Friday, January 15, 2010

To Keep and to Love


Title: To Keep and to Love
Author: Serena Yates
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-304-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Reunited at last, Ryan Johnston and Daniel Miller are ready to begin their happily-ever-after. Unfortunately, the same people responsible for their four-year separation are at it again. Ryan’s parents are homophobic and the way they treat their son appalls Daniel. Ryan is frightened and believes the only way he can protect the man he loves is to vanish once again.

If the strained family ties aren’t enough, Ryan’s lack of funds and Daniel’s abundance of wealth enhances the tension on their relationship. Will the two men find a way to coexist, even with so many barriers in their way?

For those who were awaiting Serena Yates’ sequel for To Find and to Keep, the wait is over. She begins this compelling story the day after Ryan’s twin sister’s wedding. Ryan’s character really knows how to pull on the old heartstrings. It was hard not to feel his hurt and anguish throughout the story. I would love to combine Daniel’s characteristics into a very straight and available man. Handsome, loving, protective, an excellent cook and businessman, topped off with a healthy libido. What person wouldn’t want him by their side or in their bed? I’ll admit this story is quite a tear jerker. Ms. Yates adds fantastic backdrops and believable characters, with a giant dollop of drama. If you want beefy men, who are on testosterone-overload, then this may not be the story for you. However, if you enjoy a good emotional rollercoaster ride, you should pick up a copy of To Keep and to Love.

The Mark of an Alpha


Title: The Mark of an Alpha
Author: Kim Dare
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-008-0
Genre: [M/M] Paranormal Shapeshifter
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Werewolf tradition is written in stone and it’s very clear on the unbending hierarchy of the pack and its rule. The Alpha pair is at the top; always strong, dominant, and holding equal positions of power, and everyone else’s position is below.

Life and rules work differently in the human world, especially in the leather and whip filled world of the dominants and submissives. Even if werewolves find pleasure and satisfaction in this world, it can’t last. At some point they must put it aside and return to the rules and responsibilities of the pack, even if it’s the last thing they want to do. Bennett and Marsdon find themselves in that very position on their last night together in the club. It’s now time to put away their own pleasures and return to the pack and do their duty, except things aren’t always as they appear. There are times when even an Alpha wants to let someone else take control.

The Mark of an Alpha is the first release in Kim Dare’s new Pack Discipline series. The beginning was a bit of a usual start, but that didn’t stop it from hooking me into the story. I loved that it explored the need for sexual submission in a werewolf, but I was disappointed about the abrupt end of this portion of the storyline; that the characters weren’t allowed to explore it further; that it became a point of contention between new mates Bennett and Mardson.

The jump to the mating ceremony of the two Alphas was a big jump for me, but I was glad to find that the men I’d previously met in the beginning were the men involved. What I had trouble with from the start was Bennett’s constant struggle to be someone he thought he needed to be for his mate and pack; that he couldn’t let his guard down for a minute, even with his mate. His inability to bend a little got old by the middle and by the end, I wanted to club some sense into him. I liked the struggle for Marsdon and Bennett to work through their conflicts, but despite their love, the mating wasn’t working and all the angst got tiring after awhile.

I have to admit that I like Marsdon better. Despite him having an Alpha personality from top to bottom, of the two mates, he is by far more pliable. Through it all, he’s all about what’s best for Bennett and the pack, always putting them above what he wants and needs to be happy. In the end, even though he hates it, Marsdon once again gives in to what is best for his mate, but it brought them to a type of closure that will allow them and the pack to move forward; to heal both their relationship and the rift in the pack.

I would like to know more details of their newly formed pack members and its members. I only have a vague understanding of them, except for maybe little Omega, Talbot (who I want to know more about), and Alfred, the troublemaker.

Where this storyline and the relationship between Marsdon and Bennett goes is anyone’s guess, but I’ll be waiting in the wings to see what direction this series takes next.

No Place Like Home


Title: No Place Like Home
Author: Rick R. Reed
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 13: 978-1-60272-598-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Comedy
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Burl is feeling amorous and his libido in need of release; however it is the middle of the night and his long term partner AJ is sleeping soundly. AJ will not object to Burl’s wanderings, as long as he returns home to AJ, so with that in mind Burl decides to visit the Sodom Sin Mountain Ski Resort where he encounters a rather strange offer for sex. Not finding what he seeks, Burl drives to New York where he finds the kind of danger that accelerates his drive back to his Pennsylvania home and AJ.

No Place Like Home is a dark comedy spoof reminiscent of a kinky Dorothy from the Wizard of Oz and Alice in Wonderland. Burl is an English teacher who is very fashion conscience and confident. His casual use of drugs, as well as the lack of mind over body control, gives the impression that perhaps he had ingested too many times over the years and was possibly in a constant fog. This is a well written fast read with interesting characters, in addition to an abundance of humor. I found the story to be impressive, although I was not in agreement with the drug references.

The Sin Eater’s Prince


Title: The Sin Eater’s Prince
Author: Keta Diablo
Publisher: Ravenous Romance
Publisher URL: http://www.ravenousromance.com/
ISBN: 9781607773191
Genre: {M/M} Historical, Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Being a sin eater is lonely, unrewarding work but it’s the only life Owen Rhys has ever known. His people in his small village in Wales only acknowledge the man when their loved ones pass on. But the local physician sees Owen’s unique beauty and would have him as a lover, confidant and friend, if the opportunity ever presented itself.

Andras Maddock has more than a soft spot for Owen and no one had better think twice about harming him. Andras and Owen discover their attraction is mutual, but the road to love is rocky. Secrets, hidden pasts and nasty villains will keep Owen and Andras on their toes.

Keta Diablo’s The Sin Eater’s Prince pushed Keta onto my list of favorite authors. After reading past stories, I was pleasantly surprised by her latest release and her ability to spread her wings. The Sin Eater’s Prince hits on three of my favorite genres. The realistic characters do a fantastic job of drawing you into the tale. Owen and Andras both have traits that I found enduring but in the end, Owen won me over. With his big heart, and desire to do what was best for all concerned, he was a pauper hero, rich in love and forgiveness.

The way the story ends leaves room for a sequel, and I’m so hoping this story rich and plot and imagery will have a continuing saga. Buy a copy and enjoy!

Saying I Do


Title: Saying I Do
Author: Cameron Dane
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-493-0
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

After two years of being lovers, it’s a big step when Adam decides to ask Rhone to marry him and the younger man is petrified that the man he’s crazy about will say no. Of course, Rhone is thrilled and says yes, and the two lovers become engaged and start planning a wedding in Vermont.

That’s where the story takes a twist. Despite looking good on the outside, all isn’t perfect on the inside of the hotel where their wedding is scheduled to take place. Instead of spending all their time wrapped in each other’s arms, Adam and Rhone seem to spend just as much time dealing with the odd goings-on at the hotel. No matter where they go, they keep running into the woman who runs the hotel and her feuding fiancé, and there’s also a young male employee being bullied and abused by his supervisor/boyfriend. Helping these people puts a strain on Adam and Rhone’s relationship and causes Adam’s insecurities to rise to the surface. It’s up to Rhone to set everything right or he might not get to say I Do to the most important person in his life.

Saying I Do is the third release by Cameron Dane in her ongoing Quinn Security series and this one starts off with a bang. Well, it actually starts off with a round of blistering hot sex between lovers Adam and Rhone. I know… I know, it’s a bit unusual to start off with a sex scene, but then again our two characters have been in love for a couple of years already and from the blurb, we know the men get engaged and are getting married.

Let me tell you, Rhone and Adam are still just as much in love as ever and the sex is intense, frequent, sizzling hot, passionate and Ms. Dane did an excellent job with these emotion-filled scenes. She also did well describing the depth of their love and commitment, making me feel their joy and happiness at getting married.

The investigation portion of the story never overwhelmed the romance portion, but helped to give it direction and interest. I, in particular, liked Wes, the abused man they were trying to help and would love to see him featured in another series story sometime in the future. Then there was Robert, who played a small role until near the end of the book. I’d like to know more about him, as well. Seeing the characters from the two previous releases arrive at the hotel and be part of the ceremony was a nice addition. I am anxious to see where the series goes with the next release. Keep writing Cameron and nice work…again.

Melting The Slopes


Title: Melting The Slopes
Author: William Maltese, Jason Edding. Ethan Day
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-085-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Sno Ho - Ethan Day 4 Nymphs
Boone Daniels arrives at Summit City lodge in Colorado, expecting to celebrate their one year anniversary with his boyfriend. Instead he receives a phone call from said boyfriend informing him that they are no longer a couple. Not one to dwell on bad news, Boone makes his way to a cozy bar. There he meets Wade Walker, a ski instructor and they spend the night together.

Sno Ho is a humorous first person commentary of the night before events, which had elapsed from Boone’s memory and the budding romance that followed Boone’s remembrance. Boone is a vivacious guy with a quirky imagination that is perfectly suitable for a promising writer. Wade is a notable ski instructor and prominent resident of Summit City. Both men are intuitive and personable. They have excellent chemistry between them and good interaction with the town’s people. The characters and plot are developed and the setting is descriptive. My impression is that the story is a cliff hanger, meaning that I must endure waiting for more of these wonderful characters.

Bottoms Up - William Maltese 5 Nymphs
British agent referred to only as” Buddy”, is on a covert assignment to obtain information needed to complete his agency’s political agenda. However, the more time he spends with his target Alain Rollenbatski, the more difficult it becomes to separate job from his feeling for Alain.

Bottoms Up is an emotional rollercoaster that spans a three year period. The intriguing plot takes place mostly in Europe. The agent is an honorable man more than willing to serve his country, yet his integrity is at odds with the agency’s methods used to gain information. Alain is a forward-thinking wealthy man who has no desire to follow in his dying father’s footsteps. The chemistry between the two men that is almost idyllic. All the well developed elements of this story are realistic and the sex scenes are marvelously sizzling.

One Fire, One Ice - Jason Edding 4 Nymphs
Grant has secretly loved his best friend Babhru for years, yet neither has openly indicted their desire to be lovers. However, at the age of twenty one and with Babhru leaving for college, Grant plans to seduce Babhru during a weekend stay at a ski lodge.

One Fire, One Ice is an emotionally charged story of Grant’s memories of his past. Still mourning his parent’s death, Grant’s future is in limbo. He is depending on Babhru to set their path the same way as he always followed Babhru’s lead. Grant is wealthy and very giving. Babhru is honorable and independent. The story has a descriptive setting, the plot is interesting. The characters were not quite believable in that Grant seems to lack any incentive for his future beyond the seduction of Babhru.

Overall, Melting The Slopes is an engaging, and at times, humorous anthology by three very talented authors. Well written plots with interesting characters and intimate details that provide a full voyeur effect visual.

Sinful Heat


Title: Sinful Heat
Author: Tianna Xander
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487- 451-4
Genre: (M/M/M/F} Ménage/Quatre, Shapeshifter, Vampire,
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Maya ends up on a swinger’s cruise and not the single’s cruise her friend sends her on. She is frustrated as she was looking forward to maybe finding a man to spend time with on the cruise. Her first shore excursion is a night swimming expedition with dolphins. She ends up on an island with three hot men and missing her ship.

Franco, Dante, and Jacob are using the dolphin excursions to try to find their mate by trying to control the women on their trips. They will not be able to control this mate and they want to find her as Franco has seen his brother with his mate and wants the same thing. Maya is totally unexpected as she does not fit any one of their dream mate. The men are frustrated by the fact that Maya keeps running from them.

Sinful Heat is the second book in the The Endowed series. This book follows Angelo’s brother and his friends as they try to come to terms with the fact that Maya may never accept them. Maya’s feelings and confusion comes through very clearly and I was sometimes able to feel like I was Maya. Her reactions to three very sexy men who want nothing more than to adore her as she comes to terms with her feelings is priceless. This story about the Endowed was more of a love story with some suspense thrown in and the author keeps adding insights and building on the previous information about this society. The ending leads into the next book of the series and I, for one, can’t wait.

The Endowed


Title: The Endowed
Author: Tianna Xander
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-316-6
Genre: {M/F/M} Ménage, Vampire, Time Travel
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Victoria is what is known as a sentinel because she can become one of the Endowed. She has lusted after Angelo and Ricardo since she was sixteen, though she feels like she was rejected by them since they would not feed from someone they thought of as a child.

Angelo notices Victoria after a couple of rogue vampires decide they are going to make her their next meal. He can’t kill them because he must have proof and another member of the council as witness, so he decides to protect Victoria by taking her to his home. Angelo realizes that she is both Ricardo’s and his mate.

This series about The Endowed introduces a vampire society that has a very interesting and different story of how they came to be. The author also creates an interesting mating rite between them and humans. There are several suspenseful moments when you might wonder how they will get out alive. The chemistry between the three is scorching hot. There was one area toward the end of the book that was a little confusing, as it was unclear how some information was given to Victoria, and I had to reread that part. That being said, this book is one that should be on the bookshelf of those that like vampires and I am looking forward to reading the next book about The Endowed.

Moonlust


Title: Moonlust
Author: Kallysten
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-885-7
Genre: {M/M} Futuristic
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

For Captain Kar, there is no better life than traveling amongst the stars. Trading keeps him and his crew in the black so when they are requested to acquire a few boxes of precious chromore, Kar cannot help but think there’s a catch.

Landing on Danaus, he and his crew find themselves letting down their inhibitions. The passion that is always masked comes into full view, and life aboard his ship will never be the same.

Kallysten’s Moonlust is yet another excellent story in the Men in Space series. Kar, Jay and Will are great characters, and their personalities complement one another. The story is a mix of suspense, action, and mind-blowing sex that will definitely invoke a few reads. I’ll admit Jay’s character gained most of my attention. Gaining a glimpse at his past made me want to know more about the man, and I can’t help but wonder what would happen if he had to return to his former life. I found the story a wonderful treat and believe those who enjoy the genre will enjoy Moonlust.

Paul’s D’Marco


Title: Paul’s D’Marco
Author: Leiland Dale
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.authorleilanddale.co.cc/shop/
ISBN: none listed
Genre: {M/M},Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Matt D’Marco is a strong, tough, Alpha cop whose marriage has fallen apart. Not only does he have an ex-wife to contend with, but he also has to find out whose killing little blond haired boys before more die. Paul is a psychic who moved away from his home town in order to be happy. Only a cry for help from his brother-in-law would bring him back.

Paul’s D’Marco brings together two men, neither of whom have had successful relationships. To say the chemistry between them is intense would be an understatement as they burn up the pages as soon as they meet. The author has thrown them into a situation where they are together 24/7, giving them plenty of time to learn about each other. The mystery surrounding the deaths of the young boys will keep you guessing and if you watch a lot of crime dramas, you just may be able to figure out who the bad guy is.

Author Leiland Dale has written a very interesting, fast paced, novella that is part crime drama and part paranormal. The characters draw you in from the beginning and hold your interest until the end. One of the things I enjoyed the most about this story is that it is told from the view point of both main characters. I admit that in the beginning I was a little worried that it would make the story confusing but it works out well. The relationship between Paul and Matt could easily be worked into more than one sequel and I hope to read more about them soon.

Waiting In Vain


Title: Waiting In Vain
Author: Charlotte Stein
Publisher: Total E Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-006-6
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary/Seasonal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Cipher Prose Nymph

Mick has been attracted to Nancy for three years. The problem? Her smartness makes him insecure.

Nancy thinks Mick is gorgeous and has drooled over him at every family Christmas gathering. The problem? He’s way too good looking for a Plain Jane like her.

Waiting In Vain is full of surprises, humor and hot sex. I found myself extremely amused at the action and wittiness that is packed into this short novella. I laughed out loud on more than one occasion over the awkward moments Mick intentionally caused for Nancy, and fanning myself a little over some of Nancy’s unexpected reactions.

Waiting In Vain is a sweet but spicy story that has no problem holding your interest to the very end. My advice is to not pick this one up until you have time to read it all, because you won’t want to put it down.

Thursday, January 14, 2010

Crimson


Title: Crimson
Author: Ethan X. Thomas
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-884-0
Genre: {M/M} Futuristic
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

When Lieutenant Benjamin Kraft ‘s latest mission goes wrong, he begins to identify feelings he didn’t know existed for his partner, Adam. Ben’s sole desire has focused on putting drug czar Tazu behind bars, but Adam shows him there’s more to life than just fighting the bad guys.

Adam is part of a race known as starlings. Most don’t understand how a former slave gained a position as a police officer, but Ben recognize the strength and honor in Adam. Their new mission will test their resolve, and cause Adam and Ben to move past being colleagues and into the untested waters as lovers.

Ethan X. Thomas' release, Crimson, is part of the Men in Space series. I’ve had the privilege to read a few stories from this upcoming series and to say I’m happy with them would be an understatement. Crimson has a nice balance of action, suspense, and tantalizing BDSM scenes with toe-curling power. The pace never falters and the characters are believable and draw you into their story. I’m looking forward to reading more from Ethan X. Thomas and more of the stories in this series.

Ticket to Ride


Title: Ticket to Ride
Author: Shawn Lane
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-622-2
Genre: [M/M] Mystery Suspense
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Chad Storm’s life is in flux, personally and professionally. On the upswing, he’s the lead singer of the former rock band, Lightning, and he’s primed to make a comeback. On the downswing, his on-again, off-again lover, Mark Walters, has decided to move to Maryland with another man. Then to make matters worse the morning Mark is supposed to leave, Chad finds him dead…floating in the pool.

The newest murder Homicide Detective Lieutenant Jack Reeves and his partner are investigating is in the home of former rocker Chad Storm, a man and band Jack’s never heard of. As much as Jack hates to admit it, and despite it being inappropriate, something about Chad calls to him. When the younger man starts getting strange phone that sound suspiciously like Mark, all Jack’s protective instincts rush to the surface.

Who murdered Mark? Who’s making the calls? Was Chad the intended victim? Can Jack keep him safe?

Ticket to Ride is the first release by author Shawn Lane that I’ve read. This novella is short at only 22K, so despite Chad being a suspect in Mark’s murder, his relationship with Jack starts off rather quickly. The length also means that the plot is pretty predictable from beginning to end. Don’t get me wrong. That doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy the story, because I did.

The story is heavily weighted on Jack and Chad’s new relationship and equally light on the Mark’s murder investigation. It does give the reader a chance to get to know these two vastly different men. Jack’s worldlier and admits to multiple sex partners, while Chad’s been with Mark since they were kids…and their relationship wasn’t exactly healthy or satisfying. I guess that’s one thing that made me like Jack immediately. Despite Chad’s initial suspect status, Jack saw the younger man as someone he wanted to know better and acted on it, even if professionally, it wasn’t the smartest thing to do. Chad is just a little sad, and his unhappy history seems pretty typical of the problems ‘stars’ in the limelight experience and he needs Jack.

There aren’t many secondary characters but they do play a vital role in the plot. I’m not saying who the villain of the story is, but I guess I should have seen him coming before I did. If you enjoy a little suspense with your romance this quick little story will give you a nice afternoon read.

Angelic Rapture


Title: Angelic Rapture
Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: Extasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-423-1
Genre: {M/F} Fantasy/Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Nathaniel Lehor is the eldest of the eight brothers, and very bitter because he feels that he has failed his family by not protecting them better. Also he lost a mate to Hades, when she tried to kill him, which caused his uncle Michael to kill her, protecting Nathaniel. He puts himself in harm’s way every opportunity he can, and once he realizes that he has feelings for Jules, it shakes him up. Knowing that he could cause her harm, he tries to resist what is bound to happen between them.

Jules is torn up inside with the choice she was forced to make; choosing between her family and the archangels. Her brother is with the justice angels, who are determined to destroy the archangel warriors, by any means. She has known that Nathaniel needs her since she first laid eyes on him, and will do whatever it takes to see him happy.

Angelic Rapture is centered on two main characters of the archangel warriors. I found myself laughing at some of the comments from conversations, and touched when the realization of true bonding found its way into a cold, bitter person. This is the tenth book in the Archangel series, and Ms. Hecht continues to wow me with her writings.

The author creates a very realistic scene each time, making the story more believable. The descriptions of some of the outfits were kind of outlandish, but typical of the younger angels. It was also a nice touch with the mentioning of the lost family connection from justice and archangels. My favorite character of all in this series is Camael, the second youngest of the Lehor brothers, and Nathaniel’s change of heart towards him created a closer bond.

I am looking forward to seeing where this series goes next, and after the surprise villains this time, things should get very interesting in the near future.

Yule Be Mine


Title: Yule Be Mine
Author: Viola Grace
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.net/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-452-1
Genre: {M/F} Fantasy/Paranormal/Seasonal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

It was not unusual for Arabel Marx to wake up in a strange place. Working for the clan, performing blessings through dance, kept her constantly on the go. However, this was the first time Arabel had woken up on the lap of a dark and wild stranger.

After five minutes, Zenner knew that he wanted Arabel as his woman. She was doing a horrible job of taking care of herself, and the dragon in him wanted to protect her forever. Would he be able to convince Arable to leave her clan before her job killed her?

Arabel devotes all her time to working for the clan. She isn’t even allowed to date. And the magic that she releases at each blessing is slowly sucking the life from her. When Zenner gives her the chance for a simple family life, Arabel is happy but hesitant. She knows her family is not going to let her go without a fight and Arabel doesn’t want harm to come to Zenner. There are scenes where Zenner is so tender and loving with Arabel that I sighed out loud. This dragon really knows how to pamper his woman. Readers will enjoy Yule Be Mine as much as I did.

Mastered


Title: Mastered
Author: Ann Jacobs
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 978-1-41992-597-9
Genre: {M/F} BDSM Erotica
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Cipher Prose Nymph

The efficiently ran, glossy life Prosecutor, Sandra Giancone portrays to the outside world is not all it’s cracked up to be. Under the surface lies a passionate woman with a need to be mastered.

Chief of Detectives Rocky Delgado has been long time friends with Sandra and while he fantasizes about taking their relationship to the next level, he thinks his dominate nature will be too much for the tightly self-controlled Sandra.

Mastered is a hot read that explores the different sides of people and shows why a “book” should not be judged by its cover or in this case, people. Many of us go through life, instantly summing those up around us by their mere appearance, never realizing what lies beneath. It is a good lesson in what we may be missing out on by not taking the time to get to know someone in our lives.

While I enjoyed this read and how it visits different levels of BDSM, I found the sexual innuendos to be somewhat crass and crude. I also found the extreme differences of respect shown from a heated scene to an everyday scene a little confusing.

Mastered is overall, an erotic read that’s guaranteed to heat up those cold, winter nights or make the summer ones boil. This novella is a good reference for those who may not know all the ins and outs of it.

Moor Love - Audio


Title: Moor Love - Audio
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total E-Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-1-907280-97-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Audio
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Since the car accident that killed his father and left him both physically and mentally scarred, Jon Cook has lived an isolated, lonely life. Living and working on the Yorkshire moors, his injuries mean that he needs assistance on his farm. Although this allows Jon some contact with other people, he hides behind a hard, unapproachable exterior, never uttering a single word and forever blaming himself for his loss.

Caleb Winters has studied hard for a career in agriculture and has been looking forward to spending a year in England, helping Jon keep his farm in order. The two have been communicating by letter prior to Caleb’s arrival so Jon knows about Caleb’s sexuality but Jon has not been so forthcoming with personal details and Caleb is intrigued. As they become more comfortable in each other’s company, Caleb can see that Jon is trapped and wants desperately to help him escape his self-imprisonment. Not able to tell Caleb what’s going on in his head, Jon finds another way to communicate his feelings and the realization that they have so much more in common than first thought helps explain the growing feelings between the two men. However, Jon has spent so long punishing himself for what has happened that he’s not sure he can stop and with Caleb’s work placement coming to an end, time may be running out.

The story of two men who’ve had to hide part of themselves finding a kinship in each other made the story of Moor Love very enjoyable. The tension between Jon and Caleb really created an air of anticipation and the pace in which the two learn about each other and themselves was just right. The moment when Jon allows Caleb to see the real man behind the gruff exterior was fantastic and I really connected with the conflict between needing to share and finding it so difficult to let someone in. The conclusion, while a little abrupt, provided a satisfying ending. I really felt that Jon and Caleb were perfect for helping each other heal and grow.

This was my first experience with an erotic audio book and for the most part, it was a good one. Having the story narrated to me really allowed my imagination to soar and having the added stimulation of the characters being given a voice worked well. I did find my mind wandering on occasion though, perhaps because I didn’t have an actual page to focus on. I have to admit to my reaction on hearing the first erotic scene being described as more than a little immature. In fact, although I had no problem with the narrator’s voice or with connecting to the plot or characters, the erotic parts just seemed to be missing something. I am not sure if this would still be the case if I’d been reading an e-book but either way, it didn’t detract too much from my enjoyment and Moor Love was a very strong story. In that respect, I would conclude that an audio book is just like an e-book in that it is the strength of the story that will make or break it.

Love in Exile


Title: Love in Exile
Author: Samantha Kane
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419925283
Genre: {M/M/F} Historical
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

It’s been seven years since Gregory Anderson left to sail around the world. Returning to England brings him more fortune than he could have imagined when he meets a young couple, Nat and Alecia Digby. The young couple have a passion that matches Gregory’s, as well as the intelligence he has come to hope he would find in a willing lover. With his new bedmates, Gregory finds something he never thought to have hoped. He discovers love and acceptance.

Love in Exile is Samantha Kane’s sixth book in the Brothers In Arms series. The connection between Gregory, Nat and Alecia was almost instantaneous but believable. I could feel the currents of passion, need and desire running through the threesome and taking them over. Gregory was definitely my favorite character in this story. His yearning for love and acceptance always remained below the surface, hiding under his cool facade. Nat and Alecia’s characters have personalities that suit Gregory and their newfound relationship. The threesome is well-matched and quite entertaining to watch. I truly could understand Nat and Alecia’s reluctance to add another on a permanent basis, but their selection of Gregory made that reluctance a moot point.

I’ve come to love Samantha Kane’s series, not just for the historical references or because Regency novels are one of my favorites to read, but because of her ability to create captivating characters in realistic situations. Adding powdered wigs is definitely a bounce. She captures the essence of the time and adds a healthy dose of erotic play that leave you spellbound. Those who have enjoyed the series will find this latest release a delight to read.

Tuesday, January 12, 2010

New Blog!!!!

Literary Nymphs has a new/different blog, called the Hot List, that highlights the Recommended Reads on this blog. However, it is still a work in progress!

Enjoy and Thanks!

http://literarynymphshotlist.blogspot.com/

His Rebellious Concubine


Title: His Rebellious Concubine
Author: Nadia Aidan
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419926440
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Finally, the time had come for Prince Razan to satisfy his lust for Shiyan. The Princess is a dark beauty with an acid tongue and she has pushed him to the edge of obsession. Instead of showing her gratitude by spreading her legs for him willingly, the half-blood vampire has resisted him every step of the way. This only makes Razan try harder to tame her.

Eventually, Shiyan knows she will wind up in Razan’s bed. Even though that is exactly where she wants to be, Shiyan refuses to make things easy for the arrogant vampire. He might be forcing her to surrender but he would never be her master. Shiyan uses some enslaving tactics of her own to make the prince see her more as a worthy mate and less as a captive concubine.

Shiyan was the one who was captured but my heart really went out to Razan. Shiyan’s rejection not only damaged Razan’s ego, but his soul. The Princess seemed like nothing more than a conquest for him, at first. I felt that he only wanted Shiyan because being shot down was a turn on for him. Then Nadia Aidan showed me Razan’s affection for Shiyan and I became his fan. And Shiyan was even more stubborn when it came to revealing her feelings. Just when things started heating up for the couple, I was fearful they would be ripped apart. Fortunately, Shiyan picked the right moment to reveal information that saved Razan from making a big mistake. If you love reading about steamy battles of the wills with toe-curling sex scenes, then run out and get His Rebellious Concubine.

Lionsheart


Title: Lionsheart
Author: Marteeka Karland
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-374-3
Genre: {M/F} Futuristic, Paranormal, Shapeshifters
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Shiffley has only one desire - to get the woman he loves out of harm’s way. In the years since he met Gretta, Shiffley has contended with his need to make her his own, but their age difference has kept Shiffley on a short leash.

Gretta’s arrest has given the two the opportunity to finally set free their passion and admit to their true feelings. Marteeka Karland’s Frozen Earth is a fascinating series with characters you won’t soon forget. There’s nothing like a bit of subfreezing weather to create the perfect setting for a steamy erotic encounter. The latest release, Lionsheart, is yet another fantastic story with two captivating characters.

Roped In




Title: Roped In
Author: Sindra van Yssel
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737- 500-5
Genre: {M/F} BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Laera is out camping and decides to follow a path in the woods to walk and clear her head. She keeps going further and further from her campsite and ends up twisting her ankle and getting tangled up in some brush.

Bruce helps Laera get out of the brush and starts talking to her about Bondage Ranch and realizes that she has an interest by the questions she is asking. Bruce agrees to take her back to camp if she has dinner with him. After dinner and at the campsite, Bruce starts slowly introducing her to the world of BDSM.

Roped In is a book that should be on the bookshelf of anyone with an interest in BDSM. The author slowly introduced you to an alternative to “vanilla sex”. As Bruce answered Laera’s questions and slowly initiates her to what it means to be submissive, you could transport yourself into the story. I felt I was experiencing everything Laera was experiencing. The chemistry between Bruce and Laera is explosive and requires cold showers and ice water. Ms. Van Yssel is extremely knowledgeable and gave great insight into the joys of BDSM, especially taking it slow and doing lots of investigation. I will be reading this one again and can’t wait for her next installment of the Bondage Ranch series.