Saturday, April 2, 2011

Talson’s Wait


Title: Talson’s Wait
Author: Marie Harte
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave Publisher
URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419933615
Genre: {M/F} Futuristic, Sci-Fi
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

After a year of being forced to work off her debt at Talson Shipping, Jami Kendrik was no closer to understanding her boss. The man was practically a slave driver, but he treated every employee fairly. Well, every employee except for her. Because of this, Jami was constantly torn between wanting to tell the man off and wanting to act out her sexual fantasies about him on his desk. When the sexy dictator discovered what she’d done, Jami had no choice but to make a run for it. One more strike couldn’t matter, considering she was already in over her head.

Roarke Talson wasn’t as immune to Jami as he pretended. From the moment he spotted her in debtor’s hell, he was determined to have her in his bed. At first, he’d been disappointed in her for landing herself in such a bad situation. Once he got to know her, Roarke realized Jami was the perfect woman for him. He’d finally met a woman who would not only accept him and his unusual abilities, but could also capture his heart. Now that Jami had violated her contract, Roarke wasn’t going to pass up his window of opportunity. The feisty redhead could run, but she couldn’t hide.

The short and sensuous chase ends with a bang that will leave readers panting. Marie Harte did a beautiful job of making me feel the sexual tension between Roarke and Jami from the very first page. The forbidden relationship between a boss and employee is such a recycled plot that it can easily become dull and predictable, but that isn’t the case with this spicy story. Talson’s Wait is the first story of the Talson Temptations series and it left me dying to read more. My favorite scene was when Roarke showed up at Jami’s home. It was one of the most fun and flirtatious escapes I have read in a while. I loved the fact that Jami got the upper hand but Roarke still won in the end. It wasn’t what I expected and I welcomed all the sexy surprises. The fact that Roarke is more than human adds a twist that will leave readers dying for an employer like him. Readers are going to eat this story up like candy, just as I did.

Hard as a Rock



Title: Hard as a Rock
Author: Lorne Rodman
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61040-175-3
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Demon Tony is mirror scrying while his lover, demon hunter Salter is looking intently over Tony’s shoulder. Tony and Salter are still after the infamous demon called the Tail, only this time they must beat Tail to the aquamarine containing a chaos demon known as Gralion.

Hard as a Rock is a fantastic follow up story to Chasing Tail. The exciting plot is action packed with an intense demon mêlée. The characters are convincing, as well as humorous. The intimate scenes are steamy. Tony is a traditional demon; his job on earth was to lead humans to sin. Of course that was before he started working with Salter three months ago. Always style conscious, Tony wears designer jeans and a fedora to hide his horns. Ever mindful of his employer, Tony’s cell phone has a direct line to hell, which comes in handy when assistance from below is needed.

A loner before meeting Tony, Salter is dedicated to ridding the world of all demons, with the exception of Tony. Salter has decreed to be Tony’s defender, as well as Tony’s lover. Opposite in a number of their personality traits, Salter and Tony work well together and truly care about each other. Lorne Rodman has created an amazing saga that I thoroughly enjoyed.

A Hunter’s Desires


Title: A Hunter’s Desires
Author: Stormy Glenn
Publisher: Siren-BookStrand Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-363-8
Genre: {M/M/M} Contemporary Shape-shifter
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

When rumors began circulating of a pack made up entirely of tri-omegas, Nikolai Miroslav is sent off to Russia by his Alpha to investigate. He’s in the area for several weeks and hasn’t come up with any leads but does find Vasiliy Federov, a sexy smelling man who he immediately agrees to spend the night with. Their night of passion doesn’t turn out as Niko expects when he’s told the next morning their lives are in danger and they need to leave the area. He gets the biggest shock of all when he learns that sometime during their wild night of passion, he and Vasiliy were mated.

As much as Niko doesn’t want to believe it’s true, which become obvious when Vasiliy’s house is attacked by hunter Serge Dmitriev, and Niko suddenly finds himself with another mate who doesn’t know he’s a wolf. Niko never wanted a mate, much less two. Now he also has to deal with a basement full of Tri-omegas on the run, a band of hunters bent on exterminating all wolves and a Beta who’s trying to kill him. If the three men have any hope of surviving, they must accept their mating bond and learn to trust each other. Otherwise it might mean the death of them all.

A Hunter’s Desires is the sixth and latest release in Stormy Glenn’s Tri-Omega Mates series and she’s definitely outdone herself. It’s the best one yet. Please be aware that due to the interlocking nature of the plotline and characters, I recommend that the books be read in sequential order.

This is a great addition to this family of books and I’ve been waiting for this one for a while…ever since I saw the first except on one of the email lists. The first tease looked intriguing and I have to say after reading the entire book, I wasn’t disappointed. In fact, it’s much longer than normal, allowing for a deeper and richer plot than the previous books in the series, which gave the author the opportunity to flesh out the details about the tri-omegas, hunters, the wolf council and some of its politics. For me at least, these details are important as it expands the world in which the characters live, allowing me to become better acquainted with them. Good job. Ms. Glenn.

Another feature I appreciated was that the Omega in this trio, Serge, wasn’t a small guy like in the other books. It showed that not all Omegas were physically incapable of taking care of themselves but capable of kicking butt, just like their mates. Together Niko, Vasiliy and Serge are stronger than apart and in bed, they are sizzling hot. Add in characters from previous releases and a few new ones that I’m certain we’ll see in the future and you have everything needed for another keeper book in a keeper series. I’m definitely looking forward to the next release.

Thursday, March 31, 2011

Her Captive Muse

Title: Her Captive Muse
Author: Indigo Skye
Publisher: Noble Romance Publishing
Publisher URL: www.nobleromance.com
ISBN: 978-1-60592-238-6
Genre: {M/F} {M/M} BDSM
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rogue Satyr

Brendan is a young, down on his luck, street punk with a habit. He answers a newspaper ad for a model to get some cash to feed his addiction. Morgan, a rich and famous artist, sees something she likes in Brendan. She gives him more money than promised, telling him she knows what it is like to be down on your luck. She also invites him into the main part of her house so he can warm up after being naked in her cold studio for hours. She gives him the first real meal he’s had in weeks. One thing leads to another and they find themselves in each other’s arms in her nice warm bed having sex. Has Brendan finally found what he is searching for? Can both of them keep their dark pasts from ruining things? Does Morgan want Brendan as a lover or just as her latest muse to help her painting?

Her Captive Muse is well written and has very complicated and believable characters. There are some very sweet scenes showing this. Early in the book, after their first sexual encounter, Morgan wakes up to find Brendan gone. She starts crying uncontrollably, thinking another man has taken advantage of her. She walks into the kitchen after smelling burning eggs. Brendan is there trying to make her breakfast in bed. She starts crying even harder.

She loves tying beautiful young men up in her bed, playing with them, sometimes using a riding crop, and then getting the canvases out and start painting them, leaving them helplessly chained until she is finished.

I liked Brendan a lot, a stray who is trying to survive his drug abuse and just wishes he can keep on the straight and narrow. I liked Morgan at first, but she becomes so unpredictable I began to wonder about her sanity. The sweet scenes at the start of the book are slowly replaced by darker more sinister scenes. The story finally takes a direction I wasn’t expecting, down a dark and depressing path.

This is really a book of how an artist can end up loving their art more than they can any person, even themselves. Art has consumed Morgan and causes her to try and do the same to Brendan, even though she loves him. Morgan is as much an addict to her art as Brendan is to drugs. Brendan sees what is going on, and despite his love for her, is sick of her mind games and tries to leave. However, he keeps returning to Morgan, like his mother did to his abusive father.

I like Her Captive Muse, but it is dark and slightly depressing. It says some unpleasant things about art and artists. It is full of heavy drug use that many might find objectionable. It has a scene with some light M/M elements. There is also violence and a big reveal that may upset many. Those wanting a happily ever after ending need to look elsewhere.

I also have to comment on the cover. Artist Fiona Jayde has done an amazing job, and has to be commended on a fantastic piece of art.

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Camwolf


Title: Camwolf
Author: J. L. Merrow
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-60928-456-5
Genre: {M/M}, Shape-shifter
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Publication date: May 17th, 2011

Nick didn’t want to be a werewolf. Hell, he didn’t even knew they existed until his ex- boyfriend bite him. However, now that Nick is a werewolf, he’s having trouble controlling some of his feelings. Rather than hurting anyone, he’s decided to keep to himself, that is until young Julian comes along.

Camwolf starts off a little dry, but give the book a chance as it picks up fast. In fact, I would recommend not starting this book at night unless you want to stay up late since this book will keep you turning the pages. The characters are interesting; Nick is struggling with being a werewolf, something that occurred without his approval. Julian is a first year student that grabs Nick’s attention. The chemistry between them is intense from the beginning but due to Nick’s ignorance of his new condition, the two have trouble getting together. Julian does not make it easy on the man, either, as he is bound and determined to get his man. Yet, Julian is keeping secrets that come back to cause trouble for the two men.

There are more than a few twists and turns in this story that keep it very entertaining. There are, in my opinion, a few unanswered questions that make me wonder if the author has plans for a follow-up. There was one thing that drove me crazy, however, and that was Nick’s age. While I have no problems with May/December relationships - in fact these stories can be quite fun - there was never any clear understanding of how much older Nick was, even though the difference in their ages was stressed more than once.

Camwolf was a very interesting story, one that I strongly recommend, and plan on reading again.

Undercover Nights


Title: Undercover Nights
Author: Patricia Logan
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-177-7
Genre: {M/M} Mystery BDSM
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Physical therapist Gage Neary‘s practice in Westburg, Texas is primarily sports medicine rehab. However, Gage has a few patients - both young and old - from all walks of life. Gage is content with his life until he finds out that his live-in boyfriend is cheating plus Gage becomes the prime suspect in a FBI investigation after one of his senior citizen patients dies under suspicious circumstances. FBI agent Cody Redsun is assigned to investigate the crimes. Cody and Gage have an instant mutual attraction, which leads to a whole new level of problems for both men.

Undercover Nights is the follow-up to Leather Nights. The plot is interesting, though somewhat repetitive in information. The intimacy is sensual. The characters are mostly believable. Gage has a passive personality, effortlessly manipulated by sexual offers from his violent boyfriend. He enjoys his work, as well as people in general. Nevertheless, Gage seems to be easily swayed by a pretty face in addition to being a poor judge of character when it comes to boyfriend material.

Abused as a child, Cody suffers from low self esteem. In Cody’s mind, he’s not good enough to deserve true happiness; even though Cody could not deny his feelings for Gage. There is a segment of BDSM in the story. Since I am not a fan of this particular subject and the excerpt did not list the entire possible genre, the enjoyment of the story was diminished for me. Taken as a whole, Patricia Logan’s Undercover Nights suspense concept is enjoyable.

Camille’s Capture


Title: Camille’s Capture
Author: Evanne Lorraine
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-964-5
Genre: {M/M/F} {M/M} Multicultural, Science Fiction, Fantasy, Space Opera
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rogue Satyr

Camille is a genetically engineered breeder. Jaxon is a hot-shot space pilot. Aegis is an alien with magical skills, bent on avenging his parents’ murder. Jaxon is secretly in love with Aegis and fantasizes about ‘tri-bonding’ with him and some faceless fantasy woman, even though male/male relations are forbidden by the New Eden Space Corps. Aegis has maintained his glamour as a human for years because humans see his race as ‘demons’. Even Jaxon has no idea of Aegis’ true nature. Cami desperately wants to breed since 12 tries at artificial insemination has failed. Too bad she skipped the ‘personal insemination’ classes and doesn’t understand how to breed the old fashioned way. Can all three fulfill their personal agendas, and hide their secrets, while they are confined together on Aegis and Jaxon’s small fighter ship? And what about the intergalactic wars and political intrigue raging and swirling about them?

Camille’s Capture is simply a joy to read. Although each chapter is written in a different style, the style of the character whose point of view it is, it flows wonderfully. Almost poetic at times, the narrative still avoids purple prose. This style makes the plot easy to follow and moves along deftly. Despite the different perspectives, the story never seems choppy. Despite being a breeder, Cami’s dialogue and narrative shows her to be a sheltered, naïve and cloistered sister of a religion. Aegis thinks rationally and not having the language the humans speak as his first language, speaks precisely, like a language textbook. Jaxon’s dialogue and thoughts reminded me of the way a 1930s barnstormer or a World War II fighter pilot would speak, with some 21st century modern slang and science fiction techno-babble thrown in for good measure.

I immediately fell in love with all three characters and cared deeply for them. The author is as good at writing space dogfights and firefights as she is at sex scenes and angst-ridden conversations. There is also plenty of humor and enough misunderstandings worthy of a Shakespearean comedy. The high tech and magic combination was also put together seamlessly and believably. And we are never allowed to forget that there is an entire universe outside the characters’ world, giving a vast, galactic feel worthy of golden age space operas. A minor warning- Aegis is not human and some readers may be put off by cross-species sex. My opinion is that not only was it handled in a sensitive manner; it was also erotic. The other characters don’t think he is that far from human and find him sexy.

There are several little things that are not explained to my satisfaction, but these are minor quibbles. I loved Camille’s Capture and I hope we see Cami, Jaxon, and Aegis again.