Wednesday, December 12, 2012

The Good Fight


Author: Andrew Grey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781613727379
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Jerry Lincoln’s IT business is so successful he’s buried in work and his friend Peter convinces him that he needs help. Jerry eventually hires John Black Raven as one of his two new employees and despite John being an excellent worker; Jerry finds it hard to keep his mind on business with the sexy man around

John’s depending on the stability of his new job. He’s desperate to prove he can provide a good home for his niece and nephew and has been trying to get custody since his sister died. He’s also attracted to his new boss and it’s not long before John realizes the attraction is mutual and a relationship develops. Having Jerry to lean on while dealing with Child Services helps decrease John’s emotional load because getting the two Native American kids returned is going to be a fight. It’s a battle John and Jerry intend to win.

The Good Fight has so many layers and I enjoyed them all. It’s fun and entertaining, has some great friendships, and a well-developed romance between two interesting guys that I really like. What’s so great about this story is Mr. Grey seamlessly integrates these ‘normal’ topics while handling the heart-wrenching social problem plaguing Native Americans dealing with Child Services.  John’s trouble getting the kids back almost made me cry and showed how messed up the system is and that it needs to be fixed. Jerry’s caring and support during the frustrating time only made the bond between the men stronger.

As per his normal, Mr. Grey has created great characters, used vivid descriptions, a fast pace, a well scripted plot and all the emotional turmoil I could handle. The kids are adorable, the scenes on the reservation fit in perfectly and the ending is completely satisfying. I’ll be reading it again in the future and I hope you give it a try. You won’t be sorry.

Scarlet Blade


Author: Jez Morrow
Publisher: Torquere Press Publishers
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-395-5
Genre: {M/M} Historical 
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

As the ship sailed into the Matagorda harbor, it was the end of the journey for Spanish nobleman Joaquin de Castille and Roman Priest Tomas. However, it was not the end of the love shared by the two men. Tomas was bound for Texas and Joaquin was bound for California. The hostile greeting by the natives in Texas altered Tomas’ decision to stay in Texas; consequently Tomas changed his destination to California, reuniting the lovers once again.

Scarlet Blade is a wonderful illustration of character traits, as well as religious views. Because of his wealth and nobility status, Joaquin is allowed to be a little more openly gay. Also because of his skill in weapons, Joaquin is not an easy target to bully. Joaquin was exiled from Spain to prevent embarrassment to his mother. Tomas has the most interesting background of the two main characters. Following the Roman family traditions of giving the younger son to the church, Tomas had no choice in becoming a priest with several older brothers in the household. Tomas did not follow the church’s dictate that God condemned same sex love. Tomas believed he was born with the sexuality God intended him to be and therefore, men loving men is not unnatural or a sin. Tomas is even more skilled in weapons than Joaquin, though Tomas tries harder to avoid conflicts than the easily offended Joaquin.

Jez Morrow has created an amazing as well as an exceptionally enjoyable historical saga. The play on words is humorous plus the intimacy is fascinating.

Second Chances


Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781781841518
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Western Series
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Robert "Oggie" Ogden was a Chicago Police Officer until a shotgun blast took part of his arm. Now he owns a ranch outside Cattle Valley and he’s getting it ready to house GLBT teens. His new home is just as much a second chance for himself as it is the kids and with hard work, Oggie can make it work but he won’t take hand-outs or pity from anyone. That’s especially true of the one man he’s attracted to and who irritates him the most—Drake Smith.

Bullied as a kid, Drake’s grown a tough outer shell as an adult to keep from getting hurt again. He doesn’t make friends, so he’s surprised when his efforts to help Oggie angers him. But sometimes misunderstandings and anger is only a mask for other feelings and it’s not long before he and Oggie’s flawed emotions have turned to desire and passion. Can these two hurt and damaged men find happiness together?

Second Chances is the latest release in Carol Lynne’s Cattle Valley series. Since previous characters play minors roles, it’s possible to read this one as a standalone.

As a general rule, I enjoy the Cattle Valley books but I can’t say that about this newest release. I love the concept of setting up a home for kids in need on Oggie’s ranch. It’s a great idea with lots of potential and I hope to see more of it in the future. Oggie and Drake are unhappy individuals, deeply wounded by their pasts, and both have multiple issues and emotional problems to deal with. (I just couldn’t wrap my mind around them being a couple.) So on top of two angry guys trying to develop a believable relationship, there are multiple story lines trying to weave into the plot. Another one of my problems is so many of them seem to end up as dangling threads.  Without going into detail—Cullen is tortured but after getting to the ranch, it isn’t mentioned again. His aftermath of dealing with the trauma is dropped. I found this omission horribly disappointing.

For me the high point of the story is actually Cullen and Joseph and their secondary plot. I really want to know more about them and hope they get a book of their own in the near future.

The Ice Dragon


Title:  The Ice Dragon
Author:  Bianca D’Arc
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61921-396-8
Genre:   {M/F}, Shape-shifters, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Roland is fatally wounded.  Lana and Tor realize how bad he is and end up saving him.  Just as Roland realizes she is his mate, he also realizes she is one of the lost princesses.

The Ice Dragon is the third book in the Dragon Knights series and introduces a new dragon to the readers.   New weapons are discovered that the northern warlord has created to use against the dragons.  He is also trying to re-capture Tor.

As Lana’s story unfolds, I was a little disappointed that more information wasn’t given about how she ended up where she did after being abducted as a child.  The warlord whose slave she was couldn’t have cared less whether she lived or not once Tor was born and he made a big mistake by making her care for the baby dragon.

I loved the way Roland and his knights were willing to listen to Lana and made her feel that she had a lot to offer militarily, along with her healing ability.  As Roland and Lana became friends, the chemistry between them scorched the pages as he becomes her lover.  Though this is not really a BDSM book, there are some mild elements in some of the later scenes between them. 

I liked the way the author also introduces Roland’s brothers and a few other characters.  The dragons that are bonded to knights are just as interesting as the human characters and I am looking forward to reading more in this series.

Publisher’s Note: This book is a re-issue - all of the books in the series will be reissued. 

Jess’s Journey


Author: SJD Peterson
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62380-017-8
Genre: {M/M}, Western, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

The last six months have been hard for Jess, but he’s hoping that things will change now that he’s home.  The changes that occur, however, are not what he was expecting.  Now he has to figure out what to do about Collin, and more importantly Jack.

Jess’s Journey is the fifth story in the Whispering Pines Ranch series and the one I have been looking forward to the most.  Jess was one of those characters I could not decide whether or not I liked.  More than once in Lorcan’s Desire I wanted to thump him as I felt he pushed Lorcan into a relationship he was not ready for.  By the end of the first book however, I felt Lorcan and Jess were using each other equally and did not have high hopes for their relationship.  What I liked about Jess’s Journey was that the author answered the questions surrounding the relationship the two men had right from the start, rather than letting it linger through the whole story. 

As fans of this series know, Jess is recovering from massive injuries sustained during a car accident.  The feelings and emotions Jess goes through because of his injuries ring true to life and make the story more believable for the readers.  As for the men in Jess’ life, things are just as rocky.  I was glad to see some resolution between him and Lorcan and, to some extent Quinn. 

Collin is a cutie and the fact that Jess does not realize where the young man’s feelings lie causes some issues.  I am hoping Collin will be the next to get a story as I really felt bad for him.  It is Jack that causes Jess the most problems. 

Jack is Jess’ therapist and when the two start to develop feelings for each other, it really blows everything Jess thought he knew out of the water.  There is, of course, the conflict concerning Jack’s occupation that pops up, as well as other issues but they only prove to enrich the story.  The men’s relationship does not seem to drag, as some in other books of this series did.  Watch out for the steamy parts as these two really burn up the pages.

Fans of this series are sure to enjoy Jess’s Journey

Too Careful by Half


Author: BA Tortuga
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN/BIN: none listed
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Western Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

It’s been four months since Sam was kicked in the head by a bull and almost died. He and Beau are still learning to deal with the aftermath, and he’s tired of being treated like he’s made of glass and will break. Sam’s determined that Beau will give him the lovin’ he’s longing for—and he wants it—now!

Too Careful by Half is by BA Tortuga and is part of the Roughstock series, and it was originally released in Taste Test: Barbed Wire and Bootheels. Since the story follows Sam and Beau who were introduced in File Gumbo, I would recommend you read it first, so you’ll understand their relationship.

This fast paced short is a look at the two things recovering Sam wants from his lover. He needs not to be seen as fragile and craves the return of the physical part of their relationship. Sam wants sex and wants it now. I had to chuckle as he barreled into the house and made his desires known. You can tell that these two men are comfortable with each other and I love how they interact. And the sex is sizzling.

The sadness and frustration Sam feels with his injury is handled well, and the imagery of the scarred skin and the divot in his head is vivid. There’s a lot about this emotional short that I like. You can’t help but feel compassion for these two lovers and the situation they find themselves in. I appreciate that this author isn’t afraid to give her characters real life problems and lets them deal with them believably. 

Tuesday, December 11, 2012

Gustav’s Gargoyle Adventure


Author: Charlie Richards  
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher’s URL: http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-77111-364-9
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

It has taken many months for Gustav to heal from his time spent with the scientists determined to destroy shape-shifters and other paranormals.  Finally able to be on his own again, Gustav is looking forward to starting his new job and moving into a place of his own.  When he notices an unusual smell on one of his job sites, it’s up to his new pack members to track it down, introducing Gustav to his mate in the process.

As with Catching a Bit of Irish, the author uses Gustav’s Gargoyle Adventure to introduce a new paranormal race into the series.  Unlike the last book however, in this newest addition to the Wolves of Stone Ridge series, the newest member to the paranormal world is also a main character. 

I really liked the main characters in this story. Gustav is big and used to scaring others away because of his size.  This man is a big teddy bear however, and he made me smile more than once when he went on one of his verbal wonderings. Tible, on the other hand, is very intriguing.  The young gargoyle knows little of the shifter world and nothing of his own world.  I was curious how the author planned on incorporating the two worlds since Tible’s physical characteristics make it impossible for him to function in the human world.    

The men’s mating has a few unusual results that throw a twist into the story while wrapping up some questions at the same time.  The story introduces some new characters while bringing back some old ones, all of whom help move the story and series along.   Fans of the series are sure to love this new addition.  

Border Lair


Title:  Border Lair
Author:  Bianca D’Arc
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61921-395-1
Genre:  {M/F/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Adora finds out she is a lost princess of Draconia.  She ends up mating with Jared and Darian, after she heals Darian when he’s injured after defecting to Draconia.

The second book in the Dragon Knights series talks about one of the dragon lairs protecting Draconia.  Border Lair keeps the suspense going, not only about the war with Skithdron but Jared’s emotional turmoil.  The author brings in an additional mystery that will probably be carried into future books. 

There was an explanation about black dragons that were also introduced in this book.  There are certain characteristics that the royals have that brought Adora to the attention of the king and his family that involve dragons. There was also information about how a dragon would claim a knight to bond with and at the same time, Adora publically claims the two men, which I loved the way she does it.  The chemistry between the three is hot.  

As the story progresses a lot of questions, at least for Jared, are answered.  There is a lot going on, especially with the Skithdron king.  Ms. D’Arc has created an interesting world along with some very interesting villains and heroes.    

The books in this series should be read in order.  I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

Publisher’s Note: This book is a re-issue - all of the books in the series will be reissued. 

Giving Perrin Life


Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher’s URL: http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-77111-354-0
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph
                                      
While defending one of his pack members, Terrence meets his mate.  However, when a misunderstanding occurs during the fight, the beautiful black lion runs off, leaving Terrence wondering if he will ever find his mate again.

Giving Perrin Life is the seventh story in the Kontra’s Menagerie series.  The story takes place right after the end of Spider Sense and tells the story of Terrence and Perrin.  From the start, the author has the men starting out with a small disadvantage.  While the men have met, Perrin has run off and Terrence is not able to search for him right away.  I really liked the fact, that, regardless of the mating bond, the men are not able to come together right away.  Perrin is an interesting character and the fact that he knows very little about the shifter world makes for an interesting twist.  There is an intense attraction between Terrence and Perrin, and as Terrence teaches Perrin about sex and mating, they really heat up the pages. 

There are many secondary characters, most of whom return from previous stories.  These characters help move the story along and aid the men while they try to maneuver the obstacles thrown in their path.

While I really liked the story, I felt a little let down at the same time.  For me, it seemed as if the story came to a sudden stop just as it was really getting started.  I would really like to see more of these two and hope the author has a follow up planned for the future.   Although it is not necessary to read this series in order, I would recommend that you at least read Spider Sense before reading Giving Perrin Life.

Rekindling Christmas


Author:  Yvette Hines
Publisher:  Whispers Publishing
Publisher URL:  http://whispershome.com
ISBN/BIN:  N/A
Genre:  {M/F} Contemporary, Interracial
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Ryanne McCall’s job as a product manager keeps her busy and she loves it.  It’s the perfect excuse to get her out of family gatherings.  Ryanne loves her family dearly but she just can’t take the constant pressure they put on her.  With Christmas around the corner, Ryanne knows she’ll find herself bunking with her snoring Aunt Mildred if she doesn’t find a valid reason that will keep her away from home a little longer.  Even though she doesn’t ski, Ryanne jumps at the chance to go on a single’s retreat.

Carson Rodman didn’t know why he let his friend talk him into a week in the mountains. All he wanted was a little skiing without being propositioned by every horny woman around.  Carson was over his ex-girlfriend but that didn’t mean he was ready to play musical beds on this trip.  When he runs into his old high school friend and fantasy, Carson can’t believe his good luck.  This time, he’s going to let Ryanne know exactly how he feels.

Back in the day, Ryanne and Carson shared many memories.  They even learned to ride bikes together as childhood friends.  Now they both harbor feelings for the other that go way beyond the boundaries of friendship.   Ryanne and Carson spend the week exploring their pent up passions and realize they should have acted on this long ago.  Things are picture perfect until a misunderstanding with Carson causes Ryanne to disappear.  Fortunately, Carson clears things up and he and Ryanne pick up where they left off, in lust and love.

I love the history between Ryanne and Carson.  There is something so touching about couples who bonded even before they knew what the birds and the bees were.  Those two probably know lots of embarrassing things about each other because they’ve been friends since childhood.  The idea that someone who knows you that well and worships the ground you walk on is so powerful.  That kind of love is rare and special.  As far as friendships go, I had a hard time getting the link between Carson and his best friend Phillip.  Honestly, I wouldn’t mind seeing Phillip’s player days come to an end.  He might have unresolved past issues that turned him into the man-whore he is today.  Ryanne surprised me with her actions when she found out something disturbing about Carson.  I wanted her to handle the situation differently, but it all worked out in the end, thanks to CarsonRekindling Christmas is comforting, like hot chocolate and snuggling by the fireplace.  I felt familiar with Ryanne and Carson, as if I could have known them in high school.  Seeing them come together was the perfect blend of sweet and sexy and that is why I am never disappointed with a Yvette Hines story.

Monday, December 10, 2012

Keeping Zane


Title: Keeping Zane
Author: Dawn H. Hawkes
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com/
ISBN: 9781614958345
Genre: {M/M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Two years as captives, wolf shifter Zane and his warlock mate Casey finally are able to escape their torture at the hands of the vampires. However, emotional torture is still in store for Casey when he realizes mountain lion shifter Kett is also Zane and Casey’s mate.

Keeping Zane is the fourth book in the Solomon’s Pride series. The series is an action romance featuring a different member of Solomon’s household in each installment.  In this episode, the vampire’s camp is in chaos without their leader’s attendance, making escape possible for a few. Zane and Casey can at last complete their mating. Arriving at a safe pick up location, Zane immediately scents his other mate, as well as claims Kett. Casey, who at first was resentful, slowly became at ease being a tri-mate. Being a shifter, Kett understood tri-mate bonding but felt rejected by Casey.

The Shifter vs. Vampire war rages on. The plot introduces a new warlock character. The fate of familiar characters is not revealed, leaving the readers with another cliff-hanger ending to this enjoyable saga.

Fangs & All


Title: Fangs & All
Author: Stormy Glenn
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62242-027-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Garret Kane owns a bar and loves it, but dealing with his unreliable employees and rowdy customers are both annoying and hard work. Some days nothing goes right. On the day Samuel Harden shows up looking for a job as a bouncer, things are definitely looking up. The sexy man is just his type.

When Samuel accepts the job with Kane, he has a few secrets. He’s on the run from his family—his coven and he’s a vampire. He also doesn’t have permission to be in the territory where Kane’s bar is located, which could get him in lots of trouble—or dead. Getting involved with a human is dangerous for them both and when problems come knocking at their door, it’s up to Kane to rescue his lover before fate deals them a fatal hand.

Fangs & All is a new paranormal release by Stormy Glenn. It’s entertaining, fun, fast-paced and has a nice role reversal premise. Sam, while bigger and a vampire, is  submissive by nature. It’s an unusual twist for a vampire and made for some interesting scenes and angst filled emotions for Sam to deal with. He’s a unique individual I liked a lot. Then there’s Kane. He’s human but that doesn’t stop him from being the dominant in their relationship. Putting these two together is a great pairing and while they became a couple a little fast, for a paranormal romance it worked.

There are lots of secondary vampire characters—some good and several from Sam’s old coven who are definitely bad. They all add flair to the story, along with danger, betrayal, action and even friendship. Fangs & All could easily be turned into a series, as there are several vamps who I’d like to know more about. Hint. Hint. 

Griff And Ash


Author: D. J. Manly
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-347-5
Genre: {M/M} Fairy Tale
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Griffin hated the word duty and he especially hated being forced into marrying one of the Denare brothers. However, attending the ball at the Denare home,as well as meeting the alluring Ash, reveals vital information that can free Griff and Ash from Denare’s ominous plans already in progress.

Griff And Ash is a superb dark fantasy. The plot is modeled after Cinderella with a fascinating twist. Having experienced life as an ordinary hard-working citizen of the realm, Griff, an intelligent man detests the life on a silver platter enjoyed by the upper class. Nevertheless, being the king does work to Griffin’s advantage when preventing dishonest men from claiming a royal connection. Treated as an unpaid servant since childhood, Ash only endures his stepfather because of his mother. Even though he has been mistreated most of his life, Ash is still a compassionate man towards everyone, including his stepfather and stepbrothers who are total good-for-nothings.

D. J. Manly has created a captivating plot of delusions of grandeur, a touch of humor and dazzling intimacy scenes. I enjoyed Griff And Ash immensely.    

Swimming with Penguins


Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher’s URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-77111-345-8
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Yuma loves his pack and would do anything for them, but even he needs a few minutes to himself.  Needing to get away, he heads to a nearby pond to let his animal out for a while.  The last thing Yuma thought would happen was getting shot, but even more surprising was finding his mate.

Since the beginning of Ms. Richards Kontra’s Menagerie series, I have been waiting for Yuma’s story and was happy to see Swimming with Penguins come out sooner rather than later. 

Yuma is a fun character, flamboyant and always ready to help those he loves.  He has hidden depths and I was curious to see how, and with whom, the author would pair him with.  I would have liked to have found out a little more about the shifter’s past, but what the author does reveal allows the reader to see it was not easy for the penguin.

Hunter is just the right mate for Yuma.  Although he is dealing with numerous betrayals from his ex, Hunter is a strong individual and just what Yuma needs.  The way he is introduced to Yuma, and the shifter world, is different than what we usually see. I could not help but imagine the look on Hunter’s face as he woke up to find Yuma in his bed.  The instant attraction you expect to find between mates is present and the men waste little time heating up the pages, although they don’t mate right off. 

There is some conflict thrown into the story in the form of Hunter’s ex.  This allows the author to bring in several former characters to help the new mates out.  The final scene between the ex and the shifters is intense.  I like the way the author brings in the past characters and opens up possible future stories. 

While it is easy to read the stories in this series as stand-alones, I would recommend the readers read the books in order so that they can get a fuller understanding of the series characters and on-going plot.

Dragon Games


Title: Dragon Games
Author: Jory Strong
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781419943416
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Tielo doesn’t want a female of his own but decides that hosting an invitation-only poker game to lure potential mates for other dragons into the Dragon’s Lair is a money-making idea. What Tielo doesn’t know is that his partner Pierce has a plan of his own and intends to see his friend mated by the time the event is over.

Lyra’s a teacher and she’s determined to help the financially strapped family of one of her students. She doesn’t have money to spare but knows how to play poker and willingly attends a high-stakes game at the Dragon’s Lair when invited.  Lyra expects the lavish surroundings but not the blatant sexuality of the men or her sizzling attraction to Tielo.

The evening isn’t as either expected. Lyra doesn’t understand the rules and Tielo’s determined to win the hand of his mate no matter what. Let the games begin.

Dragon Games is the newest release in Jory Strong’s Supernatural Bonds series. Please note that even though several characters from previous books make an appearance, there’s enough background supplied that Dragon Games can be read as a stand-alone.

Lyra’s background and why she wanted to enter the poker tournament is unexpected and heart-wrenching. It makes you like her immediately. Then there’s Tielo. He’s arrogant but watching his plans fall apart when he finds his mate is fun. The story’s fast-paced, the descriptions are handled nicely and the personalities pretty well rounded for the short length—it’s only 76 pages. That’s my biggest complaint. There really isn’t much time for Lyra and Tielo to develop a real romance when they don’t meet until page 25. It’s more a getting together for some hot sex and the realization that they’re mates than a relationship. I’m sorry to say that the ending seemed abrupt.

When Tatum got bit by a Spider


Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher’s URL: http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-77111-323-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Tatum is crazy, you can ask anyone.  Sure he’s not as crazy as his brother, or even Shane, but people still run in the other direction when they see him.  Because of that, he never thought he would stand a chance with Baxley, a spider shifter seeking refuge with the Coalition. 

I am a big fan of The Lost Shifters series, anxiously waiting for each new book to see who is finally getting a story of their own.  When the newest book, When Tatum got bit by a Spider, came out, I was thrilled to see another unlikely pair.  While I generally love all the main characters, I tend to lean a little more to the slightly crazy ones and Tatum fills that bill quite well.  Like many of the new shifters who seem to be finding their way to the coalition, Tatum was sold into slavery as a child. Forced to become assassins, both he and his brother soon found themselves losing their humanity, until they become part of the Coalition.  Tatum has many of the same characteristics as Shane and Carson, making him a bit of an outcast.  He is a strong character, however, which makes him the perfect counterpart for Baxley.

Baxley is a spider shifter, who has been abused by his hive for as long as he can remember.  The constant abuse left him with a low self-esteem that keeps him from going after what he wants, which is Tatum.  It takes the men a while to come together, but the connection between them is strong, and I like the changes the relationship brings to both the men. 

There is a lot going on in this story, all of which holds the reader’s attention.  The action is fast-paced and the final scene between Tatum and Baxley’s former master is over the top.  The story is peppered with a lot of previous characters and the interaction between everyone always comes across fresh.  There are, however, several typos that throw the flow of the story off a little but don’t allow that to keep you from reading this story. 

Access Granted


Title:  Access Granted
Author:  Marie Rochelle
Publisher:  Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-60659-703-3
Genre:  {M/F} Contemporary, Interracial, Paranormal
Rating:  3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

For years, Sabrina Watley had two special things in her world.  Having a loving brother and her job as a court reporter made Sabrina proud and happy.  Since the death of her brother, things just weren’t the same.  No amount of work was enough to ease the loneliness Sabrina felt.   Only her brother’s best friend could help fill the emptiness a bit, because she always thought of him as family;  although he made her nervous with the heated looks he gave her when they were alone.  Sabrina wasn’t in the market for that kind of relationship right now, but especially not with Zander.

Zander Irizarry is a vampire with one goal in mind, getting his mate.  He’s waited a long time and put up with several obstacles.  Sabrina has other men sniffing around her and she refuses to admit her attraction to Zander.   No other man is going to have her and the sooner Sabrina accepts that, the sooner he can be completely honest with her.  Time is running out, just like Zander’s patience. 

It’s a lot for a girl to absorb that her lover is a vampire, but Sabrina comes around.  Zander is the man of her dreams and she can’t fight their bond anymore.  But, living forever was a curse, as far as Sabrina was concerned, and she wanted no part of it.  Zander made her happy, but becoming like him wasn’t in Sabrina’s game plan.  After a few touch and go moments, it seems as if Sabrina is shutting Zander out for good.  But, Zander doesn’t give up and Sabrina forgives him.

Access Granted is the second story of the Alpha Male Incorporated series.  Zander had been chasing Sabrina since he laid eyes on her and she had been running.  I understood Sabrina’s reluctance to get involved with Zander, to a degree, but I thought she should have caved in much sooner.  With the strong desire she felt for him, I don’t understand how she could view him like a brother for so long, especially when she knew he didn’t see her as a sister.  Zander tried softening the news about him being a vampire, but it backfired.  I can’t be mad at him for his actions; in fact I cheered for him and I think he should have acted sooner.  Honestly, I am amazed the poor guy didn’t snap.  Sabrina was a little naive about these other men she was hanging out with and I wasn’t expecting that.  Thank goodness for Zander and his anger.  It made me feel peaceful when he finally got everything he wanted.   Marie Rochelle wraps up this romance with the hopes of more to follow and I, for one, can’t wait.

Shane’s Inner Anger


Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher’s URL: http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-77111-346-5
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

The Coalition’s toughest assassin never thought he would be sitting down to carve Halloween pumpkins with his mate and new daughter, but that’s just what Shane finds himself doing.  When he’s called away for a mission, his home life is affected in ways he’s not sure he will survive. 

While the twentieth story in The Lost Shifters series may just be a short story, it packs quit a punch.  Shane’s Inner Anger is full of action, most of which is centered on Shane.  The story opens with Shane, Trevor and Ava sitting down to carve pumpkins.  I must admit that, when the story first started, I was not expecting pumpkins to be at the center of Shane’s freak-out and could not help laughing at the assassin.  The author sure changes the vibe of the story quickly, however, and soon Shane finds himself out on a mission in search of a past enemy.

Since this is a well-established couple Shane’s Inner Anger centers more on furthering the series and closing up some loose ends.  To help in that matter, the author brings back many previous characters, allowing the readers to reconnect with some of their favorite characters. 

Most of the stories in this series can be considered as stand alones; however it is necessary to at least read An Assassins Touch and Shane’s Fury prior to reading Shane’s Inner Anger in order to understand the crazy that is Shane.

This was a fun story to read, and I can’t wait to see what the author plans to torture Shane with in the Christmas story, A Christmas for Ava.

An Unconventional Courtship


Author: Scotty Cade
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62380-022-2
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Tristan Moreau’s worked for two years as the personal assistant to Webber Kincaid, the CEO of Kincaid International.  In his position, Tristan has many responsibilities and works long hours but it’s a job he enjoys. The only problem is he loves his boss and it’s getting more difficult to keep his feeling under wraps.

Webber Kincaid’s spent his life protecting the company his father built by hiding in the closet. Using his best friend as a girlfriend wasn’t a problem until Tristan entered his life but keeping their relationship professional is becoming a problem. He wants more.  When he and Tristan head to a private Caribbean island for business, it’s the perfect opportunity to see if there’s a chance of turning their professional chemistry into personal passion.

An Unconventional Courtship is another entertaining release by Scotty Cade. This one’s set in the corporate world and is a sweet romance between a boss and his personal assistant. While the premise isn’t new, their easy camaraderie is. I enjoyed how Tristan’s previous experience with a guy is worked into the plot, giving the reader an understanding of why he doesn’t date.  The personalities of both him and Webber are well-developed—they play nicely off each other and I appreciated how their non-work relationship is allowed to develop at a realistic pace. Good going, Mr. Cade.

The descriptions are nicely done, the plot flow is smooth and the secondary characters are well-integrated into the story line. I particularly enjoyed Deanna and her long term friendship with Webber. There are some surprises with her I didn’t see coming and I don’t think you will either. There’s some outside conflict from the business world but not a great deal of angst with them, but I don’t even care. These two are perfect for each other and sometimes, you just need a story that makes you happy to read. There’s even a workplace mystery for Tristan and Webber to solve too. A win-win all around. Enjoy. I did.

Halloween Surprise


Author: Winnie Jerome
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Two years after mating vampire Philippe fondly remembers last Halloween with werewolf Adam and desires a repeat performance.

Halloween Surprise is an update short story to Fanged Trouble Series. Philippe is an old world vampire perfectly content to avoid technology. Computers and phones are essential tools for Adam’s business as well as staying in touch with pack members.  However, when Adam closes the mental link between them, Philippe is left clueless. On a mission to discover the reason for Adam’s behavior, Philippe is forced to learn how to tweet or lose the chance to share the special night with Adam.

Halloween Surprise is an amusing short story illustrating the difference in the characters cultures; yet still possible to have loving relationships if they are open to change.