Friday, May 21, 2010

Unleashing Angel


Title: Unleashing Angel
Author: Mel Spenser
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-980-4
Genre: {M/M} Werewolf
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

When he arrived at the family-owned motel where he would be staying, Land Surveyor Brian Stewart arranged for assistance with his work assignment in a remote area of southeast Arizona. The owner suggested his son, Angel Diaz, a college student home for the summer. When Brian meets Angel, he is immediately smitten with the younger man. However, Brian is rebounding from a bad relationship and Angel has a major secret.

Unleashing Angel has all the elements of an outstanding story; well written, moving storyline, emotional turmoil, a cast of entertaining characters and superb intimate love scenes. Brian is a romantic; he yearns for a long-term relationship with someone who shares his love for wilderness beauty. Brian likes to take pictures of the landscape, as well as wildlife. Breaking up with his latest boyfriend, Brian had decided to withdraw from dating for a while. However, he could not resist his attraction to Angel. Angel is the embodiment of everything Brian craves in a man. Angel has struggled for years to hide the fact that he is gay from his family, as well as hide the fact that he is a werewolf from the rest of the world.

Brian is the only man to inspire Angel to explore his sexuality. Having sex with Brian not only triggered the werewolf gene, it exposed Angel’s true sexuality to the werewolf society. The sudden increase in new-found emotions becomes the basis for chaos between Brian and Angel. Open discussion of their feelings finally communicates their longing for each other. The extremely talented Mel Spenser has created an amazing saga that I absolutely enjoyed.

Man and Wolf


Title: Man and Wolf
Author: Kate Roman
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60737-577-7
Genre: {M/M} Shape-shifter Paranormal
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Jamie Bretton’s veterinary practice has become his entire life. His loneliness is obvious by the handsome doctor’s lack of a smile, but that all changes when the owner of a poisoned Malamute comes for help.

Rob Nichols’ past doesn’t give him room to trust easily but when it comes to his beloved companion, he will gladly ask Jamie for assistance. The men begin a relationship and Rob will have to find a way to tell Jamie the truth – he’s a werewolf.

Interfering friends, a rabid animal control officer, and two loveable dogs made for interesting reading in Kate Roman’s Man and Wolf. Rob and Jamie are both good characters willing to protect one another while building their relationship. Rob didn’t have the hard edge I was hoping to read. With his past, I would have thought he would embrace the hurt and use it to supercharge his overall persona. His sensitivity was sweet at moments and left no doubt his bark was worse than his bite. Jamie’s heart guided him throughout this tale, which was important if they were to make anything positive of their relationship. I’ll have to say I loved the dog. It had wonderful personalities that made me smile. I found the story to be an enjoyable read.

Sea Change


Title: Sea Change
Author: Chris Quinton
Publisher: Manifold Press
Publisher URL: http://www.manifoldpress.co.uk/
ISBN: 978-0-9565426-3-2
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Bran is a soon-to-be-retired Coast Guard Officer. Due to the military’s “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell” policy, Bran never publicly acknowledged his longtime lover, something he will always regret. Bran promised himself that he would never again deny the person he loves, so why is he falling for a straight man?

Steve is a wanderer, or at least he was until he landed in Hawaii. The young veterinarian has been searching for Mrs. Right since ending his last long term relationship. He hopes that now that he’s finally found a place to call home his quest for Mrs. Right will soon come to an end. But what about Bran?

Sea Change was a very good, easy-going romance that I hated to see end. The author took their time building the various relationships in this story, which allowed me to get to know the characters. Because they took this time, it was easy to see how strongly Bran and Steve belonged together, as well as understood the issues that made them reluctant to take the final step from friend to lover.

There is also a touch of mystery woven in the story as the men and their friends try to discover what or who is injuring local sea life. When the mystery touches on Bran’s past, it only draws him and Steve closer together.

If you are looking for something that is actually a romance story, then give Sea Change by Chris Quinton a try.

Decadent


Title: Decadent
Author: Valarie Prince
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-536-8
Genre: {M/F} African-American, Contemporary, Suspense
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Pamela James is fretting over accepting a promotion at her current job at a restaurant. She was an exclusive call girl with the skills that kept men coming back to her and she was smart enough to invest her monies wisely in order to retire early. Pamela has earned three college degrees and she’s enjoying her busy life now more than she thought she would. Unfortunately, her past has returned to haunt her and now she will have to tell those closest to her what she has kept secret. In walks Joshua, who is the first hottest man she has thought of as someone she wants to love.

Joshua Bouviaye, a much sought after chef and undercover FBI agent during the day, has the hots for Pamela, but she’s off limits because of a case he’s working on. He is on the trail of a killer that is connected to her past and he’s having a hard time keeping his feelings for her separate from his work. Joshua is one of the best agents the agency has and he’s decided to make some changes in his life. The changes include Pamela, if she will have him.

While Decadent is a deceptive title, it was also a fantastic story that I enjoyed. There is so much going on in the lives of all the characters and Pamela is at the center of all of them. She turned out to be a very strong woman with all that she’s gone through from the tender age of fourteen, without a mother to nurture her. Her determination to survive, no matter the cost to her soul, was just that and it left her wanting more than just a john for the night. Let me tell you that Joshua was a surprise for me. Despite knowing more of Pamela’s past than her friends, he was still able to look past it to the future. He held on to her like there was no tomorrow, and I thought more of him because he showed me a real man.

Ms. Prince did a wonderful job of telling a very realistic story about what could happen to a person who knew too much about important people. It made this story more believable because of the descriptive way the killer carried on throughout the book. The way that Joshua and Pamela reacted to each other sexually was very explosive; although they continued to strive for the goal of starting a new life together and being free of the villain’s persistence. This is my first time reading a book by Ms. Prince and I must say she did a great job with her story. Read and enjoy.

Thursday, May 20, 2010

Shut Up!


Title: Shut Up!
Author: Marteeka Karland
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59596-980-4
Genre: {M/F} Paranormal, Humor & Satire
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

When she was in her cat form, Callie loved being petted. However, she was no way close to being a people person. People always did something to piss her off and Callie always had a comeback waiting in the wings. Ripping people to shreds with her words was Callie’s favorite hobby. She knew her mouth was going to get her in a sticky situation one day, but Callie never expected to like it.

Things really got interesting when the queen of the bar that Callie hangs out issues a challenge; anyone who can still Callie’s tongue wins a romp in bed with her for the night.

For months, Eli had been in the bar watching and wanting Callie. She had a fierceness that Eli found irresistible. One night with her would never be enough for him. All Eli had to do was convince Callie that he is the man who can deliver everything she wants and needs, no matter what she says.

Callie and Eli burn up the pages when they get together in the latest addition to the Bedtime Series Shut Up! Eli was supposed to be the one doing the taming but Callie definitely brought him to heel, as well. As tough as Callie seems on the outside, she is no different than every other woman, once you get past her wall. We all have coping strategies and Callie’s just happens to be her mouth. If Callie were a real person, she would either be your best friend or your worst enemy. Not many men would take the time to dig deeper and get into Callie’s heart and I’m glad that Eli was that man. He was more than I originally thought.

Marteeka Karland gives Eli a clever back story that has me dying to know more about his past. This story has a perfect balance of humor and heat that will leave readers wanting more.

Revenant


Title: Revenant
Author: Connie Bailey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-454-1
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary Paranormal, Horror
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

After weeks of negotiation, Bo Andressen, his partner Sean “Ardie’ Red Dog and the crew of Andressen-Red Dog Recovery Company arrives at a crumbling, centuries old castle in Wales. They’re anxious to get started looking for a Crusader’s treasure long thought buried somewhere within its walls and expecting a normal run-of-the-mill salvage operation. Instead they walk into more trouble than they ever imagined. There’s been a series of strange ritual murders the local police have tried to keep hidden and the only way they can start their work is to bring in a psychic to deal with so-called restless spirits inhabiting the castle.

When powerful paranormal liaison Tristan Lambert arrives, he discovers two things almost immediately. There’s a revenant—an angry spirit that feeds on sexual energy at work on the castle grounds and no one but Tristan believes in his existence, leaving him to fight the spirit alone. Events at the castle are further complicated when the current owner, Sir Rhys Turcotte, and his secretary, Chris, who happens to be Bo’s ex-lover, arrives.

Between the deaths, strange noises and apparent possessions and explosions, Gavin, the constable, and Bo don’t know how to keep their people safe. Later during a possession, Tristan and Bo discover they’re eternally bound together and it’s up to them to stop the revenant spirit human and ghostly allies before an ancient evil can gather enough stolen energy to be reborn in corporeal form.

Revenant by Connie Bailey is an expanded novel-length reprint of the original novella Revenant originally published in the Desire Beyond Death anthology by Dreamspinner Press.

There’s are several things about this story that I didn’t expect from reading the blurb and which made it impossible to easily categorize it. For one thing it’s far more intense and darker - with scenes of graphic ghostly rape, forced spiritual seduction and possession, so please be aware of these before you make a decision to read it. It also has aspects of suspense, thriller, action, fantasy, reincarnation and magic written into its pages. There were even a few tender scenes thrown in - both in the present and the past, but none, I would say, were graphic like the aforementioned rape scenes.

The plot of this story is complicated and at times confusing as the various characters move in and out of the various scenes, both in the present and ghostly scenes of the past. There’s also the issue of the vast number of characters—Tristan and Bo are definitely the backbone of the story, but so is the evil ghost of Sir Alun Turcotte. Many of the other characters play a small, yet vital role, but the sheer number of viewpoints only muddies the water (so to speak) and cause confusion. One such example is the number of men named Sean. I understand why the author did it - to attempt to keep the identity of the evil minion secret - but it just didn’t work for me.

No Quarter


Title: No Quarter
Author: Christine d’ Abo
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419924606
Genre: {M/M}, Science Fiction
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Gar’s life has not been easy. After losing his father and sister to a Loyalist attack, Gar was raised to be a bounty hunter. At the young age of 24, his reputation is well known and feared. His latest assignment was supposed to be a simple pickup.

Faolan is a pirate extraordinaire. When his latest job puts a valuable necklace in his possession Faolan sees it as a means to an end. Hoping to get what he wants for the necklace, Faolan contacts Jason, who sends the luscious Gar to pick him up.

No Quarter is the latest science fiction story by author Christine d’ Abo. I must admit when I first started this story I wondered if I had made a mistake in getting it. For me, the first couple of pages just moved too slowly and the characters seemed boring, yet I stuck it out and I am glad I did. The story quickly picks up speed and both Gar and Faolan had me hooked. Both men have tragic pasts but handle the results differently. Gar has pulled away from all real contact with society while Faolan hides behind his charming personality. The way the men behave and the reasons for it come across realistically. The chemistry between the men, once they really let go, is also believable and will leave the reader wanting more. The only thing I wish would have been different is the ending. Although it ends well, I wish the author would have included an epilogue updating the men’s life together.

If you are a fan of sci-fi, especially those that run along the lines of Serenity/Firefly, then give No Quarter a chance. It turned out to be one very good story.

Urban Shaman


Title: Urban Shaman
Author: Lyn Gala
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-423-7
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Fantasy, Paranormal
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

New York City Detective Miguel Rassin has no idea how to turn his luck for the better. The media has targeted him after he shoots a civilian waving a toy gun. Just when he thought it couldn’t get worse, he answers the call regarding a missing child report in the Bronx and is partnered with Detective Rob Jackson. Rob’s bulldog attack to get to the truth and less than stellar personality makes it hard to team him up with others. Even that couldn’t prepare him for meeting Nikolai Adelman, the local shaman.

Urban Shaman takes us to New York, where Miguel will have to embrace the supernatural events surrounding his case. I could understand his reluctance to stake his career on something he didn’t consider tangible. To see him slowly let down his guard made the story believable. Lyn Gala includes action and suspense into this story to draw you in from the first page. I have to admit, Rob added humor and dialogue that made me do a double take. His personality is one you’ll either love or hate; it was hard to ride the fence with him.

Those hoping to find an abundance of sex should be forewarned that’s not what this story is about. The spiritual enlightenment seemed more of the focus of Urban Shaman. Overall, I enjoyed the story.

Witness


Title: Witness
Author: L.A. Gilbert
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 13: 978-1-61581-424-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Police Officer Ben Jenkins responds to a call of possible intruders in an older man’s apartment. After finding the source of the noise prompting the call to the police, Ben is in the process of leaving when he meets Reece Withers, a bike messenger and photographer who lives in the top floor apartment. Days later, they meet again when Ben crushes Reece’s bike with his police car, and thus begins their relationship.

Witness is a wonderful romantic comedy. The storyline is set in Seattle, illustrating the daily lives of Ben and Reece. The interaction between characters is amusing. There are numerous emotional moments, as well as countless lovemaking scenes exhibited. Ben is shy upon first meeting. He is respectful to people, as well as humble when others commend actions that Ben considers part of his duty. Ben loves to cook, especially for Reece who loves to eat. Reece has a naturally humorous personality. However, he fears he is not worthy of the love he receives from Ben. Haunted by the past, Reece lacks the motivation to obtain his goals until he is encouraged by Ben to strive for it. Both men are passionate lovers, in addition to being very faithful to their relationship. Each personality compliments the other when it comes to their compatibility.

L.A. Gilbert has created an impressive, as well as exceptionally enjoyable saga.

Golden Boys


Title: Golden Boys
Author: Amber Green
Publisher: Aspen Mountain Press
Publisher URL: http://www.aspenmountainpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60168-291-8
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Ethan doesn’t know which was worse; telling his folks he failed med school or telling them he was gay. Trying to figure out where his life is heading is hard enough until his uncle asks for a little favor for the FBI.

Jell is a rapper whose street cred was earned. When he hears something he shouldn’t, he contacts the uncle of an old friend. He never expected to see Ethan show up.

Golden Boys is a fast paced novella by prolific author Amber Green. The author has given the readers a fast moving action story that grabs the reader’s attention from the first page. The main characters, Ethan and Jell, fit together right from the beginning and their chemistry sizzles. The story is written in the first person, from Ethan’s point of view, and with his family filling up the secondary character parts there are some comments that will leave you chuckling.

I hope this is one couple the author plans to bring back again.

Healing in His Wings


Title: Healing in His Wings
Author: Ariel Tachna
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-408-4
Genre: {M/M} Futuristic
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

The Starfire is on a five year mission, exploring the outer reaches of space, when it’s crew contracts a mysterious and deadly illness and their medical personnel is unable to stop the spread. As more crewmembers become sick and die, the captain doesn’t have any choice but to appeal for help from the healers on an uncharted planet. When sick patients are transferred to the planet’s surface, First Officer Ryan Nelson accompanies them to act as a liaison. To make his transition to planetary life easier, he’s put under the supervision of a senior healer apprentice, Juo-ta-ri.

There’s an instant attraction between Ryan and Juo, but before they can do little more than begin to explore the magnetic pull they feel for each other, Ryan is struck by the same illness already endangering The Starfire’s crew. It’s up to Juo to keep his new lover’s high fever under control, before the hallucinations and painful muscle spasms kill him.

Healing in His Wings was originally published by Dreamspinner Press as a short story in the anthology Size Matters. This novella begins the loving relationship between Ryan and Juo, and you can see more of them in Hot Cargo by Ariel Tachna and Nicki Bennett, which takes place several years later.

I first became acquainted Ryan and Juo in the aforementioned Hot Cargo and while they played a small part in that release, it was nonetheless important. It also left me with questions about these two intriguing men that I never expected to get answered, so I was thrilled when I learned of the release of Healing in His Wings. It satisfied my needs and filled in the blanks, answering the questions that had plagued me.

The story of how space officer Ryan and winged healer Juo get together is many things—it’s a nice blend of science fiction and fantasy, is filled with interesting and unique characters and has a creative storyline set in a well-thought-out and constructed world that caught my interest immediately. Most importantly, the story has a believable, realistic attraction between Ryan and Juo. These men are good together and despite their differences - physically and culturally - their new relationship works for them. I, for one, would like to see more of these characters and the world they inhabit in another release…and if I get to see their friends, Peter and Blaise, all the better.

Aries: Riddle Me Wicked


Title: Aries: Riddle Me Wicked
Author: Vivien Dean
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-664-2
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Action/Adventure
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

For assistant curator Ian Tunbridge, the trip to a California dig site was supposed to be uneventful. Awakened by gunfire and running for his life truly contradicted that perception. What seems like miserable luck changed when he meets American photographer Lucas Arpini.

Lucas knew Ian’s expertise would be the key to finding an artifact believed a myth. Now, if he could only gain Ian’s trust, Lucas is sure they can escape their captors and discover the location of the artifact.

Two men, one hair-raising adventure and danger around every corner make Aries: Riddle Me Wicked anything but a dull story. Vivien Dean takes us into the lives of Ian and Lucas, two opposite men who rely on each other through this journey. Their different strengths and personalities kept the story flowing, as much as the chase of the villains. I was a bit disappointed with the ending. I was so caught up in the adventure that I had hoped to see the men reap the rewards, but their eventual desire to spend more time together soothed that one ruffled feather. Overall, I found the story to be well written and plotted and enjoyed it immensely. Those who enjoy action and suspense will enjoy reading Ms. Dean’s latest release.

Monday, May 17, 2010

The Second Season


Title: The Second Season
Author: Lee Pulaski
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerepress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-975-0
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Shilo David and Jeffrey Layton spent several wonderful days enjoying the warm weather in California; a mini-vacation so they could watch Jeffrey’s young cousin, Garrett, perform in the Rose Parade. Aside from encountering bad roads due to heavy snow, the trip home for the three goes smoothly; that is until they arrive at Jeffrey’s home and discover it burned to the ground the night before. The most unsettling news of all—it’s suspected to be arson.

Without any other place to go, Jeffrey and Garrett move in with Shilo. Being in such close proximity to another person is difficult and the two lovers must weather some rough spots—dealing with homophobic townspeople, discovering who is out to hurt them and whether or not marriage is in their future.

The Second Season is the newest release by author Lee Pulaski and is the sequel to, and starts a few months after the end of The Colors of Love and Autumn. Shilo and Jeffrey are just as much in love as before and seeing their growing commitment is nice and it’s handled well. These guys are perfect for each other and the author uses a nice twist—the arson- to move them into the next natural phase of their growing relationship; cohabiting. For Jeffrey and Shilo, living together isn’t always easy, but it’s presented in a manner anyone can understand and sympathize with—and possibly even chuckle a bit in memory.

I loved the addition of Garrett to their little family and seeing the warmth, caring and supportive rapport between the three was a true pleasure. He added a great sense of realism, allowing both Shilo and Jeffrey to open their hearts and lives to another person.

The secondary characters are numerous and some play a more important role than others but together, they flesh out the story and their actions help propel the story forward at an ever faster pace. That’s particularly true of the arsonist. When his identity is revealed, I can’t say I was surprised—it was more like an ‘ah ha’ moment when I could say, ‘of course. It was so obvious. Why didn’t I see that before?’ Don’t get me wrong; feeling that way in no way interfered with my enjoyment of the story, but instead, it left me wondering what I’d missed. So don’t make the same mistake. Pay attention.

The action at the end is very well done, giving a well written sense of danger and urgency that had me reading faster. And it was nice seeing our guys find the happily ever after they deserved; even if they had to go through a little pain, suffering, uncertainty and danger to get there.

Love, Grant


Title: Love, Grant
Author: AKM Miles
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-0-85715-131-5
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

It's a year later and Grant was so happy with his new umpire job that he didn’t miss the old coaching job he’d had before the accident. He loved Jamie, Brit, the house and the neighbors. However, small pranks turn into dangerous events that leave them once again terrorized. Coming to their rescue, for a second time, is police Officer Wade Johnson and his partner Officer Mark Thomas, who add a little diversion for Grant and Jamie as well as solving the “who is doing this” question.

Love, Grant is the follow-up to Love, Jamie. In this well written episode, Grant has found his comfort zone. He is content with the strong love and life he shares with Jamie. Grant is very perceptive, in addition to being a peacemaker, which has a calming effect on people, especially Jamie. When Jamie is hurt from the current deadly pranks, Grant immediately steps into the role of caretaker. Brit is a large golden Labrador, who is more than happy to bestow doggie kisses and receive hugs from nice people. With his keen senses, Brit is always alert to danger and will do everything within his power to protect his humans, including lay at the foot of the bed to watch over Jamie and Grant. With this new incident in progress, Wade and Mark have become friends to Grant and Jamie. Grant is the first to notice that there is more than a job relation between the two men. In a fiery conclusion with several injured, Grant is optimistic for his future with Jamie.

The talented AKM Miles has created another exciting romance interwoven with sensual love scenes, suspense plus an eternal end for their devious psycho enemy. I enjoyed this story immensely.

Reader Advisory: This book is best read after Love, Jamie.

Love, Jamie




Title: Love, Jamie
Author: AKM Miles
Publisher: Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL: http://www.total-e-bound.com/
ISBN: 978-1-907010-11-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

A tech at a physical rehabilitation facility, Jamie Taylor is on duty when new patient Grant Stevens arrives. Meeting Jamie, Grant is immediately calmed by Jamie’s caring manner. As their friendship grew, both men realized they wanted to explore the next level. However, Jamie and Grant’s budding romance becomes dangerously traumatic when Jamie’s stalker, the facility administrator's son, Donnie Wilkins, loses all rational thought, as well as spiraling into violent behavior.

Love, Jamie is a well-written moving romance, interwoven with suspense. The characters are developed, as well as believable. The plot is gripping and I could easily relate to the emotional setting of a hospital. Grant was a college basketball coach before he became a patient, after an almost deadly car accident. He is very aware of the people around him and not afraid to speak out for equality. Jamie is the first man Grant felt at ease with enough to explore his sexuality. Finally admitting that he is gay also gives Grant the courage to admit that he loves Jamie. Grant exhibits his love for Jamie with his supportive actions, like lending a shoulder for Jamie to cry on when the stress becomes overwhelming. Grant trusts Jamie to guide him through the intimate side of love. The experience served to strengthen their pledge to each other. Working at the hospital during the day, Jamie attends night school to get certified in physical therapy. Jamie enjoys helping people feel better. It is his caring qualities that inspire the patients to make every effort to get healthy again. Meeting Grant, Jamie soon realizes they have a special bond. Their personalities are compatible. Jamie has friends that he spends time with, but no love interest until Grant. For several years Jamie’s focus has been obtaining his career goals.

Like most people, Donnie found Jamie appealing. Unlike most people, Donnie has an especially perverted magnetism to Jamie. Donnie tried seduction; however Jamie clearly rebuffed his attempts. In his demented psyche, Donnie considered Grant as infringing upon his relationship with Jamie, escalating Donnie’s state of mind to a homicidal intensity.

AKM Miles has produced an extraordinary storyline with a passion I could feel wrapping my heart in warmth. I recommend Love, Jamie to anyone who enjoys a heartwarming feel good romance with a little drama and exquisite lovemaking.

Hot on Her Tail


Title: Hot on Her Tail
Author: Ruth D. Kerce
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419927386
Genre: {M/F} Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Rachel North has stumbled onto documents that apparently belong to drug dealers, by the information listed, and she wants to do the right thing by handing it over to the police. Her life has become very complicated because now she may possibly become the next victim, due to the dealers, and suspected law enforcement, wanting her kept quiet. Rachel is now stuck with seven other women out in the woods, on a retreat, to be hidden away until she is needed to attend court. In protective custody, the police have given her the name Kitty LaManti, and but will use Kit for short. When she sees Ace sitting on top of a hill, she knows he looks familiar, but can’t place him until much later, when the danger begins.

Captain Aaron “Ace” Trainer, a retired Special Forces man, pulls an assignment to protect Rachel/Kitty from bad guys but his superiors don’t know he has a past with her. He feels the need to smooth over the past by protecting her, to make up for the abrupt ending to a one night stand. Ace is still dreaming of having her again and yet he makes the claim that she’s not his type. When they get back to civilization, he disappears after a beautiful night and Rachel is again left broken hearted, believing Ace is not the man she thought.

Hot on Her Tail is a quick tale of what can happen when you try to do your duty against the people abusing the system. These two characters are able to overcome their past, and rebuild a budding relationship that could have ended good or bad for them during their trek through the woods. The personal history provided about them is not a lot, but enough to gather what made the relationship fall apart, and the sex is spanking hot.

Ms. Kerce had wowed me again with her storytelling and I wanted this story to continue. There is quite a plot surrounding Rachel’s determination to do the right thing and the people just as determined to kill her off before she can testify for the prosecution. The title definitely fits this story perfectly, and I looking forward to seeing more from this author.

Boy Under The Bridge


Title: Boy Under The Bridge
Author: Eden Winters
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerepress.com/
ISBN: None listed
Genre: [M/M] Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

James has known Travis since they were kids and they’ve had a relationship of sorts for years, but things got serious six months ago when they started dating—even if it was long distance. Against the protests of his family, he’s left his job and home to move to Houston to be with Travis. On a night out on the town, James is betrayed by his lover and in retribution, leaves with another man. The next morning he’s devastated by what happened. Instead of the start of a new life, he’s left feeling grief-stricken by his actions. He’s sitting on a bench at a bus stop when he discovers seven messages on his cell phone. Does James dare listen to the angry words of his lover? Is there any hope of forgiveness? What’s he going to do?

Boy Under The Bridge by Eden Winters is a short that follows a young man introduced in The Wish. I’ll admit up front that I was happy to learn of this release, since I’d wondered what had happened to the emotionally wounded James.

The author did a nice job describing the pained emotions—the regret James felt for his decision to leave the nightclub with a stranger. It was palpable—almost leaping off the page. His uncertainty of answering the numerous phone messages from Travis is written just as well, letting the reader feel the pain of both men. Yet when he did listen to them, he’s allowed to hear the change in attitude from furious and ultimately to fearful for James’ safety. These two men, like every person, have personal baggage that they bring to any relationship. Unfortunately for James, his response to Travis’ almost cost them the life they were building together.

There was just enough of the scene from The Wish included as a reminder, to allow a reader unfamiliar with the previous events to understand what was going on in the story. I have to say that reading the scene again didn’t make me feel any more kindly toward Alex, in fact, just the opposite. Understanding the scene from James’ perspective only made Alex appear even more callous and unfeeling.

Boystown: Three Nick Nowak Mysteries


Title: Boystown: Three Nick Nowak Mysteries
Author: Marshall Thornton
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-852-4
Genre: {M/M} {M/M/M} Mystery
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Nick Nowak becomes a private investigator after a gay bashing of him and his former boyfriend ended his career with the Chicago Police Department, as well as his almost two year closeted relationship. Currently Nick spends his time investigating crimes and enjoying friends with benefits encounters.

Boystown: Three Nick Nowak Mysteries is a collection of three stories from Nick’s case files. The setting is early eighties Chicago. The plot is well written and well paced. The characters are interesting and at times amusing. Each case exhibits the intriguing course of action in solving the case. Being a former beat cop, Nick has the skills needed to follow the logical patterns that will establish a motive, starting with why an investigation is required in the first place. In each case, Nick’s instincts lead him to look beyond the obvious for answers.

While Nick is good at solving crime, he is not so good at committing to a relationship. Nick’s singular focus is on the riddle he is paid to untangle, his emotions are in no way revealed. Nick’s sexual encounters are surprise benefits from a case he is working or casual exploits with friends. However, I got the impression that his attitude, along with his loneliness, is about to transform when Nick meets Detective Bert Harker, who rescues Nick from a murder attempt as well as revealing his personal desires for more than a crime-solving relationship.

Marshall Thornton has created a fascinating storyline with a realistic atmosphere and characters. The intimate scenes are fantastic. I very much enjoyed Boystown: Three Nick Nowak Mysteries and look forward to the sequel coming soon.

Laws of Attraction


Title: Laws of Attraction
Author: Stephanie Morris
Publisher: Class Act Books
Publisher URL: http://www.classactbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-935048-58-9
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary Interracial
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

Life was good for Cassandra Edwards, because she had accomplished most of her goals. After moving back home to California, Cassandra wanted to focus on making her biggest dream a reality, having a baby. Her concern over finding the right man to father her child disappeared when she met Mark. Now Cassandra only had to convince him to do this for her with no strings attached.

He’d only stopped by to ask Cassandra on a date, so Mark Courtlandt was thrown for a loop when she asked him to be her baby’s daddy. He wanted kids, but only if it involved a complete family. Mark knew that they would be great in a real relationship, if only Cassandra would give him a chance. For Mark, it was all or nothing.

After the emotional scars she received from her ex, Cassandra had given up on relationships. Eventually she agrees to Mark’s proposal and is surprised at how much chemistry they have and not just in the bedroom. Mark loved life, was fun to be around and accepted Cassandra the way she was.

I was angry with Cassandra for her part in the argument she had with Mark, but I was glad that she was woman enough to be honest and open her heart to him. Every woman has moments of low self-esteem, but I think Cassandra’s was lower than most because of her past. Mark changed all of that. His family is definitely one that I would love to be part of and Cassandra fit in so naturally with them. Laws of Attraction is a sweet and steamy story that reminded me what the love of a good man can do.

All or Nothing


Title: All or Nothing
Author: James Buchanan
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-150-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Nevada Agent Nick O'Malley wants more from Riverside Detective Brandon Carr than a simple date every now and then. Nick wants a lasting relationship. Trouble is, Brandon isn’t quite used to being out of the closet and isn’t sure he’s ready to commit. Bringing his daughter, Shayna, to Las Vegas to meet Nick is a sign there could be more and Nick’s willing to push for it.

While the two try to sort through their relationship, they are confronted by a devastating event that leaves them reeling while scrambling to find answers before it’s too late. Will Brandon and Nick’s relationship survive this new dilemma?

All or Nothing is the latest installment of the Taking the Odds series. When I thought I couldn’t love Nick and Brandon anymore, James Buchanan pulls another fantastic story out of her hat that is filled with suspense, mayhem and sizzling sex. Brandon had a permanent address in his closet until the previous story when he came roaring out, when I least expected it. Now, he’s coming to terms with his feelings for Nick and learning to open up a tiny bit more. It’s a tooth and nail fight to get him to spill his feelings but when he does, it’s like living through the rapids in a tiny canoe. You know it’s dangerous but you just have to take the ride!

Nick is the strong man Brandon has always needed. Even when his lover does something totally out of left field, Nick doesn’t turn his back. I had to commend him; there were a few scenes where Brandon would have needed a photo to recall how I looked, but Nick is made of much stronger stuff. I’ve decided I want a bedroom like Nick’s when I grow up. Talk about a man who makes the most out of his space!

I did figure out who done it way before the end, but the story was so interesting that it didn’t matter. I finally had some of my questions about Brandon answered and am anxious to see what their next move will be. For those who’ve enjoyed this couple as much as I have, hang on and enjoy the ride.

Eye of the Storm


Title: Eye of the Storm
Author: Monette Michaels
Publisher: Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL: http://www.liquidsilverbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59578-694-4
Genre: {M/F} Suspense
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

Keely Walsh is a magnet for trouble. Her five older brothers have done what they can to keep her out of it, but it’s not working. She knows her brothers mean well and that they want to keep her safe, but she’s just as determined to be an independent woman. That is until she meets Ren, while she’s was on a rescue mission to South America to save one of her brothers from a trap meant to kill him, and the team he went with. She knows that she has met the man of her dreams, and she’s willing to let him believe he’s in charge for the moment.

Ren Maddox is one of the co-owners of Security Specialists International, who occasionally goes out to do intelligence work for the US government. On his latest mission, while waiting for an informant, the team sees Keely come in from the back door armed with a big gun. When she takes down the bartender in front of them and her brother, Tweeter starts yelling at her, she tells them that they are in danger. Ren is simultaneously shocked and aroused at see this warrior sprite, defending her against the man. He isn’t certain what to do about Keely, but Ren’s willing to do whatever it takes to keep her safe, even if that means protecting Keely from herself.

Eye of the Storm is the first in the Security Specialist International series and a fantastic action packed suspense that had me wanting to race to the end. I kept wondering what Keely would do next to anger her brothers, father and Ren and believe me, I never disappointed by her actions. Keely went through Hell Week for a week and a half before getting caught by one of her brothers and she could take out a target at twelve hundred yard. Along with her abilities with computers and communications, she didn’t need a protector, or so she thought. From the beginning until the end of this book, I loved reading about the Walsh family and friends bonding.

Ms. Michaels has written an intriguing story of ex-military people surviving life and saving other people who find themselves in danger in different places. The villains weren’t named, but hold a lot of power over SSI until they are identified by Keely and her brother, Tweeter. I found myself laughing at some of the comments made by the characters and was impressed by the camaraderie, as well at the loyalty of the men to each other. The background history given surrounding the Walsh family really helped to understand why Keely operated like she did. Ren is the alpha male most men are, but bring on the tears, he will do whatever it takes for them to stop, and Keely knew how to work him.

In this book all of the characters played an important role in the espionage plot, and each one added something to the story for me. Now that I have had a taste of this series, and the Walsh family, I can’t wait until the next book to see who the center of attention will be.

Skipping Stones


Title: Skipping Stones
Author: D. J. Manly
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure/
ISBN: 13: 978-1-60272-684-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Artist Leo Waters is heartbroken and desperate to leave Paris after his affair of almost a year suddenly ends. Leo’s best friend Mark comes to his rescue by offering to pay for a plane ticket, in addition to a job at the Florida resort in which he is part owner. Reed Owen, the other part owner and the source of Mark’s unrequited love, turns out to be nothing like the villain he is portrayed by Mark. Realizing he was misinformed about Reed, Leo cannot resist their growing attraction. Now the question is what to do about Mark?

Skipping Stones is a heart-wrenching emotional rollercoaster romance. The well defined characters are attention-grabbing and believable. Leo is an artist with dreams of becoming a successful painter. However, his desire to paint is temporarily lost after his breakup with his French lover. Leo is somewhat naïve; he believes what he is told and is in denial when it comes to recognizing the truth surrounding Mark’s personality. It is only when Leo watches the interactions between Mark and Reed that their true relationship is revealed. Mark is delusional, self-absorbed as well as obsessed with getting his way. He seems incapable of deciphering between his flights of the imagination and reality.

Reed is a passionate man who is immediately attracted to Leo; an attraction that soon evolves into love. Reed is determined to tear down the barrier surrounding Leo’s heart, which he does in a very sensual way. Reed demonstrates an easy going persona. He is tolerant of Mark, even though he has no feelings for him other than an informal friendship along with pity for Mark’s continual love misconception. Reed spends months at a time away from home hoping that Mark will let go of his fantasy as well as move on with his life. It is Leo who is finally able to convince Mark to get a fresh start by changing locations.

D. J. Manly has created a fantastic well-written saga that I enjoyed immensely.

Wasteland: The Whore


Title: Wasteland: The Whore
Author: Lilli Feisty
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60928-039-0
Genre: {M/M/F} SciFi-Futuristic
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph

The Dusty Rose isn’t Bryn’s ideal home but she finds ways to numb herself to the reality of prostitution. That’s the only way she can survive. When a quick, secret trip into town goes wrong, Bryn is rescued by two strangers. Something about the men called to her so before Bryn knows it, she takes a job as a swab hand on their ship. If she is caught trying to escape, her fate could be worse than death, but it’s a chance Bryn is willing to take.

Captain Xander was in quite a mess. He was already on the run, and now he discovers he’s harboring a prostitute, which is a capital offense. Things were intense but Xander knew that Bryn was good for him and Hawke, his first mate and lover. She gave him the feeling of having a family, and Xander would do anything to protect what was his. Life without her was not an option.

Xander’s ship, The Sugar Skull, is overtaken and all of their lives are threatened. Bryn takes it upon herself to save the day when she realizes that the captors have her friend, who also turns out to be connected to Hawke. The crew puts up a great fight that gains them their freedom and a chance for a life of adventure.

Lilli Feisty paints a graphic and vivid picture of what life was like for a prostitute in the future that sucked me into Wasteland: The Whore. Rather than feeling sorry for Bryn, I was empowered by her strength. Life definitely hardened her shell, but I was thankful that Bryn still had enough softness left to open herself up to Xander and Hawke. Both men brought passion to the pages that will leave readers breathless. I was left longing for a deeper peek into Hawke’s mind. Two hot pirates and one feisty female create an action packed sexy story that is too good to pass up.

Aloes


Title: Aloes
Author: Chris Quinton
Publisher: Manifold Press
Publisher URL: http://www.manifoldpress.co.uk/
ISBN: 978-0-9565426-1-8
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Critter Nymph

Perry decides to surprise his longtime boyfriend and shows up at home early. Unfortunately for Perry, the surprise is on him and it’s not a good one. Soon, Perry’s life becomes one change after another, leaving him wondering if that’s a good thing or not.

Aloes starts off with a bang, one that not only turns Perry’s day into a living hell but also grabs the reader’s attention. A story about starting over, Aloes shows the struggle Perry goes through as he comes to gripes with being single, deciding what changes need to be made in his life and how soon to start a new relationship. There are many secondary characters in this story, two of whom would make good romantic partners for Perry, yet it is Drew that readers, as well as, Perry will see is the better choice.

The author also uses this time of change to introduce a little bit of mystery into the story. As someone goes after Perry, each new character becomes a suspect, and I was constantly wondering what would happen next and who would turn out to be the bad guy. The author uses just the right combination of romance and mystery when putting this story together so that neither element is cheated.

It was because I found this an interesting story that I was a little disappointed in the ending. It ended so abruptly that I was shocked and went back to see if I missed something. For me, it seemed that there was still more story that could have been told. Hopefully this means we will see more of Perry and Drew at a later time.

Til We Meet Again


Title: Til We Meet Again
Author: Rachel Carrington
Publisher: Cerridwen Press
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419923340
Genre: {M/F} Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx

With a serial killer loose in the city, Captain Quinn Logan is concerned that the next victim might be his ex-wife, Gabrielle, because she fits the profile of the killer. He is surprised to find that she is back in town and working at a clinic, helping the less fortunate. Quinn is always one step behind the killer, but his knowledge of past murders is what helps him figure out who is killing the blond women.

Now is not the time for starting a relationship, but keeping Gabi alive is his top priority and she is not helping him by resisting his protection. These two must join forces to catch the killer bent on taking both of them out. It is a shock when he gets close to finding out who the villain is and he is even more determined to bring closure to the murders.

Til We Meet Again is a fascinating suspense story of what can happen to anyone and I enjoyed reading every page. There is so much intrigue surrounding the plot and I wasn’t able to figure out the serial killer almost until the end of the book. Imagine my surprise at who this murderer turned out to be or the fact that they were friends with Quinn.

I was impressed with Gabi’s strong will to survive her stalking ordeal, but she did panic a little more than I had hoped she would. Quinn and Gabi’s relationship is a little rocky in the beginning but it seems that they might be able to let nature take its course. There is a lot of steamy hot sex going on between these two and they make the best of it, regardless of who was after them.

This is the first book I have read by Ms. Carrington and she did a great job of spinning a tale of a mysterious serial killer. The killer leads the police on a chase for years, without them finding who they are, despite the many clues. The well written personal histories of the characters and their relationships to each other made the book more real for me. I will be on the lookout for more books from this author.