Tuesday, December 13, 2016

Enemy of My Enemy

Author:  Tal Bauer
Publisher: Nine Star Press
Publisher URL: http://ninestarpress.com
ISBN: 978-1-911153-96-2
Genre: {M/M}, Political Thriller, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jack and Ethan are back, and so is their most hated enemy.  The men must pull in all their chips to find out what is going on, and even then, it may not be enough.

Enemy of My Enemy is the second book in the Executive Office series by author Tal Bauer.  This is a series that must be read in order, so if you have not read Enemies of the State, you may want to stop reading this review to keep from seeing any spoilers.  

Enemy of My Enemy starts where Enemies of the State ended, with Ethan agreeing to move into the White House, becoming the First Gentleman.  He also agrees to go to work for Irwin, heading an off the books black-ops mission.  As you can imagine, many in the White House circle are not happy and soon Jack finds himself looking for a new Vice-President.  It was interesting seeing how these two strong men worked to make this new change in their relationship work.   But soon their relationship has more rough turns than either expected. 

When Madigan returns, he sets into motion a plot that will have the readers wondering just what the hell is going on and whether Jack and Ethan will ever be able to stop him.  In Enemy of My Enemy, Madigan’s crazy really shines through.  The things this nut job does, and the plans he has, is just one of the many parts of this story that will keep the readers turning the pages.  There are other twists in this book that will grab the reader’s attention as well.  More than once I was worried how things would turn out.

Many of the characters we met in the first book, besides Madigan, Jack, and Ethan, show up in this story as well.  Puchkov’s life takes an interesting turn and so does Lt. Cooper’s.  I can’t wait for both their stories. 

While I enjoy the romantic aspect of this series, for me, it is the political thriller area where the author really shines.  I love the way the author has of pulling the readers in, and keeping the story fresh.  The only real problem I have found, would be that it is very easy to reveal spoilers while talking about this book.  I think everyone will be surprised by the way Enemy of My Enemy plays out, and I hope book three is just around the corner because I really need to know what happens.

The Last Dance

Title:  The Last Dance
Author:  Kierney Scott
Publisher:  Loose Id LLC
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-219-6
Genre: {M/F}, Suspense, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Georgina ends up working as a spy because she started using cocaine to lose weight when she was vying for the prima ballerina spot in the ballet company she was working for.  Her latest target is not someone she wants anything to do with.  Roman knows Georgina is a plant, but can’t resist her.

The Last Dance is a story of a woman trying to survive her past and the mistakes she made.  Once she gets involved with Roman, her life changes as she is caught between her handler and Roman, two very dangerous men.

At first this story starts slow, but picks up as it goes along.  The chemistry between Roman and Georgina is hot, but things are complicated by the fact Roman knows she is supposed to target him.  There are some facts that Georgina is not aware of about her handler that make what happens toward the end surprising, as I certainly did not expect some of things that happened.

I do have to say, I didn’t like Roman at that point at all.  The reasons are all explained at the end, and Roman and Georgina do get their happily ever after, but I’m not sure I would have been as forgiving about what he did. 

The other characters in the book are a mixed bag.  Some I liked, but even then, what they did and who they worked for sent a lot of mixed signals when it can to helping Georgina.

I would say this story could be a cautionary tale for women who want to work in other countries.  Once the story picked up, it was one I had to finish.  This was also the first book I have read by this author and will be looking for more.

Falling into Darkness

Author: L.M. Brown
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-78651-509-4
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy 
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx
  
A bond of heavenly love forms between Michael and Lucifer in the realm of angels, the only paradise Michael and Lucifer will ever know after Lucifer falls from grace, leaving Michael torn between good and evil.

Falling into Darkness is a stand-alone book of Michael and Lucifer’s history before the Heavenly Sins series. Lucifer was the favored above all the angels in heaven; he was titled son of the morning by God. Michael is an archangel, one of his duties is to watch over mankind and save the souls of those worthy.

The storyline has a religious overtone as a backdrop. Falling into Darkness features the angel wars as well as the emotional drama of good versus evil. However, the main theme is the compromises made to achieve enduring love between Lucifer and Michael. Lucifer is a powerful angel, a little vain and a charlatan. What is interesting to me is, unlike other angels who break the rules, Lucifer still retained his powers to create demons, so in that sense he was a God of the underworld and perhaps an example of wickedness. 

L.M. Brown has created an impressive illustration of the dilemma in regards to making the right choices. I enjoyed Michael and Lucifer’s sensual romance.

Enticement

Title:  Enticement
Author:  Sierra Cartwright
Publisher:  Totally Bound Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.totallybound.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-78651-109-6
Genre: {M/F}, BDSM, Series
Rating:4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Ella doesn’t want to fall in love with someone that won’t be there for her.  When she ends up flirting with a man that has some issues with the word no, her best friend’s brother rescues her.  What she doesn’t count on is falling in love with him as she thinks he is so wrong for her since he is a military man.

Enticement is the second book in the Master Class series by Sierra Cartwright.  Those familiar with Ms. Cartwright’s work know she writes mostly within the BDSM genre.  I did have one issue with this book, and that was the choice of the safeword that Ella has.  It was discussed within the story as to why she had that particular word, but those familiar with the lifestyle will probably still have an issue with it as I do.  Other safety issues were addressed appropriately.

Ella is curious though she has dabbled in the past in BDSM.  Until Pierce comes along, she really hasn’t experienced the way an experienced Dom can make a sub feel.  Sometimes I did think Ella was trying too much to please Pierce, but soon realized she was into what she and Pierce were doing.  The two have some great chemistry, but the biggest problem is Ella’s mindset.

Pierce has his own issues that involve his family.  As the story progresses, friends step in to try to help and other issues come up.  I loved the way the story did end and enjoyed the way that Ella and Pierce reconciled.  There were a couple of surprises. 

Though this stories has been previously published with another publisher, this series can be read as standalone stories so far.  I am looking forward to reading the next book in this series.

Hunting Season Hijinks

Author:  Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN: 978-1-4874-0901-2
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

It’s hunting season again, but unlike most seasons, Gideon is on his own since his father is sick.  But things don’t go the way he had planned, and Gideon can’t decide if he is surprised or not.

Hunting Season Hijinks, the 38th book in Ms. Richards Wolves of Stone Ridge series, touches on one of the odd ball questions that floats around in my head whenever I read a story about shifters.  How come no one gets caught by hunters while running around in the woods?  In this newest book, that is exactly what happens.

Gideon has grown up around Stone Ridge and, while investigating the woods, he has noticed many unusual things.  This has lead the young man to have an open mind about what is around him.  This comes in handy when, while bow hunting, he takes down a deer that runs off.  After tracking it, he comes across a naked man who has been shot, in the same areas that Gideon shot the deer.  Gideon is surprised by the feelings the man brings up, especially once he becomes conscious again.

Alejandro is on the run.  His herd requires him to mate with several females to enlarge the size of the herd. The problem is that Alejandro is gay and there is no way he can get any female pregnant.  The only thing left is for him to get out of Arizona before his alpha or beta can kill him.   While looking for the Stone Ridge pack, with hopes of getting accepted into the area, Alejandro smells something that intrigues him, but before he can find out what it is, he is shot by a hunter. 

I liked the way these two met.  It is so far from the norm, which is a refreshing change, that you can’t help getting caught up in the story.  I also liked the connection between the two men, and the fact that they waste no time jumping into bed, fits with the flow of the story.  The chemistry between them is hot and the care Alejandro took with Gideon made me smile. 

I had started to wonder if there would be any real conflict in Hunting Season Hijinks and the author did not disappoint.  There is the problem with Gideon’s ex, who brings some surprising and deadly results, as well as the issue of Alejandro’s herd that must be settled.  I liked the way the whole story plays out and think this could easily be one of my favorites in the series.  

Mischief & the Masters


Author:  Cherise Sinclair
Publisher:  Self Published
Publisher URL:  http://cherisesinclair.com/
ISBN/BIN9780997552942
Genre:  M/F/M, BDSM, Series
Rating:  Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Uzuri fears big men, especially Doms.  Master Z has allowed her two years to get her act together at Shadowlands, but her time is now up.  Uzuri is looking for one short Master for herself, but she ends up with the Drago cousins who are not short, by any means.

Mischief & the Masters is the twelfth book of the Masters of the Shadowlands series and is one of the best in the series.  Those that have followed this series know that Uzuri is a prankster and pulls pranks on those Masters that she trusts, thus earning a nickname of Mischief.  She is also very soft hearted and will do anything she can for her friends, but she doesn’t open up to others or ask for help.

Alastair and Max are looking for someone, but aren’t sure they want to take on Uzuri’s problems.  They agree to help at Master Z’s request.  Uzuri ends up staying with them after almost getting run down.  The chemistry between the three is scorching hot, but to voice their feeling as their relationship progresses will depend on what happens after Uzuri’s problems take a deadly turn.

The usual care about communication and safe words are threaded throughout the book as both Alastair and Max are the type of Doms most of us would want to have.  They really look out for Uzuri, and even though they find some of her pranks funny, they don’t let her get away with disobedience.  One incident also has consequences for a couple of her friends, though one thing Uzuri learned comes in handy at the end of the book.

The Masters and Shadowkittens from previous books all show up to help when needed.  The way the author tends to weave the problems the main characters have, along with the solutions, kept me on the edge of my seat.  Because of Uzuri’s penchant for pranks, there are also some very lighthearted moments and, at times, I was laughing aloud.  This is also a book I could not stop reading once I started. 

I am looking forward to seeing what Ms. Sinclair has in store for Holt in the future.  Those that are fans will not be disappointed in this book at all.  The wait was well worth it.

The Dark Side

Author: Laura Baumbach
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02016-0629
Genre: {M/M} Suspense Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

As a child Alex Throne was taught to stay calm and think of an escape plan. Those lessons served adult Alex well when he was kidnapped. Unfortunately, Alex’s only escape was a fall into the ocean; fortunately Alex fell within reach of Reese Holt.

The Dark Side is the first book in the Reese Holt series. The plot is like a deadly complex puzzle, each piece is a clue adding to the big picture of the perpetrator’s identity. The plot exhibits a touching good vs. evil description, making it easy to feel emotionally involved in the down-to-earth, sometimes amusing characters.

Alex is a modest man that becomes the pawn in this thriller, he has no interest in taking over his billionaire father’s companies. Instead Alex chose to do part of the accounting work as a concession to his father’s concern for safety plea. Although Alex was not involved in the company’s main operations, he was targeted because of his highly intelligent accounting skills as well as a threat to any corruption within the company.

Security specialist Reese Holt is the owner of Overlap Security Service, a company that deals with high risk assignments. Reese, along with his staff, are all compassionate, highly skilled, the best of the best former military. Though Reese and his team are classified as civilians, they perform their missions in a precision military manner.

Rather than the billionaire’s request to hire him after returning Alex to his home, it is the hint of a mutual attraction between them that influenced Reese to become Alex’s bodyguard. Each new concentrated attack on Alex’s life garners more multifaceted clues until the list of suspects emerged and the quarry is finally captured.

The Dark Side is an excellent enjoyable saga. The engaging main characters are well-matched with similar backgrounds and personality traits. The combat style fighting is intense with a few surprises included. The criminals are a cold blooded nasty piece of work that inspires a cheer when they were eliminated.    

Heart of the Hunted

Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0916-6
Genre:  {M/F},  Sci-Fi, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Bree has been reclassified as a breeder.   While she is out trying to furnish her new home, she is kidnapped.  Arix happens to be the hunter on duty when the call comes that one of the prized breeder’s is missing.

Heart of the Hunted is the second book in the Brace for Humanity series by Viola Grace.  Ms. Grace’s new series has some very interesting tidbits about Imrahl in this book, including why the planet exists.  I like this new series so far.

Bree has been kidnapped to be a breeder on another planet. She escapes at first with the help of some interesting animals, called the skark, that think she smells like one of them.  Arix finds her, but must rescue her again after the kidnappers find her again.  The descriptions that the author uses to explain what is going on with the kidnapped women is very vivid.

Arix and Bree end up bonded due to an accident, but Bree is very happy about the situation as they have some intense chemistry.  I had to laugh about one of the characteristics that the Luthin-Rrassic have and what happens when Arix takes Bree out for dinner.  When Bree ends up pregnant there is another surprise in store for both.

I like this this new world that Ms. Grace has created.  The society she has created is interesting, though it did take some getting used to the reason for the Breeder classification that some women are given.  Some of the antics that the women do are funny and, in this case, the skark add to the fun.

I am looking forward to more about Imrahl and the various Rrassic as they try to win their mates.

Friday, November 11, 2016

Smart Bart

Title: Smart Bart
Author:  AKM Miles
Publisher: MLR Books
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02016-0630
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, Series
Rating:  5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Bart has watched his older siblings find the love of their lives, one by one.  While he is happy for them, he can’t help being a little envious.  Although he has known he was gay for a while, he just did not feel like it was necessary to say anything since there was no one in his life.  But, then Eric steps fully into his life and Bart won’t have it any other way.

Smart Bart is the tenth book in the Scarcity Sanctuary series.  This book is about the last of the seven original boys introduced in the first book.  While it is not necessary to read all the books in the series before starting Smart Bart, you should read the first book to understand why Bart is special to so many people. 

In Smart Bart, Bart, now an adult, is working in the financial department of the hospital.  He finds himself drawn to one of the hospital’s young patients, Mark.  Mark is six years old and will die of cancer unless a bone marrow donor can be found.  Eric is Mark’s brother and guardian.  He’s been working three jobs to pay Mark’s medical bills, but it still isn’t enough.  Bart is as drawn to Eric as he is to Mark and he can’t help wanting to help.  When Eric shows up to visit Mark, and it is obvious that he has been in a fight, Bart steps in to help. 

After the death of their parents, Eric gets custody of his little brother.  Shortly after, Mark becomes sick and everything starts to fall apart.  Eric does not care what happens to him, he just cannot lose Mark.  When Eric starts to fall behind on hospital bills he goes to a loan shark for assistance.  Unfortunately, not even working three jobs is enough and soon the loan shark isn’t very happy. 

There is a lot that goes on in this story and, while there is a strong attraction between the men, with so much being thrown at them, and Eric not in the physical condition to do more than cuddle, Bart and Eric get the chance to learn more about each other.  That is one of the things I love about Ms. Miles’ books.  The men take their time rather than jumping into bed, so the relationship they build is a strong one.  This does not mean that the men don’t eventually heat up the pages. 

One of the other things I enjoy about this book, and all the others in the series, is that the author always brings back many of the previous characters.   There is an interesting twist with one of the characters that plays strongly into this book.  Then there is Soldier.  Soldier and Dillion are always there for their boys, and those they bring home, regardless of how old they are.  While some may see Soldier’s actions as being pushy, it is easy to see that everything he does is out of love. 

I would love to see more books in this series, and I am curious about what the author has planned next.

A Chance for Us

Author: Jake C. Wallace
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63477-722-3
Genre: {M/M} Vampire Series
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

New Vampire Justice Officer Max Kincaid is attracted to women only or so he always thought until he rescued Justin Masters from a fanatical vampire.

A Chance for Us is the second book in New Vampire Justice series. The plot is slow paced with less than convincing characters or actions to engage my attention. The setting mirror today’s privileged society of corrupt politicians, discrimination and civil unrest.

The characteristics of the vampires are the same as a human. Vampires eat food and drink synthetic blood; only the fangs distinguish them from the humans. The attraction between Justin and Max was more credible as friends rather than two men in love

The key point of this plot is finding the missing humans and vampires associated with the bite clubs. However, there is one exclusive bite club hiding a sinister connection to a fanatical vampire attempting to gain vampire domination over humans. Justin was one of the evil vampire’s hostages. The NVJ investigation of the bite club reveals a vivid description of pain slaves and masochists. Further investigation revealed how humans were constrained by the pain slavery.

Overall, focusing on the mystery premise as well as the profiling of possible suspects, I found A Chance for Us enjoyable. 
    



The Outfielders

Author:  Robert P Rowe
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-63477-868-8
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Sports
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Tony had his life planned out, but as often happens in real life those plans get tossed around until he is only living day by day.  With all his dreams dashed, at twenty-four,
Tony finds himself still living at home worrying that things are never going to change.

Tony is gay, but because he has grown up in a small town and is worried about what his family will say he does nothing.  He was planning on coming out while away at college.  But things don’t go as planned, and Tony finds himself working at the big box store that is slowly killing the town he lives in, instead.  If it wasn’t for his few friends, and the store’s baseball team, Tony doesn’t know what he would do.   

One of those friends is Alex.  Alex also works at the big box store and has been friends with Tony for some time.  But Alex does not know that he is the object of Tony’s secret crush.   When Tony’s “girlfriend” decides to help him get the man of his dreams, things go a little crazy.  

I loved the way the author used a gay romance story to help Alex and Tony find their way.  At times, it does get a little confusing, but bear with it.  There are a lot of emotions in The Outfielders.  From the confusion, friendship, lust and love that Tony and Alex feel, to the anger, fear, and acceptance that several of the secondary characters go through.  There are also moments of laughter.  More than once, i found myself laughing, usually at Tony’s expense.  The scene where Tony’s father gives the young men a new set of speakers is really over the top.  

The Outfielders is my first book by Mr. Rowe.  I enjoyed this story, especially as I live in a small rural town and could see the similarities between my town and Mr. Rowe’s fictional one.  The characters in this book are also well done, even the secondary ones.  I found myself curious as to how the story would play out, and i think others will like just as much.  

Guarding His Mark

Author: SA Welsh
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-78651-430-1
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Being a part of the Shifter Protection Specialists Inc. is not only a job, it is Khan’s family and he would never abandon his adopted shifter brothers. Nevertheless, a night out for some casual entertainment is occasionally desired. It was on such a night that king cobra shifter Khan met Dr. Casey Jameson, a scientist in need of venom to produce a life saving serum. Except the first night of their meeting, the focus was on producing a more intimate cure for what ailed both of them.

Guarding his Mark is the third book in the Shifter Protection Specialists Inc. series. The action filled plot highlights trust issues, greed, deception, betrayal and humorous interaction between characters. The characters are creditable.

Casey is on a personal mission to develop a cure before it is too late. His research shows that king cobra venom has the best potential for a successful serum. Casey is a brilliant scientist, but not very good at judging people. It is this flaw that causes Casey major problems.

Khan has trust issues stemming from the betrayal of his natural family, so discovering that Casey is a scientist, brings back bad memories of the past for Khan. However, the attraction between Khan and Casey is so strong that neither man can forget each other or the night they spent together.

SA Welsh has created an exceptionally enjoyable intense action installment to this series. From the beginning Casey’s life is in jeopardy and just when you think Khan and Casey have escaped, another attack immediately strikes without pause.  

Guarding His Mark

Author: SA Welsh
Publisher: Pride Publishing
Publisher URL: www.pride-publishing.com
ISBN: 978-1-78651-430-1
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Being a part of the Shifter Protection Specialists Inc. is not only a job, it is Khan’s family and he would never abandon his adopted shifter brothers. Nevertheless, a night out for some casual entertainment is occasionally desired. It was on such a night that king cobra shifter Khan met Dr. Casey Jameson, a scientist in need of venom to produce a life saving serum. Except the first night of their meeting, the focus was on producing a more intimate cure for what ailed both of them.

Guarding his Mark is the third book in the Shifter Protection Specialists Inc. series. The action filled plot highlights trust issues, greed, deception, betrayal and humorous interaction between characters. The characters are creditable.

Casey is on a personal mission to develop a cure before it is too late. His research shows that king cobra venom has the best potential for a successful serum. Casey is a brilliant scientist, but not very good at judging people. It is this flaw that causes Casey major problems.

Khan has trust issues stemming from the betrayal of his natural family, so discovering that Casey is a scientist, brings back bad memories of the past for Khan. However, the attraction between Khan and Casey is so strong that neither man can forget each other or the night they spent together.

SA Welsh has created an exceptionally enjoyable intense action installment to this series. From the beginning Casey’s life is in jeopardy and just when you think Khan and Casey have escaped, another attack immediately strikes without pause.  

Cracking the Big Lug’s Shell

Author:  Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN: 978-1-4874-0893-0
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Vadim has sat back, and watched as all his siblings found their beloveds.  Worried about being alone, Vadim is shocked by who the Fates have chosen for him.  There is no way that someone as small as Kendrick could be meant for someone like him.

Cracking the Big Lug’s Shell is the 37th book in Ms. Richards’ Wolves of Stone Ridge series.  This story centers on the last Kuznetsov sibling.  Even though he’s a big bad vampire, Vadim is a bit of a gentle soul, who has a “big” problem when it comes to relationships.  This issue has caused Vadim to have self-esteem issues.  When he meets the man the Fates have picked for him, he can’t help but take a step back. 

Kendrick is human and knows nothing of the paranormal world that exists around him.  He’s also trying to put a bad relationship behind him, something that is easier said than done.  When a large group comes into the restaurant and he is asked to switch stations, Kendrick is immediately drawn to the big man that comes in late. 

Like with all beloveds, there is an instant draw for the two involved, but that does not mean that things will be smooth sailing for the couple.  That is no different in this new story.  Both men have issues to overcome, but Kendrick is determined to get his man.  The chemistry between these two men is strong and they really heat up the pages.  While Vadim’s problem is easy to solve, Kendrick’s is a little more difficult. 

Fans of this series are sure to like Cracking the Big Lug’s Shell.  Since all the Kuznetsov siblings have now found their beloveds, I am curious as to who the author will move on to next? 

An Honorable Man

Author: Sandrine Gasq-Dion
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Publisher URL: www.wildecity.com
ISBN: 978-1-925506-29-7
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

The hunter is stalking New York City; his prey are the rent boys working the streets.  After several of his friends are found dead and a close call with the serial killer himself, Bobby Laughlin leaves town. However, Officer Danny Finnegan has volunteered to go undercover and needs Bobby’s help. Working together, Danny and Bobby end one of the nightmares plaguing Manhattan.

An Honorable Man is the seventh book in the Men of Manhattan series. In this episode, the series features the dark side of a city and continues the mystery highlighted in A Selfless Man. As the suspense builds, you start to see that Danny and Bobby not only become lovers, but they work well as a team also. Their compatibility almost screams permanent relationship.

Bobby is an orphan with heartbreaking beginnings, but he learned to survive the hurdles life threw at him to become a stronger man. Being a rent boy was considered necessary when no other options are available for a homeless gay teenager.

Danny is an openly gay man who always wanted to be a cop. As a teenager, Danny knew his sexuality would be a problem for some people, so Danny trained for years in martial arts to become a kick butt police officer that only a deadly weapon could best.

Sandrine Gasq-Dion has created an intriguing saga. An Honorable Man is very enjoyable with a few unexpected twists. One scene I could visualize is Danny dancing on stage to one of my favorite tracks of music. Plus, following the pattern of clues, I could guess the identity of the killer. However his reason for the killings was a total shocker.

A Selfless Man

Author: Sandrine Gasq-Dion
Publisher: Wilde City Press
Publisher URL: www.wildecity.com
ISBN: 978-1-925506-28-0
Genre: {M/M} Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

New York firefighter Michael Callahan had never dated a guy before. Michael is not homophobic, he simply never had a strong attraction to anyone until he met Ryan Carter.

A Selfless Man is the sixth book in the Men of Manhattan series. The plot features the dangers firefighters face everyday, the dangers of being a rent boy, fulfilling dreams and a wedding. The theme of the Men of Manhattan series centers on the employees and friends of the Hawke Advertising Agency.

Michael is a compassionate man dedicated to saving people and being a firefighter was a dream come true for him. As for Michael’s romantic pursuits, his only requirement is a mutual attraction with a person, their gender does not matter.

Ryan, who has known he was gay since childhood, has been verbally beat down by his high profile homophobic parents who have convinced Ryan he has no value. It is only after getting to know Michael that Ryan begins to feel he is worthy enough to share a loving relationship.

A Selfless Man is best read in sequence in order to fully appreciate the secondary characters. The romantic comedy series begins with A Betting Man.

Michael’s brother is Tiernan Callahan; a NYC cop featured in A Healing Man. Ryan works for and is good friends with Casper Kennedy and Army Ranger Slater Cassidy featured in A Fighting Man.

Sandrine Gasq-Dion has created an impressive and thoroughly enjoyable saga.
A Selfless Man, like the other books in this series, highlights the emotional damage of parental gender rejection. However, the series also exhibits nurturing parents who love the person regardless of their sexual category.

Friday, October 14, 2016

Sharing the Land

Author: A.J. Marcus, Caitlin Ricci
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-4874-0781-0
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Zack Abbey is the last of his family and decides to sell the Wild Lands Ranch. However, Zack’s best friend Ricky Pike is worried about the wellbeing of his birth pack. It is up to the wolf pack to convince Zack to stay on the ranch.

Sharing the Land is the fifth book in the Wild Lands series. The series is a collection of sweet romance stories that span two hundred years of evolution on a Colorado cattle ranch. Each installment is a different generation of an Abbey and wolf shifter couple bonded to the land and each other.

The current generation details an empty ranch devoid of cattle and a ranch home with only Zack living there. Loneliness is Zack’s main motivator for selling the ranch. Ricky is Zack’s desired mate, but Ricky left years ago to get an education.  Zack’s abusive boyfriend adds the only mildly dramatic scene in the storyline. 

Sharing the Land is an enjoyable episode featuring emotional moments of loss and heartwarming compassion.  

Deserves to be Adored

Author: T. A. Chase
Publisher: MLR Books
Publishers URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN/BIN: MLR-1-02016-0610
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal        
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

When Raleigh was kicked out of his home and coven, he had to learn to survive on his own.  That meant working as a rent boy, as soon as he came of age, and going to school to get his degree.  Now in his thirties with everything just about where he wants them, his family shows up and they are not taking no for an answer.

Deserves to be Adored is a short story by author TA Chase.  While this story has been published once before, I do not remember seeing it.  Thankfully, this time around I got the chance to review it.  This story pulled me in from the beginning and I really loved the main characters. 

Raleigh is a witch and a strong one.  When he was still a kid, his family and coven kicked him out for being gay.  Now when his mother wants him to take his rightful place in the coven, she is pulling out all the stops to get him back.  Problem is that Raleigh does not want to go back, which eventually means that his employers, the Santiago family, find themselves getting involved. 

Joey is a driver for his family’s “business”.  When his uncle hasn’t heard from Raleigh, who is one of their rent boys, he sends Joey to find out what is going on.  It’s at that moment that Joey realizes just what Raleigh means to him. 

While some readers may have an issue with the instant connection between Raleigh and Joey, I loved it.  I also liked the way Joey went out of his way to care for the other man, as well as how he handled Raleigh’s profession.  

The author also throws some excitement into the story in the form of a coven war.  There are a couple of moments in this story when I worried about the two men, yet the author handles everything in a way that comes across believably.  I really wished this story was longer and hope that Ms. Chase will bring them back for more in the future.   

Heat Wave

Title: Heat Wave
Author: Lena Matthews
Publisher:  Loose Id, LLC
Publisher URL:  http://www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-68252-195-3
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary, Interracial
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

The California heat is causing all kinds of problems for Breanna Cole.  Her plan was to be seductive, but instead she winds up looking like a helpless and needy woman.  If things don’t change quickly, Breanna is going to wind up going home without crossing the line of “friendship” with the one man she’s been lusting after for years.

For as long as he can remember, Jordan Austin has considered himself to be Breanna’s big brother.  He feels responsible for her, so there is no way he can stand by and let Breanna suffer because of the heat.  Jordon thought throwing a pool party would be the best way to blow off some steam, but the moment he sees Breanna’s swim suit, he knows he made a mistake.

Jordan and Breanna have been dancing around the simmering heat between them for years.  Being thrown together by Breanna’s brother has finally caused the simmering to morph into a pot that boils over.  I almost felt bad for Jordan, because he had no choice but to surrender.  But considering that it was a win-win situation for him, I had to dance with joy.  Breanna pulled some great tricks, and thank GOD she did!  I must admit, I was not expecting that reaction from the brother.  Just when I think I had everything figured out, Lena Matthews tricked me and I love that.  This story will leave you sitting in front of a fan for sure.  Heat Wave is one of those stories that will leave you laughing and longing at the same time.  Pick this one up for sure.

Heart of a Warrior

Author: Kendall McKenna
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02016-0601
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Beta wolf to his True Alpha, Marine sergeant Terrell Hubbard will always think about serve and protect duty first. However, when Terrell’s newly discovered mate Staff Sergeant Kai Thayer makes a decision detrimental to the Marines and the pack, Terrell and Kai’s relationship becomes a contradiction to duty.

Heart of a Warrior is part of the Tameness of the Wolf series. The plot of the series is men discovering love even in the turmoil of war. The setting is Iraq. The camps are manned by dedicated Marines, some of whom are wolf shifters. The highlight of this episode is Terrell and Kai, two wolves commemorating the mating ritual in an exceptionally steamy expression of mutual desire. 

Kendall McKenna has created another enjoyable installment. The military action series is best read in sequence starting with The Strength of the Pack

Bounty Hunter

Title:  Bounty Hunter
Author:  Fiona Roarke
Publisher:  Nickel Road Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.amazon.com  (self published)
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-944312-07-7
Genre: {M/F}, Romantic Suspense, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Dalton wonders why Lina’s parents are so persistent about him finding her.  What he doesn’t know until after he gets to know her is why she ran.  As a solution to Lina’s problem, they get married in Vegas, but there is still the underlying problem of her family.

Bounty Hunter is the fifth book in the Bad Boys in Big Trouble series and is the last brother in the Langston family that we have met in previous books.  I have to say I liked this story the best so far.  The twists involving Lina’s family and their expectations will keep readers in suspense.

This book is different, as Lina’s family expects her to marry whom they want to increase the wealth of their family. She is married by proxy with a contract spelling out terms but becomes a widow on her wedding night, which causes some major issues for both families as they are actually crime families.  Lina runs after she overhears her parents plotting to trick her into another marriage.

Dalton decides to try to find Lina, even though he is on vacation, though he is curious why the family is so desperate to find Lina as she is over 21.  Things get very interesting once Dalton and Lina get married.  There are lots of twists, especially with her original in-laws.  I was very surprised by the two people that were behind a lot of the problems they were having.  Lina’s family is much better when they realize she and Dalton are married.

I loved Dalton’s family’s reaction when they found out who she actually was.  There were some funny moments involving Dalton’s brothers.

I am looking forward to more in this series and hope the stories are about Jessica’s brothers that we meet in Bouncer.