Friday, August 19, 2011

Dance with Me

Title: Dance with Me
Author: Heidi Cullinan
Publisher: Loose Id
ISBN: 978-1-61118-420-4
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating:  Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Ed is a blue collar worker, who knows his days at work are numbered.  Laurie is a dance instructor, wondering if he has truly left his glory days behind him.  They may not get along very well but when they dance together, they don’t want to be anywhere else. 

Ed was a semi-pro football player, who was forced to quit after a serious injury.  His everyday job is going nowhere fast, with lay-offs happening on a regular basis.  The stress, from both his job and injury, has Ed’s emotions going crazy.  The way the author brings this character across is so realistic that those of us going through the same things Ed is will nod their heads in understanding.   

Laurie was a well known dancer who could conquer any dance step put in front of him.  When he enters a professional ballroom dance competition and performs with another man, the reaction he receives is not the one he expected.  To say that Laurie lost his confidence is an understatement and it is totally understandable that he would shy away from putting himself out there like that again.   

These two are in conflict with each other from the very beginning.  Watching them move from adversaries to friends and then lovers, at the pace set by the author, gives the readers a chance to know the characters better.  Their past’s play a strong part in the relationship and more than once, pride gets in the way, yet the two are more than willing to fight for what they have found together. 

Dance with Me has become my favorite story by Heidi Cullinan.  Ed and Laurie are probably the most realistic characters I have ever seen.  The drama that the two go through, first with Ed’s injury and later with Laurie’s interfering friends and family, are so true to life that each scene is like peeking into someone else’s life.  If you have not yet tried any of this author’s books, I strongly suggest you start with this one.

Big Cypress Crossroads

Title: Big Cypress Crossroads
Author: Bren Christopher
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-61118-446-4
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Suspense
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx   

Kayaking alone through the dark waterways of the Florida Everglades is where tour guide Noah Taylor spends most of his weekdays.  However, on this day, Noah discovers a ritually sacrificed body hanging from the twisted limbs of a mangrove tree.  When Noah drives into town to report the dead man, he discovers Miami-Dade police detective Scott Chandler, the man who has haunted Noah’s dreams for months.

Big Cypress Crossroads is an intriguing story exhibiting drug wars, deception, love and the Santeria faith.  The setting is a perfect backdrop for the plot, along with the characters.  When the Nigerian people were brought to Cuba and other Latin American countries as slaves, they brought their native religion with them. Their gods became identified with the various saints of the Catholic religion that they were forced to practice.  Noah is openly gay but neither his family nor the townspeople have an issue with his sexuality, it is his unique gift that has labeled Noah as strange.  Noah receives insights into the future, which has saved the lives of several people around him.  Because of his premonitions, Noah is reluctant to fully share his source of knowledge with Scott, which is the basis for their lack of trust dilemma.  They love each other yet there is that little nagging uncertainty in the back of their minds.  Noah and Scott are on the same mission, each man has a personal reason to see their objective succeed.  By joining their operations, Noah and Scott develop a relationship.  The intimacy scenes are splendid. The plot builds up to a thrilling action pack climax.  Bren Christopher's Big Cypress Crossroads is an excellent, as well as extremely enjoyable, saga.

Three Mates, One Destiny

Title: Three Mates, One Destiny
Author: Scarlet Hyacinth
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN: 1-61034-653-X
Genre: {M/M/M} Werewolf Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

With his father mated to two spirit wolves, finding a cure to the feral virus has become the entire focus of Paulie’s life. Between living at the isolated Hart compound and the dedication to his research, he doesn’t have a personal life, but that changes with the arrival of hunters, Marcus and Sebastian. Paulie gets the surprise of his life on discovering the two are his mates but he’s reluctant to confirm their bond, feeling like a third wheel. 

Marcus and Sebastian have battled many things in their century-long mating but fighting against Paulie’s mistrust, while trying to win his heart is the hardest fight of their long lives. As they struggle to convince Paulie of their heartfelt sincerity, betrayal and danger surrounds them. Can they find happiness or will the ferals working against them win? 

Three Mates, One Destiny is book four in Scarlet Hyacinth’s Spirit Wolves series and it’s my favorite, thus far. This unique and interesting set of books just keeps getting better and better. Note: Due to the importance of returning characters and the ongoing plotline, I suggest they be read in order. 

After meeting Paulie in the first book, it’s nice to see him, as an adult, working with his dad to find the cure for the feral virus. I liked how the author gave the series continuity by using the research theme through all four books and seeing the close relationship between Paulie and his father is a nice touch.  It’s also nice that the author managed to integrate so many of the characters met in previous books into the story. 

Adding mates Marcus and Sebastian is Paulie’s final step into the adult world and Ms. Hyacinth uses her creative skill to take a character that readers have seen as a child and changes him realistically into a grown up. I liked that Paulie didn’t jump into mating Marcus and Sebastian without thinking about the repercussions. He has a mind of his own and doesn’t want to feel controlled by the bond instead of his heart. Good for you, Ms. Hyacinth.

Lastly, I liked that there is plenty of well plotted action scenes with their enemies to balance out against the new and growing three-way relationship, and the ending sets up the next book nicely. I can’t wait to see what happens in Star Crossed Mates.

Delicious Danger

Title:  Delicious Danger  
Author:  Desiree Holt
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN: 9781419932731
Genre:  {M/F}, Suspense, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Kelly meets Rick while she is visiting her grandfather and the sparks fly.  Kelly also has a dog that is considered a one person dog which tolerates family members, but Xena seems to take to Rick immediately. 

The third book of the Phoenix Agency series is a very intense suspense story that keeps your interest almost from the start.  I got a little upset when I got interrupted while reading because I did not want to stop reading Delicious Danger.  The author did a lot of research on the Caucasian Ovcharka; I had to look it up as I had never heard of this dog and I am glad I got a chance to learn about them. 

Kelly, Rick and Xena are the main characters that are trying to solve the mystery of who is trying to destroy Phoenix.  Even though the mystery of this particular incident is solved, it does not totally solve the mystery of who is behind the destruction. Because of the way the secondary characters are intertwined into the series, you do need to read these books in order.  The reason Phoenix was created could very much be right in tune to today’s world with all the problems around us.  Both Kelly and Rick are very strong and conscious of their abilities and make no apologies for it.  I did have to laugh at a few of Xena’s antics though.  

The chemistry between Kelly and Rick is explosive so keep plenty of ice on hand.  Some of the interaction between the two is quite entertaining.  This is definitely one for the bookshelf and one series I will be reading again. 

Publisher's Note: Previously published as Scent of Danger with The Lotus Circle and then Cerridwen Press, this book has been revised and the bedroom door opened for Ellora's Cave.

Ranger’s Folly

Title: Ranger’s Folly
Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN: 978-1-55487-923-6
Genre: {M/M}, Shape-shifter, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Ranger will do anything to ensure his friend Riley stays safe and happy, even take down Riley’s twin brother, Xavier.  Only Ranger never expected to be drawn to the spunky eagle shifter. 

Ranger’s Folly is the newest addition to The Lost Shifters series.  This story was a great read and I enjoyed the characters, even the secondary ones.  When the story began I was actually a little surprised by Xavier.  When Riley’s Regret ended, and we were given a glimpse of Xavier, I remembered him being a little more on the tough side.  However as Ranger’s Folly goes along, the reason for Xavier’s change is explained, in fact, it plays a key point in the story.  The connection between Ranger and Xavier is intense from the time they meet.  I liked that Ranger’s wolf did not need a lot of time to understand the reasoning for their connection, giving the reader more time with the two as a couple.  The two men do have a few problems to overcome however, least of which is the side effects of the drug Xavier had been taking.  As the two shifters learn to cope with their new relationship, Xavier must also learn to live with members of the coalition, people he had always been told to hide from.   

There is also the introduction of a couple of new characters, both of whom are Raven shifters.  These Ravens are nothing like the ones readers have come to know and I can’t wait to see what the author’s plans are for Chance.   

Ranger’s Folly is another great addition to the author’s ongoing series and, while each story can be read alone, readers would have a better understanding of the background story if the books are read in order.

Buttercream

Title: Buttercream
Author: Roslyn Hardy Holcomb
Publisher: Loose Id
ISBN: 978-1-61118-440-2
Genre: {M/F} Multicultural Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph 

Being raised by flower children has caused Poppy Blakemore to have a very eclectic personality.  She’s a vegetarian baker who has half the town in love with her food.  Poppy is very passionate about her food, but she has stronger feelings about war.  How could anyone support something so wrong?   She’d never questioned this until the day a soldier with puppy dog brown eyes asked her out on a date. 

Captain Matthew McAlister wants more than cupcakes when he meets Poppy at a Rainbow Reunion.  Considering the sparks flying between the two of them, sex is inevitable.  But is it possible this woman is the one person who can make all his nightmares disappear permanently?  Will she be able to accept him as he is? 

Poppy and Matthew are as different as apples and oranges.  Personally, I feel that’s what makes them work as a couple.  Matthew is proud to serve his country and is willing to give his life for his band of brothers.  After learning about Matthew’s near death experience and hearing his deepest feelings, Poppy still doesn’t understand his career choice.  For a while, they agree to disagree until Poppy does something that crosses the line.  I was so shocked by her actions that I actually felt Matthew’s shock leap off the pages.  By the end of the story, I still wasn’t able to completely forgive Poppy, but I’m glad Matthew was.  It touched me seeing how sometimes they just clicked so well.  One particular scene where Matthew did Poppy’s hair left me speechless with emotion.  Being that comfortable with your partner is special.  Heck, if I didn’t want Matthew before that moment, this scene changed that.   A man who brings the heat in the bedroom, protects you in times of need and does the little things for you is a definite keeper. 
 
Buttercream is a beautifully written story that will leave you wanting to read it over and over again.  Readers will bond with the characters immediately, as if they were next door neighbors.  If you have never read a Roslyn Hardy Holcomb story, you are missing out.  Just let Buttercream be your first, and I can guarantee you, it won’t be your last.

Fantasy, Legend and the Guardian

Title: Fantasy, Legend and the Guardian
Author: Gabrielle Evans
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN: 1-61034-708-0
Genre: {M/M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Fletcher Martin is tired of being alone. Being able to turn into a common house cat isn’t exactly the most desirable shifting ability to have and decides the only chance he has of finding a mate is with the elder’s drugged champagne. Who else would want him? 

Caspian Reyes has been on the run from certain members of the paranormal world for several hundred years. He’s tired, lonely and wants someone of his own and discovers that just what he needs in a cute kitty shifter and a big gargoyle. 

Shadenious Santiago has existed at the edges of the shifter world for over six thousand years and it’s taking a toll on his lonely soul. He just wants a mate to love and care for. When he ends up with both Fletcher and Caspian he’s stunned, but ready to take a chance at happiness. Then his old life intrudes, endangering them all. What’s Shade going to do? Can he give up his mates or should he fight for what he so desperately wants? 

Fantasy, Legend and the Guardian is the seventh and latest release in the ongoing Midnight Matings series, this one by Gabrielle Evans. It’s a well written and plotted story with great characters, lots of simmering passion, fun, humor, and plenty of danger, action and fear.  

I liked Fletcher, Caspian and Shade from the first page and really loved that as a house cat, gargoyle and Pegasus shifter, they’re so different from what’s usual in a paranormal romance. Ms. Evan’s gave her readers a real treat picking these guys and doing such a good job getting them together, despite all the roadblocks in their way.  

Aside from numerous masked assassins, there isn’t much in the way of secondary characters with the exception of Fletcher’s friend Tess, who shows up mostly by phone throughout the story. It’s because of her and Shade’s past that we learn more of UPAC and a new group, The Alliance. Ms. Evan’s did a great job blending all these story puzzle pieces together, giving us a fun and entertaining read. I look forward to the next release.

Seducing the Beast

Title:  Seducing the Beast
Author:  Jayne Fresina
Publisher:  Lyrical Press
Publisher URL:  www.lyricalpress.com
ISBN: 9781616503024
Genre:  {M/F}, Historical
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Madolyn went to meet the Earl of Swafford to persuade him to ask the Queen for a pardon for her cousin.  Because of his wife’s comments, Griff has been dubbed “The Beast”.  When they meet, the attraction is instant. 

I had to laugh at the antics and trouble that Madolyn kept getting into and that the Earl ended up helping her get out of.  Seducing the Beast is a fun read that will tickle your funny bone at times.  The give and take Madolyn and Griff have with each other, while engaged in a battle of wits, are funny and at times, very intense. Some of the scenes may be a little uncomfortable for some to read.  Unfortunately, Griff has the attitude that women are nothing but liars and trouble, which seems to be the prevailing attitude of men in this time period. Both characters, as well as some of the secondary ones, will make you want to knock them “up the side of the head” to knock some sense into them.  Whether it is interference by family members or staff, most don’t want to listen even if it is the truth.

The mores of this society tend to give Madolyn fits because she is educated and has very decided opinions and doesn’t want to play by the rules.  Griff is like most aristocrats in that he feels his word is law.  I had to laugh at Madolyn at times because she seemed to do things just to get under Griff’s skin and drive him crazy.  I loved that the author made her such a strong woman.  As the story progresses, though, there is a lot of intrigue behind the scenes that drives some of the main story.  The ending was very realistic and I have to say that this author kept my interest.  Those that like a good historical romance should add this one to their bookshelf, in my opinion.

Kissing Sherlock Holmes

Title: Kissing Sherlock Holmes
Authors: T. D. McKinney & Terry Wylis
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-013-9
Genre: {M/M} Historical Mystery
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

When Sherlock Holmes asks his friend how to kiss a woman, Watson is shocked. That single kiss opens up a world of feelings Watson never expected and hearing Holmes is engaged to a beautiful, headstrong woman strangely makes him happy.  

But it isn’t all sweetness and light in the beautiful English countryside. Holmes and Watson must use all their combined skills to find a sadistic blackmailer, selling secrets threatening to undermine the government. It’s hard to believe that one of the nobility staying at the estate of the Viscount Toddington could be the dangerous traitor they’re tracking, but there isn’t any doubt.  

It’s up to Holmes to save an innocent man from going to jail while uncovering the identity of a villain and bringing him to justice. It’s a difficult and trying time as he needs to keep Watson safe while doing so, since the man he loves has become the target of the killer. Can Holmes keep the most important person in his life alive and save the government too?  

Kissing Sherlock Holmes is the latest release by writers McKinney & Wylis. I admit it. The quirky title for this book caught my attention first but the idea of turning the classic mystery characters of Holmes and Watson into lovers while they solved a crime is what made me want to read this story. It’s a crazy notion but it’s also what makes this writing duo so successful…they think outside the box. 

The thing that’s immediately obvious about this story is that the writing style matches that of the time period in which the book is set, reminding me of the many classic mystery books I’ve read and B/W movies I’ve seen. I really appreciated that the authors’ writing closely matched that of the originator of the Sherlock Holmes and Watson characters. It shows their attention to detail and their willingness to do the research necessary to get a historical era right. 

Holmes in love initially seemed a little odd but it was nice seeing this normally rigid man open his heart up. But what I really loved was the author’s creative explanation for what made him act so arrogant and cold to people around him…even Watson at times.  Then there’s Watson. This man is much more experienced in the ways of physical relationships than Holmes but one kiss from the man he’s been friends with for years turns his world upside down. McKinney and Wylis handled the change of emotions and relationship between both men well, making their transition from friends to lovers believable.

You don’t really know about the secrets the villain is stealing or how it’s happening until the latter part of the story but it becomes apparent fairly early on who the person might be. But even so, it didn’t stop me from enjoying the story, as snippets of information revolving around the villain is intermittently placed throughout the story, keeping my interest.   

Put all this together in an English country house with some interesting secondary characters, witty dialogue and a few chuckles and you have all the components needed for an enjoyable read. Give this one a try.

Bound In Lingerie

Title:  Bound In Lingerie
Author:  Gina Gordon
Publisher:  Lyrical Press
Publisher URL:  www.lyricalpress.com
ISBN:  9781616503185
Genre:  {M/F}, Contemporary, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph  

Digital Publication Date: September 19, 2011 

Amie plays the field because the men she dates can’t handle her “wild” side.  When she meets Milton, she accuses him of having a ‘stick up his butt”, because of his job.  Neither was looking for love, just a short fling. 

The third book in the Bare Naked Designs series is a bit different from the first two.  While you can read each as a standalone, I suggest you read the whole series in order.  Bound in Lingerie is a look at a very strong woman, looking for a man that will let her take charge in the bedroom, but still be strong and challenge her.  Milton has equated love with loss because his mother and brother-in-law died young and feels he will lose anyone he loves. 

Amie and Milton have a strong chemistry, but they try to avoid getting to know each other.  I think a lot of people hide because of insecurities or trust issues, especially when you feel that no one really appreciates you as you are.  I had to laugh at some of Amie’s antics and Milton’s reactions.  Once both realize they have feelings for each other, Amie tends to run scared.  The scene at the end of the book was priceless. 

I loved the way the author wove the previous couples into this storyline and brought in a couple of new characters. I am wondering if there might be a couple more books in the wings.

Thursday, August 18, 2011

Bump ‘n’ Grind

Title: Bump ‘n’ Grind
Author: Sam Cheever
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
ISBN: 9781419934964
Genre: {M/F} Older Woman, Younger Man
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph 

Celebrating her birthday at a strip club wasn’t Felicia Jeffries’ choice, but her girlfriends wouldn’t let her chicken out. They insisted that she let her hair down and get wild for one night.  Felicia’s embarrassment quickly turns to lust when she sniffs a warm musky scent and touches a smooth broad chest.  Felicia can’t help wanting the sexy hunk, even though she has to be twenty years his senior.   

Garrett Holcomb is drawn to the beauty in the red dress the moment he spots her in the club.  Felicia’s friend has too much to drink, so Garrett leaps at the opportunity to lend a helping hand.  Their age difference doesn’t bother Garrett, even though Felicia tries to use it as an excuse.  Realizing that they can’t fight the attraction, Garrett and Felicia give in and try dating. 

Things get complicated when an old acquaintance makes trouble for Felicia and Garrett.  A wedge is formed between the couple, putting their trust to the test.  If Garrett can’t prove his innocence, he’ll be set up for crimes he didn’t commit and lose everything in the process.  Felicia will do anything she can to help Garrett, even if it means giving him up.   

Although Bump ‘n’ Grind is not a series, it is linked to Bits n Bytes. Readers can read it as a standalone story without feeling lost, although if you are a Sam Cheever fan, I suggest you read both for the fun of it.  I enjoyed Felicia and Garrett’s story because it was more than I was expecting.  Garrett’s character is a well rounded, nice guy and I couldn’t resist his charm.  When I think of male strippers, I don’t always come up with a positive image, but Garrett has definitely changed that for me.  He wasn’t a man whore, as I was expecting.  I breathed a sigh of relief when I saw that he wanted more from Felicia than just sex.  Felicia is easy to relate to and I think women will like her.  I understood her fear in trusting Garrett and even in getting involved with him in the first place.  She had realistic doubts and realistic responses, which always makes the story more real for me.  Her group of friends sound like so much fun, I would love to know them.   The “who done it” suspense is an added surprise that will keep readers on the edge of their seats.  Readers will definitely get a kick out of this wonderful story.

Incoming Freshman

Title: Incoming Freshman
Author: Carol Lynne
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN: 978-0-85715-615-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Three years ago, Coach Chet Sloan left the University of Arizona, due to his attraction to incoming freshman Bobby Ray Sikes, a young man whose high school football career he’d followed for two years previously. He couldn’t give into his feelings for the young eighteen year-old man he adored and ran, taking a job with Central Idaho University. 

It’s Bobby Ray’s last year of school but tired of hiding his sexuality, he transfers colleges and decides to live in the privately run and gay friendly BK House dormitory. Chet isn’t thrilled to learn Bobby’s coming to his university and he’s even less happy to hear of his living arrangement, fearing it will ruin Bobby’s chances of a pro football career.  The question is whether Chet can coach the man he cares for or will his feelings cause him to run again? 

I was thrilled to learn Carol Lynne had decided to write more books in her popular Campus Cravings series and has now resumed it with number thirteen, Incoming Freshman. It picks up a couple of years after the original set of books ended and while reading the last release would be helpful, it’s not mandatory.  

I liked Chet when he was first introduced in Live for Today in 2008 and getting to know more about his warm and caring personality is a treat. Through Ms. Lynne’s further development of his character, he’s shown to be a man deeply dedicated to his job and the young men he coaches, but he’s also capable of deep personal love and emotion as well. It’s his sense of responsibility that almost costs him the young man he loves. Her expression of Chet’s difficulty getting over the gap in his and Booby’s age is handled well, as is their desire, which can’t be denied. 

Bobby is a great new character and it was nice seeing his growing relationship with Chet and how he interacted with the old favorites we’ve meet from the previous books. He fit in well with this group and he and Chet make another great couple inhabiting the Campus Cravings world. Then there’s Bobby’s roommate, Dane, an interesting man who I want to know more about.  

Overall, I liked this book and the return to the campus and people I’ve enjoyed so much in the past. It’s a quick read with a good flow and characterization that caught and keep my attention from beginning to end. I can’t wait for the next release coming in sometime in December.

Monday, August 15, 2011

Grace in Moonlight

Title:  Grace in Moonlight
Author:  Stephanie Julian
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN:  9781419935718
Genre:  {M/F}, Shape-shifter, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Grace is worried about her son, and is also aware that she is looked at with suspicion because of her birth.  Kaisie is slowly falling in love with her and isn’t sure how to handle it. 

The fifth book of the Lucani Lovers series, Grace in Moonlight, is an intense story about some cultural differences between the races in this series.  As the Lucanis go about rescuing Grace’s children, you become aware of a lot of undercurrents that will definitely be running through the next book.  The suspense that is created when the main characters try to do things without hurting or betraying the other is intense and makes you want to hold your breath waiting for the outcome. 

A lot of the secondary characters have been met in the previous books, though there is an addition of a couple of new ones, one whom will be featured in book six.  The chemistry between Grace and Kaisie is hot. Be warned that the epilogue may have you crying, wishing the story had continued.  Ms. Julian deserves credit for keeping this series interesting as she slowly reveals more about the Lucanis and their whole society.  Please be aware that you do need to read this series in order, the further you get.  

All About Jenny

Title: All About Jenny
Author: D. J. Manly
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-55487-918-2
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx   

Mark Donaldson is faced with telling his twelve-year-old niece Jenny, the terrible news of her mother’s accidental death.  Days after the funeral, Mark learns the identity of Jenny’s father is Cole Waters, along with the news that Cole wants to meet his daughter.  

Jenny’s welfare and happiness is the focus of All About Jenny, as the title implies. The setting is Staten Belle, Canada.  The small town is a positive environment to raise a child; however it has a direct negative influence on Mark’s chances of meeting other gay men.  Also, because it is a small town society, Mark’s sexuality is not generally known by most of the residents.  The interaction between the believable characters is animated, blended with moments of emotional drama.  Mark is a lonely man, who has directed all of his energy into Jenny.  At some point Jenny becomes an excuse Mark uses to justify not seeking a personal relationship.  This reasoning is well founded until Cole enters the picture.  Father and daughter immediately bond with each other.   

Cole not only loves Jenny, he falls in love with Mark.  Cole’s background is one of sadness overcome, after years of struggling for acceptance.  Jenny is the key advocate for Mark and Cole’s relationship.  The storyline illustrates the child has more foresight than the adults regarding love and happiness.  All About Jenny is an impressive example of D. J. Manly’s flair for spectacular writing, as well as a pleasurable saga.