Saturday, April 9, 2011

With the Band

Title: With the Band
Author: L.A. Witt
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-978-2
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Aaron knows it’s stupid to date members of the band, which won’t be a problem this time since two of the members are his siblings, and the others are his brother’s long time friends. Besides, while he may have had a crush on Andre at one time, both Koehler brothers are straight. Or are they?

With the Band was a great story from beginning to end. The instant attraction felt by Aaron and Bastian heat up the pages. That these two fall in love almost from the moment they meet is evident and the author does a wonderful job bringing all their emotions across. The two have a very difficult road ahead of them however, one that is made even harder by Bastian’s ex. The fact that Bastian was leery of coming out didn’t help much, either. Although Aaron’s pain came through clearly and made me want to cry, I was glad when he put his foot down.

The rest of the band members bring a great chemistry to the story and liven it up with their banter. From the beginning, it is easy to see how tightly bound the members of the band are and when they add Aaron to the group as their new lead singer, the band becomes even stronger. Yet, these long time friends have a hard time adjusting, once Aaron and Bastian start dating. While it is easy to understand why the other band mates would be concerned; after awhile, I wanted to smack all of them. For a group that was made up of siblings and longtime friends, they showed very little understanding of the two young men.

If you love your romance with a little rock and roll thrown in, then you will love With the Band.

Happy World

Title: Happy World
Author: Kiernan Kelly and Tory Temple
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61040-186-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Kyle Forester is impatiently waiting for his very first trainee to arrive. Trainee Rory Stafford is five minutes late, not a good start for the Trainee’s first day on the job. The theme park has strict regulations and Kyle is going to make sure Rory is fully aware of all of them. Unfortunately, Rory Stafford does not like to follow regulations. Working together for weeks, Kyle and Rory realize they have a mutual desire for each other. What started out as trainer and trainee evolves into a loving relationship.

Happy World is a wonderfully humorous romance, interwoven with emotional turmoil. The setting is Central Florida. The characters are believable. Kyle’s janitorial job was not the career he dreamed of but it paid the bills until an opening for a theme park actor could be achieved. Kyle is shy; he sort of blends into the background, people seemed to forget Kyle exist. Kyle has low self –esteem; he allows his co-workers to walk all over him. Kyle cannot believe that Rory actually wants to spend time with him.

Rory is the only person who shows a real interest in Kyle’s well-being. Rory thinks the theme park handbook composed of a large number of silly rules is amusing. Nevertheless, Rory has a realistic view on issues that impact human rights. Rory also has a few secrets hidden beneath his fun-loving persona - secrets that Rory fears will cause Kyle to reject him. Because of outside meddling from others, Kyle and Rory must endure an emotional roller coaster ride that almost rips them apart. Happy World illustrates how personality opposites can find a happy medium by comprising. Kiernan Kelly and Tory Temple have created an impressive saga that I enjoyed immensely.

Anything You Want

Title: Anything You Want
Author: Erin Nicholas
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-383-4
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: Golden Blush
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Marc Sterling thought he had seen the last of Sabrina Cassidy when she up and left her home and everything from her past in search of fame and fortune as a singer. He can’t say he was sorry to see her go either, as she had caused nothing but heartache for his best friend and business partner, Luke. So he was more than a little surprised to hear her voice on the other end of the phone that fateful day.

It is fair to say that things hadn’t gone exactly according to plan for Sabrina since she started out on her journey of success. She never had made the best decisions when choices were left down to her, but she was slowly making her own way in the world. Well, that is until she met an unscrupulous man who left her penniless and eating for two. There was only one person she could call – her best friend since childhood, Luke.

She thought she had been speaking to Luke on the phone. She was going to get the surprise of her life when Marc came to rescue her. It doesn’t matter that her current situation made him uncharacteristically sympathetic, doesn’t matter that seeing her face after all these years stirred strong feelings he thought he had buried deep down, doesn’t matter that Luke would kill him if he knew he was with the one woman he had proposed to, before she broke his heart and walked away. All Marc cared about was protecting Luke from the spell this woman seemed to cast on them both.

He should have hung up on her…

Anything You Want is one of the best books I have read in a long time. The author did an amazing job of mixing the present situation with the entwined pasts of the characters. I was completely hooked by the apparent disdain Marc held for Sabrina and the honor he felt for Luke. Emotions run high from the start and I just loved the tension as Marc and Sabrina fight their growing attraction. It was really through their eyes that I got to know Luke and to a lesser extent, Sabrina’s father, both very important characters in understanding the situation Marc and Sabrina find themselves in. As things developed, I went from feeling sorry for Luke, the victim, to dislike for the man as he was seemingly trying to force Sabrina into a life she really didn’t want to joy as Luke finally gets Marc to see the light. With wonderful writing and a superb complex plot, humor and sentiment a plenty, amazing chemistry and some very erotic scenes, there is everything I could have asked for in Anything You Want.

Temptation In Lingerie

Title: Temptation In Lingerie
Author: Gina Gordon
Publisher: Lyrical Press
Publisher URL: http://www.lyricalpress.com/
ISBN: 9781616502614
Genre: {M/F}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Carrie has been in love with her brother’s best friend, Aleks, forever, it seems. Aleks walks in on Carrie, trying on one of her creations and then can’t stop thinking about her.

The second book of Bare Naked Designs is an emotional roller coaster as Carrie and Aleks try to come to terms about their changing relationship. Aleks has actually been in love with Carrie but has been afraid to let her know. I found it funny that Carrie goes about trying to seduce Aleks and the way Aleks tries to stay just her friend. Once they get together, Aleks holds back and Carrie starts to get very insecure about herself.

Temptation In Lingerie is a reminder that we should be true to ourselves instead of trying to change for someone else. Aleks wants what Rob and Martina have, but doesn’t think he deserves it or that the relationship will last. The author also introduces a couple of new secondary characters that are sure to show up in the next installment. While you don’t have to read this series in order, you will get the most enjoyment, if you do.

Forever In Lingerie

Title: Forever In Lingerie
Author: Gina Gordon
Publisher: Lyrical Press
Publisher URL: http://www.lyricalpress.com/
ISBN: 9781616502096
Genre: {M/F/M}, Ménage, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Martina is modeling a piece of lingerie for her friends, who are drinking and talking about their fantasies and what they want from a man. When Rob and Aleks walk into the hall and overhear what’s being said, Rob decides he will be the man she wants.

Forever in Lingerie is a look at a woman who has been running after the death of her sister and a man that is looking for a woman to be his forever. All of us have dreams about what we want to do, but sometimes they aren’t really what we want. I think the author captured this very well in the story.

We all want a man who isn’t afraid to give and once Rob gets to that point, I wanted to slap Martina for not grabbing on with both hands. The sex between Rob and Martina is hot but watch out for Rob’s jealousy, once he asks Aleks to join them to fulfill one of Martina’s fantasies. The author talks about why she decided to do stories around pieces of lingerie and I found that idea intriguing. I am looking forward to the next story in the Bare Naked Designs series.

Dancing with Dionysus

Title: Dancing with Dionysus
Author: Joanna Wylde
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419930645
Genre: {M/F} Fantasy
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rogue Satyr

Kalliara is a young weaver, living on an island claimed by the god Dionysus. She is the daughter of a priestess to the Goddess Athena, who was shipwrecked on the island and died giving birth to Kalliara. Kalliara is the only one on the island that worships Athena. Besides humans, the island is populated by creatures favored by Dionysus, called the Maenads; satyrs, nymphs and wild women that shred to death any living thing they come across. Dionysus’ son, Sabiniano, rules the island. Every year there is a month long ‘festival’ when all of Dionysus’ creatures run wild and crazed, while humans huddle in their strong stone houses and pray to Dionysus. When Kalliara is captured by tormenting nymphs, Sabiniano ‘senses’ her fear. He also knows instantly she is not a worshipper of Dionysus. More intriguingly, he notices she is a virgin. Kalliara escapes the nymphs when they are attacked by drunken satyrs. Sabiniano gives chase. He wants to rape the little human over and over and when done with her, plans on giving her to the satyrs and nymphs, and when they are done with her, to the Maenads. Kalliara madly follows an owl. She comes to a cliff near a waterfall and the owl hovers in front of her. She realizes it is a sign from Athena and she steps calmly to her death, to be taken to the Underworld by the goddess herself.

Dionysus is outraged and tells Athena he is going to bring Kalliara back from the dead and give her to Sabiniano. But where Dionysus is bestial and blunt, Athena is intelligent and subtle. She goes to her sister Aphrodite. She warns Athena that her plan to make Sabiniano fall in love with Kalliara won’t work unless there is a tiny bit of love in Sabiniano’s cold, ruthless heart. Athena hopes there is enough for Aphrodite to work with…

Dancing with Dionysus is an enjoyable book. It is heavily based on Greek myth, but the author has taken artistic license with the myths to better match the plot. It is an exciting one that leaves the reader anxious to find out what happens next. Kalliara and Sabiniano are interesting, likable characters. The author warps ancient Greek myths almost to the degree where it nearly caused me to dislike the book. This was especially true of the personalities of the gods and goddesses. I think, however, this will only apply to a few readers, like me, that are very knowledgeable about the myths and like them unadulterated. For those that do not know much about Greek myths the author skillfully explains things in a nonintrusive manner. I do feel that there were some symbolic connections that were either chances missed by the author or were meant to be vague on purpose. On the whole, Dancing with Dionysus is a very erotic and suspenseful story that will keep readers both hot and bothered.

Jacey, Fynn & Aden

Title: Jacey, Fynn & Aden
Author: Nerine Petros
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61040-190-6
Genre: {M/M/M} Shape-Shifters
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Jacey had set out to distract himself from the lure of Flynn and Aden only to wake up the next morning hurting from his drinking binge after a night at the local bar. Jacey is dingo shifters Fynn and Aden’s mate; nevertheless Jacey continues to state publicly that he is straight.

Jacey, Fynn & Aden is the second book in the Shifting Perspectives series. The humorous storyline is about the five member gay Dingo shifter pack that had recently moved from Fraser Island. The setting is rural Australia. There is a brief segment of intimacy. The characters are believable. When Oliver, whom I met in the first book, moved the butcher shop he owned onto the shifter’s ranch, Jacey continues to work for Oliver as an assistant butcher. Jacey is somewhat of a loner. For years, Jacey had kept his true sexuality hidden from everyone including himself until Flynn declared, after a kiss, that Jacey is their mate.

Flynn has a take-charge personality, which makes it very hard for him to wait for Jacey to come to them willingly. Aden presents a calm demeanor most of the time. Aden also has a rare gift that the other shifters are not conscious of. Flynn and Aden had known there was a chance there may be a third mate for them, so it was no surprise when their instincts lead them to Jacey. All that remains is for Flynn and Aden to teach their human mate what it means to be bonded to two dingo shifters. Nerine Petros has created an exceptional, as well as exceedingly enjoyable saga. I look forward to the next episode of this series.

America Coming

Title: America Coming
Author: Ken Potter
Publisher: Devine Destines
Publisher URL: http://www.devinedestinies.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary; Short Story
Rating: 1.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Sometimes, in order to figure out where we are going, we must look back to where we have come from. They say we are all the sum of our experiences. As two people head out on a journey that awakens memories of long ago, they have the chance to contemplate all that they are and take the opportunity to decide on their future.

America Coming is a thirteen page story that seems to encompass the spirit of an age as two people try to find their place in a society that they have grown up alongside. Unfortunately, I am not at all sure if this is what the author is trying to portray, as I was confused by a lot of what was happening, but that is what it seemed to be about to me. As the main character lets the reader in on his memories of a brief meeting with Bobby Kennedy as a child; a memory that sets the scene for his present day journey into the unknown, I am left with little warmth for the character. The negative descriptions of the people he observed as a boy that day were, to me, unnecessary and left an unpleasant taste in my mouth that stayed throughout. Also, there were hints of him being unable to commit to a relationship with his companion because of being too focused on his own development to let somebody else in, which I feel could have been explored more. By the end, it is a shame to say that I wasn’t sure what conclusions the characters had made from their journey, or what was in store for them in the future. Maybe that was the point.

So Happy Together, a Hammer Story

Title: So Happy Together, a Hammer story
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerepress.com/
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary BDSM
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Happy loves his job waiting tables at the Hammer but is thrilled to have three days off. He’s determined not to bother his beloved Master while Nic works, so plans to shop, dance and learn Tae Bo occupy his time. What Happy doesn’t know is that Nic has other ideas. Nic knows what his boy needs and Happy has no problems changing his plans to play sub to his lover…his Master.

So Happy Together is the latest release in the world of the BDSM club, the Hammer. It’s a short look into the lives of a Dom giving his sub what he needs to be content in his own skin, whether that mean, sex, spanking or using ropes for a little silent time. The first few pages show nicely how well the men interact on a day to day basis…you can feel the love and affection that they feel for each other. From there, they move to other parts of the house where they spend the remainder of the story in typical Hammer fashion, with Nic helping Happy focus and finding his center…his calm.

Wednesday, April 6, 2011

A Rancher’s Promise

Title: A Rancher’s Promise
Author: Marie Rochelle
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-598-5
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary, Interracial
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Kyle Houston is a man who cherishes the peace and quiet on his secluded ranch. Life taught him how deceptive people can be, and Kyle has vowed to never forget that again. Having his heart stomped on once was enough. When his brother shows up begging for help, Kyle doesn’t exactly welcome him with open arms. His attraction to the breathtaking beauty with his brother was unexpected and unwanted. Anyone affiliated with his brother was obviously up to something questionable and Kyle wanted no part of it.

A sticky situation has lead Amerie Palmer to Kyle’s doorstep with his brother, Stuart. The moment she lays eyes on Kyle, Amerie is drawn to him, despite the fact that he had been nothing but rude and nasty to her. When Stuart disappears, Amerie has no choice but to accept Kyle’s less than hospitable offer to stay as his houseguest. The more time she spends with him, the more convinced Amerie becomes that she can never tell Kyle the truth about why she is running. It will only put him in danger and she couldn’t deal with having his blood on her hands.

Lust turns into love between Amerie and Kyle, but things are far from perfect. The danger that Amerie is hiding from catches up to her and threatens to destroy her relationship with Kyle. Kyle’s brother and Amerie’s mother are in danger, as well. Amerie only has two choices to save everyone. Either she gives herself up and breaks Kyle’s heart by walking away or she divulges everything and prays that Kyle can protect them all.

I love a strong woman who isn’t afraid to speak her mind and Amerie definitely fits this description. Her mother’s situation is a sad, common one, that I know will hit home with the readers and make them think. I understood her hesitance in asking Kyle to get involved, but part of me wanted her to ask for his help. Kyle is a great guy who puts on a cold front. His true friends and brother know how deeply he really feels things and, for the most part, they try not to push his buttons. There is a scene where Kyle reminds Stuart of his dislike for being touched that left me yearning for more explanation. The link between Amerie’s mother and Stuart was a surprise that I didn’t expect. My curiosity over Stuart grew by the time I finished this story. Although readers discover a major issue that put a strain on the brother’s relationship, it seems that there are several more. I would definitely be interested to go deeper into Stuart’s past. A Rancher’s Promise is a sweet happily ever after story, with a suspenseful side story added in. Readers will enjoy this dramatic love story from The Queen of Tease, Marie Rochelle.

Carol's Mate

Title: Carol's Mate
Author: Zena Wynn
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-906-5
Genre: {M/F} African American, Paranormal, Shape-shifter
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Carol Scott has a dream and the determination to see it fulfilled. Attending college is the first step to ensuring her pack, The Ravens, have the proper medical facility and treatment needed for their existence. Dating has no place in the plans and neither does love. Carol believed a mate should come later down the road, but Mark didn’t get the memo.

Mark Johnson grew up in a tough part of Philly. Between his former career and living in his old stomping grounds, he has street and book smarts. The handsome man never had a woman turn down his advances until he met Carol.

The two are instantaneously attracted to one another, but there is one huge obstacle standing in Carol’s way. Mark is human. Mark is going to prove that he’s man enough to tame the wolf and claim his mate.

After reading about Carol and Mark in previous stories, I assumed their love affair would be quick and easy. Was I ever wrong! The two have complications from the offset, but Mark is too focused on the prize to give up easily.

Carol’s apprehension was understandable. Sometimes others can make us lose focus of our dreams and aspirations. Her desire for the future didn’t just impact her life but that of her pack. That one act showed her selflessness and that she deserved a loving commitment. I don’t know if I could have walked away from Mark and not sniffed him out, but she did a great job of trying to stick to her guns.

Mark is a man after my heart. Intelligent, handsome, loving and devoted, he’s the type of man every woman wishes to be blessed with as a mate. What I loved about him the most was how he cared about Carol’s dreams enough to help keep them both on track. Sometimes people we encounter never see how important our dreams are and sabotage them, but Mark refused to allow anything to stand in Carol’s way.

I’m so happy that Zena Wynn brought us their story in Carol's Mate. The erotic scenes were spectacular and kept the pages blazing. Those who’ve enjoyed the True Mates series will be begging for more.

Spring Comes to Sanctuary

Title: Spring Comes to Sanctuary
Author: Cooper McKenzie
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-361-1
Genre: {M/F/M}, Ménage, Shape-shifter
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Spring decides to go hiking for her 30th birthday but ends up in trouble, due to the weather. Adam and Brock come across her as wolfhounds and shift in front of her, causing her to pass out. Once they get close to her, they realize she is the mate they have been looking for.

Spring Comes to Sanctuary is a fun, fast paced story about the Sullivan family, a family of Irish Wolfhound shifters. Spring is one of four siblings named after each season. I had to laugh when I read that little whimsical fact. The chemistry between Spring, Adam, and Brock will scorch the pages, but all of them are a little insecure. There is also a twist that is all too true to life and has caused quite a bit of anguish for Spring. Some of the facts about the men in the Sullivan family are intriguing. I would have liked to have had a little more information about each man. I am looking forward to reading about the rest of the family in the future.

Possession

Title: Possession
Author: S.W. Vaughn
Publisher: Resplendence Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.resplendencepublishing.com/
ISBN: 274-201-118-474-1
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Sully Shaw is one of three gay male witches on Devlin Island. He is trying to hold back his temper as he listens to one of the local residents of Greymoor Copse explain how he had breached the barrier of stone gate, a passageway for demons to escape into this world. It is Sully’s job is to banish demons and spirits. Troy Landry soon realized his navigating mistake when his boat ran ashore on the island. The good news is he met Sully; the bad news is a demon jumped inside his body.

Possession is the first book in the Devlin Island series. This is a superb well-paced tale filled with humorous dialog, battles with a demon, sizzling intimate scenes as well as snarky characters. There was a reason Sully lived out at the edge of the forest, everybody knew he hated visitors. Sully dealt with demons and spirits; the living generally pissed him off too much. Sully has a past of rejection because he is a witch and he hides his emotional pain by being rude to people. Sully has an immediate attraction to Troy, nevertheless, Sully fears being rejected again so he tries to push Troy away.

Troy is a shy, polite gay man who is fed up with his job of photographing bored females for women’s catalogues, in addition to living with a manipulating sister. Troy had never before experienced the sexual joys he became aware of with Sully. Troy accepted Sully without any emotional reservations. S.W. Vaughn has created a marvelous heartwarming saga that I thoroughly enjoyed.

Afire

Title: Afire
Author: Grace Jameson
Publisher: Siren Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-128-7
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary, Western
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

From the first moment she saw him, Jenny Busch has known exactly what, and who she wants – Cal Carson by her side and in her bed, preferably for the rest of her life. She hasn’t been shy in letting the object of her affections know how she feels either, much to Cal’s continual frustration. A rancher by trade, Cal is no stranger to the loneliness that goes hand in hand with the long hours and hard work involved in maintaining a successful business. He would gladly love to have someone to share it all with and make everything worthwhile, but he’s been hurt before…

When an emergency forces Cal and Jenny into close quarters for the foreseeable future, Cal doesn’t think he can stay strong for much longer. Beforehand, he’d always had a way to keep the beautiful, spirited woman at bay if things got too hot under the collar, but now? Being able to spend so much time with Jenny has just confirmed what Cal secretly knew along. He’s worried he won’t be able to restrain himself when push comes to shove, but after one stubborn encounter after another, has he left it too late to let her know how he really feels?

Jenny is an honest, down to Earth character and I really like the fact that she is completely happy being ruled by her heart. Cal too is a great character and I enjoyed being savvy to his internal monologue as it helped soften the blow of what would otherwise have been some extremely frustrating actions on his part. As it was, there were moments I could have knocked Jenny and Cal’s heads together, as their emotional reactions and misunderstandings pushed all my buttons. I absolutely love a relationship with an older, wiser man whose heart has been bruised and a slightly younger, energetic woman who can sooth the man’s aches, if only he’d let her in.

Afire provided that and much more, with a ranch setting and a very strong supporting cast adding to my enjoyment. If you are a fan of the genre and love reading the twists and turns of a relationship between two stubborn people with real chemistry, I highly recommend Afire.

Spring

Title: Spring
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-501-6
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Sidney Wilks is only ten when his mother dies of cancer and on the day of her funeral, the only person who gives him comfort in his time of grief is ranch hand Grady Nash. There’s no other family but his father and he’s a cold, distant man who has little time for his child, leaving Nash as the only stable figure in Sidney’s life.

For years, their relationship stays that of friends until Sidney has a serious car wreck and Nash steps in to take care of the younger man, forcing Nash to see him in a new light. When the noticing turns to desire, Nash is forced to re-evaluate his possessive and protective instincts.

What kind of life could these two men have together? Nash knows horses and ranching, and Sidney’s been studying to build skyscrapers so he can escape his small-town life for one in the big city. Can they find a compromise or will Nash have to let Sidney leave without him?

Spring is the first release in Carol Lynne’s new Seasons of Love serial. It follows Sidney Wilks and Grady Nash for forty years of their lives, most of it together. Having all the books follow the same characters is an unusual way to handle a series, but it’s a great opportunity for the author to expand the personalities and understandings of both men.

The story begins on the day of Sidney’s mother’s funeral and jumps forward in sections, each following a month/year as Sidney grows older and matures. Ms. Lynne is thus quickly pulling the past into the present, showing that Nash’s the only consistency in his life, while his surly father stays on the outside, uninterested in his only child. I’m really glad to see she used this method of getting Sidney through his growing up years. It gave the high points of his life while allowing the story to move forward into adulthood at a good pace.

There are a lot of emotions going on in this story. From the love, passion and desire of Sidney and Grady, to the anger, betrayal and unhappiness associated with Sidney’s father. Later in the story surprises abound in regards to Sidney’s father and I admit to being totally caught off guard by the revelations. They were well placed within the plotline, pushing the story forward to a satisfying ending for these two lovers. I can’t wait to see what direction Ms. Lynne takes Sidney and Nash next. Read and enjoy. You won’t be disappointed.

Sweet Vengeance

Title: Sweet Vengeance
Author: Nicole Morgan
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-60601-927-9
Genre: {M/F} Erotic, Contemporary, Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Adam Collins, former Navy SEAL, is working on getting his life together. One morning, he is speeding out of his driveway and almost runs over Chelsea without realizing it. She goes over later with the intent to give him a tongue-lashing for his not paying attention to his driving. As Adam answers the door, they both feel an instant attraction.

When the nightmare of the murder of his fiancé and unborn child resurfaces, Adam’s anger gets worse from the guilt he’s feeling for not saving their lives. Because of his investigation of the murder, Adam puts both his and Chelsea’s lives in serious danger. Rex and Jack both know that, in order for Adam to leave the past behind, he must face the true fact of the deaths and start to work on having a future with Chelsea. The three of them, along with the police, form a plan to capture the criminal and save Chelsea’s life.

Sweet Vengeance is a very heart wrenching story of how much a person can take upon themselves from the death of those closest to them. I am truly fascinated with the behavior of the two main characters - both had a lot of baggage - and they begin to bond by trusting each other. This is the third book in the Sweet Awakenings series.

Chelsea turned out to be a little too sweet, but a very caring person who would help anyone in need. She’s making an effort to get past her abusive boyfriend and Adam certainly triggered some of those frightening moments for her. He wants to learn why she gets nervous around him when he expresses any anger. One thing about Adam that never ceases to amaze me is that he didn’t know when to stop with the anger and to accept the truth from his friends until Chelsea is in danger.

The in-depth creativity of Ms. Morgan shows here with her characters and the attitudes of a few of them had me laughing at their behavior. She kept me in suspense of the villain and I was totally shocked at learning the truth of one of the secondary characters. I enjoyed reading about true friendship, regardless of the fact they had to force each other to listen to what needed to be said in order to face the truth.

Santana’s Heat

Title: Santana’s Heat
Author: Kitty DuCane
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-974-4
Genre: {M/F}. {M/M}, BDSM, Shape-shifter, Suspense
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

As a leader of one of the shape-shifter clans, Luc is dreading the upcoming council meeting when he is informed of an intruder in the stable. Santana has crawled into a stall with a horse thinking she is going to die after being attacked and ending up in the river. Santana turns out to be the lost daughter of another clan leader, which creates all kinds of complications.

Santana’s Heat is a pretty good suspense story that will keep your interest throughout. There are a few loose ends in some places that were not addressed but Ms. DuCane keeps you on your toes throughout.

Santana’s history could happen to any runaway out on the streets, and the possibility of leaders being assassinated is very true to life. The author captures the wariness of trusting anyone very clearly, but also shows that love will sacrifice to the extreme. Luc and Santana have chemistry that is explosive and there is a lot of tension between them and another woman that wants Luc.

Though there are a few hints throughout the story of the twist at the end of the book, I was caught by surprise. The ending did explain a lot of the things happening to Santana and Luc. I recommend this book be added to your library and I for one will be reading this one again.

Monday, April 4, 2011

The Professor's Assistant

Title: The Professor's Assistant
Author: Bren Christopher
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-807-8
Genre: {M/M} Science Fiction
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Julian Blake is on a mission; he arrives at the Institute for Electro-Mechanical Sciences in London to investigate rumors of a time machine invention. Julian never expects to meet and fall in love with the inventor’s assistant, Daniel Sinclair. The problem is openly same-sex attractions are considered unthinkable in the minds of polite society during the year of 1885. The other problem is that others are interested in the invention with a more sinister purpose in mind.

The Professor's Assistant is an intriguing exploration of traveling through parallel dimensions. The characters are believable. The intimacy is sensual. Julian has been an agent in his world for three years. He is a man with strong ethical standards. Upon first meeting Daniel, Julian assumed Daniel was a young innocent and tries to resist their attraction. Quite by accident, Julian discovers that Daniel has sexual experience with men and this information allows Julian to pursue Daniel with a passion.

Daniel remains at the school year around to spare his family embarrassment because of his sexuality. Daniel is equally attracted to Julian, as well as being particularly opinionated on the subject of businessmen. Daniel has doubts about Julian’s true feelings for him. A series of events fuel Daniel’s emotional turmoil until the truth of Julian’s identity is revealed. Bren Christopher has created an amazing tale that inspires the reader with thoughts of parallel worlds. I found the historical period fascinating along with the desire to visit Julian’s home for a comparison of the two dimensions. I very much enjoyed The Professor's Assistant.

Remi’s Pup

Title: Remi’s Pup
Author: Lynn Hagen
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand, Inc
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-322-0
Genre: {M/M}, Shape-shifter
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Remi has been searching for his mate since catching his scent on Hawk. After two weeks, he’s becoming desperate to find the man and has been staking out the local mall, in hopes of finding him soon. When he does find Drew, will he be able to save the young man from himself or will Remi lose his mate after all?

Remi’s Pup is an excellent addition to the Brac Pack series. I loved the characters and the realism regarding Drew’s drug problem, withdrawal, and struggle to stay clean, showed just how well the author must have done her research. The chemistry between Remi and Drew is what fans of this series would expect and keeps the pages sizzling. As with the previous stories, the mated couples play heavily into the story line. More than once the ‘little mates’ find themselves in trouble, some by their own hand, some at the hands of others. The reader will also learn a bit more about Oliver, making his behavior slightly more understandable.

While new pack members, as well as, future mates are introduced, the author also uses Remi’s Pup to introduce one of the characters of her upcoming sequel Zeus’s Pack. Although the novellas in the Brac Pack series can be read alone, this is a fast moving series with a lot going on, leaving the reader in the dark should they miss a story.

Sunshine’s Savior

Title: Sunshine’s Savior
Author: Lynn Hagen
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand, Inc
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenpublishing.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-372-7
Genre: {M/M}, Shape-shifter
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Dakota is the Brac Pack’s Beta and as such, when his Alpha says he needs him on a secret mission, Dakota goes. From the beginning Dakota ran into nothing but trouble and worried he was in the process of failing Maverick. Then he met his mate and the mission soon became the last thing on his mind.

Sunshine’s Savior is the third novella in the Brac Pack series by author Lynn Hagen. Both men are wonderfully written. You can see the connection between the two forming from the beginning and the fact that Blair is a prostitute plays strongly into the story. Blair has some serious issues to overcome, which Dakota realizes, and goes out of his way to make Blair feel good about himself, which was something that makes Blair’s transition to claimed mate an easy one.

While the sex is intense, it is the non-sexual scenes that really make this story. Whether its Blair struggling with his past or the other mates and Blair getting to know each other, the way the author brings the characters to life makes this a fun story to read. There is a bit of suspense surrounding a rival pack’s Alpha and Blair’s brother, Oliver, is later introduced near the end of the story. These two are out to cause more than their fair share of mischief for the Brac Pack.

There are some typos and a constant switch between calling Dakota, Dakota and Kota, which may annoy some readers. However, the first is easy to overlook and the second is easily understood when seeing who is talking to the Beta. Neither of these things should keep you from reading Sunshine’s Savior and getting the chance to read about two wonderful characters.

Sunday, April 3, 2011

Nice: An Eye Spy Christmas Carol


Title: Nice: An Eye Spy Christmas Carol
Author: Drew Zachary
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/M} Gay Erotic, Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

DB’s version of a wonderful Christmas has nothing to do with singing carols and spreading holiday cheer. For him, peace and quiet are the best presents of all. When a ghost shows up, warning DB that he will be visited by three more ghosts, he catalogs it as another annoyance and wishes that they all forget the way to his location.

Jesse is hoping to help DB learn to enjoy the holidays and get his lover to change his ways. Will DB have an open mind or are the ghosts wasting their time?

Nice: An Eye Spy Christmas Carol is a short holiday story about the two main characters from the Eye Spy series. Drew Zachary’s tales involving DB and Jesse are always chock-full of humor and erotic play that I couldn’t ever imagine between a ghost and a human, prior to reading the series. Their relationship has grown immensely since they were first introduced. I couldn’t help but notice the changes in DB. His thoughts of pleasing his ghostly lover for the holiday made his feelings crystal clear. I believe he may take heed to some of the messages delivered. We will see if the intervention actually worked by DB’s actions in future stories to come. I enjoyed reading this quick tale and am anxious for the next Eye Spy release.

Shifter Cowboy

Title: Shifter Cowboy
Author: Jan Irving
Publisher: Total-e-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-499-6
Genre: {M/M} Shape-Shifter
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Twice a month, Cody Marshall wakes up somewhere naked. Being a wolf shifter sucks, in Cody’s opinion. This time, he is found lying curled up in the middle of the road leading to the isolated old ranch by Adrian Le Roy, the new owner and Cody’s boss.

Shifter Cowboy is the second book in the Uncommon Cowboys series and a wonderfully heartwarming romance. The plot is well written and well paced. The setting is the foothills in Montana. The intimate scenes are especially sensual. The characters are believable. Cody was rejected as a child by family; he has lived on his own since his teenage years. Cody has lived and worked on the remote ranch for almost two years, taking care of the small herd as well as the house. When Adrian arrives, Cody and Adrian share a mutual attraction; despite the fact that Cody fears Adrian will fire him. Cody tries to hide what he is from Adrian. However, Cody’s wolf wants to claim Adrian as his mate.

Adrian is a veterinarian who felt he had never really belonged anywhere. Adrian bought the ranch, hoping he would find that elusive satisfaction missing from his life in the city. Cody and Adrian are both considerate caregivers, as well as protective of each other. Jan Irving has created a memorably fantastic saga that I greatly enjoyed.

Reader Advisory: The stories in this series are connected solely by theme. They can all be read as stand alone titles.

Legacy Found


Title: Legacy Found
Author: N.J. Walters
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-449-7
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary Shape-shifter
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Held against her will for thirty-five years, Shelley had to kill her captor to escape and now has a group of hunters on her trail for her crime. All she knows is that for the first time in her life, she can do as she pleases and that includes discovering more about being a werewolf.

A few weeks following her escape, Shelley’s working in a diner when James Riley comes in to eat. For weeks, he’s been trying to untangle the legal and financial problems of the pack following the death of the previous Alpha, his brother. The new Alpha of Wolf Creek Pack might be tired but he still notices that his sexy waitress is a werewolf. Scared of being discovered, his attention makes Shelley lose her composure and she gets fired.

Shelley doesn’t understand why she feels drawn to James and without any place to go, lets him convince her to accompany him back to his pack. She’s scared, uneasy and uncertain but knows she must learn more about her heritage. But the hunters are still looking and if they find her, the price James and his pack will pay for helping her might just be in blood.

Legacy Found is the third release in NJ Walters Legacy series. As this book is part of a series with interconnecting characters and plot, I recommend the books be read in order.

This release begins with a prologue that explains how Shelley escaped from her captor, starting the book off on a swift pace that just kept going to the end. The description of what she went through is vivid, making for a painful, heart-wrenching character you can’t help but cheer on as she struggles to put her life back together. Enter James, who has an understanding and a tender side that this wounded female desperately needs.

The author’s created two wonderful characters that play well off of each other, and due to the fragile status of Shelley in the beginning, she allows the sexual tension between them to grow slowly until it finally culminates in blistering passion. It was nice watching Shelley grow into not just a confident sexual being, but an independent woman who knew her own mind. That’s what I found so great about James. He always put Shelley’s needs above his own wants and desires, and the author did it without him seeming cheesy or corny…just the perfect Alpha mate. The villainous hunters are present, along with returning supporting characters rounding out the plot nicely and there are a few nice surprises along the way that I won’t reveal but that will wrap up ends I didn’t even know had been left dangling from the previous books. I look forward to the next book in the series.