Saturday, March 3, 2012

Delsyn’s Blues

Title: Delsyn’s Blues
Author: Lou Sylvre
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-61372-323-4
Genre: {M/M}, Suspense, Sequel
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Sonny and Luki’s relationship has been rocky from the start.  It isn’t that the men don’t love each other - they do - but fate has a way of throwing a few monkey wrenches their way that leave the men fighting for their love time and time again. 

When I saw that author Lou Sylvre had a sequel to Loving Luki Vasquez, I was not sure I was up to reading it.  Not because I did not love the first book, I did.  I just was not sure if I was up to another heavy angst-driven story.  Once I started Delsyn’s Blues, however, I was hooked.  The author pulled me in right from the start, but I do have to tell you the prologue pissed me off some.  Sonny and Luki are just as intriguing as last time and their relationship is just as rocky.  The men are faced with some tragic events that almost destroy the relationship they built during the course of the first story.   At times, I wanted to shake both the men but as you read Delsyn’s Blues, you will soon come to see that both their actions are understandable, including Sonny’s initial reaction to Richard, given the intense grief they are going through.  It is only their intense feelings and need for each other that pull the men through. 

Like the first story, the author wove a mystery throughout Delsyn’s Blues.   It doesn’t take long before the reader will figure out who is the bad guy although there are many points along the way that will surprise you.   

If you read the first story then you really must pick up Delsyn’s Blues.  I loved this story and had a hard time putting it down.  The connection between the men is strong, even with the many dings it takes and carries throughout the book.  The mystery will hold your attention till the last page and keep you reading late into the night.

Beloved Captor

Title: Beloved Captor
Author: Jez Morrow
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: 978-1-61040-716-8
Genre: {M/M} Sci-Fi
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx   

The Isle of Song is where Desdaine got his first up close view of Flight Leader Jess Laren. However, this would not be the last encounter the two men will have. When Jess is captured as a spy, it is Desdaine who saves his life. 

Beloved Captor is a well written enemy-to-lover story. The characters are creditable. Desdaine resides on the planet Ilzec, where he is a senior intelligence officer. He is also from a race of people considered sub-human, which makes Desdaine’s intellect unique. Desdaine is an especially emotional man, although he has learned to hide it well. Jess is from the neighboring planet Raudan. Jess is a snarky thrill seeker; he loves to engage in space wars and hates to be alone.

Both men are hiding their attraction for the other. However, after spending time together, Jess and Desdaine finally come to terms with their feelings.  

Jez Morrow has created a splendid heartwarming romance that I enjoyed immensely.     

A Bit of You

Title: A Bit of You
Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Total E-bound
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN: 978-0-85715-846-8
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Billy’s a perky, bouncy kind of guy who’s worked as a drink server at the Xxchange since Xavier opened it. He’s tired of people thinking he’s a slutty flake. Billy knows he’s more than what people see on the outside, but he’s not sure how easy it’ll be to stop acting the part he’s played for so long. For years Xavier’s told him how much potential he has, but it’ll take the love of FBI agent Liam Stone to make Billy understand he can do anything he puts his mind too. 

Liam Stone came to the Xxchange looking for a night of fun before heading back to Dallas. What he finds is Billy and he’s gobsmacked. The very idea of love at first sight is crazy but he can’t deny his feelings either. Can he protect Billy from the man threatening him and help his man deal with a painful past? Can they find a happy future together? 

A Bit of You is release seven in Bailey Bradford’s Love in Xxchange series. It takes place during the same time interval as the previous release, A Bit of Me, but from the viewpoint of Billy and Liam. Don’t be afraid that reading this one will be nothing but a rehashing of the previous book, because that isn’t the case. Yes, certain situations are partially repeated but you get to see them from a different angle, and then the rest is completely new as Billy and Liam get together. 

I knew Billy was a nice guy but the development of his personality here is much fuller, showing him to have more depth on the inside than he projects to others. Yes he’s a bit flaky but he’s also kind, warm and caring. And then there’s Liam, who doesn’t really believe in love at first sight until it hits him between the eyes. Watching this tough FBI agent get goo-goo eyed over Billy is nice, as is his protective streak. These two are good together…fun, cute, and sizzling hot. 

It’s also great seeing more of Xavier. He’s such an important part of Billy’s life and here we see him more as a father figure…the man who rescued and cared for Billy. It’s during this part of the story that we learn what Billy’s life was like before Xavier, and it wasn’t pretty…so be prepared for a few heart wrenching moments. But in the end, with the support of Liam, Billy gets to move forward with his life in ways he never imagined. Look for In My Arms Tonight, coming in April.

Thursday, March 1, 2012

Spencer

Title:  Spencer
Author:  Kathi S. Barton
Publisher:  World Castle Publishing
ISBN:  9781937593018  
Genre:  {M/F} Contemporary, Series
Rating:  5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph 

Spence Grant is a professor and single father.  When he gets a call saying his daughter is in the hospital, his heart almost stops.  Meggie is the most important person in his life and the thought of losing her is too much to endure.  Spencer’s relief quickly turns to concern when the woman that saved Meggie pulls a gun on him.  He’s drawn to the headstrong woman and doesn’t know why.  What he does know is that he’s not letting Cait go. 

If she hadn’t been planning to have chili for dinner, Officer Caitlynne O’Malley might not have been in the right place at the right time to save a little girl.  Unfortunately, Cait’s wounds are still healing when she injures herself again in the line of duty.  Death threats, kidnapping and murder are part of Cait’s daily routine, but she handles the chaos, because she’s good at what she does.  When Spencer and his bossy family are introduced into her life, things get complicated.  Cait’s supposed to be recovering so she can return to work, not falling in love. 

The attraction is too strong for Cait or Spencer to ignore, even with pending danger against their families.  Cait risks everything to keep Meggie safe.  In the end, things work out, but not without some painful losses.  Cait comes through for the Grant family more than once, without regards to her own safety.  I loved her character because she’s a strong woman who let a child into her heart.  Cait had no idea how to deal with children and she didn’t do things the “right" way.  That’s what made it touching and comical.  Cait’s scenes with Meggie cooking and shopping were my favorites.  That woman was a disaster in the kitchen but bless her heart for trying.  And the wedding scene nearly brought me to tears of happiness.  

Spencer had one moment where he really disappointed me by hurting Cait.  Even though it was a stressful moment and I understand his reason, I’m still hurt by his actions.  It’s a good thing I can see Spencer’s side and that I forgive easily.  After learning about his ex-wife and what a piece of work she was, I had to see him find happiness with Cait.  It was so perfect, the way he and Cait continued to address each other by their last names.   

If I haven’t been clear about how much I treasured the third story of the The Grant Series, Spencer, then pay close attention.  Kathi S. Barton hit another one out of the park with this outstanding story.  The characters that I fell in love with from the beginning keep finding new ways to touch my heart and make me laugh.  I feel comfortable, as if I know them all personally, and I find myself wanting to go to a family dinner.  I can never guess what might come from someone’s mouth and I really love that shock factor.  Readers are going to agree that this one is a winner as well.

All Bets Are Off

Title: All Bets Are Off
Author: Marguerite Labbe
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-61372-252-7
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Eli loves living and working in a small town.  He loves the feeling of being surrounded by family, as well as the calmness it provides.  The fact that his job as a professor at the local college gives him plenty of time to enjoy his love of hiking and camping is an added bonus.   But Eli is starting to feel lonely and his habit of picking the right guy at the wrong time looks like it’s going to continue when he meets Ash. 

All Bets Are Off was a fast-paced read that pulls you in from the very beginning.  The characters are strongly written and the chemistry between Eli and Ash just pours out.  The author uses the fact that Eli and Ash have to work around the issues that arise because of the teacher/student conflict to engage the men in a lengthy period of foreplay.   This, of course, leaves both men aching and awaiting the end of the semester.   I love this connection between the men.  Not only does the passion come through clearly, but so does the friendship that develops between them.   Ash is a Marine who feels guilty for leaving his former squad behind after he was shipped home, due to injuries.  While he has put most of his guilt aside, it comes back after the remaining members of his team are hit.  The emotions Ash goes through come across realistically and had me close to tears.  That the author used this episode to bring the men even closer together is not surprising. 

The author has also woven a variety of conflicts into the story.  Not only do the men have to deal with the head of the English Department out to get Eli, but there is also the problem of someone breaking in and searching Eli’s home and office.  To round everything out, the men continue to battle their growing feelings for each other. 

While I have read one or two of Ms. Labbe’s books, All Bets Are Off has become my favorite.  This is one story I have no problem recommending and will be reading it again in the future.

A Family Found

Title: A Family Found
Author: Nicole Dennis
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com
ISBN: 9781920501594
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Dimitri Michelakakis left a promising baseball career when his addict sister needed him to raise her infant son, Theo. Now he’s a chef and single father, working as a caterer, and he never imagines his job will introduce him to a secret part of his family’s past. 

When millionaire R C Mason Harrison, III learned he had a son, he was determined to locate the child and the man who’d adopted him. In charge of the family fortune, he often fights with them, especially his parents who constantly want additional funds and hate that he’s gay. Mason hopes finding his son will fill the gaping hole in his life, giving him the feeling of family he’s looking for. 

A Family Found is the first release in the new series, Hamilton River, by Nicole Dennis, who’s a new author for me. It’s a sweet and heartwarming story in the flavor of a Harlequin Romance. That means it’s a classic kind of story without a lot of surprises as Dimitri and Mason get to know each other, with Theo bringing them together as a family.  

I liked seeing Dimitri with Theo, with their obvious love and affection, and how tight their father/son bond is. Learning the history of how Theo came into his life is touching, as is learning what happened to Dimitri’s sister. Throwing in the occasional Greek word as part of their heritage is a nice touch. I loved the cooking/catering scenes, especially those where Theo helped, that kid stole every snippet of scene he was in. 

Mason and Dimitri are likable guys and make an interesting couple. There’s no doubt their attraction is immediate but I can’t help feel they got together way too fast. It’s the whole trust thing from Dimitri’s angle that bothered me. He had no assurance Mason wouldn’t try to take Theo away, aside from the word of a stranger. But for the purpose of the plot it worked, keeping a steady pace as they worked through their new relationship. Together, as a family, the three are cute and endearing, but when it’s Dimitri and Mason, its passion and desire.

There are a few twists thrown in with Mason’s family but the resolution of the problem occurs off where we don’t “see it” so I assume we’ll learn more about the “in-laws” later. There’s even a character from their stay at the hotel…George…who I’d like to know more about. 

Raven's Mark

Title: Raven's Mark
Author: Jade Archer
Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN: 978-0-85715-865-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx   

Sandpipers Restaurant Chef Mark Carter is immediately attracted to the painfully shy Raven. A single parent, Raven has brought his young son for a visit with Brody’s little brother, Wolf. However, Mark is not the only one attracted; Raven is also sneaking peeks at Mark. 

Raven's Mark is the second book in the superb Sandpipers Series. The characters are exceptionally creditable in this heartwarming episode. Mark, whose happy family life was torn apart with the death of his parents, is a neurotic perfectionist. Never having met a potential long-term partner, Mark throws everything he has into his new position at Sandpipers Restaurant. Meeting Raven and his son, Mark realizes he wants the three of them to be a family. However before Raven can have a relationship with Mark, Raven must first battle his demons into obedience. Haunted by his abusive past, Raven suffers panic attacks, as well as nervous stutters. Determined not to lose his son or Mark, Raven fights for the kind of life he has always wanted. 

Jade Archer has created an amazing romance with compassionate characters. I thoroughly enjoyed Raven's Mark. 

Kyle’s Return

Title: Kyle’s Return
Author: Stormy Glenn and Lynn Hagen
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
Publisher URL: sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN: 1-61926-019-0
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Shape-shifter Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Finding a dead man in an alley isn’t odd for Detective Anthony Santano and following his instincts, three days later, he’s in the morgue to witness Kyle’s return to life. With gun-toting goons on their trail, getting out of Portland is the only way to keep Kyle safe, which means calling in some favors from a few unsavory characters.  

Kyle Talon’s life hasn’t been easy. When he’s attacked, he’s surprised to wake up in the morgue and to find himself alive. Even more shocking is he’s falling in love with the detective who saw him return to life and who’s sworn to protect him. Together they flee the city, trying to find a safe haven while learning as much as they can about Kyle’s new powers and their growing love. If they can get far enough away, they might stand a chance at a forever together. 

Kyle’s Return is book two in the new paranormal series Phoenix Rising and it takes up shortly after the first release left off. Because of the interlocking concept and characters, the books should be read in order.  

The opening with Tony recognizing the similarities between dead Kyle and Collin from the first book gets the story off to a fast start. That puts Tony in the morgue when Kyle returns from the dead…and when he freaks out…very, very loudly. The authors have outdone themselves with Kyle’s personality. This little guy is a pistol…full of energy, foul language and anger. I enjoyed the changes he underwent as the story progressed, as he learned to trust for probably the first time in his life. Then there’s strong, protective and determined Tony who quickly knows the most important thing in the world is keeping Kyle alive. These two are perfect counterpoints and it was fun watching them go from strangers to devoted lovers. 

In this release, we get to learn a little more about the phoenixes and the person trying to kidnap them…Mr. Donahue.  And there are also a few interesting twists and turns with some other people…some good guys helping to protect them. You’ll also find a scattering of returning characters, pulling the two stories together, including Tibo who is featured in the next release, Tibo’s Beginning.

Wednesday, February 29, 2012

Three-way Tie

Title:  Three-way Tie
Author:  Sierra Cartwright
Publisher:  Total-E-Bound
Publisher URL:  www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN:  978-0-85715-850-5
Genre:  {M/F/M}, BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

After winning the bid to spend a weekend with Master Rafael, Lindsey arrives to find out she will be subject to the will of two doms.  Lindsey discovers that her previous experience is nothing, compared to what awaits her. 

Three-way Tie is an intensely emotional story.  The journey that Lindsey embarks on to find out about subspace is something she was not prepared for.  I found the concept of bidding for various BDSM experiences intriguing and the author gave glimpses throughout the story about how it came about as a fund-raiser for charity. 

Both Master Rafael and Master Eric are very intense in the way they want things within the lifestyle.  The author also shows how a person can get very emotionally involved in a short time, due to the communication factor within the BDSM lifestyle done the right way.  I found it interesting that part of what motivated Master Rafael to take part, after Master Eric convinced him to, was boredom.  Lindsey was a breath of fresh air as she was nothing like the subs Master Rafael was used to. 

I will be reading this book again and feel that this should be on every BDSM lovers bookshelf.

Monday, February 27, 2012

Helping Harry

Title: Helping Harry
Author: Serena Yates
Publisher: Total-E-bound
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN: 978-0-85715-857-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Multicultural Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Tim Jacobi’s determined to learn why his best friend from high school cut off their relationship after graduation. When they meet at their ten-year class reunion, he gets an answer and it’s not what he expected. He’s a successful businessman but he’s lonely, and when the sparks fly between him and Harry, Tim has to admit he’s just as attracted to his old friend as ever. The question is whether it’s enough to build a lasting relationship on. 

Returning to Riverside gives Harry Lear the chance to connect with family and friends he hasn’t seen in years. Seeing his former best bud Tim reawakens all the old feelings he’s kept hidden. There’s a chance of rejection but he opens up, telling him about his divorce and getting custody of his kids.  

Passion flares and they start a bi-coastal relationship, but when Harry’s ex-wife demands visitations rights, Tim knows being with Harry will be an uphill battle. Will he have to leave to keep the kids safe from their mother or will he get the life he’s always wanted? 

Helping Harry is the latest release in Serena Yates’ Men of Riverside series. It’s possible to read as a standalone but due to the returning characters, I recommend they be read in order.

I like Harry. He’s a nice guy…a caring father and I love that once he and Tim get together, Ms. Yates didn’t shove the kids into the background. They become an integral part of the family unit he and Tim are building and Tim acknowledges that the kids and their needs come first. The building of their relationship with Tim is nicely done, showing how much they want and need a second adult in their lives. The same goes for the scenes with their unstable mother. These show how hurt they are from what happened and Tim and Harry are determined to protect them.  

Tim and Harry are unique individuals and why they stayed apart is a sad twist. Their long distance courtship is stressful but amusing and sexy. Adding in the angry, alcoholic ex-wife gives a nice bit of drama and conflict. I loved the inclusion of the Skype sex calls and the fun they have together inside the bedroom and out. These two are just plain hot. 

So, overall, I’d say this addition to the Men of Riverside series is probably my favorite. It’s a nicely plotted love story with a steady pace, has a good integration of secondary characters, conflict, love, passion, it’s heartwarming and is filled with hope for a happy tomorrow. Enjoy!

Love’s Surrender

Title:  Love’s Surrender
Author:  Samantha Kane
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN: 9781419937460
Genre:  {M/M/F}, Historical, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Vanessa accidentally came across Nick and Oliver, trying to seduce a young woman in the hall.  Both men pursued her after they realized she caught them and Vanessa fell in love with them. 

The latest installment of the Brothers In Arms series, Love’s Surrender, was not as emotionally catching as the others.  It started a little slow for me, but picked up the pace toward the end.  The author brought out a lot of the expectations faced by those families with titles.  The author did a good job showing that, especially at the end when Vanessa had to make a choice. 

The scene between the three is hot.  A lot of emotions were shown.  The secondary characters from the previous books were mentioned and the societal mores explored.  I had to admire the young man Vanessa’s father brought home for her to marry.  I actually felt sorry for him, especially after he talked with Vanessa.  I found the ending of this book interesting because of the way proposals seem to be carried out.  One thing that was clear was the dowry of a woman when she got married.  The father placed conditions on it, which Nick had to meet before he would actually give permission.   

I have enjoyed this series.  While some stories can be read by themselves, the reader will get much more enjoyments reading them in order as you learn about the various men and how Waterloo affected them.

Sub

Title: Sub
Author: Susan Laine
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
Publisher’s URL:  http://www.sirenbookstrand.com
ISBN: 1619261545
Genre: {M/M}, Contemporary, BDSM
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

David is the captain of a Los Angeles class nuclear submarine.  His easy-going manner and patience with those under his command have given him a reputation within the Navy as someone able to tame troublemakers.  Hunter Masters is his latest problem child, and it soon becomes clear that David has little to no control over what is going to happen. 

I have to be honest and say that I went back and forth about reviewing this book.  I am glad that, in the end, I took the chance on Ms. Laine’s book, Sub.  While there are several books out there with characters in the Navy, usually SEALS, this is the first book I have read that mainly takes place on a submarine.  David is not at all like the captains you see portrayed on TV.  The way he handled Hunter’s insubordination had me laughing at times.  Hunter is a young Lieutenant who would like to be anywhere but in the Navy.  Although his behavior is understood once readers learn about his father, Hunter comes across as a bit of a brat from the very beginning.  While it is not long before the men’s relationship grow into something more, this is the one point where I had a little trouble.  Granted, I have never been on a submarine but I would imagine that the behavior between the men would have been noted by one of the other crewmen.  This was really the only problem I had with the story, and it is one I did not let get in the way of my enjoying Sub.  The men’s relationship is the center of this story.  While the forbiddance of David and Hunter’s relationship may have been one of the factors for its intensity, their growing love soon overshadows everything else.    

Sub also has hints of BDSM woven through the story, but the dynamics are different from any other BDSM story I have read.  In most stories, the dominant and submissive characters are clearly drawn out.  In Sub, David and Hunter take turns being Dom and submissive.  While David is submissive sexually, Hunter is submissive emotionally and his need for David, at times, is heart-wrenching.  It is not long before the men’s relationship is made public and what happens next was not what I was expecting. 

Sub was a very entertaining read, one I had a hard time putting down.   I will be looking for more from this author in the future.

An Unsettled Range

Title: An Unsettled Range
Author: Andrew Grey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
ISBN: 978-1-61372-330-2
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Western Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

When Liam Southard runs from his abusive father, he doesn’t expect to wind up in a ditch or to be rescued by two gay ranchers. Suddenly he finds himself with a new job, people who care about him and best of all, he’s seeing his life as a gay man from a different angle. Then the new guy to the area points a rifle at him.  

Troy Gardener’s life is a mess and after moving into his uncle’s hunting cabin, he just wants to be left alone…he really didn’t mean the gun thing…it wasn’t even loaded. Apologizing to Liam becomes a priority as is getting to know the younger man. Having lots in common doesn’t guarantee a worry-free relationship as they soon learn when Liam’s father arrives, followed by a mining company threatening the ranch’s water supply. Can they deal with Liam’s dad while figuring out how to prevent the destruction of their world?  

An Unsettled Range is the newest release In Andrew Grey’s Stories from the Range series and it’s another well-written and enjoyable read that fits well into this family of books. Because of the returning characters and relationships, I recommend the books be read in order. 

Troy cheating on his wife is a touchy subject, but Mr. Grey handles it with his usual care and finesse. He shows Troy’s distress at the pain he caused his wife in a realistic manner and it wasn’t long before I was hooked.  His sorrow isn’t just at home but it continues at the cabin but there, he isn’t the only one hurting. Liam’s life is far worse. The imagery of his lonely walk down the highway where he eventually falls into the ditch too tired to go on is heart wrenching, so have a tissue handy.  

I adore Liam. He’s such a warm and caring person despite the life he’s had. And when he meets Troy, the sparks fly…even after the gun incident. Both of these guys are vulnerable and the author has depicted those qualities perfectly. Yet they still have strengths, especially Liam. There are plenty of twists and turns, whether involving Liam’s father, the mining company or Troy’s wife and daughter, to keep your attention.  

Overall you’ll find it a heartwarming and entertaining story that’s filled with angst, pain and drama but it’s not a rollercoaster ride kind of story. Instead the pace is steady as Troy and Liam learn how to love each other and deal with the changes in their lives as they help to save the ranch.  

Prisoner of Love

Title:  Prisoner of Love
Author:  Samantha Kane
Publisher:  Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL:  www.jasminejade.com
ISBN: 9781419933479
Genre:  {M/M/F}, Historical, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Michael ran from the commitment he was afraid of with Veronica (Very) and Wolf.  Very and Wolf finally decide to get married and hope that Michael will return to them. 

In the eighth book in the Brothers In Arms series, Prisoner of Love brings an emotional intensity that will keep the reader on their toes.  The author created a suspenseful story that had me in tears in some places, and wanting to slap Michael myself at times.  There is a twist toward the end that sort of had me going “what?” but once the explanation was given, it made perfect sense.   

The chemistry between Very and Wolf scorches the pages, then when Michael returns, ramps the heat up even more.  Feelings of betrayal must be overcome but the creative way the author resolved it was fun for all involved.   

One thing that the author did was try to show how traumatic events can affect a person, especially someone that has been sheltered.  Very chose an interesting way to resolve her issue, and then turned around to help one of her friends while she did.  Several characters from other books showed up to help and give support to the main characters, and one secondary character made an interesting reappearance.  I am looking forward to the next book.

The Gallows Tree

Title: The Gallows Tree
Author: RJ Scott
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com
ISBN: 9781614953883
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

After surviving an abusive relationship that ended with his lover going to prison, Cody Garret is still struggling to put his painful past behind him. Fearful and prone to panic attacks, he finally moves to England in order to restore a rundown cottage and mill that his mother inherited. In the place of his ancestors, he hopes to heal the part of himself that’s been broken. 

Cody’s goal is simple, to find a reputable contractor able to get the property into shape so it can be sold, and then go home. He doesn’t expect to find a countryside he loves, two ghosts or meeting Sebastian Toulson-Brown and finding real love. 

The Gallows Tree is the newest novel by RJ Scott. It’s another entertaining read but it certainly isn’t lighthearted because it deals with the dark subject of surviving domestic abuse. Cody is a rather sad character, filled with fear and a deep emotional pain he can’t shake. The vivid descriptions of his turbulent feelings are very nicely done, allowing a good insight into the workings of his mind and how his abuse and near-death have scarred him.  

The history of the town, mill property and surrounding area makes for an interesting story backdrop. There’s also a nice bit of history regarding Cody’s family, as well as that of Sebastian and the two ghosts haunting the countryside. There are several twists and turns to keep your attention as Cody learns how to live again with the help of Sebastian. Ah, Seb. This man is tender, caring, loving and just what Cody needs. A man with two wonderfully funny brothers… and there are some very humorous moments when all three siblings get together.  

The extent of the paranormal aspect of the story surprised me, as did Cody’s response, his need to help the trapped spirits. This leads the story off in a variety of directions, pulling Cody and Seb closer together and sending them in search of clues. The plot is a bit complicated at times, tragic…and filled with angst. The ghosts do take the story out of the sphere of reality but the personal story…that of Cody and what happened to him and what he’s still dealing with is nothing but reality. So, if you can enjoy a story that melds these two plot components together, then I think you’ll enjoy this one. I did.

Commando Cowboys Seduce Their Woman

Title:  Commando Cowboys Seduce Their Woman
Author:  Paige Cameron
Publisher:  Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN: 1-61926-185-5
Genre:  {M/F/M}, Contemporary, Western
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Ellen tried so hard not to lose control, especially after her run-in with her now former father-in-law.  Sahale and Jack are determined to get beyond her control to seduce her and then marry her. 

The third installment of the Wyoming Warriors, Commando Cowboys Seduce Their Woman, is a fast-paced suspense story.  Ellen is friends with two women that are wives of other Wyoming warriors and has been allowed to know a little about the community, even though under normal circumstances, she wouldn’t.  The author does not go into as much detail about the community in this book, but you really don’t need the background if you have read the first two books. 

Ellen is going on a journey of self-discovery as she falls in love with Sahale and Jack.  She learns that she has a lot of strength and that she can stand up for herself without using her iron control against the two men she loves.  The author shows a lot of understanding about the fear of losing control, especially if you have been hurt and feel betrayed. 

I love how the men go about trying to teach Ellen that she doesn’t need to have control all the time, and that she can trust love and her feelings for the men.  The little touch at the end of the book that showed how deep her feelings were melted my heart a little.  Some more secondary characters were introduced and I am looking forward to reading about them and their ladies in the future. 

True Colors

Title:  True Colors
Author:  Thea Harrison
Publisher:  Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL:  www.samhainpublishing.com
ISBN:  978-1-60928-823-5
Genre:  {M/F}, Shape-shifters, Fantasy, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Detective Gideon Riehl gets to a murder scene too late and knows someone else is there.  Alice is hiding because she thinks Gideon is the murderer, but also recognizes him as her mate. 

True Colors was an interesting look at more Wyrs or shape-shifters of the Elder Races series.  Each book seems to bring even more interesting Wyrs.  Alice is a chameleon wry while Gideon is a wolf Wyr.  Chameleon Wyrs are rare and there are only a few known, which is why concern is high about the murders taking place.  Betrayal follows threats against Alice and the other chameleons as the story comes to a head. 

Some of the characters from the other books show up in True Colors, which gives a little more insight into the lives of the Wyrs.  The Wyrs have integrated themselves into the human population and part of the interaction is shown when Alice meets Gideon face to face.  Alice is strong, though she doesn’t think she is and Gideon can be extremely intimidating because of his looks and background.  

Some history of some Wyr races is given and I have to say that the author has created a fascinating society with this series.  Three of the books in this series are currently in print, and I am looking forward to reading more about the Wyrs.

I Got a Feelin’

Title: I Got a Feelin’
Author: Lea Kinkade
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN: 1-61926-156-1
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary, Western, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Rose Nymph 

Anyone who’s ever spent one moment with Ryan Chisholm knows all about his allure. Outrageously flirtatious and always honest with what’s on offer, Ryan is never short of company in the form of the opposite sex. Women know that when they spend time with this member of the richest, most powerful family in Texas, they will invariably wake up fully satisfied but alone. 

When Ryan spots Samantha Michaels sitting at a table with his sister and her friends in the bar he co-owns, he just has to mosey on over and introduce himself. There’s a major spark of attraction between the two, but Samantha can read Ryan from a mile off. There’s no way she is getting involved with such an influential man again, not after her last two relationships failed so spectacularly. However, Ryan’s got a feelin’ about Samantha and much to the surprise of everyone, including himself, this time he’s being particularly persistent in his pursuit.  

I Got a Feelin’ is the second installment of The Chisholms of Texas series. Two books in, and I am really starting to feel at home with the Chisholm family. I’m enjoying the drama that the sexy brothers get themselves into, even if I don’t think I’ll ever see eye to eye with some of their attitudes towards women and sex. In the case of Ryan, I just take him for who he is – someone who completely deserves his playboy reputation, but nonetheless is kind-hearted, generous and never sets out to hurt anyone. He has the sense to realize that Samantha needs time to feel comfortable around him and his family and I was pleasantly surprised at the patience he showed while learning to court the lady; patience that was ultimately rewarded with some amazingly hot scenes. 

Samantha’s warm and affable on the outside, but obviously fights an inner turmoil. I was drawn in to these characters’ developing relationship. I wanted to learn all about Samantha’s past and hoped that Ryan could find the maturity to keep hold of such an endearing woman. There were always going to be ups and downs to Ryan and Samantha’s relationship, but it was a joy to read the climax of their story. I really look forward to the next installment.

When the Sun Goes Down

Title: When the Sun Goes Down
Author: Gabrielle Evans
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN: 1-61926-265-7
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx  

When technology was eradicated in a computer hacker war between nations, Lawton Thorne was just one of the paranormals who came out of hiding. But a new power, The Regime, is flexing its muscles and during a rescue mission he accidentally bites several men. That leaves Lawton with a new pack of inexperienced wolves and a mate he can’t remember bringing home.  

Daxton Roe’s been cursed to walk the earth alone for nearly two millennia. He was trying to escape his captors when Lawton burst in and bit him. He’s been on his own for what seems like forever,and despite his attraction to his new mate, Dax’s bewitchment is unchanged. Breaking the curse won’t be easy while trying to stay ahead of those hunting the pack, but it’s a fight Lawton is prepared to win or die trying. 

When the Sun Goes Down is the first release in Gabrielle Evan’s new paranormal series Howl at the Moon  

I’m not a big fan of prologues. Here, Ms. Evans used it effectively to give a brief overview of Lawton, before moving on to the destruction of technology and the rise of The Regime. From there it moves to the relationship of Lawton, Dax and the pack as they hide, trying to figure out Dax’s problems and survive. Dax’s an intriguing guy with an interesting personality and an unexpected background. His personal history is just one of the many twists and turns in this unique and creative paranormal world.  

Lawton’s a cool guy too and Alpha to the core. He’s determined to make his relationship with Dax work, despite all the roadblocks…and Ms. Evans gave him plenty.  This Alpha is strong, dangerous and willing to do anything to keep his mate safe, including a crazy stunt (I’m not saying what) that made me want to shake him for being stupid. But when he and Dax are together, they’re hot, hot, hot! 

The story’s well-written and plotted, has a steady pace, a nice mix of characters with the other pack members, and a good integration of mythologies. There’s even plenty of teasing and bantering conversation, so the pack members have fun together despite the danger they’re in. But that’s not all. There’s also passion, desire, action and danger…everything needed for a great start to a new series. I can’t wait for Dark Moon Rising, coming next.