Wednesday, July 3, 2013

Wilde City Press Summer sale promo

Wilde City Press is having a summer/July 4th sale. The 25% coupon code is valid from July 4th-7th on all books 


Also feel free to join Wilde City Press authors on the new Wilde City Press blog

http://www.wildecity.com/blog/interviews/wilde-city-press-celebrates-summer-with-fun-author-memories-and-a-sale/#.UdSD4G34JuA

Sunday, June 30, 2013

Beauty Bites

Title: Beauty Bites
Author: Mary Hughes
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61921-581-8
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Release Date: 08-27-13

Meiers Corners needs top-notch advertising to turn it from a quaint little town into a money-making tourist destination before it goes bankrupt. They pick Minneapolis advertising guru Ric Holiday, who refuses them outright. What they don’t know is that Meiers Corners is too close to Chicago and the vampire who turned him as a boy.

A vampire is what they need. Ric’s good at his job and will understand the needs of their hidden vampire community, so to catch Ric’s interest; they send beautiful Dr. Synnove Byornsson to crash his cocktail party. Dressed in a killer outfit, Synnove’s determined to win Ric over, but things don’t go as planned. She ends up in competition with a deadly female vampire who wants to turn Meiers Corners into a mid-west version of Las Vegas.

Beauty Bites is the newest release in the Biting Love series by Mary Hughes. There’s some time between books but because of the recurring characters the books should be read in order.

I like this book but then all the releases in this series are fun, quirky and entertaining and Beauty Bites isn’t any different. The story is fast paced, it has great characters with good personality development, the details are vivid and there are plenty of twists and turns to hold your interest. I mean there’s just something so appealing about the people from this little town that every time a new book comes out I have to read it. This time, it’s Ric and Synnove and their bantering dialogue and sizzling sexual tension I can’t get enough of. 

But that’s not all. Not only do we have a chance to get reacquainted with some of the couples we’ve met before, but the author has created a couple of intriguing new individuals as the villains. These two add lots of color, trouble and danger and I hope you find them as interesting as I did. I don’t know what comes next in this well written series but I can’t wait to find out.

To Bite A Bear

Author: Amber Kell
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-77111-598-8
Genre: M/M Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Bear shifter Harris Bender suspects his attraction to vampire leader Rohan is more than a mere passing fancy. Upon first sight, Rohan knew Harris was his blood bonded. However, the budding romance is interrupted when territorial greed, as well as betrayal, decides to surface in the vampire community yet again.

To Bite A Bear is the fourth book in the Banded Brothers series. Harris is a member of Carey Gale’s adoptive family. Of the four brothers, only Carey is human, the other three are shifters. Aside from playing in a band together, each brother has his own separate career; Harris is an artist, who also loves cooking for his family. Before meeting Rohan, Harris’s only passion was his painting. But, discovering Rohan is his mate, Harris has a difficult time controlling his bear’s protective nature side. Rohan is also protective plus very possessive regarding Harris. 

Amber Kell has created another exciting as well as enjoyable romantic action episode to this series.  The series is best read in sequence starting with the first book To Have a Human.

Catch My Breath

Author: M.J. O’Shea
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62380-871-6
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Blue Horizon Records is holding open auditions with the hopes of finding their next new star.  Unfortunately, they are unable to find just one great star and instead settle for four new voices, hoping that by grouping them together they will have the next big boy band instead.  But something is still missing, that is until the record company brings in Elliot.

I loved Ms. O’Shea’s newest release, Catch My Breath.  This is a great story that shows the readers the many sides of the music world.  Danny and Elliot, along with three other young men, are brought together by Blue Horizon Records to be the next big boy band.  Although the five men hit it off from the start and soon become the best of friends, it is Danny and Elliot that become the closest.  When the five men are placed in a reality show with a bunch of other young musicians, that closeness becomes even tighter.  With the way Danny and Elliot were with each other, I was surprised that it took the two so long to realize what they were really feeling.  I also could not believe that the other musicians in the house did not realize what was going on.  Because the young men are only eighteen, the author does not go into graphic detail once their relationship moves from friendship into something more, yet that does not keep the intensity they are feeling from coming through. 

There are a lot of secondary characters, not all of whom are likeable.  I could not believe the music industry people in this story.  The way they torment Danny and Elliot made me crazy.  While I thought some of the situations the young men found themselves in could be put down to their age, the way they were manipulated was just over the top.  I did love the rest of Danny’s and Elliot’s band members though.  The way the three older men stuck by the young lovers was great and I wondered if we would be seeing any of them in future stories. 

Catch My Breath is a well written story that grabbed my attention from the beginning.  I could not wait to see how the author planned on working things out for the men, and found myself wanting to skip ahead just to see how the story ended, but I did not want to miss anything by doing so.  I am sure fans of this author will love her new story, and those who have not yet given this author a try, should start with this book.

Unearthed Treasure

Author:  Elizabeth Lapthorne
Publisher:  Total E Bound
Publisher URL:  www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78184-300-0
Genre:   {M/F}, Action, Mystery, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

David and Chelsea think their cover might be blown, but follow through with their assignment to find the ringleader of the smuggling operation.  After working together for so long, they finally admit they love each other. 

The sixth book in The Agency series, Unearthed Treasure, picks up during the attack on the National Gallery of London from the previous book.  Several things happen that could be very hazardous to both David and Chelsea.  Some of the risks involved in undercover operations are explored in detail, and some of the personality characteristics needed are showcased.

I liked the chemistry and communication the two had together.  I did have to laugh at some of the give and take they had regarding watching each other’s back, even though both wanted to protect the other.  I also liked the sentiment that David stated about his feelings for Chelsea that is the title of this book.

The secondary characters were realistic.  I was surprised at who the ringleader was and how it was revealed.  The author did a good job explaining why things happened as well.  I really liked the scene where David and Chelsea escape after things get screwed up because of some of the crew. 

I’m glad the subplot from Intimate Knowledge was followed through with resolution in Unearthed Treasure.  David gave a very good explanation about why he let Jennifer live and neatly sidestepped the trap laid for him because of it.  While not all the stories in this series need to be read in order, these two need to be read in order to understand some of the references that are a big part of this story.

The Warlock's Secret

Author: RJ Scott
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-77111-589-6
Genre: M/M Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Vampire Joseph and his underground followers are moving closer to finding the evil perpetrator of destruction plaguing Glitnir. However, before Joseph and his twin Micah can incarcerate the rogue council member, Joseph is captured and nearly killed. Determined to save the wounded vampire, Elf prince Phin becomes Joseph’s deliverance. 

The Warlock's Secret is the third book in the Supernatural Bounty Hunters series. Centuries ago, the Glitnir council created a journal to track the actions of the vampires as well as expelling magical beings. For this reason, Joseph hides his magical powers. An ambitious Warlock had tainted the magic, employing his concealed enchantment for pure evil. The Vampire Contract narrates the history of the Vampire royalty, along with their contribution in creating an impartial governing council. The underground movement lead by Joseph is attempting to return Glitnir to the original peace and justice for all inhabitants. Joseph and Phin have loved each other for years. However, because of the laws preventing two supernaturals with magic from mating, Joseph and Phin never shared the intimacy they both desired. There were also secrets that could mean death to some of their family if ever exposed. 

RJ Scott has created another amazing installment to this incredibly enjoyable series, which is best read in sequence.  

Fear, Hope, and Bread Pudding

Author: Marie Sexton
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62380-555-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Jon Kechter has settled into life with his millionaire lover, Cole Fenton. When he learns Cole desperately wants a child, everything changes and suddenly they’re planning a wedding and weighing the pros and cons of adoption versus surrogacy. A commitment ceremony follows in Paris and by the time they return to Phoenix, they’ve decided on adoption. It’s a long and disheartening process and the long months wear on both Jon and Cole as they wait for news.

Jon’s father, George, has longed for a grandchild for years and because he strongly believes in family, he encourages Cole to reconcile with his estranged mother. After many years of hurt, Cole isn’t thrilled, but while on a trip to Munich he agrees to try and it’s as he fears—meeting his mother is horrible. But waiting for a child is even worse and as the months pass, their fear increases. Will they ever get a child?

Fear, Hope and Bread Pudding is the new release in Marie Sexton’s Coda series. It follows shortly after the ending of the last book, so Strawberries for Dessert should be read first. 

I just love these guys and starting a family together is a wonderful way to continue their story. The process of adopting a child is difficult for anyone and Ms. Sexton does an excellent job expressing the myriad range of emotions Cole and Jonathan go through as the months roll by. Cole’s pain is particularly well done and you can’t help but feel his pain—his desperation. The story is heart wrenching, but what kept it from being too maudlin is Jonathan and his support. He’s a great guy—totally behind Cole, not just in their struggle for a child but in Cole reconnecting with his mother.  Adding in Jonathan’s father, George just rounded out the family and made the story even more sweet, entertaining and heartwarming. I don’t know if anything else if planned for these two great characters but I hope to see more of them and their family in the future.

Strawberries for Dessert

Author: Marie Sexton
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61581-551-7
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Jonathan Kechter spends a lot of time out of town with his job and doesn’t have a lot of time for dating. When a friend suggests a blind date, he’s reluctant but decides to give it chance—after all it’s only dinner, and if he’s lucky—a one-night stand.  Cole Fenton isn’t what Jonathan expects. He’s too flashy, conceited and annoying.  Yet there’s something about him Jonathan finds appealing, and they agree to give getting together a try. Being in a relationship with Cole isn’t easy because of his fear of commitment, but Jonathan isn’t willing to give up. The question is whether Cole will let his fear get the best of him, driving him away from Jonathan for good.  

I don’t know how I missed Strawberries for Dessert when it was released in 2010. It’s part of Ms. Sexton’s Coda series and follows Cole and Jonathan, who we first met as secondary characters in previous Coda books. 

Cole and Jonathan are neither dull nor boring. No, they’re interesting; a bit complicated and have nicely developed personalities I found engaging. Yes, both can be annoying at times, especially Cole, but they managed to keep my attention. In fact, their bantering is often fun, entertaining and…hot.  In many respects these two guys are as opposite as they can be, which is why starting off as casual sexual partners works so well. Yet, the author skillfully develops a true relationship between Cole and Jonathan. She lets it sneak up on them, and I have to say I appreciate the difference of her approach from the usual M/M romance. The pacing is steady, the imagery good and I liked the subtle and not so subtle differences between the guys. I hope you enjoy Strawberries for Dessert as much as I did.