Saturday, April 30, 2011

Winter and His Twins

Title: Winter and His Twins
Author: Cooper McKenzie
Publisher: Siren-BookStrand
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-439-1
Genre: {M/M/M}, Ménage, Shape-shifter
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Winter was beaten and can’t write or take care of himself and at Spring’s request, Hawk and Garrett show up to help him - only to discover Winter is their mate.

The second book of the Welcome to Sanctuary series is a fast paced story. Winter and His Twins follow Spring’s brother as he recovers from a beating and his move to Sanctuary. Domestic violence and stalking are an everyday problem for some and the way Winter’s ex behaved is a familiar story.

The author does have a sense of humor, which shows up unexpectedly in the story. I still have to laugh at the names of some of the characters. While I don’t read a lot of male/male stories, those that do will want to add this series to their bookshelf. I recommend you read all in order as the first book gives some more background about Garrett’s and Hawk’s family.

Be Brave

Title: Be Brave
Author: Fyn Alexander
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-999-7
Genre: {M/M}, Suspense, BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Angel has been with his Daddy for six months and his life has changed more than he ever expected. No matter what comes his way, however, Angel is determined to make sure his Daddy is always proud of him.

The Angel and the Assassin series centers around two themes that make for entertaining reading, BDSM and suspense. Both themes play an equal role in this story, something that the author is able to do quite well. As the first story, Angel and the Assassin, was coming to a close, readers could see how loving Angel was starting to change Kael’s life. In Be Brave, that change is even more evident. Kael’s love for Angel results in the assassin changing an important aspect of his life, in order to secure Angel’s well being. Unfortunately, this is a man who has no business teaching and many of the scenes involving Kael in his new job had me laughing out loud.

Kael isn’t the only one who’s changing. As Angel becomes more secure with his new life, he starts to show a maturity that will soon help him with the problems that come his way. This does not mean that Angel is not your typical teenager at times; when his actions at home result in a visit from the nosey new neighbor, the results are both funny and extremely serious.

As I mentioned earlier, this series has aspects of BDSM, and just because Kael is now involved with Angel does not mean he has limited his DOM behavior. I liked how Kael not only talked to Angel about bringing Conran back to the dungeon, but also explained to Conran that their sessions would only go so far since Angel was now in his life. These scenes are intense and the author’s ability to bring them alive has made him one of my favorites.

Mr. Alexander also weaves a very good suspense story as Kael’s old life, as an assassin, comes calling once again. The bad guys in this story are the type that have no redeeming qualities so readers are sure to cheer when they meet their just rewards. Readers are sure to find Be Brave a very satisfying read, and I for one cannot wait to see what Angel and Kael will be up to next.

The Cake

Title: The Cake
Authors: A. J. Llewellyn & Serena Yates
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-511-5
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

From his early childhood, Daine loved to bake and as an adult, he’s working hard to fulfill his dreams, which means making the best cupcakes possible in the bakery he bought from his father. Daine’s proud of his success but doesn’t understand what’s going on when strange things start happening. Then he meets a sexy man, Phillip, who comes in one day to buy cupcakes and the sparks fly.

Phillip Sedgwick is a successful lawyer, working for a prestigious, but unusual, law firm. They specialize in protecting, and even prosecuting, members of the supernatural community for various crimes and infractions. Phillip’s newest assignment is to gather information on the owner of Fabulous Cupcakes, Daine Paradis, who’s been accused of abusing his powers. Phillip sets out to investigate and soon finds that things aren’t as they seem and that someone behind the scenes has a hidden agenda.

The Cake is the first release in the new four part series by A. J. Llewellyn and Serena Yates entitled Elemental Superpowers. This book focuses on Daine, a man with a special talent with the element of fire, while the others…air, earth and water…will follow.

I was intrigued by the blurb for this release and I wasn’t disappointed. While a story dealing with the four elements isn’t new, the manner in which they are dealt with, including the law firm Phillip worked for, is unique and refreshing. The personalities of both men are interesting and a little bit quirky, their interaction is fun and fast paced, but when their passion spikes…it’s fiery. The setting of the story…inside Daine’s bakery…with its many luscious sounding cupcakes is nothing short of cruel. It left me wanting a cupcake and a glass of milk the entire time I was reading. Yet, for that very reason, it was a great selection. Good choice, AJ and Serena.

Daine’s unaware of his family heritage, so that means most of the interesting paranormal pieces of information regarding their world didn’t come until the end. While I might have wished it otherwise, there wasn’t any other way to keep both the reader and Daine’s character in the dark about what was going on. When the truth’s revealed, it’s done in a manner that only peaked my interest further, making me want to know more. Adding Daine’s father and his significant other to the storyline and learning their history with the ruling council is a nice twist that only helped to propel the story forward. Read and enjoy!

Watch for the next release in the series, Blancmange.

All Lessons Learned

Title: All Lessons Learned
Author: Charlie Cochrane
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-354-4
Genre: {M/M} Historical Sweet Romance
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

The end of The Great War has cost Orlando Coppersmith more than most realize. He has returned to St. Bride’s College, where he tries to pick up the pieces of his life. Orlando must find a way to move on without his Jonty Stewart.

Those closest to him understand, quite well, his pain and suffering. When he is approached about a possible commission to investigate a young officer’s disappearance, Orlando decides the distraction is just what he needs. With each new revelation comes another layer Orlando must shift through to finally find the truth.

I wasn’t prepared for Charlie Cochrane’s All Lessons Learned, the eighth book in the Cambridge Fellows Mystery series. Jonty is one of those characters that crawls under your skin and makes a second home. His fortitude, sense of humor and raw passionate devotion to Orlando made it hard not to miss him. Orlando’s pain was so pronounced, I ached for him. At moments, it was as if he lived life by the moment and the hour; but I have to give him credit, I was sure he would once again crawl into the shell that Jonty pushed him out of but that was not to be. His love for Jonty wouldn’t allow him to hide away, as he did in the past.

Charlie Cochrane knows how to add twists to the story that will leave you floored by the events. I truly didn’t see some of them unfold until the signs were hard to ignore, thanks to her ability to build upon each with a mastery of a mason. Every new layer to the story was added perfectly. Each nuance included with just enough information to build on the last, but never giving away the true ending of the story.

A sound plot, believable characters, and remarkable settings are awaiting you in All Lessons Learned. I will miss reading these tales that took me back to the England of yesteryear. Each story was unique and a credit to the author.

Keata’s Promise

Title: Keata’s Promise
Author: Lynn Hagen
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-320-4
Genre: {M/M}, Shape-shifter
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Keata doesn’t understand why he feels funny whenever Cody is around but once the other wolves explain, he is devastated. It is up to Cody to prove how much he really loves and wants Keata as his mate, hopefully, before one of the other wolves decides to take his little man.

Keata’s Promise is just one of the stories in this series that I have been anxious to read. While all the stories have been very good and I could not wait to get my hands on them, this one would result in the ‘break-up’ of two of the wolves. From the first story, readers knew that Cody and his long time lover, Jasper, were not fated to be mates and honestly, after seeing how much they loved each other, this made me a little mad. I wondered how the author would work the introduction of Cody’s and Jasper’s mates into the series, knowing that not only would these relationships have to advance the series storyline, but also make a connection with the readers as well.
With Keata’s Promise, Ms. Hagen was able to do both very well. Not only was the author able to resolve the issue of Cody and Jasper, but she also cleared up the problem of Jasper’s continued denial of his own mate, Zeus. Just because Cody is now able to go to Keata does not mean their relationship will go smoothly. In fact, Keata does not trust Cody, which is understandable, and believes the two of them should spend some quality time getting to know each other before jumping into the claiming. Once these two do get together, the passion between them is intense and I loved how Keata told everyone the pair had finally mated.

There are two things fans of this series can expect, hot sex and constant humor. Keata’s Promise has an abundance of both, keeping the reader turning the page. This newest addition to the Brac Pack series is a great story and one not to be missed.

Tuesday, April 26, 2011

Diamond: Double Cross

Title: Diamond: Double Cross
Author: Winnie Jerome
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61040-194-4
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Paranormal investigator Randy Hughes, along with his team members of the top-secret agency known as the Institute, is wrapping up a raid on a collector. Institute’s mission is to keep the malicious elements of the supernatural world under control. Among the artifacts confiscated is a diamond skull that predated modern magic. The skull is a complete mystery and becomes an obsession for Randy’s best friend. The search for answers leads Randy to Cain, the man who, twenty-four years ago, broke Randy’s heart.

Diamond: Double Cross has an exceptional plot of intriguing magical theories, in addition to methods on how the supernatural should be dealt with. Also interwoven into the plot are exquisite intimacy scenes. The main characters are believable. The secondary characters add interest, with a touch of humor.

Randy became a ward of the Institute after the death of his parents. While still in agent training, Randy ventures out to his first party, where he meets and falls in love with Cain. The trauma of being abandoned the morning after a night of making love causes Randy to give up on ever having a relationship. From then on, Randy chose to participate in one night stands only. Randy is required, against his better judgment, to cooperate with Cain. Randy’s intelligence is suspicious of Cain’s real motive, even as his heart surrenders to Cain’s amorous seduction. Cain is the consummate lover, extremely considerate of all of Randy’s desires. Cain exhibits his true love for Randy in every gaze. Both men have changed in a number of ways over the years apart, nevertheless the love between them persist. Winnie Jerome has created a captivating and exceedingly enjoyable saga. I get the impression, from the HEA ending, that there will be more of these fascinating characters in the future.

The Dragon Slayer

Title: The Dragon Slayer
Author: Jianne Carlo
Publisher: Etopia Press
Publisher URL: http://etopia-press.net/
ISBN: 978-1-936751-26-6
Genre: {M/F} Historical
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Rescuing her sister is the only thing Lady Catriona is focused on. If an arranged marriage to The Dragon Slayer can accomplish this, then so be it. Once her vows are complete, Catriona will kill her new husband and her sister will be free. Surely she couldn’t feel remorse over murdering a cruel man with a bad temper and body odor. Unfortunately, Catriona’s heart hadn’t stopped pounding since she laid eyes on the man with the god-like looks. Would she be able to go through with this plan?

Ruard, The Dragon Slayer, has low expectations for his future wife when he discovers the filthy state of his deeded castle. Hopefully, his intended will at least be obedient, not too bad on the eyes and perform her wifely duties without any issues. The last thing Ruard expected was a spirited siren that had him hot and bothered by her beauty.

The attraction between Catriona and Ruard is so immediate and strong, it practically leaps off the pages. Catriona is stuck between a rock and a hard place. If she doesn’t poison Ruard, her sister’s life will be at risk. However, Ruard is an honorable man and Catriona quickly develops feelings for him. Catriona takes a chance and trusts Ruard with the partial truth. The part of that truth that Catriona omits puts Ruard in danger, but also makes the couple admit their feelings for each other. The love scenes between Catriona and Ruard will leave you gasping for air and dying to turn the page. The sparks fly from their very first meeting, which is one of my favorite scenes, as well as all the scenes involving discussions about threading a needle. Jianne Carlo weaves in just the right amount of humor and hotness in this historical romance, The Dragon Slayer. This is another wonderful read that has me waiting for the author’s next story to drop.

Beneath the Shield

Title: Beneath the Shield
Author: Diana DeRicci
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
ISBN: 978-1-60820-308-5
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Its three years after the death of his partner and Jack Torres is still suffering survivor’s guilt that he didn’t die the same night, even though he was struck by three bullets himself. Losing the most important man in his life has left him with a hardened heart, cutting him off from nearly everyone in his family and those he works with. His life changes when he allows his cousin to drag him to a local club, where he rescues Brant Teller from an incident before it turns violent.

After Brant and Jack part ways, Brant never expects to see Jack again but he can’t stop thinking of him. When the surly cop steps into his ER in response to a domestic violence call, Brant decides to take his chance. What begins as a friendly afternoon of watching football soon has the possibility of being much more. The only problem is that Jack is still mired in the past and unwilling to open his heart up to love.

Beneath the Shield is a well written and character driven book that caught my attention on the opening page and kept it until the end. Yes, Jack is surly but the author has done a nice job of giving out bits and pieces of his history to make us understand what made him into the man he’d become. He’s a pained and grief-stricken individual who needs to be prodded into living again and Brant is just the man for the job…ready to show him what he’s been missing by isolating himself. At times, his despair on thinking of his dead lover is almost palpable.

Despite being attracted to Jack from their first meeting, Brant knew he was skittish and started off their relationship as friends. I appreciated that he gave Jack the time he needed before taking that next step into the bedroom. Their passion is intense, the lovemaking tender and the need for understanding on both sides…Jack and Brant, is great. There are few secondary characters but watch for Trevi, Jack’s younger cousin, as he makes his appearances.

Work It

Title: Work It
Author: Marilyn Campbell
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419933806
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

How can she continue working for a boss who never forgets her work anniversary or birthday? Instead of concentrating on reports, all Cory Servwell can think about is being ravished at work. Being in a constant state of arousal around him is killing her, but the sting of rejection would be so much worse. Resigning is Cory’s only option.

Jeff Farmer has been so careful around Cory that she has no idea he wants her for more than her administrative skills. Now that she’s threatening to leave, Jeff decides to put all his cards on the table. After waiting all this time and through the damage caused by her ex-husband, there was no way Jeff was going to lose Cory now.

Work is quickly put on the back burner when Cory and Jeff scratch the itch that’s been lingering between them. By the time they’re done, there isn’t any more secrets between them and certainly no surface in Jeff’s office that they don’t make love on.

Cory and Jeff have a great work relationship, but things take off like a hot air balloon when Cory tries to quit. I visualized the cool and calm facade Jeff put on everyday around Cory, and the willpower he must have had. I love a strong man who’s in control, but I love it most when the control is yanked out of his hands. Once the truth came out, Cory showed me some boldness that made me smile. This couple definitely heats up the pages in Work It. Even before they admitted their true feelings for each other, Cory and Jeff had a work relationship that made me jealous. It’s hard to find that perfect balance between work and play but I know these two will find it. If you appreciate repressed desires in the office, then you must give this story a chance. You’ll be glad you did.

Clouds and Rain

Title: Clouds and Rain
Author: Zahra Owens
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-833-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Family problems have left Flynn Tomlinson adrift and for several years, he’s roamed from job to job when he’s needed money. It’s a freestyle life that’s suited him but being alone and working dead end jobs he doesn’t like are getting old. That’s when he sees a Help Wanted notice at the local post office advertising for a job at a nearby ranch. It’s there that he meets Gable Sutton, a man who can no longer work his ranch alone, because of an old injury.

Due to his bad financial situation, Gable can’t afford to pay Flynn for several weeks, until he sells his horses. Working on the ranch is much better than stocking shelves in a grocery store, so Flynn agrees to his terms. He expects hours of hard work but what takes him by surprise is his attraction to the kindhearted and lonely owner. It’s not long before Flynn finds himself not only falling in love, but determined to save Gable’s ranch.

Clouds and Rain is the newest release by author Zahra Owens. It’s a well plotted and paced look into the lives of two men who have love sneak up on them, while teaching them what it means to stick together during the tough times. There isn’t much in the way of outside adversity in this story but that doesn’t mean Flynn and Gable’s relationship is smooth sailing. Gable’s years older, has an old injury, is financially insolvent and was deeply wounded by his previous lover. His emotional baggage could kill any relationship but Flynn is relentless…he knows what he wants…and that’s Gable. Still the past has a way of coming back to haunt these two and at times, you think it’s going to tear them apart.

There are several reasons I enjoyed this story. Not only is it well written but the characters aren’t perfect…they’re flawed, just like real people…and they have real everyday problems to struggle with. In this case the big thing is Gable’s physical disability, which turns even more serious as the story progresses. This kind of issue rarely becomes part of a romance, which makes me appreciate Ms. Owens efforts even more.

This isn’t a quick and easy story to read, so if that’s what you’re expecting, pass this story up. It’s deeply layered, intricate, compelling and a little sad as you watch these two find a way to everlasting love. Enjoy.

Pistons and Pistols

Title: Pistons and Pistols
Author: Regina Riley
Publisher: Lyrical Press
Publisher URL: http://www.lyricalpress.com/
ISBN: 9781616502379
Genre: {M/F} Steampunk; Sequel
Rating: Golden Blush
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rogue Satyr

It is the late 1860’s and ‘Bloody’ Rose Madigan is the captain of the airship Merry Widow. Rose, her female crew and her airship have been hired by a strange young man to find his missing father. The crew of misfits and castoffs from society has to brave prejudice, intrigue and a relentless villain. To make matters worse, the ship is still running from some prior unpleasantness, is low on money, fuel and morale.

Gabriella Upstairs is an 18 year old socialite running form a marriage her mother had arranged for her. The crew of Merry Widow has taken her under their wing. She is now the ship’s navigator and has fallen in love with their strange, young employer Atom Loquacious. But Gabriella has seen Atom often in the company of the ship’s engineer- Jayne, and suspects Atom has designs on Jayne and not her.
Can these vastly different headstrong and independent women unite to face all the problems besetting Merry Widow and her crew? And can Atom and Gabriella work out their differences as well?

Pistons and Pistols is the sequel to Clockworks and Corsets. While I loved the first book, I absolutely adore Pistons and Pistols. The author has tweaked her world to near perfection and fixed what little problems I had with the first book. All the characters are wonderful and I found it easy to care for and understand them and their motives. The crew of Merry Widow each has a role on the ship, and in the plot. The antagonist is a particularly loathsome person with no redeeming qualities; the kind of villain you love to hate. The plot is a wild ride. The story is a wonderful and an equal mix. It is sad, funny, suspenseful and erotic. The relationship between Gabriella and Atom is full of misunderstandings that are very humorous and I wanted strangle both of them. Much that happened in the first book is resolved in this one. But many old questions, and some new developments, have been left for another book; a book I am waiting for patiently. I can’t think of higher praise than that.

Broken Rules

Title: Broken Rules
Author: Jade Buchanan
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-341-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Jonah Chevalier arrives back in his hometown after a ten year absence to attend his mother’s funeral. Memories of rejection from his parents and his mandatory departure still haunt Jonah. After a reunion with Neil Brogan, Jonah becomes aware of a shared passion with his childhood best friend.

Broken Rules is the first book in the Broken trilogy. The well written friends to lovers’ romance takes place in Canada. The storyline illustrates Canada’s rich cultural diversity. The plot exemplifies that although same-sex marriage is legal, some people remain too steeped in religious ritual to actually open their minds and believing sexuality is a choice, rather than a natural fact of life. The characters are realistic.

Jonah is gay, socially passive in addition to being constantly besieged by the memory of mental abuse from his parents at a time when he is just beginning to discover his true individuality. Because of his parent’s rejection, Jonah utilizes that fear to currently justify concealing his sexuality. The friendship bond with Neil is Jonah’s comfort zone.

Neil has the ability to alleviate Jonah’s melancholy through laughter. Neil is an easygoing compassionate bi-sexual man. Neil is sexually out of the closet, as well as accepted by his whole family. Jonah’s self-appointed protector, Neil is willing to do whatever it takes to keep Jonah in his life. Together Jonah and Neil work through all the obstacles they face on their journey to a loving relationship. Jade Buchanan has created a marvelous saga packed with emotional dilemma, breathtaking intimacy and humor. Broken Rules is a superb model of devoted support overruling fear. I thoroughly enjoyed Jonah and Neil’s romantic voyage to happiness.

Lipstick and Handguns

Title: Lipstick and Handguns
Author: Gabrielle Evans
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-440-5
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, Mystery
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Detective Ryder Ward has been working to bring the murderer of several young men to justice. So far, he and his partner haven’t had any luck until Sidney Kessler survives and gives Ryder his first lead.
Gabrielle Evans has started a new series titled Lawful Disorder and the first book, Lipstick and Handguns, starts it off with a bang. Ryder and Sidney instantly pull you into the story, which is equal parts romance and mystery. Ryder is drawn to Sidney from their first meeting but, due to the circumstances of their meeting, the men are worried about starting a relationship, regardless of how much they want each other.

I liked that the author gives the men a chance to get to know each other rather than ignoring the trauma Sidney went through. I also liked the fact that Ryder is open in his sexuality instead of hiding his growing feelings for Sidney.

As for the mystery aspect of Lipstick and Handguns, it is just as good as the romance between the men. Ryder and his partner, Michael, must unravel many clues in order to discover who took Sidney and the others. This mystery gives the author the chance to introduce many wonderful secondary characters who are sure to receive their own story in this new series. If Ms. Evans werewolf series hasn’t made you a fan yet, then I am sure this new one will.

The Triaxen

Title: The Triaxen
Author: Ciara Lake
Publisher: Siren-BookStrand
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-129-5
Genre: {M/F}, Sci-Fi, Romantic Suspense
Rating: Golden Blush
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Krevan is meeting the supply ship and looking for the man he made a contract with; only he turns out to be a she. Ancelin’s family was murdered for the power source her father had invented and now she is trying to build a new life for herself.

The Triaxen is a wonderful suspense story that will definitely keep you on your toes. The twists and turns the author has, both within the story and the relationship between Krevan and Ancelin, kept me up most of the night, once I started reading, to the point my husband finally told me to get to bed.

I fell in love with Krevan as I was reading and loved the world Ms. Lake created. The story is a combination of the old-style lawless western we read about within a sci-fi world. Krevan reminded me of an old-style cowboy/lawman who wants to be left alone, certainly not wanting to be around people, much less looking for a mate. Circumstances throw Krevan and Ancelin together in close quarters and Krevan realizes she is his bond mate. Most women that come to Verrian are there as mail-order brides, though Ancelin had not done her research to realize she should have had a protector with her.

So much of this story could take place in today’s society and, in some instances, be torn from the news. The Triaxen is Ms. Lake’s debut novel and I hope that this story is not the last one about the Triaxen people. I am looking forward to reading more from this author.

Monday, April 25, 2011

Carson

Title: Carson
Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-427-8
Genre: {M/M/M/M} Contemporary Shape-shifter
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Carson’s old inner circle beat him and when they were challenged and overthrown, he knew he would become the Omega for the new Alpha and his Betas. He barely survived the abuse heaped upon him by his circle, and certain special members of the pack, and is certain he can only keep the new abuse at bay for a little while.
Running a pack is nothing Declan, Ian, and Taylor wanted but after seeing Carson and realizing how the inner circle was abusing him, they had no choice but to challenge them for control to prevent Caron from suffering further. When the battle was over, they might have gotten the Omega they desired but with his deep emotional baggage, having him isn’t easy.

Carson is the second release in Joyee Flynn’s new series, Resistant Omegas. Carson is a pretty tough man. He’s suffered years of abuse…not just from his old inner circle but from his parents and birth pack too and still, he tries to do the best he can despite being terrified. You can’t help but like him. I guess that’s one reason I found myself rooting for him to find a happily-ever-after. Ms. Flynn has done a nice job developing his personality, and watching him deal with his past, seeking counseling and learning to trust his mates was nicely handled. His physical relationship with Declan, Ian and Taylor starts off a little uncertain and the four men have more than a few missteps, but it isn’t long before they all reach an understanding that allows their caring to grow into a committed partnership. I just wish…gasp…there was less sex and more actual time getting to know one another.

I liked the addition of the characters from the first release, the scenes in front of the ruling council and the beginning steps that are taken to prevent further abuse of various Omegas in the future. With the way families and packs have dealt with the Omegas in this series, I can foresee lots of problems in upcoming releases and I, for one, can’t wait to see what happens next.

Angel and the Assassin

Title: Angel and the Assassin
Author: Fyn Alexander
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-871-6
Genre: {M/M}, BDSM, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Kael Saunders is an assassin for the English government. He is also a Dom and doesn’t make excuses for being either. It’s his role as a Dom that comes into play when one of his assignments goes wrong and, all of a sudden, he finds himself with a budding submissive looking for a Daddy.

Angel and the Assassin is an intense read that, at times, may be a little strong for some readers. Kael is a complex character, who is not always very likeable. When he unexpectedly meets Angel, and his world gets tossed upside down, I could not help thinking that Kael’s well-ordered existence was never going to be the same, and worried whether or not the tough Dom and assassin was up for the challenges ahead of him.

Angel is the total opposite of Kael. Where Kael is dark, tough, and forceful, Angel is sweet and innocent. He is also looking for a Daddy so when he meets Kael, the young man thinks he’s in hog heaven, that is, when he’s not worrying about Kael killing him. These two are hot, and the BDSM scenes are sure to become favorites for fans of this genre.

There are many twists and turns in this story that, along with Kael’s coldness, causes both men some undue pain. This is a story that will keep the reader very entertained and is sure to end up on many keeper shelves.

Finding Deaglan

Title: Finding Deaglan
Author: George Seaton
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-298-0
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Mystery
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Stephen Thaxton and his partner, Tom Daly, are visiting Stephen’s family ranch near Yampa, Colorado when Stephen receives a call asking for his permission to move his one hundred and six year old great grandmother to a nursing home. Stephen is the sole heir to the Taylor-Evans-Thaxton combined fortunes, making Stephen a very wealthy young man. Returning to Denver, Stephen discovers his family’s mansion is dominated by restless spirits. Stephen feels driven to unravel the mystery surrounding his home. With the help of friends, Stephen pieces together the puzzle, as well as obtains the answers to closing the gateway to the spiritual world.

Finding Deaglan is a dark, thought-provoking suspense plot of retribution for the crimes against nature committed by a group of wealthy gay men’s ancestors a century before; wrongs that destroyed all the wolves in Colorado, in addition to forcing the indigenous Indian tribes of Colorado from their lands, all to gain wealth and privilege. There are numerous characters; each plays a major part in the atonement due Mother Earth. The new invaders of Colorado had no respect for the creatures or for the earth. Their corruption was powered by their greedy ambitions; their wealth endows their egotistical depraved desires.
A secret society was formed by one of Stephen’s ancestors, Samuel George Taylor. Members of the secret society included Mobley, Finster, Trummel, Thaxton and it is the decedents of these uneducated social misfits that must come together to pacify the spirits. Finding Deaglan gives a detailed history of the families, as well as the retributions that were administered by the spirits.

George Seaton has created an admirable saga illustrating the consequences for selfish actions, along with the effects of destruction to earth’s balance and generations of people. Finding Deaglan is a heartrending, realistic wake-up call clearly affirming Native American belief that mankind is not the owners of earth, merely the caretakers.

Warning: This story contains memories of Incest some readers may find offensive.

Marissa’s Rights

Title: Marissa’s Rights
Author: Tonya Ramagos
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.sirenbookstrand.com/
ISBN: 1-61034-397-2
Genre: {M/F/M}, BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Marissa finally let Justin and Ben know she wants them after being scared at her house. Justin and Ben are glad she finally took that step, though they don’t like the situation that prompted her decision.

Marissa’s Rights was an intense emotional journey for Marissa. Stilling the negative thoughts and overcoming harmful words is hard and a situation we all go through. Justin and Ben are cops and gave Marissa a beautiful list of rights. I loved the author’s take on how the men used the Miranda and changed it to what Marissa could expect if she accepted what they were offering her.

The second book of The Service Club series also contains a suspense story that is being carried over into future books. Everything that is happening seems to stem from Marissa’s relationship with Justin and Ben. Make sure you keep ice on hand as you read because you will need it. I am so looking forward to the next book.