Saturday, June 26, 2010

Condor and Falcon


Title: Condor and Falcon
Author: John Simpson
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-246-2
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Drama
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Satyr Vael

President David Windsor and his ex-Secret Service agent-turned-partner, Shane Thompson, are back and stronger than ever. David is determined to remain with Shane, despite all the political hell they have to deal with as the nation’s first “First” gay couple. In fact, David wants to make it official… with marriage. Detractors, however, aren’t so keen with the idea. It’s going to take everything David and Shane have within them--individually and together--to keep it all from destroying them both.

As with the first two books, Condor and Falcon is a wonderful tale of a dream many folks in the GLBT community have entertained: that of a gay (or lesbian) president.

I fell more in love with both of these men in this book and the love scenes are, as always, poignant and hot. The drama is top-notch and extremely believable, given the circumstances of being America’s first gay president.

Simpson, once again, has penned a tale of love, perseverance and intrigue that will stay with you long after you’re done reading.

Smart Ass #2


Title: Smart Ass #2
Author: Amber Green, LB Gregg
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-153-2
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

The Golden Boys by Amber Green - 3.5 Nymphs
Ethan is recruited for a special assignment by his uncle, who is an FBI agent. Ethan’s friend, and secret love interest T-Jell Richardson, is hiding out in a detox hospital. Jell has some vital information the FBI is most anxious to hear. Ethan’s life is currently a mess. He is failing medical school, recently announced to his parents that he is gay and being shot at by unknown suspects, while helping Jell escape from the hospital. Jell is a street wise rapper who is a “in the closet gay” to preserve his public image. The attraction between Ethan and Jell is mutual. The storyline features two African American men, revealing their feelings for each other while running from the bad guys.

Happy Ending by LB Gregg - 4 Nymphs
Seth Weston is on the table, waiting for his massage. Seth’s muscles are tied in knots. When the door opened, it is not the expected therapist who comes in, but a gorgeous masseur named David Cooke. Under the administration of David’s strong hands, Seth’s muscles are relaxed and his libido is completely aroused. David has been attracted to Seth for months; however he knew Seth did not become aware of him until that day at the spa.

Overall, both stories are romantic, in addition to being enjoyable. Each plot is well written with believable characters and emotional excitement. There is moderate intimacy exhibited in both stories, along with some amusing moments.

Wolf Town


Title: Wolf Town
Author: Joely Skye
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-055-0
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Scott Lund doesn’t have time to make connections or mistakes. Nine years of running away from his kind, those who control the minds of people, has left Scott edgy and lonely.

Rory McIntyre has one mission; to protect Scott from those hunting him. The wolf can’t believe Scott has been left alone for so long and immediately recognizes his loneliness and dejection. He takes his mission a step further than necessary and one night of sleeping in each other’s arms will change their lives forever.

Joely Skye’s Wolf Town is Rory’s chance at love. The story has a quick cameo with Trey from Feral and gives us a chance to experience Minders abilities. Rory’s initial reaction to Scott and ability to read his body language told me he wouldn’t stay away from him long. I couldn’t help but like him even more after he discovered the hidden aspects of Scott’s past. When the truth was revealed, I could see the heart of Scott’s champion start to ache at that moment. I wasn’t sure how Rory’s wolf was feeling about Scott, but he didn’t seem to be too upset about sharing space with the frightened man.

There were a few interesting supporting characters that added a nice dimension to this story, and I hope to learn more about them in future episodes. Wolf Town has a touch of action and suspense but primarily focuses on Scott and Rory’s developing feelings, as well as keeping Scott safe. I would have loved to see Rory shift just once, but having him stand up for what he believed in was more than enough show of his dominant nature. Those who’ve enjoyed past stories will find Wolf Town an interesting and fast-paced read.

Lustful Torment


Title: Lustful Torment
Author: Annie Alvarez
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-501-6
Genre: {F/F}, Paranormal, BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Satyr Vael

When Izzy, the half-witch ‘wife’ of the Hightower Clan’s new matriarch, Tamara, turns her back on their relationship, Tamara is driven to acts of desperation. Tamara desperately wants Izzy back, but it’s going to take quite a bit to get her. Not only does she want Izzy as her sub, she wants--needs--Izzy’s heart and soul, as well.

Wow! Out of all the Hightower books, Lustful Torment is, by far, my favorite. Why? Probably because it’s told through Tamara’s POV. I love reading her, knowing her intimate thoughts and just how much she loves Izzy, despite the harsh exterior she holds like a cloak around herself.

There are many scenes that show a new side of Tamara--a softer side, if you can believe it. But the loves scenes… damn. The best lesbian scenes I’ve read! If you’ve enjoyed the Hightower books, do not miss this one!

Devlin and Garrick


Title: Devlin and Garrick
Author: Cameron Dane
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-708-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Devlin Morgan is ready for the next step in his sex life. Gradyn Connell wants to reclaim his sexuality, after years of denying it. What should have been one night of mutual satisfaction turns into a weekend neither man will ever forget. Is it enough to build a stable relationship on, or should it be chalked up a weekend fling?

Devlin and Garrick takes us back to one of my favorite small towns, where Devlin is ready to take a chance at love. I knew he would have an interesting story, but I didn’t expect it to be this fantastic. Gradyn is a great character with his complicated life and his deep love of Devlin. There are moments where it may have come into question, but in the end there’s only the beauty of the man who aches to give Devlin a happy life. Devlin is sweet, sexy and inexperienced, which makes his experience with Gradyn that much more enticing. The two have a long road ahead of them to gain happiness, but it’s a road I was happy to travel along with them. While the physical change from Gradyn to Garrick was remarkable, Devlin saw straight through the disguise. I could understand why it threw him for a loop and why he dug his heels in and wouldn’t allow his eyes to deceive him. There was no learning curve when it came to loving the man he met five years prior, regardless of the physical differences.

Ms. Dane allows us to view the characters in the present and past throughout this tale. Each new memory helps to explain their connection and why they should attempt to salvage their relationship.

I absolutely loved this story. There is so much to overcome, leaving no down time from beginning to end. The sex is explosive and spine tingling, laced with love, kink and an unspoken hope for a lasting relationship. The passion and compassion is written on the characters faces and expressed in silent pleading moments. Book two of the Seeking Redemption series has left me ready for the next story. Those who enjoyed the first story hold on to your hats and enjoy Devlin and Garrick.

Time of the Soul


Title: Time of the Soul
Author: Mark Alders
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-579-5
Genre: {M/M} Sci-Fi
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Pembroke Eve is observing the Spring Dance, an annual event celebrated for years before the alien invasions started. Everyone is having a good time until Corey Harrington decides to start a brawl with Jacob Theison. Jacob’s two boyfriends, Callum and Zane, come to his rescue. However, before peace can be re-established, Jacob is transported back three years to his high school days by an alien who can manipulate time.

Time of the Soul is the third book in the Pembroke Eve Chronicles. In this episode, Jacob has been selected as a food source by an alien who inhabits the body of a former high school friend. With each alien encounter, Jacob gains more survival skills. Now Jacob must be the hero to rid his world of this eternal being. Jacob receives aid from an unlikely source when Corey agrees to help Jacob. The sinister alien employs time travel as a means to place Jacob into dangerous predicaments just so he can rescue him. These manipulating ruses ensnare Jacob into a false security of being loved by the alien.

The talented Mark Alders has created an action packed plot with steamy sex among a variety of partners. The alien is unique with a creative method of feeding. Time of the Soul is impressive, as well as enjoyable. I look forward to the next installment.

To Hunt a Sainte


Title: To Hunt a Sainte
Author: Marie Harte
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-051-2
Genre: {M/F} Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Alexandra Sainte wants to do more than work at a desk in the office of Buchanan Investigations. A job in the field is exactly what she needs to prove herself to her uncle, who runs the company. While doing an unauthorized entry at the office of a suspected kidnapper, she is seen by Hunter, his golden eyes following her every step. Her dreams are filled with erotic visions of being used in ways that she never thought possible. She knows he cares deeply for her by his actions, but she is not quite sure a relationship with him will last.

After seeing Alexandra in fighting mode, fending off four guards, Hunter Greye is taken with her, even though she is causing problems with his current investigation. He is not able to function normally without thinking about her in a sexual way and he’s constantly fighting to keep focused on his work. There is a connection between himself and Alex that he doesn’t understand and he’s wondering what to do about it.

To Hunt a Sainte is the first in the Westlake Enterprises series and it starts out at a fast pace. From the beginning, Hunter and Alex have a connection that is more than the both of them expect and when they are thrown together, their feelings blossom. I was fascinated by both companies’ employees’ abilities and their need to work together on the same case to save the kidnapped victims.

Ms. Harte did a nice job of giving the history of the psychic abilities of most of the characters involved, and I thought she portrayed the villains’ roles quite well. There is so much going on in this story, you really have to focus to keep up with who’s doing what. Hunter and Alex left me hot and bothered with their sexual scenes. This is really a great book and I am looking forward to reading about the next story. Hopefully, it’ll be about Alex’s brother Cole; one can wish.

Friday, June 25, 2010

Deadly Silence


Title: Deadly Silence
Author: Victor J. Banis
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-106-8
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Stanley and Tom don’t know what to think when they’re hired to look into an attempted murder at the posh and exclusive rehab center, Bella Vista. Did someone really try to kill wealthy Abe Pendleton or was it an accidental medication error, like the facility administrator claims? Abe's daughter Patience certainly seems to believe that someone is trying to kill her father, but who and why?

Could it be Prudence, the twin who’s suffered from mental illness and drug addiction or Farley, Prudence's ex-fiancé, a man with dollar signs for eyes? And what about Zack, the only son who happens to be gay? His father’s threatened to disinherit him multiple times—and the two argue constantly. Then there’s Patience herself. Could years of resentment at being the family caretaker finally have pushed her over the edge into controlled insanity, or could it even be someone unknown, angered by the ruthless elder Pendleton?

Deadly Silence is the fifth and latest release in the well-written Deadly Mystery series by talented multi-published author Victor Banis and it begins a few weeks after the previous book left off. While it would be possible to read this book as a standalone, to get a better understanding of the ongoing character relationships, I recommend reading them in order.

As with all the books in this suspense series, the backbone is Stanley and Tom, and their not always smooth relationship. Professionally the duo is plugging along, taking jobs that allow them to stay financially viable; that doesn’t mean Stanley is enjoying his work. He’d still rather go back to making a living as an interior decorator, but that’s one aspect of his being gay that Tom can’t stand. Then if you add in his dislike of the majority of Stanley’s friends, gay nightclubs and obvious ‘gay’ behavior, you begin to understand why Stanley is upset with his partner. It’s as simple as Tom loves Stanley, but he isn’t gay. Mr. Banis did a nice job expressing Stanley’s emotional difficulties with his relationship, but those same aspects make this story less humorous, slower paced and filled with angst and introspection. There’s also less action-the one exception being when someone takes a shot at Stanley.

I have to admit that I found the Pendleton family members a bit confusing—their relationships and stories of what they were doing during important times in the story seemed to constantly change, and while it wasn’t unexpected, it did cause me a bit of rereading from time to time. And the relationships between the siblings is classic passive/aggressive and more than a little strange. I swear the only member of the family that’s normal is Aunt Dora and she’s only on the scene very briefly. The overall suspense elements are far less complicated than in the previous releases and I wasn’t surprised when the villain(s) of the story was revealed.

Don’t let the points I’ve taken discourage you from reading Deadly Silence. What goes on in the personal lives of Stanley and Tom is important to the ongoing story line, and will undoubtedly play a vital role in the next story.

A Matter Of Honesty


Title: A Matter Of Honesty
Author: Stephanie Morris
Publisher: Red Rose Publishing
Publisher URL: http://redrosepublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60435-685-4
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary, Interracial/Multicultural
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Life has been on a downward spiral for Lauryn Anderson and she finally hits rock bottom. A tornado hits and leaves her homeless, broke and alone. When a gorgeous stranger offers her a job with room and board, Lauryn is skeptical at first. Bad idea or not, this was the only option she had.

Steve Mitchell needed a babysitter for his daughter and Lauryn needed a place to stay. Bringing her home with him just seemed right. Something about Lauryn spoke volumes to Steve and not just his libido. As fragile and frightened as she was, Steve had gained Lauryn’s trust as the days passed. Hopefully, their budding relationship wouldn’t be destroyed, once Steve divulged some omitted information about his life.

Not only is there chemistry between Lauryn and Steve, but also between Steve’s daughter and Lauryn. Effortlessly, the three of them morphed into a comfortable family life that made me jealous. I was touched by the way Steve’s family accepted Lauryn with open arms and how they brought her out of her shell. They didn’t make snap judgments because Lauryn was down on her luck and they saw the genuine person she was. Considering the circumstances that brought Lauryn into Steve’s life, I wouldn’t have blamed them if they had jumped to the wrong conclusions. Steve had his reasons for not sharing every little detail with Lauryn, so I couldn’t be upset at him. He made up for his mistake in ways that left me breathless. A Matter Of Honesty is an impressive, happily ever after story that reminded me of the simple pleasures of life and love. Readers will not want to miss out on this one.

Devils on Horseback - Lee


Title: Devils on Horseback - Lee
Author: Beth Williamson
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-044-4
Genre: {M/F} Historical Western
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Lee Blackwood has struggled since he lost his arm during the war. Pride and confidence are no longer part of his persona; they’ve been replaced by anger, uncertainty and hurt. The idea of a woman seeing beneath the layers of pain seemed doubtful until he met Genevieve Blanchard.

Genevieve has her own past that lurks in the darkest recesses of her mind. The one bright spot in her life is her daughter, Sophie. The more time she spends with Lee, the more certain she is that his pain equals her own. She will do anything to bring joy back into Lee’s life.

I’ve been anxiously awaiting Lee’s story and Beth Williamson has made it well the wait. Lee’s stubbornness is only surpassed by Genevieve and Sophie’s. Layer by layer, she cleaned away all the grit covering his brilliant smile and warm spirit, until all that was left was a man she could be proud to call her own. Lee hit pay dirt with this woman. Her determination and ability to know just what he needed helped to ensure that this couple had a fighting chance. This small family unit gave Lee an opportunity to focus on his strengths, to learn to love again and to finally realize that his lost arm didn’t make him any less of a man.

I have to say Sophie adds a wonderful element to this story. Her sass had me shaking my head while wanting to tan her bottom at the same time. I, for one, would love to see what strong man will end up with Sophie when she becomes of age. That’s a love story I wouldn’t want to miss.

I wasn’t sure if Ms. Williamson was going to supply the same action and suspense I was used to reading in her stories and was pleasantly pleased to get both. The story is exceptionally written. Those who’ve enjoyed the series will be happy they picked up a copy of Devils on Horseback – Lee.

The Lost Temple


Title: The Lost Temple
Author: Stevie Woods
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-177-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Archaeologist Ian Grayson has been granted a leave of absence so that he can search for the Lost Temple of Chac, located in Belize. Ian joins Mackenzie Wallace, owner of Tomcat Freight Line, and Ian’s lover of nine months on a road trip so that they can make plans for their expedition to Belize. However, before they can make their delivery, a man from Mac's past is stalking them, intent on extracting his twisted revenge.

The Lost Temple is the second book in the Tomcat Line Series. This well-written, well paced plot features some history of the temple, the adventure of discovering lost artifacts, as well as the loving relationship between Ian and Mac. The developed characters are believable with good interaction between them. Ian has a passion for archaeology and his discoveries are important to the academic community, yet he is torn by the prospect of leaving Mac for an extended period of time. Mac is not willing to be without Ian either, plus Mac is well-trained for missions in hostile environments. Fortunately, Mac owns the trucking company and can afford to follow Ian on his expeditions. Together Ian and Mac make an excellent survival team.

The talented Stevie Woods creates a fantastic tale of intrigue, an enthralling hidden world along with incredibly sensual love scenes. I enjoyed The Lost Temple immensely.

Just the Right Notes


Just the Right Notes
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-002-2
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Elliot knows just what longtime love Graham needs; whether it’s a simple picnic, a surprise visit while on tour or a trip to the cabin. When the men are faced with a tragic accident, it is up to Elliot to make sure Graham can get back on track.

Sean Michael’s Just the Right Notes is a beautiful love story between two men who know just what the other needs to feel complete. From the beginning, the two men, Elliot and Graham, will pull you into their story. Their love for each other is strong and the sex between them sizzles. When the two head up to the cabin to satisfy their more intense needs, watch out! While there are a few secondary characters in this story, they play very minor roles, leaving Elliot and Graham to carry the story. The author has seen fit to throw in some angst to keep the story from being too sweet and the scene dealing with the accident and its results are very heart wrenching.

Sean Michael’s has been known to go back and write prequels for some of his existing stories and I hope he has plans to do that for Just the Right Notes as well, as I would love to see how these two met.

Tempting Rever


Title: Tempting Rever
Author: Laurann Dohner
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419924842
Genre: {M/F} Sci-Fi/Futuristic
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Brenda wanted a new chance at happiness. Four years in a thankless marriage has been four years too many. When she’s approached by an alien promising her a better life, Brenda sees this as the opportunity she was waiting on. Before she could claim her new life, the Zorn warrior is killed in battle, leaving Brenda to be claimed by his brother.

Argis Rever is bound to a woman that his heart doesn’t long for. His wrong choice is irrelevant; Rever is honor bound to keep his mate. Brenda is everything he could want in a woman and more. But the laws are simple and there is no way for them to circumvent the barriers in their way. Or is there?

Tempting Rever is the third story in the Zorn Warriors series. Laurann Dohner approached this story at a different angle. There is no clear path to happiness. But regardless of the obstacles in their way, Brenda and Rever’s love was too strong to be denied. Their determination made me root for this couple.
Rever is a good man and a fantastic warrior. Brenda was long overdue for a man who knew how to treat her. Their attraction leapt off the pages from their first meeting. The suspense and action in this story definitely kept it flowing, while the erotic scenes kept me busy with ice runs to my kitchen. Tempting Rever kept me enthralled until the last sentence. The story is well written and sure to please those who have been reading the series.

Thursday, June 24, 2010

Take It Off, Warrior


Title: Take It Off, Warrior
Author: Eliza Knight
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419928154
Genre: {M/F} Time Travel, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Cipher Prose Nymph

When Valerie rents a castle in Ireland for the ultimate Bachelorette party for a friend, she could have never imagined that the gesture would put her on her own path to true love.

Camden wakes up in his castle, only it’s five hundred years later. His conscience draws him toward finding a way to return to his time, but his heart begs him to stay after meeting Valerie.

Take It Off, Warrior kept my fingers itching to turn the page. The descriptions of the castle were deep and painted a perfect picture in my mind, making me wish I were there right along with Valerie and Camden.

While the sex was fiery hot from the beginning, it was also fed off of love and grew in intensity.

The inner emotional struggles Valerie had to deal with and the journey Camden took to figure out his importance in each life provided good conflict and led to a believable and happy outcome.

I would have loved to read a full length novel about Camden and Valerie and recommend Take It Off, Warrior to anyone who wants a fast-paced, hot read.

Gemini: The Wicked Things


Title: Gemini: The Wicked Things
Author: Pepper Espinoza
Publisher: Amber Quill
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-694-9
Genre: [M/M] Fantasy
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

When the sanity of Travis Olsen’s mother started to slip, he put his life on hold, left London and moved to her country cottage in the small town of Nether Stowey. He’s an analytical man and never believed in fairy tales, witches, magic, ghosts and other tales best left to myth and legend, so the day his mother warns him about the black dog that roams Quantock Hills, he brushes her off. When he meets the legendary black dog while on a late night stroll and he sees the animal turn into an attractive man, Travis’ reality shifts and he realizes that things he once thought were fable are very much true.

When Travis learns that his mother’s mental deterioration is due to the manipulation of a powerful witch she once called friend, he’s plunged into a battle he’s not prepared for. At the center of the conflict stands cursed John Walford, a man who’s willing to sacrifice himself in order to keep Travis, the man he loves, safe.

Gemini: The Wicked Things is the third release in the new ongoing series Zodiac Boys. This installment starts a little slowly with the introduction of Travis and his relationship with his ailing mother. It sets up his frustration with her deteriorating mental status nicely, giving enough detail to understand what both are going through, without being maudlin or depressing. The description of Travis’ no-nonsense personality in these initial pages is a good set-up for the huge changes circumstances force on him as the story progresses.

The colorful details of Nether Stowey and the surrounding wooded countryside make the locale pop, grounding the story in present day realism, but I could also sense the historic past in the centuries old village. I particularly enjoyed the portion of the story that told of the circumstances that led to John’s death, giving me a much better understanding of his ‘life, since the day of his ‘death’.

The integration of the numerous fantasy elements—a villainous witch, fairies, fairy mounds, ogres, ghosts and pukas is nicely done, bringing them all into a well thought out, cohesive whole. Add in the growing relationship between Travis and John and you have all the components needed for a pleasurable afternoon read.

Colters’ Lady


Title: Colters’ Lady Author: Maya Banks Publisher: Samhain Publishing Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/ ISBN: 978-1-60928-024-6 Genre: {M/F/M/M}, Ménage + more, contemporary Rating: 5 Nymphs Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph Seth returns to the soup kitchen where he volunteers after being gone for a while, due to being shot. While serving, he sees Lily and can’t stop looking at her or thinking about her. After he follows her and finds out she is living on the street, he asks her to come home with him. Lily has been living on the street for three years because the situation with her divorce. She has a hard time trusting anyone. Seth, and later his two brothers, confuse her and sometimes she feels very overwhelmed. All the brothers ask for is a chance to make the relationship work and to let them protect her. The second book of the Colters’ Legacy is more about the relationship and Lily’s journey as she comes to terms with her previous life. Colters’ Lady is a wonderful love story. The relationship between the brothers is very complicated and they aren’t quite sure they want to follow in their parents footsteps. Once it becomes apparent that they will, things get very intense between Lily and the brothers. Ms. Banks draws you into the story very quickly and you want to help Lily as you slowly find out about her story. I have to confess that if I had the chance to find this kind of relationship, I might be tempted. I am looking forward to the next book in this series.

Hareton Hall


Title: Hareton Hall
Author: Lynne Connolly
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-701-0
Genre: {M/F} Historical
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Richard and Rose are on their way to two weddings at Rose’s family home, Darkwater. Before they can arrive at her brother’s home, they are accosted by a highwayman and robbed of their valuables. The Drurys, from Richard and Rose’s past, has shown up to hover around the edges of society and having the need to fit in to be apart of the ton. If that’s not enough to have to deal with, Rose is attacked on several occasions, and it just makes the visit even worse.

Is it possible that Rose has become a target and is being used to get at her husband, or is it for something she may or may not know? There are entirely too many secrets in the couple’s lives, or rather Richard’s life, and his past is constantly are coming back to haunt him.

Hareton Hall is the sixth book in the Richard and Rose series. It’s just as enjoyable at the first five and left me wondering where Ms. Connolly will go next with her unique and well-plotted storytelling. I tell you, I wasn’t disappointed at all! The simply fact that Richard and Rose never stopped loving each other or their enjoyment of their infant daughter made them more real for me. One thing about the couple that really stood out for me was the protectiveness they felt for each other, and anyone they considered as family or friend.

Danger was awaiting them at every turn, regardless of where they were and the Drurys were also right there. The secondary characters are a great contribution to the storyline and it seemed that Rose had a monolog going through out the story, speaking of her feelings towards different events throughout the story. There is a lot of attention with the smuggling, deaths and revenge being dished out to Richard, from his past, and the people wanting the couple to fail at their marriage.

I must say here that Ms. Connolly did a fantastic job with her detailed descriptions of the upper-class homes of the period, and the fashionable clothing that is worn by the characters. It truly is an era I would have loved to visit, not live, because there are too many restrictions for women. If you want to have a clear knowledge of Richard and Rose, I suggest that you read all of the books in order to have a better understanding of their lives. I must add here that this book can be read as a stand alone.

The Back Stairs


Title: The Back Stairs
Author: KC Kendricks
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 13: 978-1-60272-690-1
Genre: {M/M} Shape-shifter
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Lieutenant Fallon Roxbury is called to investigate the murder scene of a young man, who was killed in a rather bizarre method. Before this murder is solved, another victim is found. Fallon encounters what appears to be a young girl who leads him to Sundown, a man Fallon assumes is a hustler. Each time Fallon visits Sundown, he is convinced there is something different about Sundown. When Sundown reveals his real self, Fallon is not certain what to believe anymore.

The Back Stairs has an interesting mystery plot surrounding Sundown and his possible association with the murder victims. The storyline gives a general idea of the characters; nevertheless I feel that more expressive characterization would have produced additional interest. Fallon is a loner; he works long hours. His work partner seems to be his only friend. His love for dogs is his strongest expression of feelings. Fallon’s attraction to Sundown is sexual. Sundown is a shape-shifter, who is hiding among the humans because it suits his curiosity about gay men. Sundown’s feelings are those of neutrality as well as exploration.

The main focus of KC Kendricks’ The Back Stairs is crime investigation procedures, which I found enjoyable.

Wednesday, June 23, 2010

Neil’s Guardian Angel


Title: Neil’s Guardian Angel
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-158-2
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

A fall from his horse seriously injures Neil Peters, leaving him unable to remember anything in his past before arriving in Cattle Valley. Incapable to care for himself, it also leaves Neil in need of around-the-clock care. Neil knows that for several years while he was a teenager, Ben Waters filled the role of his guardian, but he doesn’t remember anything about the man, including the extent of their personal relationship. Neil also doesn’t understand why Ben’s hanging around his hospital room looking sad and unhappy, unless there’s more to their story than he knows, but the question is what?

Thinking his feelings for his young ward were inappropriate, after Neil graduated from high school, Ben Waters sent him away. Now that he’s caring for Neil once again, his feelings become even more intense, and keeping the younger man at a figurative arm’s length isn’t working, especially when Neil refuses to be shoved away again. Ben longs to hold the man he loves in his arms but doesn’t feel he can, until Neil comes to terms with his past, forcing the younger man to take a step he’s been dreading—read the journals from his youth and remember the most painful years of his life.

Neil’s Guardian Angel is the seventeenth release in Carol Lynne’s popular Cattle Valley series and it takes up almost immediately where Firehouse Heat left off. While not absolutely imperative, I would suggest that the books be read in order to ensure a better understanding of the characters and ongoing storylines.

I’ve never read a book by Ms. Lynne that I didn’t enjoy and it isn’t any different with this newest look into the lives of the people of Cattle Valley. Once again she’s given her readers a well written and plotted story that’s chock full of likeable, memorable characters. After reading the previous release, I must admit that I was more than a little curious how she was going to handle Neil’s injury and recovery period. I’m happy to report she did it with her usual creativity and flair, mixed in with a healthy dose of compassion, tenderness and love. Then add in understanding and realism and you’ve got another winning plot in a keeper series.

I wasn’t certain what to think of Ben at first but as the story progressed, he was revealed to be a far more complicated man than I initially thought. Watching his character change with each passing scene was like peeling back the skin of an onion and seeing another layer, each one adding more complexity and depth to his personality. Don’t get me wrong, I like Neil too but I really liked Ben. He’s loving, noble, self-sacrificing and sexy—and Neil’s lucky to have him.

Some of the best scenes are those that involve Neil dealing with his painful past, and Ben’s support and understanding—for me—those really shine. I know I’m not the only one who’s anxiously awaiting the next installment of Cattle Valley, Scarred, coming in August. Happy reading.

Magnolia Heat


Title: Magnolia Heat
Author: Keta Diablo
Publisher: Noble Romance Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.nobleromance.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60592-120-4
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Rumors have drawn Craven and Anthony to Beresford Hall. The two men have discovered their desire for same sex encounters and if the rumors are true, Beresford Hall is sometimes used as a den of iniquity.

The young spies aren’t savvy enough to evade detection or capture. They will soon have to answer for their crimes within the walls of the infamous hall.

Keta Diablo knows how to make debauchery and romance mix perfectly as demonstrated in her latest release, Magnolia Heat. Craven and Anthony haven’t had many bedfellows and that naïveté heightens their experience. While some scenes do depict the men experiencing forced seduction, it was never brutal and in fact, awakened both of their fantasies, as well as provided an opportunity to wallow in the depths of carnal delight.

The acts weren’t regretted, but the possibility of never experiencing the attraction again seemed to linger with Dominic and Craven. Dominic, the Lord of the Manor, is an imposing figure and skillful in the art of seduction. His mastery of the situation and Craven promised for a night neither man would forget.

The setting was perfect for this story and created an abundance of emotions ranging from arousal to trepidation. Those who read BDSM will enjoy Magnolia Heat.

Special Content Alert: BDSM, M/M, forced seduction, intense and graphic sexual content.

Point of No Return


Title: Point of No Return
Author: Mandy M. Roth
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-999-1
Genre: [M/F] Shapeshifter Futuristic
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Nina Janelle is a strong-willed woman and, as head of the Sargaidia guards, is accustomed to the men under her command to follow her orders to the letter. That goes the same for the men who intermittently occupy her bed. When her panther shifter mating cycle kicks into high gear, Nina’s need to have her sexual needs slated nearly consumes her and requires increasingly greater of men to keep her sane. The only man whose touch soothes her is the man that sets her teeth on edge of the most, Commission Officer Jordan Vasil.

While she denies his touch, he too suffers from ever worsening lust. Unfortunately for them both, she’d rather kill Jordan than allow him to give her the sexual release they both need to maintain their sanity. Until the day arrives when Nina’s in so much pain, she succumbs and allows his touch.

Determined to find her missing twin brother, Nina and Jordan set out on a shuttle mission putting them in close proximity that further threatens their control. When an unexpected explosion cripples their ship, they have to work together, or they could both end up dead.

Point of No Return is the third release in Mandy M. Roth’s ongoing series Project Exorcism and it takes up a few months after the last book left off. The story begins in Jordan’s point of view, the author giving the readers a good insight into the man and how much he cares for Nina. I like this guy--he’s loyal to his family and friends, and is responsible and caring. I can’t say the same for Nina—her I didn’t care for too much. Despite knowing what she needed to do to get through her mating cycle, she stubbornly refused Jordan, instead insisting she could handle it, when she and everyone else around her knew it would ultimately led to insanity. That’s just too over-the-top obstinate and annoying by my way of thinking, and she wasn’t nice to anyone around her.

The secondary characters from previous releases played only small parts in this short novella, but they did give the over all story a good sense of continuity and family. I’m curious as to see where this series goes with the next release.

Private Negotiations


Title: Private Negotiations
Author: Kathleen Scott
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-717-0
Genre: {M/F}, Science Fiction
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

The countries of Telesian and Vanden have been at war for years. The Telesian Chancellor attempts to gain control of Vanden by making an overture of peace and sending his daughter as the ambassador. He is aware that Rinalda’s lost lover is actually the Regent of Vanden.

Loden knows that he may have lost Rinalda because of his deception. Loden used Rinalda to gain secrets, but fell in love with her instead. As the negotiations heat up, Loden tries to renew his relationship with Rinalda, as he wants her as his wife and consort. Rinalda isn’t sure this is good until an incident with her father and his advisor forces her to follow her heart.

Private Negotiations is a very intense look at a relationship, amid a costly and treacherous war. Rinalda and Loden’s relationship has a lot of ups and downs. Both are keeping secrets that later will bring them together as Rinalda’s father’s treachery proves too much for her to follow his lead. The author gives you a look at some of the strategies of war and how devastating it can be. Private Negotiations is one book I will be reading again, as it reminds me somewhat of my own relationship and the time I served in the Marine Corps in the aftermath of war.