Saturday, September 26, 2009

Pull


Title: Pull
Author: Bryl R. Tyne
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-054-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Charles Miller, Chaz to everyone he meets, is a nineteen-year-old living on the streets. Abandoned by his family, Chaz does whatever is necessary to have a few meals a day. Chaz stopped focusing on his version of “whatever” now that a repeat customer has become the center of attention. Has Chaz finally found a john worthy of his talents?

You never know what you will have to do to stay alive or who will protect you. Pull is one of those stories that is not just highly erotic, but laced with messages on survival, friendship, and second chances at life. Chaz doesn’t blame anyone for his current position but himself. The connection between him and his john builds and makes me ask, “So what happened next?” I loved their interaction and the bit of suspense Bryl R. Tyne ties into the story. There was no slow build up; we jump right into the thick of things and the pace never slows. The setting, characters and plot grabbed my attention and I’m anxious to read more from the author. Pick up a copy - you won’t be disappointed!

Sacred Fate




Title: Sacred Fate
Author: Eresse
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-595-4
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Rohyr Essendri is a high-born True Bloods; ruler and a skilled warrior who defends the realm of Ylandre, however he always displays integrity and respect for others, even the family members he is not fond of.

Lassen Idana is lower-ranked Half Bloods, taken from his small town and converted into Rohyr’s paramour. With his calming personality and dignity, he earns the respect of most people.

The citizens of Tal Ereq seldom received visits by high-ranking dignitaries, yet their appeal for help brought a delegation including Rohyr, the sovereign ruler of the land. Rohyr is drawn to Lassen and a connection is formed between them with only one look. Desire soon develops into a lifetime of love so strong nothing can break the bond, not even Rohyr’s forced political marriage to another.

Sacred Fate is a captivating and distinctive story of a dual-gendered world. The setting is an all-embracing environment of a magical medieval era with fiefs, swords and war steeds, only this is a world of men who can re-produce. The well written plot is enthralling. Each character inspires interest in their connection and personality. While there are few love scenes, they are incredibly sensuous. Eresse creates the social atmosphere with illustrations of prejudice which facilitate rejoinders like “Lassen had little regard for folk who were so full of themselves, they could belittle others on the basis of their perceived inequality”; a realistic sentiment and mirror image of today’s culture. Sacred Fate is an outstanding fantasy that I thoroughly enjoyed.

Starting Over


Title: Starting Over
Author: Annmarie McKenna
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-428-2
Genre: {M/M/M} Contemporary Ménage
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Relocating to a new town and trying to start a new life was a difficult decision, but two years after the death of his partner, Aaron is ready to move on to the next phase of his life. Letting go of the past and his memories have been harder than he ever imagined and staying home wasn’t an option. He had to get away and start fresh, putting distance between him and his pain. When he meets Dane and Garrett, he isn’t looking for a relationship. Yet, these two dynamic and loving men are determined to show Aaron that life didn’t end with his lover’s death and that he deserves to find happiness and love again.

Garrett, a cop, witnesses the motorcycle accident that severely injures Aaron and follows him to the hospital where his partner, Dane, an ER physician, works. Even though they are in love and happy with their light Dom/sub relationship, they’ve been looking for a third to complete them, for several months. When the wounded Aaron doesn’t have anyplace to go during his recovery, the partners open their hearts and home, allowing him to heal. It’s during this time that they try to convince the blue-eyed man that he is just what they’ve been looking for, and meant to be with them forever.

Starting Over is another well-written book with a realistic and interesting premise by author Annmarie McKenna. The action-packed and emotional wreck scene, followed by those set in the hospital, quickly draws the reader into the story. The background information of all three men is interspersed nicely within each scene, giving the reader just enough information to make the characters and their actions understandable and believable.

It’s easy to develop an attachment to these three men. The care Dane and Garrett give the recovering Aaron is supportive, tender, sexy and more than a little insistent, as they try to make him see a future in their lives and home. The teasing and bantering conversation is fun and often light-hearted, and the sex, nothing but hot.

Love and Loyalty


Title: Love and Loyalty
Author: Tere Michaels
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-425-1
Genre: {M/M} LGBT Erotic Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Ask people the meaning of the word “family” and you are sure to get a variety of responses. For Detective James “Jim” Shea, the words family and joy are not synonymous. Those close to him love him like a brother, son, or nephew. However, Jim is impervious to the gift that surrounds him. After a homicide case rocks him to his core, he becomes close to the victim’s family and decides to protect those still living for the life he couldn’t protect from a murderer.

Screenwriter Griffin Drake is ready for a change. He wants a film that can take him to heights he’s only dreamed of and believes this case could be what he needs. Getting the story means gaining Jim’s trust. It isn’t just the trust he seeks, Griffin is attracted to Jim and wants to get to know the detective.

My hat goes off to Tere Michaels. Love and Loyalty, the sequel to Faith and Fidelity, is by far one of the best sequels I’ve read in a while. The story draws you in from the first page. We meet Jim and witness the emotions he must endure when a case close to his heart has finally gone to trial. The man is a sentinel to the victim’s family. Then we meet Griffin, who wants the world to know the truth and the tragedy behind the victim’s story. Griffin takes on the role as a sentinel himself throughout this book. I have to admit I liked both characters from the first moment. Each is admirable in his own way and combined, they create a ying-yang balance. Griffin was just what Jim needed. Their lovemaking is as fierce as it is beautiful, and as breathtaking as it is erotic. We watch Jim remove his armor and for the first time, understand the meaning of friendship, love, and loyalty. The story has a fast pace, and Tere Michaels mixes in humor, drama, and suspense to keep you engrossed. However, be forewarned, keep some Kleenex handy because there are some tear jerking moments. This is a fantastic story and I recommend it to those who enjoy the genre.

Chains of Jericho


Title: Chains of Jericho
Author: Vivien Dean
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-574-9
Genre: {M/F} Vampire, Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Satyr Vael

Dr. Maya Sheldon is a cancer specialist and she takes her work very seriously. When a vampire, Declan Jericho, abducts her after work, Maya is understandably terrified. Then she finds out why he’s done it. Something is killing off the vampires and Declan needs Maya to find out what it is… and cure it.

Declan has his own secrets, however, and Maya struggles with the possibility of their relationship turning into something more than professional. He isn’t one to be denied, though, and Maya is ultimately helpless to resist Declan’s otherwordly charms.

Chains of Jericho is a riveting story, rich in details and characters. The plot is one I’ve not seen before in a vampire book, and it’s refreshing. There were several times when I didn’t know how things would turn out, but at no point did the tension feel contrived.

As for the main characters… Declan is, simply put, hot as sin. It’s easy to see why Maya can’t help but want him. Maya is no wilting flower, either. She’s strong and, best of all, smart. The sex is outright scorching, but never feels repetitive.

This is definitely one of my favorite books by Vivien Dean. If you’ve never read one of her books, then Chains of Jericho is a great introduction to an amazing author.

Desire


Title: Desire
Author: Marie Rochelle
Publisher: Phaze
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60659-195-6
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary Interracial
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Love is for fools and something that Nick Lavery wants no part of ever again. His ex-girlfriend has turned him into a bitter man and every little thing annoys him. One minute, Nick is screeching at the worker behind the cash register and the next he’s looking into a pair of beautiful, hazel eyes.

Catching up on her romance novel while grabbing a cup of coffee is all Tasha Kelly wants to do before returning to work. Unfortunately, an angry man at the counter ruins her down time with his ranting. Shivers run through Tasha’s body that have nothing to do with his rudeness, but everything to do with the inviting way he looks in his jeans.

Tasha is happy with her job and Nick is done with women, until Desire catches them both by surprise. Nick didn’t make the best first impression on Tasha, so I’m glad he really put forth the effort to make things up to her. Nick wastes no time claiming Tasha as his, even when his own feelings confuse him. He also has a jealous streak that I find very attractive. Nick’s actions with his ex-girlfriend almost ruin things with Tasha, so I was nervous until I discovered he truly loved Tasha. And regardless of the fact that she was hopelessly head over heels for the man, I feared Tasha wouldn’t be able to determine what was true and what wasn’t. Heat is obvious between this couple right from the first glance and it increases with the turn of every page. Things get a little bumpy for the couple, but smoothes out nicely with a “happily-ever-after” ending. Marie Rochelle has created another fantastic read.

Ral's Woman


Title: Ral's Woman
Author: Laurann Dohner
Publisher: Ellora's Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419924064
Genre: {M/F} Sci-Fi
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Zorn warrior Ral is now a slave for the Anzon. Working for the other alien race hasn’t been easy, but Ral is biding his time. The Anzon present a new alien, Ariel, to the camp as a prize for the winner. One look at the pale beauty and Ral is sure he will be the victor and he won’t just walk away with her delectable body. Ral wants the whole package, including her reluctant heart.

I never thought I would want an alien to capture me and make me his until I read Laurann Dohner’s Ral's Woman. Ariel understood her quandary and accepted her fate. She could have done far worse than to capture Ral’s attention. Ral is a force to be reckoned with and should not be taken lightly. The determination of Ral to have Ariel had me rooting for him. The things this man does to her body! With a healthy dose of action, explosive erotic encounters, and a host of interesting characters, this suspenseful Sci-Fi story is a wonderful read. The ending leads me to believe it will either have a sequel or become a series. For those who plan to read this story, I’m sure you will agree with me - more stories are welcomed and encouraged.

Memory of Darkness


Title: Memory of Darkness
Author: P.A. Brown
Publisher: Amber Quill
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-570-6
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Mystery
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Johnny Wager’s life is a mess…always has been and it only gets worse when he wakes up next to a brutally murdered twink, Bunny, a young man he picked up during a Gay Pride parade. With a criminal record, he knows he doesn’t have a chance of explaining that he’s innocent, so in a blind panic, he flees the scene. Now, he’s desperately trying to stay under the radar and away from the West Hollywood Police, including his own disappointed son Mark, while he tries to prove his innocence, without dying.

Between his old friends Hyacinth and Taz, and his new boyfriend Tyler, Johnny has more than enough help to find the murderer or to get himself and/or them killed. When he learns Bunny was involved with a vicious Armenian mob, the danger only gets worse. The streets of Venice Beach, West Hollywood and Los Angeles are getting more than a little crowded, as he runs from both the police and mob. The question is, whether Johnny can reconcile with his cop son and find the killers, before they turn him into the next person needing a funeral.

Memory of Darkness is the newest release from P.A. Brown. It’s an unusual premise with an intriguing and complex lead character that I had difficulty warming up to. Ms. Brown skillfully changes this two-time criminal loser into a man on the run, one you can’t help rooting for. Johnny’s son Mark and ex-wife Jolene, add vital family background that helps round out the plot, giving it personal depth. Hyacinth and Taz are interesting characters that add flash, but the one(s) that really stand out in my mind are his new boyfriend, the ex-Marine porn filmmaker, Tyler, and his incontinent Basset Hound, Columbo that’s crazy about Johnny. These two had me chuckling more than once, and left me hoping he and Johnny wouldn’t get killed and have a happily-ever-after they deserve.

In Her Defense


Title: In Her Defense
Author: Denise A. Agnew
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578- 511-4
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Celeste hates violence because of the traumas of her childhood. Celeste doesn’t want to give Mick, a childhood friend, another chance after one night of passion because he is a SWAT cop. Now she has an ex-boyfriend stalking her, all the way from Vermont.

Mick saved Celeste when she had been attacked and ended up spending six months in the juvenile system. He has always been attracted to Celeste but has never followed up on his feelings because he realizes that she doesn’t like the fact that he is a SWAT cop. He wants Celeste to want him, regardless of his job. He also wants to keep her safe.

In Her Defense is the second book in the Heart of Justice series. The author does a good job keeping the suspense going, though the book is more about the relationship between Celeste and Mick. The scenarios with Celeste’s stalker are very detailed. The emotional angst that the author creates as Celeste begins to understand her feelings about Mick and his work are something I think every person who loves someone in law enforcement will empathize with. Those that like a lot of romance with a good suspense story will want to read this one.

Seeds of Time 3: Final Curtain


Title: Seeds of Time 3: Final Curtain
Author: G.S. Wiley
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-792-3
Genre: {M/M} Gay Erotic, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

It’s been a while since Simon last saw Adrian. The pain doesn’t linger as it once did, but the memories are still sharp as a tack. With his new role as theatre director, there is little time to harp on what could have been. Adrian contacts Simon, reminding him of their past commitment. However, the memory of James is still fresh and the short time he spent with him in 1948. James’ arrival in Simon’s time has him wondering if he should try to find happiness with James, or attempt reconciling with Adrian.

In this final installment of the Seeds of Time series, Simon is caught between the two men he adores. The hurt from Adrian’s betrayal leaves Simon’s heart tender around the edges, but he has healed nicely from the event. I believe the time away from Adrian and James helped Simon gain strength and courage. There was a scene where Simon and Adrian are talking, I could see the decisiveness in Simon and his iron-strong will to do what he deems is right. Adrian made me feel a little sad for him, but just a little. I’m not sure if I could have even considered taking him back after his betrayal. Nevertheless, a year without Simon gave him time to grow up and take responsibility for his actions. The story flows at a fast-pace, but the ending left me a bit frazzled. I understand it, but it still shocked me. If you’ve read the series then you don’t want to miss this final Seeds of Time 3: Final Curtain.

Tuesday, September 22, 2009

Burrito Belle's Gringo Guy


Title: Burrito Belle's Gringo Guy
Author: Deirdre O'Dare
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-571-3
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Action/Adventure, Suspense
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Troy understands poverty; it prodded him to succeed at his dreams. Regardless of the size of his bank account, he won’t ever forget his roots or those he loves. A chance encounter with a Chihuahua and her equally captivating owner, Juan will change Troy’s solitary existence.

Juan is trying to escape his past, but it’s not poverty that dogs him as much as it is his enemies. Juan wants to enjoy his new freedom and the company of his newfound friend. While that may seem like a tiny request, it may cause disaster for not only him, but Troy as well.

Deirdre O'Dare latest story, Burrito Belle's Gringo Guy, is a wonderful addition to the Canine Cupids series. Juan is a man with dreams and the determination to make them all come true. He didn’t allow his past predicament to hinder him. Troy has no time for love and believes it would slow down his progress. After watching him with Juan, I was happy that he wasn’t given an option. Their feelings grew slowly over time and while you may not get a glimpse into their every day interactions, Ms. O'Dare does a wonderful job of showing the effects of their blossomed emotions. At the heart of those feelings is the too-cute-for-words sassy Chihuahua. I think Cupid needs to find a new job! The story has a wonderful balance of action, suspense, and erotic encounters. I loved reading Burrito Belle's Gringo Guy and look forward to reading other stories in this series.

Love Means No Shame


Title: Love Means No Shame
Author: Andrew Grey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-058-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Geoff is becoming more and more dissatisfied with both his life and job. When he gets the call telling him his father has died, he returns home only to find that his father has left him everything. Soon Geoff is dealing with an interfering family, readapting to ranch life and his growing feelings for a young Amish man.

Elijah is finally taking his year away from the Amish community. He is not sure what he will find in the world of the English. Falling asleep in a barn, Elijah is surprised when Geoff offers him a place to work and stay the next day. The feelings the rancher inspires in him are also new and soon Elijah has to decide if he should stay or return home.

Andrew Grey's Love Means No Shame is a tear jerker. The characters grab you from the beginning and refuse to let go. From the time Geoff wakes up with a stranger to his time at work, the reader is able to feel Geoff's discontent. You can also feel the love he had not only for his father but also for his father's partner. When the character of Elijah is introduced, you wonder not about the age difference between the two, but how someone so innocent and someone so jaded could even make it. Yet it is those differences that complete them and make this such a loving story. As the two get to know each other, they grow as individuals, giving them the strength they need when faced with adversity. This is one book that will make it to several keeper shelves to be read again and again.

Tempestuous Relations


Title: Tempestuous Relations
Author: Amanda Young
Publisher: Excessica
Publisher URL: excessica.com
ISBN: N/A
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Dominic Mackenzie enters the bathroom and into the last stall. He is there to take advantage of a little anonymous no-strings-attached sex at the travel rest stop’s semiprivate environment. He didn’t want to attach a face to the action that had been going on for months; Dominic was not interested in going through the efforts required when meeting someone new. However, a major dilemma takes place when Dominic inadvertently discovers the startling identity of the man on the other side of the gloryhole.

Tempestuous Relations is a short story dealing with a controversial, as well as forbidden, subject within society for some. Rather than the act itself, Amanda Young conveys a perceptive examination of the emotional turmoil surrounding the characters and the connection between them. As a work of fiction, I found the well written story impressive and enjoyable.

Warning: Incestuous content.

The Tiger Within


Title: The Tiger Within
Author: Viki Lyn
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-422-0
Genre: {M/M} LGBT Historical Paranormal
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Shape-shifting Sentinel agent Antoine Fortescue has no qualms about his sexual preference. He uses the misconception of those around him to lure them into what could be a fatal mistake. While Antoine isn’t physically a weakling, his desire for Jack Hunter is his one true weak spot. Jack is his khalid, his mate, and it’s time the tiger had his due.

Jack has a tight rein on his desires; desires that seem to surface around Antoine, regardless of his attempts to control them. An ancient evil has come back, leaving carnage in its wake. The new threat leads Jack to the one place he has tried to avoid, into the presence of the one man who can tear down his resistance, Antoine.

The Tiger Within is a story that reminds us you cannot always choose the one you love. Jack is a former soldier with firm ideas of what homosexuality means and why he shouldn’t allow his attraction to progress. Antoine is too old to not accept his true nature and unwilling to go without his mate. The chemistry is fierce and enticing. For some reason seeing Jack’s defenses systematically torn down gave me a great deal of respect for Antoine. He didn’t want any delusion on why Jack participated in their acts. Viki Lyn places the men in a setting that is both beautiful and haunting at times. The story has a fast tempo that never slows. There is just enough action and suspense to keep you on your toes. If you enjoy handsome shape-shifters trying to persuade a reluctant mate, then The Tiger Within is the book for you.

Defiled


Title: Defiled
Author: Evangeline Anderson
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419923760
Genre: {M/F} Fantasy
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Elandra is the most beautiful and youngest angel. She’s always felt different from the other angels. Elandra ached, mentally and physically, for something more to her existence, but she wasn’t certain what it was. Never would she have expected to become the sacrificial lamb who would keep the balance between Heaven and Hell. Elandra only hoped the demon would be merciful and not harm her after sampling her untouched body.

If Raziel intends to rule Hell someday, he has to follow orders and leave no part of the beautiful creature untouched as he inflicts pain and takes pleasure from her. His demon side yearns to plunge into her but the moment Raziel gazes into silver eyes he is reminded of things that are impossible to forget. He can’t bring himself to cause pain to the only soft and beautiful thing to enter his world in years. Maybe Raziel can find a way to have Elandra and prevent her from falling from grace at the same time.

Fate brings together a curious angel and a demon with heart, so it’s no wonder they gave in to the pleasures of the flesh. Falling in love was something unexpected for them both in Defiled. As much as Elandra wants to return to Heaven, there was no ignoring the sinful pleasure she feels with Raziel. I was amazed that she was able to return to Heaven at all and I was shocked by the actions of her friend. The physical description of an angel threw me for a loop. Raziel touched me with his tenderness and my heart went out to him. For his sake, I was happy with the way things ended. Although I admit, at first I thought all was hopeless. Their union wasn’t an easy one, but it couldn’t have worked out more perfectly. Their story is a must read.

Finding Love


Title: Finding Love
Author: Simone Anderson
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-1-907280-05-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary BDSM
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

After a disagreement with his lover, Nick Jackson left his home in Harbour Springs for a job with the Chicago SWAT team. A year later, while he’s on an extended medical leave recuperating from a gun shot wound, he learns his submissive ex-boyfriend has gone missing. Fearing the worst, he drops everything and rushes home; desperate to find the man he left behind, but never could get out of his heart.

When he discovers that his ex-lover’s life is in danger, marital arts expert Tristan McTavish tries to deal with the threat himself. When he wakes in the local hospital, he finds Nick - with gun - sitting at his bedside and without a memory of what happened. As the ex-lovers each try to heal from their injuries, they must learn to deal with their fears and the feelings of a powerful love that never went away.

Finding Love is a suspenseful and sexy novella length release by Simone Anderson and the opening pages pulled me immediately into the intriguing plot. The characters of Nick and Tristan are interesting and well developed; the situation and danger nicely paced, and the premise pulled right out the pages of today’s news media.

I have to admit that the person stalking Tristan and endangering both his and Nick’s life was a total mystery up until the point the culprit’s identity was revealed. Then there’s the issue of Tristan’s angry, homophobic brothers. These guys bring to mind the hate and intolerance that so many gay and transgender individuals experience with so-called family, friends and employers every day.

The love and passion between Nick and Tristan swirls around them, even during those moments when they’re upset, angry and afraid. The unsettled emotions they’re each feeling, as well as their sense of worthlessness, I found particularly well written. There were times when I thought that the pain of the past would drive a wedge permanently between these two lovers, but Ms. Anderson got them back together in a romantic, pulling-at-the-heartstrings way that showed real creativity. Good job!

Monday, September 21, 2009

Healing Doctor Ryan


Title: Healing Doctor Ryan
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-1-907280-06-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary,
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Ian Fitzgerald is a survivor and learned to live life with no regrets. He’s lusted after his doctor, Brannigan Ryan, since the day they met. Ian has done little to follow through, until now. He wants Bran in his life and not as a one night stand, but forever.

Bran gave up on having love in his life and would be the first to say he doesn’t know the meaning. But that’s changed, thanks to the beautiful green-eyed man he’s treating. Bran’s ethics won’t allow him to date a patient but with a solution to the hindrance comes the realization that he has no more excuses to hide behind. Bran has to decide to fight for love or live a solitary life.

Healing Doctor Ryan reminded me of how each moment on Earth truly is a precious gift to be treasured. Bran is handsome and intelligent. Moments from his past have tainted his perception of love. Ian has lived through an ordeal that has made him a stronger man, willing to take risks for what he wants. I loved his fighting spirit and his quick wit. The characters have a natural chemistry that is easy flowing and never forced. Ian’s ability to see past his own pain made me like him even more as the story progressed. Carol Lynne definitely knows how to add serious life issues to her stories, which makes them compelling as well as entertaining. I didn’t weep (this time) but I had a few moments of quiet reflection. Buy a copy and enjoy.

Ringo’s Ride


Title: Ringo’s Ride
Author: Regina Carlysle
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419923630
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Rayne’s day is quickly going downhill. She discovers that the one shifter she’s been pining for is her mate. Unfortunately, Ringo isn’t happy about the situation and he is less than kind when he makes his feelings known. Next, Rayne is kidnapped and the only man who can save her is the one who refuses to claim her. Making Ringo want her in his bed is easy, but making him want her in his life is the true challenge facing Rayne.

Issues that surround his family haunt Ringo every day of his life. A fine woman like Rayne deserved more than Ringo thinks he can give. Staying away from her had been difficult up until this point but when fate steps in and makes Rayne his mate, things go from difficult to torture in the blink of an eye. Rejecting her is killing Ringo, but it’s the only way to keep her safe. Hopefully, Rayne doesn’t lose trust in him when some unexpected truths are revealed.

On first impressions I equated Ringo to a bad massage because he rubbed me the wrong way. I thought he was a sex-driven jerk who only cared about himself when he was first introduced in Lone Star Lycan, which was the second book in the High Plains Shifter series. Boy, oh boy was I wrong! In all honesty, he probably cared the least about himself. Sure, he seemed cold and disconnected at times, but it was all an act to protect Rayne from danger. Some of the danger was real, and some of it was only in Ringo’s mind. This lonely lycan has valid reasons for questioning his worthiness, and I am tickled pink he was able to move on with his woman by his side. Honestly, the way they both yearned for one another, it was only a matter of time before they mated. The scene with Ringo watching Rayne from the bushes touched me in ways I hadn’t expected. Ringo’s Ride has the right amount of heart-felt moments, heat, and suspense. Regina Carlysle really tapped into something special when she created these lovable lycans. I will never grow tired of reading about their experiences and I don’t think readers will, either.

Beyond the Norm


Title: Beyond the Norm
Author: Shawn Lane
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: dreamspinnerpress.com
ISBN: 978-1-61581-050-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Dave Johnson is the bar owner who saves Kyle from being beaten to death behind his bar. He is kindhearted, honest, and very easy to fall in love.

Although Kyle is homeless, he’s a caring young man who does not try to take advantage of anyone. He survives by dealing with his life as best he can.

The story takes place in Southern California; Kyle is trying to stay one step ahead of the bad guys after being an eyewitness to a killing in San Francisco. Dave is attracted to Kyle, so he decides to give him shelter for a few days. However, the days turn into weeks and the attraction between the two develops into love.

Beyond the Norm by Shawn Lane is a pleasant story; however I got the impression the background information was not fully developed, leaving me with more questions than answers. Given the basis of the storyline, the actions of the federal agent had little genuineness to it. I expected suspense, but the plot did not support that concept. The romance is there as well as the emotional and sensuous lovemaking. The characters have personality and good interaction. Read as a romantic only saga, Beyond the Norm is very enjoyable.

The Warder’s Unicorn


Title: The Warder’s Unicorn
Author: Viola Grace
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-375-3
Genre: {M/F} Fantasy, Paranormal, Shapeshifter
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Sephany is part dwarf, and one warder of many who guard portals. She only wants to attend her cousin’s wedding shower and dance the night away. Her father and mother make up their minds to find her a mate among the available paranormal men, but she is resistant to their choices. When Malksis shows up at her door to take her to the party, she is not pleased. Even though she’s having second thoughts about taking him, she persists in being difficult.

Malksis, a unicorn, is fuming while watching Sephany dance around the waiter, and when she is kidnapped right before his eyes, he goes a little crazy! He goes after her, because he doesn’t want to feel her father’s wrath for her kidnapping. His only option is to find her, knowing this will be his last chance to claim her as his mate.

The Warder’s Unicorn is truly an enjoyable story and the sixth book in The Warder’s series. The antics of these two lovers had me laughing at their resistance towards each other. When they finally did have hot sex….it was explosive. There are quite a variety of paranormals who are willing to mate with Sephany.

Ms. Grace does a wonderful job of creating this story, and I found myself thinking more of the different characters involved. From the very beginning, this story jumped right into the plot; also I would have liked a little more information on these characters to have a better understanding of why the matchmaking was so important. This book can be read as a stand alone, but to get the full story…you should read all of the books.

Client Privileges


Title: Client Privileges
Author: Maia Strong
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-798-5
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Jonas Vaneau is a in-the-closet gay man who becomes a client of a brothel. Because of his strict upbringing, Jonas is plagued by shame which constrains his visiting such an establishment. After several attempts, Jonas makes the difficult decision to actually go in.

Micah Hartshorn is the professional who services Jonas. Being a prostitute in a brothel is a perfectly legal occupation. Although he services both men and women, he prefers men, and especially Jonas. Micah’s ethics, as well as his self respect, is obvious, his personality appealing.

This is a romance set in a fantasy world that bears a resemblance to the regency period, yet the issues are real world. Jonas works for the law courts and lives mostly in accordance to his parent’s unbending wishes, going to Sabbath dinners at their home every week and meeting numerous potential brides. When he meets Micah, there is an immediate attraction between them that continues to grow into love. However, political turmoil with new laws adds peril to their careers and possibly their lives.

Client Privileges is an imaginative and tender love story with a happy-for-now ending. Maia Strong’s storyline is impressive with an extensive setting, detailing daily life’s social interactions as well as expressively heart-warming and honorable characters. The theme of the story is a world where most of society is equal in their acceptance of gays; the small numbers of bigots are on a mission to convert everyone to their views and implement a hidden agenda by manipulating the laws emphasizing religious interpretation as a basis. Although I was somewhat perplexed by some of the words and phrases, the overall plot is admirable. I enjoyed the realistic issues illustrated.

My Favorite Husband


Title: My Favorite Husband
Author: A.J. Llewellyn
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.net/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-364-7
Genre: {M/M} Ménage, Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Div and Tem have been to hell and back. They return not only to find their home trashed but also to find that Div's beloved car has been stolen. On top of everything else, something strange is going on at home. With the help of their sexy new head of security, the men set a plan in motion that will end with a surprise or two.

I am an avid reader. If you told me three years ago that I would be reading M/M stories or stories with characters that are, now or were at one time, in the adult film industry, I would have called you crazy. I also would have missed some absolutely wonderful stories and characters. One of those books is My Favorite Husband by author A.J. Llewellyn.

This, the fifth book in the author's A Vampire in Waikiki series, not only brings back the sexy Div and Tem, but also the rest of their crazy family. From the very first page you are drawn into a story that picks up not long after the last one ends. As the two men try to return to some kind of normal life, they once again have to deal with unknown enemies. Even with the ongoing turmoil in their lives, the love these two have for each other is strong. The author has such a way with words that it is very easy for the reader to see the deep love Div and Tem have not only for each other but also for those they care about. As always, the sex between these two is intense and page burning.

The author not only does an excellent job with the characters, but also in his detailed background descriptions. Set in Waikiki, the history, culture, and people - both past and present - that the author brings into the story help bring it to life for the reader. I often think that should I ever make it to the islands, I am using this series for my travel guide. This book is an excellent addition to the series and I hope we see more soon.

Gone with the Monster


Title: Gone with the Monster
Author: Lila Dubois
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-670-9
Genre: {M/F} Fantasy
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Runako’s lack of trust in humans has nothing to do with his desire to have Margo in his bed. A secluded cave is the perfect location to escape with the sassy Latino woman with the plus-size body.

Margo has issues with her appearance. Society’s idea of the “perfect size” woman has her too busy focusing on the negative. This impromptu weekend will give two deserving people an opportunity to heal, to find closure, and to gain the love of a lifetime.

A cave may not be everyone’s fantasy location for seduction, but Runako makes it work like magic in Gone with the Monster. This is Lila Dubois’ third book in the Monsters in Hollywood series and this book was, by far, my favorite. Do not mistake Margo’s kindness for weakness. She will gladly deliver a beating to anyone who harms her family and friends. Runako has so much pain that still lingered in his mind and heart. If anyone could bring love back into his life and help him see humans in a new light, it was Margo. The characters’ chemistry ignites the pages. In addition, dashes of humor thrown in with a touch of action makes this a wonderful read. Gone with the Monster takes off at a gallop and there is no looking back. If you enjoyed the first two stories, you won’t be disappointed by the latest addition to the series.

Binding Agreement


Title: Binding Agreement
Author: Pam McKenna
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419924149
Genre: {M/F} BDSM Erotic Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Cipher Prose Nymph

What happens when you put together an emotionally hardened lawyer by day, Dom by night, and a prim and proper teacher who’s ready to experience the sensual side of sex? An intriguing hot read by Pam McKenna guaranteed to burn up the sheets.

The sizzling and emotional journey of John Randall and Kay Denehy who meet by chance one night on a sandy beach with wild waves. John shows Kay a side of sex she never thought to experience much less enjoy and Kay teaches John that mistakes are part of life and feelings are as necessary as breathing.

Binding Agreement is an erotic roller coaster shooting out of the gate with a mere peek of the ride to come, cresting with sexual dominance, and coasting to a newfound love. I found the story an enjoyable read filled with lots of strong emotion, and well developed characters.

The story reflects true human curiosity, guilt, regret, and the longing for love and acceptance. It also shows that desire one might think to be strange, can in fact turn into an erotic and mind-blowing walk on the wild side common among many. You won’t want to put this one down, once you pick it up.

Belling the Cat


Title: Belling the Cat
Author: Julia Talbot
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-799-2
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Jonny is a vampire and the owner of Bloodrose, an exclusive and refined Gentlemen’s Club that matches up supernatural creatures with the pleasurable pursuits they ask for. Gifted with the old world charm of the ultimate host, Jonny’s focus is on operating his club, giving little thought to personal affairs.

Luc is a cat shifter, independent with the natural curiosity and playfulness of his untamed side. He is not thrilled with his occupation as a cat burglar, but views it as a means to earn money. Luc can be deadly at crucial times, yet possesses highly intelligent senses to recognize friends.

Jonny enters his office and immediately he senses an intruder, however instead of dealing with the lawbreaker in the usual fashion, Jonny employs a bargaining tactic that Luc agrees to honor. Jonny finds Luc uniquely appealing. Luc is drawn to the enticing smell and beauty of Jonny; so much so that he can’t resist keeping his part of the bargain by returning.

Belling the Cat has an intriguing well-paced plot, and a mystery that is not entirely answered in this happy-for-now saga. Interwoven into the dilemma are the emotional moments, along with the humorous interactions of the characters and the exciting lovemaking scenes. Julia Talbot showcases the characters from An Itch to Scratch and The Werewolf Code. All the characters are exceptional; however I am particularly fond of Luc and his antics. I thoroughly enjoyed this story and hope another edition is forthcoming soon.

Alpha Turned


Title: Alpha Turned
Author: K.B. Alan
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419922831
Genre: {M/F} Shapeshifter
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Hillary became a werewolf after a traumatic visit with her college boyfriend's family. When she settled in Slade, she made a conscious effort to make sure there are no other werewolves in town. She sets up her woodworking shop and only allows her wolf out about once every three months.

Aaron, Zach’s brother, goes to Hillary’s shop to commission an order as a surprise for Zach’s birthday. He let’s her know she is in violation of a national law by not letting the Alpha wolf know she was there. Aaron returns to Mountain View and reports to Zach the situation with Hillary, only to find that Hillary is Zach’s mate.

K. B. Alan gave Alpha Turned several surprising twists to this werewolf society. I enjoyed the little details that were provided as you learned about laws, hierarchy and the relationships within the pack. As the story unfolds, there are also some very intense emotions that come through from the author’s description. The relationship between Zach and Hillary is very supportive as well as being the melting-the-ice-cubes variety. This is one for the bookshelf and is one I will be reading again.