Friday, October 23, 2015

Jackson & Nick

Author: Laura Baumbach
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02015-0460
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Jackson Kain and Dr. Nick Kirby’s relaxing vacation is promptly interrupted when dry lightening sparks a California wild fire.

Jackson & Nick is book number six in the MLR Press Storming Love Wild Fire series. The plot is a budding romance with a potent survival theme.

Jackson, a New York City fireman and Nick, a hospital trauma doctor have known each other on a professional level long before they started dating. With two very busy schedules, the purpose of their two week getaway was to hopefully build a relationship.

Jackson and Nick had one night of intimacy together before their harrowing experience began. Trapped in the woods by the fire, Jackson and Nick’s only option is to reach the lake, but Nick is afraid of deep bodies of water plus there are wild creatures trying to escape the fire as well. 

Laura Baumbach has created an impressive as well as riveting short story that I enjoyed immensely.   

Madness Ends

Title:  Madness Ends
Author:  Beth D. Carter
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78430-840-7
Genre:  {M/F/M}, Ménage, Action, Suspense, Sequel
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph
Release November 10, 2015

Kaiya becomes the Men of Hell’s accountant after her cousin makes a bargain with their grandfather.  What she doesn’t expect is to have a relationship like her cousin’s after meeting Gabby and Boone.

Madness Ends is the sequel to Mad Delights and is also tied to the Red Wolves Motorcycle Club series.  Madness Ends brings to a close some of the threads left hanging from the previous story.  Kaiya tries to find out what the previous accountant had done with the club’s money and ends up finding out a little more after she is accosted by him while she, Gabby, and Boone go on a trip for supplies.  It was interesting seeing Kaiya try to let the men know she was open for a relationship with both of them.  Of course there is lots of room for misunderstandings as Boone learns to sign and Gabby tries to hide his past.

The chemistry between the three is hot, but Kaiya has some very understandable feelings of being rejected by Gabby at times.  I liked that Kaiya stood up for herself as she tried to explain why she doesn’t like to be ordered around, as she was a virtual prisoner growing up and after she was rescued at her grandfather’s compound.  Eventually they realize they all have to talk about the past so they can forge a true lasting relationship.

Several twists involve another motorcycle club with ties to Vicious and the accountant shows up with a plan to retrieve the stolen money after aligning himself with Vicious.  The tension between all the various parties, once they arrive at the same place, are so true.  The author did a good job tying everything together at the end. 

Both of these books need to be read in order to understand what happens and why things happen in Madness Ends.  While readers don’t need to read the series these stories are linked to, it adds to the understanding of the first book. 

A Scandal In Paradise

Author:  Stephanie Bedwell-Grime
Publisher:  Liquid Silver
Publisher URL:  http://www.lsbooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-62210-250-1
Genre:  {M/F} Contemporary
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

The beach of white sand was the perfect location for Seren Miller’s next assignment.   She needed the distraction.  But, writing the story about a destination wedding isn’t going as smoothly as Seren anticipated. 

Colton Houston thought he’d found the perfect island to get away from it all.  Being one of the world’s richest men didn’t allow him a lot of downtime and he desperately needed some right now.  Colton’s tranquility is interrupted when he’s asked for a favor that goes wrong.

Seren and Colton find themselves accidentally married and stuck with each other in close quarters.  Suspicions quickly turn into steamy sex.  Now something that started as a mistake has them both rethinking the future.

These two develop feelings for each other right from the start, despite the baggage they each carry.  They wasted no time in enjoying their wedding night.  Colton was concerned about his privacy being compromised by Seren, even though Seren had no idea who he really was when they met.  

Stephanie Bedwell-Grime painted a wonderful picture of a rushed romance in A Scandal In ParadiseThe couple grew more in a few days than most people grow in years.  At moments, I feared that Colton and Seren didn’t know each other well enough to stay together.  But, they were so comfortable with each other and they enjoyed the moment.  Money can’t buy everything and that applied to Colton.  Until he met Seren, he didn’t have anyone in his life who knew the real Colton.  He was free to be an average person and I delighted in seeing that simple side of him.  It was comical thinking he could be considered a surfer.  I think readers will appreciate this story as much as I did.

Grimm’s End

Title:  Grimm’s End
Author:  Shiloh Walker
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61922-855-9
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph
Release date 10-27-2015

Mandy is just existing waiting for word about Will.  Mandy is wondering why he would volunteer to go to the demon side of the rifts.  What will happen when Will finds out Mandy refuses to leave his side once she finds him?

The ninth book in the Grimm’s Circle series, Grimm’s End, is also the last book in this series.  A look at Will’s life will be a huge surprise, especially as you realize some of the major players throughout the history of the world are actually him.  I suspected one person as the story unfolded, but the others were a surprise. I loved reading about how Will became the head Grimm and why he did what he did. 

Mandy goes to Purgatory with Rob, and learning more about him.  Both men realize just how stubborn Mandy is.  A lot of the previous characters show up, but Crow plays a major part, especially when he brings Michael to Purgatory.

The author does a good job keeping readers in suspense as Will’s history unfolds in between battles with demons, trying to heal Mandy and persuading each other to the one side or the other.  There is also an interesting addition at the end of the story that I wish would have led to another story. 

I have really enjoyed reading about the Grimm’s.  The way the stories unfolded, I got a good sense of the world the author created and it explains a lot about the world today.  To get the most of this series, this series must be read in order.  I am sorry to see it end, but am looking forward to reading more stories by this author.

Love Me Harder

Author: Remmy Duchene
Publisher: Loose Id
Publishers URL: http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62300-981-6
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary       
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Mathew knows better than anyone that life is not always fair.  Working hard to get ahead in life, Mathew is close to dropping on his feet.  He barely has time for sleep, let alone a relationship.  Yet when he meets Asher, he can’t help wanting more. 

Love Me Harder is the newest book by author Remmy Duchene.  It is his first completely African American romance and one that will easily bring this author more fans.  The author has written characters that pull you into their story from the first page and it is not long before you will be hoping that Mathew and Asher can find their happily ever after. 

Mathew is a young man learning to deal with having grown up in the system, knowing that neither parent wanted him.  It is natural that this would affect his life as an adult and the author does a good job bringing this across realistically.  He has goals but in order to meet them, he finds himself working multiple jobs and running himself into the ground.  Enter Asher, a wealthy divorce lawyer, who sees Mathew and can’t help wanting the younger man.  The readers will be able to see the strong connection that exists between the two men and the fact that each became jealous easily, while running from the other feelings they had, was believable given their insecurities.   Theirs is not an easy romance as Mathew, at times, sabotages their budding relationship, but the author finds a way for them to solve their issues in a way that makes the story play true to the characters.  

While Love Me Harder is a great read, there is a continuity issue in the story that threw the story off every so often.   This little issue will not keep me from re-reading this story, and I will continue to look for more books by this author. 

Harvest Howl

Title: Harvest Howl
Author: LaBelle
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com
ISBN: 978-1-68175-095-8
Genre: {M/M} Werewolf Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Ethan Ryerson was excited to be an immortal werewolf, but that was centuries ago. Nowadays, immortality has lost its charm; that is until Ethan, quite by chance, meets Tucker Scott, a human and Ethan’s mate.  

Harvest Howl is the first book in The Lykos Cycle series. The setting is West Hollywood. The plot is an erotic romance featuring Ethan’s and Tucker’s background, as well as the nature of the wolf. However, this pack’s description resembles Native American skin walkers rather than wolves in the wild. The full moon is the driving force for the pack’s yearnings to hunt and Halloween is the perfect setting for the werewolves to be themselves without costumes. The characters are creditable.

The only times Ethan loses control of his inner wolf is during the week of a full moon, then in turns into a vicious killer which he regrets the next day. The killing cycle causes Ethan to slip into a depression. After meeting Tucker, Ethan tries to redeem his self control by scaring his victims instead of killing them.

Tucker felt like an outsider with his former boyfriend and he has only one true friend. After meeting Ethan, Tucker gained self esteem, love, as well as new friends. 

LaBelle has created an impressive and enjoyable saga. There are few non-romantic exploits in the storyline; the main events showcased are the various detailed intimacies. 

Texas Hustle

Title: Texas Hustle
Author: Cynthia D’Alba
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61923-129-0
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx
Release Date: 11-24-2015

When Porchia Summers was fifteen she was arrested. To save face with their friends, her wealthy parents sent Porchia to live with her grandmother. In the intervening years she’s built a good life for herself in Texas, but Porchia’s relationship with her parents remains strained. Porchia’s world is thrown into chaos when she’s contacted by the ex-boyfriend who got her into trouble—and he wants money. Needing to get away for a few days, Porchia wins a charity bachelor auction for the one man in town who’s been driving her crazy. 

Darren Montgomery’s ecstatic when Porchia, the town’s sexy baker, wins his auction and she agrees to spend a week camping with his family. He’s hoping that, during their time together, their friendly flirting can turn into something more serious. Porchia, being four years older, seems to be a problem for her and Darren needs to convince her that it doesn’t matter. Is that the only reason Porchia’s skittish about relationships? Darren’s determined to convince her that they belong together.

Texas Hustle is the sixth release in the series, Texas Montgomery Mavericks, by Cynthia D’Alba. Due to the close family ties and recurring characters, it would be easier to understand the relationships if they are read in order.

I found Texas Hustle to be a nice addition to the series and I enjoyed getting to know Darren and Porchia (I love her name). The author did a nice job with the personality development of both characters and the plot line involving Darren’s family is fun, and gave a great look at a loving family with a Texas lifestyle. The camping trip’s also a nice opportunity of bring in several individuals we met previously and to see how some of their relationships have progressed. It’s all integrated well with the budding romance between Darren and Porchia. 

The story is full of things to keep your interest. There’s a charity bachelor auction, family camping, horseback riding, a dangerous ex-boyfriend, blackmail, arson and two kinds of family. One is supportive and loving, while the other is dysfunctional and judgmental. The pacing is even but don’t expect a rollercoaster ride. The descriptions are vivid, pulling the reader into the story. The resolution of the villain part of the story works out well, as does Porchia’s problems with her stuffy parents. I hope you enjoy these two lovers and their story as much as I did. 

Reckoning

Title: Reckoning
Author: Fyn Alexander
Publisher: Loose Id
Publishers URL: http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-62300-993-9
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, BDSM, Series        
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Angel thought he knew what his Daddy did for a living.  When he is sent on a mission, and truths are revealed, neither Angel nor Kael is sure how their relationship will play out.

Reckoning is the fourth story in the Angel and the Assassin series and, like the previous three books, this one will pull you right in.  The author snags you at the beginning by having Kael see a psychiatrist.  Any fan of this series knows this is a not a safe thing, and I have to say I was a little afraid for the shrink.  Of course things go the way you may expect, which leads to some intense time for Angel and Kael once they get home.

Angel and Kael have been together for about two years now and both think their relationship is working out perfectly. But Kael is struggling with personal and job related issues, and Angel is training with MI6.  With things slowly going out of control for both of them, their relationship starts to take some hits.  Later when Kael and Angel are sent out on missions, secrets are revealed that really affect their personal lives.

One of the things that Reckoning does is showcase just how innocent Angel still is, even after spending all this time with Kael.  There are moments, such as when Angel is in the dungeon with Kael, or killing someone for MI6, that it is easy to forget that Angel is only 19.  When the reader keeps that in mind, they can understand why the young man would feel betrayed by Kael and has no idea how to handle his feelings. 

Kael, on the other hand, is growing emotionally because of his time with Angel. However, he has trouble understanding Angel’s reactions when he finds out that not all Kael’s kills are ‘justified’ but strictly work ordered.  It takes some doing before they find their way and, at one point, Angel becomes so assertive I could not help wondering if he was finally starting to come into his own and, if so, what that will mean for their relationship down the road.

There are several returning secondary characters and times when Kael has to hand out his own brand of justice.  In the end, Reckoning does a good job furthering the men’s relationship as well as the series.  Fans of the series are sure to love the book, and those thinking of reading the book need to remember that this series must be read in order. 

Feast Anew

Title: Feast Anew
Author: Kate Steele
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: changelingpress.com/
BIN: 07489-02415
Genre: {M/M} Vampire Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Two weeks after breaking up with his vampire lover, Toby Heaton realizes he made the wrong decision. Toby chose to save his brother’s life, but in doing so, Toby did not know that breaking the bond with his lover Demetrios would cost both of them their lives until it was almost too late.

Feast Anew is the third book in the Feasts of Fortune series.  In this episode anger, jealousy, regret and loneliness are the main elements illustrated in the plot. The storyline has a wonderfully descriptive consistency of action, compassion as well as a touch of amusement. The characters are especially engaging.

Toby and Demetrios stumble upon several major eye-openers. Toby discovers what being a chrysalis child really means to a vampire, in addition to the root of the conspiracy to break up Toby and De. Toby also discovers a few secrets about his twin brother Taylor. De discovers being too indulgent encourages immature expectations. 

Kate Steele has created an exceptionally gratifying installment to the series. I enjoyed Feast Anew immensely.  

A Feast of Choice

Author: Kate Steele
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: www.changelingpress.com
BIN: 04905-01576
Genre: {M/M} Vampire Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Toby Heaton, a human, awakens to find himself imprisoned by a vampire who has a score to settle with Toby’s vampire lover, Demetrios.  This enemy has waited hundreds of years to extract his petty revenge on De. Toby is forced to be the tool to bring about Demetrios’ destruction and possibly destroy Toby as well.

A Feast of Choice is the second book in the Feasts of Fortune series. The well written plot illustrates incredibly sensual lovemaking, rejection, jealousy and heartbreak. In this episode, Toby has a reasonable incentive to follow the perpetrator’s demands. However, Toby is afraid to trust the enemy; also Toby is angry he has been ensnared into the role of a helpless victim. Although Toby claims to love De, he still deceives him. Now he must live with the consequences of his betrayal.

The series begins with Phantasmagoric Feast. Toby Heaton is passed over for a promotion at his advertising job. His boss said that Toby didn’t have the flair to sell his great ideas to the clients. Now Toby is on a mission to show his co-workers just how audacious he can be. After a few cocktails to settle his nerves, Toby walks across the street into the Mausoleum, a bar owned and operated by vampires. However, Toby’s undertaking to feed a big bad vampire changes when bartender Demetrios offers Toby an evening of pleasure, instead.

Kate Steele has created an excellent saga that I absolutely enjoyed.  A Feast of Choice is a romantic cliffhanger blended with mystery.  I look forward to the next installment. 

Avelyn and the Alien Daddy

Author:  Jessica Coulter Smith
Publisher:   Changeling Press
ISBN/BIN:  07483-02413 
Genre:  {M/F} Futuristic, Sci-Fi, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Six months has passed since her divorce and Avelyn Murray needs a fresh start and a job.  Because of her medical issues, Avelyn knows being a Terran bride is not an option, but maybe something else was available.  While on her job search Avelyn meets someone with a dilemma, and she’s certain that she can help.

The day-care told Thrace that his adopted daughter Lily was never to return.  The Terran security officer has no babysitter for his child, whom he can’t seem to comfort.  When Thrace meets Avelyn, he’s immediately drawn to her.  She turns out to be exactly what he wants in a nanny and much more.  How will Avelyn react if she discovers Thrace wants her as a mate?  Should he jeopardize the well-being of his daughter for his own desires?

The love between Avelyn and Lily is apparent to anyone with sight, but the budding affection between Avelyn and Thrace is something different entirely.  Thrace is on the fence about mixing business with pleasure, though there is no doubt in his mind how pleasurable things would be with Avelyn.  He has no idea that Avelyn wants him just as badly.  With the ease of breathing, they become the perfect family for Lily and it is so touching.  I was stunned to discover the full story behind Avelyn’s medical condition and divorce.  Thank goodness Thrace was understanding and Avelyn didn’t let her feelings block her chance at love.  

Avelyn and the Alien Daddy is the third story of the Intergalactic Brides series, and just as the first two, it will suck you in like a vaccum.  It’s hard to resist a single dad as it is, but adding in the fact that he’s easy on the eyes and kind put the final nail in the coffin for me.  Avelyn’s past is sad, but if that’s what she had to endure to wind up with Thrace and Lily then I accept it.  Avelyn moves on like a true champion and Thrace is the perfect cheerleader.  I am already imagining them with a house full of children, and I can’t wait to see what the next story in this series will bring.  

Tuesday, October 20, 2015

Whiskers of a Chance

Author: Tempeste O’Riley
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781634765251
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal        
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Keith can’t stay under his father’s roof one more day.  The only way to get his freedom, even if just temporary, is for him, his sister and her son to buy a home away from the tribe.  What Keith does not plan on is meeting his mate the day he moves in.  Now he has even more reasons to find a way to get out from under his father’s thumb.

Whiskers of a Chance is a new paranormal romance from Tempeste O’Riley.  This story centers on Keith, a Lynx shifter.  While wolves are still one of my favorites, I like this switch as it helps the story stand out from others in this sub-genre.  As is normal for this sub-genre, the shifters know when they have come across their mates, so when Keith is enticed by a wonderful smell as he is moving into his new home; he knows his mate is nearby.  He prays the gods have given him a male mate but is shocked when that mate is also human.  Keith’s father is a bit of an ass, so Keith has only a narrow understanding of the shifter world he lives in.  This means there are times when he is not sure how to proceed with his mating to Jason. 

Jason is a human who finds it is easier to work from home than being surrounded by people on a constant basis.  He would love to have someone by his side but does not ever see that happening.  When he sees his new neighbor, he’s intrigued and decides to introduce himself.  What follows shocks Jason but he is in no hurry to change things.  The author did a great job with Jason.  He comes across in a way that the reader will find themselves rooting for him, while also understanding the way he feels and his actions after everything about Keith is revealed.  I liked that he needs clarification of Keith’s feelings and is unwilling to mate the Lynx shifter just because there is some magical pull tying the men together. 

There is a lot of tension between the main characters and I like that the author does not have them automatically falling over each other just because there is a strong connection between them.  I also like that Keith is willing to give Jason some time even though that causes problems for Keith and his Lynx.  

The author also throws more problems into the story when it becomes necessary for Keith to do something about his father.  There are some secondary characters that play important roles in this story and I think it would be interesting to see them get stories of their own.  Whiskers of a Chance is a great book for those who love shifter stories.  There is a lot of romantic tension, as well as outside issues, to keep the story moving.  The main characters easily pull the reader into the story and readers will find themselves rooting for both of them.  Whiskers of a Chance is one story that will find itself on many reader’s keeper shelves.

Emerald Eyes

Title: Emerald Eyes
Author: Julia Talbot
Publisher: Torquere Press Publishers
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-975-9
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Bloodrose employee Reuben, a wolf shifter, is sent on a mission to guard cat shifter Yves. Trying to keep Yves out of trouble is one of the best jobs Reuben has had of late and as an added bonus, Reuben discovers Yves is his mate.

Emerald Eyes is the sequel to Belling the Cat and part of the Bloodrose stories. The plot illustrates the family history of Luc, the cat shifter mated to Jonny, a vampire and owner of Club Bloodrose. Yves is Luc’s twin. The plot is an action mystery with amusing characters, as well as a little wolf and cat playtime interaction.

Yves has spent years traveling the world looking for a remedy to appease his unwarranted guilt. The cure involves dark magic and special emerald stones. Yves knows he could be on a path of destruction, but he refuses to abandon his quest.

What started out as an assignment for Reuben quickly changed to protecting his mate. Reuben is strong with very keen wolf senses. More than once Reuben saves Yves life.

Julia Talbot has created an intriguing saga that I enjoyed. I was happy for the long awaited justice to come about, yet a little unhappy that Luc’s condition remained the same.  

Oblige

Title:  Oblige
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0408-6
Genre:  {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Lilia ends up adopted by the family she is working for in order to compete in a rite that will determine who will control the forests for the next ten years.  One member of the other family has employed underhanded tactics to win, but Lilia ends up with another family member, Xeric, when he steps up to the plate.  What happens is unexpected.

The 26th book of the Terran Times Second Wave series, Oblige, is different with the aspect that Lilia doesn’t have to undergo any alterations of her genetics at all.  Her talent of service is all that was needed when she volunteered.  I was surprised by how easy it was for the Zels to adopt Lilia. This was one of the more interesting aspects of the society that the author created in this book.

Xeric is called back from his duties as a forest ranger to compete in the rite.  Everyone is surprised, especially since Lilia ends up evading Xeric a lot longer than expected.  I enjoyed the way they ended up bargaining for Lilia’s business sense, instead of the usual sexual service expected.  Both Lilia and Xeric are attracted to each other and end up with an arrangement both families are happy with.

Xeric’s brother has almost run the family business to the ground and what happens after Lilia is at the family compound brings things to a head.  I liked that the family supported Lilia and Xeric.  I had to laugh at what happened at the dinner scene and why it happened. 

The author indicated that this is the end of the ‘O’ series and will start the ‘P’ series.  I have been enjoying this series and will be reading Oblige again as I enjoyed some of the banter between the characters.

Sunshine is Overrated

Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-78430-802-5
Genre: {M/M} Vampire Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Abernathy Meyers is not happy being vampire Zebulon’s at home meal. Abbie would much rather feed the vampire coven leader Claude, whom he secretly loves. Sadly, Abbie is stuck with Zeb as a mate, or is he? Can a vampire mate bond be broken and still have a second chance to find a true love?

Sunshine is Overrated is the third book in The Vamp for Me series. The plot’s main elements are lies, fears, jealousy and a few surprises. Abbie, Zeb and Claude have a history together that finally boils over into the present. The characters are creditable.

Zeb is an immoral vampire who has always been jealous of Claude. All of Zeb’s actions are motivated by getting revenge against Claude. Zeb has no qualms about lying or killing humans in order to feed his vindictive ego.

Claude is everything that Zeb is not. Claude shows compassion, for humans as well as for vampires. Claude’s one flaw is that he is a little too hesitant in administrating coven law.

Abbie is the human caught in the middle of the two vampires. Abbie settled for being Zeb’s mate out of necessities, there was never any love between Abbie and Zeb. Trapped into staying mated or breaking the bond and dying; Abbie is simply going through the motions of a happy life while secretly yearning for signs of attraction from Claude.

Bailey Bradford’s Sunshine is Overrated is an impressive saga that I enjoyed.

Brand

Title:  Brand
Author:  Sierra Cartwright
Publisher:  Totally Bound
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78430-656-4
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Contemporary, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Sofia is helping her friend with her wedding reception when she meets Cade.  Cade is in a bind because his family wants to have a centennial celebration at the ranch they own.  Sofia knows she should stay away from Cade on a personal level.

The second book in The Donovan Dynasty series, Brand, is the story of a very independent woman learning about submission and the BDSM lifestyle from a man she is extremely attracted too.  Both know they probably should not indulge in their attraction, but they can’t seem to help themselves.

As their business relationship starts to develop, Sofia learns that Cade is a Dom and, despite his warning to her to stay away, she wants to experience what that means.  I loved the relationship they had, even though Cade wouldn’t open up to her.  Cade kept telling Sofia that honest communication was key, though he made sure that her perceptions of her experiences were processed and talked about. 

Sofia learns more about BDSM and how to process her experiences and learned that she really enjoyed them.  Cade experienced having a novice to teach as he had always played with experienced subs before.

Cade’s reaction to Sofia wanting him to open up and not have a one-way relationship brings things to a head.  I can understand Cade’s unwillingness to open up about his feelings as a lot of people don’t want to do that.  What Sofia wanted was what most women want in that they want that emotions that are real.  I loved the way it ended. 

Those that are familiar with Ms. Cartwright’s stories will enjoy this.  As I read about her various BDSM stories, I want more and am looking forward to future stories in this series.  This is one to be read again.

The Firebird and Other Stories

Author: R. Cooper
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781634764032
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Anthology, Series          
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

The Firebird - 3.5 Nymphs  

What’s a firebird to do when all he has known is men who want to own him?  Now he comes across one who wants to love him and he is unsure how to act.

The Warrior’s Sacrifice – 3.5 Nymphs

For as long as anyone could remember, one of Los Cerros’ neighborhoods has been protected by the jaguars.  But that protection comes with a price and when Mateo is offered as sacrifice, he is not sure if he is glad or not.

Hyacinth on the Air – 3.5 Nymphs

Hyacinth has never met anyone as lovely as Walter but the man is shy and easily shocked.  Too bad he’s falling for a fairy.

A Giant Among Men – 3.5

Tank is used to everyone being afraid of him, until he finds someone he no longer wants to be “Tank the Troll” for.

The Imp and Mr. Sunshine – 4.0

Wherever Rennet is, chaos is sure to follow.  Sometimes that’s good and other times, not so much.  While Rennet maybe use to it, he doesn’t want John getting hurt in the crossfire.

The Wolf in the Garden – 3.5

Miki wants someone to spend the rest of his life with, but his garden is a little hard to get over.  When Diego makes it in, Miki wonders if he has found his someone special.

The Dragon’s Egg – 3.5

Arthur doesn’t know how to react when he finds an egg in the front room, especially after his boyfriend claims it’s theirs.
The Firebird and Other Stories is the fifth book in the Being(s) in Love series.  This new story is a little different from the others in that it is an anthology made up of seven stories that cover a vast period of time.  The stories also have a variety of beings taking center stage, some of whom show up later as secondary characters, or if you are paying attention, just making a cameo appearance.  While the stories were all good, it was The Imp and Mr. Sunshine that I really enjoyed.

The reason this was my favorite is simple, the characters.  Rennet is an imp who is tired of playing second fiddle to fairies, being compared to demons, and loves to blow things up.  John is the deputy mayor, a human, and hopefully Rennet’s lover.  Neither of these characters is perfect, nor are they model material.  Yet, each has something that draws the people around them in, something that is not always a good thing in Rennet’s case.  These two also had me laughing, especially Rennet. 

Fans of this series are sure to love this new book and the various characters in it.  

Following the Law

Author: Nicole Dennis
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-78430-763-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Crime’s on the rise in the coastal town of Shore Breeze and the most serious unsolved case is the poisoning of Samuel Ashford. Finding the person responsible is Sheriff Robin Burke’s top priority, but the case is growing cold and the lack of leads is driving him nuts. What Robin doesn’t know is that Beau Courtenay has returned to town and it’s is going to change his life, personally and professionally.

When his father became ill, Beau left for London to get his father’s business in order. Now he’s back in town and when he gets home, Beau finds his good-for-nothing half-brother inside. Dealing with his brother is only one of his problems. Beau has work to catch up on and there are a huge number of computer problems all over town, including those at the Southern Charm. The unexpected surprise distracting Beau from his work? Sexy Sheriff Robin.

Following the Law is the fifth release in the Southern Charm series by Nicole Dennis. Due to the numerous recurring characters and ongoing plot line, I recommend the books be read in order.

As the blurb states, Robin’s disturbed about Samuel Ashford’s poisoning case and I admit I’m thrilled this previously dangling plot thread is one of the features of this complex story line. There’s plenty to keep your attention, even if there isn’t a great deal of sizzling chemistry between Robin and Beau. The author has introduced a character trait I haven’t encountered in fiction before—asexuality.  It’s obvious from the sensitive conversations between the men that vast amount of research has been done. Well done, Ms. Dennis.

I enjoyed getting to know Robin and Beau. The author did a nice job rounding out their personalities and I liked their bantering dialogue, making their scenes fun and lively. Admittedly there isn’t much conflict in their growing romance but with so many things going on in the plot there isn’t much time for it—and I didn’t miss it. There’s still time for being together and cuddling, even in the midst of trying to solve a couple of mysteries. 

The author did a great job integrating the previous characters, some of them playing vital roles because of the unresolved mystery. The details are vivid, it’s fast paced and there are plenty of twists to keep you reading. Overall I’m very pleased with this release and am happy with how the poisoning plot line is resolved. I look forward to the next release. 

Untie The Lover’s Knot

Author:  M. Garnet
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0486-4
Genre: {M/F/M/M}, Ménage and more, Paranormal, Mystery, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Carry has managed to convince the world she is a widow.  Several attempts are made to breach her home, but it is only when she visits one of her husbands that she’s kidnapped.  Carry is willing to do whatever she can to survive until she can be rescued.

The second book in the Lover’s Knot of Four series, Untie the Lover’s Knot, picks up where Lover’s Knot of Four ended.  This is a fast paced suspense story that showcases a woman who knows what she wants and just how much it may cost her.  Carry’s men will stop at nothing to get her back and have their vengeance.

Despite all the precautions the five created, Carry ends up being a target due to the wealth that the four brothers amassed, which is what no one expected. I love how Carry’s brain works as she tries to protect her men and try to escape at the same time.  Because of the threats her kidnapper has made, she has to come up with a way to utilize one of the men’s talents and has an interesting idea which ends up working, though it may make some readers uncomfortable.

Readers need to read the series in order, and based on the ending, there is more suspense and action in store in the future.  I am looking forward to reading the next book in Lover’s Knot of Four.

Monday, October 19, 2015

Upcoming Torquere Press Special Submission Calls

FEBRUARY '16: TWISTED FABLES - DEADLINE NOVEMBER 15TH
Nothing’s hotter than a fable with a twist! Give us your tales of princes and paupers, of maids with glass dildos, or three hot bears in search of a twink. We want your sexy, steamy fairytales! We are looking for fully realized stories highlighting GLBTQU characters with HEA or HFN ending.
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Twisted Fables" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is November 15, 2015; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.
If the completed anthology reaches a minimum word count of 60K, the book may go to print. In that case, payment is a $35 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, as well as an electronic and print copy of the book.  Print rights are reserved for six months. If the print rights are not optioned, all print rights revert to the author.
We'll also be releasing the story on its own in ebook format. Royalties for the single title electronic version will be 45% net on books sold through Torquere Books and 35% net on books sold through our distributors, again for a period of three years. 

MARCH '16: RIVERDANCE - DEADLINE DECEMBER 15TH
Everyone’s Irish on St. Paddy’s Day and in honor of that, we’re looking for stories of Celtic lovers that’ll make us all green with envy! Give us your stories of hot Riverdancers, fairy mound lovers, and Emerald Isle love affairs.  We are looking for fully realized stories highlighting GLBTQU characters with HEA or HFN ending.
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions  to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Riverdance" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is December 15, 2015; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.
If the completed anthology reaches a minimum word count of 60K, the book may go to print. In that case, payment is a $35 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, as well as an electronic and print copy of the book.  Print rights are reserved for six months. If the print rights are not optioned, all print rights revert to the author.
We'll also be releasing the story on its own in ebook format. Royalties for the single title electronic version will be 45% net on books sold through Torquere Books and 35% net on books sold through our distributors, again for a period of three years.

APRIL '16: FOOL FOR LOVE - DEADLINE JANUARY 15TH
Sometimes the road to love is paved with misunderstandings, with practical jokes that backfire, or chance encounters that make us butt heads before bumping uglies. We want your spiciest stories of  the bumpy road to romance! We are looking for fully realized stories highlighting GLBTQU characters with HEA or HFN ending.
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Fool for Love" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is January 15, 2016; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.
If the completed anthology reaches a minimum word count of 60K, the book may go to print. In that case, payment is a $35 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, as well as an electronic and print copy of the book.  Print rights are reserved for six months. If the print rights are not optioned, all print rights revert to the author.
We'll also be releasing the story on its own in ebook format. Royalties for the single title electronic version will be 45% net on books sold through Torquere Books and 35% net on books sold through our distributors, again for a period of three years.

MAY '16: THEORY OF LOVE - DEADLINE FEBRUARY 15TH
From spaceships to pocket protectors, we want your hottest science fiction romances, your geekiest star-crossed lovers, your romances gone supernova! We are looking for fully realized stories highlighting GLBTQU characters with HEA or HFN ending.
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Theory of Love" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is February 15, 2016; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.
If the completed anthology reaches a minimum word count of 60K, the book may go to print. In that case, payment is a $35 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, as well as an electronic and print copy of the book.  Print rights are reserved for six months. If the print rights are not optioned, all print rights revert to the author.
We'll also be releasing the story on its own in ebook format. Royalties for the single title electronic version will be 45% net on books sold through Torquere Books and 35% net on books sold through our distributors, again for a period of three years.

JUNE '16: TIME OF YOUR LIFE - DEADLINE MARCH 15TH
Special occasions can add extra spice to even the hottest of relationships. From the new adult dipping his toe into love and freedom for the first time, to a pair of brides on a do-or-die mission at a wedding gown outlet sale, to a pair of lovebirds papering their newly empty nest with condoms, change can give us all a new lease on life. Whether zealous newbies or established couples rediscovering their love, we want stories where change fuels passion! We are looking for fully realized stories highlighting GLBTQU characters with HEA or HFN ending.
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Time of Your Life" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is March 15, 2016; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.
If the completed anthology reaches a minimum word count of 60K, the book may go to print. In that case, payment is a $35 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, as well as an electronic and print copy of the book.  Print rights are reserved for six months. If the print rights are not optioned, all print rights revert to the author.
We'll also be releasing the story on its own in ebook format. Royalties for the single title electronic version will be 45% net on books sold through Torquere Books and 35% net on books sold through our distributors, again for a period of three years.

JULY '16: SUMMER LOVIN' - DEADLINE APRIL 15TH
From sock hops and soda shops to poodle skirts and leather jackets love in the 1950’s rocked around the clock!  Give us your greasers and pink ladies, your rock-a-billy lovers steaming up the windows on Lover’s Lane! We are looking for fully realized stories highlighting GLBTQU characters with HEA or HFN ending.
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Summer Lovin’" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is April 15, 2016; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.
If the completed anthology reaches a minimum word count of 60K, the book may go to print. In that case, payment is a $35 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, as well as an electronic and print copy of the book.  Print rights are reserved for six months. If the print rights are not optioned, all print rights revert to the author.
We'll also be releasing the story on its own in ebook format. Royalties for the single title electronic version will be 45% net on books sold through Torquere Books and 35% net on books sold through our distributors, again for a period of three years.

AUGUST '16: BEACH RENTAL - DEADLINE MAY 15TH
From the crashing waves, seashells, and sand castles, to the boardwalks and arcades, roller coasters and quarter pitches, nothing says “summer” like the beach, and nothing says “hot” like a sizzling summer romance.  Whether it’s a family taking a well earned vacation, or a couple stealing away for a little action under the boardwalk, we want your sexy, oceanfront stories!  We are looking for fully realized stories highlighting GLBTQU characters with HEA or HFN ending.
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Beach Rental" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is May 15, 2016; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.
If the completed anthology reaches a minimum word count of 60K, the book may go to print. In that case, payment is a $35 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, as well as an electronic and print copy of the book.  Print rights are reserved for six months. If the print rights are not optioned, all print rights revert to the author.
We'll also be releasing the story on its own in ebook format. Royalties for the single title electronic version will be 45% net on books sold through Torquere Books and 35% net on books sold through our distributors, again for a period of three years.

SEPTEMBER '16: BACK TO SCHOOL: MAY-DECEMBER ROMANCES - DEADLINE JUNE 15TH
The allure of balmy spring breezes and the coziness of chilly winter nights combine to inflame passion in stories of May-December romances in a college setting. Give us stories of love that defies age, glories in differences marked by time, with love both rediscovered and newly experienced! Student and professors, sororities or fraternities, alumni and sports heroes...the possibilities are endless.  We are looking for fully realized stories highlighting GLBTQU characters with HEA or HFN ending.
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Back to School" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is June 15, 2016; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.
If the completed anthology reaches a minimum word count of 60K, the book may go to print. In that case, payment is a $35 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, as well as an electronic and print copy of the book.  Print rights are reserved for six months. If the print rights are not optioned, all print rights revert to the author.
We'll also be releasing the story on its own in ebook format. Royalties for the single title electronic version will be 45% net on books sold through Torquere Books and 35% net on books sold through our distributors, again for a period of three years.

OCTOBER '16: HARVEST MOON - DEADLINE JULY 15TH
Under a glowing full moon in a velvet black sky, all manner of things are possible! Give us paranormal stories set under a full moon, seasoned with sexy characters and spiced with romance.  Whether it’s witches or warlocks, vampires or werewolves, goblins, ghouls, or  ghosts, we want supernatural stories that will warm up the chilliest autumn night! We are looking for fully realized stories highlighting GLBTQU characters with HEA or HFN ending.
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Harvest Moon" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is July 15, 2016; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.
If the completed anthology reaches a minimum word count of 60K, the book may go to print. In that case, payment is a $35 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, as well as an electronic and print copy of the book.  Print rights are reserved for six months. If the print rights are not optioned, all print rights revert to the author.
We'll also be releasing the story on its own in ebook format. Royalties for the single title electronic version will be 45% net on books sold through Torquere Books and 35% net on books sold through our distributors, again for a period of three years

NOVEMBER '16: HEART STOPPERS - DEADLINE AUGUST 15TH
Nothing is sexier than a man or woman in uniform. Add in a hot romance and a heaping helping of thrilling suspense, and you’ve got a heart-stopping read that can’t be put down! We are looking for fully realized stories highlighting GLBTQU characters with HEA or HFN ending.
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Heart Stoppers" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is August 15, 2016; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.
If the completed anthology reaches a minimum word count of 60K, the book may go to print. In that case, payment is a $35 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, as well as an electronic and print copy of the book.  Print rights are reserved for six months. If the print rights are not optioned, all print rights revert to the author.
We'll also be releasing the story on its own in ebook format. Royalties for the single title electronic version will be 45% net on books sold through Torquere Books and 35% net on books sold through our distributors, again for a period of three years.

DECEMBER '16: HOME FOR THE HOLIDAYS - DEADLINE SEPTEMBER 15TH
There’s no better time to heal a broken heart than during the holidays. Give us your best broken characters finding redemption and love under the twinkling holiday lights! We are looking for fully realized stories highlighting GLBTQU characters with HEA or HFN ending.
Please send your 3000 -10,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Home for the Holidays" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our general submissions guidelines for formatting etc. Deadline for submission is September 15, 2016; all submissions will be held and reviewed after the deadline.
If the completed anthology reaches a minimum word count of 60K, the book may go to print. In that case, payment is a $35 flat fee for first time electronic and print rights for three years, as well as an electronic and print copy of the book.  Print rights are reserved for six months. If the print rights are not optioned, all print rights revert to the author.
We'll also be releasing the story on its own in ebook format. Royalties for the single title electronic version will be 45% net on books sold through Torquere Books and 35% net on books sold through our distributors, again for a period of three years 

FORBIDDEN LOVE - YEAR ROUND CALL
Something so wrong never felt so right. We're looking for taboo stories that defy the accepted rules of society and romance. Step-brother in love with his new step-sister? Step-son can't keep his eyes (or his hands) off his step-father? We want to read it. Please send your 5,000-60,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with "Forbidden Love" and your story title in the subject field. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting, and submission information.

TWISTED TALES OF HORROR - YEAR ROUND CALL
Romance can temper even the most horrifying tales, those that leave your stomach clenching with terror, and your mouth bitter with the metallic taste of fear. We're looking for true horror stories, those that rise above the usual tropes of vampires, ghosts, and shifters, the ones that leave our knees knocking in fear of what lurks in the dark, but still manage to show an element of GLBT romance. Send us your most gripping psychological thrillers, your utterly horrific monster tales, and electrifying gothic horrors from 10K to 100K! 
Please send your 10,000-60,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with “Twisted Tales of Horror…” and your story title in the subject field. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.

THE CASE OF THE MYSTERIOUS MYSTERY - YEAR ROUND CALL
Cozy, gothic, suspenseful, funny, we love mysteries with strong LGBTQ characters who solve puzzles and fall in love.
Please send your 10,000-60,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with “The Case of…” and your story title in the subject field. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.

GOTHIC MYSTERIES - YEAR ROUND CALL
We’re looking for mysteries set in darkly atmospheric locations, featuring resourceful LGBTQ characters and a strong romantic subplot.
Please send your 10,000-60,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with “Gothic mystery” and your story title in the subject field. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.

COZY MYSTERIES WITH A DASH OF ROMANCE - YEAR ROUND CALL
Exciting and so very comforting, there’s just something about cozy mysteries. Surprise us with idyllic settings, clue gathering, and resourceful LGBTQ characters. We want amateur sleuths, private eyes, and intrepid detectives, solving puzzles and falling in love.
Please send your 10,000-60,000 word submissions to submissions@torquerepress.com with “Cozy mystery” and your story title in the subject field. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.

COGS AND GEARS - YEAR ROUND CALL
There’s always something about stories involving steampunk, cyberpunk, dieselpunk, biopunk, or any version of punk you enjoy that gets our cogs in a bunch. Bring us your corsets, body mods, goggles, clockwork, dystopias and bioengineered plots. 
We’re looking for fully realized, romantic LGBT punk stories with HEA or HFN endings. Blow our minds while you build your worlds to show steamy romance lit by gaslight.
Stories should range from 10,000 to 60,000 words. Longer stories may be considered, but please query first. Stories will be contracted for two years, at our standard royalty rates. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.
Guidelines:
  • GLBT stories -- f/f, m/m, m/m/f
  • 10,000 words and up
  • standard royalty rates apply
  • exclusive electronic 2 year contract
For queries or submissions, contact General Manager/Submissions Editor Kristi Boulware at submissions@torquerepress.com
Please put "Cogs and Gears" in the subject line of all emails.
Follow our general guidelines. 

RAINBOWS COME IN ALL COLORS - YEAR ROUND CALL
Love stories come in all flavors and all sexual orientations and/or all gender identities. We want to see you explore all colors of the rainbow that differ from the standard gay or lesbian romance. 
Bring us your stories of trans, queer, bisexual, asexual, pansexual and polyamorous relationships.  Your characters sexual or gender identity should be central to the story but basic story genre can be varied.  Let’s take this opportunity to give everyone their happy ending. We’re looking for fully realized, romantic stories with HEA or HFN endings. 
Stories should range from 10,000 to 60,000 words. Longer stories may be considered, but please query first. Stories will be contracted for two years, at our standard royalty rates. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.
Guidelines:
  • 10,000 words and up
  • standard royalty rates apply
  • exclusive electronic 2 year contract
For queries or submissions, contact General Manager/Submissions Editor Kristi Boulware at submissions@torquerepress.com
Please put "Rainbows Come in all Colors" in the subject line of all emails.
Follow our general guidelines.

TALES OF LEATHER - YEAR ROUND CALL
Like your short stories with a little bondage, dominance, spanking, or submission? So do we! In fact, we like BDSM play stories so much that we're giving them their own category. Tales of Leather will be guaranteed to bring on all the hot BDSM action that readers crave. We're looking for romance stories with happy endings, engaging characters, and a fresh point of view. Stories should range from 10,000 to 50,000 words. Longer stories may be considered, but please query first. Stories will be contracted for two years, at our standard royalty rates. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.
Guidelines:
- GLBT stories -- f/f, m/m, m/m/f
- 10,000 words and up
- standard royalty rates apply
- exclusive electronic 2 year contract
For queries or submissions, contact General Manager/Submissions Editor Kristi Boulware at submissions@torquerepress.com
Please put "Tales of Leather" in the subject line of all emails.
Follow our general guidelines.

SPICE IT UP - YEAR ROUND CALL
Who doesn't need a little spice in their life? The Spice it Up line has openings starting in January 2012. Stories need to be inspired by a spice or herb, or the spice must feature prominently in the story. To see what spices have already been used, see our bookstore at www.torquerebooks.com. Spices may be duplicated, but all stories must be original in theme and content. We're looking for romance stories with happy endings, engaging characters, and a fresh point of view. Stories should range from 10,000 to 30,000 words. Longer stories may be considered, but please query first. Stories will be contracted for two years, at our standard royalty rates. Please see our writer's guidelines page for royalty rates, formatting and submission information.
Guidelines:
- GLBT stories -- f/f, m/m, m/m/f
- 10,000 words and up
- standard royalty rates apply
- exclusive electronic 2 year contract
For queries or submissions, contact senior editor Lorna Hinson at submissions@torquerepress.com
Please put "Spice It Up" in the subject line of all emails.

Follow our general guidelines