Saturday, November 8, 2008

Unjustly Accused


Book Title: Unjustly Accused
Author: Shayne Carmichael
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59426-659-1
Genre: Historical M/M erotic romance
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Werefox Kenneth Hawkins never expected being a bank clerk could be so dangerous. Outlaws aren’t as treacherous as the embezzling bank owner, who shoots Kenny with a silver bullet. Wounded and in need of a safe hideout to heal from the poisonous affects of the gunshot, Kenny travels to the caves near Crystal Springs. He grew up in that area and there is only one other person who knows the caves as well as he does, Nigel Garrett.

Sheriff Nigel Garrett has come a long way since Kenny left their hometown. He remembers the lazy summer days, and the attraction he couldn’t shake for his next-door neighbor. When news reaches him that Kenny has committed a crime, every bone in Nigel’s body rejects the inclination. After coming face-to-face with the man of his dreams, he realizes he cannot let Kenny go again. Will the twosome find a way to clear Kenny’s name and share a life together?

Shayne Carmichael pulled all my fantasies together in one explosive story when he wrote Unjustly Accused. I got a taste of my ‘were’ fantasy, my sheriff fantasy, and my hot passionate male loving fantasy all wrapped up in a western to boot. Kenny shows his flexibility, when he allows Nigel to dominate their bed play, but demonstrates his dominance in a later battle. Nigel is the kind of friend you would always feel blessed to have on your side. He is strong, dependable, and protective of those he holds dear to his heart. There was never a dull moment in this story. If this is your introduction to Mr. Carmichael’s books, I see a great deal of previous released purchases in the near future.

Poison


Book Title: Poison
Author: Joely Skye
Publisher: Samhain
Publishers URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-59998-531-4
Genre: Gay-Lesbian Romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Critter Nymph

Tobias Smator is a socially insecure young man on the planet Rimania; a planet whose people are strongly divided by class. Tobias is quite happy being 4th in line as lord of his family. When his uncle dies, Tobias’ life begins to change in more ways than he could imagine. Geln Marac is a spy for the Alliance, who is sent in to check out the political situation on Rimania. Along the way, he runs into Tobias causing him to rethink some of his own beliefs.

While attending the funeral for his uncle, Tobias is accidentally poisoned. Unfortunately, for Tobias his cousin who was to become the next Smator lord has also been killed. This puts Tobias even closer to the lordship then he wants to be. Tobias is taken in for questioning where he finds out the authorities believe Geln, the young man who was with his mother and who had also saved his life is from the worker class. When Tobias returns home and sees Geln once again with his mother, he questions her interest in someone she would obviously find below her. At the same time, Tobias informs him that the authorities know he is a ‘worker‘. Knowing there is no way to keep from being caught, Geln takes an Alliance drug that will give him temporary amnesia. While Tobias works at trying to find out who has killed his uncle and cousin, Geln tries to finish his mission without being killed. Soon the two men are caught between those who wish to form associations with the Alliance for one reason or the other and those who wish to get rid of the elite. It is only after the aid of some unlikely helpers that the two men are able to stay together.

Joely Skye’s Poison is an excellent story full of political intrigue that keeps you guessing from one page to the other. While both Tobias and Geln have some glaring flaws, you can’t help but root for them. As a side note, Poison has very little sex in the story and what there is quite tame, making this an excellent first novel for those thinking of dipping their toes into the m/m waters.

Oh Yum! - Young Stud


Book Title: Oh Yum! - Young Stud
Author: Ruth D. Kerce
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.ellorascave.com/
ISBN: 9781419915390
Genre: Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Ryce Fielding is a former soldier turned internet entrepreneur, who has everything in his life falling into place except the relationship he wants with Kathryn MacMurray. With one bad marriage under her belt, Kate isn’t trying to complicate her life by starting a relationship. Unfortunately, Kate’s heart didn’t get the memo, because the divorcee is in love with her hot neighbor. The only obstacle standing in the way is her reluctance to overlook their age difference. When Ryce takes off the kid gloves and shows her his commanding side, Kate eagerly participates in a night of torrid sexual release. Will Kate recognize her second chance for happiness before it is too late?

Oh Yum! - Young Stud takes us into the life of a middle-aged divorcee who is starting over. Kate is beautiful, with a sharp mind and not afraid of hard work. She has a wonderful spirit that draws Ryce in. Ryce was physically attracted to Kate, but was ready for more after his feelings became apparent. Ruth D. Kerce has written a fantasy that wronged women will quickly identify with. That ex-husband was a piece of work that would lead to night in jail and the need of serious bail money. Thank goodness, Ryce was there to show Kate how a real man treats women. The characters are appealing, and this spicy short story is sure to have you reaching for a cold drink.

Dancing in the Dark


Book Title: Dancing in the Dark
Author: Jamie Hill
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-009-6
Genre: Contemporary Romance M/M
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Detective Nick D’Amato leaves the bar after having a drink with his friends and heads over to pick up his secret lover William. Nick is gay, so some things are best left undercover. Nick had never wanted a long term relationship until Will; now Nick is willing to do whatever it takes to have a commitment. The problem is that Will wants to continue having separate lives. Both men are stubborn and not willing to compromise until a serial killer changes their lives forever.

Dancing in the Dark is a walk on the dark side of life. Nick is part of the police force dealing with a growing number of dead bodies with few leads to the serial killer. Will gets caught in the middle of circumstances that could end his life. The talented Jamie Hill creates a story of romance and suspense that is both sensual and realistic. I thoroughly enjoyed this exciting dark tale.

Collared Hearts


Book Title: Collared Hearts
Authors: Angelia Sparrow and Naomi Brooks
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59426-923-3
Genre: Contemporary M/M erotic romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Anthony is a starving artist trying to get his big break. When the opportunity arrives, it comes from a small statue of a man. Gallery owner Josh stands no taller, but he can make a starving artist a very rich one. He doesn’t just want Anthony’s work hanging in his galleries; Josh wants the artist himself. Will Josh’s past put too many stipulations on what could be a passionate and loving relationship?

Angelia Sparrow and Naomi Brooks bring two opposites together in Collared Hearts. Anthony knows he is talented but the day-to-day grind of trying to survive in New York leaves him humble. Josh is from money but he has opted to make his own way in life. When the two met, Anthony knew just what he was getting into, but his heart still hurt knowing that Josh had hang ups. I didn’t like his treatment of the budding artist, but I couldn’t fault him if Anthony stuck around for it. On Valentine’s Day, the opportunity finally presented itself and Anthony helped Josh to escape his shell. I was fanning and smiling by the time the two lovers finished. I knew it would be incredible for both of them if just given the chance. Collared Hearts brings us a story about love painted, posed, and exposed.

Spirit Sanctuary


Book Title: Spirit Sanctuary
Author: Gabrina Garza
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher's URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-375-7
Genre: Gay / Contemporary / Cowboys
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph


Rebel Wirth is a Texas cowboy who runs the Spirit Sanctuary Ranch, a ranch that rehabilitates abused and neglected horses. On his first day of a much needed vacation, Rebel is thrown from his horse resulting in a badly broken ankle. Stranded without help, his only choice is to try to make his way to the road and hope to catch the attention of a passing motorist. Kai Phillips has been hired to temporarily fill in for Rebel while he is on vacation. The last place he expects to meet the man is on the side of some road.

Kai is on the way to his new job at Spirit Sanctuary when his truck is hit by a rock. When he gets out to investigate, he finds Rebel lying on the ground. After some minor misunderstanding, Kia notices that Rebel is in need of medical attention and takes the man to the ER. While there, the two men begin playing a game of ‘is he or isn’t he’ that continues all the way back to the ranch. Once these two decide to make their interests known, there’s no going back.

Spirit Sanctuary by Gabrina Garza was a very enjoyable read. Although it is a short story, the author was able to make the characters in the book very realistic. Sprit Sanctuary flows smoothly leaving the reader with the feeling that the story of these two men is just starting.

Reckless Seduction


Book Title: Reckless Seduction
Author: Amanda Young
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-793-1
Genre: LGBT Erotic Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Caen Nymph


It’s Halloween night and Cody wants to go to the biggest bash ever. Sadly for him the club he wants to go to is owned by his uncle, and there is no way he’s letting his nineteen year old nephew into one of the hottest clubs around. So when an invite literally falls into Cody’s lap, he dresses up and heads to his uncle’s club. What he doesn’t expect to find Dante Santiago, his uncle’s friend and business partner, coming onto him. Luckily for Cody, this is the man he’s been wanting all along. But will Dante want him when the mask comes off?

The author really gets me with her novellas, they’re always my cup of tea and she gets the job done without dragging the story on. The prose is tight and well fleshed out. It’s simple but direct and that’s what I like. The characters were endearing and it was the typical Alpha male and his ‘spitfire twink’, but it’s a combination that I enjoy from time to time. Reckless Seduction is a sexy story indeed; the sex in this story is both vivid and sweet, but it is more than that. The author delivers a message throughout this story, which was about allowing people to grow up and make their own decisions and mistakes. I enjoyed this tale very much, and it was a great read for a cold Halloween night.

Friday, November 7, 2008

The Consolation Prize


Book Title: The Consolation Prize
Author: Barbara Elsborg
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-749-8
Genre: Vampire Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Luka is a descendent of the original vampire family, better known as a Trueblood…and one of the few vampires still able to procreate. In order to hide what he is, he hides in plain sight. As the owner/operator of a gay nightclub, he pretends to be a gay in order to avoid sex with female vampires and the threat of death if he has a child. That doesn’t stop someone from discovering his true identity, or prevent him from being kidnapped in order to get his fertile sperm. It also doesn’t stop him from being strung up in chains, or tortured for what he won’t willingly give…his seed/ his child.

Chloe is a young marketing executive who wins a consolation prize to Sunset Spa, after her well-deserved promotion is given to a man in her department, her ex-boyfriend. It’s not long before she discovers that this high-priced, exclusive spa is located in her childhood home at Washburn Hall, a place where everyone in her family, except her, was killed in a boiler explosion. There are too many strange things going on to make her comfortable, and it only gets worse when she finds that the spa is dead during the daytime hours, because all the clients are vampires. Things change from strange to bizarre when she starts exploring the secret passages of her childhood home and finds a gorgeous, naked man chained to the wall.

The Consolation Prize is a dark and creative look into the world of vampires and humans. Ms. Elsborg’s unique plot twist at making our hero Luka, a trueblood vampire, caught my attention from the beginning and left me wondering what was going to happen next as I read further into her well-written tale. There’s plenty to keep your interest as Luka and Chloe fight their way to love and happiness; a kidnapping, violence with scenes of torture, the rape of Luka, a frightening escape, and a terrible misunderstanding that nearly destroys their relationship and almost ends Chloe’s life. This tale of love is not your typical story of wine, rose and good-times…no it’s a difficult journey of forgiveness, second chances and love everlasting if given half a chance. I could be wrong, but the ending left me feeling like we’d be seeing more of Luka, Chloe and their family in another story in the future.

Lover and Commander


Book Title: Lover and Commander
Author: Jez Morrow
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.ellorascave.com/
ISBN: 9781419918704
Genre: Gay / Futuristic
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Talon is one of the Kuryeen, a group of elite and proud beings. They considered themselves a step above the humans that were born from the same exploding star. When told he is under the command of a barbarian Earthbreed named Liam Grey, Talon cannot understand why he would need Liam at all. Surely, the other man is inferior.

Liam holds his boyish charms tight and refuses to let them go, but that doesn’t mean he’s not a fantastic pilot. His qualities are not those that the Kuryeen find pride in, but they still have the power to draw Talon to him. When the unspeakable happens, Talon would gladly choose death in lieu of losing his pride. Now will Liam will have to step up and show him the grass is greener on his side of the fence?

Lover and Commander takes us into closely shared quarters, battles out in space and two handsome straight pilots who take a direct flight into male loving. Talon never expected to find anything worthwhile in his commander. Liam is erratic, spontaneous, and infectiously irresistible. They mix like oil and water, but even that blend can make a perfect salad dressing with the right amount of ingredients to balance it all out. I felt sorry for Talon when he figured out what was happening. He is truly a man of honor and I could feel his shame. However, when Liam decided to fight the good fight, I settled into my comforter, knowing that Talon would find a better future than he could have imagined. Jez Morrow had written a story full of action and erotic encounters. She even appealed to my BSDM side with a bit of rope play.

The Keeper


Book Title: The Keeper
Author: Kalita Kasar
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-436-6
Genre: Gay Historical, BDSM
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Cobbler’s apprentice to a Quaker master, Thomas Williams has earned an evening out. His plans are to visit the coffee shop a short distance away but before he can reach the shop, Thomas is attacked by a group of boys and stolen away. Taken by carriage miles from London, Thomas is delivered to Leon Chambellan, a Frenchman known as the Keeper. Thomas soon learns that Leon panders young men to a select group of rich men who pay well for the games the Keeper provides. When Leon first meets Thomas, he can not resist keeping the beautiful young man for himself, which rouses the jealousy in his former bed partner Alex. Subjected to Leon’s gentle seduction, Thomas begins to submit, falling deeply in love with his new master.

The Keeper is a journey of discovery for both Thomas and Leon. Confused by his Quaker teachings and the sensual pleasures he feels with Leon, Thomas is distraught by his new life. Leon discovers that his feelings for Thomas are more than about business and that he will do anything to make Thomas happy. Kalita Kasar has created an interesting story that BDSM fans will enjoy.

Torrid Tarot - Sins of the Knight


Book Title: Torrid Tarot - Sins of the Knight
Author: Dawn Halliday
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.ellorascave.com/
ISBN: 9781419914607
Genre: Medieval
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


The death of Elena de Burgh’s abusive husband has caused her cousin, the King, to call her to court. She is to wed once more and hopes not to encounter another brute. Sent by the king to escort Elena, Stephen de Verre has not seen the woman he has fond feelings for in over six years. The mutual attraction stuns him, as well as his overwhelming connection to Elena. They know gaining the King’s blessing to marry will be an uphill battle, but the cards already proclaimed their match.

Dawn Halliday brings action, romance, and a wonderful sword fight in Torrid Tarot - Sins of the Knight. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story, set in medieval England. Eleana’s character tugged at my heart. She already suffered one horrible marriage, and was about to be put out to the wolves by her cousin. Stephen grew into a fine man and I knew he would give her the love she deserved, if given half a chance. The grandmother made me giggle, and had me wishing I had one who would point me in the right direction of my prince charming. There was never a dull moment in this story. Between the lovemaking, the plotting, and the fighting, I needed to catch my breath. If you enjoy stories about Knights, bossy King cousins, and grandmother’s who know how to work the Tarot cards, then you don’t want to miss Torrid Tarot - Sins of the Knight.

The Sound of Cicadas


Book Title: The Sound of Cicadas
Author: Tory Temple
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: Gay Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Caen Nymph

It’s been ten years and Jackson Wilcox is getting ready to go to his high school reunion. He’d rather not go and surround himself with people he never cared about. But he makes an appearance and so does an old friend. Kenny Desmond is back in town and things are about to get a whole lot complicated for Jackson.

I adore stories about second chances and old lovers once again reuniting, and this story brings that premise to perfection. The author does a wonderful job in bringing out her characters emotions. She does it so subtly and so wonderfully that it makes this story that much sweeter. Kenny and Jackson are lovely characters, both well-rounded and interesting. The Sound of Cicadas is a gorgeous story and one that should not be missed.

Lord Viper


Book Title: Lord Viper
Author: Ruth D. Kerce
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.ellorascave.com/
ISBN: 9781419915383
Genre: Vampire
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Lord Viper de L'Night is not a man who takes family lightly. He is duty bound to protect them, no matter the cost. The knowledge of his sister’s abduction leads Viper to the Toussaint Territory with high expectations of gaining back her freedom.

Viper’s allegations surprise Lady Dominique Toussaint. Surely, none in her nest would abduct his sister, but still there is a hint of truth in his claims. At least that’s what his eyes tell her. Dominique has never acted upon her attraction to Viper and she won’t bypass this rare opportunity. Her attempt to make him her sex slave has backfired and not only does Viper take the castle and Dominique, he performs the Ero-X on her, bonding them forever.

The two will have to join forces to discover what happened to his sister and why. Will these two leaders find a way to coexist by the time the dust settles?

Lord Viper is the first book of the Infernal Night series. Ruth D. Kerce’s characters are strong and fierce when it comes to protecting their loved ones. The story takes place in a castle equipped with secret passageways that definitely add a hint of mystery to the surroundings. Viper is a combination of good looks, intelligence, and determination. Dominique is a leader who is as kind as she is controlling. The men who are under her command know exactly who holds the power. Moreover, while they are both Alpha’s they both knew when to compromise. If you enjoy your vampire tales mixed with a bit of old world, then you will enjoy Lord Viper.

Opposing Forces


Book Title: Opposing Forces
Author: Adrianna Dane
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-275-0
Genre: Gay/Fantasy/Superheroes
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Paz Jones and Nikki Lozakis were once passionate lovers, working for the same laboratory. They were happy until an explosion claimed the lives of hundreds and changed the men forever. Years later, Paz emerges as Silverhawk, a defender of justice. Nikki has become Steele, a rogue set on destroying the scientist who created him, and took away the only man he ever loved.

The years apart have been rough on the two men, Nikki more so than Paz. Paz is fortunate enough to find love with Douglas Ashe, a brilliant young scientist. While Douglas does sooth some of Paz’s loneliness, the love for Nikki is still strong. It will take a relationship forged by the three to help find the harmony needed to heal. However, Douglas has a secret that could cause the other two men to turn their backs on him forever…

Adrianna Dane brings us love in superhero proportions in Opposing Forces. Douglas knew his past could be a deal breaker, but he loved Paz prior to the accident. Sent to help Paz heal, Douglas knew, no matter what, he would cherish his time with him. Nikki missed being physically whole as much as he missed Paz. Going through his ordeal alone caused him to lose focus and live in a painful existence set on inflicting revenge on the man who took away everything he held dear. In addition, Paz knew that life could not be the same if either his past or present lover decided they could not share him with the other. The characters pull you into the story. I felt their pain as easily as I could feel my own. I am sure there will be plenty of readers who will whole-heartedly wish for the technology Douglas invents to come into existence for men around the world. Opposing Forces is definitely an entertaining story you don’t want to miss.

Chasing Carolyn


Book Title: Chasing Carolyn
Author: Viola Grace
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-143-8
Genre: Fantasy/Paranormal/Shapeshifter/Elves/
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Carolyn Sumner moved back to the town she grew up in, putting her closer to a best friend. When two hot men started to constantly follow her around, trying to force her to choose between them, but she was not interested in either of them, only jogging.

Axom Adilik is an elf who changes into a werecat and has finally gotten his mate alone to himself. Now that he has invited Carolyn to Silverwood for a visit with her old friends, there is nothing he will not do to keep her.

Chasing Carolyn was a very intriguing story that continues the Sisters of Silverwood series. I found myself wondering what else Carolyn was able to do besides run fast and smell everything. It did not take long for the lovers to come together with an understanding and I thought they made a great couple. Again here Viola Grace has done a wonderful job of telling a story about elves and humans.

Frosted Hearts


Book Title: Frosted Hearts
Authors: Angelia Sparrow and Naomi Brooks
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59426-826-7
Genre: Contemporary M/M erotic romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Anthony and Josh are making the best out of a Christmas holiday riddled with trials. Between family members ranging from overprotective to obnoxious, car accidents and Christmas trees that missed their calling as Halloween decorations, they have more than enough happening to make the holidays less than boring. Nevertheless, their love will guide them through, and they will resurface more confident in their relationship.

Anthony reminds me that he is truly an artist in Frosted Hearts. He is a tad temperamental with a creative spirit capable of transforming trash into art. Josh has come to terms with his sexuality and refuses to push it back in the closet. His love for Anthony helped with his transformation and he is ready for a more permanent commitment. It’s nice to see characters with slightly dysfunctional families, having to take one for the team and share their holiday season with them. Definitely, an entertaining story that brings the warmth of love right to your doorstep.

Miss Me?


Book Title: Miss Me?
Author: Mel Spenser
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-392-5
Genre: Gay Contemporary Romance
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Nick Marshall is expecting a visit from his sister so he decides to check out some cookbooks at the library, located a few doors from his workplace. When Nick walks up to the counter for directions, it is the library manager Andy Griffin who helps him. The attraction between Nick and Andy is instant; after selecting the books, Nick invites Andy out to dinner. With the first kiss, both men acknowledged that there is something very special between them.

Miss Me? Is a sexy romance with a dash of suspense. Nick’s bad experiences in the past have educated him to limit his interactions to one night stands but with Andy, Nick soon realizes that once is not enough and with the strong desires they both have, love progresses with every date. Andy leads a quiet life and with a dangerous stalker lurking, he has learned to be very cautious of strangers and to employ protective measures for his safety. The talented Mel Spenser lures you into the dark twisted mind of a stalker, intermingled with the exciting romance of Nick and Andy and the sensual love scenes. The elements all merge together in a fantastic plot that I found thoroughly enjoyable.

Loving True


Book Title: Loving True
Author: Marie Rochelle
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59426-652-2
Genre: Contemporary Interracial
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph


True Williams couldn’t take life in Los Angeles after the scandal and embarrassment her ex-boyfriend brought to her life. She couldn’t even land a job in her field any more, so she decided to move to the boonies of Montana. Maybe there True would be able to regroup and work on getting her life back on track in peace. The last thing she expected was to be attracted to her arousing, but rude neighbor.

Hayward Campbell is a recluse who is trying to deal with his past. Being around people, especially women, was a painful reminder of the things that had gone wrong. Hayward had been so wrapped up in his own personal hell; he didn’t even notice that a new neighbor had moved in. He had high hopes that his neighbor would pack up and disappear like all the rest, until he actually laid eyes on her.

True and Hayward both deal with drama from their past, secrets, and unexpected attraction. Even though I understood his reasons, Hayward was like a bad massage and rubbed me the wrong way at first. His sour attitude toward True really made me angry, but once I glimpsed his heart, I loved him. That is the beauty of a Marie Rochelle character. She always knows how to project their internal anguish until readers can’t help but cheer for them. True had moments that made me question if she had good sense or not. I was shocked by the way she handled threats made on her life, and definitely shocked when I discovered who was threatening her. The suspense was riveting and the ending was perfect. Loving True is a beautiful love story of how two people find themselves, by finding the love that was meant for them.

Servant of the Seasons 4: Summer


Book Title: Servant of the Seasons 4: Summer
Author: Lee Benoit
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/index.php
ISBN: 978-1-60370-496-0
Genre: Gay Erotic Romance, Fantasy
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


The men are preparing for harvesting and Tywyll’s long sleep. When Lys goes missing, Meco (Edor) leaves on a rescue mission. Cynar’s words come back to haunt Meco when he discovers the betrayal of an old enemy could be behind his missing friend. Meco will have to confront the Salters who are prepared to gain the Novigi’s secrets, no matter the cost.

The bond has finally cemented between Cynar and Meco, and you can see how their love has changed both men’s lives. Meco is brave and willing to sacrifice everything to regain Lys’s freedom. His travel to save Lys brought him full circle, from the dome dweller who was cast out to a self-sufficient farmer. While he had companions before, now he has friends that take on the role of family. Meco has finally learned to love without fear. Servant of the Seasons 4: Summer is an inspiration and heart-warming conclusion to this series.

Hell’s Angel


Book Title: Hell’s Angel
Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-132-2
Genre: Paranormal/Fantasy
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx


When Appolion finds himself with a family that has the label of crazy, he only wants to live life without the extras emotions, being that he was a loner for so for so many years. Now that Ana is pregnant with their child, he needs to protect her from the justice angels who are searching for them. As the Order of Four continues to gather other angels for the coming war with Heaven and Hell, life manages to continue for them. It does not help matters when Michael, the Chief of the Archangels, realizes they will have to do battle against other angels and demons because of the trouble the head Council is causing.

I was kept in suspense and laughing at the antics of the angels who seem to want to be normal on earth in Hell’s Angel, Book 4 of the Archangel series. Talk about enjoyable reading; this book, which is leading to the purpose of the Order of Four, only made me want more. The more characters that are brought in with their personalities being very different and the strict rules of the Chief, it kept me wondering when the next fight would be, whether it was between themselves or with justice angels or the demons. Stephani Hecht has continued on with her Archangel series and has done a wonderful job of telling a story that had me imagining what the characters looked like from all of the descriptions of them. I am looking forward to the next book.

Thursday, November 6, 2008

Deep Cover


Book Title: Deep Cover
Author: Anna J. Evans
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.ellorascave.com/
ISBN: 9781419915147
Genre: Light Bondage / Futuristic
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


The world has changed. Now we share our world with aliens, and some find our fragile bodies appealing for their brutal form of BSDM. Calen goes undercover for the Agency as an alien Dom in Club Magan, a BDSM club. Discovering his partner Samantha intends to back him up, changes the man dubbed “Sunshine”, because of his sunny disposition, into a full out thunderstorm. Calen would do anything to keep her out of harm’s way. However, Samantha is more than capable of protecting herself, so what’s the real reason Calen doesn’t want her in attendance?

Anna J. Evans delivers BDSM with an alien twist and a touch of mystery in Deep Cover. After three years of being partners, Calen knows Samantha’s limitations. He is fiercely protective of her and of his secrets. Samantha is trying to protect a few hidden truths of her own, and knows it would be hard to live if something happened to Calen. I’m shocked they were able to keep their mutual attraction hidden for three solid years. When the truth was finally exposed, it triggered a release of pent up lust and a large dose of love. I enjoyed the BDSM scene not just because of the well-written sex, but also watching Samantha prove why she carries a gun and a badge. The characters, setting, and plot meshed smoothly and collectively to create a wonderful story you can’t help but to enjoy.

My Knightly Adventures Book III: In the Heat of the Knight


Book Title: My Knightly Adventures Book III: In the Heat of the Knight
Author: Mimi Riser
Publisher: Amber Quill Press
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberHeat/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-384-9
Genre: Dark Fantasy/Werewolf/Vampire/Shapeshifter
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx


In this book, Sir Wolfred and Dorothy (Dee) are taking Glenn to her home in Kansas. Now that Glenn gave up his magic, he is aging faster than normal humans because of his sacrifice for the couple’s love. Dee’s surrogate father almost has a heart attack after realizing that he is looking at a vampire in the flesh.

Odji Nebi and Kamenwati had more than one meaning for Wicked and being resurrected by the fairy Morgan who is now a cat, he is bent on revenge of Wolfred and Dee for stabbing him with a wooden stake.

In the Heat of the Knight was not what I expected and kept me trying to figure out why things were going like they where. When the council changed Morgan into a cat I thought that was the last of her but lo and behold she turns up in Kansas too! Due to the fact that Dee’s surrogate parents were archeologists they believed in looking beyond the normal and had a love life most would wish for. Mimi Riser writes of the Land of Oz with yellow brick roads, vampire, fairies, fey-kin and more than you could imagine. There was one place, the getaway for magic people stuck on earth that totally surprised me and it was magical in its self!

My Knightly Adventures Book II: Just Another Lonely Knight


Book Title: My Knightly Adventures Book II: Just Another Lonely Knight
Author: Mimi Riser
Publisher: Amber Quill Press
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberHeat/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-349-8
Genre: Dark Fantasy/Werewolf/Shapeshifter/Series
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx


Sir Wolfred of Camelot and Dorothy (Dee) are trying to make life normal by selling their wares at each Faire available. Dee thinks she needs to protect him from everything because he is from the past but finally sees that she has to give him space. What she finds in the trees when returning to her stall was both shocking and appealing all at once but she does not quite know what to do about it. The fact that they love each other for who they are means that their love will survive.

Gate Guardian of the Astral Realms is Glendel Goodfellow who is fey kin and able to go to any realm with ease. When he realizes that he has to go to Earth to get the help of Dee and Wolfred, he is not happy about having to interfere with their lives again. What he does is help them get past their inhibitions to accept who they truly are from the beginning of their existence and in doing so restricts himself to being something he did not want.

Just Another Lonely Knight is the second book in the My Knightly Adventures series and just as entertaining to read. With the entrance of Glenn, who is the “good witch” here, the two lovers relationship take a turn for the worst and he emits sexual magic towards the both of them. It seems as if nothing is to go right for these characters and you will wonder when they will finally have a chance at happiness. I do believe that we are not finished with the land of Oz as of yet but looking forward to the next story in this series. Mimi Riser has done a wonderful job of keeping the suspense, sex scenes and humor going without giving away too much.

My Knightly Adventures Book I: A Knight to Remember


Book Title: My Knightly Adventures Book I: A Knight to Remember
Author: Mimi Riser
Publisher: Amber Quill Press
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberHeat/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-334-4
Genre: Dark Fantasy/Werewolf/Vampire/Shapeshifter
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx


Dorothy, who goes by Dee, needs a real life without her dark fantasies that keeps her from having a man. After she is caught up in a man size tornado, which takes her somewhere else, she realizes that she is not alone in the cyclone. After landing in the water with Wolfred then has to save him from drowning, she looks around to see where they are.

Sir Wolfred of Camelot does not want to be a wolf but when he used two of the three wishes given to him; it did not go as planned. He knows that being with Dorothy is not a good thing because he might harm her but he does love her and will do almost anything for her.

My Knightly Adventures, Book I in the A Knight to Remember series was fabulous and I enjoyed reading this story was very much because I was taken back to two places, Camelot and the Land of Oz. These two lovers (once they got past obstacles) really were meant for each other and enjoyed their time together.

The Blacker the Berry


Book Title: The Blacker the Berry
Author: Lena Matthews
Publisher: Loose Id
URL: http://www.loose-id.net/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-735-1
Genre: BBW Multicultural Contemporary Western
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


When Tamara Holifield receives a call from Ty, the husband of her best friend Charlotte, she never dreams it would change her life. Ty asks Tamara to visit his housebound pregnant wife, whose is feeling depressed and needs cheering up. He knows if anyone is capable of removing the gloom, its Tamara.

Russell Crichton has known Ty most of his life and would do anything for him, including playing chauffeur and allowing Tamara to accompany him on his trek. Tamara is a contradiction to everything he ever considers her to be. She’s warm, giving, loving, considerate, and capable of showing Russell just how lonely his life truly is.

What is there not to love about The Blacker the Berry? Lena Matthews is the kind of author that makes you scrambling to go out and buy her latest book. This woman can write her butt off. I found myself drawn in on the first page while weak with laughter, and there was no turning back. In a matter of hours, I was finished and realized I wished there was a bit more. Tamara is a woman still trying to find her purpose in life. She works in a dead end job to have time to focus on her dreams. Russell has sacrificed part of his adult years working as a lawyer, and now he’s on the brink of having the ranch he has longed for. I loved how they both were willing to do whatever was necessary to fulfill their heart’s desire. Past relationships left Tamara with a slightly bitter taste in her mouth, and she started to see all men as being the same. She wasn’t a bitter woman, but skeptical when it came to men and their ultimate reasons for staying around. I loved Russell even more when he recognized Tamara’s fear. He brought it to her attention and I knew she found the man who would battle any dragon to claim her. The story is entertaining and set on a fantastic backdrop. The characters are witty, smart survivors who deserved their happily ever after. If you haven’t read this story, what are you waiting for?

Catch a Falling Star


Book Title: Catch a Falling Star
Author: Allyson James
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.ellorascave.com/
ISBN: 978-1-41991-696-0
Genre: Futuristic Ménage, M/M/F
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Pamaar King Thane is watching the night sky when, what he thought was a falling star, streaked by. Remembering the prophecy that will restore his power and heal his people, Thane awakens his lover and bodyguard Deon, requesting that he go to investigate. Deon is not happy to be roused from bed in the middle of the night, but consents to do the king’s bidding. Finding the crash site, Deon fights off the opposing clan leader and rescues the injured woman Lea, taking her to Thane who heals her. Lea is a scout from another world and had no idea that Pamaar existed. After spending some time with Thane and Deon, Lea grew to love both men. Faced with the dilemma of helping a dying planet or returning to her own world, Lea has a difficult choice to make.

Catch a Falling Star is an impressive lost-in-space story. Thane is ruler over a planet that lacks technology, but has a magic power source. His main concern is for the people whom he feels helpless to save. Deon is a warrior bound to protect his lover and king. Lea is fascinated with this strange world, but even more so with Thane and Deon and the love they share. Allyson James has created a wonderful well written plot with interesting characters that I enjoyed reading.

Servant of the Seasons 3: Spring


Book Title: Servant of the Seasons 3: Spring
Author: Lee Benoit
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-496-0
Genre: Gay Erotic Romance, Fantasy
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

During the winter, Edor, Lys and Tywyll meet a young Novigi named Cynar. Trusting is hard for Cynar and he is still undecided about putting up permanent residence with the threesome. Yet, he is drawn to the other two Novigi’s and arrives unannounced when the spring flood makes its appearance. Edor develops feelings for Cynar and is unaware of the depth until the threat of the Salters, abducting him makes them apparent. Will he lose Cynar before he can share how he feels with his new friend?

Cynar is trying to come to terms with the death of his mate and the open relationship that Edor, Lys and Tywyll share. He isn’t ready to join them as a family, but wants to be close for the companionship. When Edor first recognized his protectiveness of Cynar, I knew he wouldn’t be able to just walk away from him. He wanted to get to know Cynar while respecting his privacy. It’s always a delight to see what Lys and Tywyll have learned as of late, and the changes the new season brings to each character. Servant of the Seasons 3: Spring is another wonderful installment in the series. Lee Benoit has written a story laced with action and steamy erotic encounters.

Servant of the Seasons 2: Winter


Book Title: Servant of the Seasons 2: Winter
Author: Lee Benoit
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-396-3
Genre: Gay Erotic Romance, Fantasy
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Edor is still trying to find a comfort level with his new friends, Tywyll and Lys. The two norvigi teach Edor more each day and causes rapid improvements in their way of life. While Tywyll is growing strong, Lys is growing weaker and preparing for his long sleep. An unexpected encounter with travelers causes the threesome to band together to protect family and home. They emerge with a stronger bond and a mystery that needs to be unraveled.

Blessed with a love he never thought would grace him, Edor is stronger and more determined than ever to build a new life for himself. He’s becoming quite the farmer and soon will become quite the lover. Tywyll and Lys are still the ying and yang to one another and bring warmth and knowledge, while enjoying their first seasons as adults. Lee Benoit has written another wonderful installment in this series, and I have truly enjoyed watching these characters grow as individuals and mates. Between battling the harsh winter, struggling with new feelings, and fighting to protect loved ones, Servant of the Seasons 2: Winter will grab your attention. If you enjoyed the first book, you won’t be disappointed with the sequel.

Servant of the Seasons 1: Autumn


Book Title: Servant of the Seasons 1: Autumn
Author: Lee Benoit
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-324-6
Genre: Gay Erotic Romance, Fantasy
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Edor is a former resident of the Domes. When he comes across an abandoned plot of land, Edor decides to stop and make the slightly barren spot his home. There isn’t much to survive on, but he has no choice but to make due. Varas, Edor’s closet neighbor, offers to trade his crop for him and bring back what he will need to survive during the winter. All he returns with is a bag of beans and two slaves in tow. Edor doesn’t believe in slavery so the decision to free them doesn’t take a moment’s thought. With their freedom comes the free will to stay and help Edor make a home. Together, they will change Edor and his land in ways he never anticipated.

Where do you start with a book like this? The backdrop is harsh and unpredictable - just what the characters need to push the will to survive. The characters are fantastic. Edor takes his new life and makes of it what he can. Even with loneliness and the discomforts of trying to farm the land alone, he refuses to keep Lys and Tywyll as slaves. I respected him even more at that point. Lys and Tywyll are both patient and understand Edor more than he could imagine. Their knowledge of the land is what will save them, and make the upcoming winter a little less harsh. Lee Benoit brings passion to harsh farm lands in Servant of the Seasons 1: Autumn.

Atonement


Book Title: Atonement
Author: C.R. Moss
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-126-1
Genre: Paranormal/Science Fiction/Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Faith Collins is the one who rebels against her parents for freedom to live as she chooses. When she recognizes her life-mate in a story of her friends she tries to attack him with a knife because of the anger she has kept from the past. Now that she has seen Cor and Gaven together and can tell the difference between the half brothers, she can finally destroy Cor with the help of her sisters and their mates.

Gaven wants nothing more than to be at peace with his life and his mate, Faith, who refuses to change. Knowing that Corbet was with her, he goes to get her family to help banish him back to his planet.

Atonement is the third book in the series of Si Ludo Sisters. The fact that Corbet continues to pursue the last sister for his power trip is not what you would expect. From the beginning of this story, Faith displayed a behavior that she should have embraced before it got out of hand. C.R Moss has written a fabulous story of distrust, mystery and true love that will win out in the end.

Salvation


Book Title: Salvation
Author: C.R. Moss
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-079-0
Genre: Paranormal/Sci-Fi/Time Travel Romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Joy Collins is a college student and actress, living at home with her parents. When she tells Rand about her sleep being disturbed by dreams, he goes through a meditation process to remember how to enter her dreams too. She now knows who she is from her past life and loves Rand endlessly.

Rand Worthington is a warrior protector sent to protect his life-mate Joy who has no idea of their true lives. From the first time she saw him he had make up and a mask on to keep the true hidden from Corbet so he could be there for Joy.

Salvation is the second story of the Si`Ludo Sisters series that told of the youngest sister’s dreams of being controlled. I learned even more about the triplets lives on another planet and was surprised by the actions of the parents. C.R. Moss has done a wonderful job of telling stories of other lives and the interaction of the characters.

Wednesday, November 5, 2008

A Valentine's Gift for Tori


Book Title: A Valentine's Gift for Tori
Author: Zenobia Renquist
Publisher: Red Rose Publishing
Publisher URL: http://redrosepublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60435-099-7
Genre: Contemporary Mainstream Romance (IR)
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

It’s been two long years since Tori has enjoyed an intimate relationship with her husband. It is not because of a lack of trying on his part, but a lack of feeling that old fire on hers. Tori wants to keep her marriage for the sake of her children, while acquiring a boyfriend to reignite her nonexistent sex life. Her husband Christian doesn’t get angry, he grants her request and issues one of his own. Is a boyfriend what the already weird family needs to keep the option of divorce at bay?

While reading A Valentine's Gift for Tori, I wondered how many married couples found themselves in this same predicament. Tori is a wife and mother of triplets. When I got to the meat and bones of the story and discovered her reasons for asking for a boyfriend, I shook my head in disbelief. I understand that keeping her family together was important and that she had a better relationship with Christian as a friend than a husband, but she had courage I could only dream to obtain. I’m not sure if I would want my young children to know what’s really going on, but kids being kids; their nosey factor is higher than most parents would want. I did respect the way her character handled their questions, and tried to sooth their ruffled feathers. Zenobia Renquist has created a group of characters that made the most of what could have been an impossible situation.

Taste Test: Boys Next Door


Author: Cassidy Ryan, Dakota Flint and Zoe Nichols
Publisher: Torquere Books
ISBN: 978-1-60370-486-1
Genre: Gay Anthology
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Caen Nymph


A Perfect Match by Cassidy Ryan 3 Nymphs
Keaghan has a problem and that problem is his brother-in-law’s kid brother. Trace is back from England and he’s looking good. A little too good. So Keaghan tries everything he can to avoid Trace, but nothing seems to work. This was a fun comedic story. I found Keaghan’s obvious discomfort and turmoil to be quite amusing to read. A cute little story indeed.

Breaking Point by Dakota Flint 3.5 Nymphs
Jonathon has returned to his childhood home after splitting up with his partner of seven years. He’s heartbroken and all he wants to do is move on. But his first love and first heartbreak, Alex, is living next door and Alex wants him back. This was a great story; I loved the fact the author used a flashback in her story. Alex and Jonathon are sweet characters and ones I wouldn’t mind seeing again.

Peep Show by Zoe Nichols 2.5 Nymphs
Seth gets a surprise when a hot young neighbor moves in next door. This was an interesting story, but it didn’t take my fancy. The theme was voyeurism and personally I am quite uncomfortable with that. However, the characters Seth and Dillon were nicely molded without being stereotypical.

Taste Test: Boys Next Door is a lovely anthology. Out of the three stories, I really enjoyed the first two. The stories were nicely constructed and really left you with a warm feeling. The sex in the stories was smoking hot. If you love the theme of boy next door, you’ll enjoy this anthology.

Beguiled


Book Title: Beguiled
Author: A.J. Llewellyn
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-158-2
Genre: Gay Paranormal
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Protected at the secret Kahuna Village on the Big Island, Lopaka is dressing the children for their Halloween party when Kimo feels a spiritual warning. Family member Sammie is missing and when Kimo, Lopaka and the other males go in search for him outside the protected village, Lopaka’s body is invaded by the ghost of a female Japanese dancer. Aoi was murdered and her body was lost. Kimo and his family must help her find the path to The Pureland by performing a traditional Japanese ritual for the dead.

Beguiled is a Halloween adventure with the Phantom Lover series family. Kimo is a powerful high priest whose magic protects and heals people and his man-wife Lopaka is gifted with a loving heart that radiates onto others, helping to lift them out of their mental despair. Once again the exceptional A.J. Llewellyn highlights Hawaii’s history of the first Japanese residents and a peek at their traditions. Anyone who enjoys cultural history will enjoy this episode and find that the entire Phantom Lover series is an incredible sensuous journey.

Still Mine


Book Title: Still Mine
Author: Mary Wine
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-59998-957-3
Genre: Romantic Suspense
Nymph Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Fire Nymph


Jo Benate mourned the death of her husband. He may have died six years ago but she mourned his memory and the fact that he wasn’t there with her to share in her accomplishments.

Paul Benate was forced to leave his love behind. Forced to deceive her into thinking he was dead, military funeral and all. Watching from a distance with only pictures to live off of for six years helped him cope with the knowledge that he couldn’t be there with her.

Can the past catch up with people and force them into facing their fears or facing their dreams? When the past catches up with Jo, she is faced with the man of her dreams, and the reality of his deception. Will she choose her future or her past? Or will she make her past her future?

Ms. Wine created an intriguing tale of suspense and love. I was left wondering if love truly could conquer all and received my answer in the end and I’ll tell you honestly…The answer will shock you!

Arsenic and Rio


Book: Arsenic and Rio
Author: DJ Manly
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publishers URL: http://www.extasybooks.net/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-089-9
Genre: Gay, M/M, Suspense, Mystery, Contemporary
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph


After his arrest for drugs and prostitution, Marshall is sent to Havendale House. Abused by his parents and later taken advantage of by a pimp, Marshall feels he is unworthy of love. This makes him an easy target for Hal, a former resident of Havendale House and Frank, the home’s psychologist. The two men plan on using Marshall's need for love, as well as his sex appeal, to con rich old men who have a lot to lose should knowledge of their gay lifestyle become public. Going along with the plan at first, Marshall later begins to have second thoughts. When he approaches Hal with the idea of stopping, he is shown the error of his ways. From that point on, Hal's hold over Marshall only strengthens. When Frank’s gambling addiction catches up to him, he is forced to use Hal and Marshall to keep for dying.

Hal and Marshall are supposed to con Angelo Farelli, a coffee plantation owner into signing over the plantation to Marshall. Once their task is completed the plantation will be sold to a waiting drug lord. Marshall's feelings for Angelo are intense from the start. Marshall is soon torn between Hal who is constantly reminding him of the job they are there for, and Angelo whom he is falling in love with. The more time he spends with Angelo the more he realizes he cannot continue what he is doing however, Hal's hold over him is strong and it is not until the end that Marshall is truly able to break free of him.

DJ Manly’s Arsenic and Rio is a very powerful book that pulls the reader in almost from the very beginning. The reader cannot help but feel something for Marshall Calletti, a young 17-year-old street kid.

To be honest when I started this book I wondered if I made the right choice in books. Later I could not but the book down. At times, I thought about reading the last couple of pages to see how it would end but did not want to miss what would happen next. Arsenic and Rio is a strong story that really pulls at the reader. Not a typical romance with a patented happily-ever-after, it is still a book I would recommend to anyone, and one that will go in my keeper file.

Once Upon a Veterinarian


Book Title: Once Upon a Veterinarian
Author: Drew Zachary
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerepress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-492-2
Genre: Contemporary Gay Romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Dr. Ben Sauvigon is a small animal veterinarian in a rural town in Canada and the practice he shares with his friend Stacey, is thriving. Not so his personal life. He hasn’t been on a date in what seems like forever…and forget about sex. It’s often difficult meeting someone when you live in a small town, and it’s even worse when you’re gay. What free time he has is spent with a few friends, his trusty dog and his extensive DVD collection. Things change when a series of intentional animal poisoning come to his attention and he calls the local authorities, bringing Constable Geary to his clinic.

Tim Geary is a constable with the Ontario Provincial Police, and he’s the officer assigned to investigate several dog and cat deaths reported by a local veterinarian. The case is fairly low priority, but Tim decides to look into the problem and see what he can do, afraid that the killings might escalate into something more serious. When he meets Ben, he’s attracted and makes it clear he’d like to see him again. What follows is a series of dating nightmares as these two men try to work love and sex into two busy lives, all while trying to figure out who’s behind the continuing animal deaths.

Drew Zachary’s newest release, Once Upon a Veterinarian, is nothing less than a breath of fresh air. Instead of our two guys jumping immediately into bed with each other, Mr. Zachary takes an unusual approach. In this well-written and funny gay contemporary, he has normal life constantly interfering with nearly every attempt Ben and Tim make to get up-close-and-horizontal with each other…and it’s funny…and all too real. It seems that fate is against these two when they are interrupted by friends, vet emergencies, power outages and police business. It’s as if their relationship is cursed, never to be consummated; yet they keep trying, making due with brief kisses and an occasional grope. When they do finally get together, the sex is hot, funny and tender, giving you a glimpse of what they are each longing for. Still, hurt feelings and misunderstanding almost kill their relationship, showing that love isn’t easy and any happily-ever-after requires work.

Eye of the Beholder


Book Title: Eye of the Beholder
Author: D.J. Manly
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-130-8
Genre: Gay Contemporary Romance
Nymph Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Top male model Danny Verdi’s manager Edward is at the end of his rope. Danny is refusing to work with the chosen photographer for his fashion shoot. Desperate to keep the contract, Edward calls retired photographer Frank Melina and begs him to take the job. Frank was the best in the fashion world until someone tried to kill him, leaving one side of Frank’s face scarred. Bored with years of his secluded lifestyle, Frank accepts the job. Frank and Danny spend a month together at Frank’s home in Italy and in that time, Frank falls in love with Danny but when the job is over, Danny returns to New York, leaving Frank behind.

Eye of the Beholder gives the readers a glimpse of the rich and famous lifestyle of models. Frank was once like all the other people at the top in the fashion business; obsessed with beauty and fame, accepting the sex offers from hopeful young men looking for a career boost with no concern for anyone feelings but his own. That changed when one of his sexual one night stands resulted in tragedy and a scarred face. Frank could see the real Danny beneath the beautiful illusion and fell in love with him; he tried to help Danny see that fame is temporary. Instead of a return of his love, Frank was dismissed like an object that had no heart or soul, used and tossed away. Danny’s life is on a downward spiral; he did not realize how shallow he was until he returned from Italy. He missed Frank and the love he had rejected. When Frank returns to New York a changed man, Danny is desperate to get Frank back, but Frank doesn’t want Danny anymore. Now Danny understands how it feels to have a broken heart. The incredible D.J. Manly delivers a spectacular story filled with emotional turmoil, tantalizing love scenes and a reminder that true beauty is on the inside. This is an absolutely wonderful romance that I enjoyed immensely.

Some Kind of Hero


Book Title: Some Kind of Hero
Author: Michelle Cary
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-59998-928-X
Genre: Contemporary Romance
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Fire Nymph

Sgt. Derek Rison did two tours in Iraq and was wishing to go back after finding his apartment and all his belongings in a pile of black ash. Enjoying a cup of coffee, sorting through his thoughts of what hotel he would stay at, and making a mental ‘to do’ list of things to rebuild his life, a Minx is stalking him.

Jordan Minx, waitress extraordinaire and doormat to her deadbeat boyfriend, finds herself with a soft spot for a Soldier without a home. Opening her door to him was easy, but as she gets to know him, will she be able to open her heart….even if it kills her?

Ms. Cary wrote a truly great story here! It had me in tears both happy and sad as the story unfolded. I couldn’t have asked for a better love story to come across my desk. It was a pleasure reading about the lives of the characters Ms. Cary brought to the pages. So much of Jordan I could sympathize with.

My only complaint is the military aspect of this story in the first chapter. A little more research on the military would have given Ms. Cary and her lead Hero more options.

I give Ms. Cary 4 Nymphs for EXCELLENCE!

Wedding Crashers


Book Title: Wedding Crashers
Author: Sage Burnett
Publisher: Phaze
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-071-3
Genre: Thriller erotic romance
Nymph rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Bramble Nymph

Nate Walker has a job to do. He has to nab drug dealer Lucas Becker and make sure that the man stays put. When he thinks he has it all figured out, up comes Callie Alexander in a platinum blonde wig and flattens out the large cake at Nate’s wedding reception. She is a blast from his past and Nate is ready to save the wedding crasher, not caring about his cover or his life. Will they find something salvageable from the mess before one of Becker’s bullets darkens any chance of a future?

Callie is a woman after my own heart. Any woman who decides to crash a cheating boyfriend’s wedding and ultimately sabotages the cake deserves a standing ovation. I don’t see the maturity in some of her moves but she turns out okay. Despite being a macho strong undercover agent, Nate does have a softer side and it is all for Callie. The passion is perfectly matched between them. Even though I do sympathize with Nate’s reasons of ditching Callie all those years ago, the urge to slap him for his stupidity never went away.

The untimely sex threw me in for a loop. The intensity and heat of the lovemaking was a punch in the gut while the adrenaline levels are still soaring from the thrilling car chase. Even with interesting proceedings, a few editing and spelling mistakes marred my enjoyment. The story line is predictable but satisfying. The opening scene is my favorite and I could just picture the destroyed cake and a totally pissed-off bride. There aren’t many secondary characters to spoil the broth. All the main characters do have a closetful of secrets and Ms. Burnett tries to disclose each with care. The plot is balanced with the action and provides the required thrill with an exciting car chase.

Even with a few misgivings, Wedding Crashers is a good story and had its moments.

Twice the Night


Book Title: Twice the Night
Author: Dawn Halliday
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-60504-252-8
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Nymph Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Duncan O’Leary knows that his best friend, Cole Thompson, has been in love with his wife, Tamara for years. Yet, even though they are a happily married couple, he isn’t angry or jealous of Cole’s feeling but strangely accepting and understanding. It’s after the three share an intimate evening together at their favorite bar that everything changes for the three friends. While walking home, Duncan and Tamara are attacked by a band of vampire thugs looking for money and blood. Tamara is severely injured, her throat ripped and torn, and Duncan is killed.

It’s taken four long and painful years of grieving to learn to be happy again and she’s found it with Cole. He’s shown her that life didn’t end with Duncan’s death and he opened her eyes to the joy and fun of sexual play. They’re only six weeks away from their wedding day when Duncan re-appears, desperate to be part of her life again. Except Duncan has a secret. He didn’t die that night. He was changed, and he’s spent the last four years learning how to function as a vampire and to accept that what he is, in many people’s eyes, is a monster. Tamara can’t deny that she still has strong feelings for Duncan, but she also loves Cole. Her choice is simple, but difficult. Accept what Duncan has become and forge a life together with the men she loves. The only problem is her fear of vampires and whether she can overcome it.

I was intrigued by the concept of Twice the Night from the beginning and had great hopes when I started the story. Ms. Halliday did a nice job in describing the conflicts of the same woman being loved by two men…best friends, at that. And the ending of the second chapter with the vampire attack on Duncan and Tamara was done equally well. My problem stems from the sudden jump of four years between the second and third chapters. I wanted to experience a little of their pain and grieving as part of the tale, not just hear about it as part of the back-story. I wanted to be with Duncan, at least a little, as he learned how to be a vampire. Frankly, I guess I needed it to form some kind of emotional bond between the characters, because I just didn’t have it. Don’t get my wrong; technically there isn’t anything wrong with writing or the characters of Duncan, Tamara, or Cole. I just didn’t care about them or their problems a great deal.

Tamara could have been better developed…and she seemed a little weak for two men with such strong Alpha tendencies. I would have liked to see her stand up to them a little more and not let them negotiate how much time they spent with her. It made her appear like chattel, instead of their lover. The best scene though, by far, was the wedding, when all three stood up together in front of a church filled with family and friends people, and professed their love for one another. That scene and the chapter before when their problems were worked out made the entire story worthwhile.

Monday, November 3, 2008

Trick of Silver


Book Title: Trick of Silver
Author: Jamie Craig
Publisher: Amber Quill
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-386-3
Genre: Gay Paranormal Romance
Nymph Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Argenti agent Darren Sumner is a Hunter and his job is to terminate rogue werewolves. There have been seven brutal murders and the evidence trail leads to Alpha Aden Richter as the culprit. Darren’s Halloween night assignment is to get close to his target any way he can and tonight that means dressed in a skin-tight leather skirt, wig and spike heels. Except Halloween night is meant for the unexpected and that’s exactly what Darren gets when he meets sexy Aden and he soon finds that nothing is as it seems. Truths are lies, old trusts and loyalties broken and new ones formed, as these two new lovers struggle to stay alive as they work together to discover who the real killer is and why they have both been targeted for extinction.

Trick of Silver is the October release of the Calendar Boys series by talented writing duo Jamie Craig. I have to admit that I wasn’t certain I’d like this one since it starts out with Darren in drag, and so many men can’t pull off the look. Yet, in this case the authors did just that and made the premise enjoyable, believable and even a little funny. They then turned this odd situation into one filled with sexual tension and mounting desire between a Hunter and his prey, which only racketed higher when Aden discovers Darren is a male.

As these two men fight to stay alive, their attraction and lust grows until the lines of difference between them blurs and changes into a new stronger one, and new loyalty’s form at the expense of the old. As the tale twists and turns toward the end, the suspense, action and betrayal never stops, leading the reader on a fast-paced chase of death, change and new beginnings. There isn’t any doubt that Aden and Darren desire each other…that they want to be with the other at all costs. Yet, never once does either of them utter the dreaded word love, but you’re left with little doubt they intend to stay together as lover’s and pack members. At less than 90 pages, this well-written gem has packed a huge punch and it didn’t leave me asking for anything more, than for it to have been longer. I’d love to see more of these two intriguing and interesting men in another book in the future. I think it’s safe to say that this Calendar Boys release is my new favorite. Read and enjoy!

To Fat and Back


Book Title: To Fat and Back
Author: Beverly Rae
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-60504-130-0
Genre: Paranormal Romance, Romantic Comedy
Nymph rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs reviewer: Bramble Nymph

It seems as if day dreaming about office hottie Michael Donovan is in Carrie Flannagan’s job description. Her fantasies have the annoying habit of creeping up whenever Michael is around even while she is being the butt of fat jokes. Billy Whitman only feels affection for his chubby friend and Carrie always finds him backing her up whenever she needs him. When a twist of fate alters their path Michael, Carrie and Billy find themselves at a point where they have to confront their feelings.

Carrie is honestly a sweet wholesome woman. I was amazed by the patience and understanding she showed in every situation. She never lamented about other people cracking jokes about her size. She is a delightfully believable character along with Billy, who is a darling. He gets all my love for treating Carrie the way he did. I liked the way they connected on many levels and knew each other from inside out before realizing their true feelings for each other. I just kept having mixed emotions for Michael as he discovers a totally different outlook towards life.

Apart for Carrie’s raunchy day dreams, the actual sex comes very late in the book. But I really did not miss the escapades during the length of the tale as the revelations and turns generated enough interest. The plot is full of surprises and twists but the story does not get muddled. Considering the warning given with the book description I was expecting a madly slapstick, slapdash venture with To Fat and Back but was slightly miffed when I found only a few laugh-out-loud moments. The pacing was excellent though and managed to keep me glued until the very end.

The condominium’s resident witch, Looney Lizzie, is the one to watch as she created a whole different path for each and every character related to the story. It is clear that she had a lot of fun doing it and I really had a lot of fun reading about it. Ms. Rae’s strength of imagination shines through and the overall good writing overrides a few pricking points. Apart from the obvious, To Fat and Back has a strong message and it gets delivered effectively without sounding extreme or overly preachy. I needed something to pick my spirits up and this book did.

All in all, To Fat and Back was fun, light, and enjoyable. It has the ability to offer comfort to readers and send their spirits soaring.

Stealing Northe


Book Title: Stealing Northe
Author: Jamie Craig
Publisher: Amber Heat
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberHeat
ISBN: 978-1-60272-369-6
Genre: Historical / The Old West / Ménage (M/M/F)
Nymph Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx


Widow Amy Northe and her young son Woody are settling in for a harsh winter’s storm. She hasn’t had male companionship since the death of her husband six years prior. When her son discovers two strangers seeking shelter from the storm, he brings them to his mother. Amy can’t turn them away in good conscious. She allows Kenneth and Leon to stay in her home, while Leon is recovering from a broken ankle. Over time, Amy develops more than a mild attraction for Kenneth. Kenneth returns her feelings, but knows the possibility of sharing a future with Amy and Woody is slim. The two men have been less than honest with her, and Kenneth knows he could possibly lose her if she discovers the truth – Kenneth and Leon are outlaws.

Stealing Northe takes us into Utah’s Mormon country. Kenneth is a sweet man and loyal friend to those he loves. Leon is a bit rougher around the edges and shoots straight from the hip. Woody is a smart kid who loves his Mom but is longing for a father figure. Finally, we have Amy, a dedicated mother who has nurturing down to a science. Jamie Craig has created four wonderful characters for our enjoyment. Each has a unique quality that brings balance to Stealing Northe and makes the story entertaining. I love the outlaws and Kenneth has such an endearing compassionate nature. His glimpse at the future with Amy was the gentle push he needed to decide which side of the law he wanted to operate from. The characters face hard decisions but with faith and love, the future they are seeking is within arm’s reach. If you love westerns, with sexy outlaws then you don’t want to miss Stealing Northe.