Monday, October 8, 2012

Let Down Your Hair


Author: L.M. Brown
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com/
ISBN: 9781614957447
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy 
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

In the world of fairytales, things are not going exactly as planned for Prince Aiden. A few minor details such as the wrong tower, mistaken identity and no dragons to slay, postponed meeting his true love. But eventually Prince Aiden and Robert did have their happy ever after.

Let Down Your Hair is a hilarious extremely enjoyable twist on traditional fairytales. The plot is creative and all the characters are wonderfully amusing. Aiden is a charming romantic, though a little slow to grasp the circumstances he needed to deal with. Aiden’s mission started out as a duty. However, discovering that he was more than a little attracted to Robert’s male form motivated Aiden to complete his mission. Robert was opposed to the pretense, but he had secretly loved Aiden for years so he yielded to Aiden’s wishes. With the help of the more astute secondary characters, as well as magic, Aiden and Robert were able to have an open loving relationship.

Assassin Mine


Title:  Assassin Mine
Author:  Cynthia Sax
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  http://www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN: 9781419941856
Genre:  {M/F} Futuristic, Sci-Fi
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Darius is a Balazoid, which means he’s a cold-blooded killing machine.  Strict principles of behavior control his every move, in spite of the fact that a screeching human female is now monopolizing his thoughts.  He’s broken.  That has to be the reason he wants to keep her, even though it’s forbidden.  Darius is determined to pass this test of temptation and fix himself.  All he needs is to have her just once and things will return to normal for Darius.  No more wanting things that can never be or feeling things he shouldn’t. 

While searching for her brother, Sabrina encounters a condescending ass who makes her blood boil in more ways than one.  Darius seems to actually believe the garbage he recites about the purpose of women.  Sabrina isn’t one to ignore a challenge so she takes matters into her hands.  Pleasure is something Darius hasn’t experienced until now, so Sabrina decides to show him what he’s missing.

Darius struggles with his newly acquired feelings for Sabrina.   All this time he’s been told that females are only for sexual release.  Sex is not for pleasure, it is only a necessity.   Because of who he is, Darius can never have companionship.  Sabrina refuses to accept Darius’ coldness and detachment quietly, no matter how much he tries convincing her things will continue as they are.

One moment I was upset with Darius and the next I was upset for him.  I didn’t always pick up on the fact that he was doing his best to protect Sabrina at the time.  I knew he was struggling with his own issues, but I had to consider Sabrina first.  There is a scene with a breeding chair that showed me the depth of her strength.  I think that was the final crack in the wall that Darius erected and I was glad to see it crumble.  That moment made me a Darius fan.

Assassin Mine is the first installment of the Operation Erotic series that I’ve read and I was very entertained.  Cynthia Sax has a great skill in creating males with ingrained beliefs that always evoke a strong feeling from the reader.  This story is a mesmerizing example of this.  The more the male character fights the inevitable and the more his internal struggle increases, the more I just eat it up like candy.  Darius and Sabrina need each other in very different ways and I have no doubt that readers will get a thrill from reading about the sizzling way they meet on common ground.

Wake Me Up Inside


Author: Cardeno C.
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61372-711-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Zev Hassick is the strongest wolf in generations. He’s all Alpha and born to be the next pack leader. That means his parents are pushing him to find the right female to take as his mate—but Zev is gay and his childhood human friend, Jonah, is his mate. He wants Jonah by his side always but Jonah has dreams of his own. It means keeping their secret—even from his mate because they have to spend years apart when Jonah leaves town to attend medical school. It’s physically difficult for them both and by the time Jonah’s residency is near the end, they’re both suffering from illness. Claiming Jonah and being together is Zev and Jonah’s destiny, but they’ll have to fight against generations of pack tradition first.

Wake Me Up Inside is the first release in A Mates series by Cardeno C. Be aware that the entire story is told in Zev’s viewpoint, so Jonah and his feelings are a bit of a mystery. The other thing—while the story is contemporary in nature, there are big flashback scenes from when Zev and Jonah were young but extending throughout their lives together. The switching back and forth gets a little confusing at times but it still works. It also gives the reader a good feel for Zev’s emotions—what he’s going through being separated from his mate for so long.

I like Zev and Jonah. Zev’s personality is better developed but they’re both interesting guys and they’ve been together as friends since early childhood. It’s a nice touch I thoroughly enjoyed.  That they spend so much of the story apart got a bit wearying and caused years of angst. So many problems could have been eliminated by an honest conversation. There’s so much angst and conflict within Zev and Jonah’s relationship that there really isn’t a villain. It’s the situation instead that’s the problem instead of an individual. The secondary characters are numerous, including shifter Ethan and vampire Miguel, who are introduced near the end. Watch for their important role in Jonah’s life. They will be featured in the next book, Until Forever Comes

Run To Ground


Author: Darcy Abriel 
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-322-2
Genre: {M/M} Historical Werewolves
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Finding Emmanuel Grimshaw was not a problem for Tallin Undine. However convincing Emmanuel to return home was another matter. The debate ended when three werewolves sent by Emmanuel’s enemy attacked. The fight to the death activated the inner beast’s passion resulting in a renewal of the mating bond between Emmanuel and Tallin formed year ago. Except now the bond is stronger as well as indestructible.  

Run To Ground is an exhilarating dark fantasy filled with jealousy, prejudice, intense combat, heartwarming emotions, as well as almost vicious lovemaking.  The plot illustrates clan hierarchy. The characters are convincing. Emmanuel was born a werewolf; though he is not content to live as a savage catering to the will of his beast. Absence from the clan for years allowed Emmanuel to embrace his newly civilized human side. Nevertheless, Emmanuel must go back to claim the position of clan chieftain, in order to rescue his sister who is being held captive by an enemy. Becoming chieftain also permits Emmanuel the opportunity to change the clan’s violent way of life. Because Tallin was changed into a werewolf, then rejected by his mate, Tallin would never be considered equal to Emmanuel in the eyes of the clan. Still, Emmanuel has always loved Tallin and views Tallin as an equal.

Darcy Abriel has created an outstanding extremely enjoyable saga.  

To Sir, With Lust


Author:  Paige Bennett
Publisher:  Phaze
Publisher URL:  http://www.phaze.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-60659-695-1
Genre:  {M/F} Contemporary, Interracial
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph

Kendra Phelps has it bad for her attractive professor.  All she can think about during his lectures are all the wicked things he’d say to her in bed.  Kendra isn’t sure he’s interested in her, but she’s ready to put everything on the line to find out.

A man can only take so much and Ray Simmons isn’t sure he can go on another day like this.  Dating a student is bad, no matter how tempting the student is.  He has to stay professional and keep his burning desires to himself. 

Ray never stood a chance once Kendra made up her mind to have him.  He put up a good fight, but I could literally hear the clock ticking.  The age difference and the fact that she was his student didn’t stop Kendra from recognizing a good man.  I enjoyed the fact that their attraction evolved into more than just a physical relationship and I got to see them do “couple” things.  Their feelings developed so quickly that I was surprised.  I guess when it’s right, it’s right.  The glimpse into the couple’s future was a perfect happy ending.  To Sir, With Lust is a spicy scenario that’s tasteful and tantalizing so I know readers will appreciate this story.

Demon Dog


Title: Demon Dog
Author: Ally Blue
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN: 978-1-61921-102-5
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Publication Date: 12-04-2012

Greg Woodhall and Adrian Broussard have a loving long-term relationship. They can sense each other’s moods. However, Adrian can actually sense the energy surrounding people; Adrian is especially attuned to his live in partner Greg. So when Greg tries to hide the strange events happening at his job, it is up to Adrian, along with his father’s company Bay City Paranormal Investigations, to deal with the unknown entity plaguing the employees at DogOpolis.

Demon Dog is the first book in the Mojo Mysteries series, which is a spin-off of the Bay City Paranormal Investigations series. BCPI is a company comprised of a team of men and women with extrasensory abilities. Bo Broussard is the company founder and Adrian’s father. Adrian has the ability to talk to ghosts, in addition to having strong psychokinetic abilities.

Demon Dog is an intriguing suspense. I found this thriller to be exceptionally enjoyable. The plot illustrates the companionable bond between Greg and Adrian. Though Greg does not have gifts like Adrian, Greg is intuitive with the capacity to stabilize Adrian with displays of love and compassion. Also illustrated is the comfortable family bond the team has with Adrian and Greg, as well as with each other. The sinister perpetrator of the plot is a growling black shadow with the unmistakable vibes of Hate, Fury, and Bloodlust. 

Deceptive Attraction


Author:  Tara Lain
Publisher:  Loose Id
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-61118-556-0
Genre:  {M/M/F}, Ménage and Polyamory, Contemporary, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Caleb is a rookie goalie for a soccer team with a chance to sign a long-term contract.  There’s just one problem, he’s tired of hiding the fact that he is gay and also feels that he should be doing something else with his life.  While house-sitting for his brother, Jake, he meets Emmaline’s cousin, Angel, and later encounters the one night stand he can’t forget.

The latest in the Genetic Attraction series has a lot of twists, as well as betrayal.  Deceptive Attraction lets Caleb realize that he can be attracted to at least one women and he wonders if he might eventually be able to have a poly relationship, like his brother does.

One thing I like about this book is that the author throws in some interesting facts that make a reader realize how some factions of society are treated here and in other places, know matter how successful they may be, even if they are great at their particular sport. 

A few of the secondary characters show up from the previous books, but I did not like some of the new ones that showed up. I really liked Angel, but I wanted to slap Eli at times.  The part he plays in hurting Caleb was because he wanted to keep his independence from his father and I loved what Caleb did to resolve his conflict. However, Eli’s father was extremely manipulative and I was happy when Eli was finally able to get out of his shadow.

The way the author is weaving this series together keeps it interesting and I am looking forward to the next book.

Genetic Attraction


Author:  Tara Lain
Publisher:  Loose Id
Publisher URL:  www.loose-id.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-60737-924-9
Genre:  {M/M/F}, Ménage and Polyamory, Contemporary, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Jake and Roan get Emmaline to come home with them and spend the weekend.  Both men talk to her about moving in with them, but she is worried about how this will affect her work.  She also thinks she is way too old for them.

The second book in the Genetic Attraction series, Genetic Attraction, starts a few months after The Scientist and the Supermodel ends with Jake and Roan in their new house.  Jake and Emmaline finally confess their mutual attraction and she finds out that Jake is bisexual.  The author does a good job with the angst that Emmaline goes through regarding her job and starting a relationship with a colleague that is younger than her.  She also takes a look at how society views polyamorous relationships. as well. This book also takes a look at some of the double standards that apply to successful women and men.

I had to laugh at the matchmaking attempts of some of the older professors when the new professor arrived.  I loved the way Genetic Attraction ended, especially since some historical facts were used. 

I am looking forwards to the next book in this series.  The way the first two books flowed together, readers need to read this series in order.