Thursday, July 9, 2015

Dragon's Surprise

Author: Jenn Dease
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02015-0419
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Patrolling in the Pacific Ocean, Naval Captain Franklin Drake-Michaels and his dragon mate Marine Major Dane Drake is always on the alert for the ever present danger initiated by the Russo-Chinese terrorist group known as the Voladi.

Dragon's Surprise is the second book in the Dragon Marines series. The plot features the political climate of a futuristic earth. Franklin’s imprisoned family members, their dramatic rescues and the exposure of spies operating within the government. The character interactions are heartwarming.

Being in the military is a hardship for Franklin and Dane because they are often assigned to different ships. However, for this tour of duty Franklin and Dane are both on the USS Requiem.

Dane rescues a young dragon who just happens to be Franklin’s niece. The half human half dragon child is an example of harmony between the two species. Spending time with the child also strengthens the bond between Franklin’s and Dane’s family members as well as softens some of the prejudice attitudes of society in general.

Dragon's Surprise is a captivating saga. I especially enjoyed the exciting military maneuvers exhibited by the dragons. I suggest reading Captain's Mate first to get the full history of Voladi.   

Wolf Bound

Title:  Wolf Bound
Second Edition
Author:  Sierra Dafoe
Publisher:  Changeling Press
Publisher URL:   http://www.changelingpress.com
ISBN/BIN:  01935-00606
Genre:  {M/F} Paranormal, Werewolves
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

A mountain getaway to the Canadian Rockies doesn’t go the way Jenna expects.  Her third novel making the list of bestsellers was the reason Klaus planned this celebratory trip for Jenna.  When they get separated on the slopes, Jenna gets lost in the snow and saved from freezing.

Eventually Jenna realizes she isn’t hallucinating when the wolf who brought her to shelter transforms into the most perfect looking man she ever saw.  Finally Jenna gets to act out some of the steamy love scenes she only writes about.  Language was a problem for the two of them, but they found other ways to communicate where words weren’t needed.  Returning to her life without Wolf would crush Jenna, but she knew Wolf couldn’t adapt to her world either.  Jenna can’t decide, but fate had no problem deciding for her. 

Wolf Bound reminds me of a paranormal Tarzan and Jane and I enjoyed the endless possibilities that the couple faced.  It seemed like a relationship set up for failure but by the end, I changed my mind.  When everything is stripped down to the bottom line, love really is all that matters.  Money can’t buy everything and definitely can’t warm your bed at night.  Wolf and Jenna have obstacles to face but somehow I feel that they will beat them all and that’s always a memorable way to wrap up a story.

Raisonne Curse

Title:  Raisonne Curse
Author:  Rinda Elliott
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61922-893-1
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Elita’s family has been cursed.  Things get out of hand with all kinds of accidents.  She approaches the Bernaux brothers for help, but ends up fighting for love and the chance to live a full life with Pryor.

Raisonne Curse is the first book in The Brothers Bernaux series.  The basic premise is that the brothers will remove the Raisoone Curse from the three cousins.  One thing about this book is the unique way the author has the brothers paying a very steep price to use the magic they have.  There are also a few other rules they follow as well.

Elita and Pryor are immediately attracted to each other, but Pryor knows he should stay away from her.  Both have issues regarding the future. There are a lot of hints about what happens to the brothers, but it is not quite what you would expect. 

The author created an interesting world within the Cajun culture.  I have read other stories set in Louisiana, but this one has some unique twists within the swamp.  Some of the descriptions of the various characters made me laugh as I could actually picture them in my head. 

The Brothers Bernaux is going to be interesting with lots of twists in the future.  I can’t wait to see what happens with Elita’s cousin that just showed up.

A Diamond in the Dark

Author:  Sassie Lewis
Publisher:  Beachwalk Press
ISBN/BIN:   9781940744834
Genre:  {M/F} Erotic Contemporary BBW
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Before he did something stupid, Axton had to get laid.  Erotic dreams about the woman he’d known since she was 2 years old was driving him bananas.  Axton practically felt like a pervert, but he just couldn’t help it.  Maybe a weekend away would give him a chance to get Tia out of his head.  Well, it might have worked if Axton didn’t wake up to find the delectable woman straddling him.

Tia has been in love with Axton for as long as she can remember.  Her first orgasm as a teenager happened when watching him skinny dip in the lake.  The more she did to gain his attention, the more annoyed he seemed to become.  Tia was tired of watching from the sideline while Axton took off with another trashy woman.  She had to try a new tactic to get Axton to see her as more than family. 

The dynamics of Tia and Axton’s relationship is complicated in A Diamond in the Dark.  The strikes they have working against them might not necessarily be issues, the age difference and the family.  Tia has no doubt that they should be together but Axton tries his best to fight the losing battle.  He’s torn and people around him are starting to notice that something is wrong.   Eventually Tia and Axton take their relationship to the next level but decide to keep it a secret for a while.  Secrets seem to always come out at the worse times, and this one was no different.  What could have torn the family apart actually brought everyone closer together.  Axton was a bit too noble for his own good sometimes and Tia seemed like a puppy on his heels.  That led to some sexually charged scenes that readers will appreciate.  I loved the history between the couple and found them both easy to relate to.  Their family made me jealous and left me feeling comforted at the end of the story.

Deception

Title:  Deception
Author:  Edie Jo Gibson
Publisher:  Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL:  www.lsbooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781622101191
Genre:  {M/F}, Contemporary, Suspense, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Frankie has a network of friends in the community that band together to put bad guys away.  When an operation kills his brother, Ethan spends his time trying to find the man responsible.  While doing surveillance on someone in the community who might lead him to that man, he runs across Frankie.  What happens when they team up?

Deception is the first book in the Retribution series.  This was an interesting blend of former military with a security firm, working with what is effectively a neighborhood watch organization, taken one step further along the way.  Both groups are effective about putting the bad guy away.

Both groups did a few things that bordered on being illegal, especially when it came to surveillance.  There were a few humorous moments, such as using the rats to gain entrance to a building and the interaction with Ethan.  There are some interesting and quirky characters in both groups.

Frankie and Ethan are attracted to each other, but have to work on trusting each.  Frankie also is at war with herself because she doesn’t want to be constantly waiting for Ethan to return from wherever he may go, not knowing he is looking to stay put and grow his firm.  The chemistry between them is hot enough that both get distracted at times from their goal of catching Briggs.

Retribution is the name of the bar Frankie owns and it is fitting because of the work they do trying to help people in the community. There are several twists that were complete surprises, especially when things are revealed at the end.  The way the author handled a few of those toward the end will cause hearts to pound. 

I found this a fresh take on the suspense genre with the characters the author created in both groups of organizations.  Benny, Pearl, Greta and Brenda Sue are the type of friends everyone should have.  Ethan’s team were funny when they weren’t totally in military mode. 

I am looking forward to reading more in this series.  This is an author I have not read before, but will be looking for more from her.

Still Life

Title: Still Life
Author: DB Kennison
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61923-005-7
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary Suspense Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx
Release Date: 08-11-2015

Divorced from her cheating husband, Randi Lassiter doesn’t date. Between the time spent in her real estate office during the day and the hours spent photographing philandering husbands at night, she’s too busy. Then she falls over a mutilated body in an alley and almost winds up as a suspect.

When Detective Jon Bricksen left Milwaukee, he thought he’d seen his last murder victim but his small town has a brutal killing, the first in forty years, and he’s been put in charge. He’s not thrilled at being named lead investigator and is worried Randi will mess up his case with her interference. But Randi knows the town better than Jon does and can find out information he can’t and suddenly, they’re in a partnership he never expected. As their attraction grows can they find a serial killer before becoming victims themselves?

Still Life is the debut novel by DB Kennison in her new Randi Lassiter series. The premise caught my attention immediately, but discovering it’s a first time publication for the author left me a little apprehensive. I needn’t have worried. I found it well written, highly entertaining and difficult to put down.

I like Randi and Jon and found their personalities well developed. The plot is even and fast paced, there’s plenty of action, the secondary characters are integrated smoothly within the storyline and I particularly enjoyed Randi’s friend CJ. The details of the murder and police investigation—including Randi’s part, are believable and balanced nicely against the other things going.

Then there’s Randi and Jon’s relationship. They definitely start off rocky but it doesn’t take long for their attraction to surface. Life is complicated and problems arise that have to be worked out—and they have a killer to caught, so watch out for trouble in the department and some interesting twists. If you enjoy romantic suspense novels, I think you’ll enjoy this one. I know I did.

Above the Law

Title:  Above the Law
Author:  Danica St. Como
Publisher:  Loose Id
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62300-758-4
Genre:  {M/M/F}, LGBT, Contemporary, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Abigail and Glennon have been seeing each on and off.  Joe is Abigail’s best friend, he also happens to be attracted to Glennon.  After a night of dinner and partying, the three get together, but Abigail realizes the two men are attracted to each other.

Above the Law is the fourth book in the Men of Sanctuary series.  All three of the main characters are either law enforcement or military and are friends with the owners of Sanctuary.  All three have appeared in previous stories.  I liked that the author showed that both men had previous relationships with a male and in Joe’s case, he hasn’t had any real relationship since.

The author did a good job showing the awkwardness that sometimes comes when people try to start a new relationship when they themselves aren’t sure about how they really feel.  The evolution of the relationship between Abigail and Glennon, then later Glennon and Joe is so real, I was rooting for them all. However, Abigail makes a decision that confuses both men, but it turns out to be the best one for her.

Of course, the character that causes all sorts of trouble for them was a little bit of a surprise.  At the beginning you got a sense that there might be something wrong at the crime scene, but I did not expect just how devious the bad guy was. 

I am looking forward to Abigail’s story in the future, along with the various antics that the characters involved with Sanctuary get involved in.  Men of Sanctuary is a series to be read again.

Short Fuse

Title: Short Fuse
Author: Rebecca Crowley
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61922-991-4
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx
Release Date: 07-28-2015

Nicola Holt loves her job as head of social and corporate responsibility for Garraway Gold and travels the world, helping local people wherever her company has mining facilities.  Every trip has problems and a country trying to recover from civil unrest needs special attention. That’s why Garraway’s board sends in a security specialist, who turns out to be her seat mate. Not only is the man gorgeous but he’s good at his job. When two fellow passengers act unruly, he trusses them up using their own clothing.

Warren Copley isn’t thrilled with taking a contract with the gold industry but after being suspended from South Africa’s elite tactical police division, he doesn’t have a choice. The job doesn’t sound like a problem but the distracting woman sitting next to him might be. On arriving at their destination of Hambani, Warren’s opinion of the situation changes—the area is a powder keg waiting to explode. Can they deal with their growing attraction and the increasing danger? Can they get out of the area alive?

Short Fuse is the second release in Rebecca Crowley’s contemporary romantic suspense series, Elite Operators. Despite being part of a series, this can be read as a standalone.

I really appreciate that the male leads in the series have so far been part of the South African special police. It’s a nice change from other books of the genre and thus sets the location in a part of the world that isn’t generally featured in romance novels. It’s a great idea. And Warren in Short Fuse being an explosive expert is certainly unique too. 

The personalities of Warren and Nicola are nicely developed, the pace is fast and there’s plenty of action and danger throughout the plot. I like the mine, with its growing unrest, as the setting for the story. The details of running the mine, its workers, the brewing military uprising and the danger are vividly covered, making the story come alive.  The author did a great job balancing the growing relationship between Warren and Nicola with all the other things going on around them.  Yes, they have strong personalities and opinions, so they disagree and clash from the beginning but their attraction is sizzling. I look forward to the next book in this well written and entertaining series.

Love Will Always Find You

Author: Claire Matthews
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 9781619230255
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary; Suspense
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Evie Malone is stuck in a rut. She’s an aspiring author but she’s having writer’s block. Her day job as a dog trainer makes her happy and pays the bills, but her love life is a mess. She’s unhappy in her relationship with Brad, so decides once and for all that she is going to end it. When she arrives at his place to let him down gently however, she walks straight in to a crime scene. Brad is dead and Evie is suspect number one.

Luke Kovacs is a great cop, but knows nothing about taking care of a dog. When he inherits one from his aunt, he calls Evie for help. There is an immediate attraction, but there’s hardly a chance to acknowledge it before Evie is embroiled in a murder investigation. Luke is dedicated to his job and trusts his instinct that Evie is innocent, but someone is trying to frame her. Can Luke keep his cool when the woman he has come to care about the most is put in danger?

I enjoyed reading Love Will Always Find You. The story captured my imagination; I was curious to unravel the mystery of Brad’s death. The supporting characters were strong and give a real “whodunit?” feel to the book. I did like Luke, although I felt his character was held back a bit from his true potential. My thoughts on Evie are a bit more complex. Certain ways she behaved rubbed me up the wrong way at times.

There is a lot of humor in the book - it’s a nice character trait for both Evie and her cousin Jesse, who also put in a strong performance. I just struggled to find the humor and the seriousness of Brad’s murder compatible. Evie’s thoughts about her relationship with Brad were not particularly flattering, but I tried to give her the benefit of the doubt. Reading about how her thoughts would switch between compassion at the horrible situation and attraction to Luke seemed a bit inappropriate. That being said, I did enjoy the story – I just felt my personality clashed with Evie’s at times.

Obsolete

Title:  Obsolete
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0342-3
Genre:  {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Olena is balking about going into space, though she had originally signed up for the Volunteer Project.  Once at her duty station, she wakes up Brin when his ship is brought in for salvage.  An adventure she hadn’t signed up for is now hers.

Obsolete is the 24th book in the Terran Times Second Wave series and brings a planet’s Avitar, thought dead, to the station where Olena is working as a salvage technician. The relationship between Olena and Brin is interesting.  One thing I found funny was the way Olena kept trying to add enhancements, such as her nails, and dying her hair purple. 

The author did a good job showing how prejudices can affect jobs, especially coming in with a talent to do the job, and being a different species.  This also comes into play once Brin and Olena arrive at the moon that will become the new planet to replace the old. 

Ms. Grace has managed to keep this series interesting, and this book is no different.  While a fast read, Obsolete is set in another interesting society showing how Terrans adapt. One thing fans will notice about this series is that the titles are following the alphabet with several stories with each letter.  I am looking forward to the next one.

Buck Baxter & The Disappearing Divas

Author: Geoffrey Knight
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Publisher URL: www.wildecity.com
ISBN: 978-1-925180-83-1
Genre: {M/M} Romantic Mystery Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

The show must go on, but in the last days before The Snake Charmer’s Slave play is due to open, the odds seems to be working against it.

Buck Baxter & The Disappearing Divas is the sequel to Buck Baxter, Love Detective. The fascinating plot exhibits the murder and mayhem in the works at the Maharaja Majestic Theater and Buck, along with his mouthy assistant Stella, has been hired to solve the case. Naturally everyone connected with the theater is a suspect. However, Buck discovers a few revelations during his investigation. For instance, the theater is a deathtrap for the unwary. Some of the financial supporters are known to have illegal activities but are too powerful to ever bring to justice. Buck also questions the owner’s tea imports from India after a deadly theater mishap.

The characters are witty, as well as being entertaining. Buck is struggling with new feelings of love for Harry plus finding a murderer.  Harry is struggling with hiding the fact he is gay from his wealthy father, while attempting to convince Buck the love is reciprocated. The actors display an over the top persona as if they are always on stage to be worshipped by adoring fans.

Geoffrey Knight has created a captivatingly enjoyable saga. I was mainly impressed by the unexpected shock aspect constructed into the otherwise traditional mystery theme. 

Lily Roar

Title:  Lily Roar
Author:  Beth D. Carter
Publisher:  Totally Bound
ISBN/BIN:  9781784306076
Genre:  {M/F/M} Crime and Mystery, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Lily gets help, from another girl, escaping from the Master.  She is rescued in an alleyway by Branch and Charlie, who are searching for the leader of the trafficking organization they thought had been shut down.

Lily Roar is the fourth book in the Red Wolves Motorcycle Club and picks up the next part of the story about the trafficking organization in Wyoming.  Branch, the enforcer for the Red Wolves, and Charlie, a deputy in Destiny, team up to find the head of the organization.  Their journey takes them on a trip to Missouri where they help Lily, not realizing she is the key to identifying the man they are looking for.

I love Lily because she was a fighter and realized if she didn’t get out, she would die.  She wanted so much to help once she realized what Branch and Charlie wanted to do. Branch and Charlie were great about letting her know what happened wasn’t her fault and she was strong and a survivor.  Once Lily learns to trust the two men, she realizes she is attracted to them.  I had to laugh at the point where Charlie and Branch realized they were in a ménage relationship even though they were nowhere near Destiny.

A couple of new characters are added, along with another motorcycle club.  The way the story ends, I have to wonder if there will be more in this series or a spin-off with the other club.  The Men of Hell play an unwitting part in how Lily Roar ends, though the bad guy wasn’t quite the surprise it might have been.  Even though the author kept true to how some law enforcement agencies follow the law, I wasn’t too happy with the FBI and their actions. 

I hope there is more about the Red Wolves but if not, I’m looking forward to reading more of this author in the future.  I have really enjoyed this series, and readers do need to read this one in order.

Shifter Magnetism

Author: Stormie Kent
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62300-328-9
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal
Rating:  3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Witches are being hunted by a rogue sorcerer and several have already been murdered and drained of their powers when Leila Barclay’s targeted. She’s saved from near death by wolf shifter, and lead detective on the murder case, Nic Lobo. What they didn’t expect is that they’d become linked by a soul magic exchange, which is forbidden by their races. It changes them both, binding them together and that’s the way they intend to stay. That means Nic has to locate the killer responsible and keep Leila safe, while finding a way to handle his Pack, her Council and angry family.

Shifter Magnetism is the newest release by Stormie Kent, who is another new author for me. Truthfully, I didn’t care that it’s an interracial romance. It was irrelevant. What did matter is the serial killer targeting witches premise and the two main characters who I like.

Leila’s a witch with an interesting life and family background. I enjoyed how the author shows her interacting with her annoying and snobbish mother. That she’s so different is a dramatic contrast to her parents and their actions. Then there’s Nic. He’s an alpha wolf and he’s trying to do his police job while staying out of his Alpha pack leader’s way. He’s protective, more than a little dangerous, and shows his alpha traits when trying to keep his mate safe. These two make a good couple, even if they met under less than ideal circumstances.

Now to my niggles: I admit it. I’m disappointed in the serial killer plot line, and while it starts off with so much potential, it didn’t take long to fizzle out. There just wasn’t enough suspense—it’s too predictable. I wanted some twists—something to take me by surprise but it never happens. Even the ending is anticlimactic. And lastly, I find that the sexual part of the story completely overshadows the rest of the plot.  

Monday, July 6, 2015

Torquere Press Open Submission Calls

FORBIDDEN LOVE

Something so wrong never felt so right. We're looking for taboo stories that defy the accepted rules of society and romance. Step-brother in love with his new step-sister? Step-son can't keep his eyes (or his hands) off his step-father? We want to read it. Please send your 5,000-60,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Forbidden Love" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting, and submission information.

TWISTED TALES OF HORROR

Romance can temper even the most horrifying tales, those that leave your stomach clenching with terror, and your mouth bitter with the metallic taste of fear. We're looking for true horror stories, those that rise above the usual tropes of vampires, ghosts, and shifters, the ones that leave our knees knocking in fear of what lurks in the dark, but still manage to show an element of GLBT romance. Send us your most gripping psychological thrillers, your utterly horrific monster tales, and electrifying gothic horrors from 10K to 100K! 
Please send your 10,000-60,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with “Twisted Tales of Horror…” and your story title in the subject field. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.


THE CASE OF THE MYSTERIOUS MYSTERY

Cozy, gothic, suspenseful, funny, we love mysteries with strong LGBTQ characters who solve puzzles and fall in love.
Please send your 10,000-60,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with “The Case of…” and your story title in the subject field. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.

GOTHIC MYSTERIES

We’re looking for mysteries set in darkly atmospheric locations, featuring resourceful LGBTQ characters and a strong romantic subplot.
Please send your 10,000-60,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with “Gothic mystery” and your story title in the subject field. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.

COZY MYSTERIES WITH A DASH OF ROMANCE

Exciting and so very comforting, there’s just something about cozy mysteries. Surprise us with idyllic settings, clue gathering, and resourceful LGBTQ characters. We want amateur sleuths, private eyes, and intrepid detectives, solving puzzles and falling in love.
Please send your 10,000-60,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with “Cozy mystery” and your story title in the subject field. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.

COGS AND GEARS

There’s always something about stories involving steampunk, cyberpunk, dieselpunk, biopunk, or any version of punk you enjoy that gets our cogs in a bunch. Bring us your corsets, body mods, goggles, clockwork, dystopias and bioengineered plots. 
We’re looking for fully realized, romantic LGBT punk stories with HEA or HFN endings. Blow our minds while you build your worlds to show steamy romance lit by gaslight.
Stories should range from 10,000 to 60,000 words. Longer stories may be considered, but please query first. Stories will be contracted for two years, at our standard royalty rates. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.
Guidelines:
  • GLBT stories -- f/f, m/m, m/m/f
  • 10,000 words and up
  • standard royalty rates apply
  • exclusive electronic 2 year contract
For queries or submissions, contact General Manager/Submissions Editor Kristi Boulware at submissions@torquerepress.com
Please put "Cogs and Gears" in the subject line of all emails.
Follow our general guidelines. 

RAINBOWS COME IN ALL COLORS

Love stories come in all flavors and all sexual orientations and/or all gender identities. We want to see you explore all colors of the rainbow that differ from the standard gay or lesbian romance. 
Bring us your stories of trans, queer, bisexual, asexual, pansexual and polyamorous relationships.  Your characters sexual or gender identity should be central to the story but basic story genre can be varied.  Let’s take this opportunity to give everyone their happy ending. We’re looking for fully realized, romantic stories with HEA or HFN endings. 
Stories should range from 10,000 to 60,000 words. Longer stories may be considered, but please query first. Stories will be contracted for two years, at our standard royalty rates. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.
Guidelines:
  • 10,000 words and up
  • standard royalty rates apply
  • exclusive electronic 2 year contract
For queries or submissions, contact General Manager/Submissions Editor Kristi Boulware at submissions@torquerepress.com
Please put "Rainbows Come in all Colors" in the subject line of all emails.
Follow our general guidelines.

TALES OF LEATHER

Like your short stories with a little bondage, dominance, spanking, or submission? So do we! In fact, we like BDSM play stories so much that we're giving them their own category. Tales of Leather will be guaranteed to bring on all the hot BDSM action that readers crave. We're looking for romance stories with happy endings, engaging characters, and a fresh point of view. Stories should range from 10,000 to 50,000 words. Longer stories may be considered, but please query first. Stories will be contracted for two years, at our standard royalty rates. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.
Guidelines:
- GLBT stories -- f/f, m/m, m/m/f
- 10,000 words and up
- standard royalty rates apply
- exclusive electronic 2 year contract
For queries or submissions, contact General Manager/Submissions Editor Kristi Boulware at submissions@torquerepress.com
Please put "Tales of Leather" in the subject line of all emails.
Follow our general guidelines.

SPICE IT UP

Who doesn't need a little spice in their life? The Spice it Up line has openings starting in January 2012. Stories need to be inspired by a spice or herb, or the spice must feature prominently in the story. To see what spices have already been used, see our bookstore at www.torquerebooks.com. Spices may be duplicated, but all stories must be original in theme and content. We're looking for romance stories with happy endings, engaging characters, and a fresh point of view. Stories should range from 10,000 to 30,000 words. Longer stories may be considered, but please query first. Stories will be contracted for two years, at our standard royalty rates. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.
Guidelines:
- GLBT stories -- f/f, m/m, m/m/f
- 10,000 words and up
- standard royalty rates apply
- exclusive electronic 2 year contract
For queries or submissions, contact senior editor Lorna Hinson at submissions@torquerepress.com
Please put "Spice It Up" in the subject line of all emails.
Follow our general guidelines