Thursday, August 8, 2013

Vamp

Title: Vamp
Author: Rob Rosen
Publisher: MLR Press
ISBN/BIN: MLR-1-02013-0115
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Humor
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jack is minding his own business, working a job he does not really like when one day a call comes in that changes his life forever.  Finding out that a world of paranormal beings live around him is shocking enough, but realizing that he carries a dormant gene that allows him to become a vampire is not something he expected to hear.

Rob Rosen’s newest story, Vamp, takes place within the same world as his Queerwolf story; however, the two do not need to be read together.  In this newest story, the main character, Jack, believes he is an orphan, until he gets a call saying he had a cousin, Boris.  Unfortunately, before Jack gets the chance to meet his new cousin, he is told that Boris has died in a “hunting” accident.  From this point on, Jack’s life takes on a whole new twist.

The story is told in first person from Jack’s point of view and Mr. Rosen does an excellent job bringing Jack’s personality across.  At the same time, Jack brings the rest of the cast alive for the readers.  One of those characters is Steven, who fans of Mr. Rosen will remember was a bit of a baddy in Queerwolf.   These two really click and the passion between them is hot.  There are many more secondary characters woven into this story and most will have you laughing out loud.  There are many twists and one in particular will leave you shocked.

Vamp also takes a new look at the Vampire sub-genre and the new changes are sure to bring the author some new fans.  The way in which Jack was “brought over” is one of the new twists used by the author.  I will leave the rest up to you to discover, be prepared to laugh more than once.  The snarky dialog, wonderfully written characters, and slight mystery that are woven throughout Vamp will keep you tied to the story. 

In His Cuffs

Title:  In His Cuffs
Author:  Sierra Cartwright
Publisher:  Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL:  www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78184-419-9
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM
Rating:  5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Maggie and her friend always go to Ladies Night at the Den.  It is Maggie’s way to indulge in herself, so she is shocked to find her boss is a Dungeon Monitor there.  David can’t believe his eyes and makes arrangements to be her Dom for the night.

The fourth book in the Mastered series, In His Cuffs, gives the reader a very intense story that kept this reader engrossed.  I could not put this down once I started.  It is also a story of self-discovery as Maggie realizes a few things about herself. 

The relationship between David and Maggie is very hot.  Be aware that the scenes between the two are very intense and, may to some, seem to be a little extreme.  The author captured Maggie’s reactions very well and did a good job showing David’s, as well.  As their relationship progresses, trust and what they expect from each other, does become an issue that is handled quite well from the BDSM standpoint.

I loved a few of the secondary characters, but did not like Gloria, Maggie’s mother, a whole lot.  I felt she went out of her way to be manipulative, even though I don’t think the author intended that to be the case.  Vanessa was great and gave some great advice to Maggie about a few things from the Dom/sub aspect. 

The books in this series can be read alone.  I always like to read a series in order, though, to get the most out of the stories.  I do think that the Mastered series should be on any BDSM lover’s bookshelf, but In His Cuffs definitely should be.

Unconditional

Author: Lauren Dane
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61921-653-2
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Michelle Slattery became a cop to help people and being a witch usually makes her job a easier. This time her magical skills aren’t helping. All across the country, mages are kidnapping, torturing and draining the energy from witches, and her best friend is one of those missing. She asks for help from the werewolves of the Pacific Pack and is stunned to find her old high school boyfriend as their enforcer.

Josh Neelan was bitten and turned into a werewolf as a teen, and he had to leave his old life behind—that included Michelle.  When she comes to his pack asking for help, he’s surprised but can’t deny their chemistry hasn’t changed. In fact, it’s more intense than before, because Michelle’s his mate.

It’s not easy making up for the years apart, especially with danger lurking around every corner. As they hunt for Michelle’s friend, it becomes obvious the mage problem is leading up to something much bigger. Can they find a way back to each other and stay alive to make a life together?

Unconditional is the latest release in Lauren Dane’s Cascadia Wolves series. It’s another great addition to the family of books and while reading it as a standalone is possible, I recommend the books be read in order.

I’ve enjoyed this series from the beginning and look forward to each new release. I’m always guaranteed a well constructed plot, action, danger and imagery that will pull me into the story—and Unconditional isn’t any different. Not only has the talented Ms. Dane provided me with a story with great ‘bones’, but Josh and Michelle have well developed personalities and they’re characters I can care about. I love the personal history Ms. Dane created between them. It makes the depth of their emotional connection very believable. And their physical chemistry—it’s sizzling. 

Now to the villains—the mages. There’s a lot going on with this part of the plotline and because there’s something major brewing, at the end this thread is left dangling for a future revelation. I can’t wait to find out what it is and how it affects the wolves and witches. I how you enjoy this entertaining paranormal series as much as I do.

My Wicked Trainers

Author:  Ann Mayburn
Publisher:  Loose Id, LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62300-365-4
Genre: {M/F/M}, BDSM, Series
Rating:  5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Liam discovers his best mate is a Dom.  Rory is attracted to Liam but because of Liam’s hang-ups, Rory can only share a female submissive with him.

This Club Wicked series story about Master Liam was very interesting.  My Wicked Trainers is a wonderful look at out how Liam gets introduced to BDSM. 

Liam and Rory, his mate, are athletes and roommates in college.  The author showed just how diverse the two men’s background was.  I loved both men and Rory is more worldly than Liam and it shows in how they react to each other. 

The scene where both men have some interesting thoughts, as well as watch each other, was hot.  The thoughts that were going through their minds shows some of the conflict they have with themselves.  I really liked Rory’s solution to what they both considered a problem.

Liam’s reaction to Susie was priceless, especially as he tries to come to grips with the feelings he has. Both Susie and Rory show him that it was okay to have the feelings he had. 

I am looking forward to more of Liam’s story in the future.  I enjoyed this look at the younger man he was, but the glimpses we have of him in the past stories has been very intriguing.

Parting Shot

Title: Parting Shot
Author: Mary Calmes
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62380-875-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Duncan Stiel has wanted a partner for years, but his job as an undercover police officer keeps him firmly in the closet. When friends introduce him to a man he’s crazy about, it looks like his dreams are about to come true. Unfortunately his current investigation and the real world intrude before his relationship with Aaron can really get started.

Wealthy Aaron Sutter seemingly has it all but in reality, he’s desperately alone. When he meets Duncan, he’s immediately smitten with the intriguing detective. Aaron has to learn how to deal with Duncan, a man who believes in working to support himself and won’t live like a ‘kept man’.  It’s a matter of both men compromising, but Aaron learning to give away his carefully guarded heart—that’s the hardest thing of all.   

Parting Shot is the newest and I believe the last release in Mary Calmes A Matter of Time series. I suggest reading the books in order but at least read But For You, where Aaron and Duncan are introduced.

I’ve enjoyed this series from the beginning and was afraid Aaron would be left hanging when the last book featuring Jory and Sam came to an end. So as you can imagine, I was thrilled when I learned Aaron would get his own story. In this release, he’s much more developed than before and we get the chance to see the guy he really is—with a needy side, instead of the face he puts on for the public. I’m happy to say this new and improved Aaron is a guy I like. And Duncan—he’s intense, but easy-going, strong and protective—and I like that he’s a perfect counterpoint to Aaron. 

The story is fast-paced, resolves the issues left over from But For You, has vivid descriptions, and provides Duncan with action, danger and injury. Max, Aaron’s brother is a new character and while he’s not exactly a villain, he does manage to mess things up a bit. I did miss seeing Jory and we only have a glimpse of Sam in the beginning. So, I suggest you give this entertaining book a try. You won’t be sorry you did.

Nischal

Title: Nischal
Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN: 978-1-78184-405-2
Genre: {M/M} Were-shifter Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Confined to a cage and kept drugged, snow leopards Nischal and his brother Sabin had loss all interest in their surrounding until Nischal spotted the human, Preston Hardy. There was something about Preston that strongly appealed to Nischal enough for him to risk shifting into his human form after he escaped.

Nischal is the ninth book in the Leopard's Spots series. Preston is searching for his twin brother Paul, who disappeared over a year ago. The focus of this rousing plot is slavery, freedom along with homophobic parents. Although researching websites as well as staying in contact with the FBI, Preston is not prepared to deal with the sinister perpetrators who had knowledge of Paul’s whereabouts. The encounter almost got Preston killed had it not been for Nischal coming to his aid. Nischal was amazed by his own burst of strength and even more astonished by the desire to be with Preston.

Bailey Bradford’s Nischal is an exceedingly enjoyable installment filled with exciting action, a touch of mystery as well as splendid intimacy scenes.


Huntress Takes All

Author:  Ali Atwood
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-77111-565-0
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Brig is surprised to be met by the Prince himself after she lands on Ben Nevis.  Duncan is surprised by Brig’s appearance and his immediate attraction to her. He also tries to protect her, even though Brig has been hired to protect Duncan against threats made against him.

Huntress Takes All is the third book in The Huntress Chronicles series.  We learn a little more about Brig and her abilities. Duncan has his own specialties as well and they come into play later.

The chemistry between Brig and Duncan is immediate and they are hot once they get together.  However, sometimes that chemistry tends to distract both from the danger against Duncan.

Pamela seemed to be a stereotypical gold-digger, but some of the other secondary characters were interesting and one was funny.  I had to laugh at some of the antics Crawford pulled as well. The story is good, even though the bad guy is pretty evident.  The way there are a few twists is interesting and I loved the last confrontation as it was something I did not see coming at all. 

I recommend The Huntress Chronicles be read in order, though each book can be read alone.

Burden

Title: Burden
Author: Annmarie McKenna
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61921-829-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Detective Brennan McGuire’s life has changed dramatically in the year since his car flew off a cliff. After surviving his injuries he now stutters, struggles with daily activities and has memory problems. Learning to deal with money sends Brennan to the local coffee shop where he spies a man with a gun, and for the first time in months his cop instincts take over—he jumps a guy to protect him.

Keegan Monroe just came off an undercover assignment. He didn’t expect to end up getting shot at or to be shoved to the ground. When Keegan looks into the eyes of the guy lying on top of him, attraction flares, but is he involved in the attempted hit? As the investigation moves forward, more of Brennan’s memories return. As the danger increases, its certain someone doesn’t want him to remember what happened before his car crash. Can Keegan discover the killer’s identity before it’s too late?

Burden is the latest release by Annmarie McKenna. It’s not often that one of the primary characters deals with a disability and I wanted to see how the author would handle it. I’m happy to say Keegan deals with Brennan’s problems nicely, treating him with sensitivity when warranted but as a normal guy most of the time. It’s really a refreshing slant considering the severity of Brennan’s residual injury.

I like both Brennan and Keegan and considering the length of the story, their personalities are pretty well rounded. I could have wished their relationship had more time to develop, but it’s still believable. The pacing is smooth, imagery vivid and the action fast-paced throughout. I liked how Brennan’s disability issues are woven into the story and when he begins to have flashes of memory, it only ramps up the sense of suspense and danger. 

The two things that bothered me the most--for the story length there’s an abundance of sex and the ending is abrupt.