Monday, November 12, 2012

A Little Bit of Heaven


Author: Stormy Glenn
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher URL: www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62241-636-3
Genre: {M/M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Hugh Marshall hates his father, a brutal Alpha who uses fear and pain to keep his pride in line. When Hugh learns his father’s going to force his mating with the daughters of another pride, he knows it’s time to leave and he’s taking his brothers with him. While sneaking out of town, he stops to save a pair of Bengal shifters before his father can have them killed. He’s shocked to learn that one of them, Kye Hara, is his mate.

With his father hot on their trail, Hugh takes his new family and heads to the home of Alpha Stellan Mihos, who has promised him sanctuary. When they arrive, there are problems to deal with. Hugh’s now an Alpha and can’t stay long term in another Alpha’s territory and his second mate is Stellan’s brother and Beta. Not only does he have to find another location for his new pride but its numbers are growing and he doesn’t have a way to keep them safe.

A Little Bit of Heaven is the second release in Stormy Glenn’s, Scent of a Mate. Because some secondary characters are recurring, the books should be read in order.

I really enjoyed this one. It’s a fun and entertaining read even if it does have a darker edge and more serious pride problems than Cat’s Pride. And the Alpha villain here (Hugh’s father) is definitely a lot nuttier—or maybe I should say more dangerous and insane. With him Ms. Glenn’s done a good job creating a bad guy that provides conflict, family history, and even a few twists and turns all rolled into one.

Hugh, Kye and Neumus make a good trio. Hugh’s the big protective Alpha, Neumus supports Hugh and protects Kye and Kye is the loving glue that holds them together. It’s a nice mix and their play of emotions is nicely balanced. These three have the intense physical attraction you’d expect from mates, which means of course sizzling hot sex and a few misunderstandings. But there are fun moments and snappy dialogue mixed in with the serious times too. And I can’t forget the well-plotted action-filled scenes either. So, it’s safe to say I had a good time with A Little Bit of Heaven and look forward to the next one.

Lust & Wrath


Title: Lust & Wrath
Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher’s URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62241-588-5
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, BDSM, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Mick knew Alex was not his mate, but that did not mean he did not love the man.  When Alex ends up betraying Mick, the demon does not know if he can ever recover.  As head of security for Anything Goes, Beck has had to watch the man he loves spend his time with other men.  When Mick falls apart after killing Alex, the wrath demon knew he would do anything to see Mick return to his old self. 

Lust & Wrath is the third story in Ms. Flynn’s Anything Goes series and tells the story of Mick and Beck.  As fans of this series know, Mick is a lust demon who has just faced a major betrayal and has withdrawn into himself, leaving his friends in the position of feeding him to keep him from going to hell.  Beck is a wrath demon who needs to feed off the anger of others, which comes in handy as head of security for the club.  Beck also has a few secrets, one of which is his love for Mick.  The author uses all of this to bring the two men together and I am glad that, rather than dragging Mick’s situation out till the last book, the author decided to address it now.  It’s really easy to be drawn in by these two men and I thought their reactions to the situations they found themselves in came across realistically.  Coming together takes time but when they do, the passion that exists between them is intense and I like the switch up that this coupling has. 

Several new secondary characters were introduced and I am curious how they will play into future stories.  Readers should keep in mind that the books in this series are tightly entwined and should be read in order.  Each new book in this series will hold the reader’s attention and this one is no different.  Readers are sure to like Lust & Wrath and should keep their eyes open for the next story in this series, Lust & Were.

Lust & Vamp


Title: Lust & Vamp
Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher’s URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62241-102-3
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

The last thing Temp expects to find while out on a rescue mission was his mate.  Temp is drawn to a young vamp and unknowingly allows them to mate.  Reid and Temp have a lot to figure out along the way but that won’t keep them from getting what they want.

Lust & Vamp is the second story in the Anything Goes series.  Readers should know that some parts in this story, and the first one, happen simultaneously, so readers really should read the stories in order.  Lust & Vamp is the story of Temp and Reid.  Temp is one of six lust demons, who own and run the Anything Goes night club.  Reid is a young vamp that was hoping to get a job as a dancer at the club.  Their lives are brought together by a twist of fate and when Reid drinks from Temp, the two find themselves mated.  While the attraction is obviously present from the beginning, the author does not make their beginning an easy one.  I like the conflicts the author throws in, especially the one surrounding Reid’s dancing.  I also like the chemistry that exists between these two and the tension the men occasionally suffer through as they come to terms with being mates.  The sex scenes really are intense, so beware.

A few of the other club partners pop up, as do some interesting secondary characters.  I was really surprised by Reid’s family and was glad that not all of them turned out to be jerks.  Some of the story lines that started in the first book are continued here, and build up the premise for book three. 

Anything Goes is an entertaining series with an interesting look at the paranormal world.  The variety of characters and sub plots keep each book moving along smoothly.  Like the first book, Lust & Vamp is a great read and fans of this genre are sure to enjoy this story.

Three Tricks, One Treat


Author: D. J. Manly
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-337-6
Genre: {M/M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Vampires and witches do not mix or so male witch Martin believed before he met vampire prince Rafael. It takes demon hybrid Broson to set the budding attraction between Rafe and Martin into an all-encompassing relationship and of course, the demon was included in the love fest.

Three Tricks, One Treat is an amusing saga that I very much enjoyed. Martin is a compassionate witch with a snarky attitude, yet he cannot resist Rafe’s allure. Rafe is a modern vampire who prefers to make love rather than war, though he has no love for his enemy, the demon leader. Broson dreams of becoming a singing star, along with having as much sex as possible. Martin, Rafe and Broson join together for a common goal - to defeat the elements that stand in the way of them achieving their individual nonviolent ambitions.  

Pocket-Sized Prince


Author: Stormy Glenn
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher URL: www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN: 978-1-62241-805-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Iben Khenti’s known he was an Alpha since early childhood, but due to his small stature no one takes him seriously until faced with a power they can’t deny. Iben’s looked for his mate for two centuries but his wolf’s never been happy with any of his choices. He’s lonely and it’s harder every year to maintain his humanity without his mate. Iben’s just about given up hope when he arrives to take over his new pack and finds his mate waiting to greet him at the airport.

Zack Evens is unhappy when he’s sent by the pack inner circle to pick up their new Alpha. Then a small man steps from the plane and he can’t believe his eyes. The lightweight guy can’t be the Alpha. Later when Iben shows an interest in him, Zack expects him to be as abusive as the old Alpha and nastily rejects him. It’s a hasty decision Zack comes to regret and it puts them in danger they might not get out of.

Pocket Sized Prince in the newest release by Stormy Glenn. It’s a fun and entertaining shifter book and my new favorite by this multi-published author. How could an opening of—“This sucked on so many levels”—not make me want to keep reading and I’m glad I did. Zack’s an interesting guy. I liked him immediately and wanted to know more about him. He’s so different from Iben and them not getting along initially is a nice twist. Their conflicts made this a good read for me. Far too often mates get together without much effort, so misunderstandings, anger and plenty of angst works nicely to flesh out this story and give it substance. Now to Iben. He’s an unusual Alpha—rather small but is uber-powerful. It’s a strange combination, especially when you add in a warm and caring personal side.

Iben and Zack make a good couple once Ms. Glenn gets them together. The desire and passion is intense and the sex sizzling. But there are sweet and tender moments that I enjoyed just as well. Several secondary characters round out the story, one of the most important being Beta Djal. I’d love to see a story featuring him in the future. So, I guess that’s it. I suggest taking a chance on this well-plotted new shifter romance and I’ve got my fingers crossed that Ms. Glenn turns it into a series.

My Spotted Dream


Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren Bookstrand
Publisher’s URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62241-644-8
Genre: {M/M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Cam has learned to live with being blind but when he loses his sense of smell, he’s not sure what to do. Not wanting others to know what is going on, Cam’s disabilities have kept him isolated for the last several months.  Now that his mates have shown up, Cam’s secrets are revealed, changing his life in more ways than one.

My Spotted Dream is the eighth book in the Purrfect Mates series.  Fans of this series know that once a feline shifter has found their mate, they have a certain amount of time in order to claim them. If they do not, the shifter faces dire consequences.  The vamps in this series are equally challenged as they face the possibility of going insane.  Because of Cam’s inability to smell, he has no idea that a year ago he met, and kissed, his mate Hayden.  For Cam, the past several months moved along the same as usual but this was not so for Hayden. 

When My Spotted Dream opens, the men come together after this long period apart.  Readers should know that while the characters acted true to form, their initial coupling borders on dubious consent.   Given the vampire mentality, it was easy for me to understand why Hayden behaved the way he did and, at times, I even felt for him, as he knew he should be treating Cam differently and was unable to do so.   I also felt for Cam during this time; not only is his first time not going the way he always thought but he feels guilty for not realizing that Hayden is his mate.

Before the men even have a chance to work things out, Denver, the men’s second mate shows up.  In the beginning, this character comes across as a bit of a prick.  Needless to say, the first meeting between the three is not a happy one.   Once the reader gets over their initial introduction of the characters, he is quite interesting and, in fact, brings about some changes for the Cowell family.  My only issue with the threesome is that Cam is the focus of the relationship and I would have liked to have seen more interaction between Hayden and Denver.

The author has many twists and turns tucked into this story that will move this series along.  Some of the twists I did not see coming and was a little surprised.  I’m curious to see what the author has planned for this series, especially now that they are figuring out who their enemy is.    My Spotted Dream is a good addition to this series and should not be missed.

A Rookie Move


Title: A Rookie Move
Author: Sam B. Morgan
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-62300-000-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Training officer for the LAPD Mike Graham is not prepared for the magnetism of rookie Nathan York. There is something about Nate that continuously inserts the man into Mike’s dreams. However, Mike is deep in the closet and Nate is not aware of his own sexuality.

A Rookie Move is an impressive self-discovery romance. The characters are engaging, as well as believable. The plot illustrates the daily routine of a patrol cop in Los Angeles.  Mike is a good cop with fifteen years experience and having the respect of your fellow officers is a key element in a job that can turn dangerous in an instant. For this reason, Mike hides his sexuality. The only thing Nate knew for sure about sex is that sex with women was not satisfying for him. Exploring intimacy with Mike helped Nate realize he had followed the dictates of his parents without having his own self awareness.  

Sam B. Morgan has created a splendid, as well as enjoyable saga infused with humor, emotional turmoil and incredibly sensual intimacy.