Friday, March 9, 2012

Not Her Type

Title: Not Her Type
Author: Kay Jaybee
Publisher: OC Press
ISBN: 978-1-937898-05-2
Genre: {M/F} {F/F} {M/F/F} BDSM, Kink
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph 

Despite the fact that John is nothing like the type of guy she usually talks to, Jenny has slowly built up a friendship with her local courier. It’s not surprising really; John seems okay, and he makes her feel at ease when he’s around, delivering her regular supply of movies. Of course, it could have something to do with the little matter of John being involved in every one of Jenny’s increasingly steamy sexual fantasies. And she’s been having a lot of them… 

When John shocks Jenny by admitting that he’s been thinking similar thoughts about her, Jenny finds herself with a proposition there’s no way she’s going to refuse. The sex is every bit as erotic and satisfying as she imagined, and luckily for her, John is more than willing to keep up with the “special deliveries” from now on. 

It’s everything that Jenny could ever have asked for – regular, no-strings-attached, mind blowing sex with a man who lets her explore her every kinky need. Just as long as neither of them go and do anything silly like let their hearts get involved. 

Not Her Type is a well-written, very hot and satisfying read. Jenny’s an affable character who I could relate to and who had an interesting back story. John was a little more mysterious, understandably so as the reader experiences almost everything from Jenny’s point of view, but I did wonder on more than one occasion if I could actually like this character. I enjoyed the deepening sexual relationship between them and loved how their kinks were explored without a big deal being made out of them. There wasn’t the usual character conflict between wanting to explore their desires and wondering if they are weird or wrong for wanting it, which I am grateful for. And believe me, the characters do explore, at every opportunity. I won’t spoil it by mentioning all the activities Jenny and John get up to, but I do feel the need to warn of a particular scene involving water sports that I didn’t see coming. However, it was written well enough to pique my curiosity, rather than turn me off. I was just totally caught up in the idea of two people being lucky enough to live out their fantasies. 

Of course, these things can never remain “just sex”, can they? Questions about where the characters can go from here are left unanswered in my opinion, but these things were never really going to be tackled here, as Jenny and John were far too busy getting their rocks off to care.

Kara’s Wolves

Title:  Kara’s Wolves
Author:  Becca Jameson
Publisher:  Liquid Silver Books
ISBN: 978-1-59578-889-4
Genre:  {M/F/M}, Werewolves
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

The weekend before finals, Kara is taken out by her two roommates to have some fun.  Justin and Trevor just knew that when they found their respective mates, things would change a little but they were blown away when they realized Kara was their mate. 

Kara’s Wolves is a look at a woman that has to rethink her world outlook, and also about revenge best served cold.  The author did a good job showing how two men try to woo their mate without sending her running into the night.  I was a little surprised by the revenge aspect, but could see why there was resentment against Trevor.   

I had to laugh at Justin and Trevor’s reaction to the fact that Kara was also a competitive gymnast.  I was glad that they were willing to go to her practices and meets, even though they really didn’t want her doing gymnastics.   

The secondary characters were very interesting and brought a lot to the story. There were a few surprises within both families.  The author brought the suspense in slowly and, though it was expected, it was surprising the way the bad guy ended.  It was not the usual ending found after a fight.   

This is a new author for me and I would not mind reading more from her.  I also would like to read some stories about some of the secondary characters in the future. 

The Cellar Hand

Title: The Cellar Hand
Author: Serena Yates
Publisher: Silver Publishing
ISBN: 9781614954088
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

At age twelve, Orson Digby went to live with an aunt when his family died in a fire. It made a tough adolescence even worse by leaving his best friend, Geoff Robichaud, behind. During the intervening years, Orson’s worked and studied hard, striving for the coveted position of cellar hand. Now he has the chance he’s dreamed of with a small company and moves across the state. But something strange is going on that could destroy the vineyard, threatening the job Orson loves. 

Geoff Robichaud’s looked for Orson for years and is thrilled to finally locate him through an internet source.  As the new head of security at Orson’s vineyard, Geoff has every intention of getting reacquainted with his old friend…and it doesn’t take long. When vines are sabotaged, Geoff is determined to protect both Orson and the vineyard. Can the saboteurs be stopped or will Orson’s dreams be destroyed? 

The Cellar Hand is the latest release in Serena Yates’ Workplace Encounter series. It’s a well written tale of love re-united after a separation of more than a decade. Orson and Geoff are likable men and in this one, Orson has an unusual occupation, one I’ve rarely seen used, which only makes the story more interesting. Then there’s Geoff’s total dedication, almost obsession, to finding a man he hasn’t seen since childhood but can’t forget. His behavior could have been considered stalking if Ms. Yates hadn’t expressed his true heartfelt feelings so well. On top of everything else, he’s dynamic, protective and sexy. 

Then there’s Orson. He’s kindhearted, lovable, sweet and hasn’t had the easiest life but he still plugs on, striving for something better. Put him with Geoff and you have a nearly unstoppable combination. There are enough details about being a cellar hand and Geoff’s job as head of security to make it interesting without overbalancing the romance of the story. But both aspects are important, especially how Geoff keeps both Orson and the vineyard safe.  

Orson and Geoff are good together and I love the cover (all the covers in the series) but I do have a couple of niggles. The speed at which the men got together and the action and details of finding the saboteur occurred between scenes. I would have liked to see how they went about learning the person’s identity within the story pages. Dumping the information in a meeting might have been upsetting for some of the other characters, but it turned out to be anti-climactic for me.

Ravished by Moonbeam

Title:  Ravished by Moonbeam
Author:  Cynthia Sax
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
ISBN:  9781419938184
Genre:  {M/F} Futuristic, SciFi
Rating:  3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph 

Danielle is a dedicated police officer who listens to her gut and right now, her gut is giving her mixed signals.  Apprehension isn’t the only thing Danielle feels when she realizes what fell from the sky and cracked her windshield.  The colorful alien with the swirling eyes is causing her to shiver with desire.  Danielle is the one chasing him through the forest, so she never imagined that she’d be the one getting caught.  

Krol is a warrior on a mission and that mission is to make Danielle his mate.  Research shows that Danielle is compatible to him, so Krol assumed it would be an easier task.  The human ritual of courting was enjoyable, but slow and the Earth woman was turning out to be more of a challenge than Krol bargained for. 

Krol’s race needs human women to produce offspring.  He doesn’t have much time to convince her to return to his home planet with him.  Danielle agrees to leave Earth but not necessarily for the right reasons.  The transition isn’t an easy one, and Danielle’s safety is threatened.  Not only is she in danger of losing her life, but also her heart, to an alien who might not be capable of loving her. 

Ravished by Moonbeam is about huge, hot alien men looking for Earth women.  Krol and Danielle definitely make a lasting impression on each other when they first meet.  Danielle thinks she has everything under control and that her police skills are a match for Krol.  Boy, was she wrong!  Krol respects Danielle’s strength and he’s proud to have such a strong mate, but he still views her as someone he needs to protect.  On Krol’s planet, they don’t grasp the concept of love.  Although I could feel that Krol loved Danielle, I admit I wanted him to say it.  I wanted more emotion from Krol, even though I understood the reason why it wasn’t there.  It amused me to read that Krol thought the feeling of loving Danielle was something that needed to fixed, like a sickness.  There are some physical attributes about Krol that will leave readers in shock.  Cynthia Sax knows how to make readers curious for more and she has proven that with this wonderful story.

Supernaturally Kissed

Title: Supernaturally Kissed
Author: Stacey Kennedy
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
ISBN: 9781419936111
Genre: {M/F} Blush, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph 

When newly deceased cop Kipp sees Tess on her way to work one morning, he’s instantly drawn to her and desperately tries to get her attention. Tess has gotten used to the fact that she can see ghosts. She’ll help them out when she can but she isn’t about to put her life on hold for them. However, Kipp has some very seductive ways of making her listen to what he has to say. 

Kipp remembers what he was doing before his life was cruelly cut short – chasing a lead on the cold case he was working on. He thinks he got too close to uncovering the truth about the disappearance of Hannah Reid but he needs Tess’ help if he’s going to do anything about it now. 

Trying to convince people of her ability is the last thing Tess wants to do, but she soon realizes Kipp is not going to take no for an answer. She can’t shake him and as she learns more about the case and the man Kipp used to be, she can’t help but feel for the ghost. Her ability is the only way to bring peace to the Reid family, but if she helps solve the case, Kipp will be free to pass over – unless there’s something else keeping him around? 

Supernaturally Kissed is a very enjoyable book with an exciting, unpredictable plot that just draws the reader in. This was one of those stories that I knew I would like before I’d even reached the bottom of the first page. I felt that the style of writing was unique and the author has definitely made a mark on me. The dialog between characters was very energetic, which did make it a little difficult to keep track of who was talking to whom at times. The characters are very likable and passionate, whether working well together, or more often then not, butting heads. I loved the way it ended; the possibilities for Tess’ understanding of her ability to develop and the opportunities for her to put her gift to further good use are exciting. Having learned that this is the first book in the author’s Frostbite series, I am very glad to have read Supernaturally Kissed and can’t wait for the next installment. 

Publisher’s Note: This story was previously published elsewhere under the title Stolen Dreams and has been revised for Ellora’s Cave.

Event Horizon

Title: Event Horizon
Author: Evelyn Shepherd
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-61118-739-7
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx   

There is never a dull moment in Theo Bourne’s life.  Still recovering from injuries received in the last conflict with sinister paranormals, Theo is also caught between coyote shifter Carlos and wolf shifter Lloyd. Both men love Theo but go into attack mode when they see each other. Theo wants Carlos and Lloyd but he is aware the three of them can’t have a workable relationship. Then there is the new drama of a deranged vampire, intent on burning masses of people. Theo is the only one who can stop the carnage from spreading. 

Evelyn Shepherd's Event Horizon is the second book in the Theo Bourne series. The story has a tense plot that kept my eyes glued to the pages. The characters are fantastic. Theo is a powerful phantom with a compassionate nevertheless intolerant attitude, especially when dealing with Carlos and Lloyd’s displays of jealousy. Theo and Carlos are lovers who live and work together. Theo and Lloyd want to be lovers, yet Theo shows great restraint in keeping that dream from becoming a reality. The drama is provided by a powerful female vampire who can seduce people with her singing into a catatonic state. Even Theo is not completely immune to her siren song.  

The overall storyline of Event Horizon is an excellent well-paced action saga blended with humor, sensual intimacy as well as snarky “take no prisoners” hero behavior. My only disappointment is that Theo, Carlos and Lloyd did not establish a loving ménage relationship.        

The Gazelle Who Caught a Lion

Title: The Gazelle Who Caught a Lion
Author: Scarlet Hyacinth
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
ISBN: 1-61926-270-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

During their growing up years, Clark’s protected his adopted brother Angel as best he could. Now they’re adults and off with their friends to the new United Paranormal Academy where different shifter races learn to get along with each other while receiving an education. The campus is filled with lots of beautiful men and woman but Clark only has eyes for one person…Angel…and his lion wants to claim its mate. 

Angel’s crazy about Clark but petrified of him finding out. Going to the same school and attending many of the same classes put them together often, making it difficult to keep his feelings hidden. When Angel becomes the mentor of a new incubus classmate, Clark’s jealous, giving Angel hope his feelings are returned. But then a cheetah classmate’s murdered after he attacks Angel, embroiling them in the investigation after Clark’s accused. Can their newfound love survive in the face of so much adversity or will their mating fail? 

The Gazelle Who Caught a Lion is the newest release in Scarlet Hyacinth’s Mate or Meal series. While not absolutely necessary it would be better to read the books in order. 

I have to admit that I was surprised the series jumped into the next generation but in reality, it makes sense to progress the plotline in this manner. It allows changes in a few basic premises without a lot of excessive explaining. I liked seeing the adult Angel and Clark, along with their friends we knew as children. To know that some of the things the elders had been fighting for had come about…and the Academy was one of them.  

Ms. Hyacinth’s done a nice job not only with the further development of Angel and Clarks personalities but given us a detailed look into the new world in which they’re living. Into that, she’s woven their friends and a couple of side plotlines, pushing the story forward, not just to the end of this book but into the next release and beyond. But back to Angel and Clark. I really enjoy these two. They’re so different but still so alike. Loving each but afraid the other will learn the truth.  And there’s new evil here too, forcing friends, lovers and cousins to fight together to save the ones they love.

Too Hot To Touch

Title:  Too Hot To Touch
Author:  Marie Rochelle
Publisher:  Phaze Books
Publisher URL:  http://www.phaze.com
ISBN:  978-1-60659-644-9
Genre:  {M/F} Contemporary Interracial Series 
Rating:  3.5 Nymphs 

As a successful optometrist with good friends, Shauntie Kane has a life that most people would love to have.  Sometimes Shauntie was lonely for male companionship, but she didn’t let it break her strong spirit.  Her passion for work sporadically caused her to lose track of what was going on around her.  Because she’d been sidetracked, Shauntie now needed some extensive and costly repairs done on her house.  When a referral shows up to give Shauntie an estimate, she’s torn between wanting him gone, and wanting him in her bed.  

Nash Wentworth knew that Shauntie was the woman for him and he intended to take full advantage of the good fortune that had come his way.  He knew Shauntie felt the same chemistry as he did, but because of a past bad relationship, she’d be reluctant to go out with him.  All Nash wanted was a chance to shower her with the love and respect Shauntie deserved. 

When Shauntie started thinking with her heart instead of her head, she realized Nash was a good guy.  The two fall into a comfortable relationship and just as things heat up, the past makes an ugly appearance.  Shauntie is hurt by Nash’s failure to disclose the entire truth and she pushes him away.  Honestly, I can’t say that I blame her.  Eventually Shauntie puts her pride aside and she and Nash make up.  I was shocked by the way Nash turned the tables on Shauntie and laid some of the blame on her for the damage she’d suffered from her ex-boyfriend.  At first I was angry but I soon realized that Nash was right.  The truth is often not pretty, but necessary.  In this case, it was necessary for Shauntie to make peace and move on with her life.  This story is an inspirational reminder that not all men are the same and that good things can grow from bad situations.  Marie Rochelle has created some strong women in this story, and I know readers will see themselves in the characters.  I certainly did.

Tuesday, March 6, 2012

Torquere Press Submission Calls

MASKS OFF! 

Everyone loves a masquerade, right? The masks, the mystery, the seduction of the reveal! Now imagine a masquerade with an extra layer: some of the men wear a mask beneath their mask. They're shapeshifters. Be they cats or canines, dragons or foxes, all shifters are welcome, as long they don't forget to wear a mask. 

We’re looking for sexy, romantic male/male tales for Masks Off! In which at least one partner is a shifter. Light BDSM is welcome, but is not mandatory. Stories should be between 5000 and 12000 words long, and should be submitted in full and include a synopsis and author biography in the cover letter. Please put your name or pseudonym in the manuscript as well as in your submission email. 

Send submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with Masks Off! in the subject line. Payment is a $50.00 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, and a print copy of the book. No reprints, please. Deadline for submissions is April 1, 2012 for an August 2012 publication. 

WEIRD SCIENCE 

Who doesn’t love the idea of the mad scientist, working away in his lab, his sexy creature or lab assistant just waiting for him to notice them? Or what about the grad student who discovers just the potion that will make him the stud his oblivious roommate has always wanted... 

That’s the idea behind the Weird Science anthology. We’re looking for sexy, romantic male/male stories about what happens when science gets wild and wonderful in the name of love. Make us laugh, make us fall in love, and make us happy at the end! We’re not looking for hard science fiction or horror for this anthology, but we do want fully realized stories with strong characters.

Stories should be between 5000 and 12000 words long, and should be submitted in full and include a synopsis and author biography in the cover letter. Please put your name or pseudonym in the manuscript as well as in your submission email. 

Send submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with Weird Science in the subject line. Payment is a $50.00 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, and a print copy of the book. No reprints, please. Deadline for submissions is June 1 2012 for an October 2012 publication.

Saving Valor

Title: Saving Valor
Author: Amber Kell
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com
ISBN: 9781920502874
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Due to an increase in paranormal hunters, Vampire Master Valor needs extra protection for himself and his estate grounds. He’s at a local kennel purchasing several guard dogs when he discovers a caged shifter. Intrigued by the werehound’s odd predicament, Valor pays the asking price and takes him home, unaware how their chance meeting will change his future. 

All Caden wants is out. He hates running but needs to flee the area before members of his brother’s pack learn he’s alive and come looking for him again. If they find him, Caden could wind up dead. What he doesn’t know is that meeting Valor just changed his life forever and he won’t be going anywhere. 

Saving Valor is the first release in Amber Kell’s new paranormal series, Fanged Love 

I have to admit that Valor finding Caden in a dog kennel made me chuckle and it pulled me into the story immediately. That they could speak mind-to-mind was just icing on the cake…and I loved Caden’s fearless bantering, even at his initial meeting with the master vampire. Ms. Kell really out did herself crafting the personalities of these two and I like them both. Valor’s a scary, in-command kind of guy, while Caden’s more laid back, while still being a protective Alpha-type. That the werehound could calm the rage of the vampire was a nice touch, as is the idea of in the future these two forming a pack and having children…somehow. 

There are plenty of secondary characters…inside the vampire community and Caden’s brother’s pack…and along with them, lots of twists and turns. I can’t forget the hunters either since that’s where the pain, action and betrayal come in. Needless to say, Caden gets rescued in the end, the bad guys get their just desserts and a happily-ever-after is to be had by those deserving it. 

Content Advisory: This title is a re-edited, re-release.

Sins of the Father

Title: Sins of the Father
Author: Fyn Alexander
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher’s URL: http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-61118-756-4
Genre: {M/M}, Suspense, BDSM, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Angel and Kael have been together for fifteen months now and both men have settled nicely into their roles of Daddy and his boy.  When Kael meets his latest client, he begins to question not only his past, but his future with Angel as well. 

Sins of the Father is the third story in the Angel and Assassin series by author Fyn Alexander.   This is a series that really should be read in order to understand Angel, Kael, and the relationship they have.  During the course of Sins of the Father, the readers are given a larger look into Kael’s character.  Although this is a character that, at times, is hard to always like, this new information brought Kael closer to my heart.  Not only is it easier to understand some of his actions, but also the insecurities this strong tough killer is starting to feel.  Angel is, in many ways, the same; altering between a naïve teenager and a talented young agent with a few kills already under his belt.  The connection between these two is as strong as ever and helps the men through more than a couple of hard times.   

Of course, several past characters show up in this story, as well as a few new ones.  One in particular will leave the reader wondering about his connection to Kael.  Even after everything is revealed, there continues to be an air of unfinished business, making me wonder if this is a character that will pop up again in the future. 

Sins of the Father is a great addition to a very good series.  Although some readers may find the subject matter in this series a little difficult to handle, I would strongly recommend it to lovers of M/M and BDSM stories.

Rugged Salvation

Title:  Rugged Salvation
Author:  Edith Dubois
Publisher:  Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN:  1-61926-267-3
Genre:  {M/F/M/M}, Ménage a Quatre, Shape-shifters, BDSM, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Marina is still reeling from the disagreements and, what she perceives, the abandonment by her sister.  James, Jeremiah, and Johnny want her for their mate after meeting her, but it is going to be a very rocky road to convince Marina to stay. 

The third book in the Rugged Savage Valley, Colorado series is extremely emotional.  Rugged Salvation picks up right after the second book after Marina’s sister finds her bear-shifter mates.  Marina has a lot of baggage to work through, which was brought out in Rugged Return, so a reader needs to read it before reading this book.  It was no surprise that Marina would be one of the bear-shifter mates. 

Marina has a major attitude adjustment, once she realizes she is actually attracted to the three brothers.  There were so many times when I would have just told the brothers to forget it and move on and wanted to slap Marina silly, due to her stunts and attitude.  For most of the book, she was so close minded about even the possibility of love and still having a career that encompassed her music.  I liked the way the career issue was resolved at the end, but was actually not a surprise to me. 

The author brought one of the secondary characters in this series to front and center in dealing with the four main characters.  I really like this man and actually hope that there will be a book about him after this series is over.  Several mentions of the lion-shifters appear, as well as previous bear-shifters, in this book.   

I am looking forward to reading about the last two families in the future.  
Note: There are two different series in the Savage Valley, Colorado collection. Rugged Savage Valley by Edith Dubois is bear-shifters. The Pride of Savage Valley series by Helena Ray is mountain lion-shifters. Each book features a different romantic trio or quartet. Even though the two series take place in the same setting with crossover characters and share an external story arc, each of the series can stand alone.

Monday, March 5, 2012

Witches and Wolves

Title: Witches and Wolves
Author: Saloni Quinby
Publisher: Changeling Press
ISBN: 978-1-60521-753-6
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx   

Witch Nate Collins is feeling in a romantic mood, watching his friends recite their wedding vows. Nate also notices that the werewolf Bruce Johanson is showing what can only be called a mutual attraction towards Nate.  Instantly acting on their attraction, Nate and Bruce realize they want more than one night together. Meanwhile, Bruce’s brother Redd comes to visit and Nate’s twin unexpectedly shows up, with a demon stalking him, needing help. 

Witches and Wolves is the second book in the Witches and Wolves series. Nate and Bruce are best friends to the newly-wedded couple introduced in the first book He Needs to Feed. To the outside world, Nate is merely a psychic who reads tarot cards. However, Nate’s true skill is wielding magic spells. On the surface, Nate is the compassionate twin, while ice skating Nick is the prima donna. When you look behind the facade, Nate and Nick are equal in their caring nature. Bruce operates a medical facility for shifters and Redd is a member of the shifter’s swat team.  Combining their talents, the demons are destroyed.  

Saloni Quinby’s Witches and Wolves is an impressive, as well as, an exceptionally enjoyable installment into this series.  

Needing To

Title: Needing To
Author: BA Tortuga
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerepress.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-731-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx    

Boone’s watching television in a Reno hotel room after a bull riding event and he’s bored. He’s flipping channels and comes across a commercial for a casino act starring rocker Gerald High. Boone is stunned. He doesn’t recognize the name but the face is familiar…it’s his high school buddy, Danny Michaels, and he doesn’t look good.  

Worried and determined to see his old friend, Boone bribes his way up to the penthouse suite and talks his way inside. He’s afraid what he’ll find since on TV, Danny looked too skinny and pale as a ghost…and it’s worse than he feared.  At least Danny remembers him and soon they’re talking like the years separating them never happened. Can Boone help his old friend straighten out his life and given him hope for a happy future…maybe with him? 

The latest release in the Roughstock world is Needing To. Its part of the Holiday Shot line by Torquere Press and can be read as a standalone. 

It’s a sweet and endearing story of two old friends reconnecting and it’s turned into one of my favorites of the Roughstock stories. How can you not like tough and protective Boone going to the rescue of a man he hasn’t seen in years? Yes, some of the scenes are painful and unrealistically quick as Boone helps Danny go through detox cold-turkey but it’s needed to get his life back on track. Soon after Danny’s head clears is when the author changes their relationship, allowing the men to get reacquainted on a personal and intimate level and admitting to feelings held secret since high school. It turns into a relationship that’s hot and steamy and has the potential for a future they both want. Here where my big niggle comes in. At this point the story abruptly ends leaving a lot of answered questions in the end.

Love Means …Family

Title: Love Means …Family
Author: Andrew Grey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-61372-256-5
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Losing someone is always hard but for Arie and his family, the death of his sister, her children and husband is more than they can handle.  When the grief becomes too much, Arie heads out to visit his friend Robbie and the rest of the men at Geoff’s and Eli’s horse ranch.  Arie never expected to run into someone like Duane. 

Love Means…Family is the newest release in the Farm series.   Although the story comes in at around 200 pages, it is a fast read.  The characters pull you in from the beginning and you find yourself hooked until the last page.  The tragedy that Arie and his family finds themselves dealing with is tough, and the way the author portrays the different ways in which they are grieving is realistic.  Running off to Michigan is the only way Arie can see to come to grips with his grief.  While meeting Duane is unexpected, the sheriff’s deputy is just what Arie needs.  Duane is just as intrigued by Arie and soon, the men are falling into a relationship.  I love the easiness in which the men’s relationship flows.  While the worry about the time when Arie must return home isn’t far away, they can’t seem to stay away from each other.  Of course the other couples are there to help the two men when issues arise.  The author also introduces a minor mystery into the story.  While this subplot takes up very little of the story, it adds just the right amount of angst to show the men how important each is to the other.  

Love Means…Family is a wonderful addition to this light-hearted series.  While each story can stand on its own, I would recommend reading them in order so that you can meet the rest of the characters in this book.

Hidden Pride

Title:  Hidden Pride
Author:  Helena Ray
Publisher:  Siren Bookstrand
ISBN:  1-61926-144-8
Genre: {M/F/M}, Shape-shifters, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Anya goes to Savage Valley to start a new life after she has finally reached her limit dealing with her boss.  She visited her aunt while growing up and has had a lifelong love for Clay.  After meeting his brother, Jack, she realizes she is home. 

The third book of The Pride of Savage Valley, Colorado series has just as much angst as the previous books.  Hidden Pride gives a reader more insight into the lives of the lion-shifters as they still battle NormCorps takeover of Savage Valley.   

Anya has to make some hard decisions about what she wants out of life and that she might actually be giving up her dream because of the situation with her previous employer.  The author does a good job keeping your interest as the suspense plays out and, though you know what is supposed to happen with the bad guy, I was a little surprised by some of the interactions that led up to the situation that almost takes Anya’s life. 

Jack is tormented because he has one power that is not manifested in the other shifters.  He realizes that Anya can help him once they are fully bonded, but she has to accept that the relationship will be a ménage with his brother, Clay.  A lot of characters in both of the Savage Valley series make small appearances in this book, as well as a lot of the villains. 

I am looking forward to reading about the last two lion-shifter families in this series.
Note: There are two different series in the Savage Valley, Colorado collection. The Pride of Savage Valley series by Helena Ray is mountain lion-shifters. Rugged Savage Valley by Edith Dubois is bear-shifters. Each book features a different romantic trio or quartet. Even though the two series take place in the same setting with crossover characters and share an external story arc, each of the series can stand alone. **** (I recommend reading both series concurrent as you will get much more out of them)

Demon Seed

Title:  Demon Seed
Author:  Jianne Carlo
Publisher:  Loose Id
ISBN:  978-1-61118-697-0  
Genre:  {M/F} Multicultural Contemporary Suspense
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph 

Jacinta Maria de Silva has lived in a convent her entire life.  As she was preparing to take her first vows, Jacinta was told she’d have to spend time living in the outside world first.  With temptations like popcorn, ice cream, and music, it became obvious that Jacinta wouldn’t be taking her vows.  But the biggest temptation was the man called Demon.  He’d saved her from rape and death, without even knowing who she was or what kind of trouble she was in.  Demon was awakening new feelings in Jacinta that she wanted to explore with him. 

Being in the Navy Seals has taught Demon how to recognize an ambush right away.  Pretending to be Jacinta’s lover was the only way to save them both and not blow his cover.  Demon was already on a mission so he didn’t want to get wrapped up in Jacinta’s drama.  After some of the missing pieces of the puzzle start coming together, Demon knows he has to protect Jacinta.  Knowing how innocent and sheltered she is doesn’t stop him from wanting Jacinta. 

Demon knows the lunatic who’s after Jacinta and he knows she can’t go back to the convent, no matter what she says.  The more time he spends with her, the more Demon starts thinking about a future with her by his side.  Part of him wants to be selfish but the other part feels guilty about shackling her to a man like him.  Jacinta isn’t as helpless as Demon thinks and she shows him that life in a convent has made her stronger than he thinks. 

Demon Seed is the fourth book of the Hades Squad series.  It brings together two people who seem to be as different as night and day.  Jacinta has led a sheltered life, while Demon has seen and done too much.  From the moment they met and Demon was forced to become Jacinta’s lover, I knew she was no wilting wallflower.  An average woman would never have been able to pull off such bravado.  Jacinta is a living contradiction and I loved that about her.  The nuns had taught her deadly skills with a knife and yet she loved M&M’s like a child.  And each time she made her little announcements to Demon, I cracked a smile.  I couldn’t help laughing along with Demon.  He thinks he’s too damaged and tainted for Jacinta and can’t believe that she has feelings for him.  I could understand how Demon might think she felt gratitude and not love.  I enjoyed reading about his confusion.  He’s an honorable man and he deserved Jacinta’s love.  The suspense and danger kept me on the edge of my seat, trying to guess what would happen next.  I thought it was clever how Jacinta and Demon’s past were linked.   I know readers will be drawn into this story as if they are side by side with Jacinta and Demon, just as I was. 

Reading this story as a stand-alone will not confuse you if you haven’t read the previous stories in the series.  However, it will make you want to read Jianne Carlo’s other works and make you a fan. 

Heart of Dame

Title: Heart of Dame
Author: Dawn H. Hawkes
Publisher: Silver Publishing
ISBN: 9781920502966
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx   

Vampire Damian is on the run when he encounters Timothy Leeman, who is also on the run. Damian and Timothy are both under attack from Mika’s band of psycho vampires. 

Heart of Dame is the third book in the action-packed Solomon's Pride series.  Damian is instantly attracted to Timothy, so much so that a bite mark on Timothy's neck pisses Damian off. Damian wants to plant his own mark on Timothy’s neck. Damian lives at the Pride Manor after he saves one of the shifters injured in a vampire attack. Damian is considered a traitor by other vampires. Biochemist Timothy was unknowingly working on a blood project for Mika. When Timothy overheard his assistant’s conversation, Timothy was bitten by Shamus, one of Mika’s minions. The bite from Damian triggers some unexpected surprises for Timothy, such as Damian is his mate and feisty little Timothy is weirder than he always believed.  

Dawn H. Hawkes’ Solomon's Pride series is best read in sequence.  Heart of Dame is another exciting, as well as, exceptionally enjoyable episode.

The Twisted Kiss

Title: The Twisted Kiss
Author: Anya Bast
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN: 978-1-60928-869-3
Genre: {M/F/M} Paranormal Post-Apocalyptic Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

The world’s turned upside down and Kylie Mitchell’s one of a few uninfected humans living among the monsters. Thanks to a botched military experiment, over half the population is dead and most others have mutated into werewolves and vampires. It’s a tough world and Kylie just wants to be left alone. 

The ruling body of the town…the psychic Council of the Wise has other ideas. They decree her mated to two men she’s known all her life, one vampire and one werewolf. Kylie’s not happy. Michael and Christian have feelings for Kylie and don’t want to share her but know they don’t have a choice. To be certain Kylie doesn’t spend her life alone and guilt ridden, the men must put aside their differences and begin a sensual assault on the woman they love.  

Even as Kylie admits her feelings and the three grow closer, a dangerous monster from the past comes back, threatening not only Kylie but their very future together. 

The Twisted Kiss is the first release in Anya Bast’s new series, Doomsyear.  A government experiment gone awry isn’t exactly a new premise but that doesn’t mean Ms. Bast hasn’t come up with some creative twists and turns to keep your attention. In fact with this new post-apocalyptic world and the paranormal characters inhabiting it, the possibilities are almost endless for new and exciting plots. 

After reading the blurb, I was a little concerned Ms. Bast couldn’t give an adequate explanation to her new world or the romance between Kylie, Michael and Christian…but I needn’t have worried. She’s done a nice job with her world-building, the imagery giving a good idea of what happened, how people live day to day and their transformations, mostly into vampires and werewolves. The three-way relationship starts off rough but with her usual flair, Ms. Bast gets the trio together, with Michael and Christian wooing their woman with seduction and understanding. Sparks fly, passion rises and when Kylie gives in to the attraction, it’s sizzling hot.

But that’s not all. Besides a strong plot, interesting characters and good world-building, you also get the past coming back, resulting in fear, action and danger. I look forward to the next release in the series.