Wednesday, December 31, 2014

From our family to yours:


A Wedding to Die For

Author: Xavier Mayne
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781632164704
Genre: {M/M}, Mystery, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Brandt and Donnelly are once again called in for a special assignment at the behest of the governor.  This time, the two officers are asked to look into the possibility that the rights of a couple of prominent individuals have been violated.  This sends the two men into the crazy world of wedding planning, where things are not always what they seem.

A Wedding to Die For is the newest story in the Brandt and Donnelly Capers series.  This story is a crazy read that will have you laughing one moment and in shock the next.  While it is possible for each story to stand on its own, it is important that you at least read the first book in the series before reading any of the others. 

Brandt and Donnelly are closer than ever and are looking forward to their upcoming wedding.  When their newest case involves the wedding planning world, the two men look at this as a chance to get some tips for themselves.  The case looks as if it’s going to be easy-going, while readers will feel the same way, so they will be very surprised when things begin to go downhill fast.  While readers will have a good idea about who the “bad guy” is early in the story, there are little twists and turns that will surprise the reader and show that everything is not as it seems.  There is one really big surprise that I did not see coming and was really shocked by.  I have to say it left me crying and a little mad at the author.

A Wedding to Die For is not all angst, however.  There are a lot of lighter moments thanks to Bryce and Nestor, a couple of secondary characters that find their way into each of the stories.  Fans of this series know, that as soon as Brandt and Donnelly ask Bryce to help with the planning of their wedding, things will get out of hand fast.  There were times that I found myself laughing out loud and wondered just how the author came up with some of the situations that the men found themselves in. 

A Wedding to Die For is a great addition for this series.  Like the previous books, this one will have you turning the pages anxious to see what will happen next.  It will also leave you dying to see what the author has planned next for our main characters and hoping the next book will be out soon.   

If you have not tried anything by this author, the Brandt and Donnelly Capers series is a great place to start.

Learning To Love Cats

Author: K. M. Mahoney
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com
ISBN: 978-1-61124-701-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Mike is not fond of cats; nevertheless he is willing to sacrifice his disparaging cat attitude for Riley. 

Learning To Love Cats is a romantic comedy. The short story’s plot highlights the family dynamics of both men, as well as the Norwegian Forest Cat personalities.

Mike has an easy going cheerful personality; he enjoys doing the simple things in life, especially with Riley.

Riley is a little timid but with Mike but Riley discovered that he could relax. Riley also treats his cats like beloved children. His only relationship condition is that Mike had to agree to change his negative attitude towards the cats.

Mike and Riley have a whirlwind romance, after only a couple of weeks Mike knew he was in love with Riley. It took Riley a few days longer to actually admit his feelings though he suspected Mike was the one man Riley wanted a long term relationship with. 

I thoroughly enjoyed the enchanting Learning To Love Cats.  

In Too Deep

Title: In Too Deep
Author: Kate Sherwood
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781632161253
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Cade and Aiden are totally opposites with nothing in common.  That’s why Aiden cannot understand what it is that draws him to the other man, but he does know that he needs to make some kind of connection.  Neither man is ready for where things are headed but once they come together, both will fight for what they found.

In Too Deep is an angst-ridden story that touches on issues that may be difficult for some readers.  That out of the way, this is a story that will grab the reader’s attention from the very beginning and keep them turning the pages.  Individually, the main characters are interesting; however, I could not see how the author even thought they would make a good pairing.  As I got deeper into the story, it was easy to see that these two balance each other out, bringing into their relationship something the other needs.

The two do not come together easily, in fact there were times when I wondered if they would even come together at all.  Once they do come together, their relationship grows strong fast, especially on Aiden’s side.  Readers may find Cade a little hard to like at times, but there is a reason for the way he behaves and it makes things easier to understand once his story comes out.  I am glad that Aiden found Cade to be someone to stick with as I really wanted this character to find his HEA.

There are several secondary characters in this story, and while the actions of some of them may be deplorable, they play an important part in the men’s story and help move things along.  I would have liked to have seen one of them get their comeuppance but just knowing what the boys’ have planned worked too.  

This is a book that I am sure will find itself on many keeper shelves and is one that I plan to re-read in the future.

A King Undone

Author: Cooper Davis
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61922-427-8
Genre: {M/M} Alternative History Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

King Arend Tollemach might live in a world where noblemen court and marry other men, but it doesn’t mean that same option is open to kings and princes. Yet after his queen dies, Arend decides he’s sacrificed enough personal happiness and he’s willing to risk a scandal. He applies to the secretive Temple Sapphor for a male concubine, who will teach him the ways of male love.

Sold to the temple ten years ago, Julian has spent the time waiting and hoping but has been passed over many times. He’s afraid he’ll spend the rest of his life within the temple walls alone, but then he greets Arend at the temple gates. The beautiful king makes his heart flutter.

Taking Julian as his concubine is easy. Keeping him is much harder when demands of the kingdom try to rip them apart. The question is whether he can find a way that they can stay together when royal duty make demands Arend might not be able to overlook.

A King Undone is the first release in the new Noble Pleasures series by Cooper Davis.
You’d think with the premise of Arend getting a concubine that the story would be filled with lots of sex but that isn’t the case. Yes, Arend and Julian are attracted from the beginning but instead of jumping into bed immediately, Arend decides to court Julian before the physical side of their relationship begins. It’s a little unexpected but not unappreciated, giving the story a typical Regency feel. It allows the author time to develop the plot line and the personalities of both men. The slow timing of their relationship also means there’s plenty of sizzling tension and it’s nicely done. 

Arend and Julian make a good couple and I’m curious as to how their story will continue, but there are several secondary characters that are wonderful additions to the story too. They really added a depth to the story and I hope to see more of them with the next book. The world building is pretty well done, as is the descriptions of Arend and Julian’s personal backgrounds. Nothing about the pace of this story is fast but it doesn’t drag either. If you enjoy the idea of Regency-like world where men can have relationships with other men, I suggest you give this new series a try.

The Vampire’s Geek

Author: Charlie Richards
Publisher: eXtasy Book
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-4874-0140-5
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Toby isn’t the sexy hero that is going to find his true mate, at least that’s what he thinks.  When he meets Tullion in the grocery store, he’s surprised by the strong connection he feels for the incredibly sexy man. 

The Vampire’s Geek is the latest addition to the Wolves of Stone Ridge series.  This newest book is probably my favorite to date because of the way the author changed things up some. 

Toby is a character that readers of this series have come to know.  He is one of those unassuming people and I had actually forgotten all about him.  Tullion is a vampire enforcer on the run for a crime he did not commit.  The last thing he is planning on is finding his mate.  These two waste no time coming together and, before either of them realizes what’s going on, they become mates. 

Up until this moment everything follows basically the same layout as the previous books.  Characters meet, mate pull kicks in, sex ensues, and the men live happily ever after.  But this is where The Vampire’s Geek changes things and I loved the switch up.  

Then there is the matter of the murder Tullion is framed for.  While I wish the author would have spent a little more time with this part of the story, I like the way it was wrapped up, especially as it introduces Tullion’s siblings.  I am hoping several of them will be finding their own mates soon.  

Several previous characters show up to give Tullion and Toby a hand, which leads to some funny moments at times.  Fans of this series are sure to love this new story and I am sure it will find its way on many must read lists.

And Manny Makes Seven

Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press 
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61040-840-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

The last three years have been tough on Adam. He’s only twenty-one and trying to stay in college while caring for his five siblings. Now the person he depends on, his academic mentor and his mother’s best friend, Helen, has died. He desperately needs help. Then he learns Helen left him her house, three million dollars, and two shi tzus in her will. He has money for a nanny.

Hutch has been a nanny since age nineteen, and has taken care of numerous children from a wide variety of families. Five kids are more than he’s used to but he’s confident that he can handle Adam’s siblings. They need him and stressed out Adam does too.

And Manny Makes Seven is the newest release in Sean Michael’s Mannies Incorporated series. There are no recurring characters, so this should be considered a standalone.

When I started this book, I was in the mood for something sweet, and that’s what I got with this fun and entertaining romance.  It’s a story of a family that’s been through some rough times and there really aren’t outside conflicts. It’s about Adam and his relationship with his younger siblings and how they deal with each other—and for the three littlest ones, he’s more of a father than a brother.

I liked that Adam continued his education despite his inheritance. Hiring a manny was his big step and the author worked it into his life seamlessly. Their personalities gelled nicely and I enjoyed the scene where they first met and it was so obvious Adam needed help. The chaos was written so realistically I could easily visualize what was going on, pulling me into the story. I really enjoyed the little kids—they were scenes stealers and the two teenagers were just that—teenagers. 

As Hutch settled into the family, the dynamics changed and so did how the various people interacted. He and Adam didn’t start their personal relationship immediately, which I liked but once they did, the sex was a little too frequent for a book with so many kids playing prominent roles. A couple of my other niggles involve some editing problems and the fact that there were so many nicknames thrown around. It was difficult to follow in the beginning and I had to go back several times to figure out who was being referred to. That doesn’t mean that I didn’t enjoy this old fashioned love story...I did…and I’ll likely read it again. 

Ace, Deuce, Trey

Author: KC Kendricks
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com
ISBN: 978-1-61124-712-1
Genre: {M/M} Mystery Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

FBI agent Rick Mohr is undercover in his work, as well as his personal life. Few people at the agency know Rick is gay and the live-in boyfriend of private investigator Ian Coulter. This is lucky for the two lawmen, especially when a career criminal becomes a person of interest to Rick and Ian’s different case investigations.

Ace, Deuce, Trey is part of the Amethyst Cove Mysteries series. The plot features Rick and Ian learning to live together as well as the strides made in building trust between them. The mystery is Ian’s con artist case and Rick’s jewel thief case. The question is how many culprits are they attempting to capture?

The jewel thief is known to follow the various jewelry shows, yet the FBI has no pictures or any other evidence to identify the perpetrator. Ian’s client managed to snap a picture of the con artist, but a picture alone is not enough to identify the culprit. Sharing what information they have, Rick and Ian set a trap. However, not everything goes as planned. Cue in the action scenes here. There are more intriguing tidbits in the storyline that I did not mention. Although I will say all issues were resolved to my satisfaction.  

KC Kendricks has created an impressive saga. The romantic portion of the storyline gives the background of how Rick and Ian progressed into their current scorching relationship together. I very much enjoyed Ace, Deuce, Trey

Finding Matt

Title: Finding Matt
Author: JD Ruskin
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781632162779
Genre: {M/M}, Suspense, Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Jaron is barely making a living as a pet psychic when he is approached by the family of a missing little boy.  They hope he will be able to track him through his dog, but not everyone sees Jaron as a blessing.  Especially Officer Silva.

Finding Matt is a great paranormal romance that puts a new spin of the psychic main character. Being a psychic is hard enough, but one that deals with pets is even more of a joke.  Work on a kidnapping and it’s only natural that things are sure to get out of hand fast.

I love that the author made Jaron a pet psychic and that we are able to see some of his interactions with the pets in this story.  I also really loved Jaron’s dog, Bear, who at times had me laughing.  As you would expect, Jaron is not always taken seriously due to his profession, but he has his past to live down as well. 

Then there is Officer Paulo Silva.  Paulo is a recent transfer to the Stanton Police Department.  The author does eventually tell the reader why the young man ended up changing jobs and it is not for the faint of heart.  While the mystery that the main characters find themselves caught up in is tough at times, the case that causes Paulo so much heartbreak is just plain gruesome and may be hard on some readers.  

I have to admit that I was not altogether sure who would be pairing up with whom in this story, as there are two secondary characters that have strong connections with Paulo and Jaron.  The author uses these secondary characters to bring the men either closer together or to pull them apart at times.  

Finding Matt is primarily a mystery with a little romance thrown in on the side.  That being the case, the men’s relationship never really reaches the hot and heavy stage, but that did not keep me from turning the pages of this book.  I loved the story and the little twists and turns the author threw in.  The characters held my interest and I was anxious to see what would happen next.  In fact, I would love to see Jaron and Paulo come back for more books.  

Tethered Pair

Author: Elizabeth Noble
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN/BIN: 9781632163936
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Futuristic, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Nick and Todd are once again called into service by Chancellor Clarke.  While the men know that no mission ever goes as planned, they have no idea what is in store for them.  This newest mission will change more than just Nick’s and Todd’s lives, but are they up for what lays ahead.

Tethered Pair is the newest story in the Sentries series.  This series is one that has to be read in order so if you have not read the previous books; you may want to skip this review.  Nick and Todd are pulled into service by the Chancellor and this newest mission has more twists and turns than either man will see coming.  I like that the author is still able to surprise the readers with each new story, thereby keeping the series from becoming stale.

The connection between Nick and Todd is just as strong as ever. The fact that they continue to handle the Slave/Owner aspect differently from the norm, still becomes an issue at times however.  While the men do find themselves at odds, readers know that things will work themselves out smoothly.

There are a lot of heavy moments in Tethered Pair, a couple which will change the men’s lives for good. However there are a few lighter moments as well, and the secondary character, Heidi, is sure to make you laugh.  I was surprised by how the author wrapped Tethered Pair up and am curious as to which direction the series will go in now. 

The Sentries series is a great one to read for those who are into the futuristic sub-genre.  Just keep in mind that you must read the series in order.

Cream

Title: Cream
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61040-844-8
Genre: {M/M} BDSM Series
Rating: 2.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx

Making Beat & Cream bakery a success is Storm’s passion. He works hard, making  cakes, cookies and pastries to entice customers into his store. He even makes custom naughty confections that have become popular with some members of the Hammer Club.  He’s not into the BDSM lifestyle himself but is more than happy for his creations to provide a steady flow of customers.

Zeb has a serious sweet tooth and hears about Storm’s bakery from other members at the Hammer club. He has to check is out and as soon as he does, is hooked on the confections and their creator. As an unattached Top at the Hammer, Zeb could have any sub, but now he’s fallen for someone uninterested in the lifestyle he leads. What does it mean for them?

Cream is the latest release in Sean Michael long-running M/M BDSM Hammer series. A Top being involved with someone not in the BDSM lifestyle isn’t a usual premise for a book in this series. I was enthralled with the idea and curious as to how it might be handled, only to be totally disappointed in the direction the plot took.

From the blurb I expected to read a story of Zeb learning to adjust to life with a lover outside the BDSM world. Instead of letting Storm be the person he already is—happy, healthy, hardworking, and seemingly without any issues in his life, Zeb decides, for whatever reason, that he’s a sub. Storm is the one changed to make the plot line work. Unfortunately, his initial personality set-up never gave any indication that he’s a sub or leans in that direction—at least not that I saw. This didn’t work for me—at all. Yes, it works within the series formula writing style, but it means taking an already established character personality and turning him into someone he wasn’t at the beginning of the book—needy and a bit whiney, in my opinion.  I don’t know that I’d recognize Storm as the same person. I certainly didn’t like him as well after Zeb changed him. 

So, I’m sorry to say, I didn’t like this one. Not only for the above mentioned issues but because there really isn’t any story backbone. It’s all about changing Storm into a sub and Zeb loving sweets. So there is lots of sex and Zeb sampling baked good. No fights, no conflicts and no angst. There just isn’t anything to hold it together or recommend it. For a series that I’ve read for so long—I expected more.

Broken Bridges

Author: Cheyenne Meadows
Publisher: Totally Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.totallybound.com
ISBN: 9781784303464
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Mystery
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx 

Three murders in three days? Somebody has a grudge against bear shifters. It is Alpha wolf shifter Detective Dax Steel’s job to solve the cases. However, Dax needs more clues to help the investigation. Dax needs help from his former lover, bear shifter Adin.

In Broken Bridges the plot is an intriguing second chance romance blended with profiling a serial killer drama that builds the suspense almost to the ending. The setting is a modern day city somewhere in America. The characters are creditable.

The law enforcement community consists of humans, as well as shifters working together; although the humans are not aware that some of their co-workers have the ability to shift into animals. With his keen sense of smell, Dax notices a faint odor emitting from each victim, this is the only clue. Finally indentifying the lethal concoction, the race is on to find the psychotic perpetrator before more shifters are exterminated.

True to his alpha nature, Dax is a protector as well as being very bossy. His dominant attitude caused a rift in his previous relationship with Adin.

Being a bear shifter, Adin was more than capable of protecting himself. Also, Adin has an independent nature, he is not accustomed to being obedient to anyone; this was the most important characteristic Dax failed to recognize in Adin’s personality. 

Cheyenne Meadows has created an impressively absorbing saga that I greatly enjoyed. 

Promise of Paradise

Author:  Tianna Xander
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0146-7
Genre:  {M/F/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Nadya is one of three friends wanting to leave the carnival she works in.  She is very surprised that Luc and Gabe are attracted to her as she is over 40 and not what you would exactly call skinny. 

The latest story in the Paradise series, Promise of Paradise, picks up where the last story ends as Nadya wants to make a life of her own.  Nadya is having a hard time accepting that two men are so attracted to her, despite what her friends tell her.

Nadya is surprised how much she wants Luc and Gabe to be truly hers.  It takes a while for Luc and Gabe to convince her, but once they do, things definitely look up.  Unfortunately, she doesn’t realize how much danger she is in.  

I loved the solution the author came up with to end Perry’s reign of terror.  I had to laugh when I realized what was done.  The author has a knack for devising suspenseful situations for the men to rescue their lady.  I also love the fact that the heroines are not always the typical women found in romances.  I can’t wait to see what she comes up with next.

Forgetting Yesterday

Author: Hurri Cosmo
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: www.amberquill.com
ISBN: 978-1-61124-694-0
Genre: {M/M} Romantic Comedy
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Marc is a prize catch, according to all the ladies in the office. However, when Marc visits the warehouse and sets eyes on Seth, Marc suddenly realizes that he has been pursuing the wrong gender.

Forgetting Yesterday is an amusing story of discovery. The plot showcases some of the sneaky tactics used by straight women desperate for a boyfriend plus the excitement of seduction. The characters are believable.

Marc is a salesman; the ability to be charming to people is part of what makes him successful at his job. His well groomed good looks also add to his appeal. The women are the primary seducers; Marc simply complies with the female’s wishes. But once Marc realized he was attracted to Seth, Marc was forced to become the seducer since Seth declined to date Marc.

Seth does not hide his sexuality, but he does not advertise it either. Only a few of Seth’s co-workers knew he was gay. Because Marc was considered a straight man, Seth thought Marc was merely curious. Past experience with straight men had taught Seth to be wary of a relationship with Marc.    

Hurri Cosmo has created a thoroughly engaging as well as an incredibly enjoyable saga. The storyline is amazingly energetic and touching. 

Mission

Title:  Mission
Author:  Viola Grace
Publisher:  eXtasy Books
Publisher URL:  www.extasybooks.com
ISBN/BIN:  978-1-4874-0135-1
Genre:  {M/F}, Paranormal, Sci-Fi, Space Opera, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph

Jewel is taken prisoner while working as a peacekeeper.  Her skill turns out to be in demand when she is used to calm Stormyo each time he is injured after a fight. 

The latest in the Terran Times Second Wave series, Mission, brings together a Terran with the ability to calm everyone around her and an outcast among his own people.  She is captured during an altercation and kept even when the other women officers are ransomed back. 

Stormyo is a deer shifter who is making his living as a fighter because he doesn’t fit in on his home world.  Stormyo is attracted to Jewel and takes matters into his own hands once he finds out she is being mistreated.  Of course, they end up falling for each other.

I loved the solution that the author came up with to make sure Stormyo and Jewel could stay together.  There was an interesting twist regarding Jewel’s sister once she found out about the couple. 

I have to say that this series continues to surprise me with the different little twists the author comes up with.  I also like her remark about the animals that the artists put on the covers as she feels she must add that animal to the story.  I can’t wait to see what comes next.

Primal Desire

Author: Lupa Garneau
Publisher: Totally Bound Books
ISBN/BIN: 9781784302948
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Fantasy, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Humans know nothing about shifters and, as it turns out, even some shifters know very little about their world.  When the Rune Fang’s prodigal son returns home and meets Cole, a clumsy young shifter seeking temporary shelter, things start to change at a very fast rate.  Now Nexhan is worried that those in his pack, as well as others, will have trouble staying a step ahead of those changes. 

Primal Desire is the first book in the Children of Shairobi series by author Lupa Garneau.  Primal Desire sets up this series wonderfully, and gives the reader a refreshing spin on the shifter sub-genre.  The characters, both main and secondary, are well written, and Cole and Nexhan pull you into their story from the beginning.

There is some strong chemistry between Cole and Nexhan, however, both men have serious issues which keep them from understanding what is going on between them right away.  These issues, as well as others that pop up, result in many twists and turns that hold the reader’s attention and keep them turning the pages.  

I was curious to see how everything would play out, not only between Cole and Nexhan, but also between Cole and his family, as well as with the problems facing the various packs.  The author did a wonderful job wrapping up some of the story lines while keeping the reader looking forward to the next book.  Fans of the paranormal sub-genre should really give this story a shot, as I am sure it will end up on many readers’ keeper shelves.  Readers should also know that Primal Desire had been published elsewhere and has been re-edited and re-vised with this new edition.

Bayou des Enfants

Author: Lynn Lorenz
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-62300-616-7
Genre: {M/M} Shifter Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

The mating between Sheriff Scott and former New Orleans cop Ted is growing stronger each day. The community seems to have accepted their gay relationship, until a horrible accident lands two young boys into Scott and Ted’s care. That is when the hidden homophobia divides the residents’ opinion, regarding the welfare of children.    

Bayou des Enfants is the fourth book in the Rougaroux Social Club series. The setting is southern Louisiana. The issues presented in the storyline are realistic, for example dealing with orphaned children’s emotional turmoil, creating a sense of normalcy, together with shielding the children as much as possible from ignorant bullies.

Scott is the werewolf alpha mated to Ted who is a human. Before meeting his mate Ted, Scott assumes he would mate with a female and have children like most of the wolves in the pack. Scott did not realize his wolf was gay. After mating with another male, Scott’s desire for children became a lower priory.

Ted has known since his childhood that he was gay; having children had not been a consideration before he was mated to werewolf Scott. For the last year Ted’s focus has been on building his private investigator business, his painting as well as his relationship with Scott.

Another main character in this episode is Darlene, who is Scott’s mother. Darlene claims to be a devout Catholic by way of casting voodoo love spells. Unfortunately, Darlene’s spells stirs up trouble that Scott and Ted are forced to resolve. 

Lynn Lorenz has created a superb saga that I enjoyed immensely. All of the characters are entertaining, the storyline is touching and the intimacy is incredibly sensuous. 

Who Cannot See

Author: BA Tortuga
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerepress.com
ISBN/BIN: 978-1-61040-823-3
Genre: {M/M} Western; Paranormal; Short Story
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph

Blaze doesn’t think he can last the night. He’s on the run, having narrowly escaped a hanging for sleeping with another man. The branch snapped, saving his neck from the same fate, but he has been seriously injured and can’t even get a drop of liquid down his throat. The cold night is drawing in. He must keep moving forward or the posse will catch up to him and finish the job. He thinks his eyes are deceiving him when he spies a large house up ahead. He just needs shelter for the night...

The moment Edmund finds the poor, stricken Blaze huddled in his barn, all he feels is the need to protect, to heal, and to love. Edmund has been a vampire for longer than he can remember. He has no interest in the petty quarrels of humans, but there is just something about Blaze. Edmund may have lost his sight, but there is an instant connection with the man that he cherishes. He can see the good in him, but Blaze has been called a sinner for so long now, Edmund worries that Blaze is actually starting to believe it. It pains Edmund to see doubt clouding Blaze’s mind. He is starting to fear that it is not the posse that poses a threat to their happiness, but the demons within.

Who Can Not See is a short story that packs in some very cool ideas and interesting characters. I found the connection between Edmund and Blaze very interesting. I felt myself getting caught up in the joy Edmund experienced by being able to see through Blaze’s eyes. Blaze is a sweet man, instantly likable. Their physical connection is explored thoroughly, and there are some very erotic scenes as their mental and physical connections merge into one.

The threat of the posse out to end Blaze’s life was always in the back of my mind as I followed Edmund & Blaze’s exploration of their connection. I felt this, and the ultimate conclusion of the story was written particularly well, as it emphasised the seriousness of the mental damage Blaze has suffered as well as the physical. The characters had an impact on me and I am left with questions that make me want to explore them more, most noticeably, that of how Edmund lost his sight and came to be in the situation he is when we meet him. I also enjoyed the hints of more to come with some interesting supporting characters. Although I read this as a single story, it can also be found in the publishing company’s anthology Eternally Dark. If you are a fan of the genres, I recommend checking out both.