Tuesday, January 24, 2017

Wolfmanny

Title: Wolfmanny
Author:  Julia Talbot
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-287-2
Genre: {M/M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Publish Date: Feb. 6, 2017

Kenneth was given custody of his nieces and nephews after the death of his sister.  But Kenneth is not only an Alpha, he’s also CEO of a large software company and doesn’t have the time to take care of the children on his own.  He’s gone through several different nannies and, after his oldest bites the latest nanny, he’s forced to look somewhere else for help.  What surprises Kenneth is that the nanny he is expecting turns out to be a many, as well as his mate.  Having Jack show up gives Kenneth the courage to claim Miles, his beta and other mate as well. 

Wolfmanny is the first book in Ms. Talbot’s new series, Nose to Tail, Inc.  This first book is a great shifter story with a few twists thrown in to keep the reader’s attention till the last page.  This is a ménage story that centers on the Alpha, Kenneth Marcon, his beta Miles, and the newest member of the household, Jack. 

First there is Kenneth.  From the beginning, it is easy to see how much he loves his nieces and nephews.  After caring for them so long, he sees them as his own children and will do anything for them.  I also liked the way he is with Miles, even before he claims his beta, he sees the man as his.  But Kenneth has a strong sense of responsibly and does not know when to step away from work.

Then there is Miles.  Miles is the pack beta.  It is his responsibility to be there for the pack when Kenneth isn’t.  He’s also Kenneth’s right hand man when it comes to the business.  When the new manny shows up, he is intrigued by the other man and is surprised by Kenneth’s reaction.

Last there is Jack.  Jack used to be an enforcer in his original pack.  He also has military training and has worked as a manny many times.  He is just what the Marcon family needs, not because they are bad kids but because they are young wolves with a lot of energy.  He is also just what Miles and Kenneth need as he helps Kenneth learn to relax and shows Miles that he is wanted.   With him there, the other two men are finally comfortable acknowledging their feelings for each other, as well as Jack.  I loved the chemistry between these three men.   Even though things move fast, it comes across naturally so the relationship between the men does not seem rushed.  Before the men have a chance to complete the mating, Kenneth must go away on business which leads to some hairy situations. 

There are a few little situations that pop up that will keep the reader’s attention.  One really surprised me and I felt bad for Simone, Kenneth’s oldest.  I also loved the children, especially Ginny and Thomas.  There are also a few other secondary characters that really help make the story.  

I am curious to see what the next story will be about and hope we will not have to wait too long.

Thick & Thin

Title: Thick & Thin
Author: Charlie Cochet
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-389-3
Genre: M/M, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Release Date Feb 1, 2017

Everything is changing for Destructive Delta; the biggest change will be Dex and Sloan’s life together as well as a change in their career duties.

Thick & Thin is the sequel to Smoke & Mirrors and the eighth book in the THIRDS series.  Kidnapped from the home he shares with Sloan, Dex is interrogated by a mysterious Therian where Dex learns the whole truth about his parents, John and Gina Daley’s homicide. This new information has set Dex on a mission to root out the secret government agencies, but access to the identities of the underground operation means he must become an undercover agent for the Therian Intelligence Network.

The second part of Dex’s mission, along with soon to be husband Sloan, is to protect their Destructive Delta family.

Thick & Thin answers questions of events introduced in Smoke & Mirrors, as well as opens the doors for the next level of crime fighting. Think of it as FBI agents promoted to CIA in the world today. 

Charlie Cochet has created another impressive and enjoyable installment to the THIRDS series. I look forward to discovering the answers to the burning questions of who is this underground government and what do they want? 

Wulf and the Bounty Hunter

Author:  Gail Koger
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-227-1
Genre: {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Fantasy, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Wulf meets Yakira as a child, after she steals his credit chip.  Not only does he discover she is a Jones, he realizes she is his mate and wants to protect her until she is 21, when he can claim her.  Yakira gets away and doesn’t meet Wulf again until she is close to being of age.

Wulf and the Bounty Hunter is the sixth book in the Coletti Warlords and highlights another Warlord and a Jones woman.  Those that have read previous stories know that a Jones woman has a way of constantly being in trouble and is also very smart and, for the most part, is also a warrior with lots of psychic talent.  Yakira is no exception to this rule, as is the non-stop action in this stories.

I love the way Ms. Koger works humor into her stories.  The women are constantly snarky to all, including their Warlords.  A lot of characters from previous books show up as Yakira and the sister of her heart constantly come up with ideas that get them into trouble. I was constantly laughing at the mishaps.

Between kidnappings, threats, and trying to get together, Yakira and Wulf get to know each other and Yakira doesn’t want to wait to mate.  Even though things get hot and heavy between them mentally and with kisses, Wulf keeps putting her off.  They have some great chemistry and I laughed at how quickly they left their bonding ceremony. 

I am looking forward to reading more about the Coletti Warlords in the future.  This is one series I am looking forward to reading over and over again.

Destination, Wedding!

Author:  Xavier Maine
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63533-198-1
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Release Date: Jan. 30, 2017

Ethan and Gabriel are finally getting married.  That is if they can get to the church on time.  With Mother Nature putting her two cents in, the men are worried about what this will mean for the happiest day of their lives.

Destination, Wedding!  is the sixth book in the Brandt and Donnelly Capers series.  In this book, Ethan and Gabriel are ready to get married but when a previous case causes them to lose their wedding venue, the simple wedding they planned becomes a destination wedding in England.  If that is not a big enough problem, the men become separated.  First when Ethan has to go to San Diego for a conference, and then later when a volcano erupts in Iceland, causing many flights to be canceled.  This is really the first time the two men have been away from each other since becoming partners while on the job, and both are struggling with that separation.  As Ethan and Gabriel make their way to England, they are forced to take a deeper look at who they are as individuals and what the other person means to them. 

I really loved this story.  I have been waiting for these two to get married from the moment they got together and wondered how the author would go about doing that.  This story did not disappoint.  The separation Ethan and Gabriel are forced to endure is one full of adventure for both, yet they still miss the other and while Gabriel sees just how much Ethan means to him, it is Ethan that really under goes the biggest change.  When these two finally meet up again, watch out because they will burn up the pages.

There are a lot of secondary characters in Destination, Wedding!.  Of course, Bryce and Nestor are there and these two will have you laughing from the moment they show up until the last page of the book.  When they went to the truck stop, I laughed so hard I almost cried.  Bryce’s logic, when it came to getting to England was over the top crazy, does not do their trip justice. 

There are also several new secondary characters introduced, some of whom play important roles in this story.  There is also a couple of minor mysteries, both of which are slightly shocking.  

This story is slightly different from the previous ones and has become my favorite of the bunch.  I hope the author has no plans to end this series yet as I would love to see more of Ethan and Gabriel in the future

A Christmas in Paradise

Author:  Tianna Xander
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0656-1
Genre: {M/F/M}, Paranormal, Series, Holiday
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Grant and Trey regret leaving Evie in New Jersey, but they don’t think she can accept what they are.  Evie decides to go to Montana to visit for Christmas.

A Christmas in Paradise is the nineteenth book in the Paradise series.  This book is a little different from the previous ones, as there is not a shattering life event.  Instead this book is about three people reconnecting and figuring out what they really want and need.

Evie already knew about the two men being shifters and is hurt by the fact the two didn’t talk to her as she thought of them as her best friends.  Grant and Trey know she is their mate, but were afraid to share their secret in case of rejection and didn’t think she could handle a poly relationship.  It is easy to tell that they have chemistry.

A few characters from previous books make a very brief appearance. I was a little puzzled about how Evie became friends online with Gemma though. 

I hope there will be more in this series and that readers will learn more about the Rangers who became shifters and their future mates.

Melissa’s Christmas Wish

Author:  M.R. Kelly
Publisher:  eXtasy books
Publisher URL:  http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0956-2
Genre:  {M/F} Paranormal, BBBW, Holiday
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

All Mel wants is to spend her last night as a student hanging out with her best friend.  However, things don’t go as planned when Mel finds herself in a dangerous situation.  As far as Mel knows, all hope is lost and she could perish at any moment. 

Serghei is a vampire who is no stranger to protecting others. When he has visions of a beautiful, mysterious black woman, he knows he has to help her.  Unfortunately Serghei has no idea who she is or where to start.  All he knows is that something about her is drawing him in.

Melissa’s Christmas Wish has a lot of drama and story packed into this short read.  I was sad when it ended.  Mel’s relationship with her best friend was so moving.  They seemed to understand each other more than their families.  That kind of bond is hard to come by and I appreciate M.R. Kelly reminding me of the importance of a great friend.  I was impressed by the amount of honor that Serghei has.  Without hesitation, he jumped to help Mel and without hesitation, Serghei also decided to walk away. Thank GOD Mel was not afraid to share her feelings with him.  Readers will be rejuvenated from this story, no doubt.  The blend of action and romance is impossible to resist.

The Alien’s Holiday Gift

Author:  Lee-Ann Wallace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0957-9
Genre:  Science Fiction, Holiday, 
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Petra is constantly being rejected as a mate because she can’t have children.  She is very surprised when Kartoc, her guard, approaches her about becoming his mate.

The Aliens Holiday Gift by Lee-Ann Wallace is the first book by this author I have read.  It is a fast read but there were a few gaps regarding questions.  Why the Morgaths were looking for mates among human women was a question never answered.  The mating process was interesting because of the various transformations involved for both parties.

Kartoc has a reason he chose Petra that is revealed toward the end after she goes through a traumatic event.  I could understand why Petra decided Kartoc could have anything he wanted after that revelation.

Several of the secondary characters were interesting and one decided to ignore the rules for choosing a mate, which resulted in a tragedy for him.  Unfortunately, Petra also had a hand in what happened because she wasn’t quite ready to change her mind about leaving Morgath. 

I will be looking for other books by this author to read and will probably read this one again.

Solider of Fortune

Author:  S.J. Frost
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02016-0666
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Conrad is a mercenary and makes no bones about it.  He’s done jobs and worked for people that would make the average person cringe.  That does not mean that if the right person came along, he won’t be a softer gentler man. 

Soldier of Fortune is a great story for those that love at least one of their main characters to be a little on the dark side.  Conrad is a mercenary but, unlike those we normally see, he did not get his start through the military.  In fact, Conrad started training while still a teenager and when readers realize why, his actions become understandable.  Conrad has been doing his job for many years now and while he had an exit plan, he did not realize that he would be putting it into effect so early.

Lucas is the son of a wealthy man.  Since it has always been just the two of them, Lucas and his father are close.  When Mr. Hartman decides to run for public office, Lucas couldn’t be prouder until someone takes a shot at his father during a campaign stop.  When Mr. Hartman hires a bodyguard, Lucas is shocked by how drawn to the other man he is. 

There is an instant connection between Lucas and Conrad from the very beginning.  I loved their first meeting and had to laugh at Lucas’ reaction to Conrad.  The connection from Conrad’s side is just as strong but, where Lucas deals with worry that Conrad is straight, Conrad wonders about being good enough for the younger man.  Thankfully neither of these are issues that the author drags out. 

Woven through the story of Lucas’ and Conrad’s relationship is the mystery of who tried to kill Mr. Hartman and why.  This part of the story is a little predictable, but readers will still find themselves turning the pages to see how everything will play out.  This is also where Conrad’s dark side really shines.  I liked that this was something that Lucas could deal with and that he even worried about being so accepting of Conrad’s actions. 

I did think the story ended a little too soon and I hope the author will bring them back for more.  Fans of Ms. Frost’s are sure to enjoy Soldier of Fortune and those who have yet to give this author a try should do so.