Thursday, August 20, 2015

Mad Delights

Title:  Mad Delights
Author:  Beth D. Carter
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781784306540
Genre:  {M/F/M}, Crime and Mystery, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Chloe is stalking Romeo, because he rescued her cousin and becomes obsessed with him.  She meets Dax when he confronts her about stalking Romeo.  Chloe finds she is attracted to both men, but what happens when she offers to help them in exchange for themselves?

Mad Delights, a spin-off of the Red Wolves Motorcycle Club, is aptly named as most of those around Chloe, including her family, thinks she has a screw loose.  Her actions would seem to bear that out.  I did have to laugh at some of her antics.  Chloe is an interesting character and the reasons why she behaves the way she does is explained in detail, along with her family ties.  I loved the way Chloe bargained with her grandfather. 

Romeo never thought he would end up in a ménage relationship, though his brother is in one, and decides he will call his brother for advice.  Dax figures it will happen since Chloe has made it clear she wants both men.  The chemistry between the three is hot.

The men end up under attack and several things happen that put all the men and their families in danger.  The club has lost several members and it is playing havoc with moral. There are some twists that cause a few tense moments with rivals. As the reason why becomes clear, things get resolved, except for one major thread which hopefully will get resolved in the next book. 

Reader Advisory:  There is a scene of dubious consent and some racist language. 

Publisher's Note: This book is the prequel to Madness Ends and is best read in sequence. 

Publisher's Note: This book is linked to the Red Wolves Motorcycle Club series.

Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Against the Grain

Author: Charlie Cochet
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63476-375-2
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Destructive Delta Defense Agents are recovering from wounds sustained in an intense battle with the Coalition, a group of rogue shifters bent on taking over the city. But there is something out of the ordinary happening with team leader Sloane and it is up to Ash and the rest of the team to solve the mystery.

Against the Grain is the fifth book in the THIRDS series. I suggest reading this extreme action series in sequence starting with Hell & High Water. The setting is New York; The Thirds are military trained police with the added bonus of being shifters.

In this installment the plot details the team’s suspicions of a potential corrupt agent in their ranks, in addition to questioning what they really know about those who appear to be respectable friends.

Also, the spotlight is mainly on Ash and Cael. Both men are confronted by people, as well as issues, from their past. Ash and Cael love each other, but they can’t seem to get over their own guilt issues that haunt them, making having a relationship very difficult. Survivor’s guilt, low self-esteem and denial all play a role in their emotional distress. As in every book, Against the Grain features nail biting suspense, ferocious fighting in animal form and a touch of humor.

Charlie Cochet has created another marvelous addition to this extremely enjoyable series. The honorable characters of Against the Grain forms a connection with the readers and it is not possible to have just one favorite. I felt gloomy on behalf of each character’s suffering and fury on behalf of the betrayal they endured. But do not despair; the story has a happy ending with just enough of a tease to inspire anticipation for the next episode.    

Warlock Unbound

Title:  Warlock Unbound
Author:  Dane Marie Bell
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61923-120-7
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph
Release date: 9/1/2015

Daniel is the last Beckett to cast the mate spell, however, because he waited so long, Kerry’s life is in danger.  When Kerry had been tortured, a hex had been placed on her that triggers once Daniel does the mate spell.  Will they be able to complete the mate spell and bond?

Warlock Unbound is the fourth book in the Heart’s Desire series.  The war between the Beckett’s and the Godwin’s is coming to a head with Arthur up to his old tricks, especially with the twist he has done.  The Beckett’s and their mates are all present as Daniel and Kerry fight to have a future together.

Readers that are familiar with this series know there are lots of spells and rituals running around within the story, as well as some horrible rituals used by the Godwin brothers.  Once the hex is lifted from Kerry, there is a twist that surprised me.  There is also a twist between Daniel and Kerry that is not present with the other couples, but that has to do with Kerry herself.  The epilogue also contains a pleasant surprise which could translate into future stories in this series.

The author did a good job explaining the difference between wizards, warlocks and witches contained in the world she created.  It was interesting to see how these characteristics play into the story.  

The Heart’s Desire series should be read in order to understand what is going on in each successive book.  This is a series I will be reading again and am looking forward to possible future stories.

The Firefighter’s Mate

Author:  Jayne Ripley
Publisher:   Etopia Press
Publisher URL:  http://www.etopiapress.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-941692-92-9
Genre:  {M/F} Paranormal Erotic
Rating:  3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Life was running Gabriela Acosta instead of the other way around.  She needed to regroup, so leaving Philadelphia seemed to be the only option to fix her life.  Just because she couldn’t afford to tow her dead car or a cheap motel didn’t mean things were all bad.  Gabriela had made it home, so things were bound to get better any moment.

In high school, Luke Taylor had been interested in Gabriela, but now things were on a whole new level.  Luke knew she was his mate the moment Gabriela returned to Cadillac Falls.  He wanted her in his pack and in his bed.  Luke wasn’t certain what problems Gabriela left behind, but he knew that he’d do everything in his power to help Gabriela now.

Someone has targeted Luke’s pack and woman by burning down houses.  Gabriela is angered by Luke’s idea of protection and refuses his help.  All of Gabriela’s plans to start over literally go up in smoke, so she thinks.  Now Luke has to gain back her trust and figure out who is threatening her. 

The Firefighter’s Mate is the beginning of the Werewolves of Cadillac Falls series.  Some questionable characters were introduced, and they will be a great foundation for the series.  There is so much to explore in this town because the packs seem to be so different.  I was expecting a bit more clarity about the fires, but the suspense will keep me guessing.  Luke and Gabriela’s relationship had a sweet, innocent vibe about it because they had known each other so long.  That definitely fueled some steamy love scenes between the couple that I know readers will enjoy.

Pint-Sized Protector

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0473-4
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series          
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Ajax is glad to be out of the cage that he spent just about his whole life in, but now he finds himself surrounded by strangers and not sure what to think.  Afraid to shift, Ajax has no way of communicating with those around him.   After moving out of the Alpha’s home and into one with the brothers that rescued him, Ajax is presented with another problem, his mate.

Pint-Sized Protector is the 30th book in Ms. Richards’ Wolves of Stone Ridge series.  This story brings a couple of new characters to the series, Ajax, an Andean Mountain cat and Cayden, the pack’s negotiator.  Ajax has a lot to overcome and because of what he has gone through, as well as his size, he is afraid to shift.  While this is easy to understand, it does cause some issues at the pack house.  I was almost afraid for the little cat when Declan threatens to ban him for injuring Lark, the Alpha’s mate.  It was understandable that Ajax is moved out of the main home and into one with the shifters that helped rescue him. 

Cayden has just gotten home after being on a mission for his Alpha.  Tired, all he wants to do is sleep for a few days.  As fans of this series may know, this is about the time where one of our main characters realizes their mate is nearby.  I wondered how the author would handle Ajax’s trust issues with the introduction of a mate, but thought the whole thing was handled well.  I like the way Cayden introduces himself to his new mate and then falls asleep next to his little cat.  That Ajax was able to relax next to Cayden and shift on his own helps makes the bond between the two shifters strong. 

While the relationship between the men moves much the way you would expect, it is the mission that Cayden was on for Declan that brings the couple problems.  I was actually surprised by the stupidity of the new shifters who have shown up and am not surprised by what followed afterward.  What may surprise the readers is the way Ajax reacts.  While it was intense, I almost had to laugh at everyone’s surprise.  

Pint-Sized Protector is sure to be another fan favorite and one that will find its way to many keeper shelves.

Hurts So Good

Title:  Hurts So Good
Author:  Serge de Moliere
Publisher:   Etopia Press
Publisher URL:  http://www.etopiapress.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-941692-89-9
Genre:  {M/F} Erotic Interracial
Rating:  3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

After all these months, Krista was still in pain.  Boy, was she regretting taking that riding lesson.  A little excitement was all Krista was looking for, not damaged discs.  The physical therapist assigned to Krista turned out to heal more than just her back problems.

Antonio stirred feelings in Krista that she wasn’t expecting, but definitely wanted to explore.  She was getting a second chance at love and now was not the time to blow it.  Antonio seemed to want Krista just as much, if not more.

Krista actually has a history with Antonio that didn’t end so well.  I was hoping for more detail on their relationship, but I got enough understanding to know that Krista’s actions were less than kind.  In trying to protect herself, she hurt them both.  Antonio got to reinvent himself while at the same time reminding Krista of who he always was.  Hurts So Good is a sweet story of a couple who have to first grow apart so they can finally grow together in love.    

Gage and Hamish

Author: Julia Talbot
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-946-9
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Cat shifter Gage likes to control the action from a submissive position. Hamish is a bear shifter who appears to be a gentle giant, but appearances can be deceiving, much to the delight of Gage.

Gage and Hamish are part of the Full Moon Dating series. The paranormal dating service has an excellent record for successful matches, even if the species seem to be unlikely mates. Gage and Hamish had given up on finding a mate on their own, so the service is their chance for finding happiness.

Gage is looking for someone who will allow Gage to give vent to his fighting instinct and still be strong enough to subdue Gage with the pain/pleasure sensations he craves. Hamish delights in being the one in total control. The rougher the play he inflicts on Gage, the more gratification they both gain. 

Julia Talbot has created an enjoyable addition to the series. The main theme is romance; however there is a touch of drama to this amusing plot.

Tuesday, August 18, 2015

Wolf from the Past

Author: N.J. Walters
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61922-621-0
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx
Release Date: 10-13-2015

Sylvie LaForge Dubois survived the last encounter with her now dead husband and spent months in hiding. Now she’s found her brother and his friends, letting them know she’s alive—and it’s harder than she imagined. It’s not just facing what happened or her brother’s pain, but seeing Gator and the way he makes her feel. After being mated to an abusive werewolf, Sylvie thought having a powerful wolf like Gator attracted to her would be scary but instead it’s thrilling.

Gator has wanted Sylvie since long before she was forced to take Andre as her mate. Now that she’s returned from the dead, he’s determined to let her know how he feels and to protect her at all costs. It might come to that when her former pack, the Louisiana Pack, learns she’s alive and they’re coming for her—dead or alive.

Wolf from the Past is release four in the Salvation Pack series by NJ Walters. The characters in these books are closely interwoven so I recommend they be read in order.

What a good addition to the series. The story caught my attention from the beginning with its fun and entertaining plot line. It’s well written, fast paced, has vivid descriptions that make the story come alive, and I enjoyed the sizzling romance between Gator and Sylvie. The world they inhabit is full of drama, action, danger and suspense and they live on the verge of being attacked at any minute by their old pack. What great world building. 

The author did a wonderful job developing the personalities of Gator and Sylvie and the plot fits perfectly into the ongoing series storyline. I enjoyed how the previous characters are utilized throughout, adding depth, and I really enjoyed learning who was helping Sylvie when she was on the run. What a surprise. I look forward to book five, even if I don’t have clue where the series is going next.

Shadows Fall

Title: Shadows Fall
Author: J.K. Hogan
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Publishers URL: http://www.wildecity.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-925313-24-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Mystery        
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Abandon by his gypsy family for being gay, Titus never received the training he needed to handle the spirits that follow him.  When it becomes evident that something serious is going on, Titus sends word to his grandmother, hoping she will see fit to help him.  What he does not plan on is becoming involved with a cop, or becoming the focus of a serial killer. 

This is my first book by this author and it will not be the last.  I loved Shadows Fall and found myself drawn into the world created by the author.  The characters are well written and will leave you rooting for them.  Titus is a Romany chovihano, or medium.  He was banished at a young age after his people discovered that he is gay, something that goes against their cultural beliefs. Because of this, Titus does not receive the training he needs and learns to handle his “shadows” in his own way.  This isolates him from much of everyday life.  This is something that becomes clear at one point in the story and I was amazed by the scene that plays out when Titus goes out for the first time without his defense mechanisms and is confronted by life around him.

Charlie is a Detective who wanders into Titus’ coffee shop.  Titus is instantly drawn to the man even though he believes Charlie to be straight.  When Titus finds out that Charlie is a cop, it’s just another reason to stay away from the man.  Of course that does not go the way Titus plans, and soon these two men start a relationship that heats up fast.  I loved how these two click together.  Charlie grounds Titus in a way that has never happened before, which surprises the younger man.  When Titus finds himself in the middle of a murder investigation, both men are forced to look at what they have and if it is worth fighting for. 

While the romance between the men is well done and worth reading Shadows Fall for, there are other aspects that are sure to grab and hold the reader’s attention.  First there is the murder mystery woven through this story that is, at times, a little gruesome.  Trying to guess who the murderer is, and why the crimes are being done, especially as there seems to be no clear cut connection between the victims, helps make this a good read.  Next there is the crazy variety of secondary characters that will have you laughing at times.  I especially loved Titus’ grandmother.  Then there is the way in which the story itself is written.  The author has written this story in the first person from Titus’ view point.  Titus is funny, snarky, and at times a little crazy.  His sense of humor is not always appropriate and, more than once, I found myself laughing at what came out of his mouth. 

While the author did wrap this mystery up, the book ends on a cliff hanger and I can’t wait until the next book comes out.  

Giving It All

Author: Arianna Hart
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61922-889-4
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx
Release Date: 09-01-2015

Ten years ago Grant Anderson left his hometown, engaged to his high school sweetheart and headed to Navy Seals training. Now because of his father’s illness, he’s finally coming home to Dale, Georgia.  Grant’s going home a changed man—divorced and without a lower leg after an IED explosion in Afghanistan. One of the first people he sees is Ellie, the skinny girl who lived next door. Grant can’t stop thinking about her but knows she deserves someone without his baggage or nightmares.

Ellie’s had a crush on Grant since she was a kid and now if she can convince him that she can handle his scars and baggage, they might have a chance at a relationship. They still have to work together trying to figure out what going on at Grant’s family business. The inventory is a mess, the accounting figures don’t add up and Grant’s cousin is acting odd. Something is definitely wrong and it’s up to Grant to save the business and protect Ellie from danger.

Giving It All isn’t considered part of a series but occurs in Dale, Georgia with some of the same characters from Son of a Preacher Man. Arianna Hart is a new author for me so I was pleased with her ability to pull me into the story. I admit that prologues aren’t usually something I enjoy but this one sets up the story nicely. Add in the good imagery, and steady pace and Ms. Hart had me hooked. I’ll likely be reading another book by her in the future.

There’s much about the plot that’s similar to other stories, in that they mimic the real world with soldiers coming home from a war. Here, Grant has lasting injuries and lots of emotional baggage. The author deals with these issues skillfully, and with tact and sensitivity. She also fully develops Grant’s personality, making him into a guy I liked. Then there’s Ellie—a wonderful, sweet girl-next-door who truly cares about everyone in her life. There isn’t anything about her to dislike. 

Their past as kids and their concern for his parents and the family business is a great way to bring this couple together. It’s nicely balanced against other things in the story. I’ll admit the plot’s easy to follow and there aren’t many surprises. That didn’t mean seeing this couple get together, or how the ‘funny’ goings-on at the family business worked out in the end isn’t fun or entertaining. Read and enjoy. 

Don’t Stake My Life on It

Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-78430-666-3
Genre: {M/M} Vampire Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Radney is having a major pity party; he can’t help it if he has a few flaws.  At least he has started to work on improving his personality. The answer to Radney’s dilemma is Andrew Meyers, a caring human who did not believe vampires existed until he met Radney.

Don’t Stake My Life on It is the second book in The Vamp for Me series. The plot is an amusing story of vampire misfits. The small coven is located on the outskirts of Vegas. The coven leader established a dating site, which serves as a convenient way to meet humans willing to feed as well as be intimate with a vampire. The dating site is also a way for vampires to meet their potential mates.

For centuries, Radney has allowed his badly treated past to dictate his life. His earlier vampire period has instilled a fear of uncontrolled feeding directly from humans, consequently leaving Radney grouchy and on the verge of starving to death on many occasions.

Andrew is a psych major college student who is researching the vampire dating site for his upcoming term paper. What Andrew hopes to find, as well as interview, is the vampire pretenders. Instead he meets Radney, a real vampire plus all the drama that goes along with dating a non-human lover. 

Bailey Bradford has created another impressive, humorous and enjoyable episode to the series. Radney and Andrew are well matched because all the members of the coven have a few psychological issues and Andrew’s goal has always been to be of assistance to people. 

Big Man on Campus

Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-78430-693-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Benny Allenbrand lost his high school sweetheart when he moved away to college. Now that Benny’s graduated and attending the same school, he’s determined to win Chase back. It doesn’t matter that Chase is in a committed relationship. Benny does find a surprise in his attraction to another man and is willing to give in to the need for a physical relationship.

Jamie Whitmore’s father is a homophobic politician. When Jamie comes out to him, Jamie’s life turns into a mess, complete with the media camping out on his doorstep. He doesn’t need to make things worse by getting involved with a football player determined to get his former lover back. Feelings change and while their relationship might have begun as only physical, it quickly turns into much more. Will the pressure of the media and Jamie’s family destroy their new love or will they find a way to survive?

Big Man on Campus is release twenty in the Campus Cravings series by Carol Lynne. Being familiar with the characters from the most recent books would be advantageous, and I recommend reading Coming Clean first, but it’s not vital to understanding this plot.

I like both Benny and Jamie and I found their backgrounds believable. I’ve seen similar plot lines for individuals in other releases but putting the lives of these guys together made it stronger. Yes Benny didn’t want to give up his old love, and that does happen in the real world—and Jamie’s trouble with a homophobic family that lives in the limelight isn’t unexpected. Putting these men in a relationship is just asking for drama and angst—and reasons to read their story.

As with the other books in the series, Big Man on Campus is a novella, so the pace moves along rather quickly. That space constraint unfortunately doesn’t allow a realistic timeframe for the development of feelings or relationships. I understand how Jamie feels about his family and Benny because that was unchanged from the beginning, but not so for Benny.  His change of affection from Chase to Jamie is so swift; I almost got whip-lash. But then Benny is only eighteen and I was often uncertain if he really knew what he wanted, which made me feel sorry for Jamie. 

The scenes with Jamie’s father and their aftermath are nicely done and Daniel and Tony are great additions to the plot. Pulling Benny’s family in from Cattle Valley is also nice. I’m not a huge fan of epilogues but this one set two years in the future lets us see what’s happening to this cute couple. Enjoy.

To Catch His Mate

Author: J. D.  Walker
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publishers URL: http://www.amberquill.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-68175-059-0
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, Shape-shifter        
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Felix can’t believe the thief he has been tracking has struck once again.  Determined to catch him, Felix uses a few “off the books” tricks to find his man.  What surprises him is that his thief also turns out to be his mate.

To Catch His Mate is my first book by this author and is one I will be re-reading again.  It is a shape-shifter story with a bit of a twist.   While both main characters are feline shape-shifters, Felix has no knowledge of his background.  Found as a young boy by the man who ends up raising him, Felix knows he can change, but not why or who he really is.  While the book was well done, this is one part of the story that I wish the author would have spent more time on and hope the author plans on a sequel to address this issue, especially given the way the story ended.

The main characters, Felix and Tyler, are both likeable characters.  Total opposites, Felix is an insurance investigator trying to track down a serial cat burglar.  Tyler, as you would guess, is the thief Felix is looking for.   During the course of his investigation, Felix begins to pick up on a smell that leads him to believe the person he is looking for may be his mate.  I found it funny that the only reference Felix had for this possibility was shows like Twilight and True Blood.  This is a change from what we normally see and I liked this little twist. 

While the way the two men meet is not much of a surprise, the reason for Tyler’s choice of hobby is.  I really felt bad for Tyler, who like Felix, found himself without his family at an early age.  Where his story changes is that unlike Felix, Tyler had no one to care for him and so finds himself wandering, never making strong connections, and falling in with a bad crowd.  Hoping to make a better life for himself, he takes a job with plans to finally settle down.  Then, at a weak moment, he shifts and is seen by some of his co-workers.  From there his life is no longer his own. 

I like the way these two men connect, and their relationship moves fast.  The need for Felix to make Tyler his, and secure the mating bond, is strong and plays into many of Felix’s actions.  Felix is not able to put aside his duties to his job, however, and I wondered just how all of this would pan out. 

While some may find aspects of this story predictable, it is an entertaining read that will hold your interest.  There are some points that the readers may find surprising and there were a couple of instances that I did not see coming.  One even had me close to tears.  I do love the ending and thought the way the author wrapped up the story was well done.  I am interested to see what else the author has planned and will be checking the author’s website to see what will be coming in the future.

Oppose

Title:  Oppose
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0382-9
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Jill becomes the Archivist for contracts as a volunteer in the Great Archive.  Several things happen once she arrives that she didn’t anticipate, including getting mated to a dragon.  Rimash is the Security Master for the Archive and is finally getting his mate.

The 25th book in the Terran Times Second Wave series, Oppose, is about prejudice and how differences are treated on Terran, as well as some interesting tidbits about the different alien societies that this series has created.  There were some humorous moments that had me laughing out loud at times.  I loved the court scene toward the end.  The concept of having a central archive is not new, though the way this one came about is.

Rimash is an Asian dragon, which departs from the typical dragon shifter we normally read about.  Part of the mating ritual between Rimash and Jill is there must be acceptance of his animal form.  The chemistry between Rimash and Jill is hot.

An incident on Jill’s first day at the archives changes her life forever and pits her against two different societies with different ideas about women and the roles they play.  It was funny how quickly a nanny and new quarters, supplies and schedules were implemented. I also loved Jill’s reaction to meeting the Archive itself. 

I had to laugh at a scene in the epilogue, especially since it hints at a future story about Rimash’s and Jill’s daughter.  I am looking forward to more in this series.

Savage Estate

Author: Vivien Dean
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publishers URL: http://www.amberquill.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-68175-057-6
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Mystery          
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Alec is getting ready to meet his father for the first time.  Already anxious and unsure how he should act, Alec does not know what to think when he gets to his father’s house and finds the man gone.  When a stranger shows up out of nowhere and he’s magically transported to Montana, Alec starts to wonder just what the hell is going on. 

Savage Estate is Ms. Dean’s newest book and, while not listed as a series on the publisher’s web site, could easily be a great start to an interesting series.  The reader will find themselves easily pulled into the world created by the author.  Alec is a young man used to growing up with one parent.  While he, at times, wished for his father, the love his mother gave him allowed him to grow up a strong individual sure about what he wanted.  When he gets a message from his father asking to meet him just days before his 25th birthday, he is unsure what to think.  For someone getting ready to meet an absent parent for the first time, Alec’s insecurities and confusion is understandable and believable.  Even later in the story, after the two have been together for a while, the anger that pops up is realistic. 

Needless to say, things do not go as Alec envisioned and he soon finds himself in a world he never thought existed.  Not only is he faced with a still missing father, he meets Rowan, a gorgeous, hot young man that happens to be a black panther shape-shifter who also just happens to be Alec’s new familiar.  While their original meeting may have been on the rocky side, there is a connection between the two that is easy to see.  Once Alec finds himself with family he never knew about, things really start moving.

There are a lot of twists and turns in this story.  Not everyone is who they say they are and the actions of those closest to them aren’t always what is expected.  This book has everything needed to make it a must read.  The chemistry between the main characters is intense, the mystery that Alec and Rowan find themselves in and the actions of the secondary characters is sure to make this a favorite of many readers.

While I have read several books by Ms. Dean, Savage Estate is by far my favorite and I hope the author plans to bring these characters back again.


Kort’s Treasure

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0441-3
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Gargoyle Kort is a flirt, but he’s been waiting three hundred years for his mate and to have him be the first male in his bed. It’s been difficult especially when others are finding their mates, but one day he catches a whiff of the one meant for him. It just happens to be on the clothes of another gargoyle’s mate. Kort learns the scent comes from a human named Mace Capston, who’s been a patient in the emergency room after suffering several injuries.  

Kort’s anxious to meet his mate and sets up a vigil outside the human’s home. When the opportunity to talk with Mace arises, Kort takes it but it leaves him wanting more. One night while watching, Kort spies a man sneaking into Mace’s home and to keep him safe, Kort takes Mace back to the estate. Can Kort convince Mace they were meant for each other and that he’s not a monster to be feared?

Kort’s Treasure is release thirteen in A Paranormal’s Love by Charlie Richards. I don’t know that it’s necessary that all the books be read in order but readers should be aware of the close ongoing relationships of the characters.

I like Kort and Mace. They seem like sweet guys who deserve committed life partners. The author did a nice job setting up the plot in the opening pates by describing what is going on in their lives. The details of how Mace ended up in the ER are just descriptive enough without making the story maudlin. Then there’s Kort and how he became aware that Mace is his mate. Finding Mace’s scent on another man’s clothing is a fun and unexpected twist that made me smile after the seriousness of the previous pages.

These two are a good match and I like them together. As with all the other releases in the series, this one is about the same length, so Kort and Mace feel the pull of the mate bond and their relationship moves on immediately. It’s not that I think it wasn’t written well. I’m having a problem because of the emotional and physical abuse Mace suffered. He should have some residual problems and aside from his cast, nothing is mentioned. I’m not trying to be nit-picky but I find that lack totally unrealistic. 

Even so, the rest of the book worked for me and I enjoyed seeing so many of the previous characters woven into the plot. I can’t wait to see who is featured next.

Myth Adventures

Author: Ally Blue
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: samhainpublishing.com
ISBN: 9781619230293
Genre: {M/M} Mystery Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 
Release Date: October 6, 2015

Adrian Broussard and Greg Woodhall are looking forward to a weekend of fun at the OutlantaCon; instead they encounter weird creatures and a creepy escalator leading to a parallel reality.  

Myth Adventures is the third book in the Mojo Mysteries series. This series is a spinoff of the Bay City Paranormal Investigations series. The plot is a nail biting action thriller featuring mythical creatures summoned by a corrupt psychic and his followers. The paranormal activities have been going on in Atlanta for years, but the reports of strange events were hidden from the public by the police.

Adrian and Greg have been in a relationship for five years and they live in Chapel Hill where they are both students.

Adrian has a strong telekinetic power; he prefers to avoid large crowds of people because it interferes with his ability to identify paranormal entities. Nevertheless, Adrian attended the convention to please Greg.

Greg is a people person; he thrives on making new friends wherever he goes. Greg does not have any unusual intuition other than an overwhelming curiosity. It is Greg’s inquisitiveness that provoked the terrifying escapades he and Adrian barely survived. 

My impression, Ally Blue has created an outstanding saga that I enjoyed immensely. The storyline is frightening as well as thought provoking, what if there is some validity to Myths? The characters are superb though at times I was highly displeased with Greg’s dismissal of Adrian’s warnings.