Tuesday, March 2, 2010

A Matter of Time Book I


Title: A Matter of Time Book I
Author: Mary Calmes
Publisher: Club Lighthouse Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.clublighthousepublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-897532-73-7
Genre: {M/M} Murder, Mystery
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

A promise to a friend leads to Jory Keyes’ life being placed in jeopardy after he witnesses a brutal murder. The police want to place him in a witness protection program, but Jory just wants his life to go on as normal. Work and friends keep him busier than most socialites. Jory has no time for love but makes concessions for one-night stands. After getting to know Detective Sam Kage, Jory is sure he can change his rules. Are Jory and Sam on the same page, or has Jory finally found himself in the shoes of his past lovers?

Mary Calmes' A Matter of Time Book I is our first introduction to Jory and Sam. Jory is a fun-loving beauty with cooking skills good enough to grab Martha Stewarts’ attention. Sam is a typical Alpha male. I understood why Jory didn’t allow anyone to get close to him until Sam. He’s just not the type of man to take a wimpy half-hearted order. Sam’s persistence and determination was just what he needed. I’ll admit that by the end of this book, I did not have happy feelings about Sam. This is the first book of four and so far, he hasn’t earned the right to lap Jory’s shoes.

A few structural elements need addressing however; they weren’t enough to take way the message behind the story. I saw a great deal of Karma coming back in full-force while reading the tale. A Matter of Time Book I is about the importance of friendship, family, and being true to yourself and those around you. It is a fast-paced story with a dose of action, suspense, and humor. The sex is sizzling between Jory and Sam, and the Windy City is the perfect setting. Mary Calmes has started the A Matter of Time series off with a fascinating story that drew me in, and I’m looking forward to reading the next installment.

Can't Hurry Love


Title: Can't Hurry Love
Author: M. Jules Aedin
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-398-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Vincent Furnier has been summoned to the director’s office after an indiscretion of a sexual nature with a satyr in the supply closet during work hours. Vincent’s punishment is probation plus temporarily reassigned from the Easter Bunny Department to the Cupid Department. His reparation is to inspire a surly cupid by the name of Charles Ross, who is quietly protesting company policy.

Can't Hurry Love is a charming satire with engaging characters. Vincent is a loveable bunny with a very active libido. His natural inclination is to indulge in sex as often as possible and he takes pleasure in getting attention from sexy men. He considers his fluffy white tail to be his best asset. Vincent likes his job and just wants to do his penance and go back to stuffing Easter baskets. He finds Charlie extremely alluring to gaze upon, however, his depressing manner causes Vincent to have doubts regarding his opinion on casual sex.

Being a cupid, Charlie is a romantic; he is all for allowing love to build. Sex for him is part of the love connection between two people. He pretends to ignore Vincent, seldom speaking directly to him. Nevertheless, his attraction to Vincent is quickly growing. Charlie’s true feelings for Vincent become evident when their matchmaking assignment goes wrong, Charlie falls into a coma and Vincent is put on trial as the perpetrator for Charlie’s almost deadly state. Finding Vincent missing when he awakens, Charlie is determined love will conquer all including death along with his separation from Vincent.

Although sex is inferred, there is no actual illustration of lovemaking. The talented M. Jules Aedin has created a splendid story featuring a collection of mythological characters that I enjoyed tremendously.

Man in the Mirror


Title: Man in the Mirror
Author: Alex Standish
Publisher: Torquere Books
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-912-5
Genre: {M/M}, Western, Time -Travel
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Shane is a recent transplant to Glendale, Arizona. While walking around town, he comes across an antique store where he ends up buying a mirror believed to be enchanted by a long ago witch. Later that evening, when the moon is full, something strange happens and Shane’s life will never be the same again.

Navezgane is an Apache warrior looking for the white men who destroyed his village. When he comes across a group of outlaws, he is surprised by the strange white man they have tied up.

If you like M/M stories with a time travel theme, then you are going to love this one. It is probably one of the best I have read in some time. The characters, Shane and Navezgane, are just plain fun. Although they seemly have nothing in common, the author brings them together in such a way that they can’t help but fall in love. Shane’s easy acceptance of traveling to the past was a plus, as there was none of the whining and complaining that can occur in stories like this. The snappy dialog and one-liners will keep the reader entertained. While the passion between these two is intense, it is the constant trouble Shane and Navezgane seem to find themselves in that will keep the readers turning the pages.

Although I have only read a few stories by Alex Standish, Man in the Mirror is, by far, my favorite and one I will be reading again and again.

Blood Crystal


Title: Blood Crystal
Author: Jannifer Hoffman
Publisher: Resplendence Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.resplendencepublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60735-110-8
Genre: {M/F} Suspense, Thriller, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Rookie agent Dani Lovato is going undercover as a precious gems specialist to retrieve a stolen priceless crystal that has been stolen. She learns that there are only a few people she can trust and Stephen is at the top of her list. Now that she is on the run with him, Dani feels guilty for keeping secrets from him. Being a woman with a lot of baggage, she doesn’t need a man with the same kind of issues, nor a relationship either.

Stephen Douglas, a wounded war hero who has just returned from Afghanistan, finds himself being blackmailed by the police, and it doesn’t sit well with him. The true man in him won’t allow him leave Dani to the troubles she is in and finds himself doing everything possible to help her, even breaking into his ex-wife’s house.

Blood Crystal is a truly fascinating story with a lot of gun fire, chases, secrets, lack of trust and villains. This story started out at a full run and never stopped until the end of the book. The two main characters are very entertaining with their determination to out-do the other, and I love the way they fought the budding love that found its way into their hectic lives.

Ms. Hoffman did a great job of storytelling with espionage, gun fights, hot love-making, and attempted murder of the main characters. Throw in Stephen’s brothers teasing him while on the run and Dani’s secrets and you’ve got a whopper of a story. I loved the plane scenes best because it had me visualizing my time flying in the front seat of one being afraid. I am looking forward to reading more from this author.

Dark Fall


Title: Dark Fall
Author: Gwendolyn Cease
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-034-9
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Max Whitfield is the epitome of a Marine. Strong, dedicated, and determined, he makes his job look easy. An assignment in Afghanistan goes wrong when Max awakens as a slave in a different realm. Their captors will get a rude awakening if they were hoping for a group willing to submit.

The daemon realm of Thorash is home to many. Darke, a Carthus daemon, wants to know how species are entering the realm and put a stop to the activity. The Thorash law enforcer sees Max and decides to save him from imminent death. Max has touched Darke’s senses like no other, but the right thing to do is return Max back to his home.

Gwendolyn Cease’ s Dark Fall is a fantastic addition to the multi-author Lust Bites series. The story begins at a fast-pace with a scene that has you on the edge of your seat and never slows down. Max and Darke are ultimate warriors. Their initial reactions reminded me of heated cinnamon. It was hot, spicy, and overtook my senses. Darke and Max’s emotions were an open book. Both wanted something they were unwilling to admit to needing. Thank goodness, their stubbornness didn’t last forever. I loved the description of Darke. I could actually visualize the hulking daemon and understood Max’s fascination.

Ms. Cease has created two interesting main characters for this story. The storyline is well developed, the plot easy to follow, and the setting drew me in and transported me to Thorash. Action, suspense and tantalizing erotic scenes make Dark Fall one book you don’t want to miss.

Mulberrilicious


Title: Mulberrilicious
Author: Michelle Hasker
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-325-5
Genre: {M/M/F} Paranormal, Ménage, Sci-Fi
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Thanks to the poor economy and a cheating fiancé, Trisha decides to leave New York and start over. She figured that moving in with her sister would help regain her confidence to tackle the world. Never in a million years did Trisha think she’d be tackling a brown eyed stranger in the middle of the forest. The fact that he wasn’t struggling to get free left Trisha confused and aroused.

Geoff senses that Trisha would be the perfect woman for him and his Botan lover, Monroe. They both want her, so all that’s left to do is convince her of their feelings. Getting into Trisha’s bed would be much easier than gaining entrance into her heart.

Geoff and Monroe are as different as night and day, but that is one thing that makes them mesh so well with Trisha. Those two men deliver in the heat department, because they know how to pamper a woman, especially a big beautiful woman. I admit I was a bit shocked by Trisha being more concerned with Geoff and Monroe being bisexual than the fact that they were tree shifters. I really got a kick out of the fact that the men weren’t the only ones with a secret. In the end, I couldn’t deny the fact that Mulberrilicious is a pleasant installment in the Big, Blooming, & Wild series that left me looking forward to whatever comes next.

Savage Awakenings


Title: Savage Awakenings
Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-492-7
Genre: {M/M}, Shapesifter, Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Keegan has no idea what or who he is until the night a group of Ravens show up to kill him. On the run with a tiger shifter that seems to have disappeared, Keegan calls out for help.

After being rejected by his family and most of the other shifters, Rat is used to being alone with no one to really trust. He has a job with Mitch’s group of shifters but he knows as soon as he screws up, they will kick him out just like everyone else has. So why is he getting the hots for Mitch’s baby brother?

Author Stephani Hecht has several ongoing series, one of which is the Lost Shifters. The latest release, Savage Awakenings, is not only the third installment in this series, it is probably the best to date. I was glad to see that this story was going to revolve around Keegan and Rat, who I was worried would turn out to be the leak. When the author brings Keegan, who is one of the lost shifters and Mitch’s baby brother, and Rat, who is the coalition’s computer expert, together the attraction is instant and it is not long before Rat realizes that he has found his mate. The pages burn once these two hit the sack. The author also brings in a lot of action as Rat and Keegan race to Michigan, hoping to stay one step ahead of the Ravens. With two missing brothers still out there, and one fierce leader with no mate, this is one series I hope will not be ending any time soon.

Shadows of the Mind


Title: Shadows of the Mind
Author: Mark Alders
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-493-4
Genre: {M/M} Science fiction
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Jacob Theison is almost asleep when a bright light shines into his bedroom window. Being curious, he goes outside to investigate. On the way to the site, Jacob meets two other young men who are also curious. When they are close enough to locate the source of the green glowing light, they discover a spaceship with aliens who are intent on capturing the humans for their bizarre purposes.

Shadows of the Mind is the first book in The Pembroke Eve Chronicles series. The story is set in the small town of Pembroke Eve. Jacob is the only openly gay man in town. He dreams of leaving and is saving his money with that goal in mind. However, everything changes when the aliens capture the whole town and he is the only one aware of the events. Although easygoing and almost too gentle, Jacob is featured as a hero, yet I did not get the impression he had any leadership qualities. To a certain extent, he displays more of a capacity to resist the aliens, but Jacob’s focus is on the new found intimacy he shares with one of the men he met on the way to the spaceship. The secondary characters have the key role of presenting solutions for their survival, as well as saving the town. The disproportionate amounts of capture and escape scenes diminished the realism of the characters for me; though, I enjoyed the amusing interaction between them. Mark Alders has created an interesting alien tale that most Science fiction fan will enjoy.

Soul Bond


Title: Soul Bond
Author: Christine Price
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-993-9
Genre: {M/M} Futuristic
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

For Captain Julian Gaspar, a life spent in outer space has its own rewards. A routine ship seizure yields rare items, one of which is a handsome sapphire-eyed man named Ellis. Julian is enthralled after a few brief moments in his company. They form a connection that will need time to strengthen and miscommunication is the least of their troubles. After Ellis is abducted, Julian is left behind distraught and seeking the man who has touched his soul.

Julian’s reputation as an honorable man precedes him and helps in the return of his lover. However, Ellis is in a weakened state with a short life expectancy. What is Julian willing to risk for the man he loves?

Soul Bond is Christine Price’s first published work and if this is any indication of what is to come, Ms. Price is an author you don’t want to bypass. Her characters are wonderfully detailed and believable. I felt emotionally connected to both Ellis and Julian. I could relate to their desire to protect the one they loved. Julian attempted to fight the attraction, which made the story more interesting.

This fast-paced story contains a strong plot and settings that added nice backdrops while the drama unfolded. The hidden elements that make up Ellis were a wonderful twist to the story, and intricately woven in with glimpses given at strategic moments. Soul Bond combines steamy erotic scenes, action and suspense to create a tale you won’t soon forget. The story was fantastic and I look forward to reading more from this talented author in the near future.

OC Pride: Fundamental Things


Title: OC Pride: Fundamental Things
Author: Stephanie Vaughan
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerepress.com/
ISBN: None listed
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Even after nearly two years together, antique car restorer Jamie MacPherson still can’t believe a guy as gorgeous as Ryan Van Alstyn wants to be with him. He’s so afraid that his young lover will leave him that Jamie is willing to do anything to keep him happy, even if that means giving up his most cherished dream.

Ryan knows he and his lover have all the physical chemistry they need to make their relationship work. He also knows that communication plays an equally important role, but try telling that to Jamie. Ryan knows something is bothering his kind-hearted lover; the problem is getting Mr. Insecurity to talk about it.

OC Pride: Fundamental Things is the latest release following the lives of lovers Jamie and Ryan, and Ms. Vaughn has once again done a great job with these guys. The love, desire and affection they hold for each other is still as strong as ever, but unfortunately so is Jamie’s insecurity and fear of losing Ryan. The story is short in length, but the author packs a lot within its pages. The writing is tight; the scene changes appropriate to keep the story flowing, and the integration of secondary characters smooth. There’s a nice plot twist that I really liked, but won’t reveal here. (I’d hate to ruin it for you.)

Fundamental Things isn’t necessarily a typical Valentine’s Day release but it shows love, tenderness and a willingness to sacrifice, which is what love and relationships are all about. I look forward to the next look into the lives of these two lovers.

Monday, March 1, 2010

Taller, Meaner, Darker


Title: Taller, Meaner, Darker
Author: A.J. Llewellyn and Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXasty Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-483-5
Genre: {M/M}, {M/M/M}, {M/M/M/M}, Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Gavin is starting to worry about the new love of his life, Jackson. With memories of Jackson’s actual life popping up and a sudden craving for multiple partners, Gavin’s not sure what he’s going to do. If that is not enough, all his friends’ problems are starting to interfere in their lives, as well.

This sequel, by authors A.J. Llewellyn and Stephani Hecht, picks up not too long after Tall, Mean & Darkly ended. I wondered how the authors would be able to write a sequel and still keep it fresh. With this story’s premise, it would be easy for it to become just more of the same. However, the authors kept that from happening. As would be expected, Gavin and Jackson are still coming to terms with the fact that Jackson, at one time, used to be Chrissie, Gavin’s deceased wife. To keep things from becoming too normal for the men, the authors throw a little monkey wrench into their lives in the form of a recently dead, now in a new body, hot young man looking for help. While the men’s sex life has always been hot, watch out as this time, it sizzles.

As the men try to get their lives back on track and old characters show up with problems trailing behind them, readers will be pulled into Taller, Meaner, Darker and come out wanting more.

Wolf in Mens Clothing


Title: Wolf in Mens Clothing
Author: Dakota Rebel
Publisher: Resplendence Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.resplendencepublishing.com/
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Werewolf
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Rhys Stone is driving to his grandmother’s house when his car breaks down on a road, bordered by a wooded area, and his cell phone cannot find a signal. Walking from the direction of the woods, a man offers assistance. Rhys is immediately captivated by the sexy male and accepts his offer, in addition to making an offer of his own, one that he hopes will not be declined.

Wolf in Mens Clothing is an enchanting short story. Dakota Rebel’s adaptation of the age old fairytale Little Red Riding Hood has been given a new twist. What started out as a simple rescue of a stranded motorist quickly evolves into two guys who can’t resist each other. The storyline is humorous, the characters are likeable and the intimacy is very sensual. I thoroughly enjoyed this fantastic saga.

In Hot Pursuit


Title: In Hot Pursuit
Author: Kate McMurray
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-517-3
Genre: {M/M} Mystery, Suspense
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

NYPD Policeman Noah Tobin is on the verge of burning out. Long months since his lover’s death have left him drained. A forced vacation brings Noah a second chance to live when he encounters Harrison “Harry” Knowles, a prominent restaurateur. After an exciting encounter, Noah learns that Harry has been reported missing.

Noah finds himself at the crossroads and Harry holds the map leading to his future happiness.

In Hot Pursuit is about second chances, forgiveness, and acceptance. It is a wonderful blend of action, suspense, romance, humor and erotic play. I love Harry’s character. Regardless of his wealth, Harry has a great sense of humor and knows how to be a true friend. Noah grew up wanting to be a police officer and refused to allow anything to hinder that dream. That tenacity told me criminals were up against a bulldog, disguised as a handsome man. Watching Noah relearn how to live and love was a wonderful element of this story. Transitioning back into a well-adjusted life after months of mourning was a long journey. Harry had the perfect personality and set of strong shoulders to make this road a little less bumpy. I absolutely loved this story and look forward to reading more from Kate McMurray in the near future.

My Shifter Showmance


Title: My Shifter Showmance
Author: R. G. Alexander
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-958-8
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

After the wild life she lead, Margo is working on being a conservative person, which means dancing on tables again is totally out of the question. When a friend sends her a website link for a website called Shifting Reality, she jumps at the chance to be anonymously wild. What happens in the online chat room is more than she expects, and she wins a trip to Scotland. Her boss makes it more difficult for Margo to enjoy her time there by demanding she mix business with her vacation.
Thomas is a bored cat shifter and really needs to find his mate in order to make life more interesting for him. What he does is create a website to help him find the woman meant to be his mate and he has a little fun with it. Now that he’s seen Margo, and knows she is the woman for him, he goes prowling for her in earnest.

My Shifter Showmance is very different from anything I have read before but I must say that I thoroughly enjoyed reading this story. This is the first release in the Shifting Reality series and I can’t begin to imagine who the next story will be about, especially with all of the intriguing characters. Once Thomas and Margo get together, and get past their inhibitions, the sex is blistering hot.

There is an underlying plot that caught me off guard, and I won’t give that away. I found myself laughing at the antics of the secondary characters, which play important roles throughout the book. Most of the characters that had online names didn’t really match their persona, and one in particular I had high hopes for, but she bailed out for personal reasons. Congrats R. G. and I am looking forward to reading your next book soon.

Sweet Charity


Title: Sweet Charity
Author: N.J. Walters
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419924002
Genre: {M/F} Sci-Fi
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Charity overhears guards talking about a prisoner her father is torturing. She finds him and thinks he is dead, but is surprised when he asks her to get a message to the Resistance leader, Adrian. She decides to leave the Inner City and risk getting the message out.

Adrian is an Alpha that survived the first group of terminations at the beginning of the Alpha program. He has slowly gathered a group around him and has decided that it is time to gain their freedom. He also wants a woman of his own since he has seen both Tienan and Logan find love.

The final book in the Project Alpha series takes you on a terrifying emotional journey in Sweet Charity. Not only do you have the emotions that both Charity and Adrian have for each other, you get the full impact of the General and how he treats Charity and the hatred that the resistance has for him. The chemistry between Charity and Adrian will take your breath away. I like the way the author did not leave you hanging at the end of this series about their society and some of the things going on. This series is one I will be reading again.

Have Mercy


Title: Have Mercy
Author: N.J. Walters
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419923333
Genre: {M/F} Sci-Fi
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Logan was known as Alpha Two while he was under the Ruling Council’s control, before escaping to avoid termination. As he is going through the city, security forces shoot him and he manages to find a hiding place before he passes out.

Mercy operated on Logan after two of the orphans she has taken in finds and brings him to her. She is amazed that he is still alive and is not happy about her attraction to him.

Have Mercy is the second installment of the Project Alpha series and, even though part of the first chapter is almost a repeat of the explanation given about the Alphas in Embracing Silence, it picks up very quickly after Logan gets shot. Logan knows he has brought danger to the compound where Mercy lives, but wants one night with her. When Logan and Mercy get together, the pages get scorched and I recommend lots of ice water. The author takes you further into this version of Earth, as you learn more about the society and the differences between the rich and those outside the Inner City. This is a wonderful follow-up to the first book and yes, you need to read the first one.

From Afar


Title: From Afar
Author: Ava March
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-896-3
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal, Vampire
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Lord Aleric Vane understands his role as the third son of a Duke, but no one said he would agree to it. After three years of no contact with his family, Aleric is only a few steps from living on the street. If that’s not bad enough, he encounters three ruffians prepared to separate him from his values, willingly or by deadly force.

Raphael Laurent has lived a solitude life as a vampire for the past thirty-six years. The sun started to shine in his life once more when he first glimpsed Aleric. The years of watching over Aleric have created a host of feelings, and Raphael couldn’t imagine existing without him. What is he willing to do to keep the man who brings him joy From Afar?

Raphael’s longing could be felt the moment you began to read this story. Even though he walked a fine line as a stalker, he never crossed that line until there was no alternative. Aleric has a calm demeanor. Through most of his trials, he kept a stiff upper lip. I loved the instant connection of this couple. Their sexual energy was palatable. Ms. March adds a touch of suspense and action to From Afar to counterbalance the erotic play between the men. I found the story a quick but excellent read.

Eyton


Title: Eyton
Author: Lynne Connolly
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-691-4
Genre: {M/F} Historical
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Richard and Rose are rejoicing over the birth of a daughter and celebrating at his family estate, Eyton; with everyone around. Little do they know that they will be involved with a murderer, a thief, and unwanted family? His mother is still the stiff, starched and uncaring person he remembers and she puts Rose through the grind by testing her skills as the next countess.

This loving couple continues to awe the ton, and their families alike, with the displays of their tender affections in public, leaving little doubt of their union being a true love match. Richard is still determined to protect Rose from harm by anyone, and now he has a precious daughter to also to keep safe. During the dinners, lazy afternoons, and balls that are taking place, a murder is committed, leaving it up to the two of them to solve. I must say that, with the loyalty of their servants who doubled as bodyguards, the threats towards them were kept to a minimum.

Eyton is the fifth book in the Richard and Rose series and I really missed reading about their interactions. Richard’s family, still not completely accepting Rose, causes a problem for him but Rose comes through for him and wins them all over. It was a nice touch to having some of the characters from previous books to appear to celebrate the birth of their daughter. Because of their negative attitudes, some of the characters really needed to be shaken up and Rose definitely came through there.

When Richard and Rose weren’t busy satisfying others, they spent time with their daughter or pleasuring each other. Add in murder, a thief, and overbearing parents and the plot thickens even more. I was surprised at how Ms. Connolly ended this story, yet pleased at how the family pulled together to protect one another. I say well done Ms. Connolly, and I am hoping to read a little more in regards to a few of the secondary characters soon. Hint. Hint.

Embracing Silence


Title: Embracing Silence
Author: N.J. Walters
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419923326
Genre: (M/F) Sci-Fi
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Alphas were created with genetic enhancements - to be used as “super soldiers” - for the Ruling Council. The Council later created robots and decided to terminate the Alphas. Tienan was named Alpha One and once he escaped, he set about trying to destroy the Council.

Silence was a child of the streets, who was adopted by another Alpha, and is considered his sister. She is also a very good tracker who is trying to find out about Tienan so she could report back to her brother, believing he is a danger to her family. Tienan captures her for information and both realize they have some great chemistry.

Embracing Silence is a great start to the Project Alpha series. The author takes you into future Earth after a disaster changes the world. The struggle going on between those ruled by the Council in the Inner City plus the rebels, outlaws and those just trying to live their lives and survive outside takes you right into this world. Tienan and Silence have some very intense emotions, though Tienan tries to remain unattached. The struggle both have after a betrayal teaches them some things about themselves as they learn to trust each other. I am looking forward to the next few books in this series.

The Only Thing That Matters


Title: The Only Thing That Matters
Author: AKM Miles
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerepress.com/
ISBN: None listed
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Valentine’s Day is fast approaching and Brack and Austin have each made special plans for their first lover’s holiday together. All is going as expected until a weather front arrives days early, bringing with it dropping temperatures and a dangerous blizzard that blankets the area in snow. Austin is waiting at home, frightened out of his mind, and Brack is stranded on a lonely mountain road, miles from help. With only himself to rely on, can Brack get back to his lover before the day ends or will they spend the holiday alone? Worse yet, can Brack make it through the snow at all?

The Only Thing That Matters is a short holiday look into the lives of lovers Brack and Austin. I might as well admit it up front. I liked these two men when they were introduced in Brackets and I still do. The author has packed a lot into this short story; a mere 8950 words, and each is utilized to its fullest. I feel I can safely say that not a single word is wasted or frivolous. You have love, tenderness, fear, longing, hope and passion and it’s all done in a well-written and plotted story. What more could you want for a Valentine’s Day release?

The author did a nice job expressing the love both men felt for the other, as well as their fear during the raging blizzard. This was particularly true of Austin, who was stuck at home alone and thinking the worst. I enjoyed the addition of the wolves to the plot (the details of which I won’t reveal); it is an unexpected twist that I enjoyed, and which I think you will too. Brack and Austin are still crazy about each other and while their passion hasn’t dimmed, their understanding, caring and tenderness has grown exponentially.

I look forward to the next release by AKM Miles, an author who has become an auto-read for me.

Sunday, February 28, 2010

The Guardian


Title: The Guardian
Author: Mary Calmes
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-381-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Jude Shea’s warmth and genuine friendliness is an allure few can resist. His life seems to be traveling downhill at a fast rate, leaving Jude wondering how he will take care of himself. If his life isn’t already complicated enough, Jude rescues a dog that reminds him more of a wolf. Even when faced with his drastic life changes, he cannot turn his back on the bruiser.

The veil separates Earth from an alternate dimension. Guardian Eoin Thral traveled through the veil and discovered someone he never thought he would find, his mate Jude. To claim the man he loves, Eoin must return to human form. He will have to travel to his dimension with Jude in order to claim his mate. An impossible mission, until people come to claim Eoin with malicious intent. Will the men find the happiness they both deserve?

Mary Calmes has written a brilliant story. The wonderfully detailed settings draw you in and make you feel a part of the story. The Guardian has a nice mixture of suspense, action, humor and erotic scenes. Eoin and Jude are both brilliantly written characters. Eoin has internal and external strength that makes obstacles appear as little more than pebbles on a path. His raw, passionate interludes with Jude leave no room for doubt that two men are coupling. He’s the perfect half to complete Jude. Jude’s beautiful features make him appealing to men and women. His cluelessness to how he affects others makes him that much more likeable. Jude’s selflessness, openness and honesty were like a breath of fresh air.

The Guardian was a fantastic read and cements Mary Calmes name of my list of “Must Read” authors.

Beyond Curious




Title: Beyond Curious
Author: Paisley Smith
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419926570
Genre: {F/F} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Satyr Vael

Annie Prescott promised her late grandmother that she would learn to play the piano. Despite her tomboyish style, Annie sets about keeping her promise. She signs up for private lessons with Widow Granger. She’s expecting an elderly cat lady…not a gorgeous young woman.

Emily Granger has always lived a predictable life, even before her husband Allen died from cancer. Meeting Annie, though, stuns Emily into realizing that maybe she still has more to discover about herself. Allen’s family, however—namely his brother Ken—might have other ideas.

Beyond Curious is one of the best lesbian stories I’ve read in a long time. It’s realistic and charming, with characters you fall for immediately. Annie and Emily couldn’t be more different from one another, yet together, they’re perfect. The love scenes, quite frankly, left me squirming. They were that hot! The things they deal with, outside of the intimacy, are things most couples take for granted: being seen together in public, acknowledging that there’s more to their relationship than meets the eye. I loved watching them both—especially Emily—deal with the reality.

Beyond Curious was my first book by Paisley Smith, but it definitely won’t be the last.

Knocking on Demon’s Door


Title: Knocking on Demon’s Door
Author: Cathryn Fox
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419925061
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Blake is looking for his sister and has taken a job as a bartender where several women have gone missing. He thinks she may be one of them.

Michelle has finally convinced her boss to let her go undercover to find out why women are dying at the ski resort. She is also a demon hunter and seer. When she sees Blake, she is trying to find out why he can walk in the daylight because he is obviously a demon and her enemy.

Knocking on Demon’s Door started a little slow and the first chapter sometimes did not make sense until later in the story. Once you got past that, the mystery and the heat factor went up a lot. You can feel Blake’s anger, once he finds out what is really going on and decides he will work with Michelle to put a stop to it. What neither Michelle nor Blake see coming is the emotional impact they have on each other and I had to keep fanning myself once they got together. There is a very big surprise at the end that I did not see coming and Ms. Fox does a good job blindsiding you with it. This is one for the keeper pile.

His Sister’s Kiss


Title: His Sister’s Kiss
Author: Kate Hill
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419925948
Genre: {M/F} 20th Century Historical
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Master Sergeant Abraham Marley Forbes has survived being a captive in a Vietnam prison, and needs to fulfill a promise to a deceased friend. He’s been a loner all his life and it doesn’t help him to overcome his hard outer shell, until he comes face to face with the sister of his friend…Angela. Now that Abe has a taste of what life could be with a beautiful woman, he is afraid the flashbacks of imprisonment will destroy what they are building together.

Angela Franco has fantasized what her perfect dream man will be like all her life, and has stayed away from unwanted useless sex, waiting for her true love. While she is suffering the loss of her only brother, raising his child Polly by herself, she keeps busy with everyday life, and her parents constant badgering to get married. When she comes face to face with Abe, there is no going back and they try to overcome both of their second guessing about the relationship.

His Sister’s Kiss is a beautiful bittersweet story of a solider from the Vietnam era and it left me with mixed emotions, remembering that time. I must say that Ms. Hill did a fantastic job of giving detailed descriptions of the scenes of war and believe me when I tell you, they are real. Angela’s reaction is not what one would expect from most women but when you fall in love at first sight, all bets are off. The sex between these two was blistering hot, and didn’t leave much to imagination.

I found myself laughing at the reactions of both Angela and Abe when her parents stated what they thought of the relationship, and Polly didn’t help matters either. This is a very short story, but it’s packed with a load of emotions that can overwhelm you if you are not in the right frame of mind. I enjoyed reading every sentence, and learning more about the characters really helped to visualize them better. Kudos to Ms. Hill, and keep the books coming!

Recipe for Love


Title: Recipe for Love
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-033-2
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Moving to Cattle Valley has changed Jay De Luca’s life for the better. The fear he lived with while dating his ex-boyfriend, Randy, is gone and for the first time in years, he’s opening himself up to friendship. Jay’s biggest problem is his attraction to the town’s playboy, Erico, the owner of the upscale restaurant, The Canoe. While Jay craves the physical part of a relationship with the older man, he isn’t ready to open his heart up to love, out of fear and self-preservation.

Erico Morrelli knows he has a love-um-and-leave-um reputation around town because of his attitude of living life to the fullest, and now it’s come back to haunt him. He’s attracted to the emotionally scarred Jay and all his friends have warned him away from the younger man. To make matters worse, he has a serious health crisis he’s ashamed to tell his friends about. When he collapses at work, he’s forced to re-evaluate his life and make some changes. Can Erico convince the man who holds his heart that he’s changed or will he face the future alone?

Recipe for Love is the fifteenth release in Carol Lynne’s ongoing Cattle Valley series and it’s another winner. In fact, it’s my new series favorite. Jay’s character has intrigued me since his sudden appearance near the end of The Last Bouquet, and I’ve waited a little impatiently to read his story ever since. While it’s not imperative that you read the previous releases that deal with Jay and Erico, it will give you a better understanding of their personalities and pasts if you do.

Pairing the emotionally wounded Jay with playboy Erico wasn’t expected but finding him to be the perfect companion and lover to Jay surprised me even more. Aside from their mutual love of cooking, it’s a true case of opposites attracting…at least on the surface. Underneath, these two men are alike in many ways...attitude, desires and how rough they play in bed. Jay, in fact, is like two people at times. He’s generally quiet and unassuming but in private, he’s far different and open about what he wants.

Ms. Lynne did a great job getting these two through the rough patches of a new and uncertain relationship and she did it with style, creativity and realism. I enjoyed seeing characters from previous releases and was especially happy to see a little more of Sean, who I hope gets his own book sometime soon. Hint. Hint. The plot flows swiftly from one scene to another, and the author integrates secondary characters smoothly, helping to round out the plot and give it depth and continuity within the series. I for one look forward to the next book, Firehouse Heat. Read and enjoy!

Open Sesame


Title: Open Sesame
Author: Mia Watts
Publisher: Resplendence Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.resplendencepublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60735-108-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Interracial
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Oz Adamo wants answers. When his family stocks crash and they declare bankruptcy, he’s sure someone is behind the events. Insider trading may be part of the equation and all arrows point to Alister Baban. Oz wants the information divulged and isn’t above playing dirty to gain it. Is Alister ready for Oz’s style of torture?

Open Sesame is Mia Watts’ latest release and her two main characters ooze sex appeal. Both men are handsome and intelligent. Oz is the risk taker, while Alister is about fair play. Their mutual chemistry sets off a chain reaction as the plot unfolds, leaving Alister and Oz with a lust for more. You could see Alister fighting his baser instincts to take a romp with Oz, while Oz battled with trust issues. The tale begins at a moderate pace and contains a smidgen of action to lead us into the meat of the story. Ms. Watts created the perfect setting staged for seduction. While the storyline wasn’t overly complicated, it’s well delivered and leaves the reader time to enjoy the sparks flying between Oz and Alister. I found Open Sesame to be a sensually sweet read.

Velvet Valentines


Title: Velvet Valentines
Author: Violet Summers
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578- 665-4
Genre: {M/F} BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Derek has been hiding a part of himself because he loves Elise and thinks he can live a “vanilla” life with her. After she sees an invitation addressed to him, Elise finds out about Club Velvet Ice and realizes that he has hidden a large part of himself and doesn’t really trust her.

Velvet Valentines is a great second addition to the Club Velvet Ice series. Elise needs to confront Derek about his trust issue, and takes steps to prove she can be what he needs, without his hiding his dominant style. Keep plenty of ice on hand because the journey Elise embarks on will scorch the air. This is one that I will be reading again.