Friday, November 2, 2012

Exposed by Moonbeam


Author:  Cynthia Sax
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  http://www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781419942433
Genre:  {M/F} Futuristic/SciFi
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Storm MacKenzie didn’t want to end up covering human-interest stories forever.  She needed to prove that aliens existed, regardless of the danger involved.  Sharing information with her source over the past months had been more like flirting, so she was more than curious.  Storm was already turned on, even before meeting Ary.  There was no doubt in Storm’s mind that she was going to have mind blowing sex with him.  Even his arrogance and constant attempts to silence her wasn’t going to change that.

Ruler Arystokrata Nazwisko has a heavy weight on his shoulders.  Now that he found his talker mate, there was no way Ary would give her up.  She made him feel things he never expected and things he was hesitant to express.  She was his Storm.  Times were changing and Ary had to change with them in order to retain control of the Silans.  He was being forced to choose between his mate and his people.  Why couldn’t he have both?

All Silans look forward to the day they find their mate.  But not all of them agree that the ruler should be mated while so many others are not.  Ary is placed in the middle of this sticky situation with his mate, Storm.  If his people don’t accept her, all hope could be lost.  Ary would step down as ruler if it came to that, but Storm knew he wouldn’t be completely happy.  She figured out how to bring balance to the situation so that everybody won. 

Book three in the Alien Abductions series, Exposed by Moonbeam, is more thrilling proof that Cynthia Sax knows how to keep readers begging for more.  I can’t seem to get enough of these Silan men and their experiences.  As much as I love their strength, I love it more when they are brought to their knees by their human mate.  Ary kills me when he tries to stop Storm from talking so much and she just keeps going on.  That seems like trying to stop the sun from rising.  Feelings are something the Silans don’t know how to handle so that always causes some turmoil.  That turmoil leads to some great make up sex and an emotional epiphany.  Ary’s views of how his people saw him and what they expected of him made me sad.  His planet needs the female touch badly.   I was glad he did finally take the stick out of his butt and loosen up a bit, but he was still Ary.  I’m always shocked by how the Silans are not shy when it comes to sex, even though I understand the reason behind it.  I can’t wait to see what Silan stud finds happiness next and what title his mate will be given.  

Riley’s Downfall


Author: Lynn Hagen
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher’s URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62241-105-4
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Sterling is driving Riley crazy, and the way things look now, the young man won’t be leaving anytime soon.   If Riley doesn’t come to terms with having a mate, however, he may just loose the man.

Riley’s Downfall is the 29th addition to the Brac Pack series, and it made its way to my favorites pile right away. For those who may not know, this story is about characters that have been introduced in previous stories.  The main characters are Riley, the oldest Lakeland son, and Sterling, Darcy’s baby brother who happens to also be a human.  I absolutely loved Sterling.  This character is terrifically written and more than once, he had me laughing out loud.  He literally steals the scenes he’s in and I could not narrow down one scene that I loved more than the others.  Sterling is also the perfect foil for Riley.  As his father’s right hand man, Riley is steeped in responsibility, so far that he’s forgotten how to have fun.  Poor Riley, I almost felt sorry for him at times when he was dealing with Sterling.  Watching as their relationship changes was fun to see and when they finally do come together, they really heat up the pages. 

Riley’s Downfall is littered with previous characters, some of whom are crossovers from other ongoing series.  While this may be the case, it is not necessary to read the other series in order to read this book, although you would be missing out on some great stories if you didn’t.  The author throws in some twists and turns so that the story isn’t just about the main characters.  The twists are entertaining and set up a variety of future plot lines. You also get a glimpse of two future pairings, both of which I am anxious to read.

Riley’s Downfall is a great story and one that should not be missed.  Readers should keep their eyes out for Bacon.  I loved how Sterling was with her and their relationship is sure to cause a few readers to smile. 

Esau


Title: Esau
Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN: 978-1-78184-111-2
Genre: {M/M} Shifters Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Esau Walraven has made compromises all his life, giving up his dreams of living as the humans do. Meeting Ye-sun Warren, as well as realizing they are mates, meant Esau would have to make more concessions in his life.

Esau is the sixth book in the especially enjoyable Leopard's Spot Series. Running away from his family as soon as he was an adult allowed Esau to pretend to be human. When tragedy struck his new home, Esau finally accepted his inner snow leopard and returned to his family. Haunted by the past, Esau did not want a mate. However, Esau’s inner leopard took control and claimed Ye-Sun. Shortly after being claimed, Ye-Sun sensed rejection coming from Esau. Tormented by rejection from his own family, Ye-Sun chose to leave Esau. But the mate bond was too strong to break. By each man working through their emotional turmoil, Esau and Ye-Sun are able to share the love they were destined to have.

Reader Advisory: This book contains mild BDSM-Spanking and is part of a series, best read in sequence.

Haunted Sanctuary


Author: Moira Rogers
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61921-220-6
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Release Date 01/22/13

Jay Ancheta didn’t care for pack life in the city so he moved to the small town of Clover, where his alpha personality works well as Sheriff. He’s been crazy about Eden Green for years, but hasn’t acted on his attraction, afraid to tell her the truth. That changes when Eden gets bit by a werewolf. Now he has to deal with helping her through her change, Zack’s battered pack and defending everyone from the Memphis pack out to kill them.

Many people think the creatures that go bump in the night aren’t real but Eden knows differently. Her cousin was born a werewolf. Defending Zack against the townspeople left her feeling isolated long after he left home. Now he’s back, bringing along the rag-tag members of his pack. But trouble’s following and during a fight. Eden gets bit. It changes her life, forcing her into a world of power and danger. Can she and Jay survive and build a place of safety—a new sanctuary on her family’s land?

Haunted Sanctuary is the first release in the new paranormal series, Green Pines. It’s based in the same shifter world as Red Rock Pass but so far there’s little connection.

I guess the first thing I’ll say is that the writing duo that makes up Moira Rogers has done it again. I really enjoyed Haunted Sanctuary. The story has intriguing characters with fully developed personalities, it’s fast-paced from beginning to end, the descriptions are vivid and there’s plenty of action and danger mixed in amongst the twists and turns. Eden’s cousin Zack having a prominent role is a nice touch. It pulls in family, giving the authors a chance to scatter in pieces of Eden’s history, including her father. All of it’s handled smoothly. There are plenty of other secondary characters too, so be prepared for lots of interpersonal interaction as relationships form in the new pack.

Jay and Eden match well physically but they also complement each other in alpha power. The imagery of the emotional turmoil as Eden goes through her werewolf change and the pack/sanctuary is formed is expressed with great feeling. And I can’t forget the danger—it’s fast, intense and emotional. There are a few loose threads but that’s expected with a story arc, so I wasn’t disappointed. I can’t wait to see what happens next. 

Wednesday, October 31, 2012

A Cajun in Colorado


Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher’s URL: http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-77111-320-5
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Chris can’t believe that he not only lost a bet to his friends, on something he just knew was a sure thing, but now he’s dressed in drag and going into a straight bar of all things.  Manon always thought his mate would be a male, but after catching the scent of the pretty little thing across the bar he won’t complain about what fate gave him. 

Ms. Richard’s has added a twelve book to her ever-growing Wolves of Stone Ridge series.  A Cajun in Colorado starts with a big deception, one that plays heavily into the plot of the story.  I really felt for Chris.  Here is a young man, settling up on a bet with his friends, when he suddenly finds himself attracted to a large sexy man.  Normally not a problem for a gay man, yet the author throws in a lot of drama right from the beginning and, at times, I could not help but laugh.  I could understand his reluctance to getting involved with Manon, especially since he believes Manon is straight.  As for Manon, here is a man who is one of the Stone Ridge packs newest enforcers.  He’s tough and he knows it.  While surprised by the fact that his mate is a female, he wants her no less.   I liked the way Manon went out of his way to make Chris more comfortable, even though he did not completely understand why his mate was trying to retreat from him. 

Chris’ gender isn’t the only issue in this story.  Manon hasn’t yet had the chance to explain shifters to Chris yet, which leaves Chris at the mercy of someone else.  I like this change because, not only does it introduce the readers to several new characters when Chris’ friends become involved, it keeps the story interesting and moving along at a fast clip.   

Fans of this series will like this new addition and A Cajun in Colorado is one I will be reading again.

Vencentio


Title: Vencentio 
Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher URL: www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62241-506-9
Genre: {M/M/M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Vencentio thought being rescued from his pack would be the first step to a new life until he gets locked in a room at the High Council Estate. He spends his days staring out the window, only getting an occasional visitor—a man who has sex with him.

Carter needs an Omega and shows up at to court Vencentio in hopes of getting to join his pack. Their initial meeting doesn’t go smoothly. When Carter learns no one from the Omega Network knows that Vencentio’s being held at the High Council Estate, Carter helps him escape, and they head to Denver and Tristan.

Abuse has made Vencentio bitter and nothing Carter does satisfies him, putting their relationship at a stalemate. He eventually makes friends with Marlowe and Gavin but Vencentio still has trust issues. Where does that leave Carter? Can they ever make an inner circle work?

Vencentio is the last release in Joyee Flynn’s Resistant Omegas series. Tristan and his mates from the first release, along with why the Omega Network was started come from the first book. I recommend you at least read it first.

The basic premise from one book to the next is the same—abused omega is rescued and finds his mates, but here Ms. Flynn has come up with a unique slant for the opening. It’s a subtle difference I appreciated before the story flowed into more of a familiar format. Despite some heavy moments, Vencentio’s a fairly light and fun read. Yes, there are some twists but nothing that really surprised me. The descriptions are good and the pacing is steady as it flows from one scene to the next. Using Tristan and his mates as supporting characters as leaders of the Omega Network is a great way in continuing their involvement in the series.

Now to Carter. I liked this alpha male. He had trouble with Vencentio initially and was pushed away for a while but finally figured out how to deal with the omega over time. Vencentio is definitely not my favorite omega of this series. For much of the book, he’s far too bitter and angry. I understand the why but for me it went on too long. Marlowe and Gavin are interesting guys and rounded out the inner circle nicely. I just wish there’d been more time to get to know them better. Watch for Wesley, coming next.

Manbot


Title: Manbot
Author: Scarlet Blackwell
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com/
ISBN: 9781614955405
Genre: {M/M} Science Fiction
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Gray Benedict had dreams of someday meeting a compatible human male, someone he could share a loving relationship with. But the only other male in Gray’s household was his robot Kavan. Thinking of manbots as just machines, Gray never considered that Kavan could experience emotions until Kavan kissed Gray, as well as offering to fulfill all of Gray’s sexual desires.

Manbot is an intriguing plot of man-made machines evolving to mirror human thoughts and actions. Kavan has the ability to express affection to Gray’s cat as well as to understand Gray’s non-verbal moods. Gray felt guilty because of his growing emotional attachments to a machine. Manbot also touches on sensual intimacy, politics, legal rights and prejudice.   

Scarlet Blackwell has created a fascinating saga that I enjoyed immensely.     

Splintered Lies


Author: Diane Adams and RJ Scott
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781614956723
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

The death of his wife and unborn son in an auto accident devastated Joe Christie. His grief is made worse when it’s discovered his wife had been exposed to an inhibitor drug that would have adversely affected the baby, had he lived. Knowing this hurts both him and his wolf, making their desire to kill hard to control.

Nick Alexander might be Joe’s best friend but he’s loved him since they were kids. He only stepped aside because he wanted Joe to be happy, but now Mara’s gone and Joe needs to heal and move forward before his grief kills him. They might be in the middle of a case but Nick’s determined to regain Joe’s love, but first they have to stay alive.

Splintered Lies is the final release in Diane Adams and RJ Scott’s In the Shadow of the Wolf trilogy. With the ongoing storyline and recurring characters, you should read the books in order.

It’s been awhile since the release of book 2 and I was beginning to give up hope but I can now say I didn’t wait in vain. Splintered Lies is a good addition to the series and wraps up the various loose ends and relationships found throughout the story. Yes, I admit I’ve managed to come up with more questions about the future of the characters, but like all things—it must come to an end.

There were difficult moments in the first two books but Joe grieving over the death of his wife and son seems worse. He still has feelings for Nick, making him feel disloyal to his dead wife. The whole book’s a well written emotional rollercoaster filled with pain, anger, grief, guilt and danger. The only real bright spot in this complicated plot is near the end with Corbin and Mark. Even Joe and Nick’s relationship is filled with pain and angst for most of the story. So much so, I wondered if the authors could believably resolve it. I’m happy to say they managed to successfully weave the mystery subplot into Joe and Nick’s unconventional romance and came out with a satisfying ending. Enjoy.

Let It Go


Title: Let It Go
Author: Mercy Celeste
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-59578-975-4
Genre: {M/M}, Western
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

It seems as if Creed and Eli have been competing forever.  Even after all these years, Creed still can’t figure out why Eli hates him so much. Things come to a standstill when, once again, the two men end up in a brawl but this time, the results are more than either man expected.

Let It Go is an interesting book, however it is one I think people are either going to really like or really hate.   The characters are intriguing but also very annoying at times.  Both men have tragic backgrounds and in many ways are very much alike, yet because of their backgrounds, they are severely damaged.  There is a connection between the men that goes from enemies to lovers. However, it seems as if they never reach the friends category, until the end.  I would have liked to have seen more understanding on Eli’s part, especially after finding out how messed up Creed really is. 

Many of the secondary characters are no better.  While they all help move the story along, at times it seemed as if they could not decide how they actually felt about Eli and Creed.  I especially had an issue with Sly and his attitude regarding Creed towards the end of the story.

There are many twists and turns throughout this whole book, and many of the revelations are surprising.  Readers should know that this story is, at times, very dark and covers issues that readers may have problems with.  

Dewey


Title: Dewey
Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher URL: www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61926-998-9
Genre: {M/M/M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Being treated as a sex slave for the last two years has made life miserable for Dewey. The only bright spot is the love he shares with Taggart and even that’s kept secret to avoid them being killed. His only chance of getting out of his pack alive is being rescued by the Omega Network and he won’t leave without Taggart.

Taggart’s the lone dire wolf in the pack and because of his size and strength has been drugged to keep him controlled. When the Omega Network steps in and Dewey’s given sanctuary with Tristan in Denver, Taggart is allowed to go along, but it’s not all smooth sailing. Not only do two dire wolf betas, Percy and Azyle, arrive to see if Dewey and Taggart will complete their inner circle but because of the wolfbane, Taggart goes into a dangerous withdrawal. Will Taggart survive and if he does, can he and Dewey find happiness with a new pack?

Dewey is book five in Joyee Flynn’s Resistant Omegas series. There are several important returning characters, so I recommend the books be read in order.

I enjoyed this latest addition to the series and the unexpected twist of Dewey starting the story already in love with Taggart. He’s just as physically abused as the other omegas in the series but his emotional pain is worse since the man he loves is willingly staying with the pack—and being drugged. It’s not something the author has touched on before but the distress both men feel at being unable to rescue the other is handled well.

One of the features about this release that I appreciate the most is how much of the plot is devoted to recovery. Despite the many terrible things that happened to Dewey and Taggart, it doesn’t overly dwell on the bad stuff more than necessary. Instead you get how much they love each other. Percy and Azyle are good additions and make a nice complete inner circle, unfortunately Dewey and Taggart are so tight that the story is a little unbalanced—at least for awhile. Two couples coming together made for issues to resolve but by the end Ms. Flynn had done that and melded them into a believable foursome. Vencentio is coming next.

Monday, October 29, 2012

Roasted


Title:  Roasted
Author: Declan Sands
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: changelingpress.com/
BIN: 05973-01916
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Snake shifter Bailey has stayed on Earth too long and is now facing extradition, according to the laws of his home planet. However, there is a more sinister plan in progress, one that involves spies, murder and government takeover.

Roasted is book three in the Blood-Hound Series. In this episode, a power-hungry alien from Bailey’s home planet arrives on Earth to forcibly remove Bailey. The hound shifters Matt and Cliff, along with their lovers, discover the alien is behind the murders of several members of the Intergalactic Police. Plus the alien’s personal guards are mercenaries almost impossible to kill. A battle on Earth, as well as a space battle, is only partly successful in capturing the culprits.

I enjoyed the action thriller Roasted and look forward to the next installment. 

Scrambling


Title: Scrambling
Author: Lex Valentine
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher’s URL: http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62300-014-1
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Sports
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Evan and Reed have been friends since they both joined the Pee Wee football league.  They’ve also been perfectly matched football partners since then as well.  Now that the men are in a pro league and one of them is thinking of coming out of the closet, neither knows what that will mean to their friendship or their professional careers. Once the genie is let out of the bag, there’s no going back.

Scrambling is the current release by author Lex Valentine.  The story centers around two young men who have been friends for so long neither knows what they would do without the other.  This is one of those stories where the author spends a lot of time jumping back and forth between the past and present.  While I can understand why the author did this, I must admit that there were times when I wished the characters would just tell us what had happened without all the jumping around.  For me, it was easy to see how strong the men’s friendship was, but I had a hard time seeing the romantic connection between them.  The fear that both Reed and Evan have over losing their longtime friendship keeps them from coming clean about their true feelings, resulting in the men spending more time in other romantic endeavors rather than thinking about what they can’t have, which is unfortunate since the times they do end up in bed, they really heat up the pages. 

The author does throw in several different outside issues that cause the men more than a few difficult moments and there are some interesting secondary characters that help move the story along as well.  Scrambling also has a sports theme, but unlike some authors, Ms. Valentine does not bombard the reader with so much sports info that the reader will feel that this is all they are getting.

Moon Shine


Title: Moon Shine
Author: Julia Talbot and BA Tortuga
Publisher: Torquere Press Publishers
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-383-2
Genre: {M/M} Werewolves
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Jenson’s moonshine business is a family tradition that started with his grandfather. However, being a werewolf started with Jenson. After a year of fine-tuning his life, yet another alteration is required when David, following a scent, mistakes Jenson as the cohort to the man who bit David. Jenson and David soon discover that not only do they have revenge in common, they are also mates.

Moon Shine is an amusing romance featuring life as a werewolf modification. Jenson shies away from relationships with humans fearing he might accidently bite them in the heat of passion, plus Jenson is not aware of any other werewolves residing in the Knoxville, Tennessee area. David is a Native American hunting guide in the Cherokee forest area. He is angry as well as confused by the internal changes to his body. David is seeking answers when he encounters Jenson. Both men were loners even before they were bitten, therefore finding each other is the best thing that could have happen to Jenson and David. What I found particularly enjoyable is the comical description of Jenson and David’s play in wolf form. Moon Shine is a happy-ever-after short story that leaves an opening for a continuance.      

The Mudpie


Title: The Mudpie
Author: A.J. Llewellyn and Serena Yates
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-78184-089-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Getting hired as the marketing director for World Wide Wrestlers is a great career move for Mitchell Dykins. Now he’s involved in the creation of a new set of retro trading cards, featuring their premier wrestlers. When he bumps into champion Whip "Mudshark" Jackson at the airport, he’s surprised, but not as much as he is by their mutual attraction. Whip even insists the company give Mitchell his own trading card.

Seeing his face on a card isn’t nearly as surprising as finding he’s changed into his card’s persona, Mudpit Madman when he wakes next to Mudshark covered in mud. Things only get stranger when he and Whip discover that Whip’s Mudshark alter ego has come to life and is trying to kill Mitchell. What’s going on in the superpower world? What can they do to solve the mystery before one of them ends up dead?

The Mudpie is the latest release in the Elemental Superpowers series by A.J Llewellyn and Serena Yates. Since there are numerous returning characters, I recommend the books be read in order.

On the surface Mitchell and Whip don’t appear to have anything in common. It’s just the typical attraction between two guys and then the authors throw in an unexpected twist—Mitchell has family secrets that not only complicate their lives but show that he and Whip aren’t that different. In fact, Mitchell’s past pulls them into more danger than either ever imagined possible while dealing with wacky superpowers, a new relationship, family secrets, mud wrestling and numerous trolls.

The story has a complicated plot and things are rarely how they first appear, so pay attention or you’ll be totally lost. Mitchell and Whip have well-developed personalities, but Mitchell is definitely my favorite. Using flashbacks is a good way of throwing in bits of Mitchell’s history and it really helped to understand how what happened with his mother formed him. The multi-layered plot moves along at a fast pace, there’s plenty of action, Mitchell and Whip interact with numerous otherworld individuals and the descriptions are nicely done. Villains abound but the one in the background, and the story surrounding that individual and how it all ties back to Mitchell, certainly surprised me. It’s a great plot twist. I look forward to the next release, The Souffle.

My Liege of Dark Haven


Author:  Cherise Sinclair
Publisher:  Loose Id
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61118-978-0
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating:  Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Xavier is trying to find a new receptionist/assistant for his club when Abby walks in.  She is trying to do a quick research paper to keep her job.  Abby does her best to keep her objective, but a certain Dom has other ideas.

The latest in the Doms of Dark Haven series is a fantastic addition to this series.  My Liege of Dark Haven is very intense and I did not want to put this one down.  I am very happy that this was a full novel instead of a novella because Xavier deserved it. 

As the story progresses, you meet several characters from previous books, but they speed the story along.  Abby learns a lot about herself, as well as BDSM, as she tries to only observe various scenes, but Xavier insists she needs to experience things for herself.  I enjoyed some of the erotic tortures he dished out, as he tries to show Abby that she truly is a submissive. 

There are a lot of misunderstandings along the way and when Abby gets caught, she has to take her lumps, especially because she doesn’t want to lose the friendships she has made.  Xavier was particularly devious about how to set things right.  I also laughed at the overt mention of Shadowlands within the story.  Readers should also be aware that there is one capture scene toward the end that may make some people uncomfortable.

Those that are familiar with Ms. Sinclair’s writing know that safety and communication within the BDSM community is paramount and this book is no exception, about using safe words to both slow things down and stop scenes.  While you don’t need to read the other books in this series, I suggest you do.  I also think that this series is a great addition to any BDSM lover’s library.  I am also looking forward to the next story, hopefully about a certain hard-nosed Dom.

Pete’s Persuasion


Author: Lavinia Lewis
Publisher: Total E-Bound Books
Publisher’s URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78184-088-7
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

As Kelan’s beta, Pete spends a lot of time around his alpha.  Seeing how the alpha and his mate are around each other makes Pete realize how much he’d like to find his own mate.  At the same time, with everything going on around them, Pete is unsure whether he has the time to spend with a mate.  When Pete meets Tony, all other thoughts go by the wayside.

The latest addition to the Shifter Haven series, Pete’s Persuasion is the story of Pete and Tony, both characters that readers of this series know from previous stories.  This is a fast-paced read and the main characters go from acquaintances to lovers in a short period of time.  While some may have an issue with this, the author makes the transition go smoothly.   Just because the men are mates, however, does not mean that their relationship is without issues, as the men have Tony’s uncertainty as well as outside forces to deal with.

The author brings some action into the story when she introduces a character that’s out for revenge.  There were some events that I did not see coming, which is something I like in stories.  Many past characters show up to help move the story along and new characters are mentioned, all of which made for a fun read.  Pete’s Persuasion is a good addition to this series, and I hope the author plans to add more books to it.  New readers to the Shifter’s Haven series should keep in mind, that while it is possible to read these stories as stand-alones, they would get more out of them if they read the series in order.

Switch


Title: Switch
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61040-376-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary BDSM Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Getting a membership at the Hammer isn’t going as smoothly as Ewan had hoped. In fact, he’s shocked when Master Oliver arranges for him to be paired with another Top for training before his membership can go forward. Not knowing the reasoning behind this decision makes Ewan feel foolish, but he’s willing to do whatever Oliver deems necessary to get his application approved.

Being without a sub leaves Randy a lot of free time, so he’s happy to help when Oliver asks. What he doesn’t expect is his attraction to Ewan or his belief that Ewan’s a sub. As they spend time together their relationship becomes more intense, making Randy realizes he wants Ewan for his sub.  The problem—Ewan needs to come to grips with the event in his past causing him to deny his true needs. Only then can they have the trusting Dom/sub relationship they both want.

Switch is the latest release in Sean Michael’s Hammer series. Oliver is the only returning character, so the book can be read as a standalone, or read out of order without difficulty.

Oliver is again involved in making certain the members of the Hammer get what they need. This time it’s the unexpected shift of a Top really being a sub. It’s a premise I wasn’t expecting when I read the blurb the first time, but it makes for a great pairing in Ewan and Randy. Their rapport is good from the beginning. Actually, their desire—their chemistry is immediate, bordering on explosive, almost from the moment they meet.

What I find troublesome is how little Ewan fights being a submissive. He questions Randy pushing him in that direction from time to time but in reality he barely resists it. I expected him to push back more—to be angry with Randy’s assumption—but he isn’t. There’s no angst and soul searching. I do like how the author briefly delves into Ewan’s past and how he used being a Top to protect himself. It gives the reader insight to understand him better. And all during this life-changing period of time for Ewan, Randy’s tender, caring and loving.

Now to the rest of the story. Once Ewan and Randy’s relationship turns physical, it’s sizzling hot as you’d expect from a Sean Michael book. That means you get lots of sex—I mean pages and pages. So much that I was a little disappointed I didn’t get to know Randy and Ewan better as individuals. But never fear, that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy their story because I did. I’m hooked on the series and can’t wait for the next one. 

Genetic Celebrity


Author:  Tara Lain
Publisher:  Loose Id
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61118-889-9
Genre:  {M/M/F}, Ménage, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Roan wants to retire as a model, but his agent Booky doesn’t know how to replace him.  Roan literally runs into Shay, taking him home to his business partner, Tommy.  Both Roan and Tommy think Shay can be the next top male model, but Booky needs to agree.

Genetic Celebrity, the fourth book in the Genetic Attraction series, continues the story of the characters we met in the first three books.  The description the author gives of Shay tells a reader immediately that he will be replacing Roan in the modeling world.  The main issue is that Shay is very insecure despite his attitude.

I liked the way the author got Tommy and Booky together, even though it seems to have made Shay very unhappy until both confront him about what he wants.  The twists that continue throughout the book between Shay and others, especially the confrontation with one of the designers, shows the reader just how much he needs love without conditions in his life, and the author does a good job showing this to Shay.

I did have to laugh about some of the situations, especially when Shay found out that Roan and his family seemed to gravitate toward poly relationships.  I don’t think until that moment that Shay even realized that such a thing existed, much less worked.  A reader learns more about Roan, Em and Jake’s lives in this story as well. 

This was a fun series to read and I recommend that readers read the entire series in order, though this book could be read alone.