Friday, May 1, 2009

WindChaser


Title: WindChaser
Author: Charlotte Boyett-Compo
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419918117
Genre: Futuristic
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Ranulf “Mac” MacKirnan is a walking wet dream. While he has no trouble granting women their fantasies, he feels he is of no other use to them. Resigned to a fate of having a revolving door to his bedroom, Mac’s life changes the day he views Jade Shimota’s picture. He decides he has to have a taste of the beautiful Guardian even if all he ever is granted is a taste.

Jade is too busy building her career to want more from a man than him being a agreeable bed warmer in the winter. She loves her independence, and has no plans to give it up. Looking at Mac’s picture something twists inside Jade and whispers, “he’s the one”. However, she doesn’t want a partner, someone to build a life with, a permanent lover – or does she?

These two are a force to reckon with, in their own ways. Both are strong, determined, and take to permanent change like a reluctant virgin on her wedding night. Love, however, has another plan in mind, and regardless of their strength or psychic abilities, there is nothing to do but buckle up and enjoy the ride.

WindChaser is definitely going to be one of my favorite books in the WindVerse series. There is so much more to Mac than I realized, and gaining a glimpse of his past gave me new respect for the man. I was happy to see Jade recognize how she was living or should I say not living her life. We all get fixated on what we deem important, that sometimes we miss life’s blessings and the gifts that could make the experience more enjoyable. Charlotte Boyett-Compo continues to be one of my favorite authors. Each book is a joy to read thanks to her humor, bigger than life characters, settings and fantastic plots. The erotic moments vary in degrees of heat, but each can give a bowl of Texas chili a run for its money. I loved the book and look forward to reading more of her stories.

Tomcat Jones




Title: Tomcat Jones
Author: Willa Okati
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-913-3
Genre: Shape Shifter, M/M
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

T.J. Jones and his best friend are in the grocery store stocking up on junk food when his basket crashes into McGowan Smith. The minute their eyes meet, there is an instant attraction so strong that T.J. is speechless and McGowan’s smile ramps up to blinding when he realizes this is his new neighbor. T.J, who does not believe in love, mainly because his dates have run away screaming when they discovered T.J. shifted into a cat, was starting to feel a glimmer of hope. McGowan, who also has a bad track record in the love department, immediately feels that T.J. is “The One” he has been waiting for. Rapidly falling in love with each other and engaging in explosive lovemaking when all too soon, the truth is revealed when McGowan, an untrained wizard, loses control of his emotions and his magic causes T.J. to shift into a cat in front of him.

Tomcat Jones is an outstanding and hilarious piece of fiction. McGowan is a lovable and easy-going guy who is clueless about being an undeveloped wizard, nor does he realize that T.J. is his familiar until the reality of strange happenings reveals the magic surrounding him and T.J. Although T.J. is used to wizards, he is taken by surprise when he discovers McGowan has magic. The amazing Willa Okati has created a well written, well paced marvelous tale with emotions that moved me from laughter to tears. The characters are vibrant in addition to being poignant, the intimate scenes are volatile. Tomcat Jones is a spectacular story that I absolutely enjoyed and recommend.

Cruel Memories


Title: Cruel Memories
Author: Darcy Abriel
Publisher: Amber Heat
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberHeat/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-501-0
Genre: Gothic/Contemporary/Het
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Satyr Vael

Devon Masters is struggling with demons no man should ever have. His half-brother, Gavin Killian, is dead after a lifetime of evil and cruelty. Ten years ago, Gavin raped their step-sister, Haley. Now Haley's back to prove to Devon, who married her to keep her safe, that she's a woman and she needs Devon in her life for good. But can Devon let go of the past long enough to give them a chance?

Cruel Memories is dark and brooding, just like the hero, Devon Masters. He's a man haunted by a past full of heartbreak and sheer evil at the hands of his half-brother. Yet he can't ignore the love he feels for Haley.

Haley is grown now, and she's moved beyond the attack that scarred her so deeply. She needs Devon and is strong enough to make him see it.

The love between them is strong, and the love scenes are perfectly suited to the overall tone of the story. There's a darkness that permeates the book and it lends itself to the story very well. My only complaint is that I feel it could've been a bit longer. There's a lot of history that is somewhat skimmed over, and I think there's much more to tell. That being said, I'm becoming quite a fan of Darcy Abriel's and can't wait to read her next book.

Mad Blood


Title: Mad Blood
Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.net
ISBN: 978-1-55487-270-1
Genre: Gay M/M, Paranormal, Vampire
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Dante Toren’s return to Detroit isn’t everything he thought it would be. First there is the nosy teenage werewolf that asks too many questions. Then when he decides to play Good Samaritan and take the kid home, he finds a pack of dead wolves and hungry empusa. If that isn’t enough, he has to deal with his feelings for Brenden.

Brenden is tired of being the clan fledgling. When a call for help comes in, he and his fellow geek vamps head out to help, taking their new weapon with them. When Brenden goes all primal helping Dante, he seals his fate in more ways than one. Now the new team leader has to get his team in top fighting order, hope the bad guy does not come for him and get Dante to fall in love with him.

The ongoing battle between Pure Ones (borne vamps) and Drone (made vampires) continues in Mad Blood by Stephani Hecht. Coming into the series at book four, I was worried that I might not grasp enough of the history to enjoy the story. That was not the case as the author does an outstanding job filling in the background story without bogging down the current one. While Brenden has loved Dante for some time, it isn’t until recently that Dante knew that Brenden is even interested in him. When the two get together, stand back because nothing will keep them apart, not even a pissed-off older sister. The secondary characters are just as great with everything from the expected bad-ass vamp to geek vamps that can’t seem to walk and carry a gun at the same time. This story is filled with lots of great action. I can’t wait to check out the earlier books.

Thursday, April 30, 2009

Zero at the Bone


Title: Zero at the Bone
Author: Jane Seville
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-935192-80-0
Genre: Contemporary Suspense M/M
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Who knew a cookie could cause so much trouble? For most, it could mean the difference between clothes that fit or feeling as if you’ve been put through a sausage machine. However, for poor Jack Francisco, it changes his uncomplicated existence into a dangerous situation that could shorten his life expectancy.

A moment of weakness leads Jack straight into protective custody after witnessing a mob hit. His squeaky-clean record and intelligence make him a prosecutor’s wet dream and a defense attorney’s worse nightmare.

D, an unlikely hero, is a hitman with morals, blackmailed into taking Jack’s contract. One look at Jack and D knows this one is different. Something about the man propels D from the position of executioner to protector and that’s when the fun begins.

Jane Seville, I have to say I love your style. D and Jack aren’t your average couple. They are two people you would never see just getting together in a sports bar and saying, “Let’s go on a date!” The men met under stressful conditions and bonded while relying on one another for safety. Jack is a naturally upbeat friendly person who has to adapt to his new situation. D’s job dictates secrecy and his hermit-like way of life, because to trust too easily could spell death. Jack, however, works his way right under D’s armor. I loved reading this story. It has plenty of action, suspense, mystery, and erotic moments to keep your attention. I know more is in store for this couple and I plan to visit Ms. Seville’s website to continue reading about Jack and D.

Another Royal Dilemma


Title: Another Royal Dilemma
Author: Robin Gideon
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-528-2
Genre: Historical Ménage
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Princess Tatiana, a wealthy heiress, is taking control of her life now that her husband has abandoned her, which means she will be able to divorce him. She is enjoying the time spent with her two lovers at every opportunity possible. After being apart for almost two weeks taking care of their properties, the three of them are planning an evening of ménage a trios together at Mademoiselle Veronique’s exclusive nightclub.

Before they can arrive at their destination, into the coach bursts a frightened and cold young girl, running away from an evil man who has just purchased her. The methodical minds of Prince Dimitri, Count Klaus, and Princess Tatiana help Majedah so she doesn’t have to return to the evil prince. They are determined to help her by using their connections with the royal family and to create a new life for her.

Another Royal Dilemma is the second book in the Royal Desires series and I must say that even though it was short, it kept me reading all the way through. Robin Gideon did a fabulous job of writing about how the Russian royalty live, and the determination of the main characters to help a total stranger. The way that this story unfolded was very interesting because of the actions of some of the secondary characters, and I anxiously await the next book to see what adventure the three lovers get into again.

Wednesday, April 29, 2009

Marry Me Or Die


Title: Marry Me Or Die
Author: D. J. Manly
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-260-2
Genre: Romance, Science Fiction, Gay, M/M
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Silus could feel the hand of the new emperor around his throat like a vice. Unlike the other citizens, he knew there was going to be a high price to pay for the change in power. To Silus, love is a fairytale. There was no room in his life for monogamy or marriage. Unfortunately, the new rules decreed that he must marry with harsh punishments for those who disobey the law.

Crash, the emperor’s son, is about to turn eighteen and he knows his father won’t bat an eye about enforcing the rules to save face. When he meets Silus, he understands why the man doesn’t believe in monogamy. With his body and looks, Silus could have as many lovers as he desired. Crash sees potential for erotic encounters and an exciting marriage filled with the unexpected, if Silus would become his mate. So Crash offers an ultimatum he can’t refuse, Marry Me Or Die.

D.J. Manly’s Marry Me Or Die takes us into the life of a man who enjoys sowing his oats. Silus has a passion he doesn’t think one person can truly quench, or at least he’s not willing to find out through matrimony. Crash is beautiful, smart, and willing to put a burr under his father’s saddle for imposing the law on him. Their initial meeting had me laughing and then fanning. Over time, you could see the feelings transform from lust to love. In addition, while there was an abundance of erotic sensual lovemaking, D.J. Manly took the time to mix it with a great plot and fantastic characters that were believable with real conflicts. This was a wonderful story and I can’t wait to see what the author comes up with next.

Love's Blood


Title: Love's Blood
Author: A. J. Llewellyn
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-271-8
Genre: Vampires, M/M
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Awaken by his husband’s screams for help and the crying of his baby nephew Akua, Div rushes into the living room to find the room spattered with blood. A warning cry from the birds earlier that day had informed Div that trouble was on the way and he was preparing to meet the challenge, except he never suspected that his husband Tem would be kidnapped instead of the storm demon Akua. Following his mental link with Tem, Div flies to Vietnam where Tem is being held by the devil’s servants. Many years ago, Div had made a deal with the devil to grant him a second chance at love. Now the devil wants payment and Div must decide who he can bear to lose, Tem or Akua.

Love’s Blood is book four in the Waikiki Vampire series. Div must outwit the devil before he can rescue Tem. Familiar with the illusions the devil creates, Div thinks he is prepared for the false images; however he soon discovers that the true Hell is being tormented by your own fears. Only his logical intellect allows Div his freedom and salvation for his love ones. A. J. Llewellyn creates another interesting saga interwoven with some of Vietnam’s history and the correlation to the book title. I enjoy this series and look forward to the next installment.

Sutcliffe Cove


Title: Sutcliffe Cove
Author: Ariel Tachna & Madeleine Urban
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-935192-82-4
Genre: M/M Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

All work and no play would make Gerald Saunders a very dull man. Under the accountant’s geeky persona beats the heart of an adventurous spirit. Gerald needs a new venue to relax, and decides to take horse riding lessons. He remembers his first experience with horses, and believes it’s just want he needs. With no man in his life, this will give Gerald the balance he needs for his professional and personal life.

Brett Sutcliffe knew he would ultimately settle down on the family farm. Sutcliffe Cove is now his to run and he plans to expand one day. A social life is hard to squeeze in with the daily operations and riding lessons. The handsome proprietor stopped trying to find a woman for his life a long time ago, and while he doesn’t have time to meet many men, he’s gorgeous enough to attract plenty of suitors.

The two hit it off from the very beginning and over the course of months, Gerald soon adapts to farm life and riding. Gerald’s vacation gives them both time to reflect on their friendship, and the ache his absence has left behind. Will the men find they are actual soul mates, or will they decide to remain friends?

Sutcliffe Cove takes us to an unspoiled Connecticut farm where Brett and Gerald spend most of their time. The beautifully described setting had me relaxed and ready for the smells and sounds the farm had to offer. Brett is a man who knows his own mind. He loves his farm and enjoys the patrons who come for riding lessons. Gerald hoped the lessons would be a way to get out of the office and unwind. I was happy to see he gained far more from the farm. Watching his childlike reaction to riding, and interacting with the animals had me looking up the numbers for local farms that offer riding lessons. I could feel his excitement and wanted to experience it for myself. Ariel Tachna and Madeleine Urban have created an inviting story. While there is some conflict, and a mild dose of drama, there is also a great deal of first time experiences, a friendship fortified out of respect and caring, and passion. The two main characters felt like long time friends. I thoroughly enjoyed Sutcliffe Cove, and plan to permanently add these authors to my “Must Read” list.

Tuesday, April 28, 2009

Dissonance


Title: Dissonance
Author: Sonja Spencer
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-935192-76-3
Genre: Gay M/M, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Matthias is returning to school after the summer break, apprehensive about what he will find. The shy, fragile young musician hopes that the new dorm will be better than his last, yet wonders about the older student who runs the place.

It is easy for Kent to see that Matthias has suffered in some way as the young man wears his fear for all to see. Determined to get to know him, Kent gently pursues Matthias, in hopes that Matthias will eventual return the feelings Kent is starting to have for him.

Sonja Spencer’s Dissonance is a heartwarming story of two young men who find that love and music can heal most wounds. The author does a wonderful job showing Matthias’ struggle as he tries to put the abuse of his past behind him. Kent understands the issues Matthias faces, as well as his need for the younger student round out this wonderful story.

Hell Dogs Squadron 2: Angle of Attack


Title: Hell Dogs Squadron 2: Angle of Attack
Author: AR Moler
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerepress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-670-4
Genre: M/M Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

It’s been three days since an operative from Division P spirited Cameron away to a secured secret facility. He’s spent the time resting, getting de-briefed and going through a series of healing sessions meant to rid him of his remaining accident injuries. The hours have also left him with more than enough time to worry and wonder about Mason and what he’s doing.

Time for Mason has passed slowly since Cameron left abruptly with a government agent. He’s spent the hours working…healing through surgery, with the injured pilot never far from his mind. As he tries to relax after work, he begins to notice small things in his home are out of place, but realizes nothing has been stolen. It’s only after speaking with Cameron that events escalate again and Mason is running for his life.

Angle of Attack is the second release in AR Moler’s Hell Dogs Squadron trilogy and it takes up immediately where Touch and Go left off. There’s nothing slow or boring in this fast-paced and well-plotted short story. The author gets you up to speed quickly, giving the reader the information needed on where Cameron and Mason have been during the three days they’ve been apart. From that point forward, the story picks up the pace, always moving forward, not only with the danger Mason and Cameron are in, but on the physical and emotional relationship that’s developing between them. The psychic aspect of their personalities and the people of Division P are more prominent in this portion of the ongoing storyline but it never dominates the overall tale, which I appreciated. I also enjoyed the background information on Mason and his healing gift through his grandmother. I can’t wait to see the culmination of this story, and where Mason and Cameron end up, personally and professionally, with the last release in this interesting trilogy.

Werewulf Journals 5: Hunting Chase


Title: Werewulf Journals 5: Hunting Chase
Author: Camille Anthony
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-909-6
Genre: Multicultural Shape-shifter Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph


The closer she gets to mating with Chase, the more Andrea continues to ache for him. He has sent so many gifts that Andrea can barely keep track of them all. There is only one gift the young woman truly wants. Andrea wants Chase to love her and refuses to accept anything less. Chase only cares for her because she is a breed and sees her as a child. By the time they are married, Andrea is determined to let Chase know she is a full grown woman who means business.

Years of waiting to claim Andrea as his mate has been hell on Chase. Staying away from Andrea was the only way Chase had been able to last without touching her. By complying with her family’s wishes, Chase was going against everything his wulf wanted most and alienating the one person he wanted to be the closest to. Andrea was more stubborn than Chase realized and as arousing as that made him, it also caused problems in their relationship.

Even though she’s young, Andrea definitely has a woman’s desire for her man, and she isn’t afraid to let it loose on Chase. She has more than enough fire to keep Chase on his toes. I’m glad her character wasn’t portrayed as a shy virgin being forced into a marriage against her will and that her deflowering wasn’t a typical one. Camille Anthony always knows how to shock readers the right way when it comes to her blistering sex scenes, and this one is no different. It was a bit difficult for me to accept the age difference between the couple, even though I know they shouldn’t be judged by human standards. Throughout the story, I didn’t feel enough vibes of love coming off Chase, only lust. However, by the end of the story he definitely surprised me with the depth of emotions for Andrea’s friends, and for Andrea. Wulves are such randy beings that sometimes I forget about their feelings. It was nice to get the reminder. There are some unexpected tear jerking moments that will touch readers and leave them hopeful. Werewulf Journals 5: Hunting Chase is a great installment in the series that will leave you yearning for what comes next with several characters. I will never grow tired of this passionate pack of Alphas and I pray that Camille Anthony never grows tired of gifting us with their escapades.

By Degrees


Title: By Degrees
Author: JB McDonald
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-410-6
Genre: Gay M/M Erotic Romance, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Conner and Tim have known each other since school. While they spent less than a year together and only stayed in touch with a few letters, they had formed a strong bond. Conner hopes it is strong enough to stand up to the test he is getting ready to place on their friendship. Transferring to San Diego, Conner decides to stay with Tim for a few days to check out the area. As the two of them renew their friendship, Conner's feelings for Tim continue to grow as well.

Tim is not sure he’s ready for his friend's visit. Uncomfortable with people invading his space at the best of times, Tim is doubly uncomfortable with the large man who stepped of the plane. When Conner ends up revealing his feelings for Tim, the man is unsure how to handle it.

By Degrees by JB McDonald is an engaging story of two old friends and the struggle they go through when that friendship is redefined. Both the main characters, as well as the meddling secondary ones, are strongly written. The fact that not everything is always easy is a refreshing change from the normal template of some to today’s romance stories.

Incognito Stroke of Midnight


Title: Incognito Stroke of Midnight
Author: Madison Layle & Anna Leigh Keaton
Publisher: Cobblestone Press
Publisher URL: http://www.cobblestone-press.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60088-336-1
Genre: BDSM
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Tara hits on a mysterious Special Ops Marine on his way back to the Middle East. She has no idea where he’s headed, but she knows she wants him in her bed before the Stroke of Midnight. As a Marine, his career has shown him things that would scar most, but now he knows it’s time to leave the Marines behind. Tara sparks his interest and gives him a parting gift he won’t forget.

My hat is off to Madison Layle & Anna Leigh Keaton on this short story. I hope I’m not giving anything away, but it never dawned on me just how mysterious the male character actually was. I know this is leading into Incognito 11, and I’m already biting at the bit to get to the next installment. Incognito Stroke of Midnight adds suspense and a steamy erotic encounter to ensure you’ll be wanting more. I definitely loved reading this story. Those who have enjoyed the series so far will be seeking a cold drink and the next episode of Tara and her Marine’s adventure.

Prince of Fire


Title: Prince of Fire
Author: Tawny Taylor
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-390-6
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Life has changed for Prince Talen Jacek, the one time heir to the Phoenician throne. Cursed by the gods for his self-indulgent, lustful ways, he’s spent the last two thousand years dying time after time, so one stranger after another may live. The long years have passed with emotional isolation and loneliness as he waits for the next victim to save. Talen feels nothing for the individuals he saves, that is, until he set his eyes on Keri.

Computer Programmer Keri Maddox leads a quiet life of work, a few friends and trying to stay safe and avoid her stalker, ex-boyfriend. When she discovers her apartment was nearly broken into, she turns to her hunky neighbor for the protection she can’t get from the local police. Can this man claiming to be in the security business keep her safe, or is she putting herself in danger by trusting a man she barely knows?

Prince of Fire is the first release in Tawny Taylor’s new Black Phoenix series. I loved the twist in the Phoenix legend; instead of a bird rising from the ashes, it’s a man coming back to life after sacrificing his life to save another. Talen is everything a hero should be; strong, protective, sexy, determined to do the right thing, and loyal to a fault. Keri is sweet, kind, and the woman Talen has been waiting for his entire existence. The chemistry between these two is intense and passionate, as they struggle to stay ahead of Keri’s stalker.

Unfortunately, for me, the relationship starts off to quickly and strangely. Do you actually know any woman who wouldn’t freak if she found a male neighbor she barely knows, nearly naked and cooking in her kitchen? I don’t… even if he did claim to have seen a man trying to get into her apartment? I don’t think so. Then there’s the whole “I’ll stay with a stranger instead of a friend” when Keri feels threatened. Call me cynical, but I just can’t see it happening. And what’s with the police refusing to grant her a protection order against her ex-boyfriend? I don’t see that happening either.

Talen’s torment is real and you have to feel for a man who has sacrificed so much, for so many lifetimes. Knowing his anguish made it all the sweeter to see this alpha man find the love and companionship he’d desired for nearly two millennia. The ending revelation of the identity of Keri’s stalker and why he was targeting her was a complete and total surprise, which I appreciated. It will be interesting to see where this series goes with the next release in this new and intriguing series.

Monday, April 27, 2009

Most Likely To Succeed


Title: Most Likely To Succeed
Author: Shawn Lane
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/
ISBN: 13: 978-1-60272-503-4
Genre: Contemporary, M/M
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Thomas Harrigan is a new employee to the Law Offices of Clark Sterling and Associates. Also, he has a secret crush on his boss. Thomas never imagined that Clark would be interested in him until one night Thomas was having dinner with a friend and Clark invited himself to their table. When dinner was over, Clark asked Thomas to come to his apartment. Thinking this would be a one night stand, Thomas could not resist Clark’s offer. What started out as just one night continued for weeks, with both men falling in love with each other. A future together is starting to seem promising until Clark discovered that Thomas’ resume was sent to a rival law firm.

Most Likely To Succeed is a skillfully written expressive love story. Clark had declared never to get involved with another employee after the first betrayal he suffered; yet he is immediately attracted to Thomas, an attraction that soon develops into love. Thinking he has been betrayed a second time, Clark fired Thomas and refused all contact with him. Thomas is heartbroken but after some time to reflect has passed, Thomas resolves to move on with his life, even if it means moving to another state. Shawn Lane creates the most amazing stories bursting with heart warming passion and sensual love scenes, amid a well paced plot and intelligent characters. I thoroughly enjoyed Most Likely To Succeed.

Angels of the Deep




Title: Angels of the Deep
Author: Kirby Crow
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-027-6
Genre: Mystery/Gay (M/M)/Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Satyr Vael

As Chief of Police for Irenic, New York, Becket Merriday has a fairly uneventful life. That’s all about to change, though, when someone begins murdering young men in this small town. It’s up to Beck and fellow officer Sean Logan to find the killer. But things aren’t always as they appear, and soon, Beck finds them both drawn into a supernatural fight that has more to do with him than he truly understands.

Angels of the Deep is the quintessential supernatural dark thriller. I’ve always been a big fan of Kirby Crow, and this novel is her absolute best. Rife with paranormal intrigue and characters ranging from demonic to angelic, it’s superbly written.

It’s difficult to go into details because there are so many intricate twists and turns within the plot that it would be easy to give away too much. Suffice it to say, Sean and Beck’s love is the perfect compliment to the overall plot.

Angels of the Deep is one of those books that draw you in so deeply, you can’t close it until the end. It’s a dark story, complex and intense. It’s disturbing yet enlightening (on a weird, somewhat twisted level, anyway). If you’re looking for something that stays with you for a very long time, this book is it.

The Valde: Water


Title: The Valde: Water
Author: Astrid Amara
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-929-4
Genre: LGBT Urban Fantasy/Paranormal M/M
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Joel’s birthday lost its luster, when it became the day he lost his lover Charlie. A day designed for celebrating became a day of mourning, and life hasn’t been the same. This year Joel has decided to spend his day alone, and finds himself facing a man who looks just like Charlie, in fact it is Charlie. Joel wants answers, and Charlie wants him to keep his distance. However, how do you give up something you thought lost to you forever?

Charlie isn’t the same man Joel remembers, and he is in no position to explain why. Too bad Joel’s head is as hard as ever, because the people he didn’t want to focus on him are now trying to permanently remove him from the picture. Is there a way to stop the threat and keep Joel safe?

Astrid Amara brings lost love and supernatural powers to us in The Valde: Water. Joel is a brilliant professor who loves teaching about military strategy and wars. He never knew passion on the level that Charlie delivered it, and found his life and heart vacant without his lover. Charlie knew Joel shouldn’t be affecting him as much as he did, but something wouldn’t allow him to turn his back on Joel. This story isn’t as cut and dry as you would like to believe when you start reading. Ms. Amara incorporates sex and suspense to create a wonderful story, not to mention two fantastic main characters and a setting that pulls it all together and makes the story flow. I’m looking forward to the next installment in The Valde series.

Edward Unconditionally


Title: Edward Unconditionally
Author: Lynn Lorenz
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-910-2
Genre: M/M Paranormal Romance
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Edward Paul Beauregard III has terrible taste in men, and has had his heart shredded more times than he cares to remember. After his latest publicly humiliating breakup, Edward packs his designer bags, grabs his beloved bulldog, Winston, and hops into his red Miata, leaving Atlanta behind as he heads to Spring Lake, Texas, and his ailing grandmother. When Chief of Police, Jack Whittaker pulls Edward over for speeding, events quickly swirl out of control. A routine traffic stop ends with a struggle, a blown-out car tire, and Winston impounded for biting. Despite their rough beginning and his initial rejection, Edward is smitten by the handsome, older lawman. The only problem…Jack’s not gay, or is he?

Jack Whittaker is deeply in the closet and doesn’t intend to ever venture out of its safe, albeit lonely walls. He likes his town, enjoys his job and the respect that goes with it, and hasn’t been intimate with anything other than his own hand in years. When he stops Edward for speeding, the attractive, younger man and his bulldog nearly destroys the control he’s valued for so long. No matter how much Jack wants to deny it, his attraction to the flamboyant man is only growing stronger, making him wild and reckless with desire. He doesn’t understand it. How can he be attracted to such an unmanly man? Jack has some tough decision to make. Can he take the heat for his choice of partner, or will he let the love of his life slip through his fingers without a fight?

Edward Unconditionally is the latest release in the Common Powers series by talented author, Lynn Lorenz. As with the other books in this well-written and intriguing series, this newest release can be enjoyed as a stand-alone book. However, as a huge fan of the series, I recommend you read them in order, so you can get a realistic feel for the relationships between the new and old characters.

I thoroughly enjoyed the first two books in this series, but I have to admit upfront that I love this one. Edward is a dear, sweet man who has absolutely no luck when it comes to undying love and fidelity in a partner. It’s as if he has a curse hanging over his head, ready at a moment’s notice to cause him untold emotional pain and suffering. On the other hand, I often wanted to shake Jack until his teeth rattled. He is big, handsome, dedicated and so afraid of being hurt, he repeatedly hurts Edward instead. Control is definitely Jack’s watchword.

The opening scenes between these two men starts out with a bang, literally, when Jack stops Edward from speeding down the road, and his firearm is discharged accidentally The action is fast, the emotions high, and the dialogue so funny, I had tears in my eyes…and Winston, Edwards’s bulldog buddy, is a hoot!

These two men both bring problems to this story, but they also bring what the other needs…each other. While the fire and passion flaring between Edward and Jack is undeniable, so to is their pain. There were often times when I didn’t think these two would ever get it right despite their obvious caring and unwanted assistance from Edward’s grandmother and the help of some awesome characters we met in the first two books.

Like Sammi and Brian, Edward has a gift…a power to take illness into his body and heal. One of the many things I appreciate about this series is that even though one of the main characters has a ‘power’, it in no way overshadows the romance. It might help propel the story forward, but it does so rather quietly, and from the background, never becoming the main focus of the tale.

I look forward to see where this series is going, and can’t wait for the next release.

I’d Rather Be in Paris


Title: I’d Rather Be in Paris
Author: Misty Evans
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-471-2
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

When Zara Morgan decides she wants something, she goes after it with a vengeance, and most people she knows have learned she rarely changes her mind. Becoming a secret agent is what she wants more than anything at the moment, and her boss is behind her one hundred percent. Zara is willing to go up against Lawson Vaughn for control of a mission they’ve been sharing, and she is still new to the job. She throws him for a loop with a hot red silk dress that’s perfect for a little distraction. This is where their battle of minds begins.

Commander Vaughn is very much a control freak in his work leading his search and rescue teams, which means he doesn’t like change, or interference with his plans. After leaving the director’s office, he has already started working things out in his head how Zara Morgan will fit into the upcoming trip they are taking together. It gets harder for him to separate himself from his emotions for her, and he finds that he wants to keep her safe, which Zara doesn’t appreciate.

I’d Rather Be in Paris is a fantastic suspense story that kept me trying to figure out Zara’s character the whole time. She was considered a poor little rich girl trying to prove to others that she was normal, which had a lot to do with her attitude. Her fears of being used as a shield by the villain, and failing her mission would constantly interfere with her sound judgments. These two lovers were not always able to speak the truth to each other and made false assumptions frequently.

All hell broke loose the minute the secondary characters came into play for Zara and Lawson with shootouts and car chases. They found themselves on the run before they could get all of the information they needed to find their targets. Zara and Lawson are not able to ignore their electric attraction, and when the opportunity presented itself, they are able to do more than tease each other. Misty Evans did a wonderful job writing about espionage, biochemical warfare, the Italian Mafia, and blooming romances under difficult circumstances. I look forward to her next book in this series.

The Price Of His Redemption


Title: The Price Of His Redemption
Author: Jamie Craig
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-497-6
Genre: Gay M/M, Ménage M/F/M, Dark Fantasy, Vampire, BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Jesse Madding’s focus isn’t on Guardian training; with Emma Coolidge back safely in his and Gideon Keel’s arms, it’s hard to concentrate on anything else. Something is amiss and Emma’s actions are leading them to believe there is some unfinished business. Her sleepwalking doesn’t disturb them until she is caught searching for a book on dimensional magic. The bond between Emma and Jesse is still strong, but causes them to get in way over their heads. Gideon is used to his lovers depending on him. He feels Jesse and Emma no longer need him. Is this true, or are these just his fears surfacing?

Jesse must find out what’s going on with Emma, and put an end to her sleepwalking before it’s too late.

The Price Of His Redemption is Book X and the final installment of The Master Chronicles. Jesse proves himself not just to Gideon, but also to Michelle and Emma on some level. His strength to do what is right and necessary surpasses his desire to keep those he loves safe from harm. Regardless of being stronger than Gideon, he still needs Gideon to be his white knight and save the day. I love that about these books. Even though Gideon is a vampire, he doesn’t allow his baser instincts to interfere with his hidden more human side. He wants to be the knight, the lover, the provider and he’s just so damn good at it. This was a fantastic series and I’m saddened to see it come to an end.

I have to admit I’m going to miss Emma, Gideon, Jesse, Michelle, and Dominique. These characters have brought me months of entertainment. I’ll miss Gideon most of all. His edgy brand of sex, love, and domination has left me squirming in my seat a time or two, and his bloodlust is not for the weak at heart. Emma, Gideon, and Jesse make the perfect complex family. Jesse’s love of pain mixed with pleasure has kept Gideon content since the beginning, and Emma’s completes them by adding the soft feminine side. I love the complex characters Jamie Craig has created; each distinctive with personalities that are believable, despite if they are human, supernatural, or a vampire. The stories combine exquisitely erotic sex, with suspense, mystery, and battles that make the stories flow, latching on to your mind until the end.

I know Jamie Craig will have more exciting stories, and I’ll be there to read them all.