Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Silver Spider


Title: Silver Spider
Author: Lena Austin
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-368-2
Genre: Bisexual and More, Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Madge Majesty, a harpy, mystery writer and amateur sleuth, is invited to a murder mystery party hosted by The Duke of Aberystwyth at his castle in Wales. However, shortly after her arrival and before the game can begin, a real murder is committed. The duke is dead and now it is up to Madge and her multi-talented servant, Hayden, to unravel the crime.

Silver Spider is a captivating mystery, and first in the Majesty Mysteries series, with an exceptional cast of guests who are now suspects. Distinguished personalities present are the vampire in drag, his/her werewolf lover, the voyeuristic female doctor, the gargoyle butler, and the adventurous young man who is more than willing to have sex with everyone at the party, particularly Hayden. Madge is all business when it comes to solving murder. Being a harpy, Madge is stronger, plus her senses are sharper, than a human and she is not affected by emotions other than her own fury, which can be deadly. The setting is 1912 Great Britain and refers to prejudices during that era, such as observance of social class boundaries, women in non-traditional vocations and gay men. The characters are appealing. The fascinating plot chronicles Madge and Hayden’s impressions of each visitor as well as the dealings surrounding the exposure of each clue during the investigation, consequently moving the proceedings layer by layer to an exciting and well paced conclusion. Lena Austin has created a splendid, as well as humorous, satire that I enjoyed immensely.

Three’s a Dream


Title: Three’s a Dream
Author: Zoe Nichols
Publisher: Lulu
Publisher URL: http://www.lulu.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Ever since the fire at Derek’s bar two weeks ago, things are feeling strained between him, Dean and Asher. With Asher’s injuries incapacitating him and the lack of work since the fire for Derek and Dean, all three men have had a lot of time to re-evaluate their lives. There may be a lot of thinking going on but there is a distinct lack of talking happening. Asher is finding it increasingly difficult to define the role Dean plays in their relationship and both Derek and Dean are reacting to Asher’s uncertainty with increasing frustration. Things can’t continue like this for much longer.

I really liked the change in the style of writing in this installment of the Asher series. With limited dialogue, Three’s a Dream turned into a rather cerebral story as we are given an insight into the characters thoughts during this troubled time. It was also a smart way of writing, really making me work at a connection with characters that are in danger of withdrawing into their own protective bubble. There are some very intense emotions successfully portrayed in a short space of time but there are still some tender moments helping to restore the balance. The question of whether Asher, Derek and Dean can really make their threesome work is tackled well but this story lacked any real conclusion and left me feeling sorry for the characters. I really hope all involved can patch up the tears that are forming soon.

Unreal


Title: Unreal
Author: Zoe Nichols
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

With two gorgeous men lavishing him with attention constantly and a wardrobe that would make any girl’s eyes turn green, Asher could be forgiven in thinking he had the perfect life.

He never saw it coming…

When he wakes up in a strange room with no memory of how he got there, Asher’s about ready to freak out but a familiar voice grounds him. Derek is by his side the second he wakes and fills in the gaps – Asher’s in the hospital with severe injuries suffered when he was trampled in the panic of an arson attack on Derek’s crowded bar three days ago.

Distracted by his own pain, it takes Asher a while to figure out that he isn’t the only one hurting. On top of almost losing the love of his life, Derek is grieving his beloved bar. Add to that the increasingly complicated relationship with Dean and Asher’s delicate shoulders are starting to feel the strain.

I am continuously surprised by the drama in the Asher series. Just when I thought I had things figured out with the fun and playful events of the previous two stories, things take a decidedly serious turn in Unreal. I really appreciated this development as I feel this has really given substance to the characters. Asher, Derek and Dean’s ideal living situation could never last forever and the hint at possible damage to their relationship that could have already occurred, due to a lack of communication, is very well done here. I am interested to see if the threesome can overcome their insecurities and fears of really committing to this unique relationship.

Asher and the Threesome


Title: Asher and the Threesome
Author: Zoe Nichols
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Asher was perfectly happy with his sex life and thought Derek was too so when he suggests trying something a little different, Asher doesn’t know what to think. Before he has time to consider the possibility of sharing the love of his life with someone else, Derek introduces Asher to Dean, a bartender at Derek’s bar. He should be furious at Derek but suddenly Asher’s finding it hard to focus on anything but the gorgeous specimen of maleness in front of him.

After reading Asher and the Elevator Romp - the prequel to this story – I was excited to read the next installment in Asher and Derek’s lives. The previous story had introduced the characters well and I was looking forward to witnessing their development but although we have moved forward in their lives, I am still left trying to fill in the pieces somewhat. Their elevator romp seemed to give that extra kick in their sex life but it seems that in Asher and the Threesome, things are a little tired for Derek and he wants to spice things up again. That had me worried about Asher’s feelings and their relationship, which surprised me as I was expecting Asher to be the one I had to keep my eye on. The author did a good job of keeping me on my toes and making me care about the characters. The introduction of Dean could have gone either way, especially with Asher’s initial reaction to the idea. However, he charmed me over at the same time as Asher and Derek and the resulting scenes were sizzling. Although the introduction of a third man came out of left field for me, I am starting to realize that the Asher series is going to be far from predictable and I do look forward to seeing what comes next.

Schnickelfritz In Love


Title: Schnickelfritz In Love
Author: Deirdre O'Dare
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-631-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Mystery,
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Jake Rasmussen goes where his job takes him. Working as an industrial electrician is rewarding work, but it could be better if he had someone or something to care for. Enter a feisty miniature schnauzer named Snick. Snick knows exactly what his master needs… the owner of the sleek greyhound he is panting after.

Detective Boz Corwin doesn’t have time for a commitment. Their budding friendship takes a turn when Jake and Boz team up to catch a thief. After a close encounter followed up with a steamy romp, the men are rethinking their future happiness.

Deirdre O'Dare knows how to incorporate some memorable canines in her stories and Schnickelfritz In Love is a great addition to the Canine Cupids series. Jake and Boz are nice characters, but Athena and Snick stole the show for me. I had to read a few scenes twice and found myself giggling hard at that lady-killer, Snick. What a funny little dog. The story does have a nice balance of suspense, humor, and erotic play that keeps the pages turning. I found the story enjoyable and can’t wait to read the next book in the series.

Burkett Isle


Title: Burkett Isle
Author: Mychael Black and Shayne Carmichael
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-528-2
Genre: {M/M} Romantic Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Ben Gregory, his live-in boyfriend, Joshua Finley, and their friend, Joey Brandt, are taking a weekend trip to Ben’s parents’ cabin on Burkett Isle. Josh is concerned about them spending time with his former boyfriend Joey. However, Ben seems to think it will be fine and it is, until Josh discovers a site of horror a small distance from the cabin.

Burkett Isle is a dark and intriguing tale. The focus of the plot is the sadistic dimension of a killer’s psyche. The story is a fascinating example of how true personalities can be hidden behind a façade to match what is considered standard behavior by the majority. It also creates the question of how well do we truly know another person? The setting is a privately owned secluded island. The characters are believable. Because of issues in his past, Ben has problems exhibiting commitment, although he shows jealousy at the least provocation. Josh is in love with Ben and afraid of losing him. Joey regrets breaking up with Josh but accepts Ben because the three men have been friends since childhood. After the horrible discovery, each man becomes suspicious of each other and even more afraid the killer or killers is out there waiting. Mychael Black and Shayne Carmichael deliver an amazing thriller that I greatly enjoyed.

7


Title: 7
Author: Mychael Black and Shayne Carmichael
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370- 871-5
Genre: {M/M} Erotic, Anthology
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Unheeded Warnings - 5 Nymphs - teaches a young vampire that his sire knows best after he tangles with some slayers.

Nameless - 4.5 Nymphs - takes you into a world of the Dark Fae and Sprites. Where slaves hide what they are and death sentences can be handed out based on your sexuality.

Unrequited - 4.5 Nymphs - takes you back to the Romanorum Court of Mael Black. Old jealousies make themselves known and love blooms once old jealousies are set aside.

Inside the Stone - (4.5 Nymphs) - brings the God of the Hunt to life after a young man discovers a family secret is true and must make a choice.

7 brings the virtues and sins to life in these stories in some very interesting ways. From the aftermath of war to a world where humans are second class citizens, and worlds where demons, ghosts and angels are common, I found these vignettes enjoyable. There were quite a few of these stories that I would have liked to learn a lot more about the society and the relationships between the characters. The passion and insecurity that most of the characters display will spark your imagination and feelings of being drawn into the story. This is one of the few books I have read by Mychael Black and Shayne Carmichael and it will definitely not be the last.

Last Call


Title: Last Call
Author: D.J. Manly
Publisher: eXtasty Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.net/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-461-3
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Cowboys
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Patrick and Josh have been friends for some time now and while Patrick’s life has been an open book, he knows nothing about Josh’s family. All that changes when the two go back to Wyoming for the summer.

While Dakota’s life didn’t turn out the way he planned, he has made peace with the changes he was forced to make. Now the one-time-teacher-turned-rancher is hoping to strengthen the bonds with his son when he returns home for the summer. Although he knows Josh is bringing a friend with him, he is unprepared for the feelings Patrick brings forth.

When fans of author D.J. Manly buy one of his stories, they know to expect a story full of intense passion and angst. Last Call, the author’s latest release, will not disappoint. Readers will feel the chemistry between Patrick and Dakota from the very beginning. While the readers know these two are meant for each other, the characters do not and their relationship is not a smooth one. The age difference between the two men becomes a point that may just keep them apart, as well as some events in Dakota’s past. At times heart-wrenching, this story has become my favorite Manly story to date. Kudos should also go out to Martine Jardin for an absolutely gorgeous cover that is sure to grab the reader’s attention as they browse for something to read.

His Wolf Heart


Title: His Wolf Heart
Author: Lila Dubois
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 13: 978-1-60272-629-1
Genre: {M/M} Werewolf / Shapeshifter
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Micah Heiney receives a text message from the youngest daughter of the pack Alpha informing him that her brother James has come home. James Farrant is the oldest and left the pack ten years ago. During their brief meeting before James left, Micah developed a crush on James. Nowadays, Micah is a Guardian, a pack member who will never be part of a breeding pair or head his own pack because he is gay. Meeting James again, Micah realizes that the crush is still there and what surprises Micah even more is to discover James is attracted to him also.

His Wolf Heart is a wonderfully romantic tale of two men finding love and understanding together. The well crafted storyline is set in Los Angeles, highlighting the lack of gay rights among werewolves, as well as humans. The characters are believable. Micah accepts his situation as part of life, his center of attention is being part of a family instead of being alone. James rejects the pack laws governing his sexuality, as well as limiting his options on how he should live. James’s return conveys a better understanding on why he left the pack. His family, as well as Micah, is amazed with James’s intellect and fervent viewpoint. The interaction between the characters is realistic with a good emotional balance. This is an outstanding saga that I enjoyed and hope to see more of in the future.

Savage Lust


Title: Savage Lust
Author: Gabriella Bradley
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-450-7
Genre: {M/F} Het Menáge Quatre, Holiday, Cowboys
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Chad, Sam and Johnny are stunned when they discover their father left the majority of his estate to Topaz. They just know she is their father’s mistress and they are not going to stand for it. They inform the attorney that he is to file the necessary documents to contest the will.

Topaz is absolutely stunned when she finds out about the will. She had no idea about the other life the man her mother had loved. Topaz is battling the brothers’ anger, as well as kidnapping and murder plots, as she tries to make sense of the feelings she is starting to have for the three men.

The author does not take long to make you feel like you are a part of Savage Lust. The emotions that the four have are so intense, you think you are right there as they let their feelings out. There are some elements of the paranormal included as Chad ends up talking to his father. I found it very unusual for a story about multiple partners to only hint at and did not have many sex scenes until the last part of the book.

The main secondary characters are just as interesting. One suggests the solution that Topaz eventually approaches the three men with as she falls in love with all of them. Those that like ménage and more will enjoy this one and is one to be reread.

Monday, January 25, 2010

Reining in the Past


Title: Reining in the Past
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419925122
Genre: [M/M] Western Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

As an only child and with both of his parents dead, Ray Justice leads a lonely but busy life as an award-winning advertising executive. One day he receives a phone call that rocks his world and changes his life forever. The father, who he thought had died twenty-three years ago, hadn’t; in fact, he’s only died a few days ago. Ray doesn’t know why his mother lied to him all his life. Then he has another shock. He’s inherited a large cattle ranch in Montana that’s been in his family for generations.

Alfred Deacon was best friends with Ray’s father for years, and like almost everyone else, didn’t know of Ray’s existence. He came to the ranch as a young, emotionally and physically wounded man and found a home and family. Despite his love for his old friend, when Alfred comes face to face with Ray, his loyalties shift. His growing feelings for the younger man makes him determined to hide newly revealed painful truths that could destroy Ray and drive them apart forever.

Reining in the Past is the first release in Carol Lynne’s new series Saddle Up and Ride. Once again she’s created a well-written story with likeable characters and a believable, realistic premise. I liked the beginning in particular and she handled Ray’s surprise at learning his father hadn’t died when he was a child and his mother’s deceptions very nicely. These scenes showed his pain, disappointment and anger, without him appearing bitter or mean spirited.

I like Ray and Alfred is a great compliment to him, both physically and emotionally. They make a great team and have the welfare of the ranch and the men who work on it as a common goal. It was nice seeing that they were both devoted to making the ranch work…for it to be financially viable and able to survive into the future.

I must say I was surprised by some of the background information about Ray’s father and his anger toward the son he didn’t know. Ms. Lynne’s handling of this portion of the story was very nicely done, as was Alfred’s shift in loyalty to Ray. These two passionately in love men are perfect for each other. I’m anxious to see what will happen to the ranch and the men who work on it in the next release, Bareback Cowboy. Read and enjoy.

As the Crow Flies


Title: As the Crow Flies
Author: Jade Buchanan
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-275-3
Genre: {M/M/M} Ménage, Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Oliver Philip and his co-worker Jack arrive at Crowfoot Resort and Ski Hill in Alberta to carry out a safety audit. Upon their arrival, Oliver notices the large crows that seem to be watching him. Later that day, the crows reveal their true identity, in addition to warning Oliver of the danger that is still lurking surrounding his lovers, Bay and Marsh. The next day, Oliver receives a phone call from his lover Marsh telling him that Bay is missing.

As the Crow Flies is book three in the Horsfall series. Oliver, Bay and Marsh have settled into a happy and loving life together at the ranch. Their issues have been worked out and they now have a comfortable relationship. The plot is intriguing, as well as well paced. The characters are lovable with a dash of humor. Bay is a reasonable man with the ability to calm both Marsh and Oliver. Oliver is in the middle, he adds a sense of balance to the relationship. Marsh has a quick temper; he requires time to work off his anger and fears, yet he will listen to reason. The setting gives a descriptive visual to the reader. Jade Buchanan delivers another wonderful episode to this series. I thoroughly enjoyed As the Crow Flies.

Maggie’s Ménage


Title: Maggie’s Ménage
Author: Lacey Thorn
Publisher: Total E Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-1-907280-84-9 (Audio)
Genre: {M/M/F} Contemporary Erotica
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Cipher Prose Nymph

Maggie has spent her entire life trying to earn her father’s attention. Finally, a degrading demand from him opens her eyes to the fact that his company means more to him than she.

Alex and Patrick have been friends for a long time. Now PI’s, they are on a case to investigate the notorious Dom Houston.

A case of mistaken identity leads Maggie, Alex and Patrick not only to a heated encounter but to an unexpected outcome, as well.

Maggie’s Ménage was my first experience with an audio book. I found the narrator’s voice to be clear, concise and easy to understand. It went along at a nice pace, not too slow or too fast. I was able to multitask as I listened to the story quite easily. The only con I found with the audio format was that I couldn’t figure out a way to return to a certain point in the story if I had to stop it.

Overall, I enjoyed Maggie’s Ménage. The characters were well written and developed; the storyline was adequately descriptive for a short story and the ultimate outcome caught me a little by surprise—which is always a plus. The sex scenes were hot and brought out their individual feelings nicely.

I would recommend Maggie’s Ménage to anyone who likes a spicy ménage read with a happy ending.

Love Me Dead


Title: Love Me Dead
Author: William Maltese, Lex Valentine, AM Riley
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-068-9
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Anthology
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Ghost Hunters – Long Beach - AM Riley - 4 Nymphs
Frequent visitors to the Queen Mary Hotel, Rick and James are familiar to the hotel staff. Hunting ghost for years, Rick is still hoping to record a sighting. James does not believe in ghost; he is hoping to become more than best friends with Rick. Standing by to declare his feelings to Rick, a series of events has James asking the question “Can ghosts influence the living?”

Rousing Caine - Lex Valentine - 5 Nymphs
Jason Rockham is the owner of a successful restaurant. However, he is not happy. Jason has been emotionally abused and lost his trust in humanity until he meets Caine at Jason’s family home in Pebble Beach, California. Caine is an exquisite lover that not only makes Jason happy but helps restore Jason’s faith in the power of love.

The Day They Closed The Iguana - AM Riley - 5 Nymphs
Bill Miller, owner of the Iguana Theater and part time actor, lives with the regret of a love that can never be returned and the” what if” questions for years. However, change comes in the form of an offer from the city to buy Bill and the other store owners out before the buildings are torn down. While pondering the city’s offer, Bill meets Frank Connor, a rancher from Montana and the magnetism between them is undeniable. In the midst of the two offers open to him, Bill decides it is time to move on.

Black Candle Reader - William Maltese - 5 Nymphs
Jeremy Taig and his roommate are prostitutes employed by Penningdale Escort Agency. Jeremy caters to clients who are voyeurs, while his roommate caters to clients desiring physical contact. It is the unnamed roommate who narrates his story, giving details of his clients and how they play a role in his fascinating voyage into the dark world of ghosts and of course, there is a love interest too.

Love Me Dead is a collection of captivating ghost stories by three amazing authors. William Maltese illustrates the dangerous side of a hustler’s life interwoven with how psychic utilize candles. Lex Valentine delivers a distinctive and very steamy romance. AM Riley creates two touching tales with a dash of humor. Overall, each story integrates enticing plots which are well paced. The settings are ample and the characters are complete with emotional, as well as sexual, appeal. I thoroughly enjoyed Love Me Dead.

Little Red and the Wolf


Title: Little Red and the Wolf
Author: Alison Paige
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-902-1
Genre: [M/F] Contemporary Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Life isn’t easy for Maizie Hood. Her beloved grandmother Ester’s health is failing and the expenses of keeping her in a nice nursing facility are just about to break Maizie financially. Add in a struggling bakery and an inability to get a personal loan, and she’s almost at her wits end. Money has gotten so tight, she’s actually thinking of selling her grandmother’s cottage and land it sits on, to stay afloat. She doesn’t need complications, even if they come in the form of a handsome wolf in a businessman’s Armani suit.

Gray Lupo’s been friends with Ester Hood for years. In fact, she’s one of only a handful of humans who knows his secret…he’s the Alpha male of the local werewolf pack. Together, the two old friends have safeguarded Gray’s forest land and kept Maize safe and ignorant of his identity. He’s struggled against his attraction to the gorgeous red-head for years and even knowing her parents unwitting killed his wife, can’t keep him away from her.

Life changes for both Maize and Gray when she’s attacked by a real wolf while wandering through the forest. The virus that infects her alters her body in ways she never imagined. It also forces Gray’s hand, making him realize how much he wants Maizie…his mate, in his life.

Little Red and the Wolf is the newest release by multi-published author Alison Paige. As the cute title suggests, there’s a wolf involved…a werewolf, that is. To make the story hook even more, it has a nice twist with the redheaded female lead with the last name of Hood, just like Little Red Riding Hood in the classic children’s story.

Alison Paige isn’t an author I’d read prior to this release, so I wasn’t certain what to expect but she managed to pull me into the story from the first pages. I loved the rapport between Maizie and her elderly grandmother, Ester. The descriptions of their love, devotion and loyalty were nicely done, making me feel how important they were to each other. I also enjoyed the few scenes that took place in the bakery…those left me with a few chuckles.

Gray is a skilled businessman; a great character and a true Alpha, in every sense of the word. What did surprise me was how initially his family…his pack, often disregarded his wishes and orders. It’s just not usual in a shapeshifter genre book; it took me by surprise and made me wonder a little about his leadership ability. That is, until Maizie comes into his life as more than a passing acquaintance. Once he can’t deny that she’s his mate, he changes…becomes more determined and dominant, at least that’s how it appeared to me.

Maizie’s a force to be reckoned with, in her own right. She’s independent, determined, strong-willed, brave, loyal and doesn’t allow anyone to bully her. And despite the fact she and Gray fight their attraction to each from the beginning, they’re perfect for each other…and the sex…get a fan, because it’s sizzling hot and intense.

In The Dark


Title: In The Dark
Author: PG Forte
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-695-2
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal/Vampire
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Twelve hundred year old Master Vampire Conrad Quintano has lived centuries without a mate and he has become very distrustful of others, through trial and error. He meets Desert Rose at one of his house parties and decides she will be his next long-term blood donor. His life has not been easy and the responsibility only gets greater as Conrad tries to find some peace in her arms.

Suzanne Fisher, known as Desert Rose to the Vampire world, finds herself falling in love with Conrad right away. That is until she sees him for who he really is, a vampire monster, and she runs off, afraid to face him. Once she makes up her mind to accept him, and wanting him to turn her, there is nothing that will stand in her way to achieve that goal. Except Conrad is not cooperating with her and she has another issue as well. The birth of her twins during her time away from him only complicates their situation.

In The Dark is a story that jumps from the past to the future and features a Master Vampire that does what no other of his sect will do. When the twins become involved with looking for their missing grandfather, things take a turn for the better and/or worse. I was very surprised by Conrad’s actions throughout the book, and found myself wanting to knock some sense into him, at times, for his treatment of some of his vampire children.

P.G. Forte created a story that was a little difficult to read and there was a little too much jumping to and fro with the telling of the past/future. The secondary characters really added to the plot more than I thought they would and made my reading more enjoyable at times. I am hoping that in the next book, the story will center more on the twins, as they are an interesting pair who have not really experienced life as a vampire. This is the first time I have read anything from this author, and wonder where P.G. will go from here.

Masked


Title: Masked
Author: Sophia Titheniel
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-271-5
Genre: {M/M} Urban Fantasy
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Damon and Alyan have been working so hard at Damon’s club that it has taken a toll on their relationship. Both fear they are drifting away from each other. Also worried about them is Alyan’s sister, Meredith, who offers to oversee the upcoming celebration so that Damon and Alyan can spend some quality time together. Alyan has plans to set fire to Damon’s libido and recruits the help of their friends, Jesse and Alagos. Although they are willing to be of assistance, Alagos and Jesse soon discovered that even the best intentions can open the door for uncertainties to come in.

Masked is the third book in the Damon’s series. This is a realistic plot illustrating the doubts and fears of sustaining a healthy relationship. The characters are developed and display the emotional aspects of couples in love. All the characters exhibit the easy interactions of friends. The intimate scenes are very detailed. I enjoyed this episode immensely.

Asher and the Elevator Romp


Title: Asher and the Elevator Romp
Author: Zoe Nichols
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

The plan had been to have an alcohol fuelled evening of fun but with Asher’s skin tight skirt and hot heels leaving little to the imagination, Derek’s having second thoughts about going to the party. They get as far as the elevator before the teasing and lusting begins. Asher’s just too tempting for Derek and when that familiar look falls over Derek’s handsome features, Asher knows he’s going to get what he wants. Luckily for Derek, Asher’s going to give just as much in return.

It doesn’t take long to establish that Asher is an extravagant, extroverted character but he doesn’t come across as arrogant or annoying. If fact, I can’t help but wonder if there’s more to meet the eye to this interesting character. I am also quite intrigued by Derek; his controlled, strong and sexual demeanor makes him attractive but I get the sense that I have only just scratched the surface of who he is. As a peak into the electricity between two highly sexed, passionate men, I enjoyed reading this story but was left wanting more. I get the feeling that I have been teased about what is still to come in the Asher series so if you like hard, hot action with more than a hint of danger between two men who instantly capture your complete attention and leave you begging for more, I recommend Asher and the Elevator Romp.

Authors, HELP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

My computer ended up with some viruses and I lost about 2.5 months of email to reviews@literarynymphs.com and irishminx@literarynymphs.com .

If you sent a review request since November 3, 2009 and have not received a review, please resubmit your request, if you are still interested.

My apologies and Thanks much!


Pam