Saturday, April 25, 2009

Tigers and Devils




Title: Tigers and Devils
Author: Sean Kennedy
Publisher: Dreamspinnner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-935192-46-6
Genre: Contemporary M/M Romance
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Simon isn’t happy being alone and his best friends Roger and Fran are determined he find someone, which explains why they are constantly dragging him to parties. It’s during one such party when Simon barges into a football conversation and ends up defending the honor of star forward, Declan Tyler, who happens to be standing nearby and listening.

With his current year filled with fan complaints and horrendous injuries, Declan is thrilled to discover Simon’s support, when he needs it most. It also doesn’t hurt that his newest fan doesn’t cut him any slack for being famous and even makes a few unkind remarks. It’s an unusual meeting, in unusual circumstances and neither man realizes it will change their lives forever.

After their first awkward meeting and brief kiss, the two men struggle to build a lasting relationship, all while trying to hide Declan’s homosexuality from his team, friends and the increasingly intrusive media. When the time comes for Declan to come out of the closet, circumstances force him to make some decisions. The question is whether he can salvage his career, while keeping the man he loves.

When I started Tigers and Devils, I have to admit to being more than a little apprehensive when Simon started by describing Aussie football and why picking and supporting the appropriate team was so important to life. Since I’ve never been a sports fan, I was afraid that the sports aspect of this book would overwhelm the romance, but I’m glad to say I couldn’t have been more wrong. Yes, Aussie football, fans and teammates is important and help propel the story forward, but it does so from the background for the often stumbling, but still growing relationship between Simon and Declan.

Simon is a great character. He’s a loyal friend, determined worker, forgiving boss and loving son, even if his family drives him crazy and doesn’t understand or accept his being gay. Simon is also his own worst enemy, since he’s also snippy, defensive, sarcastic, overly sensitive and quick-tempered. Even so, I couldn’t dislike the man…not even a little. Shake him until his teeth rattles, yes…dislike him, no. Declan is just the opposite; a calm, levelheaded, forgiving (unless someone is verbally bashing Simon), and patient man (which he needs with Simon). These two lovers are truly a case of opposites attracting, and their love and passion is lasting and intense, even though the author skillfully manages to avoid blatant sexual romps in the bedroom (or elsewhere).

There are multiple wonderful secondary characters in this well-written and plotted book but my favorites, by far, were Simon’s married friends, Roger and Fran. These two are the type of friends every person wishes they had, and most don’t. They provided not only background and emotional support, but helped to develop the plot and move the story forward.

I love long, fully developed books, and Mr. Kennedy has graced his readers with the very type of story I adore. The only real complaint I have with the entire story is I kept wishing I could see a little from Declan’s POV…to get into his head.

Saddle Up 'N' Ride!


Title: Saddle Up 'N' Ride!
Author: Remmy Duchene
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-050-8
Genre: Western M/M Erotic Romance
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Jack Malone knows his friendship with Rusty Hunter means the world to him. The two men forged their bond over the course of seventeen years as pen pals. When the letters stopped coming, something in Jack stopped functioning and he needs his long-time friend to explain how their friendship has deteriorated to this degree.

Rusty hasn’t stopped caring for Jack and in fact, the opposite has occurred. Rusty wants his friend to take up as much residence in his bed as he has in his heart.

It was hard not to like Jack and Rusty’s characters. Jack overcame the hurts of his adolescence and has become an outstanding policeman. Rusty is no slouch himself, and takes pride in his ranch. When the truths were finally revealed, I was happy the men didn’t take a rollercoaster ride on denial and send us through “I think I should, I know I shouldn’t” scenes that so many books seem to enjoy adding. Remmy Duchene’s characters know their minds enough not to allow the denial to go until it’s the “just do it already” level. I’m starting to appreciate that more and more, as of late. Saddle Up 'N' Ride! is a wonderful quick read and is entertaining both inside and outside of the bedroom, with a believable plot and characters.

Rover


Title: Rover
Author: Mel Spenser
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-675-9
Genre: Contemporary Romance, M/M
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Patrick McAuliffe moves back to Houston to be near his family after grieving the loss of his partner of seven years. On his way to his new job, Patrick stops at a coffee shop where he meets the gorgeous Sean Riley, who works there part-time while going to college. Patrick and Sean are attracted to each other, although neither of them is on the lookout for a new love interest. Fate conspires to join Patrick and Sean, while fear and negative people attempts to tear them apart.

Rover is an emotionally multifaceted romance. Patrick is still living with the ghost of his partner; he has made a start of moving past it by changing locations and jobs. However, the thought of loving someone else causes feelings of guilt, along with the fear of losing another man he loves. The more time Patrick spends with Sean, Patrick comes to realize that some things were missing from his former life. Sean’s life was on a downhill slide until eye-opening events compelled him to take a hard look at himself and get his life back on track, a journey that has taken five years to complete.

The amazing Mel Spenser delivers another intriguing story in this precursor to Miss Me? The connection between the two stories was wonderfully written. The emotional rollercoaster in Rover is heart-wrenching. The chemistry between the characters is realistic and sometimes humorous and the intimate scenes are very sensuous. This is an excellent story that radiates love and encouraged me to continue reading to the last page, in addition to making another visit to Miss Me? I enjoyed this fascinating saga immensely.

Keeping Karma


Title: Keeping Karma
Author: Tory Temple
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-680-3
Genre: Contemporary, M/M, Erotic, Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Caen Nymph

Alex and his twin sister have a secret; they can hear animals talk. His powers come in handy whilst working at an animal shelter, but there’s also comes with a downside; the nasty migraines. One night, animal control officer Dylan comes in with an injured fawn but not only does he leave the fawn to the care of the shelter, he also leaves Alex his number.

Alex and Dylan soon follow into a comfortable pattern; both enjoying each other’s company. However will Dylan ever be ready to accept that Alex can hear the thoughts of animals?

I think people will find themselves having a hard time criticising Keeping Karma. The story is pure and utter fluff but one that is written well, with sweet heroes and even sweeter animals. One thing I find about stories that focus on animals is that they come off as pure and utter cheese. I’m an animal lover myself, but I don’t necessarily want my reading pleasure to focus on furry animals for oh-so-many pages. Luckily for me, Tory Temple not only makes her animals relevant, she also makes them original and hilarious. Usually when you think of secondary characters, they are always human; here the author manages to make her critters her secondary characters, and ones that I’ve come to adore completely.

The premise is sweet and undemanding and the prose moves at a lovely pace. However, I was left upset with the ending. The story finished rather abruptly and I found it a tad anticlimactic. This was a shame because if the author had just added another scene to break up the previous scene and the conclusion, it would have come together much better.

I found Alex to be a sweet, loving and tender character. I really would have loved some more back story on his “Dr. Dolittle” abilities because the author didn’t really delve much into his powers – other than him having this ability since he was young. It was rather evasive and I find that if the author puts a little more emphasis on that area, it would have helped build the paranormal element some more. Dylan was a mystery; I was attracted to him but the author never explained anything about him and, like Alex in the end, I knew nothing about him. Which brings me to another point, Dylan meets Alex’s sister, he even learns about Alex’s secret – however Alex (and the reader) know next to nothing about Dylan. This fact alone makes it hard to believe in their relationship.

Keeping Karma is a lovely story even though I did have some problems with the world building and the characterisation of Dylan. However, I think Tory Temple fans will enjoy this piece.

Dark Phoenix


Title: Dark Phoenix
Author: Marly Mathews
Publisher: New Concepts Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.newconceptspublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60394-290-4
Genre: Futuristic Romance
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

As an Immortal from the Hidden Realms of Magic, Garret Firestorm lights the way through a dark universe. What he and his freedom fighters battle is the evil that would take over the light of the worlds. Now that he has his soul mate with him, there is a female android who thought she should have that right and was the cause of Alora being put back into enemy hands.

From the beginning of her life, Alora Bishop has known that her psychic ability would make her different from the people of her tribe. Her magic is subdued by the barbarians who attack them; she is taken captive and is to be sold in the slave market when Garret comes to her rescue. She felt the soul connection to him, and was resisting it; especially with him acting the dominant male.

This is a truly fantastic story and I loved reading every moment of Dark Phoenix, and just when I thought things would come to an end….more action! I was not completely happy with Alora’s character, which seemed to be on a road of self-destruction and wondered how she could have been the leader of others with such a negative of an attitude. There is a lot of action, magic, hot sex, and family connections going on, and lets not forget the dark villain who uses dark magic, thinking that he could become invincible by overtaking the people of the Hidden Realms, who are the light of many worlds.

Marly Mathews has done a wonderful job of writing this story; of making you feel love or hate for each person involved. I am guessing that it was the ultimate goal of everyone was to return to the Hidden Realms to live out eternity together or is there more to this book? I am hoping that Ms. Mathews will fulfill the curiosity of her readers with more on the secondary characters, especially the twins.

Interstellar Service & Discipline: Lost Star


Title: Interstellar Service & Discipline: Lost Star
Author: Morgan Hawke
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-615-6
Genre: BDSM LGBT Futuristic Science Fiction/Fantasy M/M
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Aubrey’s father always said he was too smart for his own good. A tech engineer caught by the enemy and turned into a weapon, Aubrey never thought he would escape. Given the choice to return to them or die, Aubrey would choose death any day. Fortunately, he ends up in the hands of Deshryt Seht, blood prince of Skeldhor.

Seht sees Aubrey and something compels him to save the young man, the enemy of his enemy is his friend. However, the rescue is short lived when Seht discovers Aubrey is dying. Now Aubrey must make a choice, live or die, but he has no idea of what he will endure if he decides to have Seht save him for a second time.

Interstellar Service & Discipline: Lost Star is the prequel to Victorious Star. Aubrey seemed to go from the frying pan and into the fire. His enemy used him and then the one man he thought he could trust threw him into some similar situations he was trying to escape. While I understand that Seht cared about Aubrey and had no true way of warning him of what his “cure” would entail, I couldn’t help not liking him very much at some points of the story. Watching Aubrey mature seemed to sooth that feeling. There is an abundance of erotic encounters that enhance instead of overshadow the plot. Interstellar Service & Discipline: Lost Star is a fast-paced read that had my emotions on a rollercoaster ride. I would recommend those who enjoy intergalactic male-male romance and space battles or for fans of the Interstellar Service & Discipline series to gain understanding on how Aubrey came to be. Pick up a copy, you won’t be disappointed!

Thursday, April 23, 2009

Restraint


Title: Restraint
Author: Teresa Noelle Roberts
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-134-5
Genre: Contemporary BDSM Erotic Romance M/M
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Luke knows his looks attract men. He’s a top who enjoys mixing blood sport with his sex and that doesn’t seem to keep the men away. Luke knows he has to be in total control because the risks are too high during his sessions. Ethan, a novice to knives, approaches Luke and Luke decides to give him just what he’s craving. Something about Ethan tests Luke’s control and has him dancing on the edge of a blade. The question is who’s really in control – Luke or Ethan?

Teresa Noelle Roberts brings us a bloody, steamy, erotic encounter in Restraint. Ethan reminds you of a deer caught in headlights when you first meet him. I had to give him credit for placing himself in the hands of a man who enjoys playing with knives. Luke has hidden desires that he partially plays out with his sessions. I’m not usually a fan of blood sports or pain, but Ms. Roberts added sensuality to the scene while incorporating a message about the importance of trust in these types of encounters. She also added just enough plot the keep the story interesting, a setting that drew me into the story, and two believable characters. I’m looking forward to reading more stories from Ms. Roberts in the near future.

Under Pressure


Title: Under Pressure
Author: BA Tortuga
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-661-2
Genre: Gay M/M Erotic Romance, Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Sonny and MJ would be a couple of happy campers if they could just get their friends and enemies to understand that they have retired. When old friends call asking for help, the two men cannot say no and once again hit the road.

Neil and Paddy have been traveling throughout Europe, yet Neil cannot seem to shake the feeling that something bad is coming their way. Will they be able to stay ahead of their enemies or is it too late?

Duncan was just supposed to be a job but Cowboy cannot pull the trigger and the two ends up running. When things get out of control, there’s only one man Cowboy trusts to help.

One of the problems I have reviewing a book is deciding how much to say. If you say too much, you give away the story; yet on the other hand, you just cannot say “It’s a great book - go out and buy it.” That’s the problem I had with this fast-paced action packed story by BA Tortuga.

Under Pressure, book three in the Road Trip series, picks up right after the last book. Sonny and MJ are back in all their hard loving, hard-hitting glory. Neil and Paddy are not far behind and there is even the introduction of a new couple to the series. Those who have read the previous books will love this one. For those of you that have not tried BA Tortuga, try this series and yes, they have to be read in order.

Playing the Field: Face Off


Title: Playing the Field: Face Off
Author: J. M. Snyder
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-465-5
Genre: Gay M/M, Contemporary, Sports,
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Christian has his hockey career planned down to the last letter. He knows he has to start with one of the minor leagues and work hard to be noticed by any scout that may be watching him. This does not always endear him to his new teammates. While the rest of the team may not like him, Christian has no problems getting along with Ronnie, one of the team’s senior players.

Although Christian seems to think he is the only real player on the team, Ronnie can't help but be drawn to the man. While both men work hard on the ice to get their team through the season, they work even harder off it.

Playing the Field: Face Off is the first book in a new series by author J.M. Snyder. Involving the world of sports, Ms. Snyder sets the first book in the hockey rink. While the characters seem to be total opposites; Christian is the hot head, egotistic player and Ronnie the more laid back, quiet type; they work well together. Playing the Field: Face Off is an enjoyable start to what looks like a fun series.

Playing the Field: Tee'd Off


Title: Playing the Field: Tee'd Off
Author: J. M. Snyder
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-499-0
Genre: Gay M/M, Contemporary, Sports,
Rating: 4.0 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Greg Chennault has loved golf since he was a kid. After sneaking onto the green and being caught by one of the players, Greg is given a job as a caddy. Now as an adult, Greg works at an exclusive resort as their ‘expert’, a job that leaves him plenty of time to indulge his passion. Thinking he will be able to spend some time with an old mentor at the resort's annual tournament, Greg is pleasantly surprised when it turns out to be the man's son, Trey, instead.

Trey has wanted Greg since they were both teens but the slightly older boy never seemed to notice. Now that they’re both adults, Trey sees no reason why they cannot be together. When he sees an invitation for a golf tournament with Greg’s name on it, Trey knows just what he needs to do.

For the second book in her series, J.M. Snyder takes us out to the green with Playing the Field: Tee'd Off. While the series is centered in the world of sports, it is not bogged down with the book's sport of choice. The chemistry between the characters is very strong and while slightly younger than Greg, Trey knows exactly what he wants.

First Caress


Title: First Caress
Author: Tianna Xander and Bonnie Rose Leigh
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-230-5
Genre: Shapeshifter, Romance, Mystery, Paranormal, Ménage (m/f/m)
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Rory and Gavin are sent to look for the Tree of Life, along with five other teams by their clan’s healer. While looking for the Tree of Life, they help Jenny escape men holding her captive after she spotted them destroying parts of the forest.

First Caress was an enjoyable read. The distrust Jenny had for anyone in the forest was very noticeable through her actions. I also thought the mating habit of the jaguars is interesting and I look forward to the next installment about the hunt for the Tree of Life.

Behind the Black Door


Title: Behind the Black Door
Author: Darcy Abriel
Publisher: Amber Heat
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberHeat/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-453-2
Genre: Genre: Dark Fantasy / Shape shifter / Werewolf / BDSM (Light) / Ménage (M/F/M)
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Fire Nymph

Gulietta never understood what her mother meant by not finding her father. She never understood why she craves sex on a daily basis, never getting enough; no man ever being able to satisfy her. Until she meets Quintus, a man of many personalities; one moment sweet and gentle, the next hard as stone and every bit the Roman warrior he is. She tended to have whiplash after being with him.

Quintus is a Roman Guardian on loan to Antius, leader of the Satyr realm. Arranging for his freedom with Antius, Quintus was sent out to bring Antius’s daughter Gulietta home and he could be her mate…if she chose him.

This book was a great read. The sex was hot and I fell in love with the characters; Gulietta was a woman after my own heart. Not backing down to a chauvinistic society was great and I cheered for her the entire time. Quintus had me wishing my for a Roman Guardian of my own to have standing in a corner on standby waiting for my orders! Great sex, strong characters and a sassy woman are what make great books! Highly recommended read!

Bad Angels: Falling


Title: Bad Angels: Falling
Author: Belinda McBride
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-204-3
Genre: Paranormal, Ménage [M/M/F], Bisexual[M/M] and More
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Fallen Angel Rion Hunter crash lands in a Scottish sheep pasture, with no true memory of how, or why things came to be. Stripped of his voice and memory, Rion must learn to adapt to his new surroundings. The only bright star is having Rex, a farmer who is far more than a mere mortal, come to his rescue.

Rex knows it’s not good to mix business with pleasure when it comes to one of the fallen angels, but Rion has burrowed deep within his heart. They have to contend with a succubus and Rion’s past if there is even an iota of a chance for the two men to find happiness.

Bad Angels: Falling is the first installment of the Belinda McBride’s new Bad Angels series, and what a way to begin the series. We meet Rion, one of the fallen, whose demeanor and actions leads you to believe he should be anything but. Then there’s Rex, a Sidhe who is honor bound to do his job, but misses companionship that doesn’t require the use of glamour to protect his identity. I loved the connection they built over time, each becoming an integral part in the others existence; a solid link to happiness and contentment. This was definitely a wonderful story, with a touch of suspense added to keep things flowing and engaging. I’m starting to become a fan of a man who knows how to use every appendage he’s blessed to have in his arsenal. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this installment and look forward to reading more about Rex and Rion.

Sundown, Inc (Collection)


Title: Sundown, Inc (Collection)
Author: Cat Marsters
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-170-1
Genre: Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

She Who Dares (4 Nymphs) is a fast paced story about vampires of different types who can be mastered by other vampires. Masika is a known assassin working for Sundown, Inc., and she take on a job to kill a vampire, who is from her past life. What happens to Masika and Dare is not what you would expect, or shall I say, it’s a big surprise and the sex is extremely hot.

Blue Moon (4 Nymphs), tells the story of Elek Solyom, who is a certain type of wolf (loup-garou, which means cursed), and he has found the love of his life….Magda, who almost kills him during a full moon. These two lovers have hot searing sex and then they are separated for a short period of time because of Elek’s not being able to control the change. After Magda talks with her mother, she figures out the mystery as to why the curse had not been broken.

What Wizards Want (4 Nymphs), tells of what Con Marks does for a living; helping others by talking to dead spirits who only want to be left alone, and working for the Unseelie Faeries or anyone else who needs him. Lily had been imprisoned for two hundred and eighty-two years before Con did his freeing spell to release her and they experienced more than the sexual dreams they had been having.

Baby Sham Faery Love (4 Nymphs), a story that tells of Aura, who is a sex faery. Yes a sex faery, who helps others with their lack of sexual fulfillment and she is in New York, away from the rest of the group at Sundown, Inc. for a much needed break. Her best friends Tadgh, a Wildfae and Ell, a Seelie prince needs her help with satisfying Ell’s mother, the Unseelie Queen, with bearing an heir or two for the line to continue.

Sundown, Inc. is the only investigative firm in the paranormal world and its employees are showcased in the four stories. The characters are so into each other that it makes the story more believable for me and I found myself cheering them on when faced with adversities.

Cat Marsters does a wonderful job of writing about a group of people who work together, and telling of how their own stories come about. One novella leads right to the next, and each includes what happen to the last couple united. It is really interesting that all of the characters interact with each other throughout the books; with some of them hating each other. This was a fantastic series to read.

Hoosier Werewolf: Howl & Prowl (Collection)


Title: Hoosier Werewolf: Howl & Prowl (Collection)
Author: Kate Steele
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-137-4
Genre: Werewolves, M/M
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Midnight Howl 4.5 Nymphs
It is after midnight when Associate Librarian Ethan Parks decides to go home, except his car will not start so Ethan resolves to walk the almost two mile hike in the December cold. Along the way, Ethan notices what looks like a wolf on the other side of the street, keeping pace with him. Werewolf Crewe Jackson has been waiting for nine years to claim his mate Ethan; at last he finds an opportunity.

Who Let the Wolf Out 5 Nymphs
Graduate student Dustin Parks is having a bad day. Arrested for dealing drugs and betrayed by a friend, he is in need of help. Werewolf and lawyer Chad Sutter rushes to the rescue of his future mate. It is time he claimed Dustin and prove that he can trusted with Dustin’s heart.

Things That Go Grr 5 Nymphs
Werewolf alpha and owner of the Midnight Howl nightclub, Lucas Devereau, is walking towards the bar area when the scent of his future mate attracts his attention and leads him to Nick Parks. Lucas immediately realizes that Nick is a natural alpha. Lucas is having second thoughts about claiming Nick. On the other hand, his wolf refuses to be denied.

Hoosier Werewolf: Howl & Prowl (Collection) is a fascinating succession of the three Parks brothers. Ethan is the middle brother, quiet, shy and in-the-closet gay. Dustin is the youngest, good natured and trusting of everyone. Nick is the older and the self-appointed caretaker of his younger brothers. What is very apparent in the stories is that the Parks brothers are good men, very lovable with a caring spirit, which makes them a perfect match for their protective werewolf mates who provide love; precisely what they were missing in other relationships. The amazing Kate Steele has a gift for writing beautiful stories that touches your heart with warm sentiment and your libido with passionate love scenes.

Venus In Blue Jeans


Title: Venus In Blue Jeans
Author: Meg Benjamin
Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd.
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-369-2
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph


Docia Kent is very insecure about herself when it comes to men. Afraid that they only want her for her family’s money, she keeps to herself.

Cal Toleffson is a very big man and is constantly afraid that his size creates apprehension in the females that he has dated in the past. He sees Docia and wants to get to know her.

Docia owns a bookstore that seems to be having a lot of break-ins and other mishaps. She discovers that someone has hidden something in her bookstore that is quite valuable.

Venus In Blue Jeans is a very good suspense story. The insecurities of Docia and Cal contribute to the story, as well. I was delighted with some of the twists that Ms. Benjamin had because the villains were surprise. I enjoyed reading this and did not want to put in down.

Hangin' With My Window Man


Title: Hangin’ With My Window Man
Author: Carolina Valdez
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-467-9
Genre: Gay M/M, Contemporary
Rating: 4.0 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph


As Vice President of an Indie movie company, Ryan has put in a lot of overtime, partly to get over a bad relationship. While going over paperwork on a possible movie project, Ryan is shocked to see the scaffolding holding two window cleaners getting ready to swing into his office window.

Boon loves the simpler life and sees no reason not to do the things he likes; whether it’s modeling or working as a window man. When an accident on the job results in him meeting the gorgeous Ryan, he is thrilled, especially as the two men seem to be attracted to each other.

Hangin’ With My Window Man by Carolina Valdez is an enjoyable read about two men who prove the old adage that opposites attract. Both characters are strong and self-confident, yet are not afraid to let their partner know when they need a little help. The wealthy Ryan and the multi-tattooed Boon have more than enough chemistry to spare in a story that flows smoothly from beginning to end.

Wednesday, April 22, 2009

The Men of CCD: Tempting Turner


Title: The Men of CCD: Tempting Turner
Author: Marie Rochelle
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-148-2
Genre: Contemporary Interracial
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph


Charisma Miles is a sports agent who is fighting to keep her job. She’s also a woman trying very hard to fight her attraction to a man who leaves her weak in the knees. While on a vacation, Charisma happens to run into the object of her most wicked desires and more sparks fly.

Months had passed since Dave Turner met Charisma and he was no closer to convincing her that they belonged together. The moment he laid eyes on the cocoa cutie, Dave was hooked. Charisma might be out of his league, but Dave was determined to do anything to get her in his bed, and keep her in his life forever.

The Men of CCD: Tempting Turner is number three in Marie Rochelle’s series. She has written a winner and given me another mouthwatering man to salivate over. Dave is so persistent in his pursuit of Charisma and that is what touched me the most. One glance at Charisma had him making life-altering decisions without blinking an eye. The fact that Dave wanted to be a better man for her made me want him for myself. At moments, I was fearful Dave would be too much for Charisma and that she would bolt. But, Charisma was unable to keep her mind and her hands off the hard-bodied hunk for very long. Finally seeing the couple come together made my heart cheer. Marie Rochelle blended the right dash of family in this arousing story that will leave readers dying for more.

Let’s Dish


Title: Let’s Dish
Author: Catherine Wade
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-461-3
Genre: Romantic Comedy, Contemporary Romance
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Sphinx Minx

Maggie Donnely has returned to her maiden name after divorcing Ted Turner. He’d been a handsome chiropractor when they wed, but he surprised her with a new direction for his life. And he left her with another big surprise for her future. Maggie had taken cooking lessons to occupy her mind and time after a tragedy. She had a real knack for it. In chef school, she was partnered with Kevin Best. She was irate when he made a pass at her - a married woman! And she thinks he stole her recipes.

Now Kevin is opening a competitor to her fledgling bakery and coffee shop, Let’s Dish. And sparks are flying.

Maggie is funny, strong-willed, and not nearly as right as she’d like to think. Kevin is sweet and determined. And the supporting cast is both wacky and likable. Maggie’s best friend Lyla is married to her chef business partner, Armand Hemingway. Maggie’s mom wants her married - right now - and thinks this business thing is just a little fling. Her dad is a big time football fan with little use for exotic ingredients like lemon zest.

A big-money cooking competition was an interesting backdrop for the final action. The food sounded yummy and so did the romance. This was a lot of fun and I hope to sample more of Catherine Wade’s tasty delights.

Carolina Wolf


Title: Carolina Wolf
Author: Sela Carsen
Publisher: Samhain Publishing, Ltd.
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-374-6
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Romantic Comedy
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Debra Henry is being pursued by two men; one is her true love and the other only wants what she is protecting. Debra is attacked one night by a rogue werewolf, is saved by Maddox and ends up taking him home to take care of him after he is hurt.

Carolina Wolf was a fun story to read. I enjoyed the way the author wove the history of Debra’s family into the way she was attracted to Maddox and the discovery of their shared history into the story. The way the rogue werewolf came about was an interesting twist.

Devil’s Kitchen




Title: Devil’s Kitchen
Author: Calista Fox
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419920349
Genre: Vampire
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Fire Nymph

Katrina Hartland is heiress to a fortune that was earned by her father’s underhanded exploits to get what he wants. Now, she is engaged to a man she has known since she was a child, but she always saw him as a nitwit, instead of somebody she could love. Why, you ask, is she engaged to this man she loathes so desperately? Her father arranged it to seal the deal of his next big merger. Why can’t her father understand that her heart belongs to somebody else, somebody forbidden, somebody older?

Ramon D’Angelo has been guarding Katrina’s safety for six years; being her bodyguard was a glorious job, especially when the job is more hands on than off. Having an explicit love affair with the boss’s daughter is not good for his career. Falling in love with the woman of his dreams is bad for her life, and his freedom. Can Ramon keep his secret? A secret he has guarded for years and keep the woman he loves safe and out of danger.

Calista Fox has become a permanent author on my list of those to be on the look out. Devil’s Kitchen was a whirlwind good time of spine-tingling sex and on-the-edge-of-your-seat action. From the first paragraph to the final period, I couldn’t take my eyes from the computer screen. Katrina’s love for Ramon was obvious, yet my heart fluttered every time Ramon was mentioned. Ramon, in such a struggle with his decisions to embrace her, love her or set her free for her safety pulled at my heart strings, making me want to scream at him through the screen to love her, yet biting my tongue knowing he would do what is best for Katrina. I highly recommend this book and it is one of my favorite reads.

Red Alert


Title: Red Alert
Author: Lynne Connolly
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419920639
Genre: Shapeshifter Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Megan’s life is a scary mess. After experiencing numerous vivid nightmares involving the brutal torture of a male dragon shapeshifter, she seeks medical advice, which results in the worst possible diagnosis. Megan has a brain tumor and it’s killing her. She has no reason to doubt the existence of the tumor until she meets Sandro, a man claiming her nightmares are telepathic messages from his missing younger brother, Ricardo

Rescuing Megan from an attempted abduction is only the start of the developing relationship between this fiery pair. While they seek Sandro’s brother, their mutual passion and desire flares hot. He wants Megan body and soul but, due to his own secret, can’t promise her the forever she wants and needs.

Red Alert is the first release in the new Storm (The Society of Talented Officers Resisting Mistreatment) series by multi-published author Lynne Connolly. Let me say upfront that I really enjoyed this intriguing and well-written book and bringing the ‘talents’ out into the public spotlight was a great plotline progression for the shifter races that readers have became acquainted with in previous series.

The characters of Megan and Sandro are sexy, independent and likable and the dual kidnapping plotline that propels the story forward, well thought out, plausible and nicely executed. The inclusion of the rabid anti-talent group, the IRDC (The International Research and Development Clinic) from the previous releases is the perfect continuing villainous group. The manner in which this group of people infiltrate society using science as a cover, while in fact propagating hate, fear and distrust of people who they don’t consider normal…human. And I have to admit that this group reminds me of the hate and torture experienced by millions during WWII. The IRDC might operate in the background most of the time, but their presence in the story is what Sandro and the other operatives from STORM fight against each and every day.

The secondary characters fill out the story nicely, and this is particularly true of the telepathic aspect of Megan and Ricardo’s connection, fellow agent Chase, and the interaction with the head of the agency, Ann. The plot is action-packed, racing from beginning to end, while Megan and Sandro attempt to sort out their swirling passion and emotion. There is really too much going on in this story to list it all, but suffice it to say there’s more than enough passion, desire, hate, betrayal, fear and pain to satisfy any reader. I look forward to seeing where this series goes with the next release, Red Heat.

Her Hungers


Title: Her Hungers
Author: Mary Winter
Publisher: Pink Petal Books
Publisher URL: http://www.pinkpetalbooks.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: Erotic Paranormal Romance, Ménage (M/F/M)
Rating: 2.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Lilah is first turned into a vampire and then attacked by werewolves, ending up with a dual nature. Adrian protects her and helps her learn about her vampire side, but doesn’t seem to like her wolf too much.

Lilah has always had a crush on Roarke, the alpha werewolf she knew while growing up. Roarke shows up to claim her and finds her with Adrian. After several attempts on her life, Roarke and Adrian come up with a way to keep Lilah safe. Neither is happy with the fact that she is attracted to them both, but Lilah convinces them that she needs both of them to keep both her vampire and wolf happy.

There is a lot of political maneuvering within the vampire and werewolf communities, which include some rogue elements coming into play. Both Adrian and Roarke are hard pressed to keep Lilah alive and with them.

I was intrigued by Ms. Winter’s concept of a woman being both a vampire and werewolf in Her Hungers. I was disappointed that references about Lilah’s attack and turning seemed to be peripheral. The book started with a sex scene with Adrian and most of the book was about the sex and sexual relationship between the three of them, with the storyline showing up once in a while.

Warning: This book contains scenes of sex while in shifted form.

Tuesday, April 21, 2009

Worth Every Risk


Title: Worth Every Risk
Authors: Jennifer McKenzie, Dawn Montgomery, Lainey Bancroft
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN 978-1-59578-543-5
Genre: Anthology, Romantic Suspense
Rating: 2.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Sphinx Minx

This anthology contains three very different tales about risk-taking. They are unconnected by genre and style. One tale rests on political corruption, another is a ghost legend, and the third features a psychic mad scientist.

A Dangerous Exchange by Jennifer McKenzie (2 Nymphs) has Marnie Coleman searching for evidence to find the person who murdered her parents. She’s employed as a courier and may be transporting blood diamonds. African espionage Todd Atchison, watchdog for the UN, is trying to keep her out of trouble.

Lies, secrets abound, murder, and corruption come to the surface. It’s an interesting adventure, but I felt little connection between the characters. I also had some difficulty following the plot.

Dawn Montgomery’s Burn Out (2.5 Nymphs) is a spooky tale of the undead. Zoe Taylor is a photographer on her first trip to Alaska. The Bristo sheriff, Noah Reynolds, enlists her aid photographing a gruesome body. The body disappears and a deputy is attacked. An escaped and rotting convict, Samuel Pickins, is involved and it’s all connected to a 100-year-old curse. Noah, along with 13 others, was troubled by reoccurring dreams.

The others are all dead, and Zoe wants to hang on to her newfound mountain man. There’s a good ghost story here in the Land of the Midnight Sun, but the nature of the curse – and the time sequence – never made sense to me. The story had great atmosphere, but little logic.

The Artistry of Auras by Lainey Bancroft (3 Nymphs) is the most interesting of the lot. New detective Petra Canon is assigned to work with The Psychic Task Force. Her father has little use for this nonsense and has always derided Petra’s crime solving abilities.

Task Force Leader Mike Angelo has major aura reading powers. He’s arrogant and sexy, and Petra can’t resist him. Four women are missing -- all resembling Petra. She assumes they are dead, while Mike believes they are alive. The genetics of aura reading powers form the basis for the crimes. This unusual tale has lots of action and a mad scientist feel and a heroine coming to terms with herself. It kept my interest from beginning to end.

Reckless Behavior


Author: Amanda Young
Publisher: Loose Id
ISBN: 978-1-59632-926-3
Genre: Contemporary, M/M, Erotic
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Caen Nymph

It’s been six months since Cody and Dante started dating. However, whilst both men are enjoying each other, they also participate in frequent threesomes. Dante figured it was only right Cody try other men, as long as he was in the room. So both men follow a set pattern whilst being in a relationship and sharing each other with other men. However, it soon becomes tiring for Dante and what he doesn’t know is that Cody shares the same opinion.

Cody and Dante soon realise that communication is key, when more trouble looms on the horizon for the young couple.

Reckless Behavior is the sequel to the author’s previous story Reckless Seduction. The interesting concept here was how this story started out with a committed couple who are participating in threesomes. Naturally this does not sit well with me because I don’t like reading about couples who are together but are sharing other people in the bedroom. However, I found it quite refreshing how the author made the threesomes relevant. The characters enjoyed the hot sex with other men, but there was a point that helped progress the characters’ relationship.

I find that a lot of authors use age as an excuse for young people being unable to commit. That’s another aspect I find rather insulting because most of the time, it is my age group they are talking about. The great thing about Reckless Behavior was the author didn’t do that; it wasn’t that Cody could not commit because of his age, it was the fact that Dante wanted Cody to experience all the things he himself had experienced and so much more. Yes, Dante has commitment issues, but he found that by being with Cody, the prospect didn't seem so scary anymore.

Amanda Young is very good at making her characters work through dilemmas and she always uses interesting concepts to invoke drama and angst. However, I found that aspect to be rather lacking in this story. There was miscommunication between Cody and Dante, but it wasn’t intense, and the quick make-up at the end left me a little bit hollow. Personally I also didn’t find the erotic scenes very interesting. There were a lot of them and for me, they didn’t bring out the heat factor. Aside from one sex scene, which was marginally better than the rest, the others just read too clinical for me. Overall, it was nice to see the characters again and the progress they make in this story.

Coyote Non Grata


Title: Coyote Non Grata
Author: Lena Austin
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59596-851-7
Genre: Shapeshifter, M/M
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Rody is tired, hungry and in need of medical help as he makes his way toward the human in the ranger’s cabin. Banished from the pack by the alpha, Rody is resolved to living among the humans. Jeff Gleason, who abandoned his Comanche customs to become a scientist, was reminded of his childhood medicine man training when he saw the wounded coyote’s nose hiding under his bed. Gaining Rody’s confidence, Jeff treated the coyote and discovered a mutual attraction to the human Rody.

Coyote Non Grata is a fascinating story featuring the spiritual connection between coyote and Comanche. The amazing Lena Austin delivers a small peek into this intriguing topic of Native American legends. This is a very enjoyable snippet that will add curiosity and awareness to your day and hopefully there will be more episodes with these sensual characters.

Freeman




Title: Freeman
Author: Clare London
Publisher: MLR Press Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrpress.com/
ISBN: 9781608200054
Genre: M/M, Erotic Romance, Adventure, Suspense
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Virgin Nymph

Freeman was a man who credited himself on getting the job done. He knew what he had to do, he knew what had to be done, he collected his pay. That’s the life of Freeman. He wanted out of his past life but his ex-wife, her brother, Freeman’s ex-lover, and let’s not forget his ex-boss, wanted to pull him back in. Freeman would have liked to stay out but then enters this young man named Kit, who just wanted Freeman to be just himself. Who wouldn’t want to keep him?

Wow! What a freaking ride! I enjoyed this book so much; words cannot express what this book was to me. I really liked this story because I was taken on a roller coaster ride that I didn’t want to get off! So many twists and turns, ins and outs, love and romance. Just awesome! When I thought I could get a hold on the story, Ms. London switched gears on me and made me want to throw my hands up and say wheeeeeeeee!. I felt like I was sitting right there with Freeman as he went through grabbing hold of his feelings for this young man. How do you tell someone you love them when you never really experienced it for yourself, while trying to protect them and not show them your whole deck of cards? That was just plain Freeman and he had to take charge of this situation and still maintain his sanity. Freeman reminds me of Michael Corleone. Every time he tried to get, out they pulled him back in. After you read Freeman, you’ll want to ride along with Ms. London and Freeman again and again!

Sunshine, Sex and Sunflowers


Title: Sunshine, Sex and Sunflowers
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419912986
Genre: M/M Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Jacko Hennesy was fortunate to have his best mate, Lochie McBride, in his corner after he lost his family’s station. Moving in with Lochie and his new lover Jamey has made Jacko libido rival a randy teenager. The feelings he has harbored for Lochie are fast coming to the surface and what’s even more shocking are the new feelings he has for Jamey.

Jamey and Lochie both love each other and care about Jacko’s well being. Now they will have to decide how deep their affection for the tough bushman is and if there is room for more.

Jacko is a mountain of a man, with a giving heart. I understood why Lochie was attracted to him, besides his physical appearance. Jamey is complex and while he enjoys them being gentle with him and the pampering at Lochie’s hands, he needs people to remember he is a man. Sunshine, Sex and Sunflowers brings us a bit of action and suspense, along with the intense lovemaking.

Hungry Heart


Title: Hungry Heart
Author: Jamie Hill
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59426-667-6
Genre: Contemporary, M/M
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

NYPD Captain Gil Gates and his two best friends are having drinks in their favorite bar; Gil is depressed over the questioning of his judgment being conducted by Internal Affairs after a double homicide happened on his watch. When the handsome and gay news reporter Brian Knight shows up on Gil’s doorstep, there is more than a felony case to explore, but can Gil trust Brian?

Hungry Heart is book three in the Streets of Fire series. Jamie Hill brings you up to date on the lives of Nick and Sam, while adding a love interest for Gil. This is an enjoyable story featuring romance with crime-solving as the background.

Del Fantasma: Scotch on the Rocks


Title: Del Fantasma: Scotch on the Rocks
Author: Liadan Brodie
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60168-182-9
Genre: Paranormal Contemporary (M/M and M/M/F ménage)
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Silver Minx

Braeden and Matt are werewolves that have been sent to bring back Braeden’s cousin Sean, who has gone rouge. Sean hadn’t just gone rouge but had taken someone very close to Braeden and Matt, Elizabeth. On the trail to finding Elizabeth, Matt and Braeden rescue a small boy who had also been taken by Sean. The boy gives those final clues to help Matt and Braeden get closer to finding Elizabeth and Sean. With the unexpected help, will Braeden and Matt save their mate and bring Sean to justice?

I really enjoyed Scotch on the Rocks. It had enough wrong in it to rise up that sense of injustice that we all have. I mentally cheered at the end when justice was served. I even had a few tears at some scenes. I love a good story that brings in all of the emotions. The sex, if you are particular to male-male and male-female-male, was good as well. Liadan Brodie did a good job!

Monday, April 20, 2009

Mark of the Beast


Title: Mark of the Beast
Author: Jourdan Lane
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: Gay Erotic Romance, Paranormal M/M
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Sabaan sees the situation between his lover, Nikolas and his master vampire, Lucien and Lucien’s lover, Peter deteriorating before his eyes. Secrets and hidden agendas have some too blind to see the harm being done and others hurt and slowly collapsing within themselves. Sabaan can’t change the world, but he can help his lover understand his worth. Is Sabaan truly the glue that binds them all, or will they need something stronger, more potent, to help them stay together?

For those who fell in love with Sabaan and Nikolas, this quickie is the perfect treat. Sabaan has watched the fights, seen the mistrust and hurt, and knows it’s all because of a lack of communication. He is powerless to do anything about the “big picture”, so Sabaan finds a way to express his love to Nikolas and vice versa. I knew Nikolas was a softy for Sabaan, but it was nice seeing it shine through in this installment. While I wasn’t happy about some of the things revealed, I was happy with this couples decisions and lava hot trip to carnal bliss.

Close Enough to Human


Title: Close Enough to Human
Author: Brenna Lyons
Publisher: Loose ID
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 9781596329034
Genre: Science Fiction/Fantasy
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Xxans and humans are at war. Miri is a cross-breed negotiator that is actually a decoy at a conference between humans and Xxans. Aleeks is a cross-breed and leader of an elite military unit that is guarding the human council at a meeting with the Xxans.

Miri escapes the trap after the Xxans try to assassinate the humans and is taken prisoner by Aleeks. Aleeks soon learns that she has no concept of what she truly is and is capable of.

Close Enough to Human is mainly a story of the mating habits of the Xxans. Though there is some conflict in the beginning and end of the story, the story revolves around Aleeks teaching Miri about herself and their mating. I would have liked to have a little more about the conflict between the two races.

Soaked


Title: Soaked
Author: Lena Matthews
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-916-4
Genre: Multicultural Erotic Contemporary
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph


Months have passed since Ali Hernandez got kicked to the curb because of her virginity status. She was finally moved on from the heartbreak. At a friend’s party, she gets a chance to put her new attitude to the test when Ali runs into the man who left her high and dry. Now maybe she can convince Jonas that she is ready to walk on the wild side with him.

Running into Ali again brought back the same old emotions for Jonas Lennox. He still wants her, even though Ali doesn’t think so. Deep down, Jonas feels that Ali is too good for him and he refuses to be the man to tarnish her. When it comes to sex, Jonas knows that his desires might be too much for Ali to deal with. Even though he is not happy about it, being apart was the only solution he could come up with. However, Jonas was not prepared for the fact that Ali might have found a replacement for him.

Soaked will most definitely leave you drenched with sweat from the powerful scenes. Jonas tries his best to shock Ali, but she faces it all like a woman on a mission. When Ali and Jonas come together it’s so memorable, and they more than make up for lost time. I was glad to see that Ali was more open-minded than I originally thought. I only wish less time had passed before the couple was able to resolve their misunderstanding. Jonas should have shared his bedroom expectations with Ali sooner and given her the chance to decide if she could handle them. Jonas was too hard on himself, but I rejoiced when Ali was able to wear him down. Soaked is a beautiful story about second chances and I’m glad I gave it a chance.

Allergies


Title: Allergies
Author: T. A. Chase
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 13: 978-1-60272-498-3
Genre: Werewolf / Shapeshifter / M/M
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Ray Marvels has almost completed his graphic design project when his computer goes dead, so he calls the IT department for emergency repair. An hour later, IT tech Lou Canis comes into Ray’s office. Ray has an immediate reaction to Lou; first he sneezed, and then he has an instant attraction. Lou also has an immediate attraction to Ray. However, they each have a problem that must be solved; Ray is allergic to Lou’s human form and Lou has to reveal his wolf side to Ray.

Allergies is a fantastic love story with a well-paced and well-written plot. Ray is a little shy except with Lou and then he is all action, asking for what he wants while blushing at the same time. Lou is easy going, yet very protective of Ray. The interaction between characters, including Lou’s family is hilarious. The love scenes are sexy and very sensual. The amazing T.A. Chase delivers a wonderfully amusing saga with a dash of intrigue that has me hoping for a sequel in the near future. I thoroughly enjoyed Allergies.

Soft Focus


Title: Soft Focus
Author: Reno MacLeod and Jaye Valentine
Publisher: eXcessica Publishing
Publisher URL: http://excessica.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: GLBT M/M, M/M/M, Contemporary, BDSM
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Freelance Photographer Ethan Bouwer enjoys a life of adventure. He also is an author of erotic novels and strives to bring fresh ideas to his readers. Ethan needs a new subject for his latest project and stumbles upon the answer in the form of David Turner, a man known for his BDSM lifestyle. Ethan arranges to meet David for a bit of research and gains more than he bargained for.

David loves his beautiful partner Kiyoshi and is shocked to discover they are both attracted to Ethan. Sharing their perspective with Ethan allows him to gain insight into the BDSM realm while Kiyoshi and David gain a new lover and friend.

Soft Focus takes us to a BDSM weekend convention where Ethan decides to spread his wings. Ethan has always liked a bit of risk in his life, so his job as a freelance photographer is perfect for his character. David has a calm but strong personality, while Kiyoshi has a hidden strength that leaves you awed. The combination of the three men is a perfect balance of edgy, sweet, sassy, and power that makes their mutual attraction understandable. Reno MacLeod and Jaye Valentine gingerly sprinkled BDSM subject matter in the story without turning the information into a lecture. I think I appreciated that the most about this book. David wanted to teach Ethan but not overwhelm him. There is a bit of suspense that draws you on the edge of your seat and has you hoping for the best and elements that add texture to the story, which kept it from becoming bland. The relationship between David and Kiyoshi is already complex; the addition of Ethan supercharged the relationship and took it up a notch. I thoroughly enjoyed this story, and hope there is a sequel to this wonderfully written story.

Rome's Perfect Boy


Title: Rome's Perfect Boy
Author: Alex Fox
Publisher: Eternal Press
Publisher URL: http://www.eternalpress.ca/index.html
ISBN: 978-1-926647-69-2
Genre: Gay M/M, Historical
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Marcus is a young innocent slave about to be sold by his old master. While standing on the auction block, he sees Antonius and is instantly drawn to him. Worried about being sold, he hopes that the handsome man talking to his master will soon buy him.

Antonius has been searching for just the perfect boy, one who will be able to crave everything Antonius can teach him. Antonius begins to hope that he has finally found his boy.

Set in ancient Rome, Alex Fox’s Rome’s Perfect Boy tells the tale of Marcus, a young slave boy and his introduction into the world of BDSM at the hands of his new master. Those who like this genre are sure to enjoy this novella.

My Lady


Title: My Lady
Author: Shiloh Walker
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-486-6
Genre: Fantasy Romance
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

King Tyan only wants there to be peace, but others have different ideas. He plots with his enemy’s son to kidnap and marry Princess Nae to keep her from marrying the leader of the Oonkaen, set to destroy everyone’s peace. Although he expected some resistance from her, what he gets comes as a complete surprise, and his love for her grows even more.

Princess Nae a bruin elf from the land of Bruia, is a virtual prisoner in her own home, being forced to wed for the sake of gaining power for her father. When she comes to realize that Tyan is the goblin king, she responds with silence, and thinks that she will never have a say in her life.

My Lady is a wonderful story of dragons, goblins, elves, and other mythical creatures that are bent on controlling each other. From the beginning, Tyan shows that he is a man slow to act and that he is filled with compassion for his fellow man. These strong personality traits and his gift to the princess only made me like him more. Shiloh Walker has done an incredible job of bringing her characters to life. I am hoping there will be more to tell of the brother and secondary characters that helped his sister in her time of need.

Drake’s Rules


Title: Drake’s Rules
Author: Barbara Huffert
Publisher: Cerridwen Press
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419920929
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Rating: 1 Nymph
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Sphinx Minx

Drake Edwards lost a child and the wife he adored about a year ago. He is doing the best he can, taking care of six-year-old Christy.

Neighbor Megan Lewis doesn’t date. She works in a bar and writes children’s books that she has not attempted to publish.

The child brings them together, and within days Drake has unloaded his full marital history and Megan has described the horror of her near gang rape in college. I found it hard to relate to these blabbermouths, who revealed almost all their secrets so early in the story, leaving no doubt as to the outcome.

Supporting characters include Drake’s minister brother Adam and jerky friend Art. Megan’s college friends and supporters Gwynne and Daryl seem more involved in her life than their own relationship. And the adorable child cements the relationship, believing her dead mother has sent Megan to make Daddy happy.

The sex is both hot and tender, but I never found these people believable. There was very little plot and way too much conversation explaining everything. I prefer it when my characters show me who they are, rather than continually telling me.

Sweet Oblivion 2: Snare


Title: Sweet Oblivion 2: Snare
Author: Jordan Castillo Price
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59596-388-8
Genre: Paranormal/Vampire/Gay
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Satyr Vael

For Michael, a gift of a cell phone from his sister brings with it worries of family. They want him closer, but Michael has his doubts. Unfortunately, with the re-emergence of an old ‘friend,’ Michael has his hands full with much more than mere family matters. Jim, the vampiric scientist, wants their help to catch a wild vampire.

Snare brings back Jim, the exceptionally creepy vampire scientist who sometimes seems better off in the looney bin. His actions and personality lean sharply toward madness at times, and it’s clear from the exchanges between him and Michael, and him and Bill, that Michael and Bill feel the same.

The depth of emotion between Bill and Michael is clear in especially one scene. At one point, Bill even seems to possess a bit of vulnerability. It was a surprise, but a pleasant one in comparison to his bad-boy image.

Snare is a good installment in this series, but it didn’t quite hold me as strongly as the first book. It’s well-written (as all of Price’s stories are), but this one seemed a bit more like an interlude to something bigger. I’m looking forward to seeing where the next installment in this series leads.

The Cat House 3: Cat Fancy


Title: The Cat House 3: Cat Fancy
Author: Julia Talbot
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59596-853-1
Genre: Shape shifters, M/M/F
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Co-owner of the Cat House, Layla, is updating a few rooms of the club, so she asks her business partner to find a contractor with reasonable rates for the renovations. When Aaron and Jamie show up for the job, they both have an instant attraction to Layla. With a talent for matchmaking everyone but herself and a mutual attraction for Aaron and Jamie, Layla soon discovers three werecats can be very happy sharing the cream for their coffee.

The Cat House 3: Cat Fancy is another delightful installment in The Cat House series. Julia Talbot’s very creative stories always provide humor and sexy characters with a little angst for added interest. I enjoy this series and look forward to the next episode.

Sunday, April 19, 2009

Blue Willows


Title: Blue Willows
Author: Gregory L. Norris
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-143-7
Genre: Contemporary M/M
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Brent Dunne may have gone on a men’s retreat to get in touch with his inner hero but when he encounters Joe Legere, his life is thrown into a whirlwind of lust, danger, mystery and just maybe - love. Brent’s wish to get to know Joe better might have come true but whether Brent is so accepting of the turmoil that follows Joe around is a matter for his heart to decide.

This premise had a lot going for it; the seemingly instant attraction and passion between Brent and Joe left me wanting much more. There is plenty of intrigue surrounding Joe’s life, plus interesting characters with a noticeable connection and the promise of an exciting conclusion but unfortunately, Blue Willows just isn’t given enough time to build anything substantial.

The story is written well, almost like a puzzle you have to piece together as you go. I actually enjoyed having to engage my brain to figure out what was going on, although I have to admit to the flash backs causing me some confusion. I just wish I had been given a little more depth to the characters and more time to believe the love these characters share. There is a mystical ending that was nice to read but again, no explanation. Maybe this was what the author wanted though; a plot full of intrigue and mystery that never is quite understood but is still pretty fun to go along with.

Smart Ass: Close Quarters


Title: Smart Ass: Close Quarters
Author: Amber Green and LB Gregg
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-020-7
Genre: Suspense, M/M
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Turner and Turner: One Good Turn 4 Nymphs
Kendall Turner is attempting to get his life back on track when he is summoned to his wealthy parent’s home. Upon arrival, Kendall is subjected to a viewing of a sex tape starring Kendall and his boyfriend, sent by a blackmailer. Opposed to the offered clinic lockdown, Kendall makes a run for it and with the aid of his cousin Turner Kendall Scott, Kendall is in hiding as all of the family secrets began to unfold.

The Men of Smithfield: Gobsmacked 4 Nymphs
Mark Meehan is seeking revenge on his cheating live-in boyfriend Jamie, by removing all reminders of him from his apartment. However, in the process of tossing out Jamie’s stuff, Mark soon discovers Jamie has betrayed him in more ways than having sex with another man. Knowing things could become dangerous, Mark turns to his long time friend, Policeman Tony Gervase.

Smart Ass: Close Quarters is an anthology of two cop thriller stories presented by Amber Green and LB Gregg. Each story features smart and cocky crime victims rescued by the good guys behind a badge. Frenzied plots filled with mystery and mayhem interwoven with humor provides an invigorating and pleasurable reading experience amid these impressive happy for now cliffhangers. I enjoyed both stories and look forward to more.

Fantasy Knights


Title: Fantasy Knights
Author: Marilyn Lee
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-795-5
Genre: BBW Paranormal Capture
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Devoni Mitchell was optimistic that she had finally met “the one”. The thirty-nine year old editor is comfortable with her BBW body and refuses to change for anyone. Her most recent rejection stung and had Devoni wishing on a star for a man who could appreciate her inner, and outer, beauty.

Flame was ecstatic to receive Devoni’s call and is more than willing to supply the answer to her hopes and dreams. Their first night is hot enough to torch the sky, and their passion takes them on a ride Devoni’s not completely ready for. With so many truths that need to be revealed, Flame may lose his mate if he’s not careful.

Marilyn Lee brings the desires for a committed relationship and insatiable lust for sex to us in Fantasy Knights. Devoni is a strong woman, and I enjoyed watching her voice her desires without apology. Flame wants a reason to live again, and recognizes Devoni as the source. He refuses to allow anything or anyone to stand in his way. The story, in my opinion, focused too much on sex and not enough on the development of the plot. The characters seemed so intent on finding that next orgasm, and not exploring the true ramifications of their unique relationship. While I enjoyed reading the story, I know this is not Marilyn’s best work, and I’m hoping the next story will capture more of the author I came to love when I first started to read erotica.

The Cornish Heiress


Title: The Cornish Heiress
Author: Roberta Gellis
Publisher: Cerridwen Press
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419921001
Genre: Historical Romance
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Philip St. Eyre is caught up with helping his father, Robert St. Eyre, and assisting him in stopping an espionage plot against England. What he does not realize is that on the way to France to do some spying, he would fall in love with the smuggler Red Meg. While assisting the smuggler with purchasing the dry goods for his friend, he develops a bonding love for her and wants to end her smuggling days. Now that he has her alone with him in Paris, he has made up his mind to make their relationship permanent.

The life of Megaera Devoran is twofold; one as the lady of the manor by day and the other as Red Meg by night, a smuggler who controls the contraband. She wishes there was a quick solution to her money troubles that her father and deceased husband brought to the estate. When she sees Philip, there is immediate distrust and a sexual longing that she has never felt for any man. Not knowing what to do about these feelings puzzle her but then she decides that all bets are off .

The Cornish Heiress is a fabulous story that continues The Royal Dynasty series. This book tells of how things ended between the father and son, who is now an adult, finding his own way in life on England’s soil. Although Philip goes to France on more than one occasion, he spends most of his time with Megaera. He does a wonderful job at deceiving the French people so much, he almost believes it himself too. But when it comes to Meg, the deception is not what either of them wants or when the time comes for the truth, they can’t tell it.

While there was a continued effort with plots to assassinate Bonaparte, and others of the Bourbon royalty, Philip was able to complete his missions with the help of others. Roberta Gellis has done a wonderful job of describing the characters completely and I was thoroughly impressed with Meg. She was a one-woman show and taking care of her estate was more than she should have had to do at so young an age. I thought she was very quick on her feet and not one to panic in bad situations. I look forward to the next adventure in the series.

The White Knight


Title: The White Knight
Author: Josh Lanyon
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-908-9
Genre: Contemporary Suspense, M/M
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

On a filming site in Wales, actor Sean Fairchild takes a nasty fall down a flight of stairs that lands him in the hospital confused and calling for his boyfriend LAPD Detective Daniel Moran. However when Dan arrives at Sean’s bedside, something is different between them now. Fears of the past, that Sean thought were buried, have come back to haunt him.

The White Knight is the continued story of Sean and Dan. However, it is essential to read The Dark Horse first. Sean is dealing with flashbacks of his past, while Dan is apprehensive about their future together. The exceptional Josh Lanyon delivers a complex story that reveals how Sean and Dan met and their combined struggles with the here and now. The main focus is the emotional evolution of finding one’s self after surviving life’s trauma. The White Knight is another impressive saga that completes The Dark Horse and I enjoyed it immensely.