Saturday, September 14, 2013

To Kiss a Killer

Author: Amber Kell
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-77111-647-3
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Never one to show cowardice, especially in front of his son, Aden Gale accepts the challenge of kissing the sleeping sorcerer Gallen Theos. It was a kiss unlike any other Aden or Gallen had ever experienced before. It was the kiss of true mates. 

To Kiss a Killer is the fifth book in the Banded Brothers series. Father to Carey and three adopted shifters who are all now mated, Aden is feeling less useful to his family. Weary of the inadequate Intel in addition to the painful gunshot wounds associated with his assassin career, Aden is ready to give up his profession. However, discovering Gallen is his mate is an unexpected surprise Aden finds irresistible. Although Gallen looks young, he has a centuries-old mind, along with magical powers that sustain his resolve to keep Aden as his mate.  

Amber Kell has created another amazing addition to the Banded Brothers series. I enjoyed all the characters in this series; yet the stealth characteristic of Aden is my favorite. In the To Kiss a Killer storyline, dragons were introduced as the beginnings for the future spinoff series Dragons of Seattle, with more of Aden and Gallen.    

Clove Sutherland

Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
ISBN/BIN: 9781622429745
Genre: {M/M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Like all paranormals Clove is waiting for his mate but until then, he sees no problem spending time with Elan.  When Elan needs a little emotional support as he reunites with his brother, Clove is right there with him, and so is Clove’s mate.  To make things even more intense when Clove and Kinkade show up at their new home, they are meeting with another mate, one who just happens to be a Kappa.  While Clove is thrilled, Kinkade isn’t, which makes things hard on everyone. 

Clove Sutherland is the seventh book in the Beyond the Marius Brothers series.  The story is fast paced and will keep the readers interest; however readers really need to be reading this series and the Marius Brothers series together to keep from getting a little lost.  This story centers on Clove, a vampire warrior readers have met in previous stories.  While readers will be happy to see him find his mate, they also know that the author will most likely not make their pairing an easy one.   This of course, is when Jordy shows up.  I was glad to see Jordy as one of the mates as I really felt bad for him when we last saw him. 

The men have many obstacles to overcome and, while their issues are tough, I like that all the men, including Kinkade, are willing to try and make things better.  Of course, no book in this series would be complete without members of previous stories showing up to help.  Even with the issues that they face, the men are determined to make sure they are claimed.  The passion that exists between Clove and Kinkade, as well as Clove and Jordy, is intense.  It also gives the readers a glimpse of what will occur when all three men finally come together.  

Clove Sutherland is a great addition to this ongoing series.  Not only does it draw the reader into one mating, but also gives you a glimpse of another.  Like other stories in this series, this book is sure to hold your interest and leave you wondering about what is next.

Whirlwind

Title: Whirlwind
Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Total-E-Bound 
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-78184-436-6
Genre: {M/M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Stefan’s life was never easy because of his physical imperfections and the problems that came with them. It didn’t stop him from wanting love and that led to his death. He’s been dead for over a decade and still doesn’t understand why he no longer has the physical problems he had while he was alive. The one thing that hasn’t changed is his desire for someone to love him. But how likely is that to happen in the afterlife?

Jordan and Gideon are serving together in Afghanistan when they’re killed in a roadside bombing. They find themselves still together but dead and don’t understand what’s going on or why they didn’t follow the other soldiers killed up into the light.  With nowhere to go, they head to McKinton, Texas, Jordan’s hometown. What they find surprises them. Not only has the town changed but they run across Stefan. It seems being dead isn’t so bad after all.

Whirlwind is the newest release is Bailey Bradford’s Southern Spirits series. It’s possible to read this book as a standalone but because of the returning characters and relationships, I recommend the books be read in order.

I like Stefan and he has a unique history. The imagery of his life and death are heart-wrenching. Many of the characters we’ve met before are mentioned or play a minor role but ghostly Connor is featured prominently. That isn’t surprising, considering how protective he is of Stefan. Ms. Bradford did a nice job with their relationship and the way she weaves in snippets of the others works well too.

Now to Jordan and Gideon. They’ve both interesting guys and having their death as part of the story is a good idea. My niggle. Their initial interaction with Stefan didn’t go well, so for them all to get together intimately, so quickly, didn’t work for me. I thought there should have been a little time before that happened. 

The overall flow is pretty good, there are some chuckle moments, as well as some sad ones too. And the sex—that’s sizzling—and there’s a lot of it. If you’ve read the other books, you’ll want to see what the spirits and people of McKinton are up to since the last release.

A Familiar Sin

Title:  A Familiar Sin
Author:  Jessica Coulter Smith
Publisher:  Changeling Press
Publisher URL:  www.changelingpress.com
ISBN/BIN:  06539-02103
Genre:  {M/F}, Shape-shifters, Suspense, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Even confined to a wheelchair, Bellamy wants freedom and eventually a mate.  After she is rescued from a kidnapping, she knows one the wolves who rescued her is her mate.  Seaton is attracted to her, but thinks Bellamy is a raven shifter, not a house cat in her other form.

A Familiar Sin is the first book in the Romance in Moonspell series and is a fun book to read.  One of the reasons I wanted to read this book is because the heroine is in a wheelchair.  This is one of those rare stories that features a person with a permanent challenge and I thought the author did a good job showing her personality and strength.

The chemistry between Seaton and Bellamy is strong, but I wanted to slap him once he saw Bellamy in her cat form.  Of course, he did not know that was her then, but I thought he waited too long to go after her.  I also thought Bellamy was a little too quick to forgive him, though I can understand her reasons why.

I had to laugh at Bellamy’s family and some of her friends.  The relationship between the alphas of both groups was interesting.  There is some suspense with a twist in the end. 

I am looking forward to the next story in the series and wonder if it will be about one of the family members or another wolf.

One Bratty Omega

Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-77111-655-8
Genre: {M/M} Shape-shifter Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Wolf shifter Donny has a problem with keeping secrets and telling lies. Nevertheless, for the protection of the pack, this is what Donny must do. The moment Connor’s former work partner Proctor caught a glimpse of Donny, Proctor’s cop instincts went on high alert, yet the mutual attraction was just too much to resist.

One Bratty Omega is the second book in the three author Building the Pack series. In this especially heartwarming episode, the premise continues the storyline first introduced in The New Wolf. The plot reveals more information about the demented killer plaguing the wolf pack, as well as the pack’s history. Although born a wolf shifter, Donny knows very little about omega duties in a wolf hierarchy. Yet, Donny has a naturally friendly care-giver personality. Proctor and Connor have been best friends since childhood. Like Connor, Proctor also has a suspicious mind, which is an asset to anyone working in law enforcement, but proves to be dangerous in the shifter community of Black Creek. When the truth is exposed, Proctor and Donny must deal with a life-changing dilemma that could emotionally destroy both of them.  

Stephani Hecht’s One Bratty Omega is an impressive, as well as enjoyable addition to the series.     

A Man’s Worth

Author: Lynn Hagen
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
ISBN/BIN: 9781622425860
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

So far all the Lakelands have found their mates but one, Bryce.  However, Bryce has known his mate for a while now and has only recently found out that the man has been masking his scent.  When the bear shifter gives Ahm an ultimatum, he is unprepared to see his mate shimmer away. 

A Man’s Worth is the 31st book in Ms. Hagen’s ongoing series, Brac Pack.  This story tells the readers about Bryce, the last of the Lakelands to find a mate.  I could not believe what Ahm did and totally understood Bryce’s reactions.  As readers of this series know, finding your mate is important to all paranormals so Bryce’s reactions were believable.  I did, however, understand to some extent why Ahm felt he had to do what he did.  All this conflict makes their coming together difficult, but not impossible.  I had to laugh at the way Ahm reacts to life on the ranch, especially when the animals are involved.

The men’s relationship is not the only aspect of this story that will hold the reader’s attention.  There is a lot going on with the Shadow elves and while Ahm is trying to help his people, they are not very open to change, which readers will see when they find out about Bryce.  This is definitely a story that shows some families are better chosen than born into. 

Bryce’s brothers play an important part in this story, lending Bryce all the support they can give him.  Of course, that means there is some mischief along the way and I had to bust out laughing when Ahm gets his revenge. 

A Man’s Worth is a fast paced read and the many secondary characters help move the story along nicely.  Fans of this series will love this story, which I am sure will find its way on many keeper shelves.

Winter’s Trial

Author: Darren Endymion
Publisher: Torquere Press 
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61040-520-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Austin's life is a mess. He’s a true mate and instead of his life being filled with blessings, he’s hated and bullied by his pack because he’s also a feared three-form hybrid wolf. He’s been trying to find another pack that will allow him to become a member but hasn’t had any luck. His only hope is that one day his mate will find him and take him away.

Cristiano is from Brazil. He’s dreamed of finding the one wolf meant for him and the true mate pull allows him to find Austin in Minnesota. It’s immediately obvious Austin’s pack is in trouble—that rebellion is brewing and to protect his mate from those trying to hurt him, Cris gets sucked into the conspiracy. When they find one pack willing to take them in, it’s a battle to get away and if they don’t, there’s little chance of surviving.

When dealing with a new author you never know what to expect but the blurb for Winter’s Trial sounded interesting, so I had to give it a try. I’m glad I did. Mr. Endymion did a nice job developing the personalities of both Austin and Cris and provided enough history on each so I understood them. There’s also good imagery of Austin’s pack and the people in it.

I’m happy to say this author has taken a typical pack that’s supposed to be more like a family and turned it on its ear, giving the reader a new and creative slant to a werewolf story. What surprised me about this first novel are the depth and number of plotlines. There’s the one with Austin and Cris, but there are also several others woven in and around them. These others really flesh out the story, making it fast moving and interesting. It also means this isn’t an easy story to read. It’s filled with anger, unrest, pain and lots of abuse—not just to Austin but other pack members too. So, if you’re expecting a fun and lighthearted read, this book isn’t for you. 

Not only do I like Cris and Austin, but the plot brings in a lot of other characters I found intriguing too. I don’t know if there are other books planned but I’d like to see ones featuring Taylor and Quinton in the future. Hint. Hint. 

Wednesday, September 11, 2013

Torquere Press New Calls for Submissions

January 2014 -- Take It Like a Man -- deadline November 1
Whether giving or receiving, everyone knows that bigger is better, so to kick the New Year off right, we want to unwrap some spectacularly big packages! For our Take It Like a Man anthology, we’re looking for fully realized, romantic LGBT stories about size queens. Who wants it, who has it, and who can Take it Like a Man? Make us laugh, make us cry, or surprise us and make us glow with happy endings!
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Take It Like a Man" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is November 1, 2013; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.

February 2014 -- Conversation Hearts -- deadline November 15
Call Me? I’m Yours? Bite Me? What does your conversation heart say? And what better time of year for stories of love, ranging from the heart-pounding anticipation of that first kiss to the warm comfort of a long-time partner, with plenty of sweet-hot spice throughout! For our Conversation Hearts anthology, we're looking for fully realized, romantic LGBT Valentine stories. Make us laugh, make us cry, or surprise us and make us glow with happy endings!
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Conversation Hearts" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is November 15, 2013; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.

March 2014 -- Spinning the Top -- deadline December 15
Twinky tops? Burly bottoms? Topping from beneath? Our Spinning the Top anthology is looking for fully realized, romantic LGBT stories about tops and bottoms who defy stereotypes. Stories need not be BDSM in nature (though that’s absolutely welcome), but these tales should definitely feature a distinct Top and bottom, and should turn those conventional stereotypes around to make them fresh and unexpected. Make us laugh, make us cry, or surprise us and make us glow with happy endings!
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Spinning the Top" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is December 15, 2013; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.

April 2014 -- Torqued Tales 2014 -- deadline January 15
There's something about a fairy tale that captures everyone's imaginations, so snuggle up by the fire and tell us a Once Upon a Time-- with a Torquere twist! For our Torqued Tales 2014 anthology, we're looking for stories with traditional fairy tale or fable themes with a fresh twist. How about a steampunk Cinderfella? Or a Rapunzel whose princess arrives to save her?
We’re looking for fully realized, romantic LGBT fairy tale interpretations. Make us laugh, make us cry, or surprise us and make us glow with happy endings! Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Torqued Tales" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is January 15, 2014; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.

May 2014 -- Men in Uniform 2014 -- deadline Feb. 15
There's something about a uniform that makes our hearts pump faster and our knees go wobbly. For our Men in Uniform 2014 anthology, we're looking for fully realized, romantic m/m stories about uniformed men. Cops, firemen, military personal, the UPS guy. We’re willing to entertain them all as long their uniform gets someone revved up!
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Men in Uniform" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is February 15, 2014; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.

June 2014 -- They Do -- wedding stories -- deadline Mar 15
Every fairy-tale romance ends with a wedding -- but not every wedding is a fairy tale! Our They Do anthology will feature LGBTQ wedding stories ranging from groomzillas to rainy day disasters, from sweet I Dos to hot and steamy wedding nights! Remake the gay wedding in your image!
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "They Do" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is March 15, 2014; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.

July 2014 -- Rode Hard -- cowboy stories -- deadline Apr 15
Cowboys, y'all! From the Wild West to the modern era and any time (or place) in between, our Rode Hard anthology will feature fully realized, romantic LGBT stories about cowboys and cowgirls. Whether they make their home on the range or in a neon-filled dancehall, give us real cowboys with real problems. And really steamy love lives!
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Rode Hard" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is April 15, 2014; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.

August 2014 -- Dawg Days -- wolf/dog shifters -- deadline May 15
It's the way you growl, or maybe it's the way you use your teeth, or the way the moonlight shines on your fur... Wait, what? We want your best canine/lupine shifter stories for the Dawg Days of summer. Keep us on our toes with wolves, coyotes, dingoes or even a pit bull shifter or two. The more biting the better!
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Dawg Days" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is April 15, 2014; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.

Monday, September 9, 2013

A Little Bit Country


Author: S.J. Frost
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02013-0128
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Lead singer Ash Ivers is not all rock and roll; Ash is A Little Bit Country when it comes to a certain singing cowboy. After years of trading verbal insults through the media, meeting country music singer Jackson Abrams face to face at a benefit concert motivates Ash to save the horse and ride the cowboy. 

A Little Bit Country is a well written romantic comedy. The plot features the emotional mayhem of a public life versus the lack of privacy. All of the characters are extremely engaging, even the scoundrels inspire a respectable quantity of indignation from the readers. Ash maintains a bad boy rock star image for the public; however he is actually a very thoughtful easygoing man. Ash constantly changes his hair style as a way to broaden his connection with fans. His public exhibits of outrage are really vents regarding the disrespect displayed by others.

Jackson has a straightforward charismatic personality. His career is not just for fame; Jackson truly cares about helping people. Jackson chose to hide his sexuality from the public because of the image for that music genre. Although Jackson chose to sing country music, as well as live in Texas, he did not choose his sexuality. Jackson understood there are some people who refuse to accept the fact that being born gay is not a lifestyle.

S.J. Frost has created a magnificent saga that I thoroughly enjoyed. The storyline illustrates sensitive issues that most readers can relate to. Such as does privacy exist? What’s more, why is the public entitled to know everything about law abiding people? Other subjects highlighted are fake friends, jealousy along with fake Christians.  The characters have realistic personality traits so expressive that I laughed, got misty eyed as well as infuriated on the behalf of Jackson. I highly recommend A Little Bit Country.  

Texas Longhorn Surprise

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publishers URL: http:/www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-77111-656-5
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Ryan hopes that by helping Kontra’s group of shifters take out one of the scientists research facilities, it will help him make up for falling for the scientists line of bull.  He did not expect one of Kontra’s men to be his mate so does not know if he should bring his past up, or if it would be safer to stay quiet.

The thirteenth book in the Kontra’s Menagerie series, Texas Longhorn Surprise, is the story of Ryan and Sam.  Readers may remember Ryan from his brief appearance in Solider of Fortune’s Downfall.  In this newest story, the readers learn how Ryan became involved with the scientists, as well as some of the things he was forced to do.    I really felt bad for the former military man, especially when he is faced with possibly killing a rogue shifter. 

Sam is one of Kontra’s men.  The author reveals a lot about Sam’s past, and I must say readers will be shocked by what the shifter went through.  His past has some dark moments that left more than physical scars.  He always hoped finding his mate would help him overcome his past so Ryan’s reaction to the news that they are mates devastates Sam.

These two men have the mating pull right from the beginning, but each has issues in their past that they have to overcome first.  I like that the author did not whitewash the problems these two face.  I really felt for Sam in the beginning when Ryan denies him.  I do understand, however, why Ryan was so hesitant to get involved with Sam, and like Ryan, wondered how the shifters would react when they found out about what Ryan had been forced to do. 

Ms. Richards is able to bring together couples facing all type of issues.  That she is able to bring Sam and Ryan together in a believable way will not surprise the many readers that love her stories.  There are many shifter couples from previous stories around to help the men find their way.  The secondary characters also add a few laughs and don’t forget the action once they set out to hit the scientist’s facility. 

This was a fun story and, as more and more of Kontra’s men find their mates, I can’t help wonder how many more stories we will see in this series.

The Cost of Loving

Author: Wade Kelly
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62380-963-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

As a favorite son, Matt Dixon never imagined how his life would change on coming out. But the death of his best friend, Jamie, wouldn’t let him hide anymore, and he had to stand up for himself and his friend. His family doesn’t understand and is angry—but still loves him. The members of Matt’s church make life difficult as he struggles with his sexuality and his faith.  And he’s dealing with the feelings for his new lover—Darian—his dead friend’s fiancé.

When Darian Weston’s fiancé committed suicide his world imploded. He’s upset and depressed, and because of his newfound feelings for Matt, he’s guilt ridden. Darian doesn’t know where to turn, and life in a nosy small town isn’t easy when you’re emotionally raw. Can Matt and Darian find a way to get past the pain of the present and make a life together or will their hurt drive them apart?

The Cost of Loving is the sequel to When Love is Not Enough by Wade Kelly. This second release in the Unconditional Love series follows shortly after the first and the books must be read in order.

Okay, here’s the truth. Despite the heart wrenching topic of the first book, I loved it and looked forward to the release of The Cost of Loving. That doesn’t mean I wasn’t a bit apprehensive about reading it because I anticipated the plot would be filled with plenty of drama and emotional pain. And I was right. But I wasn’t sorry I read it either. Just know that it’s definitely not a light and fluffy story. Instead it makes you think and feel. A lot. 

There’s so much going on in this release, it’s hard to believe the author managed to keep the threads of this drama straight. It’s a very realistic look at how one person’s suicide impacts the lives of the people left behind. Darian is particularly hard hit, which spirals him into mental instability.  His health crisis, Matt’s reaction and support and the aftermath are all so well written, I couldn’t be more pleased. So, if you want to learn more about these interesting guys and the world in which they live, I suggest you give this book and its predecessor a try. Neither is an easy read but I don’t think you’ll regret either. I know I didn’t. Really, you should try them.

Skye’s Limits

Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publishers URL:  http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-77111-637-4
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Skye’s life has been hell since he was a little boy, thanks to the Ravens.  Unable to forget the things they did to his family, Skye now relies on booze to help him make it through the day.  But his big brother, Branson, has had enough and Skye now finds himself being mentored by Alden, a tough Tiger shifter.  Neither man expects this to change their lives, yet neither would have the changes any other way.

Skye’s Limits is the latest addition to Ms. Hecht’s ongoing The Lost Shifters series.  I like the way the author allows this series to evolve.  No longer is it just about those who are physically lost, but now encompasses a variety of shifters, many who have had to overcome traumas in one form or the other.  Two of those men are the center of Skye’s Limits.  

Skye is having a hard time forgetting what the Ravens did to his family.  The way he handles his memories is to turn to alcohol.  The author did a good job bringing Skye’s behavior across realistically.  Unfortunately, she also did a good job with Branson and Gage; and, while their attitude is normal for family members having to deal with an addict, that did not mean I did not want to smack them at times.

Alden has also had his life turned upside down by the Ravens.  Over twenty years ago, when the Ravens attacked the other shifters, Alden’s family was destroyed.  Unlike Skye, Alden turned to the Coalition and has now become one of their toughest trainers.  Alden is the perfect match for the younger Skye.  He is able to see past the younger shifter’s transgressions, especially as he can see all the hard work Skye has been putting forth to change.  The mating pull does exist between the two men, and while I liked that they decided to wait before starting their relationship, I thought others were extremely judgmental. 

Many previous characters show up to help move the story along and, of course, there is more than a few moments where the characters find themselves fighting the Ravens.  Although things don’t turn out well for all in one scene, I had to laugh a time or two when Shane and his previous actions came up.  

Skye’s Limits is a well written story and one fans of this author should not miss.

Turmoil

Title: Turmoil
Authors: A.J. Llewellyn & D.J. Manly
Publisher: Silver Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 9781622320394
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Getting past being abused by his motorcycle gang leader father was hard, but Marco Dellburn did it. With the support of his adoptive family and friends, he also got through the tough course work needed to become a US Marshal. But Marco’s past won’t let him go. He was living with Trace, when his father attacked their house and was shot, and now some of the Born Evil members are out to kill Marco and Trace. And another even bigger problem—Marco’s been in love with new gang leader Sam Channing for years. It’s an impossibly painful situation. How much turmoil can Marco take and will it ever get better?

Turmoil is the latest release in the Orgasmic Texas Dawn series. Due to the recurring characters and close relationships, I suggest the books be read in order.

Marco was younger and immature in the previous books but because there’s been a gap of almost three years in the storyline, he’s now a mature adult. Yes, his professional life is looking up but that doesn’t mean he isn’t full of emotional unrest and upheaval. After all, his personal life is a mess. I mean really, Marco has a terrible background and so-called family that are now trying to kill him. And you can’t forget about a love interest that’s totally inappropriate for a law enforcement officer. The authors have really stacked the deck against this guy, but that only makes him more interesting. But Sam is just as unique and interesting in his own way. He’s dangerous, likeable, intelligent and willing to go against his gang to keep Marco safe—and truthfully, I don’t have any idea how the authors are going to ever get these two together. 

There’s lots of action, turmoil and danger woven throughout the plot to make it exciting. The story is fast paced, there are lots of great details and we get to see many of the characters from the previous releases. There’s just so much going on in this well written and entertaining story—and I haven’t even mentioned the sizzling sex. I don’t know where this plot is going and the story end on a big cliffhanger, so I’m anxious to see what happens next. 

Velvet Tricks, Sinful Treats

Author:  VJ & Sierra Summers
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN:    9781419945250
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph
Not available until October 16, 2013

Kendra goes out for some fun with her friends, as well as to satisfy her curiosity about BDSM, to Club Velvet Ice on Halloween. Once she manages to sneak upstairs, she is caught and then spends time with Sin, one of the Masters at the club.

Velvet Tricks, Sinful Treats is the second book in the Velvet Scenes series and is very intense, like the first book.  The authors display a very good knowledge of BDSM and walk readers through some of the safety issues that people need to know before they step foot into these types of clubs.

Sin knows he should send Kendra packing, but the sparks between the two isn’t something he is going to dismiss at the moment.  The scene between the two is extremely hot, so be prepared to start the fans and use ice.  The scene is also intensely emotional. 

I liked the description of the owner of the club and had to laugh at his reaction to one of Kendra’s friends.  I did like the concern that both of Kendra’s girlfriends had, though I didn’t like the one putting her in that situation in the first place.  

I have enjoyed reading this series so far, and am looking forward to reading more.  Each story can be read alone, but readers should be prepared for some very intense emotions as they read.

Simply Irresistible

Author: Christiane France 
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-474-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Logic is telling entertainment magazine reporter Cal Chapman to turn down this assignment. However Cal’s heart is telling him to give his former lover, and movie star, Robin Fletcher another chance.  

Simply Irresistible is the second book in the London Calling series. The romantic plot has a hint of mystery, as well as corruption. The characters are creditable. Cal enjoys being a reporter; it allows him to interview interesting people in addition to occasionally writing their bios. Being a sensible man, Cal has moved on as best he could from the rollercoaster relationship he shared with Rob but Cal has never been able to extinguish the love he feels for Rob. Cal accepts the assignment to interview Rob in the hopes of learning why Rob vanished for years. Rob is not a bad person, he simply lacks good judgment. Hollywood had suddenly become detrimental to Rob’s health. This was just one of the demons plaguing Rob at the time he returned to his home in England without informing anyone. Even so, Rob still hungered for the feel of affection only Cal could offer him. 

Christiane France has created an emotionally impressive short story that I enjoyed immensely.      

Lacey and Lethal

Title:   Lacey and Lethal
Author:    Laurann Dohner
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN:   9781419937125
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Sequel
Rating:   4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Lacey catches Lethal, but decides she can’t kill him as he doesn’t act like other vampires she has seen.  Lethal is surprised by Lacey and realizes he is attracted to her.

Lacey and Lethal is part of the same world that these two stories, Scarred and Kilt and Mine to Chase, are in.  Lethal is the last of the trio that own and run a bar that allows vampires a safe place.  Chase’s werewolves are the guards for them during the day.

Lacey is attracted to Lethal and decides she is going to use him before she kills him.  I had to laugh at the conversation the two have while she is doing this.  Lethal is just as funny in his own way.  I loved that the two got together, despite the fact she wanted to kill him.  Lacey definitely has her perceptions altered, as she listens to Lethal’s reasons why rogues are a danger to him and other vampires.

Once they figure out they can trust each other, things really heat up between them.  The circumstances speed some things up but I don’t think either was really ready for.  I sort of anticipated some of them though, once things came to a head with Lacey’s former team.

I really disliked her boss, Jeff.  His whole attitude from the beginning was not good, especially the way he treated Lacey once they captured Lethal.  The author did surprise me somewhat at the last scene, though for the most part the ending was also expected.

All the characters from the other stories show up and some are just as entertaining as they were before.  I enjoyed reading the stories, as they are lighthearted for the most part, and will be reading them again together in the future. 

Sizzled

Title: Sizzled
Author: Declan Sands
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: changelingpress.com/
BIN: 06515-02095
Genre: {M/F} {M/M} Shape-shifters Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

The menace is moving ever closer to taking control of Earth. With Bounty hunters Matthew and Cliff Blood along with their lovers vacationing on the planet Enitrus, detectives Littlejohn and Petra are in a calamitous state of affairs.

Sizzled is the fourth book in the Blood-Hound series. Although the theme is labeled Gay, which is misleading, the plot actually features heterosexual, as well as gay couples. Littlejohn is a dog shifter and Petra is a human female, who needs more protection in a battle with shifters, so Littlejohn recruits all available shifters to be Petra’s bodyguards. Racing back to Earth, Matt and Cliff, along with their lovers, encounter a traitor in their mist which set off a chain of spaceship battles.  

Declan Sands has created an interesting science fiction saga. I particularly enjoyed the space mêlée scenes.    

Blood of an Ancient

Author: Rinda Elliott
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61921-427-9
Genre: {M/F} Urban Fantasy Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx
Release Date: 10-22-13

Beri O’Dell needs to get her lover Nikolos back from where he’s been imprisoned in a level of hell. It’s a dangerous mission and before she can go after him, Beri has to fix her friend Blythe’s broken magic and find the blood of an ancient. Neither task is quick or easy, but that’s not all she and her friends have to deal with. Something evil is sucking the life out of people and the land, witches are being enthralled, and somehow a messed up spell is transporting Beri to Nikolos—right into hell, every time she goes to sleep.  Beri will need to use every trick at her disposal if she wants to retrieve Nikolos before he forgets who he is forever.

Blood of an Ancient is the second release in Rinda Elliott’s Beri O’Dell series. It takes up shortly after the first book left off, so they should be read in order.

The world Ms. Elliott has created just keeps getting better. The depth of her descriptions and the variety of characters continue to amaze me—and she somehow manages to weave them into a complicated plot and have it make sense. I mean who would have thought that astral projection, demons, be-spelled witches and a sprite vampire would actually work together, but it does and that’s just some of the components in this well written story.

Personality development of the characters is all top-notch. The pace is fast, there are plenty of baddies and I’m happy to say we get to learn a little more about Beri’s mysterious and dangerous family. I also can’t forget that there’s lots of action and danger as she and her friends attempt to mount a rescue of Nikolos. As you can probably tell there’s just a lot going on in this story—really too much for a review to do it justice. I suggest you give this series a try and see for yourself. Be aware—it ends on a cliffhanger that will be resolved—I assume in book three. I look forward to the next release.