Friday, December 25, 2009

Buddy Holiday


Title: Buddy Holiday
Author: Willa Okati
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-462-6
Genre: {M/M} LGBT Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

T.J. and his wizard lover MacGowan are about to have the best Festivus present they could ever receive. With the promise of some needed alone time, the familiar and his wizard are about engage in a carnal night of pleasure. But even the best laid plans have a few bumps in the road and a very unlikely ally, the supreme Psychokitty himself, is going to help the men save their special holiday, for a price.

Will the tomcat finally come clean over secret plans that include his lover, or will he save that news for another day?

Willa Okati's Buddy Holiday takes us back into the lives of T.J. and MacGowan, who we met in Tomcat Jones. I absolutely loved the couple from the first book, and it was nice watching their holiday unfold. There is the reference to what could be a budding relationship between two characters, and I hope there is an impending story. The setting for part of the story takes place in what I would call a winter wonderland. Watching T.J. in the element was priceless and I couldn’t help laughing at the antics. The story has a mixture of humor and sensual lovemaking, and is sure to be a treat to those who enjoyed the first story.

Snared


Title: Snared
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-873-9
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary BDSM
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Life is good for devoted lovers Billy and Montana. Every day they grow closer as Tanny comes to a greater understanding of the BDSM lifestyle Billy is teaching him. He’s still having trouble dealing with his feelings of worthlessness, inferiority and guilt over the death of his sister. Yet Tanny has many good things going on in his life. Billy is crazy about him; he loves his bookbinding apprenticeship with his mentor, Margaret and he’s happy for the first time in years.

Tanny’s junkie past comes back to haunt him and he suddenly finds himself a pawn of the police, thrusting him into a situation that threaten both himself and Billy. Things go from bad to worse when Billy is injured. Instead of finding comfort with their friends, Tanny finds himself bruised and battered, back on the street and on the run. It will take all of Billy’s love and devotion to convince his scared lover to come home where he belongs. The question is whether the emotionally wounded Tanny can commit to a permanent relationship that he doesn’t think he deserves.

Snared is the newest release in the Hammer novel world and the second dealing with Montana and Billy. It’s not necessary to read all the previous releases in the series, but I’d recommend reading Found, where Billy and Montana meet, in order to understand their relationship and that of their friends.

Once again, Mr. Michael has created a rich and well-written story of love and devotion, set in the world of BDSM. It is nice seeing the growth of Billy and Montana’s relationship as they work through personal issues, misunderstandings, painful past hurts and insecurities. Through it all, Billy is kind, loving and supportive; always giving his lover what Montana needs in their relationship, even if at times the way he goes about it makes Montana feel uncertain and scared. Together they’re working on and exploring Montana’s submission, while they tackle daily living and Mr. Michael’s done a very nice job handling this, at times, tense situation.

I thoroughly enjoyed the scenes with Margaret, Montana’s mentor. This older woman, while stiff and in pain with arthritis, is still a Dom at heart and is not above giving Billy advice, whether he wants it or not. She’s also just as likely to dole out love, kind words and support to Montana. While taking a bit part in the overall plot, she is nonetheless a great character who adds depth to the story and plays a vital role in the lives of the two lovers.

Montana’s past drug problems are still an issue, but he’s fighting and winning the need to fall back into the junkie world, but it’s a struggle. I have to admit that when he was forced into helping the police, I was furious, even more so when Billy was injured. What I didn’t expect was the plot twist involving Billy’s good friend, and fellow Dom, Oliver. I did however expect Billy’s outraged and angry response. I can’t wait to see what happens to Billy, Montana, Jack and Oliver in the next release, slatted for mid-2010.

A Feral Christmas


Title: A Feral Christmas
Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.net/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-444-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

In looking for his lost siblings, Brent’s only lead is Daniel, a Hawk shifter who holds all the clues. His attraction for the man started with just a glance at a picture but the real deal is a whole lot more appealing. Daniel has been in hiding for years; unfortunately the arrival of Brent, a Jaguar shifter, means his enemy’s can’t be far behind.

A Feral Christmas by Stephani Hecht is the second book in The Lost Shifter series. It has the snappy dialog and one-liners that were present in the first book, making this story just as much fun to read. This story starts off with Brent on a mission for his pack, which is to find the Hawk responsible for putting feline shifter children in the hands of humans. What starts off as a simple mission soon becomes anything but. With explosions, both the literal and the sexual type going off, Daniel has no choice but to stick with Brent. If what authors say about characters taking over their thoughts while working on a story is true, then I feel for Ms. Hecht as both Brent and Daniel are a handful.

Even though this story takes place over the period of just a few days, it is packed with action, chemistry and romance. The author’s ability to draw the reader in with excellently written characters, intriguing plot lines and an ending that is sure to bring many more fantastic stories makes this series a must have for lovers of the shifter genre.

Never Say Never


Title: Never Say Never
Author: Jenna Byrnes
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-1-907280-54-2
Genre: {M/M/M} Contemporary, BDSM
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

When Mitch Silver left Adam Reeves to pursue his rodeo career, Adam never thought he would return. Finally he’s found someone who cares for him, Nicolas Fontana. With Nicolas, Adam has also embraced his interest in D/s. Now Mitch has returned and he wants his old lover back. The trouble is Adam’s not the naive man he left behind and Nicolas refuses to give him up. Will Mitch find a way to regain his lover, or will he have to move on without Adam by his side?

Never Say Never is the second book in the Rose and Thorn Society series. Jenna Byrnes writes a compelling story about second chances, while mixing D/s into this entertaining story. I have to admit, there was one point where I questioned Nicolas’ motives but after looking at the events from his view, I could see why he reacted as he did. Nicolas shows compassion that few would during this story and made him my favorite character of the threesome. Adam’s ability to adapt to the BDSM world proved that Nicolas made the right decision in making him his partner. The sexual scenes were erotic and well written, and the characters are well meshed. I found Never Say Never to be an enjoyable read and would recommend it to those who enough D/s.

Bound and Determined


Title: Bound and Determined
Author: Jane Davitt and Alexa Snow
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-450-3
Genre: {M/M}, BDSM, Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Sterling accidentally stumbles onto a Dom and his sub while at a party. What Sterling sees soon has him wondering if that is what he’s needing. When he shows up at a local BDSM club, he is surprised to run into one of his old professors.

Owen hasn’t had a decent sub since Michael. His reputation of being difficult to please doesn’t help, either. The last thing he wants or needs is to take on a former student.

Authors Jane Davitt and Alexa Snow have teamed together to bring the readers an excellent story set in the world of BDSM. Bound and Determined tells the story of two men, one a novice and the other a long time member. The men already have a past history that would make a new relationship difficult. Yet as the authors bring them together, they do so in a way that the reader will enjoy. Sterling, who believes he has all the makings of a Dom, is surprised to find out otherwise; something that throws his psyche in turmoil. As the authors do an excellent job bringing the characters to life, it is easy for the reader to understand why this change is, at first, hard for Sterling to accept.

Owen is maybe a little harder to get a handle on. As a long time participant and well-known Dom, he is searching for the perfect sub. Although there were a couple of things regarding Owen that I wondered about, I felt he was the perfect foil for Sterling’s personality. His knowledge allowed him to ‘see’ Sterling and guide him accordingly. All of this leads to some intensely passionate scenes, of course .

The authors also do an excellent job showcasing the world of BDSM itself. Throughout the story, there are constant acknowledgments of the need for safety, as well as knowing one’s limits within a scene. If you enjoy BDSM stories, be sure to pick this one up.

Christmas in Killarney


Title: Christmas in Killarney
Author: Cash Cole
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-464-0
Genre: [M/M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Colin Zachary’s life is a mess. He has a serious case of writer’s block, his job in on the line, he’s lonely, bored, unhappy and his love life is nonexistent. Visiting Ireland for the Christmas holidays seem like just what he needs to brighten his spirits. Colin’s life takes a dramatic change when he wakes up, naked in the local church; Harry Gill rescues him and takes him to the home he shares with his lover, Morgan O’Hanlon to warm up.

With the snow piling up and the roads nearly impassable, there’s nothing to do but stay with the two hunky men until the weather clears. Being in the same house with Morgan and Harry jumpstarts his writing, almost as much as it fires up his libido, and the lovers make it clear they’d want him in their lives and their bed.

Things take a turn for the worse when money from Morgan’s Pub disappears and they suspect the man who’s been trying to buy O’Hanlon’s. If they don’t come up with the money, the employees won’t be getting the checks they expected and Morgan could lose his business. It’s a Christmas story of love, redemption, friends and hope for the future.

Christmas in Killarney is a quick, fun Christmas read with an intriguing premise and fun, sexy and likable characters in Colin, Harry and Morgan. There’s a lot going on in this novella length release and consequently, the author hasn’t supplied a lot of background information on the men. That’s all right in this instance, because there is just enough to give a good feel of each man and what made him tick, although I felt I knew Colin best.

Even if the secondary characters are few in number and play only minor roles, their integration into the plot is nicely done. I especially loved the local pastor, John, and the part he played in helping Morgan with his money loss problem. There’s lots of sexual tension and tons of emotional support between the three men, and when the community rallys around Morgan…it’s perfect, and shows the true meaning of Christmas.

Set Me Up


Title: Set Me Up
Author: Kat Alexis
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419923180
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

After spending years caring for her dying father, Indigo Larsen decides to grab every opportunity life offers her by traveling the world. Ireland was the magical land that called to her and that was the place she would start. Nothing was going to tie her down now.

Aedan Ciaran is a leprechaun who is happy with his life as it is. Change isn’t something he looks forward to until it enters his pub in the form of a blue-eyed beauty. After a few drinks and a lot of sex, Aedan attempts to convince Indigo that they are bonded forever.

Before reading Set Me Up, I never considered leprechauns as hunky beings, but clearly I was wrong. Kat Alexis weaved such an attractive image that I am dying for more leprechaun love stories. Aedan and Indigo don’t waste any time heating up the pages with their smoldering love scenes. This clever spin on “the morning after” is amusing, touching and a definite must read.

The Drakhom Taboo III


Title: The Drakhom Taboo III
Author: Celia Jade
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: None Listed
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Ellen is the second partner in K & E Ergonomics and has seen her cousin and a friend find happiness with Drakhom men. She prefers dating Drakhom men but after her divorce, decided not to marry again. Max is looking for a wife and to start a family when he and Ellen are introduced. As Ellen decorates Max’s condo, they compromise about dating each other.

The Drakhom Taboo III is continuing the story of Drakhom men. The sparks sizzle between Ellen and Max so keep ice handy. I felt I had been as bowled over by Max as Ellen was by the way the author described the chemistry between them. Ms. Jade brings you into the story and keeps you glued to the end. Her half-vamp half-human men are definite eye-candy, packaged with a good dose of sensitivity that makes you want one for yourself. This story is a wonderful addition to The Drakhom Taboo series.

Once Wild


Title: Once Wild
Author: Carol Gambill
Publisher: eXcessica Publishing
Publisher URL: http://excessica.com/
ISBN: n/a
Genre: {M/F} Erotic/Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Being abused by his father, while growing up, caused Shaun MacGregor to become very reckless in his teenage years. When he returns after serving eight years for killing his best friend, he doesn’t know what to expect from the townspeople. Or why he even came back to Ashland, Pennsylvania. Now that he realizes who has hit him with their car, his feelings are mixed about Maria helping him get home. They do find comfort in each others arms and know that it will be difficult to keep their relationship private because of their different backgrounds. Knowing that she might hate him, Shaun will have to face his past as his love for her surfaces and that is not an option for two people from different cultures.

Maria Bellicia is one of the rich kids, who’s father owns a coal mining company, and she has longed for Shaun most of her life. She is determined to help him after she sees he’s injured, when she accidently hits him with her car. She gets him to his place, and is a little confused by the feeling of comfort in his presence. She has a made a change in her life by helping others, being rich made her vain, and blind to the plight of the less fortunate.

Once Wild is the first book in the Breaking Out series and I really enjoyed reading this story, because it told of what happens to people that goes through the prison system. I found it fascinating that the two main characters were able to work their way through each adversity, along with spending time together. Shaun’s behavior was driven by his father’s rejections, and of others bullying during his school years which caused him to react without thinking his plans through first. It turns out that there was more than one villain, and one in particular I wanted serious harm to come to them.

Ms. Gambill did a fantastic job of creating a realistic plot and scenes in the prison, and mines. I must say here that the sex is extremely explosive. It was so sad that Shaun was on the receiving end of so much hatred from so many people in town, who wanted him harmed or dead. These people went through great lengths to carry out that harm, and I was rooting for Shaun and Maria’s happiness. I found myself racing to the end to see what would happen to these two, and I will not give away the ending here. This is the first time I have read a book by Carol Gambill, and am looking forward to reading the other books in the series.

Wednesday, December 23, 2009

Full House


Title: Full House
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total E Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-1-907280-65-8
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

After seven years, Marco knows it’s time to come clean with his boss Kent. He’s not sure that the feelings he’s been keeping from the man will be returned, but there’s only one way to find out.

Kent can’t believe how wrong he has been about Marco. He does know that he plans to get the young man into his bed and his life.

This is the one story I have been waiting for since the Poker Night series began. The chemistry between these two has been noticeable from the beginning and I could not wait to see what the author had in store for them. When Marco’s secrets are revealed and Kent decides to make up for lost time, the two really burn up the pages. The sex is, as always, intense but it’s the connection between the two men that will really draw you in. The love they have for each other, as well as their playfulness, really comes through, especially in the backyard BBQ scene with the rest of their friends. The way Kent claims Marco’s family as his own is endearing and shows a whole new dimension to a character that came off as being very harsh at times. As Full House comes to a close and all the men have gathered together, it is easy to see how the friendships have grown since this series has started. What a wonderful story to end a great series on.

A Day in April 1944




Title: A Day in April 1944
Author: Ursula Grey
Publisher: Excessica Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.excessica.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/F} Historical, Erotic
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Lisette remembers what life was like before war came but it is of little comfort to her now. Working for the Resistance, she focuses what little energy she has left on continuing the fight for freedom. She will do whatever it takes to pass on the messages she has been entrusted with delivering, numbing herself to the dangers and horrors she sees along the way. She also provides assistance to those who seek shelter during their battle with the enemy. One such visitor, a weary American pilot, was only looking for a place to hide for the night. Instead, what Jack found was a deeply passionate, vibrant woman just waiting to be given the chance to live again.

A Day in April 1944 enveloped me in an emotionally draining yet ultimately life affirming world. The sheer doggedness to keep the message of hope alive and her knowledge that if Lisette were to perish, others would take her place were very powerful sentiments indeed. The pace seemed in keeping with the bleakness of the situation and so didn’t seem rushed, even during the longer passages of time leading up to the conclusion of the book. I never thought the mixture of eroticism and this period in history would work so well. The author was successful in combining the heat and passion of Lisette and Jack’s encounter with the seriousness of the setting; the sense of respect for the era is very much apparent in the writing. The comparisons between the first inklings of spring and Lisette’s rebirth were not lost on me. In fact, the imagery of the country, the people and the attitudes were superb. The characters seemed very real and it was impressive to see such substance to characters in this length of story. The experience of reading A Day in April 1944 was something very special to me.

L.A. Boneyard


Title: L.A. Boneyard
Author: P.A. Brown
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-018-4
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary Suspense
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Work is never easy when you’re a policeman, something Homicide Detective David Eric Laine knows all too well. It’s a job filled with pain, suffering and the sobering reality of what one person is capable of doing to another. The case David gets with his new, temporary partner, Jairo Hernandez, is a gut-wrencher, with the brutal deaths of two young and pregnant Ukrainian women. Their murders are complicated and confusing, with few solid leads and few real suspects until the evidence leads them on a chase between the violent gangs that inhabit East LA and a decorated former Marine officer.

That’s not David’s only problem. There’s a physical attraction between him and Jairo from the moment they meet and Jairo, the married, father of two children, doesn’t want to take no for an answer. Can David control the situation, or will he allow the growing desire he shares with his new partner to destroy the life he and Chris have together?

L.A. Boneyard is the latest release in author P.A. Brown’s L.A. series, following the lives of lovers David and Chris, and it takes up four years after the men became partners. Like other books by this talented author, it’s filled with personable characters, good plot flow, a realistic and well written premise and has a nice integration and good balance of the suspense and romance portions of the storyline. She’s added familiar characters and new intriguing ones to round out the plot and add interest, depth and detail to a fast-paced story.

While the story is definitely about David’s struggle to find a killer, it’s also about his struggle to stay faithful in the face of an attraction he can’t deny. Both portions of the story are heart-wrenching in their own way, making life uneasy and difficult for both David and Chris. Ms. Brown did a nice job expressing the unrest in their lives and she did it so well that I have to admit, I didn’t like Jairo in the least. He might have been a good policeman, but as a human being, he left a lot to be desired. Chris is just as crazy in love with David as before, at least before it becomes obvious that something is simmering between David and his partner, and Ms. Brown excelled in these painful, emotional scenes. I can’t wait to see to what happens with Chris and David in the next release L.A. Bytes.

She’s Got Balls


Title: She’s Got Balls
Author: Mia Watts
Publisher: Resplendence Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.resplendencepublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60735-090-3
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal, Contemporary, Erotic
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

When rookie Agent Chris Tarpington is handpicked for an undercover assignment, he didn’t anticipate wearing heels and an ugly dress. Being in drag may not be what he wants, but Chris knows not to tick off his superiors by voicing his complaint too loudly. Getting his new husband/partner on edge is a whole ‘nother story.

Detective Vin Pilk is a big man and commands respect without uttering a word. His superb record could grant him a wide selection of partners, but Vin knows the two departments put him with Chris for a reason.

What happens when the FBI teams up with local law enforcement? Sparks fly, and the criminals won’t know what hit them because the hot woman they sent in… well She’s Got Balls.

Mia Watts, I bow down to the generosity that is you. This is an excellent story filled to the brim with scenes and one-liners you won’t soon forget. I absolutely loved Chris and Vin, and refuse to choose between the two men. They have a ying-yang quality that makes their romance appealing. Vin has the biggest heart, shielded by that deliciously large frame. Chris is sarcastic enough to keep their days from ever becoming mundane. Together, oh the heat rolls off the page in Tsunami proportions. Ms. Watts adds humor, action and suspense to this well developed storyline to create another winner.

What You Wish For


Title: What You Wish For
Author: Alex Marcus-Jacobs
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-777-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Jared Cross just can’t figure out where he is going wrong. As he says goodbye to yet another chapter in his love life, Jared’s friend Jess is there, as always, to lend a shoulder to cry on. He wasn’t expecting Jess’ cousin to be there, though. Before he knows it, she’s giving him a Tarot reading, with results that leave Jared feeling more than a little uncomfortable and itching to get away.

Club Roman seemed like the perfect place to drown his sorrows and watch people for a while, away from the pressures of being the person everyone else wants him to be. When club owner Nicol Romanenko befriends him for the evening, Jared appreciates the consideration this interesting man is showing him and soon finds himself telling Nicol things he would never tell anyone else. He thought he had found someone who understood what he was going though but a proposition from the club owners makes Jared realize they aren’t quite on the same page…..yet. It’s time to stop running away and start making some important decisions if Jared is ever truly to be happy.

There is a lot going on in What You Wish For. Hints of D/s and the mystical theme of the Tarot reading, combined with a young, confused character unsure of his sexuality and trapped by not wanting to disappoint are all very good subjects but seemed muddled in the one story. Jared and his friends are college students and the author did a very good job portraying the somewhat self-absorbed but still “good kids deep down” attitude. I believed in Jared’s predicament and cared enough to want him to find the answers he so desperately needed. Nicol too was a character I warmed to without much difficulty. The idea of Jared wanting to find that special person who can treat him the way he needs to be treated and not burden him with expectations had a great deal of potential and there were some very strong moments to this plot. It would have perhaps been better to focus solely on this and give it more time to develop.

Winter Song


Title: Winter Song
Author: Roberta Gellis
Publisher: Cerridwen Press
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419921537
Genre: {M/F} Historical
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Raymond d’Aix is descended from French nobility and related to the King of England, by marriage. From his time in England at Marlow on the king’s errand, he falls in love with Alys, and must do what he can to win her father’s approval. She has made an unknown enemy when it is decided that her dowry will be lands in France.

The “thorn” in Raymond’s side, before and during his marriage to Alys, is his mother, who is determined to hate Alys even before meeting her. That’s because Alys is not her choice and as far as his mother is concerned, Alys is beneath their family in social status. Since he has hardened his heart against the hysterical acts they put on, he orders his mother and sister around before they really get started. This is a ploy to make him do what they want but with the change in him, it causes them to be wary of him and Alys is solely responsible for those efforts.

One thing for sure is that Alys can definitely handle difficult situations, from her time of running her father’s keep, and does so with her new family. With Raymond, involved as his father’s deputy, being kept away from her, they both begin to develop unnatural feelings about the other. What happens in one scene in particular is shocking and funny at the same time, due to Raymond and Alys’ strained emotions.

The introduction of Raymond and Alys in Siren Song made this book more enjoyable for me, and I was looking forward to seeing how Alys would handle his mother. In Winter Song, which is the second book in the Royal Dynasty series, there is more politics, plots, a kidnapping, and shrieking going on than normal. This story starts out with a joyous occasion, and moves into political gains sought by people of power.

Here again, Ms. Gellis does a wonderful job of making the scenes very realistic for me, and the behavior of some of the secondary characters is an added plus to the book. I found it interesting that Raymond and Alys were able to survive the interference of his mother, without knowing her true intent. When the villain shows up again after plotting Alys’ death, I knew there would be serious trouble to come. I am looking forward to seeing who the next book will be about, now that Alys and Raymond have established themselves in their new lives.

Tuesday, December 22, 2009

Ice Cream on the Side


Title: Ice Cream on the Side
Author: Wren Boudreau
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-484-8
Genre: {M/M}, Suspense
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Dylan is a successful architect in a gay friendly town. While his first boyfriend may have broken his heart, he has not let that stop him from sampling all the different flavors out there.

Michael is the town’s new art teacher and resident artist. He has no desire to start any new relationships, planning instead to concentrate on his paintings and the new exhibit he has coming up.

As this story starts out, you are quickly drawn into the main characters’ lives. The connection between them is strong and the passion hot. I loved the way the Dylan continued to be flustered by his reactions to Michael, even after the two of them became lovers. Yet, as much as I loved Ice Cream on the Side, I kept thinking “how will this sweet story become a murder mystery?” However, the author works the mystery into the story very smoothly and once it was worked in, I became hooked. As characters were introduced and the reason for the murders became clear, I began to suspect everybody. By the time this story drew to a close, and Dylan and Michael come together, I hated to see it end. This fast-paced book, a combination sweet romance and murder mystery, is sure to find a place on many keeper shelves

Gay for Pay


Title: Gay for Pay
Author: Kim Dare
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-1-907280-40-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, BDSM
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Nate Lockwood wants to know what it’s like to have a man want just him, Nate, and not the money that comes with the Lockwood name. Entering a BDSM club and being auctioned off as a rent boy seems like the perfect way to get that wish. Unfortunately, the chief of security shows up dosing Nate’s dream.

Smith has a dream of his own; actually, vivid fantasies that all include Nate in some explicit activities. There’s a rule about sleeping with the boss’s son, but after witnessing Nate at the club that rule was neatly filed away in the junk folder.

Nate refuses to admit he’s gay, and by the time Smith is finished he doesn’t plan to just have the answer to why, he plans to have his man all to himself.

Kim Dare’s Gay for Pay takes us into the world of BDSM, but only treads lightly on the subject. I could appreciate this fact, because it allows of us to focus more on Nate and Smith. The men make a handsome couple, and the interaction seems natural and unforced. I found the story to be an enjoyable read.

Sunday, December 20, 2009

Within His Embrace


Title: Within His Embrace
Author: Denise A. Agnew
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578- 624-1
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Leigh is thrown into close contact with Craig when they work together to finalize his brother’s and Leigh’s best friend’s wedding. Leigh thinks Craig is cold, unfeeling and a distraction she does not need.

Craig has no time for women, and certainly not Leigh. Craig knows that most women don’t want to stick around for the duration because a SWAT cop is constantly on call. Craig and Leigh continue to get thrown together and realize they both have feelings for the other. As things progress, several kinks are thrown into their relationship that could cost one or both their lives.

Within His Embrace is the fourth book in the Heart of Justice series. While I felt the story line was more in-depth than the previous books because you got more background on Craig and his brothers, there were more than a few typos that made me go back to reread a sentence or the paragraph. Craig and Leigh learned to trust each other slowly, as both had a lot of preconceived ideas about each other. The author did keep your interest throughout with the suspense in both the relationship and several incidents that put both in danger. When you read the passionate sex scenes between Craig and Leigh, make sure you keep ice handy.

This book has a bonus short story called With This Kiss about a secondary character from the Heart of Justice series. Ian and Pam started their relationship with a tragedy. Both have to come to terms with what happened as well as the almost instant attraction they have for each other.

Prise de Fer


Title: Prise de Fer
Author: AR Moler
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-850-0
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Kelly Hendrick had a bad case of unrequited love for Professor Simon Randall and it’s been going on for several months. The man might not be his teacher any longer, but that doesn’t mean the reserved chemist is open to starting a relationship with a student almost ten years his junior, either. It’s not until the night Simon is nearly incapacitated with a blinding migraine that Kelly gets a chance to make his move, and happily finds his feelings are returned. Unfortunately, Kelly has a bigger secret to hide than his homosexuality. When Simon is attacked with a knife and severely wounded, Kelly realizes that he needs to come clean with his lover. The question is whether Simon can accept the truth of Kelly’s non-human genetics and embrace him and his wolf.

Pris de Fer is the latest release by author AR Moler and for a lover of werewolf books, it’s a keeper. Once again, the author has written a story with likable characters and a realistic premise and she’s done it with creativity, flair, a believable attraction between two interesting men and some sizzling hot sex.

I thought it was a nice twist to make Kelly a werewolf with little in common with his furry family. He’s interested in books and fencing, while his bigger, stronger brothers like fighting with their fists and claws. It’s not generally something you find in werewolf themed stories of any length, and made me appreciate that part of his character more. The scenes surrounding Simon’s attack and those following in the hospital are nicely done, as is Kelly’s love and protective instincts. Simon is an all around nice guy…one you want to find his happily-ever-after and Kelly is perfect for him.

This little gem might be short at 14K, but its pages are packed with fun dialogue, two great characters, passion, danger, and just enough werewolf to satisfy a paranormal lover. Give Prise de Fer a try; you won’t be sorry you did.

Wings


Title: Wings
Author: J.C. Owens
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-499-2
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

To Anyar, performing his duty as a guard is rewarding work. His latest assignment has him interacting with respected members of his race. Anyar’s strength, beauty and grace are alluring and captivate many, including the white-winged enemy prince, Vanyae.

Vanyae sees the black-winged guard and lusts for the man, as he has never longed for another. There is no other place for Anyar than in his bed. Vanyae knows the only way to make the wish a reality is to capture Anyar and make him a slave.

How far will Vanyae go to claim his prize?

As I read J.C. Owens latest release, Wings, I found myself wondering how far is too far to go, to capture a person for no more than a bed warmer. War has a very ugly side and sometimes with the proper alignment of the planets, a touch of beauty takes root and blossoms like a rare flower. That’s what happened to Vanyae and Anyar. There were moments where I wanted to take up arms for Anyar and find a way to free him. I didn’t like Vanyae after I saw what he had planned for Anyar but the more I read, the more it became clear that he could have done much more harm if he was willing. He may have taken Anyar prisoner, but Anyar returned the favor and took Vanyae’s heart. This enthralling fast-paced story is well-written and sure to increase J.C. Owens’ fan base.

Becoming Dinner


Title: Becoming Dinner
Author: Jenna Alexander
Publisher: Shadowfire Press
Publisher URL: http://www.shadowfirepress.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/F} Erotic, Fantasy
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

A human female is on the run from deadly beasts that roam the forest under cover of darkness. She thought she had given herself enough time to get back to her village before nightfall but must have underestimated the length of the journey – a mistake that she will pay for with her life if she forgets her training, even for a second. If only she could stay hidden until the threat has passed.

Little did she know, there were more monsters hiding in the shadows than even she was prepared for. Just when she thought she had made her getaway, strong, powerful arms pull her back into the darkness. At first she couldn’t identify her new predator – all she knew was that whatever it was, it was very strong and very male. Only then did she notice the fangs...

Set at night, under cover of a dense forest, Becoming Dinner does a fantastic job of setting the scene. The sheer terror our main character experiences just trying to survive the night while attempting to get back home had me on tenterhooks. The way in which the darkness, the hunters and the chase were described created a very suspenseful and dangerous atmosphere, although there was some repetition of words that interfered slightly with the enjoyment. The author did a good job building an interesting world with some intriguing characters that I definitely think has potential for more.

Hero


Title: Hero
Author: Heidi Cullinan
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-287-5
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Howard, AKA Hal, is a 32 year old construction worker. His deep religious beliefs and fear of rejection from his family has kept him from coming out. Morgan is a shape-shifter; a kitsune half breed, who also happens to be something more. It is the loneliness these two feel that will ultimately bring them together.

Hero, by Heidi Cullinan, is an interesting story that uses a mixture of Asian mythology, magic and love to bring together two men who desperately need each other. The main characters are very strongly written. The tremendous struggle Hal goes through as he learns to accept himself is realistic. His need for love, yet his fear of reaching out, is so believable that the reader can’t help but feel for him.

The struggles Morgan face are just as hard, if not harder. The one time he reaches out for the love he needs results in Morgan becoming trapped within a magical spell. Feeling un-loveable, Morgan has come to accept his fate. The things he goes through are so tragic that when he becomes free you can’t help but cheer.

The author has woven the men’s acceptance of themselves and each other into the story nicely. While the men’s personal growth occurs in such a short period of time, it is that growth that brings about the catalyst of the story. While Hero may be one of the most unusual shape-shifter stories I have ever read, it kept my attention till the end and is one story I have no problem recommending.

Forward Pass


Title: Forward Pass
Author: Ann Jacobs
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419921650
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

The life of a professional football player is more than just fame, fortune and beautiful women. As a quarterback, Keith Connors has a few extra things to deal with. Becoming a single father leaves Keith with the problem of finding a good nanny for his baby boy. Fate steps in and brings him not only a woman from his past, but also the perfect nanny.

Tina Black is a small town girl dealing with the death of her mom and the horror of being raped. Taking a nanny position is the new beginning she needs and falling in love with Keith’s son was an added bonus. Falling in love with Keith, and possibly having him return those feelings, was something that Tina thought impossible. Surely a handsome, worldly man like him wouldn’t be attracted to someone like her. Or would he?

Forward Pass is the second book in The Gridiron Lovers series and it touched my heart in a wonderful way. I wasn’t expecting such deep emotion from Keith, considering he is a professional football player. He wasn’t ruined by all the fame and money, because he was really just an average guy. His honesty with Tina about one particular groupie made my jaw drop; I wasn’t expecting it. And I was amazed that Tina wasn’t as meek as I originally thought. The history between Tina and Keith was cleverly written and adorable. Ann Jacobs has made me a fan of the series, and if you read this love story, you will be too.

Reviewers Wanted!

Literary Nymphs is looking for reviewers. If you can give an honest, concise review without bashing, then we would be interested in talking to you. We review most genres of books.

If you are interested, please email us at reviews@literarynymphs.com with a written review of a book that you've recently read.

Thanks!