. Whereas the story could have lost its way, getting tied down with 40 plus years’ worth of love story, I think the author did a good job of providing just enough detail into the characters’ lives while still maintaining intimacy and mystery. Everett and JB’s love was a sweet story, sometimes bittersweet, but one that I definitely could have read more of.

Taste of Lacey

Author:  Linden Hughes
Publisher:  Loose Id
Publisher URL:  http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62300-004-2
Genre:  {M/F}   Multicultural, Contemporary
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Lacey Bishop is a focused woman working her way through a list of goals.  Right now the only thing Lacey cares about is building up her catering business.  She’s got the degree and the skill to make it happen.  With everything going according to plan, Lacey is thrown for a loop when her brother’s best friend takes their relationship to a new level.  Rye goes from practically being family to being the only man Lacey wants in her bed. 

Ryder McKay had helped move in the furniture in Lacey’s bedroom.  Never in a million years did he imagine he’d be lying in her bed, waiting to douse the flames their kiss had started.  Rye never saw Lacey “that way” before, but after discovering the temptress beneath the surface, there was no way he was giving Lacey up.  All he has to do is convince Lacey that he’s in for the long haul and hope her family doesn’t come between them.

There has never been a lack of women in Rye’s life, and Lacey knows that.  He can have anyone he wants, and Rye wants Lacey.  Rye thinks his intentions are crystal clear, and is somewhat hurt by Lacey’s idea of where they stood as a couple.  How could she have such a low opinion of him? 

Lacey isn’t as open with everyone as Rye is in regards to their changed relationship, especially with her family.  Lacey is upset when she feels that Rye goes over her head and keeps her in the dark about relevant information.  Jealousy from an unexpected person causes tension between the couple and Lacey is almost forced to pick sides.  

When two people with history decide to change the rules of their relationship, things get steamy.  Lacey and Rye were so comfortable with each other, I was surprised it took them so long to hit the sheets.  As a mixed couple, racism was part of their issues, but I was glad that it didn’t dominate the story.  I think Rye was a typical male at some points, because he assumed that Lacey should know the extent of his feelings without verbalizing them.  More communication would have cut down on the misunderstandings for sure.  But I’m not letting Lacey off the hook either.  She should have confided in Rye instead of holding back.  I know Lacey thought she was doing the right thing and that she tried to trust him, but she always had doubts.  Finally she started listening to her heart and realized that Rye wanted more than a Taste of Lacey, he wanted her forever.  When a couple has history like Lacey and Rye, it’s easy to feel comfortable with them.  I felt as if I knew who they were immediately and I was sad to see their story end.  

Master Delacroix

Author: Trista Ann Michaels
Publisher:  Loose Id, LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62300-364-7
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Nathan is a former FBI agent, now semi-retired, and owns a BDSM club.  Connelly calls on Nathan for help with research for the villain in her latest novel, unaware they have something in common, which is the man that killed her husband and his fiancé.

Master Delacroix is the second book in the Crime & Punishment series.  Readers should be aware that the first book in this series is published by a different publisher and this book can be read alone. 

Nathan has a talent that also was, in part, the reason his fiancé was targeted by a serial killer.  The fact that Nathan gets impressions and sometimes thoughts from other people also caused friction with him and his father.  He used it as an agent, but now uses it as a Dom with his subs.

Connelly is surprised at how well Nathan understands her, but Nathan is confused as he can clearly read her thoughts.  As he helps her get more comfortable with wanting to know more about the BDSM lifestyle, Nathan also sets up a scene with his brother and his former partner for Connelly to experience something she wanted to try.  The scenes between Nathan and Connelly are hot and they discover that Connelly is a masochist to his sadist.

The intrigue woven into Master Delacroix is expertly dispersed into the love story between Nathan and Connelly. In addition, the relationships that they have with several secondary characters have an influence on how the story progresses.  There were several surprises throughout the story, but those that are familiar with the BDSM lifestyle will find lots of humorous interactions that result with Connelly’s introduction to BDSM. 

Ms. Michaels has a good grasp of the BDSM lifestyle and this is a good one for the bookshelf.  I will be reading this one again.

The Paranormal Detection Agency

Author: Anne Brooke
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com
ISBN: 978-1-61124-618-6
Genre: {M/M} Romantic Comedy
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Things that go bump in the night is an understatement for Aaron Riley. The only solution for Aaron is to seek help from paranormal investigator Jack Atkinson.

The Paranormal Detection Agency is an amusing promising romance highlighted by sweltering intimacy in addition to the presence of ghosts as well as other worldly creatures. The characters are admirable.

Aaron is attempting to remodel his deceased grandmother’s house but angry spirits have discontinued the builder’s progress. Aaron did not believe in ghosts until he witnessed their destructive powers.

Jack is gifted with the sight; he can see as well as hear all manner of paranormal beings which makes him perfect for his chosen profession. 

Anne Brooke has created a splendid short story that I enjoyed immensely. 

Pride and Modern Prejudice

Author: AJ Michaels
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62798-710-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Liam Bennet can usually get along with anyone. At least he thought so, until his brother starts dating Bingley and Liam meets William Darcy, Bingley’s business partner. They’re frequently thrown together but Will’s proud, cold, arrogant attitude only annoys Liam. As he goes off to college, Liam’s forced to deal with his conflicted feelings toward Darcy, his father’s job loss and his best friend, Charlotte, getting involved with his obnoxious cousin, Collins. To make matters worse, an old acquaintance of Darcy’s, George Wickham, comes to town causing trouble and his young brother is endangered. When Wickham’s past is exposed and Liam learns the truth of Darcy’s part in it, can Liam admit his mistake and confess his true feelings for Darcy?

Pride and Modern Prejudice is the first book by AJ Michaels I’ve read. As you can tell from the title it’s a modern version of the Jane Austin classic. I admit it. I’ve read the book and likely seen every movie version, so this new release is perfect for me. I suspect that others who love the original will likely feel the same way. *Be aware that just because the author’s made the main characters men doesn’t mean she’s turned this updated story into an erotic romance.*  So If you’re looking for that, this might not be for you.

The classic Austin tale has vivid descriptions, humor, plenty of charm and lots of great scenes between the characters, and this new version does too. The backbone of the story is basically unchanged—by that I mean the people and their relationships. It’s their country, jobs, education, and how they conduct their everyday lives that have been significantly changed. The author’s really done a nice job pulling these two things together—the books classical past and the contemporary nuances of the new release. As I swiped each page on my reader, I couldn’t wait to see what next change I’d find. I’m happy to say, each and every one worked and made sense in the new world the author has created. Enjoy. 

I can only hope the author tries converting another classic romance into a M/M contemporary in the future.

Somebody’s Been a Bad Little Wolf

Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-77111-949-8
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Levine has sat by and watched as every man he has ever been interested in has found their mates.  Knowing his shyness will keep him alone for the rest of his life if he doesn’t do something, the young omega wolf decides to approach the next man that walks through the pack’s door.  Imagine his surprise when the next man is Colt, a lone wolf looking for a pack. 

Somebody’s Been a Bad Little Wolf is the newest story in the Wayne County Wolves series by author Stephani Hecht.  The characters in this story are brought together in an interesting way and the chemistry between them is strong, thanks to the mate pull.  Levine is a shy omega wolf who is used to being overlooked.  He knows some of that is his own fault but can’t seem to change his behavior.  I could not help but feel sad for the young wolf.  He so wants to be loved, but his fear of rejection keeps him from approaching any of his crushes.  He did surprise me, however, as I never thought he would be brave enough to follow through on the advice given to him by Toby. 

Colt is looking for a pack since his last one was destroyed by Rand.  Colt surely suffers from survivor’s guilt after the destruction of his pack.  It is easy to understand why he feels that way although he has no reason to.  After hearing about how things were with his old pack, it is also easy to understand why he is unsure what to expect with the Wayne County pack.  It was fun watching these two get to know each other.  Both men are a little unsure how to act with each other but the mate pull is strong and the two men end up spending a lot of time together. 

Somebody’s Been a Bad Little Wolf was a fun read that helps move the series along.  Several former characters show up to give the new couple a hand along the way.  This, of course, means there are several snarky lines that will make the reader laugh.  Fans of this series will love this new book as the couple grabs you from the beginning and won’t let go until the last page. 

Hunt

Title: Hunt
Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Totally Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.totallybound.com
ISBN: 9781784300661
Genre: {M/M/M} Were-shifters Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Mixed-breed cat shifter Steven is determined to rid his brother and himself from the danger haunting their lives. The only way they can obtain freedom is to kill their evil father. However, fate steps in to lend Steven a hand with his mission. Not only does Steven find a mate, he finds two. Wolf shifters sent to deliver medicine to Steven discover they are mated to each other. Triad mates, they are the first in the shifter community.

Hunt is the second book in the Spotless series. The plot illustrates Steven’s cross country journey, which is filled with numerous battles almost every step of the way. The leopards sent by Bashuan to kill Steven were armed with human weapons. The characters are creditable.

Steven is very strong, despite the childhood abuse he endured. It is his strength that made him a threat to the lepe leader. Steven is also very protective of his brother Adal, his two wolf mates once he realized they were indeed fated to be together, then later Steven became the protector of family he was not aware existed. 

Bailey Bradford has created an exciting addition to the series. I enjoyed the intense combat as well as the sensual threesome intimacy scenes. 

Knotted

Title:  Knotted
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-77111-930-6
Genre:  {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Rowan works with plants and has to be married to a citizen of Irudan if she wants to work with the ‘garden planet’.  One of the Guardians, Skorin, marries her even though he doesn’t really want a wife, but she can act for him at family functions so he doesn’t have to do them.  It all changes when he meets her after she is kidnapped.

Knotted is part of the series Terran Times Second Wave.  Fans of Ms. Grace’s Terran Times series will not be disappointed in this story.  I had to laugh at some of the antics that Skorin and his friends pulled. The family dynamics of the Nakkua family was also interesting because Rowan’s in-laws are wonderful.

Some of the Irudan customs were interesting, especially about married Guardians.  I laughed at the bit about women constantly throwing themselves at the single ones came out. Some of the plants described that Rowan worked on were interesting.

The relationship between Rowan and Skorin was intriguing, especially when they finally meet.  They did sort of get off on the wrong foot, but things quickly heated up between them.

Even though this book is part of a series, it can be read alone.