Saturday, July 25, 2009

Ride the Man Down


Title: Ride the Man Down
Author: William Maltese
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60820-031-3
Genre: Paranormal, Western {M/M}
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

In the New Mexico Territory in an area known as Deadmen Hills, third generation landowner Brendon Ridgemont comes upon another trespasser dead from drinking the toxic water. Tales of the Ridgemont’s wealth claims there is a gold mine in the barren region, so men continue to come, eager to steal the bounty. However, there is more at stake than the gold mine; the Ridgemont men are the custodians to the secrets of Native-American shaman Calenza, a duty that causes major conflict between Brendon and his lover, Eduardo Rivera.

Ride the Man Down is the first book in A New World Shaman series. This is an intricate story of Brendon and Eduardo and how family obligations interrupt their relationship, causing a rift between them, and then you have Calenza directing the family towards a master plan with an agenda known only to the shaman. Included in this in-depth plot of preservation is a wealth of man-love, magical illusion and a few creepy moments. I look forward to the next episode of this exciting series from the extremely clever and talented William Maltese.

Voodoo Fires of Passion


Title: Voodoo Fires of Passion
Author: Shara Bloodstone
Publisher: Amber Heat
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberHeat/
ISBN: 978-1-60272-531-7
Genre: Paranormal/Interracial/Multicultural/Het
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Satyr Vael

Entertainer Annie Wexler finds herself drawn into a sultry but dangerous world of voodoo and Haitian culture as she falls deeper in love with her married Portuguese lover, Josef Carrea. Lured by the drumming she hears all over the island and the past-life connections to Josef, Annie soon realizes just how vulnerable she is in this turbulent time.

Can Josef’s vow to give up his marriage and protect her keep them both safe?

Voodoo Fires of Passion is rich in imagery and lush in prose. From the first line, Ms. Bloodstone sweeps you into a world full of beauty and danger. The love scenes are as exquisite as the rest of the story, never feeling out of place. Josef is a sexy, attentive lover, and Annie is eager but not naïve.

This is my first book by Shara Bloodstone but if it’s anything to go by, it won’t be the last.

What Happens in Vegas


Title: What Happens in Vegas
Author: Jenna Byrnes
Publisher: Noble Romance Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.nobleromance.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60592-047-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Oh, those pesky rivals the angel and the devil, each perched on a shoulder, each with a strong argument but only one will win the battle and get you to see things their way.

Attorney Steve Elliot travels to Sin City for work but a tiny voice tells him to make time for play. Steve isn’t in the mood for female company; he wants his partner to be oozing with testosterone and flexible when it comes to who sits in the driver’s seat. What he didn’t expect was for Dylan, his co-worker, to hear the call and answer it.

Dylan doesn’t want to give Steve too much time to think about getting involved with a co-worker. Steve makes his eyeteeth ache, and there’s no turning back from this golden opportunity. However, life in Vegas can be dangerous and Steve might be the one to pay with his life.

Jenna Byrnes delivers action and suspense in What Happens in Vegas. Dylan knows this may be his only chance at gaining Steve’s attention and makes every effort to win his prize. Steve has risen through the ranks, thanks to his work ethics, but Dylan makes him throw caution to the wind. Steve’s reactions to his situations are dead on. Fear, anticipation and fervor all come through clearly, helping me connect with the character and feel his emotions. Witnessing his internal struggles with each new predicament had me hoping he could find the right solutions. I’ll admit I won’t be as easily persuaded to speak with Dylan after the events, but I’m happy he was able to listen to his explanations. I found this fast-paced story interesting and would love to find out what happens after Vegas.

Friday, July 24, 2009

Deadly Wrong


Title: Deadly Wrong
Author: Victor J. Banis
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-934531-87-7
Genre: {MM} Contemporary Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

Stanley is still recovering from a broken arm, and on leave from the police department, while he tries to decide if or when he will return. His relationship with Tom is over and with nothing to occupy his time, agrees to help an old friend, Libby, whose younger brother, Carl, has a manslaughter charge hanging over his head. Without a reason to stay in town, Stanley hops a plane, heading to remote Bear Mountain, California. He needs a little vacation time and believes spending a few days with Libby, while doing a little investigative snooping is the perfect solution. When he arrives, nothing is as he expects. The local police department is uncooperative, the accused brother in quiet and sullen, the mother in ill health and the eldest sister resentful and angry. He’s injured, scared of guns, smaller than every other man in town, and alone, without his partner to back him up. At least he was, until Tom swoops in to rescue him. If they can save Carl and their relationship, the trip to the mountains might turn out to be a success after all.

Deadly Wrong is the second release in the Deadly Mystery series by author Victor J. Banis, and even though it’s part of a series, Tom plays more of a secondary character, making it feel more like of a stand-alone release. For a more thorough understanding of the dysfunctional relationship between Stanley and Tom, I suggest reading them in order.

Stanley’s friend Libby and her family are all interesting characters, each with a personality I can only call unique and/or a little quirky, and they definitely add conflict, flavor and depth to the overall plot. Carl, our accused killer, appears to be a sad and unhappy man most of the time. He doesn’t like the town he lives him, the people in it (which includes most of his family) or his personal life, because he doesn’t have one. The only person he had as a friend, besides his sister Libby, was Donnie, the man he’s accused of killing. Strangely enough, Donnie is the most interesting personality in the book, and his death is at the core of an intricately plotted storyline that kept me guessing the real killer’s identity until the end.

Stanley is his usual self; confident, quiet, reflective, too smart for his own good and sticking his inquisitive nose into places that could get it knocked off. So, he’s more than thrilled when Tom arrives unexpectedly and comes to his rescue, jerking him out of a seedy biker bar. This is where the complexities of the story changes. It’s no longer dealing only with Stanley attempt to help Carl; it’s also dealing with Tom’s arrival and his determination to keep Stanley…his Stanley safe. The sex between these two lovers is hot and passionate, no matter where it occurs, but one of my favorite scenes in the book is the frenzied sex immediately after Stanley’s rescue. That Tom brought a box of condoms I expected, but that they were in a rainbow of colors…that just cracked me up.

Auctioning Charity


Title: Auctioning Charity
Author: Reece Gabriel
Publisher: Ellora’s Cave
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419922329
Genre: BDSM
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Charity Bradford did not want to participate in a charity auction which the owner of the company required of all executives from Vice-Presidents down, since she was the only woman. She felt that it would undermine her credibility.

Roger Morvan has wanted Charity since she started working for his company, but hesitated because they were colleagues. He decided he was going to bid on her and see where it took them.

Charity is upset with Roger, due to the amount he bid for her, and gets really upset when Roger pushes the issue because thinks she is a submissive.

Auctioning Charity is a journey of self-discovery for both Charity and Roger. Charity tries to come to terms with the fact that she really is a submissive sexually while Roger tries to come to terms about the fact that he has deeper feelings for her than just a Dom/Submissive relationship. The sex between the two is so off the charts in the heat factor, I had to keep a fan near me at all times while reading this book. This is one that needs to be on every BDSM lover’s bookshelf.

The Mask He Wears


Title: The Mask He Wears
Author: Fae Sutherland & Marguerite Labbe
Publisher: Amber Allure
Publisher URL: http://www.amberquill.com/AmberAllure
ISBN: 978-1-60272-546-1
Genre: {M/M} Gay Contemporary
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

We all wear masks at any given time. Sometimes to hide our nature, other times to hide what is in our hearts. Stephen Caulfield is no different from the rest of us. He’s hidden behind masks for various reasons and he’s finally found a reason to want to remove them – Ian Dennison.

Thanks to a strict fraternization policy, Ian hasn’t acted on his attraction to his boss but that doesn’t mean he hasn’t looked, hoped and dreamed. Ian discovers a truth behind Stephen that rocks him to his soul and hurts him more than he could have ever dreamed. But Stephen doesn’t want to hurt Ian, he wants to build a life with him, or so he says. Will Ian discover that Stephen is telling him the truth, or is he just trying to add a notch to his bedpost?

Fae Sutherland & Marguerite Labbe brings us love, secrets, and new beginnings in The Mask He Wears. Stephen is successful, handsome, and scared to death of the feelings he has for Ian. Ian has loved Stephen from the first day they met and that love has grown over their past year of working together. The confusion around secrets and half-hidden truths causes a rife that I wasn’t sure the men would survive. Even after hearing Stephen’s story, I was on Ian’s side and was ready to horse whip him but after the depth of his feelings came to light, I found myself rooting for Stephen to gain the man of his dreams. The story is compelling and makes you ask yourself “what would I do for love?” Sutherland and Labbe make a wonderful writing duo and I’m anxious to see what they will bring to us next.

In Sorcery's Hold


Title: In Sorcery's Hold
Author: Rebecca Airies
Publisher: Ellora's Cave Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.jasminejade.com/
ISBN: 9781419922145
Genre: Fantasy {M/M/F}
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Keira A’Darcin is a High Witch searching for her stolen amulet when she hears the roar of a dragon in distress. Using her magic, she frees him from the trap. Keira is later seduced by the dragon warrior Rath, who is almost certain Keira’s magic matches his and his bond mate vampire Damon. Before Damon arrives, Keira slips away to continue her search and by the time Rath and Damon find Keira again, she has recovered her amulet and gained more power. Positive she is their mate, Rath and Damon take Keira to their home, where they join their magic and Keira’s special skills into a triad mate relationship. Together they engage in the battle to defeat the enemy obsessed with destroying all dragons and vampires.

In Sorcery's Hold is a story set in a fantasy world created by Rebecca Airies where all the characters are magical. Rath is a dragon shifter who is somewhat arrogant; Keira is stubborn as well as an independent witch and Damon is a reasonable vampire who tries to maintain the peace between his mates. I very much enjoyed this intriguing and delightful romance.

Halloween Romance


Title: Halloween Romance
Author: Donaya Haymond
Publisher: Eternal Press
Publisher URL: http://www.eternalpress.ca/
ISBN: 978-1-926704-17-3
Genre: Paranormal Romance
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Selene became a werewolf after her father accidently bit her when she got too close to him when she was nine. Ferdinand went to Romania to visit relatives and got caught at night in an abandoned building and was attacked by a vampire.

Both are seniors at a college campus and start talking to each other at a Halloween party. Ferdinand asks Selene out, but both have to make some adjustments because of their secrets. After a disastrous date, they realize they have more in common than they realize, but Selene’s ex-boyfriend is stalking them.

Halloween Romance is a love story about two young people who happened to be paranormal beings. Ms. Haymond used the typical stereotype for Ferdinand’s vampire. She gave a little more depth to Selene’s werewolf. Their relationship was a typical college love story. There were a few light moments and the epilogue tied up the story nicely. Those that like romance will probably like this book.

Simon Says Ahh


Title: Simon Says Ahh
Author: Jaxx Steele
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59426-943-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Interracial Erotic Romance
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Simon Woo is the successful CEO with no one to come home to. This isn’t what he wants; it’s what is necessary to protect his company’s image and his own. It’s been five years since he last visited the United States and more importantly, had the pleasure of his best friend’s company, Benji. Benji sees the longing in Simon and wants to make this trip one he won’t soon forget.

Jaxx Steele’s Simon Says Ahh introduces us to Simon, a powerful business owner with little control over his personal life. Simon has a fetish that Hong Kong just cannot grant, but all his dreams are delivered and his fantasies are drizzled in decadent dark chocolate. Wealth and status couldn’t grant Simon’s dreams on a permanent basis, but I have a feeling he will learn how to make his fantasies a reality. The story takes us through a twenty-four hour period where we get to know Simon but also the true devotion of his friend Benji. I really liked Benji’s character because he was true to himself and no matter how he was connected to Simon; he wasn’t willing to turn his life upside down. The story was erotically charged but had lessons on friendship and the value of things less obtainable. If you like interracial romance then you might want to pick up a copy of Simon Says Ahh.

Pirates and Authors - Authors and Pirates!

I hate pirates! No, not that kind – book pirates! You know who I’m talking about – that classless, clueless, ignorant, arrogant group of people that feel that because they purchased a book, they can do whatever they want with it. They are right………to a point. However, NO ONE gave them permission or the right to post it to these sites for all and sundry to download, with no thought to the publisher or author or even other readers! I guess they think it’s okay for them to do all of this and then allow innocent, yes innocent reviewers get blamed for their dastardly deeds! Well, this is one review site who is NOT going to take it from anyone!

Pirates, may you all rot in hell!

Publishers, I will continue to assist you in stopping these scumbags, any way I can!

There is talk among some authors that reviewers might be responsible for e-book piracy. If you feel the same, please don’t hesitate to email me at reviews@literarynymphs.com and I will add your name to our list of authors we will NOT review.

Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Love Bites


Title: Love Bites
Author: Jade Falconer
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59426-935-6
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Erotic Romance
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

It’s time for Matthew to move on with his life. For over a year, Matthew hasn’t found the time to celebrate living. The sudden death of his boyfriend has left Matthew hurt and trying to find answers. He goes to a Halloween party expecting some dancing and enjoyment, but he gains something else entirely – his own vampire, Peter.

Peter has lived a long life filled with everything except someone special. Matthew’s pain and need calls to him and Peter knows there is no way he will leave the party without him.

Matthew’s baggage has a strangle hold on him and his encounter with Peter is like a breath of fresh air. Peter has met all types over the years, but no one of Matthew’s caliber. Matthew’s beauty and acceptance of Peter are the catalysts that bring Peter to his knees and make him fall in love with Matthew. I found the characters interesting, and the story well written. If you enjoy a bit of the paranormal mixed in with your romance then you should pick up a copy of Love Bites.

Deadly Nightshade


Title: Deadly Nightshade
Author: Victor J. Banis
Publisher: MLR Press
Publisher URL: http://www.mlrbooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-934531-75-4
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

There’s a drag queen murdering men in San Francisco, and the city’s powers-that-be want the case solved…like yesterday. Veteran Homicide Detective Tom Danzel isn’t thrilled when he’s partnered with newly promoted rookie cop, Stanley Korski. Stanley’s last job was for an exclusive interior decorator and while he’s smart, he’s much better suited for his former job than the latter. Yet because Stanley’s openly gay, their superiors believe he can bring a special insight to the case, aiding in its swift closure. As Tom and Stanley work together to stop the serial killer, they have another puzzle to solve. Why are two men, who have nothing in common and who have different sexual orientations, so attracted to each other?

Deadly Nightshade is the first release in the Deadly Mystery series by author Victor J. Banis, and it’s the first book by this author that I’ve had the pleasure of reading. Mr. Banis did a great job creating two intriguing, but very different characters that caught my interest from the very beginning. A significant portion of the story deals with those differences, giving the impression that the only thing Stanley and Tom will ever be to each other is short-lived, crime-solving partners. These well-written scenes provide the backbone from which the rest of the story grows, whether dealing with personal issues or conducting their murder investigation. The author uses good dialogue, vivid descriptions, interesting situations and believable characters to pull the reader into the midst of a seedy, yet gritty mystery, I didn’t figure out until the end.

I liked Stanley from the beginning, but I can’t say the same for Tom. His initial attitude and actions toward Stanley made it difficult for me to see him as a possible ‘romantic’ partner for the openly gay detective. As the story progressed and the relationship between Tom and Stanley grew and changed, so too did my feeling for the burly man. There isn’t any doubt that he didn’t understand why he was attracted to his lover, but it also didn’t stop him from pursuing him either. By the middle of the book, the tightly written and plotted story had me hooked, and there might not have been the ending that I wanted, but one I expected. Look for the next release in this mystery series with, Deadly Wrong.

Three for Me?


Title: Three for Me?
Author: R. G. Alexander
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://www.samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-624-2
Genre: Contemporary, {M/M/F/M}
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Charli is the only female in the group of four male best friends, Simon, Eric, Rafael and Lee. When Lee decides to get married, he asks Charli to be his best man. Charli accepts the honor, even though she fears this is only the beginning of her men going their separate ways and leaving her with a lonely future. Tired of waiting, Simon, Eric and Rafael hatch a plan to persuade Charli that they are more than friends and want a future together with Charli.

Three for Me? is an exploration into Charli’s sexual fantasies - Kinky role-playing, exhibition and voyeurism in a game-show setting with other contestants. For the purpose of sexual entertainment, R. G. Alexander has created an interesting storyline. Fans of kink will find this an enjoyable read.

Beauty Tempts the Beast


Title: Beauty Tempts the Beast
Author: Leslie Dicken
Publisher: Samhain Publishing
Publisher URL: http://samhainpublishing.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60504-617-4
Genre: {M/F} Historical Romance
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amethyst Nymph


Vivian Suttley, a baron’s daughter, may be jumping from the fire into the frying pan but she is willing to take her chances. She figures the best way to escape the monster her father is forcing her to marry is to hide at the home of another monster. All she has to do is convince him to let her stay.

Lord Charles Ashworth only wants to be left alone with his secrets. He has grown tired of his mother trying to set him up with a wife. He anticipated the dark haired beauty running away like a frightened kitten as the women before her had done. What he didn’t plan on was her not cringing from his scarred face or refusing to leave. Could Vivian be the one person to help bring happiness back to his lonely lifestyle and make his nightmares go away forever?

Vivian fought to get Charles to open his heart to her and accept the fact that he was not the monster he thought. If Charles could make her feel desire after the horror she had experienced, Vivian knew he would never harm her or anyone else. Charles tried desperately to ignore his sexual attraction and emotional connection to Vivian, but it was no use. The more he pushed her away, the more he realized he needed her.

If you aren’t consumed by the tender but rousing sexual energy between Vivian and Charles, the mystery surrounding the terrible night that changed Charles’ life forever will definitely pull you in. His emotional damage made me want to bawl like a baby, especially when I consider all the years he’s been separated from society. He is such an honor-bound man and I fell for him in the first chapter. Vivian too evoked strong emotions in me because of her fearlessness, at times. The fact that she was willing to sacrifice herself for Charles’ son made me admire her more. And considering the era she lived in, I was even more impressed by her strong will. Leslie Dicken certainly tempted me with Beauty Tempts the Beast, and I am now a fan of this author. I am anticipating her next story, as a child anticipates a trip to Disneyland.

Monday, July 20, 2009

Virtual Attraction


Title: Virtual Attraction
Author: Kira Stone
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521-258-6
Genre: {M/M}, Fetish Club
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

www.Out-Houses.com – 4 Nymphs
Toby and Alex are the owners of an interior design company in California. Paul is thankful for the opportunity to work for the men. Their talent and the fact that they are both gay drew Toby to the company. Now if Paul could only figure out how to get included in one of their sessions, he might be able to focus on work.

www.My2ndLife.com – 4 Nymphs
Jaydin and Rufus are finally taking their relationship out of VR and into real world mode. Jaydin is nervous, but one look into Rufus’ eyes and he knows they’ve made the right decision. The question is does Rufus feel the same way?

www.interns-for-hire.com – 4 Nymphs
Andy knows Toby is with Alex, but that doesn’t make the intern want to have Toby any less. Toby is a stickler for punctuality but decides to allow Andy to explain his tardiness. Andy is hoping to land the job as well as some intimate time with Toby. Will Andy get both of his wishes or has his tardiness cost him his prizes?

www.personal-paradise.com – 4 Nymphs
Lovers Kyler and Val never have a dull moment and enjoy their time in VR. Val pushes their trust level, and leaves both of them spent and as relaxed as a calm sea.

www.the-pitchers-glove.com – 4 Nymphs
Andy and Paul are co-workers for Out-Houses and they’ve both enjoyed sessions with the owners. Paul liked the romps but he’s ready for more, and he wants it with Andy. However, Paul isn’t sure if Andy wants the same thing, but it’s time that he finds out.

Kira Stone’s Virtual Attraction brings us five stories where the characters connected on some virtual level. Most of the stories are short, with just enough time to deliver sex hot enough to fry an egg on the sidewalk, but long enough to let us see the emotions that drive the characters. I found the stories interesting and believe those who enjoy gay erotica will enjoy the anthology.

Flying Fish


Title: Flying Fish
Author: Sedonia Guillone
Publisher: Loose Id.
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-975-1
Genre: Erotic Historical, {M/M}
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx

Genji Sakura, an actor with a traveling troupe, is bathing in a secluded hot springs when upon a chance meeting, a masterless samurai, Daisuke Minamoto requests to join him in the bath. Daisuke is intrigued by the beautiful Genji and cannot resist the passion that flairs between them, a passion so strong that Daisuke forgets his mission of revenge. Genji had never had anyone make love to him in such a tender and caring way before. However, at the end of their interlude they part to go their separate ways.

Sedonia Guillone's Flying Fish is an expressive romance set in the era of seventeenth century Japan. The well-written plot gives the reader a sense of the Japanese culture during that time frame. The characters each have a tragic past they must overcome as well as find a way to happiness together and they do, creating a notable story that I very much enjoyed.

I’d Die for You


Title: I’d Die for You
Author: Jude Mason
Publisher: Phaze Books
Publisher URL: http://www.phaze.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59426-781-9
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Mystical Nymph

After he’s accused, convicted and imprisoned for drug dealing, Snake Thompson spends six long years in Corcoran State Prison for a crime he didn’t commit. Now, he’s served his time and headed home, bent on revenge against Johnny, the man who set him up to take the fall. His life takes a change for the better with the chance meeting with Abel, when he stops at a nearly empty desert café. The two men hit it off, so when Abel gets tired of his homophobic boss, he quits, tagging along with Snake on his quest for justice. The question is whether these two new lovers can take down a drug-dealing criminal, without ending up in jail or dead.

I’d Die for You is the fourth release in the Slippery When Wet series and I believe it’s the last. Reading about Snake and his new squeeze Abel is hot, sexy, fun and dangerous, making this last release my favorite of the four.

Ms. Mason hooked me from the very first page with her vivid descriptions of Snake as he rode across the sweltering desert on his Harley, leaving me with the desire to keep reading…to see what happens to this leather-clad, tattooed man next. His well-paced meeting with Abel at the café generated an instant and believable attraction, the hope of something more simmering just under the surface. Things progressed rapidly, starting these two new lovers on path that would change their lives forever.

I loved it when Abel stood up to his obnoxious homophobic boss to the point of quitting on the spot. In most circumstances, Abel leaving everything behind to follow Snake might have seemed ridiculous but due to the desert location and the attitude of those around him, leaving his job was totally believable and understandable. Snake’s desire for revenge against the unsavory Johnny was warranted and understandable. Yet, the plan to bring the drug-dealing villain to justice hit me as dangerous, weak and unlikely to work in real life.

Chicken Ranch: Hunger


Title: Chicken Ranch: Hunger
Author: Amanda Young
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: http://www.loose-id.com/
ISBN: 978-1-59632-957-7
Genre: {M/M} LGBT Erotic Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Declan Mayo never thought he would be homeless at eighteen but thanks to his father, that nightmare is his reality. Within a few days, he knows finding legal employment will be difficult. He soon finds himself working at the Chicken Ranch, an all male brothel. It may not be his dream job, but Declan is willing to do what it takes to survive.

Killian Hamilton has trouble meeting people. He still has a bit of his geeky persona left over from high school, however at twenty-nine, he’s anything but a teenager. Killian throws caution to the wind and decides to see what the Chicken Ranch has to offer. He finds himself comfortable with Declan and unable to forget the younger man.

When they meet again, Killian refuses to look a gift-horse in the mouth and decides to pursue Declan. Declan isn’t sure if he should get involved with a former client, but can’t find the strength to walk away. The two get along famously until an event leaves Declan feeling judged and Killian confused. What is Killian willing to do to get back the man he’s falling in love with? Will Declan trust him ever again?

I’ll start with a tiny disclaimer and say I don’t condone prostitution but couldn’t help but falling in love with both of these characters. Declan refused to allow his situation make him a bitter person. And while his employment wasn’t the best choice, he knew it could have been far worse and took steps to improve his life away from Chicken Ranch. Killian is a catch if there was ever one. He tried not to prejudge Declan and think of him as a lost cause. He saw past the handsome exterior into the beauty of the other man’s heart and fell hopelessly in love. If I doubted his feelings, he more than made up for it when Declan needed him the most. The story touched my heart, proving just how quickly anyone’s living conditions could change. Amanda Young is a wonderful author and delivers messages about family, forgiveness, love, and personal growth to us in Chicken Ranch: Hunger. I could feel the struggle Declan had in making his decisions and could feel his fortitude to change his predicament into something positive. I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book.

Sensuous


Title: Sensuous
Author: Aubrey Ross
Publisher: Changeling Press
Publisher URL: http://www.changelingpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60521- 210-4
Genre: Paranormal, Ménage {m/f/m}, Bisexual
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Tess is trying to open a sister club to Station X. Tess is half demon and half elf and has been engaged to an elfin prince since she was a child. She is not sure she still wants Seth since he let her believe he was dead and did not affirm their relationship when she turned 18.

Victor is asked by his father to meet with Tess to get tutored as the Zoltan Clan is trying to modernize to survive. Once Victor sees Tess, he wants her for his mate. While Victor is meeting with Tess, she is attacked by a Chaos demon.

Victor goes to see Seth and lets him know that Tess was attacked. Between the two of them, they create a soul-bond with Tess as their mate and use this bond to protect her.

Sensuous is the last story in the Station X series. The twists about both Tess’ and the Zoltan Clan’s enemies keep you on your toes. The relationship between the three is extremely hot and both Seth and Tess realize some things about themselves they did not realize until the three of them bonded. I recommend this series to anyone that likes ménage stories.

Kaji Sukoshi & The Shining One


Title: Kaji Sukoshi & The Shining One
Author: Connie Bailey
Publisher: Dreamspinner Press
Publisher URL: http://www.dreamspinnerpress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-61581-013-0
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

How far would you go to obtain your dreams? Benjamin Blume is the manager of Hayate, a new rock 'n' roll band destined for stardom. Ben is approached by the management of Japan’s hottest pop star, Kazuki, with a publicity gimmick that could help his group gain opportunities he could only dream of obtaining. The dream soon turns into a nightmare when a simple act of courting changed into something more, leaving his young lead singer, Kaji, distraught with his first true taste of heartbreak.

However, Kaji and Kazuki aren’t even close to being over. They both share a special love, even if Kazuki does act a bit spoiled. Will Kaji be able to give Kazuki the love and protection he so desperately seeks, or is this a relationship doomed from the first kiss?

Connie Bailey’s Kaji Sukoshi & The Shining One is a story about love, new beginnings, second chances, and understanding the true meaning of the word “family”. While we told the story in first point of view by Benjamin Blume, the actions and words of the characters surrounding Ben leave very little room for interpretation. I was able to feel the love, hurt, humiliation and sacrifice of each individual.

Ben’s past affair with a former rocker in the 80’s allowed him to connect with Kaji’s feelings and understand his painful breakup. Moreover, while he was carrying his own bit of baggage around from the event, I was happy to see him move out of Kaji and Kazuki’s way at times and allow them to make their own mistakes. Ben loved the band members as a doting father but Kaji has his heart, above all others. Kaji understood Kazuki better than anyone else and could hear his cry for love and affection. There were times I knew he was stronger than I was and I applauded his ability to get up, brush himself off, and go back for another round. Clearly, Kazuki had issues that remained with him from adolescence but when he finally was able to see the gifts at his fingertips, he showed me a side of him I only hoped was buried deep inside his wounded spirit. Kaji Sukoshi & The Shining One isn’t your average yaoi story and requires you to use more thought processing than sensory overload with sexual encounters that go could rival the temperature of hell. No, Ms. Bailey takes us on a ride through the lives of men who are seeking love and happiness. When the sexually encounters come, they add a touch of spice to the novel, but don’t distract from the message and the adventure through Ben’s eyes. This story is definitely worth a read or two and demonstrates just how talented Ms. Bailey truly is.

Lara’s Submission


Title: Lara’s Submission
Author: J. W. McKenna & Claire Thompson
Publisher: Romance Unbound Publishing
Publisher URL: http://romanceunbound.com/
ISBN: #978-1439238554
Genre: BDSM
Rating: 3 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Cipher Prose Nymph

Lara has been happily married for years, or so she thought. Then suppressed urges surface, sparking a longing desire to be dominated by a strong male.

Michael has searched a long time to find the perfect woman to submit to his every fantasy and has finally found a woman he thinks is perfect for the role.

Can Lara—whom is torn between returning to her soon-to-be ex-husband and staying with her dominate lover—truly embrace her new submissive lifestyle?

While I found Lara’s Submission to be a fast-paced story which explores the fine line of BDSM, showing how it can become a loving, trusting relationship or an abusive ownership, I also found the plot development was somewhat lacking in areas giving the feeling of reading a diary or journal instead of a story.

Seeds of Time 2: Bread on the Waters


Title: Seeds of Time 2: Bread on the Waters
Author: G.S. Wiley
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: http://www.torquerebooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-60370-749-7
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Erotic Romance
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Simon is still enjoying his job as a theater manager, while branching out a bit and taking on more responsibilities. He’s already the jack-of-all-trades for their small theater and his willingness to work hard keeps them afloat and abate the problems. Simon reunites with Adrian, but isn’t completely committed to their relationship. Is it the fact that Adrian has a child with another woman or the memory of Vicar James that causes Simon to tread lightly?

In G.S. Wiley’s Seeds of Time 2: Bread on the Waters we meet back up with Simon, a few months after his first time-traveling adventure. He’s grown past the hurt Adrian caused, and is trying to decide if he should attempt to go back to see James once more, or chalk the whole experience up as an impossibly wonderful dream. James seems to have made a great impact on Simon, and is nothing like Adrian, which is something I came to appreciate more and more while I read the story. In those few short months, I could see how much Simon has matured and learned to be more decisive and less prone to overlook the obvious. I could also tell that whatever love he had for Adrian had lessened and regardless of his forgiving Adrian, Simon would never truly forget the pain he caused. G.S. Wiley strategically placed obstacles in the way of Simon getting what he wants, leaving speculation to how he and the vicar will be able to reunite. However, regardless of those obstacles I know Simon will find a way to regain what causes his spirits to soar. I loved this sequel and can’t wait to read the next episode.

Dream Lover


Title: Dream Lover
Author: Topaz Jordyn
Publisher: Amira Press
Publisher URL: http://www.amirapress.com/
ISBN: 978-1-934475- 72-0
Genre: Erotic Vampire Romantic Suspense, {M/F}
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Amazon Nymph

Prince Devlin has been told that he will be getting married to a woman he has never seen. Tankura is the sister of one of his best friends and commander in the Omega Force. He has been told he is not to see her until the wedding.

Tankura has been sheltered all her life and now she is getting married to the heir to the throne. Once they are married, Tankura is attacked several times and Devlin is doing his best to protect her and their people as the Vampire Society is being targeted by the bottom-feeders, vampires that feed on humans instead of taking the blood supplement that allows Devlin’s people to walk in the daylight.

Dream Lover is actually a good suspense story. As the story progressed, I got wrapped up in the politics of the Vampire Society. Prince Devlin wants to be the master in the marriage and thinks that his activities should not be curtailed just because he is married. Tankura wants an equal partnership and some of the situations in the story are due to her actions. The heat generated by the two of them requires ice water and fans constantly. The ending of Dream Lover, while resolving Devlin and Tankura’s relationship, leaves you waiting for the next chapter about the Vampire Society.

While having the links to the chapters at the beginning of the book made it easier to go back to your place to start reading again, the link at the end of each chapter stating ” return to table of contents” jarred the story for me as a whole. The author does a good job overall about the war between the two factions of Vampires.

Trapped


Title: Trapped
Author: D. J. Manly
Publisher: eXtasy Books
Publisher URL: http://www.extasybooks.com/
ISBN: 978-1-55487-311-1
Genre: Gay {M/M} Contemporary Romance, Thriller
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Scandalous Minx

Amador Derringer-Vega and Giovanni Bianchi have a great deal in common. Both men are the eldest son’s of crime bosses, both are trying to stay out of the family business and both are desperately trying to hide the fact that they are gay. That’s where the likenesses begin and end. Amad wants to protect his siblings while Gio is concerned about proving himself to his father. The only way to accomplish that is for Gio to assassinate Amad, who happens to be the son of a rival mobster. However, when Gio sees Amad in the midst of a night of debauchery, he knows he cannot kill the handsome man.

Amad isn’t happy to find out he’s been marked for a hit and displeased to discover the hit man knows his secret. In the end, the men discover that in their own way they are both thoroughly Trapped and may never be able to have more than their brief moments of happiness.

Trapped is a story about survival and love that stands the test of time. Amad is smart and charming and would prefer to make his money legally, but knows it won’t be possible because of the demands of his father. Gio is no killer but he’s definitely a lover. While under his father’s scrutiny, he was cautious of his hidden desires but Amad tore his defenses down without even realizing it. I found Trapped entertaining, and while some of the events towards the end of the story seemed a bit farfetched, it didn’t take away from my enjoyment of reading the story. The story has action, suspense, and characters that grab your attention.