Friday, February 22, 2013

After the End


Author: Alex Kidwell
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62380-308-7
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: Recommended Read
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Dragon Minx

When Quinn O’Malley’s partner dies of cancer, he can hardly cope. He withdraws from life, pushes his friends away and cocoons himself in the memories of his ten years with Aaron. He hides behind his grief, working in his comic book store, but he’s lost the joy of life—and forget about his art or dating again.

Despite his reluctance, Quinn’s best friend insists he move on with his life. She arranges a blind date with Brady, a gorgeous party planner, and suddenly Quinn’s world is taking a direction he didn’t expect. Brady’s making him think about possibilities and its scaring him—and making him feel guilty. Can Quinn let go of his hold on the past and take that first step forward into the future and begin anew—with Brady?

After The End is the first book by this talented author that I’ve had the pleasure of reading but it won’t be the last. Okay. I admit it. I don’t often gush about a book but I love this one. A lot. The premise isn’t particularly original but the manner in which the heartwarming story comes across reminds you that there’s always hope. The plot isn’t perfect because there are times Quinn’s attitude got on my nerves but at the same time, it’s everything a book should be. It’s sad, funny, filled with grief and pain, has some snappy dialogue, it’s witty, heartbreaking, has lots of angst and is ultimately highly entertaining. Add to these, great descriptions, wonderful personalities, a smooth plot flow, and even Winston—the cute cat.

Some people might be put off by the amount of angst found in this story but it’s also the reality of life. People handle grief differently and have difficulty moving past the death of the ones they love. So despite the deep pain this story is realistic, but through it all Brady is great, allowing Quinn to work through his feelings at his own speed. Yes, I got teary but this story deserves the emotion. Okay, I’m done. Just know that I’ll be reading this one again in the future.

Conquered Match


Title:  Conquered Match
Author:  Lynne Silver
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781419940903
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Thea realizes just how much trouble she is in when Ryan and his boss confront her in the lab after she goes to the press about the soldiers.

The second book in the Coded for Love series, Conquered Match, is about a troubled marriage after a miscarriage.  Thea loses her baby and after the doctor in charge of the program that she and her husband are in says some very hurtful things, she strikes out for revenge.

Ryan decides that enough is enough and sets out to take charge of his marriage. What follows are both people learning about each other instead of walking on eggshells around each other.  Neither has really allowed their emotions to surface about the tragedy they experienced, however, I don’t think Thea set out to hurt Ryan. 

While the chemistry between Ryan and Thea is hot, I wanted more about how they resolved their situation and dealt with their feelings and the aftermath of the miscarriage.  I felt a little like it was left hanging and not really resolved.

I am looking forward to the next book in this series.  While readers don’t need to read the first book, I encourage you to do so as it explains a lot about the genetically enhanced soldier program referred to in this book.

A Volatile Range


Author: Andrew Grey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62380-334-6
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Western Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

In the year since he left the Marines, Gordon Fisher’s wandered the country, sleeping in his car.  He’s out of money and nearly desperate when he’s approached by a group of eco-terrorists and convinced to release some mistreated animals on a nearby ranch. Except they’re rescued big cats being cared for by Wally and getting close results in Gordon losing some flesh.

Mario Laria catches Gordon but he feels sorry for the man when he learns Gordon was duped. He feels worse on discovering Gordon’s circumstances. Wally initially wants him gone, but Gordon needs Dakota to doctor him, so he stays at the ranch as the new hired hand. Despite his past hurt, Mario can’t deny his attraction and starts to fall in love. But the military is looking for Gordon and they don’t know how that will change their future.

A Volatile Range is the newest release in The Range series by Andrew Grey. The setting is the same and there are many returning characters, so I recommend the books be read in order.

It’s a beautifully written story that combines three things that make a good book. A nicely plotted mystery with just enough action to keep it interesting and a believable romance between two people you can care about. In this case Mario and Gordon fit that description perfectly and Mr. Grey’s done a great job developing their personalities. Mario is loving and willing to open his home and heart—and there’s emotionally wounded Gordon. I like this man. He’s suffering from PTSD and I appreciate how well the author handles this sensitive issue of our returning military servicemen. Watching Gordon battle this is pretty heart wrenching.

Add in an interesting premise, a smooth flow, plenty of twists, sizzling sex and vivid imagery and you have why this is one of my favorite books in the series. I really hope that these great guys play a prominent role in a future release or I’ll be seriously disappointed. I don’t know who’ll be featured in the next one but I can’t wait.

Devil’s Angel


Title:  Devil’s Angel
Author:  Mallery Malone
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61921-438-5
Genre:  {M/F} Historical
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Erika Silverhair‘s life changed drastically the day she decided to walk a warrior’s path.  It was the only way to keep her freedom, even though she feared her role as The Angel of Death.  For years, she’d taken her destiny and the responsibility of others into her own hands.  Now, Erika’s been captured, along with her brother, and falsely accused of a raid.  If she’s not careful, Erika might lose something more precious than her independence, like her heart. 

Though it had been attempted twice, Conor Mac Ferghal, The Devil of Dunlough, vowed that no woman was going to put an end to him.  Only his sister understood the private hell that Conor lived through.  His dark menacing attire and scarred face puts fear in the hearts of many and helps him protect his people.  However, this female prisoner didn’t recoil from him as most did.  Her fire and passion was making him curious.  Conor promised the woman freedom, once he got to the bottom of things, but he was starting to regret his promise. 

Erika and Conor agree to hash it out with swords on the battlefield for her freedom, and Erika loses.  New developments and feelings of guilt make Erika agree to Conor’s terms of marriage.  Too many lives have been affected by her decision to go on the run.  Each day brings Erika and Conor closer and farther apart at the same time.  Erika doesn’t believe that Conor wants her for the right reasons because Conor can’t be honest about his feelings for her, not even with himself. 

Family and obligation weighs heavily on Erika and Conor’s shoulders, but it doesn’t dampen the fire between them.  But no amount of incredible love making can make Erika change her plans of leaving Conor when it’s time.  Conor’s confession of love eventually comes, but not before things take a bad turn.  Though they appear to be as different as night and day, Conor and Erika are the perfect balance for each other and eventually they both give in.  I appreciated the extreme differences about their clothing and body types.  The author gave me a wonderful visual.   Each of them has a strong bond with their sibling that I found admirable and touching.  Even after the horrible experiences that hardened their hearts, Conor and Erika experienced unconditional love, as unaware as they were.  The glimpse into their souls let me see how selfless they both were, even though all around them didn’t have such insight.  Understanding what made them tick didn’t make me feel sorry for either of them though.  I was more impressed, if anything. 

Erika fixed the scar on Conor’s heart and he, in turn, gave her the home and security she needed all along.  Part of me doesn’t want Erika to put down her swords because I love the idea of her fighting for those who can’t fight for themselves.  Then the other part of me imagines her fighting beside her man and nothing can be hotter than that.  I love the idea of Conor and Erika in battle together, in and out of the bedroom.  Plus, Erika’s brother and Conor’s sister gained a special place in my heart and I need to hear more about them.  There’s no doubt in my mind that Devil’s Angel will be a hit with everyone that picks it up.

Black Hawk Tattoo


Author: Aundrea Singer
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-62380-280-6
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Twenty-two year old Gabriel Navarro is a busy guy. He’s trying to complete his master’s degree while working in a tattoo shop. He’s a talented artist who never expects his life to change with the appearance of one new client, but that’s exactly what happens. When Iraqi war veteran Jake MacLean walks into his tattoo parlor wanting a special tattoo, Gabe’s world is turned upside down.

Jake has a severe case of survivor’s guilt and he struggles daily to deal with his emotions. His life is a mess. After being discharged from a military hospital in the United States, he moved to Toronto to be with his sister, in hopes of straightening out his life. But he won’t talk about his troubles or see a counselor and when he begins seeing Gabe, he’s worried that his panic attacks will interfere with their growing relationship. As his condition worsens, Jake’s fears his anger will spill over and he’ll hurt the one he cares about the most—Gabe.

Because of the PTSD Jake deals with in the story, I was initially reluctant to read Black Hawk Tattoo. The subject matter of the mental health of our military servicemen seemed too depressing a topic for a romance but the realistic way it unfolds—it totally works. Yes, the issue is difficult and makes the plot heavy and filled with angst but it’s also an eye-opening look into the lives of those suffering from this very real problem. I’m so glad I decided to take a chance on this heart-heavy story.

Since I’ve never read anything by Ms. Singer, I wasn’t certain what to expect from this unfamiliar author. I needn’t have worried. She takes this serious subject and turns it into a compelling story, easily integrating the tough subjects of survivor’s guilt, family, flashbacks, trust, fear, anger, and alcoholism. She then mixes these together with two vastly dissimilar men and makes their relationship work. Yes, it’s difficult at times for Gabe because of Jake’s PTSD but that’s the reality of their life together and hot sex and love can’t fix it. It takes work and time. I’ll be reading this one again in the future.

The Vampire Contract


Author: RJ Scott
Publisher: Extasy Books 
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-77111-451-6
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Wolf shifter Connor Strand had never questioned the integrity of the council before tracking down murder suspect vampire Micah Jamieson. The encounter with Micah, as well as the time spent in his presence, leads Connor to believe this case is actually an ominous scheme of manipulation. As more evidence begins to surface, Connor and Micah realize they are both victims.

The Vampire Contract is the first book in the Supernatural Bounty Hunters series. The intriguing plot features Micah and Connor, who are on a mission to discover the council members behind the murder indictment. The characters are engaging. Connor is a bounty hunter who prides himself in doing a good job. Connor always assumed charges brought against suspects were justified. Being an honest man, it did not occur to him that corruption in the government was a possibility. Although Connor had doubts, his wolf side decided Micah is innocent, in addition to being Connor’s chosen mate.  Micah is an intelligent compassionate man who refused to follow the vampire traditions of his heritage. Micah’s chosen career was a teacher before he became a pawn for the council.
 
RJ Scott has created an exceptionally humorous saga. I particularly enjoyed the argumentative interaction between Connor and Micah. However, the passionate attraction between them is clearly illustrated.   

Sweet Cherry


Title: Sweet Cherry
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN/BIN: none
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary BDSM Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

The idea that BDSM could be anything but a fantasy never occurred to Rafe until he does a little internet research and finds that it’s all true. Then he finds the Hammer Club and discovers there’s a Laundromat across the street where he can watch the men going inside. The question is can he gather the courage to approach the front door and seek entrance himself?

Bobby is a bored Dom. When he hears two servers talking about the young man watching the club from across the street, he sends a note of invitation to join him. Is it possible that this unknown young man is just what he’s been looking for?

Sweet Cherry is the newest release in Sean Michael’s Hammer series. It was originally part of the Cherry on Top anthology and can be read out of order in the Hammer world of books.

This one is short—just a little over 5k, so there isn’t time for much personality development, but there is a basic understanding of what is going on with both men. The story is pretty basic for a BDSM book and follows Rafe and his initial introduction into what the lifestyle means. It shows Rafe’s first experience with BDSM, and while he and Bobby don’t ‘go all the way’, the scene is still plenty hot.

I enjoyed the opening scene set in the Hammer main room. It gives a good feel for the atmosphere inside, the descriptions are nicely done, the dialogue fun and if you’re a series reader, it gives a brief sense of the familiar with Jeremy and Xavier. I guess my biggest complaint is the length—maybe in this case it’s just too short for what the author is attempting to cover. There’s a sense of a potential for Rafe and Bobby but I’m still left feeling unsatisfied at the end.

Steel Dominance


Title:  Steel Dominance
Author:  Cari Silverwood
Publisher:  Loose Id
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:   978-1-62300-101-8
Genre:  {M/F}, {M/F/F}, Ménage, BDSM, Steampunk, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Sofia has to act like a slave to Dankyo or she will not be able to enter the tomb of the Clockwork Warrior in Byzantium.  If they aren’t careful though, both could end up dead.

Steel Dominance is the third book in The Steamwork Chronicles.   From the Emperor’s guard to Dankyo and his friends, this is a very fast-paced story that keeps you on your toes.  The author introduces some very interesting customs throughout the story.  There are a lot of twists and turns as well.  Some of the secondary characters were from the previous books, but a few of the new ones have some very complex personalities. 

As Sofia and Dankyo try to solve the riddle and come to terms with their evolving relationship, there are some very heavy intrigues going on around them.  I was aware of a very big one almost from the beginning, though as the author weaves it throughout the story, I kept trying to figure out when Sofia and Dankyo would realize they were being betrayed.  I was surprised about the circumstances when everything came to ahead.

The chemistry between Sofia and Dankyo is hot from the beginning.  As their relationship evolves and Sofia learns more about her desires, Dankyo pushes her boundaries big time.  One big hot BDSM scene includes one of the harem girls that Sofia is friends with and it scorches the pages.  I was a little upset with Dankyo as he seemed a little wishy-washy sometimes when he and Sofia started to talk about their feelings.

Even though readers do not need to read the entire series, I encourage you to do so.  One thing I do hope is that there are more books in the future for this series.  This series happens to be the first time I have read steampunk, and Ms. Silverwood has made me a fan.

Tuesday, February 19, 2013

Trill To Me Sweetly


Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-77111-450-9
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Gargoyle leader Maelgwn’s plans to leave Stone Ridge and return to his home in Durango, Colorado change when he catches the scent of Bobby, his human mate. Bobby has shifter friends but he’s still ignorant of the paranormal world. That makes getting close to Bobby difficult. Maelwn’s forced to watch from a distance until the night he rescues his mate from a mugger.

Bobby tired of the abuse he gets from his boyfriend Seth’s buddies and needs a change in his life. When he’s attacked in an alley, Bobby is certain he’s going to be seriously hurt but then a man leaps from the shadows and rescues him. The sound of the man’s voice makes him tingle and he’s suddenly agreeing to dinner in the park. Meeting Maelgwn, even if he stays in the shadows, is better than he imagines. Can Maelgwn convince Bobby that being with a creature out of myth and legend is his destiny?

Trill To Me Sweetly is the first release in Charlie Richards new paranormal series, A Paranormal’s Love. It’s a spin-off from her popular Wolves of Stone Ridge series.

The series has a lot of potential if this first book is any indication and using familiar characters as secondary’s and the reason for Maelgwn to be in Stone Ridge is a great way to start off. Trill To Me Sweetly is only 118 pages but despite that short length, the author develops a pretty good storyline that kept my interest. Yes, Bobby and Maelgwn’s attraction is immediate as often happens in paranormal romances. Still, the author creates a getting-to-know-you personal relationship between the men—one that looks past Maelgwn’s well described non-human appearance. 

I like Bobby and Maelgwn. Both guys have nice personalities and do a good job of providing balance for the other. In the first half, there’s enough background of Bobby’s history with Seth to understand the need for their break-up. His abuse was ongoing and even if the friends were behind it, Seth does nothing to stop it. That’s why I’m shocked at how easily Bobby forgave him in the end. That didn’t make sense.

There’s plenty of tension once Bobby moves to Maelgwn’s home. Plus it’s not long before action, danger and suspense makes an appearance because of some unsavory vampires. There’s just a lot going on during this second half and many new people are added too. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next one. 

Wesley


Title: Wesley
Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN: 978-1-78184-226-3
Genre: {M/M} Wereshifters Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Snow Leopard Wesley Ward resented being sent to live with his older brother until Wes discovered his mate Armando, another volunteer at the LGBT youth shelter. Both Wes and Armando had issues they were struggling to overcome. Acknowledging they were mates helped both men tear down the barriers surrounding their hearts.

Wesley is the eighth book in the Leopard’s Spots series. This episode illustrates the physical, as well as, emotional damage inflicted upon gay youths by the homophobic extremist.  Having experienced emotional pain in their own lives, Wes and Armando could easily relate to the young men and women at the shelter. When one of the residents is kidnapped and taken to a brainwashing boot camp, Wes, Armando and an unknown shifter were determined to rescue the youth. Also featured is the developing romance between Wes and Armando.

Wesley is an impressive and enjoyable addition to this series, which is best read in sequence.

Reader Advisory: This book contains references to sexual assault in the past.

Blind Faith


Title: Blind Faith
Author: N.R. Walker
Publisher: Silver Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 9781614958765
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Moving and starting a new job is an exciting step for Carter Reese. When the young veterinarian takes over at his new clinic, he doesn’t expect to find something out of the past—house calls. Luckily it’s only for a few unique patients but one in particular, Isaac Brannigan, catches his interest. He’s an attractive blind man with a huge chip on his shoulder, making him act rude and arrogant. Isaac lost his beloved guide dog Rosie two years ago, and hasn’t been able to warm up to Brady, his new dog since. Carter can feel the distance between the troubled man and loving dog. Can Carter help heal the breach between them while dealing with his intense attraction to Isaac?

Blind Faith is the newest release by N.R. Walker. I’ve only had the opportunity to read one other book by this author, Taxes and TARDIS, and I enjoyed it just as much. Know that I’ll be looking for other releases by Ms. Walker in the future. You should too.

I really enjoyed this book. It’s not perfect but reminds me of an old-fashioned courting story and sucked me in from the very beginning and kept the pages turning until the very end. What can I say, I’m a sucker for a sweet and heartwarming romance—and it even has a great dog character in Brady. What makes it even better is how well the author integrates real life events—as Carter and Isaac develop a relationship at the same time Isaac deals with the problems from his past. There aren’t any instant declarations of love in this story and that’s what makes it so plausible. The attraction and development of the personal relationship of these two vastly dissimilar men are allowed to progress at a believable pace, which I appreciate.

The writing is nicely done in this one, with a smooth plot flow and vivid descriptions, some which made me chuckle and others that made me a little teary (yes, call me a sap). There’s also a good integration of the secondary characters—Carter’s best friend Mark is a hoot and Isaac’s sister, Hannah is the perfect, nurturing older sister. Oh, I almost forgot to mention the sex. Its present but isn’t explicit, which doesn’t take anything away from it being a wonderfully heartwarming story that I’ll read again in the future.

The Dryad in Her Pool


Author:  Allie Standifer
Publisher:  Total-E-Bound Publishing
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78184-205-8
Genre:  {M/F} Paranormal, Contemporary
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

The last thing Quinn Painton expected to find in her backyard was the most jaw droppingly, handsome man she’d ever laid eyes on.  Her libido took the lead over logic while Quinn considered all the wonderful things they could do together.  Why did the hot, naked guy have to ruin everything by speaking?  Now Quinn had to question not only her sanity, but his as well.

Reece Oaks has more problems than the raging hangover he wakes up with.  His mind is a jumbled mess, but his body has no trouble remembering the sable haired beauty who seemed upset.  Apparently Reece had found his mate and possibly lost her at the same time. 

The attraction is there immediately between Quinn and Reece, as always with mates.  Unfortunately, Reece rubs Quinn the wrong way and she’s hesitant to believe everything he says.  After finally accepting the fact that Reece wasn’t crazy, Quinn absorbed all it meant to be his mate. 

The Dryad in Her Pool is a quick read with a fine balance of humor and heat.  Reece was a bit of a pig when he was drunk, so I loved the wisecracks Quinn shared with him.  I love a strong female character who isn’t afraid to unleash her wrath, even when she feels vulnerable.  Don’t misunderstand though by thinking that Reece wasn’t an honorable guy because he was.  He just wasn’t very good at holding his tree sap.  I giggled out loud after reading some of the things he’d done while drunk.  I had fun visualizing some of the events, and I know readers will agree.

Choosing His Christmas Miracle


Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher’s URL: http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-77111-385-4
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Raul spent years working as a spotter for a crazy assassin.  When his friend, Jared, returns home to Colorado for a family wedding, he falls into the world of shape-shifters, pulling Raul along behind him.  Now Raul has found his mate and Raul is wondering just what he is supposed to be doing now.

Choosing His Christmas Miracle was the holiday addition to the Wolves of Stone Ridge series.  The story centers on Raul that fans of this series will remember from previous books.  At the beginning of Choosing His Christmas Miracle, the readers find out that Raul has found his mate, a wolf from another pack.  Once Jared finds out about Raul having a mate and that the mate is male, he goes out of his way to give his friend a hard time.  More than once, I found myself laughing at the behavior between the friends.

Sean realized Raul was his mate almost from the beginning, but is unable to acknowledge him.  Months later when Sean shows up on Raul’s doorstep, he is unsure of the welcome he would receive.  This is a great pairing. Neither man has experience loving another man, so while there is the mating pull, there is also some uncertainty as well.  I liked watching these two come to terms with the changes in their lives but, as the reader will soon realize, the author throws a couple of major obstacles in their way.  It takes some time before the men come together as a couple, but the end result is very hot.

While I knew to expect a happy ending, the twists and turns this story took resulted in a very intense read and had me worried at times.  Many of the secondary characters are ones familiar to readers.  The way they help both men shows how strong Raul’s and Sean’s connection is to their new pack, regardless of one being human and the other an outsider from another pack.

Choosing His Christmas Miracle is a fast-paced story that will hold the reader’s attention until the last page.  This story makes a great addition to the series and will keep the reader entertained so don’t miss it.

Charming Monsters


Author: Kannan Feng
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-419-8
Genre: {M/M} BDSM
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Research is essential for college professor Wesley, not only for the class he teaches, it is also essential for the book he is writing.  However, someone has hired Jack to stop the progress of Wesley’s research. Fortunately for Wesley, Jack chose not to follow through with the job he was hired to do.

Charming Monsters is a dark short story. The plot is an unforeseen psychological mystery. The standard line between good and evil is distorted to the point that the reader cannot immediately identify the monster. Wesley and Jack are both obsessed with fear, pain and brutal murders. The story exhibits rape, as well as torture. Overall, I enjoyed the building suspense illustrated.  

A Christmas for Ava


Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher’s URL: http://www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-77111-397-7
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

The Coalition has their most important, and probably impossible, mission in front of them; help a little seven year old Leopard shifter believe in Santa Claus. No one knows just how they will be able to grant her wish, but if her father, Shane, has any say in it his little girl will have her Christmas wish.

A Christmas for Ava is the 21st book in The Lost Shifters series.  Bringing many of my favorite couples back, this quick read soon became my favorite holiday addition to a series.  This outstanding story starts off with laughs.  Seeing Brett try to play Santa was funny, especially when confronted by Ava.  I could not believe the way he fell into her trap and her statements to Shane afterwards were priceless. 

Unfortunately, things do not stay light for long.  When the men are called out on an emergency, it starts looking like Christmas will be the same as any other day.  It is nice to see that even after the couples have settled down with their mates, they have stayed just as crazy as ever.  No one should get as excited about a flamethrower the way Shane does and the way they plan to get revenge against Lenius had me wrinkling my nose, it was that nasty.  I did feel bad for Carson when it soon became apparent that he had a personal connection with the latest creep the Coalition was after, but knew his Cub would be there for him when he got back to Coalition headquarters.

While no Christmas story should have blood and guts in it, these guys would not be who they are if they did not get into a little fight every now and then.  It is during this time that Ava gets her Christmas wish, and the scene that follows with Keegan is heartwarming.  The author does an outstanding job wrapping up A Christmas for Ava and had me close to tears in the process.  I am sure fans of this series will love this story, and I for one will be reading it again.

Bad Attitude


Title: Bad Attitude
Author: K. A. Mitchell
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN: 978-1-61921-531-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Publication Date: 04-23-2013

It was an accident, although Gavin Montgomery’s family was not fully convinced. Police rescue diver Jamie Donnigan also had doubts until Jamie and Gavin developed an insecure friendship with benefits. 

Bad Attitude is the third book in the Bad in Baltimore series. The plot centers around two men afraid to show their true emotions. Gavin is part of the idle rich crowd, born into money with no purpose or goals. Gavin follows whatever his family and friends expect of him, rather than make his own decisions. Gavin has learned to blend into the background at gatherings so he can escape unnoticed. All of Jamie’s issues at his workplace as well as his personal life are because of his negative attitude. Jamie is so grounded in having a self-protective personality, he did not recognize the budding love he felt for Gavin.

K. A. Mitchell has created an amusing barely friends who become lovers saga that I enjoyed greatly.