Thursday, December 10, 2009

Broken


Title: Broken
Author: Dawn Kimberly Johnson
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-088-8
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

When Alec rents a room from an old college buddy, he is surprised to see that one of his new flat mates is the handsome young man he had seen taking down a mugger a month previously. Although drawn to Eli, Alec is unsure if starting a new relationship is the smartest thing to do.

Eli knows he just barely exists after the death of his partner. He also knows that his friends are worried about him. When he meets Alec, Eli starts coming back to life again. When secrets are revealed, Eli does the only thing he can - run.

Dawn Kimberly Johnson brings the readers a wonderful romance story about two men struggling to overcome their pasts. For Eli, it is the tragic death of his longtime partner at the hands of violence. While he may have healed physically, mentally he has not which is something that colors his day-to-day life. The author’s portrayal of these emotions is so realistic that you can’t help but feel for all Eli is going through. Alec is also struggling with the effects of past relationships. When the author brings these two together, she does so in such a way that it does not detract from their pasts, therefore, making the story more realistic. Rather than having the men jump into some hot, steamy relationship because of the attraction they feel for each other, the author allows them to first become friends, thereby healing past hurts.

Although at times very heart wrenching, keep Kleenex handy as you might just need them, Broken is a very fulfilling story and one that will stay with the readers long after they have finished the book.

Ice Man


Title: Ice Man
Author: KyAnn Waters
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419925238
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Rowan enjoys being a blood slave. Giving blood and receiving unimaginable decadent sex from Theron is well worth every moment or it was until he met Brett. While Brett’s strength reminds Rowan of Theron, the similarity dies there. Brett gives Rowan a glimpse of what a real relationship could be like, and Rowan knows there’s no turning back. Can Theron and Rowan make a clean break or will there be consequences for ending the contract?

Ice Man is the first book in KyAnn Waters’ new series Blood Slaves. Rowan knows that Theron was the bridge to a safer existence and while he doesn’t want to hurt the vampire, he’s not willing to sacrifice his chance at happiness to appease him. I loved that about his character. He was strong-willed and willing to step out of faith to have what he wanted most. Brett’s past made his initial reaction to his new development with Rowan understandable. Contending with a bond built over years ruffled his feathers, but it made Brett step out of his shell and try harder to win Rowan over. Ms. Waters began the series off nicely and I’m looking forward to reading the next book, Iron Man.

Family Unit


Title: Family Unit
Author: Z.A. Maxfield
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-495-4
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Retired Marine Colonel Logan Wilde is proud of his years of military service. He’s not much different in civilian life as he was in the Corps; he’s dedicated, conservative and has a strong sense of what’s right and wrong. When Logan meets Richard while he’s out trick-or-treating with his young grandson, the sparks fly and for the first time in longer than Logan likes to remember, his motor slams out of idle and into full throttle. It doesn’t even matter that the man who’s peaked his interest is a liberal pacifist. The heart wants what the heart wants and Logan isn’t going to let a little thing like different beliefs get in the way of what he desires.

Richard has been raising his grandson, Nick, since the boy was three. To Richard, nothing is as important as giving Nick a safe, loving and stable home and even his attraction of Logan has to take a backseat to what is best for his grandson. It doesn’t help that Nick is standoffish and doesn’t take to strangers, or that the boy’s deadbeat mother is causing trouble again. Even with all the obstacles, Richard can’t deny his attraction to Logan and wants to be with him. The question is whether these two men can battle the outside forces, bent on keeping them apart, to make a loving family unit of their own.

Family Unit is the latest release from Z.A. Maxfield. Once again this talented multi-published author has penned a well-written story filled with an intriguing, smooth flowing plot, great characters and a realistic premise. It’s not often that an author writes a romance where one or both characters aren’t young sexy hunks. In this case, Logan and Richard fall into the sexy category, but both are far from young. They’re mature, responsible and loving men who just happen to be past the bar hopping and carousing part of their lives.

These two men couldn’t be more different…retired Marine Corps Colonel Logan and scared-of-guns liberal minded, Richard. Even though they’re polar opposites in opinions and life experiences, ZA does a fantastic job bringing them together and she does it with creativity, flair, realism and an immediate attraction neither can deny. As they grow closer and their emotional attachment deepens, their happiness is threatened from the outside when Nick disappears. Despite his opposition for what Logan’s military history stands for, Richard finds himself relying on those things he fears the most. Logan is willing to do whatever is necessary to help the man he loves and the child who needs him.

I admit it. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I couldn’t read it fast enough to get to the end to find out what happened to these lovable men and Nick. In fact, it’s probably my favorite ZA Maxfield book to date. There wasn’t anything about this heartwarming story I didn’t like. Give it as chance. I think you’ll enjoy it too.

All’s Fair in Love and Advertising


Title: All’s Fair in Love and Advertising
Author: Lenore Black
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com
ISBN: 978-1-61581-291-2
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Calling Max neurotic is putting it mildly, yet this ad agency hotshot really flips after meeting a prospective new client.

Joe needs help saving his aviation company and heads to New York, hoping to keep the sharks at bay. He never expected someone like Max to come along.

As All’s Fair In Love & Advertising started, Max was, in no way, someone I was drawn to. He comes across very self-centered, believing that everyone else is always wrong or unable to do the job as well as he can. Yet, as the story progressed and Max meets Joe, who is not only the ad agency’s new client but also someone who knows exactly how to handle Max, Max becomes more and more human. Rather than seeing the changes occur in Max himself, the author lets you know how different Max is behaving by the reactions of his co-workers. The author also throws a few twists in for Max by having him attracted to someone totally different than what he would normally go for. While Max may be secure in his new sexuality, his friends and co-workers think differently and it is only after Joe comes along that they begin to accept the change. To add some excitement, the author throws in a little industrial espionage into the mix.

Although I thought this story had a bit of a rough start, and if I were to change anything it would be to learn a little bit more about Joe as the story seems to revolve around Max, I am glad I stuck with this very entertaining story.

Haulin' Hawg


Title: Haulin' Hawg
Author: Lena Austin
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-302-6
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal, BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Barkus, Kansas may seem like just another small town to some, but to Loren, it’s home and where he left his heart six months prior. He’s ready to take his relationship with BD to a completely new level.

BD has plans of his own, including a long promised experience of erotic play that is sure to have both men howling when he’s done. Will Santa bring the men coal or something more fruitful this Christmas holiday?

Haulin' Hawg is Lena Austin’s sequel to Bad Dawg and firmly cemented this author on my list of favorites. The setting and storyline development are perfect, as always. I’m still not sure how she knew to incorporate my favorite John Wayne movie into this story, but I was humming along and imagining I was the old woman handing BD a stick saying, “here’s a nice stick for the young fella.” The scene was priceless and truly made this story unforgettable. It was nice to see my favorite prairie dog learn how to “speak” when it was time to have his say. I know if there is by chance another opportunity to read about the couple, I’ll be the first in line to read the next story. For those who like their holiday theme stories served up with humor and spicy sex that will have you aching for your own biker, this one’s for you!

The Defense Rests


Title: The Defense Rests
Author: Vivien Dean
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-607-9
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

The relationship between Sam and Derek has changed dramatically since the men met. In a short time, they’ve gone from opponents in the courtroom to co-workers and lovers. Despite their open office status of boyfriends, they’re still a bit adversarial when it comes to work and the cases assigned to them. It only gets worse when one of the firm’s partners puts them together for the first time. Sam is uneasy, but willing to take the case, while Derek doesn’t want to have anything to do with it. When they learn the client is HIV positive and related to their boss, Derek grudgingly agrees. The two men must find a way to resolve their differences before the anger and uncertainty destroys them.

The Defense Rests is the third installment of four in Vivien Dean’s ongoing The Wranglers series. First up, let me say that I’ve enjoyed all the books in this serial type series and I’m anxious to see how the case and relationship of Sam and Derek is resolved with Judgment in late January.

Once again Ms. Dean has written another fast-paced and realistic look into the lives of these two intelligent, hardworking and independent men. She’s done a good job expressing the unhappiness and uncertainty of both Sam and Derek in learning the details of their upcoming court case. That goes double for Sam’s much easier acceptance of why the client needs them and Derek’s unhappiness and anger at the possibility of being forever labeled as ‘that gay lawyer.”

I admit to liking both men, but I feel I have a much better handle on what makes Sam tick than Derek. The men are still having vocal and loud disagreements, but that only means the makeup sex is that much hotter and intense. I’m anxious to see how this case makes a difference in their personal and professional lives. Read and enjoy.

Rules of Engagement


Title: Rules of Engagement
Author: L.A. Witt
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-212-7
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Dustin is having a tough time getting over his divorce and figures the best way to get a handle on things is to hit the bar. Things start to get a little crazy when the only person to hold his attention is the pool shark, looking for another victim.

Brandon is a professor and occasional pool shark at the local bar. Secure in his sexuality, he isn’t surprised when he starts to lust after the young man that approaches the table. It’s only later when his feelings start to get involved that Brandon worries.

The concept of realizing later in life that you are gay is not new in the M/M genre; however, author L. A. Witt puts her own spin on it with the character of Dustin. In Rules of Engagement, the author has taken a young man who has lived first under the thumb of a controlling mother, and then later with a manipulative ex-wife, and thrown him into a relationship with a slightly older man. The reader will find all the confusion Dustin goes through as he tries to come to terms with the changes in his life very believable. The character of Brandon is also strongly written. Secure in his sexuality, Brandon is willing to give Dustin the time he needs to figure things out. While I thought the chemistry between the two men was intense, and I could understand how this new relationship could be confusing to Dustin, I began to feel like Brandon was allowing Dustin to take a little too much time to figure things out and was glad when Brandon finally put his foot down. The journey the main characters go through in order to find their happily ever after is one that will hold the readers attention from beginning to end.

The secondary characters are just as strongly written and add a realistic layer to this story. The actions of Dustin’s mother were so outrageous that I could not believe her children have not intervened by now. As the story progresses and feelings, loss and personal growth come into play, this story is sure to be one the readers will enjoy.

Evolution


Title: Evolution
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Resplendence Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.resplendencepublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60735-093-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Paranormal, Shifters
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Jarek’s ready to begin his life at Refuge. The young cougar shifter has looked forward to making this his home for quite some time. Everything seems to be falling into place, including his friendship with stone man Mica.

Mica is coming to terms with emotions he never had in his previous state. He’s seen firsthand the passion that can develop and change into love, and spending time with Jarek heightens his desires for more. There’s only one man who can stand in the way of what his heart desires most, Suni.

Suni is the true Alpha of the cougars, but regards his solitude as a precious gift that he’s unwilling to part with. Meeting Jarek and Mica changes that, and Suni will have to decide if solitude is more important than the men who have filled a void in his heart.

Carol Lynne is building Refuge Shifters into a fantastic series and Evolution has become my favorite story. Mica, Jarek and Suni are all strong men, in their own way. It’s hard to pick a favorite amongst the men, but Mica finally won out by the end of the story. To know his past and see how far he came as a protector and then lover imbedded him in my mind. The setting is as breathtaking as usual, and I can only imagine what Ms. Lynne has in store for us next.

Breaking Daylight


Title: Breaking Daylight
Author: M. J. Fredrick
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-869-7
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary/Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Isabella Canales is finally able to escape after being held against her will by Saldana, who has used and punished her most of the time since her capture. Her only goal is to find her son and start a life for them elsewhere. When she runs into Alex in the jungle, he has other plans for her, and will do whatever it takes to find the man that was her captor. He is not convinced she is telling everything she knows but finds himself wanting to believe her.

Sergeant Alex Shepard knows that the job comes first and he is on a mission to capture Saldana. Isabella is determined not to be a hindrance to him and does what she can to help him. All he needs to do is get Isabella to town, and then he will be free of her; that is, if he can stop thinking about her. With his emotions so jumbled, and lack of trust issues, it was hard for Alex to decide on his options.

Breaking Daylight is a very nicely done story of murder, suspense, and more. I really was impressed at how much was put into the telling of this tale by M. J. Fredrick. The depth of the descriptions that was put into the characters made them more real for me, and the villain, Saldana, was very slippery and evil. I personally wanted him to see dead halfway through the story.

What is surprising to me is the Dear John letter Alex got from someone he thought would spend the rest of her life with him. Alex and Isabella make a perfect pair and every situation they found themselves in only reinforces their growing love. The history given on these two helped to create a better understanding of why they reacted the way they did. It made it more realistic when you add in the hot sex that they couldn’t resist when left to spend so much time together.

This is the first book by this author that I’ve read, and I am looking forward to reading more. At this point, the story seems to have an unexpected ending. I am hoping that M. J. Fredrick turns this into a series, hint.

Old Poison


Title: Old Poison
Author: Josh Lanyon
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-477-0
Genre: {M/M} Romantic Suspense
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Working for the Department of Diplomatic Security is rewarding work for Special Agent Will Brandt. The added bonus of having his partner for the agency as his life lover keeps Will on his toes. When Taylor received a suspicious gift for his birthday, Will suspects there is more to it than meets the eye. Someone from Taylor’s past is trying to strike out and take the young agent down.

I grew fascinated with Will and Taylor in Dangerous Ground and decided these men need a spot on my “favorite couples” list after reading Old Poison. Josh Lanyon weaves action, suspense and a healthy dose of skin-tingling sex to create this sequel. I could understand Will’s reaction to their relationship. The fear of knowing someone has the ability to take over your senses and has become all-important in your world is a colossal truth to face. There were points where Taylor should have been more forthcoming, and could have spared both men a bit of agony but unfortunately, the story wouldn’t have been half as interesting. Will made me quite proud of him during this story. Always striving to spare Taylor’s feelings, Will did his best to eliminate future obstacles to preserve their relationship. There is nothing like a considerate lover to warm this reader’s heart. Those who enjoy suspenseful stories are in for a treat.

Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Take It EASY


Title: Take It EASY
Author: AKM Miles
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-863-0
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Edward Albert Stanton Young, known to all as Easy, is a long haul trucker whose mother runs a truck stop, as well as an underground half-way house for gay teens needing help. Seeing young men around his mama’s place is nothing new to Easy; being attracted to one however is something he has never had to deal with before.

In order to keep from winding up dead, Mano had to flee Tampa. With the help of some good people, Mano finds himself in Nashville. He also finds himself with a huge boyfriend.

Take It EASY was a fun story to read. Set in Nashville, Tampa and points in between, the author weaves a story of a young dancer/singer who is trying his best to make a life for himself and his disabled mother and the trucker who can’t help but fall in love with him. Mano is one of those characters the reader just can’t help but love. His joy for life comes through for all to see, regardless of the struggles he is facing. Easy is just as likeable. The huge, tough trucker has a heart of gold and will do anything to protect his ‘little man’. As their story continues and Mano’s past rears its ugly head, the love these two have for each other really shines through.

From both mamas (Mano’s and Easy’s), to the regulars at the truck stop and the boys mama Sasy tries to help, the secondary characters greatly enrich this story and leave the door open for possible sequels. If you have not yet read anything by AKM Miles, give this book a chance; it is sure to make you a fan.

Reclaimed


Title: Reclaimed
Author: Selena Illyria
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-343-9
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal, BDSM, Interracial
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

From the moment Brenton spotted Sky on the arm of someone else, he knew that she was the one. Finally he gets the chance to be with her and the worst possible scenario happens; Brenton’s dragon gets the upper hand and frightens Sky.

After distancing himself from Sky for long enough, Brenton tries to repair the damage he caused. Will Sky forgive him and will he make it in time before someone else claims dibs on the woman he loves?

Dragon Kin is one spicy series and Reclaimed is a scalding addition. Brenton could have avoided a lot of heartache if he had given Sky a little more credit. She was made of stronger stuff than he assumed and thank goodness, she was. If there is one person in the world whom a man can let his guard down with, it should be his woman. Watching Brenton come to this realization and claiming his mate is touching and I enjoyed Sky showing him what a relationship could be. You will too.

Midnight Savior


Title: Midnight Savior
Author: D. McEntire
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-697-6
Genre: [M/F] Contemporary Paranormal
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Marie DeVeux has talked to the spirit of her dead grandmother since she was small and no one, including her family, ever believed her; they still don’t. For eight months, she experienced brutally vivid dreams of a man being tortured and the dreams are so real, she’s even seeing them while on the bus or at work. After losing her job, boyfriend and home, she winds up in a mental facility for several weeks. The only thing that keeps her going is the visits from her grandmother telling her the man is real and that she needs to find and rescue him.

As with other vampire warriors, Kern is a Watcher; his life dedicated to keeping the innocent safe from marauding rogue vampires. He’s lonely, tired of his job and feels the need for a little excitement in his life; he is tranquilized, abducted and tortured for eight long months. He’s starved and nearly insane with pain, hunger and despair when his crazy scientist captor, Dr. Pearson, disappears. Everything changes when Marie DeVeux arrives to help him escape. He only knows suffering and is determined to lash out at those he thinks has caused him pain and Kern doesn’t believe anything she says. He must discover the truth and get them out of harm’s way before his captor returns, or it will be too late for them both.

Midnight Savior is the fourth release in D. McEntire’s ongoing Watchers series. While it’s possible to read it as a stand-alone book, for ongoing storyline and character clarification, I recommend you read them in the order written.

Dr. Pearson is a great villain, brutal, unmerciful and very insane. D. McEntire does a nice job expressing his cold and calculating personality, making you want this man to meet an unpleasant and painful end. She does an equally nice job describing the pain and suffering Kern experienced at the doctor’s hands.

I felt I had a good understanding of Marie’s emotional upheaval and the uncertainty of her life. I loved the twist of her grandmother talking to her from the dead, but I had a problem with how little help Marie got from her. It left me with the unpleasant feeling the grandmother was calculating, cold and uncaring.

The entire story flowed well from scene to scene but Kern and Maria didn’t actually meet until approximately fifty pages into the story, and it left me feeling emotionally disconnected from the characters. That didn’t change until after Maria’s rescue attempt. From that point on, my connection to Kern and Marie improved. Seeing the other Watchers and their mates from previous books was a nice ending touch. I’ll let Dr. Pearson and what happens to him be a surprise.

Crossroads Showdown


Title: Crossroads Showdown
Author: Keta Diablo
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-522-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Suspense
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

PI Frank McGuire cannot believe how everything is falling into place. Rand, his lover, is doing well in school, his business is in the black and the visions aren’t part of his dreams, as they once were. When the FBI come calling, Frank knows the blissful peace is about to abruptly end. Three little girls are missing and if the FBI hopes to get them back unharmed, it will take Frank’s unique talents to save the day.

Crossroads Showdown took the parent in me on a road I could only hope never to walk down personally. Keta Diablo hit on the emotions of everyone involved splendidly without making the story too morose. Frank’s demons were definitely out to play this round, but it was nice to see him shove them to the side and do what he knew in his heart was right. Rand is growing into a fine young man. I love his fire and energy and his ability not to back down, especially when it comes to his happiness. The story moves at a pretty fast pace, but I didn’t feel rushed. I found the story enjoyable and recommend it to those who enjoy reading gay suspense.

The Bite of Silence


Title: The Bite of Silence
Author: Mary Hughes
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-854-3
Genre: [M/F] Contemporary Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

What’s a woman to do when she’s crazy about a gorgeous hunk and he barely talks to her? Make him jealous, of course. When Twyla discovers Nikos is taking the same plane to New York City, she figures it’s nothing more than a coincidence. She couldn’t be more wrong. Not only is he planning on being her bodyguard while she visits her cousin but he doesn’t plan on letting another man get close to her, either. Twyla’s an artistic, intelligent woman, which explains how she discovers the man of her dream is a vampire…and she doesn’t care.

Being crazy about Nikos isn’t easy. The man’s calm, reserved, big, dominant and a good man to have your back in a fight. And that’s exactly what Twyla needs when they discover a plot to drive vampires into a feeding frenzy when the ball drops in Times Square on New Year’s Eve. Together with their friends, Nikos and Twyla must stop a maniac and save thousands of humans and vampires from the deadly plans of a madman.

The Bite of Silence is the newest release in Mary Hughes’ ongoing A Biting Love series and it’s just as fast-moving and fun as the others. Written in first person, it starts off with Twyla almost getting introduced to the mile-high club. Despite its short length, the story’s packed with great characters, unusual situations and a quick moving plot and funny dialogue.

At the beginning, it doesn’t look like Nikos will ever loosen up and take control, but when he does—watch out. The man’s all about taking charge and when it happens in the bedroom; both Twyla and Nikos nearly go up in flames. These two have little in common; Twyla is modern, determined, spunky and independent, whereas Nikos is ancient, used to always being in control and more than a little dominant. It’s a miracle these two get together, but Ms. Hughes does it with flair, blistering sexual attraction and genuine caring. The premise surrounding the near disaster in Times Square was intriguing, and it was nice seeing the brief return of Nixie and Julian, even if only by phone. I look forward to the next book in the series—Biting Me Softly.

Stalked By Love


Title: Stalked By Love
Author: Brenda Williamson
Publisher: Liquid Silver
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-617-3
Genre: {M/F} Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Holly is tormented with nightmares of a stalker, visions of a lover, and drowning, which leaves her desperate for answers. She decides to take a chance and indulge in a one-time affair with a total stranger. All she wants to do is forget about everything wrong with her life and to have a moment of pleasure before reality settles back in. When she falls for Lark and finds he feels the same way, can they have a life together?

Lark needs to know that Holly remembers him from their past lives and he only wants to keep her safe. After trying to move on with his life, and failing badly, he needs to stop resisting the fact that she is his soul mate. Without his knowledge, he puts into motion the danger to the two of them. He tries to separate himself from her; only to accept the fact that he needs to be close to protect her.

Stalked By Love is a short novella, but packed with plenty of mysterious and eventful happenings. The two main characters are not what I expected, but I found myself hoping that they would be able to form a bond together. It was interesting at how each time the stalker would supposedly appear, there is never more than a dark description given. Ms. Williamson did a remarkable job of writing of lost love, reincarnation and blistering hot sex scenes with a twist. The way the plot unfolded made it more believable for me and left me checking all unusual sounds. LOL I won’t give away the ending here, only that I really enjoyed reading this story, and I hope you do, too.

Moonlight's Silver


Title: Moonlight's Silver
Author: Rayne Auster
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-065-9
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy/Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Ankerite knows life as a half-breed comes at a price. With humans and wolves alike hunting him, living becomes dangerous and Ankerite has to be cautious around others. When a werewolf decides to make Ankerite his prey, he knows this is the end, or is it?

Linden comes to Ankerite’s rescue and not just for purely selfish reasons. The werewolf will do anything to protect him. Now if he can gain Ankerite’s trust, everything will fall into place.

Rayne Auster’s Moonlight's Silver takes us into the lonely existence of Ankerite, a man who hasn’t known much love in his life. My heart couldn’t help but go out to him and his plight. Linden appears to be a powerful werewolf with strong convictions. I would love to see more background on him and his character developed more. Rayne Auster incorporates action, suspense and a well placed erotic scene that will capture your attention, and draw you into the story. If anything, Moonlight's Silver left me hoping for a sequel that would include other half-breeds or the werewolves introduced to in this short story. Buy a copy and enjoy.

Becoming Three


Title: Becoming Three
Author: Cameron Dane
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-467-1
Genre: [M/F/M] Contemporary Western
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Deputy Jace Maxwell has taken care of his best friend’s younger sister, Sarah, since she was a teenager. He’s crazy about her but knows she’s too young and inexperienced for the kind of loving he needs. Add in his carefully hidden attraction to men and he knows that a relationship, other than that of friends, is impossible.

Sarah becomes close friends with Jasper, a kind and gentle local cowboy, and when their relationship turns intimate, it almost drives Jace crazy. It also makes Sarah realize that as much as she cares for Jasper, she wants both men as lovers; the three of them together.

Jasper loves Sarah and has little to do with Jace, until he and some other cowboys discover a dead woman nailed to a tree. Even though he’s never had any interest in men, he soon must admit to Sarah that he’s attracted to the older man. Hearing this admission gives Sarah hope; for the first time that she has a chance of getting what she wants, and she sets out to convince both Jace and Jasper that they all belong together.

Becoming Three is the sixth release in Cameron Dane’s ongoing Hawkins Ranch series and the first to revolve around three main characters, M/F/M. It was also the first to have a suspense subplot which allows some of the individuals from previous books to make an appearance. I generally recommend that books in a series be read in the order written, and while it would be helpful, in this case, it’s not mandatory.

I enjoyed the personalities of the three lovers and despite the differences in their backgrounds, characters and life experiences, they fit together well. They have a little trouble working through their feelings, which is expected, but when these three finally come together, the only words to describe it are sizzling hot and explosive!

I love a good suspense and the secondary murder plot of this well written story was just what I needed. The deaths might have been a bit gruesome, but they made it clear that evil exists in big cities and small towns alike. I must admit I was surprised when the psychic appeared on the scene. What didn’t surprise me was the mistrust and derision the local police felt for him. There were more than a few twists and turns as the story raced to the end, and truthfully, I didn’t have a clue of the identity of the villain until it was revealed near the end. Good for you Cameron. I love to be kept guessing. I can’t wait for the next release in this keeper series.

Tuesday, December 8, 2009

Fire in the Sky


Title: Fire in the Sky
Author: Michelle Hasker
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-326-2
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal, Interracial, BBW
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Working for a boss who is drop dead handsome and grumpy-as-all-get-out is driving Selena over the edge. She wants to hear Kyden scream her name while he’s taking her on the desk, instead of screaming for her to get into his office. Staying calm and keeping her mouth shut is getting harder by the minute.

Kyden’s dragon wants its mate and is tired of waiting to claim her. He has four secretaries at his disposal, but he always chooses Selena. After seeing the fire in her eyes, Kyden purposely pushes her buttons, hoping to make her lose control. So far, nothing made her break so Kyden decides to step up his game.

As if working for the boss from hell isn’t bad enough, Selena has the misfortune of having an extra obstacle thrown into the mix. Even I wanted to strangle Kyden at first. But if any boss could get me jazzed about Monday mornings in the office, it would be him. Michelle Hasker brings the heat on the pages of Fire in the Sky, her contribution to the Dragon Kin series. Readers will fall in love with this passionate dragon tale, just as I have.

When Work Is a Pleasure


Title: When Work Is a Pleasure
Author: Alix Bekins
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-290-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Reporter Garrett Kowalski works for a gay magazine, a job that turns from sweet to spectacular when the subject matter of their next issue is explained. Garrett loves porn as much as any able-bodied man with a healthy libido and a large hard drive to hold its content. Landing an opportunity to attend Folsom Street Fair to interview porn stars is more than Garrett could have ever expected. The one man he lusts after, Justin, will test Garrett’s limits and have him hoping for more than just a simple friendship.

Garrett and Justin begin a budding relationship in a most unlikely place in Alix Bekins’ When Work Is a Pleasure. The plot for this story isn’t complex, but it’s definitely well delivered. The story is told from Garrett’s viewpoint but it’s not difficult to figure out what Justin wants. Justin’s job could make this situation more difficult than it really needs to be. Garrett may be an introvert but even with his recent breakup, he still doesn’t wallow in self-pity. He has just enough belief in himself and Justin not to make the relationship sticky by adding too much jealousy to the mix. I loved watching them interact; from the first time they meet to the closing lines of the story. I understood Justin’s appeal to Garrett. He’s real and didn’t want to date Justin because of what he did, but because of the man who hid behind the persona. Their light banter makes their relationship and attraction more believable and made them a couple I won’t soon forget.

I’m hoping Alix will write a sequel because I really wanted to be there for Thanksgiving dinner. I’ll never look at rulers the same again, and am sure those who love the genre will be happy they read When Work Is a Pleasure.

Arm Candy


Title: Arm Candy
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-1-907280-15-3
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Up until the moment the grandstand collapsed, burying him under mounds of debris, Asa Montgomery had everything money could buy. Expensive clothing, jewelry, a private jet, a gorgeous home and all the friends he wanted or needed. After his injury, he couldn’t say the same. Oh, he had all the same personal possessions but his money-hungry, so-called friends left him high-and-dry when he was no longer able to socialize and spend his money on them.

Weeks after his discharge from the hospital, he sits alone in his big house, with only his elderly housekeeper for company. The only man he wants to visit, Mario, isn’t answering his calls and in a moment of tremendous stupidity, offers the man an exorbitant amount of money to manage Asa’s physical reconditioning. Much to Asa’s shock, Mario, who’s tired of having wealthy men take advantage of him, not only refuses the job, he tells the wheelchair-bound man off before storming out of the house. Can Asa find a way to get past Mario’s hang-up about his money and convince the hurting man that they were meant to be together?

Arm Candy is the fourteenth release in Carol Lynne’s ongoing Cattle Valley series and it takes up almost immediately where the last one left off. As with all the books in this series, there are appearances by other characters from previous releases sprinkled strategically throughout the story.

There’s a lot going on in this short novella, almost too much for its length. Don’t get me wrong. This Cattle Valley is a good addition to the series; I just wish more time had been spent developing Asa and Mario’s relationship. They moved from angry and upset with each other to devoted lovers in record time. I know the two men had been friends for months but this sudden change felt unfinished and underdeveloped.

I loved learning more about Jay and look forward to the book revolving around his relationship with, who I assume will be, Enrico. Also seeing Quade back in town for a visit was nice, as was getting to see Leo, the new assistant fire chief. Learning more about the pasts of both Asa and Mario went a long way to explaining some of what made them tick, and the information was interjected seamlessly. The scenes revolving around Mario and his mother were the strongest and most gut-wrenching in the entire book and Asa’s attempt to help nicely written.