Thursday, May 22, 2014

Hell On Earth

Title: Hell On Earth
Author: Ally Blue
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN: 978-1-61922-139-0
Genre: {M/M} Futuristic Series
Rating: Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 
Publication Date: 06-17-2014

The quest for power is the delusions of grandeur on a path of destruction. Freedom is the illusion that masked the corruption. Sandman and Vijay are forced to live with the political deceit, but still have aspirations for true freedom. Reality’s motto for Sandman and Vijay, as well as for others like them, is only the survival of the strongest can hope for an enduring future.  

Hell On Earth is the second book in the Hellscape series. The plot is an in-depth account of life on colonized planets centuries after Earth was destroyed. Though the location is different, the same method of governing the masses of people is the same as Earth’s current government system with a few added horrors.

Sandman is a gutter, the term used for Hell’s End orphans who will do anything to survive, even turn on each other if someone feels they are a threat to the rest of the group. Sandman is intelligent, strong, fast as well as extremely capable with a knife. He can kill without hesitation. Escaping to Mars is the first time Sandman was able to sit outside in the sun.

Vijay moved to Mars after his large family died under suspicious circumstances, covered up by the government. Vijay’s skills are in the highly technical category.

Ally Blue has created an exceedingly riveting as well as a very enjoyable saga that goes beyond outstanding. The storyline compels the readers to look at the cruelties vividly illustrated and see Earth’s sadistic potential for the future. In addition to the political nightmares, there is a scorching intimacy scene that establishes Sandman and Vijay’s capacity to express love for each other even during the worst of conditions imaginable.  

Wolf in Her Bed

Author: N.J. Walters
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61922-217-5
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx
Release Date: 07-08-2014

Anny Conrad’s single and lives alone except for her two cats. To celebrate her thirtieth birthday she and a friend go to a local bar where a man asks her to dance. He’s tall, rugged, smells good and being in his arms feels amazing. Letting him kiss her is out of character and after he leaves, Anny can’t stop thinking about him.

With his pack in a war, Armand LaForge doesn’t need a woman to mess with his head. Unfortunately fate has other ideas because the woman from the bar is his mate. He can still protect her from danger by staying away.  Except Armand’s plans don’t work and Anny soon learns what kind of world she’s now in and how deadly it can be.

Wolf in Her Bed is the second release in N.J. Walters series, Salvation Pack. Due to the ongoing story line and recurring characters, the books should be read in order.

Anny is an interesting choice as a mate of a werewolf. Her personality is so quiet, fearful and reserved, compared to the more loud and aggressive, Armand. I truly didn’t see this pair working. I took a little convincing and more than a few pages for the author to make me believe it. The pacing is smooth, there is lots of action and danger with the return of the previous villains—Armand’s old pack, including his father and the imagery is good. The author did a nice job integrating the characters we met in the first book—Armand’s pack members. These individuals are great additions to the book, adding a sense of family and friendship. I really like these people.

My two big niggles: Armand knew he was being followed. The idea that staying away would keep Anny safe is foolhardy. Truthfully, I was totally annoyed with him during this part of the story as it left Anny totally vulnerable to a situation she knew nothing about. Then there’s what I call the too-stupid-to live moment and Anny gets it. She’s been warned of the danger and to not leave the house without someone with her. What does she do? She leaves. It’s like a scene from a bad movie and I was disappointed at her lack of good judgment, even if it did move into a nicely done confrontation scene. 

The niggles don’t mean I didn’t find the book entertaining because I did. It’s a good second book and progresses the ongoing story line in a well plotted way. Yes, I found some things a little annoying but others made me smile or chuckle. And the sexual chemistry between Anny and Armand is sizzling. I have no idea who will be the next featured pack member but you can be guaranteed that I’ll be reading the story.

Beyond Addiction

Author:  Desiree Holt
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781419945038
Genre:  {M/F}, BDSM, Sequel
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Fallon has stayed away from Doms and BDSM since her last experience with Brian.  Meeting Cord changes that and both fall hard for each other.  Will Fallon be able to overcome her experience and make a life with Cord?

Beyond Addiction is the sequel to the short story Dangerous AddictionBeyond Addiction continues Fallon’s and Cord’s story, but now Cord is learning more about Fallon’s history and realizes he may not be able to keep or help her get over her experience with her previous “Dom”, Brian.

As the story progresses, the differences between an abuser and a true BDSM Dom/sub relationship is very apparent in this story.  Readers need to be aware that there are situations in this book that can cause triggers for some.  I was glad Fallon realized very quickly just what Brian had done and why.  The way she got out was very creative though and I was glad she got help.

The author did a good job showing that there are people in all professions who are familiar with the lifestyle and can use that knowledge to help those that choose to live it.  Cord had a good friend who was a lawyer that knew a doctor and therapist that could help understand some of the underlying issues that let Fallon fall prey to the abuse.  Fallon also had a great friend in Claire who was able to see what was happening and took action.

Cord is a wonderful man and I was mad at Fallon when she left.  The relationship they had was great and full of chemistry.  The scenes between them were intense and heated up the pages.  Once Fallon escaped and healed, she and Cord got back together and I was glad as he was very good for her. 

I hope the author does a sequel to Dangerous Addiction as I want to know what happens between Jose and Claire.  The way the author left that idea hanging seems to give credence to that.  I will be reading this again.

Knight of Fire


Author: S.J. Frost
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: www.mlrbooks.com
ISBN: MLR-1-02014-0232
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy Series
Rating: Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Bryson, Torran, Larkin, Zain and Aleric are all honorable men brought together by the Goddess. Their individual gifts, as well as their warrior strengths, complements each other. United in battle, they are a powerful force to be reckoned with, which their enemies can confirm.

Knight of Fire is the second book in the Terra Series. This is a well written, well paced engaging plot full of deceptions, secrets, prejudice and moments of sensual intimacy. The characters, both the men and their beloved pets, seem to come to life right before the reader’s eyes.

Torran is very much attracted to a Knight of the Crown Sir Karrick Brenton. Torran did not realize the attraction was mutual until Karrick came to Torran’s rescue during a spirit battle in the woods. Days later, a royal summons gave Torran and Karrick a chance to further develop a relationship while they all traveled to Dragon’s Landing. The trip to the capital is a twofold mission; find the killer of a gatekeeper in addition to seeking an audience with the Ancient One.

Although Torran and Karrick were the featured love interest in the storyline, all of the men engage in the battles as one unit of soldiers protecting each others back. Bryson is a powerful witch; he uses magic rather than a sword. Plus, his pet Wynn is a fire breathing dragon who takes exception to anyone who interrupts his romance novel reading time. Torran is a skilled archer; his pet is Rose, another fire breathing dragon fiercely protective of her dragon speaker. Though not as skilled as Karrick, the rest of the men are amazing warriors also.

S.J. Frost has created a brilliantly enthralling saga. The interaction between the characters is enormously hilarious, the mysteries are intriguing. The battle scenes are so forceful I found myself actually cheering out loud for the good guys. I highly recommend the thoroughly enjoyable Knight of Fire.  

Get What You Need

Author: Jeanette Grey
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61922-228-1
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph
Release date 7-15-2014

Greg has worked hard to get where he is but while working towards his Ph.D., his personal life has fallen by the wayside.  Although Greg has become an expert at ignoring his needs, he never thought the addition of a new roommate, Marsh, would send everything into a tailspin.

Get What You Need is a new book by author Jeanette Grey.  The story pulled me in right away and I found myself drawn to both main characters.  The young men have a lot in common.  Both come from similar backgrounds and have had to work hard to get where they are.  Yet, both men are also different in many ways.  Greg is working on his Ph.D. and he’s smart enough that others run to him for help.  He also sees himself as a boring geek who has trouble maintaining a relationship.  Marsh is an undergrad struggling to pass his classes.  The fact that he is a jock helps with some of the expenses, but not enough to cover things when his father stops paying after finding Marsh with another man.  He’s a hunk and Greg cannot imagine someone like Marsh being interested in anything other than a “friends with benefits” relationship with a geek like him. 

These two men are just what the other needs in their lives, but both men have been hurt before and are afraid of being hurt again.  While I could understand why they felt the way they did, there were many times during the course of the book that I want to smack them and make them get their act together.  As for chemistry, these two have a lot of it.  When they get together they really heat up the pages. 

I wondered how the author would bring these two together for their happily ever after without making it feel forced.  It is with the help of the many secondary characters in the book that the author finds the way to let these two acknowledge their feelings.  I loved the introduction of Greg’s parents and the way they were with both the young men.  

Get What You Need is a well written story, one that will have me looking for more books by this author.  

Coaxing His Skittish Lynx

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-77111-926-9
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Roland’s spent twenty-five years in his lynx form, kept in a cage as a side-show attraction. He’s scared and been alone since his friend Vane was sold years before. His world’s turned topsy-turvy when strange men come and take him away. Roland’s clueless about what’s going on until he recognizes Vane and realizes he’s been rescued. He’s relieved that Vane’s gargoyle clutch offers him sanctuary, but is stunned to find that Tobias, an important member, claims they’re mates. The problem—Roland can’t sense their bond.

Tobias has waited decades for his mate and is shocked Roland denies their bond. When he learns why, he declares it unimportant and sets out to prove his devotion. Soon danger from Roland’s past returns and Tobias must protect him. Can he convince his wounded mate that they can make a life together and overcome any obstacle, if they do it together?

Coaxing His Skittish Lynx is the newest release in Charlie Richards’ series, A Paranormal’s Love.  This one starts immediately after the last left off, so the books should be read in order.

This is the first time I’ve read a book where one of a mate-bond pair has Roland’s problems. It’s a good premise and I applaud Ms. Richards for tackling the issue, even if I wish it had been dealt with more deeply.  Roland’s personality is pretty well crafted—he’s quiet, reserved and jumpy. I like this wounded man and while Tobias is what he needs in a mate, he’s also overbearing, bossy and highhanded. I appreciate that Tobias knew Roland needed to take a relationship slow but once it moved in that direction, it was full-steam ahead.  For this particular book, because of Roland’s issues and history, I could have done with less sex.

My overall impressions: The intriguing premise drew me to the story, the imagery is vivid, the pacing smooth, and I enjoyed how Ms. Richards wove in all the previous characters.  

My niggles: I was disappointed we missed the details of Roland’s actual rescue and wish it had been included. After having the problem for so many years, the issue that caused Roland’s mate-bond problem is resolved very quickly. The poor security on the clutch grounds. I never noticed it being an issue in the previous books and suddenly it is…what gives? 

Even so, that doesn’t mean I didn’t enjoy the story or don’t intend to read the next one…because I do. According to Ms. Richards’ website, it looks like the next one might be about a wolf shifter and a human. I like the sound of that. Look for it.

Favorite Obsession

Author:  Nancy Corrigan
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN/BIN:  9781419991646
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Mira is told by the Shifter Council she must choose a mate within 30 days; otherwise they will pick one for her.  Complicating matters is the fact that the only man she wants to mate is Josh, a human.  What happens sets the stage for a tragedy waiting to happen.

Favorite Obsession is the third book in the Royal Pride series.  Once the Alexander Pride chooses to settle where shifter cubs had been living as adopted children of humans, Mira is constantly around Josh as his daughter is one of the young children.  An old beau shows up, as well as the nephew of the man that had attacked Mira, as some of her suitors.

Josh has made up his mind Mira is his.  Even though he has been warned about a prophecy regarding Mira, he knows she is his.  Events in Josh’s life, such as the visit by the Golden Goddess after he is attacked, prove to be very interesting and it takes Devon to make Josh realize he is right.  Josh just has to listen to certain things going on.

Family always has a way of interfering and Mira’s is no exception.  In addition, things aren’t quite what they seem where the Council is concerned.  Everyone is trying to interpret the prophecy to their benefit and old enemies surface.  I wasn’t too happy with Mira’s family, much less Josh’s friends.  Things work out in the end, with a few questions left hanging, as well as one issue unresolved.

The chemistry between Josh and Mira is intense and when they get together it is explosive.  I was happy that they got together, though the events toward the end get very emotional and could be triggers for a few readers. 

I am looking forward to the next book.  Readers need to read the series in order to get the most out of the series.