Wednesday, November 28, 2012

Orgasmic Texas Dawn


Author: A.J. Llewellyn and D.J. Manly
Publisher: Silver Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 9781614957201
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

After falling in love and having a disastrous affair with the leader of a drug cartel, Canadian police detective Kieran Fox’s career is in tatters. He’s wallowing and doesn’t know what he’ll do with his life when Sheriff Dillon DePriest comes north, asking him to help with an escalating drug problem in Long Trail, Texas. Kieran doesn’t have anything holding him in Canada, so he packs up and catches a plane south. It takes him straight into the middle of a murderous drug war and the arms of Jubilee Mason, a closeted U.S. Marshal. Being shot at is bad enough but another relationship that lead to heartache and doesn’t have a chance of lasting isn’t what he wants. The problem—his heart isn’t cooperating.

Orgasmic Texas Dawn in the first release in the new series Orgasmic Texas Dawn by A.J. Llewellyn and D.J. Manly.

The premise for this release is full of surprises. Kiernan’s past involvement with a drug lord isn’t what you’d expect from a decorated police detective. This is just one example of the twists you’ll find as this story picks up steam and races to the end. I mean really. How many other books have kids, cops, drug dealers and man-eating alligators? None I know of. Plus we get a hot romance between two interesting cops—Kiernan and Jubilee. 

I love how Kiernan and Jubilee interact with each other. Their bantering dialogue is great fun and the sexual tension is sizzling, well before they actually become lovers. As you can imagine with drug dealers involved there’s plenty of danger, which leads to lots of action—and more unexpected plot turns. I never knew which direction a character or plot thread was going and I love to be surprised. I had surprises, shocks, chuckles and even a few shivers—remember the alligators?

Well, what more can I say beside I like it? I guess it’s fun, entertaining, a wide ride and that it has numerous unique secondary characters that add flair, interest and plenty of problems. All of these elements are woven together into a believable and lively story that kept me readying and wanting more. Longing was just released, so look for it.

The Prince of Galerir


Author: Anna Lee
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-60820-7671
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Destiny has chosen Lord Tomas Roland and his lover, Sir Griffin Dalison, to restore the kingdom’s balance back to the harmony the humans and magical creatures once shared. However, this can only be accomplished by the destruction of the evil source that wrecked havoc over Galerir.

The Prince of Galerir has an intriguing plot illustrating greed, in addition to hatred for gay men. It was a common assumption that gay men were weak and therefore not fit to rule a kingdom. Because of this, secrets were kept from Tomas as the only means so save his life. Tomas and Griffin were constant companions as well as best friends for years before their friendship blossomed into love. Days before Tomas is summoned by the dying king, Griffin found a dragon hatching in the woods. Finding the baby dragon was not mere chance, but the hands of fate beginning to unfold Tomas and Griffins’ prophecy. The dragon immediately bonded with Tomas and Griffin, though magical creatures had been forbidden in the kingdom. Before the rift that divided the kingdom, dragons were the guardians of kings. So, the journey begins, Tomas gathers more magical tools to help them as they wait to defeat the coming evil. The story will continue in the upcoming The Battle For Galerir.  

Anna Lee has created an exceptionally enjoyable saga. Tomas and Griffin are honorable men who freely express their love to each other, as well as display consideration for everyone they have contact with. I especially enjoyed their interactions with the dragon hatchling. 

Cuff Master


Title:  Cuff Master
Author:  Frances Stockton
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781419941566
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Paranormal, Sequel
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Ethan and Morgan have been dancing around their relationship for months.  Morgan is afraid being rejected because of her psychic abilities.  Ethan may not understand them, but he is willing to support her.  One thing is sure though, Ethan is going to find out who is trying to kill her.

Cuff Master is about the second brother of the Maddox family, which we met in Ink Master.  Be aware that there is one scene with male/male action among two friends of both Ethan and Morgan.  Morgan is new to the BDSM scene, though she has known for awhile that Ethan is a dominant.  The author is very knowledgeable about the lifestyle and the scenes she creates in this book are scorching.  There were even some things she mentioned that I would have liked to know where to get, such as one outfit she described that Ethan dressed Morgan in.

The story is very intense and will hold the readers interest.  A reader does not have to read Ink Master to follow this story, but be aware there are some references to that story in this one.  I was a little surprised by the way the author wove the suspense story in Cuff Master.  Some of the story references the human trafficking problem that has been in the news lately.  The way she resolved it was very surprising, even though part of storyline was a little predictable while the detectives were trying to find out what really happened to Jenna.

I will be reading both books again and am anticipating the youngest Maddox brother’s story.

Leap in the Dark


Author: Gabrielle Evans  
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher’s URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62241-783-4
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

When Braxton fell in love with Xander two years ago, he knew this was the man for him.  When he allowed the shifter to claim him, he knew that for all intents and purposes it was for better or worse.  He just did not realize that the worst meant he wanted to kick the shit out of his mate.

When the author started the Moonlight Breed series, she did so by introducing the readers to Xander and Braxton.  Xander was a shifter who, because of his white pelt, had a target on his head.  He is also the Alpha of a makeshift pack with a variety of other shifters, all of whom have white pelts.  Braxton, a human with an abusive ex, is also an author.  The young man falls instantly for the hunky shifter and, after many obstacles, the two finally find their happily ever after.  In Leap in the Dark, Ms. Evans brings back these two characters and introduces a whole new mess of problems.

At the end of book seven, Xander is injured during a rescue attempt. This newest book picks up shortly after, with Braxton learning to deal with Xander’s attitude surrounding his injury.  I could understand the actions and reasoning of both men and found this particular area of their relationship realistic.  That being said, I did have a little trouble accepting how fast Xander overcame his attitude after only a few words from Spiro. 

While this story is about Braxton and Xander, many previous characters show up.  I love the interaction between Keaton and Braxton, as well as his interaction with several of the new characters.  I also can’t wait until the new moonlighter’s (shifters with white pelts) get their own stories. 

Leap in the Dark was a fast-paced, fun story with many twists and turns.  Fans of this series are sure to enjoy it.

But For You


Title: But For You
Author: Mary Calmes
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62380-027-7
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Life is going well for partners Jory Harcourt and Sam Kage. They’re still crazy about each other, enjoy their jobs and have two adopted kids they adore. It even looks like Jory might have moved past the ‘trouble magnet’ part of his life. He even drives a mini-van and drives the kids to school. The only way life could be better—a bigger house.

But with Jory and Sam, nothing stays quiet for long. They can’t even go to a family reunion without trouble following—a hit man pulls a gun on Jory. Sam’s guilt ridden and sure a missing witness for the US Marshall Service is behind the problem. And just when Sam thought it couldn’t get any worse, an old flame shows up. Jory won’t let anyone disrupt his family and he’s ready to do battle for the people he loves. He won’t let anyone hurt Sam or his kids. Ever.

I’m sad. Not because I didn’t enjoy But For You, but because with its release, Ms. Calmes has ended her popular A Matter of Time series. As much as I could wish she’d continue, I also have to commend her for the decision—that she knew when it was time for our look into the lives of Jory and Sam to come to an end.

I loved the changes in Jory and Sam. Jory’s finally turned into an adult. He’s now responsible, has stopped running, confronts problems head on, takes care of his kids and fights to protect the ones he loves. Sam is just as much of a bad-ass but he’s also a loving partner and caring father. It’s a wonderful change in both men and Ms. Calmes did a great job with their growth. 

 Jory’s still a trouble magnet, bringing danger and action into their lives. But this time it’s not all his fault. Problems from Sam’s past and his work with the Marshall Service all add to the volatile situations they face. It makes this part of the story not only fun but fast-paced. But there’s other things going on too. We’re allowed to see the family side of the guys and get acquainted with cute kids, Kola and Hannah. There are lots of returning family members at the reunion and it supplied a few laughs and a bit of excitement—remember the hit man?

Anyway. Sam and Jory are still in love and even if they’re parents, it doesn’t mean they don’t find time for sizzling hot sex. There’s bantering dialogue, crazy situations, a smooth plot, vivid imagery and I think all the loose ends are tied up. Even Aaron Sutter had the chance to meet the love of his life. It’s a win-win for everyone.

So, I guess I have to say farewell to Sam and Jory and will need to satisfy myself with rereading the series unless Ms. Calmes decides to write another book sometime in the future. I can only hope.

Alpha Me Not


Title:  Alpha Me Not
Author:   Jianne Carlo
Publisher:  Loose Id
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61118-848-6
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Susie is focused on making a career, getting out from under the thumb of her family and absolutely does not want an alpha man.  Joe stumbles onto Susie after he comes back from his last mission and ends up taking her in, after her house explodes.

Alpha Me Not is the third book in the White Wolf series and is a wonderful addition to the series.  Susie thinks she is actually a misfit within her family, but after some children go missing, finds out differently.  Joe helps her through the transition, once he realizes what is going on.  With help from Susie’s family and Joe’s friends, they solve the crime that is going on around them.  The author has a lot of twists and turns that the reader may come to the wrong conclusion, I know I did. Be aware that some of the back story regarding children can be disturbing, but is something that has been in the headlines the last few months.

The way Ms. Carlo also weaves characteristics of half-breed shifters throughout the story made a lot of sense.  I laughed about Susie’s reaction when she realized she had actually fallen for an alpha male.  The chemistry between Joe and Susie is hot and I was constantly fanning myself.  There is also the usual conflict between an alpha and his mate concerning orders and what each expected from the other.

Readers can read each story alone, but I suggest reading the series.  I am also hoping that some of the characters that showed up in this story will have their own book.  I will be reading this one again.

Body Magic


Title: Body Magic
Author: Poppy Dennison
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61372-749-2
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

For Rocky Harris, life in his pack is tough. He’s considered weak, meaning he’s not treated well and never has been. When he’s assigned by his alpha to update the security of the High Moon Pack, his world’s turned upside down. People are nice to him for the first time in his life. Rocky’s also exposed to different ways of thinking, forcing him to doubt his tightly-held beliefs. And he finds a man he’s attracted to—his life is in turmoil.

Cade still feels guilty over the kidnapping of the pack’s cubs and he’s determined to protect them in the future. As much as he’s attracted to Rocky, Cade doesn’t trust his motives. There’s just too much going on with Simon and Gray’s unconventional mating and some are unhappy with the alpha breaking tradition and mating with a mage. There’s a tension in the air that doesn’t have anything to do the growing attraction between Cade and Rocky. When the pack’s attacked by strange forces, it’s obvious someone’s out to hurt the people he loves and Cade will do anything to stop it.

Body Magic is the second release in Poppy Dennison’s trilogy, apply titled Triad. It takes up where Mind Magic ended, so the books should be read in order. Also be aware the publisher’s blurb didn’t mention there’s just as much time devoted to Rocky and Cade as there is to Gray and Simon (from the first book). It’s a pretty even balance, making it a two romance book.

There’s a lot going on in this entertaining book but never fear Ms. Dennison’s skillfully blended the elements into a cohesive whole. There’s Rocky. He’s caught in the middle between his old pack and the changes in his beliefs after living with the High Moon Pack. His relationship with Cade begins slowly and it’s far from smooth, but their attraction is intense and the emotions high. The descriptions of their backgrounds is nicely done and integrated well.  Then there’s Simon and Gray. Their mating has taken place and some aren’t happy because of Simon’s mage status. That means the author’s crafted the potential for a catastrophe, simmering just below the surface for much of the book—it’s nicely done.

I can’t forget all the other vivid characters and their well scripted personalities. There’s Cormac, Simon’s vampire grandfather, a cute orphaned mountain lion shifter cub they rescued, Gray’s family and many other pack members. All these people and the two romances are just part of the complicated, ongoing story I couldn’t stop reading. I can’t wait for Soul Magic, the last release in this series. If you enjoy reading paranormal books, shifters in particular, then you’ll want to give this well-written trilogy a try.

Tristan


Title: Tristan
Author: K. M. Mahoney
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-339-0
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Black bear shifter Tristan Lakkis spends so much time hunting down law breakers that he finally gave up his apartment since he was never there and is essentially living in his truck. Being a loner, constantly on the move, Tristan has no thoughts of ever settling down. However, coming in contact with Putman County resident werewolf Lucas Kingston again has Tristan thinking about the future.

Tristan is the second book in the Putman County series. The town is a sanctuary for paranormal misfits. The plot is a romantic suspense. The characters are creditable. Tristan is a cantankerous acting in-the-closet gay man. Only his younger brother Michael, as well as Lucas, is aware of Tristan’s sexuality.  As the story unfolds, Tristan discovers that Lucas is the target of the psycho werewolf he has been tracking. Tristan also realized that he loves Lucas. Lucas is openly gay, although he has secrets that could get him killed if they became common knowledge.  Lucas is adorably awkward, along with being somewhat obsessive when he is attracted to a man. Tristan and Lucas are well matched; Lucas needs a guardian and Tristan is strong with a very protective nature.

 K. M. Mahoney has created an amazing, remarkably enjoyable saga. Tristan is filled with humor, mystery and emotional drama.       

Monday, November 26, 2012

Panahasi


Title: Panahasi
Author: Lynn Hagen
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher URL: www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62241-518-2
Genre: {M/M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

It’s been ten millennia since Panahasi made a deal with the Keeper, resulting in the creation of the demon warriors. As their leader he’s had a solitary life and every year it gets harder to keep going without a mate to share his life with. Panahai’s lonely and has almost given up hope until he accidently meets two wolf shifters, Casey and Drake. That doesn’t mean everything is smooth sailing for the trio because Jaden, his universal counterpart, will stop at nothing to harm his mates.

Drake and Casey grew up together in foster care and love each other deeply but when they meet Panahasi on a dark road they’re surprised, but accept that he’s their mate without question. They’ve stood by each other through all kinds of trouble and aren’t certain how their sexy new mate will change their relationship, especially when they learn that his secret could kill them all.

Panahasi is the newest release in Lynn Hagan’s entertaining Demon Warrior series. Because of the many returning characters, I recommend the books be read in order.

I’ve been wondering about Panahasi since Hondo, so I was happy he was the featured demon in this new release. I mean he’s the big bad leader of the demon warriors, so how can he not be interesting? Getting to know him brings all kinds of unexpected ancient historical background information into the story, which really enriches it. The details are not just about Panahasi but about the formation of the demon warriors—it fills in some of the holes and answer questions bugging me since the series began. Panahasi’s a unique individual with the weight of the world on his shoulders. Finding his mates gives him the greatest gift but also the greatest burden—keeping his mates alive.

That brings Drake and Casey into the story. They have an interesting personal story, totally interwoven since childhood. I like these two and they’re perfect for Panahasi, but certainly not easy to control. As you might imagine, with so much going on, this is the longest of the series to date and you’ll find action, danger and twists scattered throughout its fast-paced plot. Never fear you’ll have lots of chances to see the other warriors too. There’s even a big shocker at the end about Panahasi’s offspring. I think you’ll be as surprised as I was.

From This Moment


Author: Gabrielle Evans
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher’s URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62241-505-2
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Zavion loves Zuriel and can’t imagine a time without his twin around, yet he never thought having a twin would interfere with his finding a mate.  Cian knows one of the Dobbs twins is his mate, yet the two smell alike so it’s hard to figure out which one, especially since the two are always in each other’s pocket.  When Cian finally realizes who it is, he doesn’t waste time when it comes to claiming him.

From This Moment is the seventh release in the Moonlight Breed series.  This ongoing series by Gabrielle Evans started out being about a group of white shape-shifters who had formed a pack of their own after being exiled from their original packs.  As the series moved along, however, the author begin adding a variety of other paranormal beings, each of whom played a part in moving the series along and enlarged the pack in the process.  From This Moment is the story of two of those new members. 

Zavion, along with his brother Zuriel and a small group of others, is a recent rescue from the Hive.  Cian is one of the recent Murphy transplants and is an enforcer for the pack. The twist the author uses to confuse the men of their mate status is unusual and one I had not thought about before.  I liked this switch up and thought it gave the beginning of the story a fresh spin.  The men don’t waste time once they realize the connection that exists between them.  The author does not waste any time throwing obstacles in the men’s way, however, and the many twists and turns that follow really make this an entertaining story.

There are several new secondary characters introduced into the series with this story.  I am anxious to see them all get stories of their own.  From This Moment also sets up story eight perfectly.  I was shocked by what happened and can not wait to jump into Leap in the Dark.  Fans of this genre are sure to love From This Moment, and while the books can be read as stand-alones, this is a great series and readers would really miss out on some great stories.

Take It Off!


Title:  Take It Off!
Author:  Taylor Cole and Justin Whitfield
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN:   9781419942976
Genre:  Nonfiction
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Take It Off! The Naked Truth about Male Strippers is a very good look at the reality of life as a male stripper.  The two authors are men that have been in the business for at least twenty years.  There were a few things the guys mentioned about what goes on behind the scenes as male strippers that was a little disturbing.  I also had a little difficulty, at times, trying to figure out who was saying what, as sometimes a name was mentioned then it seemed like the tone changed, so it wasn’t clear. I do have to say that what they were describing backstage was very different from my experiences as a professional belly dancer.  I think it was because the venues were very different.  I will also admit that some of my feelings might also be colored by this experience. 

One thing that did strike me was the advice that Taylor and Justin gave regarding choices about lifestyles and thinking about the future.  They both gave some very good advice as they talked about some of the lives they saw as careers came and went.  If someone were to be starting in the business, I would want them to read this book. 

Both men took their experiences and made themselves into a brand of sorts.  The modeling seems to be an offshoot of their dancing and they both became cover models for Ellora’s Cave books.  They both mentioned that they got to travel the world and had experiences they don’t think they would have had. Both of these gentlemen went on to different things in their lives.  Even though a lot of what they experienced was hectic and bordering on chaotic, it was clear, they had some clear goals. 

Pavarus


Title: Pavarus
Author: Jennifer Wright
Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN: 978-1-78184-117-4
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

There is nothing about camping trips Wesley found appealing and Wesley had no problem articulating his negative opinions of this venture to his boyfriend, as well as the other couple with them. However, Wesley soon realizes the canoe ride on the river is tame compared to falling through a portal and coming face to face with the commander of the vampires Remus who rescues Wesley from the dragon intent on attacking him..

Pavarus is the first book in the Finding Home series. The setting is a world very much like Earth, with the exception of magical creatures, as well as the lack of modern technology. The characters are creditable. Wesley appears to be snarky and hard to appease; however this is a shield to hide his fears. Beneath the displayed attitude, Wesley is a lovable man, who is easily hurt. Wesley’s desire to return to his home in Baton Rouge, Louisiana stems from his fear of rejection by Remus. Nothing could be further from the truth; Remus did not realize how lonely he was until he met Wesley. Although Remus had not considered having a mate prior to meeting Wesley, he did recognize there was an immediate attraction between them. Besides the budding romance, the plot illustrates battles between the vampires and dragons, along with the revelations of some long kept secrets.

Jennifer Wright’s Pavarus is an impressive saga I found both intriguing and enjoyable. I look forward to the next episode.