Wednesday, November 2, 2011

Endless Midnight

Title: Endless Midnight
Author: Gabrielle Evans  
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN: 161034846X
Genre: {M/M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Boston doesn’t want a mate, let alone two.  He’s been betrayed by Flynn once before and he isn’t going to give the man any more power over him.  As for Malakai, the only good vampire is a dead one. 

Book five of the Moonlight Breed series, Endless Midnight, reintroduces Boston and Malakai to the readers.  When last we saw these two, Boston realized the small vampire was his mate but after the torture he suffered at the hands of other vampires, the young shifter denied Malakai, harshly.  Once readers learn of the treatment Boston suffered as a young man, his actions will become more understandable.  Once Flynn is introduced into the story Boston’s problems really begin.  The author brings together three completely different men, each with issues they must over come, and shakes them up even further by making them mates.  Their journey isn’t always an easy one and, at times, I wondered if Boston would ever be able to put the past behind him.   

There are many twists and turns in their journey as all the men in the series are still plagued with problems caused by the rogue vampires and shifters.  Just when it looks as if Boston, Flynn and Malakai will get together, and things are starting to calm down, the author throws in just one more curve ball that is sure to keep readers interest till the last page.  Endless Midnight should not be missed.

Edric

Title: Edric
Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN: 1-61034-976-8
Genre: {M/M/M/M} Contemporary Shape-shifter Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

The Omega Network Tristan and Carson envisioned is up and running and they’ve already identified several Omegas needing immediate rescue. One of those is Edric.  

With the death of his parents, Edric Sawyer came under the control of his power hungry uncle. Desperate to get away, he contacts the Omega Network and when he gets to Carson’s, Edric is nervous but excited about the changes in his life. Getting to pick his inner circle isn’t something Edric ever expected and he’s thrilled at the chance to make decisions for the first time in his life. When he meets Blaine, Colin and Rowan, Edric’s hopeful and ready to open his heart to love. 

But things don’t work out like Edric thought. Instead of the caring, affectionate and protective Alpha and Betas he expected, he’s faced with three upset and angry wolves. When Edric learns why, he’s deeply hurt because what they accuse him of isn’t true and he runs. Will this terrible misunderstanding cause a permanent rift in their relationship or can it be fixed? 

Edric is book three in Joyee Flynn’s Resistant Omegas series and I recommend they be read in order. 

It’s been a bit since the second release, Carson, so I appreciated the prologue. It reminded me of the reasoning behind the Omega Network, let us see a little of our two previous Omegas, Carson and Tristan and gave us a look at several possibilities for the Omegas of future releases. 

I liked the beginning scenes with Edric at Carson’s house and the process they went through, introducing two inner circles who might be matches. The different between the two, one tender and caring while the other was as bad the situation he’d left was a nice contrast. I also liked Carson’s anger and seeing the nasty Alpha get punched was a nice, satisfying touch.  

This is the point where I had high hopes for Edric and his relationship with Blaine, Colin and Rowan, so I expected the bottom to fall out and did it ever…artfully so. I must say though that I didn’t anticipate the Alpha and Betas would act so badly.  The personalities created for them didn’t do it for me. They should have been level headed individuals able to lead a pack; instead they reacted like unruly teenagers. It was a turn-off. I liked Edric’s response to what happened. He stood up for himself and acted in a realistic manner by taking himself out the situation. Edric and his ability to forgive and his desire to make things right is what saved the story for me. I liked him and wanted the little sweetie to find a happily ever after.

Chance’s Vindication

Title: Chance’s Vindication
Author: Stephani Hecht
Publisher: eXtasy Books
ISBN: 978-1-55487-979-3
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Chance knows the members of the Coalition have every right to hate the Ravens and for that reason, he puts up with the variety of BS he has to face everyday.  He begins to wonder if he will ever find happiness in his new home, especially when he can’t stop wondering about his appointed guardian, Thomas. 

Chance’s Vindication is the 13th story in the growing series, The Lost Shifters by Stephani Hecht.  I was very curious about how this story would turn out.  Throughout the course of this series, readers have witnessed just how evil the Ravens are.  Not only did they steal the children of other shifters, but they continue to wreck havoc in the lives of the Coalition.  The fact that the author was now going to make one of the Ravens the hero in a story made that story a must read for me.   

Readers were introduced to Chance in the last book and therefore know that the young shifter is not the normal Raven.  That point does not seem to make any difference to the Coalition members, however, and they go out of their way to make the young man’s life hell.  While it is easy to understand the reasoning behind their actions, I still wanted to smack several of them and was glad when Chance found a champion in Dalton, a young Lynx shifter.  Chance’s new friend brings out the protectiveness in his guardian, however, and soon Thomas must acknowledge the fact that the young Raven is his mate.    When the two of them get together, watch out because they heat up the pages as Thomas tries to make up for lost time.   

With the introduction of new characters, this is one series that still has plenty of life in it.  Each new book is able to stand alone but I would strongly suggest reading them in order.  Chance’s Vindication is not to be missed and is one book I will find myself reading again.

Adel’s Purr

Title: Adel’s Purr
Author:  Sui Lynn
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com
ISBN: 9781920484903
Genre: {M/M} Futuristic Fantasy Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Evan Hallvard is a stone mason. He lives alone in the mountains, in order to keep his gargoyle friends safe from the destructive power of the local priest. Years before, the world was nearly destroyed by war and in its aftermath, the Church rose to control almost every aspect of people’s lives. Evan has the power to create and call to life gargoyle statues and when he’s asked to rescue a large cemetery gargoyle, he rushes into danger to save it. 

Adel’s been hibernating for centuries but through the haze of sleep, he hears Evan calling to him. He awakens to the calm, soothing voice of a kind man who wants to help him.  But as a gargoyle, it’s Adel who’s supposed to be the protector…and Evan definitely needs looking after, because evil is afoot and after him. Father Michael wants all gargoyles destroyed and Evan in his control. Can Adel and Evan find love in such dangerous times? Can Evan feel safe wrapped in his lover’s arms while evil hunts them? 

Adel’s Purr is the first release in the new series by Sui Lynn Elements of Love and it’s a well written and compelling look into a future where war has changed humanity. The story is filled with thoughtful information and good descriptions on what’s happened to the world in which Evan lives and how the Church affects it. There’s the mythology of the gargoyles. The details of their existence are fascinating and I like how Ms. Lynn sprinkled the tidbits throughout the story. Then we have the different types of gargoyles Ms. Lynn created. They vary from the large forms such as Adel and sprites, to the Chinese lion-dogs and others.

The personalities of Evan and Adel are unique and interesting and they’re both likable guys. Their physical attraction is immediate but they don’t act on it for some time. It’s more of a slow simmer before it’s allowed to come to a full boil, where Evan is claimed. There’s lots of potential danger but it’s mostly suspense filled scenes while they try to out-fox Father Michael for most of the book. The real action doesn’t really come until near the end and then there’s fear, danger, near death…and did I mention demons… as they struggle to survive. Look for the next release Nico’s Fire coming soon.

My Feisty Kitten

Title: My Feisty Kitten
Author: Joyee Flynn
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN: 1610348474
Genre: {M/M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

Sasha is so busy helping in the evacuation of the smaller shifter groups to larger more protected packs and covens that he doesn’t have the time to even think about finding his mates.  But fate has other plans for him, bringing him a fairy and a vampire, both in need of his love. 

My Feisty Kitten is the seventh book in the Purrfect Mates series.  With this book, we are once again surrounded by the saber-tooth tigers that started the series off.  Sasha is the eldest Donavan sibling and he is in for the time of his life when his mates show up.  His introduction to Imogen, a fairy escaping from a group of vampires is hot.  In order to restore his magic level, Imogen needs to burn off some of the excess energy, resulting in some intense sex.  These two hit it off from the beginning, yet readers are left to wonder what the introduction of Aaron, a vampire, will do to Imogen. 

If you read the last story then you are sure to remember Aaron, Logan’s best friend and long time lover.  I am glad that we did not have to wait long for Aaron to get a story of his own. However, there were many times when I wondered if this poor vampire would ever be happy.  While Imogen’s insecurities surrounding the addition of a vampire mate were understandable, I really felt for Aaron.  I did like that the author allowed the men to find their way together without glossing over Imogen’s issues and gave Imogen and Aaron time to get to know and trust each other.

New information regarding the Hunters, rogue Vampires and the Followers was revealed during the course of My Feisty Kitten, giving the reader more to think about while they await the next addition to this series. 

Velvet Memories

Title: Velvet Memories 
Author:  Violet Summers
Publisher:  Liquid Silver Books
Publisher URL:  www.liquidsilverbooks.com
ISBN:  978-1-59578-871-9
Genre:  {M/M}, BDSM, Series
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amazon Nymph 

Rob and Michael have known each other since high school.  An incident between the two sent Rob into a panic because he didn’t know how to handle his feelings.  Can Rob win Michael back? 

In the fourth book of the Club Velvet Ice series, Velvet Memories can stir up a lot of angst emotionally.  I remember very well wondering about a lot of things and going through the angst of not having a boy like you back during my high school years.  The author treated the situation between Rob and Michael beautifully.  I loved the fact she brought in the ancient Greek culture and used it to show Rob a few things. 

One thing that struck me throughout this series is that the club’s owner really looks out for his employees.  I would never have thought of asking a submissive if they would have a problem with a certain Dom becoming a member and Michael felt really cared for at that moment because he still had a lot of unresolved issues regarding Rob.   

Be aware that most of the scenes involve wax play, which requires a lot of safety measures, and the author showcased each scene beautifully.  I felt she did a lot of research, which added to the story.  Keep ice on hand as you read the scene between the two men.  I only had one disappointment in that I would have liked to have a little more at the end.  Each of these books can be read alone, but I recommend you read them all as there is a small undercurrent in each that I am so looking forward to a story about.  This should be on every BDSM and m/m lover’s bookshelf.

Cowboy Courage

Title: Cowboy Courage
Author: Stormy Glenn
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN: 1-61034-893-1
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary BDSM Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Neason Blaecleah wants a special man in his life and thought he’d found it in Benjamin Brody when they spent a wonderful night together. But when the man of his dreams left without even a note, it was clear Brody didn’t want him. The rejection hurt more than Neason imagines and in desperation, he makes several poor decisions, putting him in some dangerous BDSM situations. When Neason is confronted about his actions, it results in a serious car wreck, head injury and blindness. 

Neason’s scared and angry at losing his sight. When his brother takes him to the family cabin and leaves him in the care of the man who hurt him, he’s furious. But his need for Brody is strong and his attitude soon mellows as he learns to give up control. The question is whether Neason can completely trust Brody when he doesn’t know Brody’s true feelings and whether his lover wants to keep him? 

Cowboy Courage is the fourth release in Stormy Glenn’s Blaecleah Brothers and while it can be read as a standalone, it would be best to read the books in sequential order.

Let me say upfront that I was very surprised to find on reading this one that the blurb failed to mention the important fact it was a Dom/sub story.   

Neason is a deeply troubled man and Ms. Glenn did a really nice job expressing the pain and uncertainty he felt in his life. Then there was the fear of having his family find out what he wants and needs to feel sexually satisfied. All this is also handled well. His personality is pretty nicely developed and, despite his fear of discovery, Neason interacted well with his loved ones. The returning secondary family member characters aren’t seen frequently but do play important roles when present. 

Then there’s Brody. I’ve afraid that for me his personality fell flat. After leaving Neason to flounder alone with his feelings, he didn’t even want to help initially when he was called to assist. His attitude was just uncooperative and very un-Dom like. There were parts of why he originally didn’t want Neason…and ran from him…that just didn’t ring true as an excuse to not have a  24/7 Dom/sub relationship with him. Also his selfish feelings when Neason started to develop some independence also didn’t sound like a good Dom. This guy just wasn’t very good at communicating and his own emotions kept getting in the way of what Neason needed and wanted.

The Coven

Title: The Coven
Author:  Stephanie Burke
Publisher:  Loose Id
ISBN:   978-1-59632-766-5
Genre:  {M/F/M/M/M/M/M} Multicultural Polyamorous, Shape-shifter
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer:  Amethyst Nymph 

The world is in love with pop icon Cyprus Reid.  Her siren’s voice and graceful beauty keeps her in the spotlight with her five male escorts. Cyprus’ fans are clueless about her true identity and the horrors in her past.   Each performance brings Cyprus closer to completing her coven and taking back all that was stolen from her.  After all these years Cyprus will get revenge on those who wronged her and nothing will stop her. 

For months, Jason Giles has been following his instincts and it’s about to pay off.   Posing as head of hotel security has allowed him the perfect opportunity to get close to his target, Cyprus.  Regardless of her beauty and talent, Jason knows Cyprus is a cold- blooded killer and he intends to expose her.   After infiltrating Cyprus’ coven, Jason is more confused than ever.  His discoveries cause him uneasy feelings about completing his assignment.  Jason’s attraction to Cyprus and the bond with her coven changes everything. 

Cyprus and her associates are not fond of humans.  Considering the damage humans caused their family, I can’t say I blame them.  Even though Cyprus is a powerful being, she’s still a woman who wants things any average woman would want.  Having that dream ripped away could have destroyed her, but it didn’t.  At first, I admit I sided with Jason.  Jason isn’t as smart as he thinks because Cyprus knows he’s really there to spy, not to protect her.  After obtaining more information about who hired him to bring down Cyprus, Jason isn’t sure he is protecting the right person.  Not only does he help to see that justice is served, Jason helps Cyprus complete her coven.  Jason also gains unexpected information about himself.  The story ends with a tragedy that’s really a happy ending.  Cyprus and her coven are able to disappear from the spotlight and return to the life they were meant to have.    

The Coven is a mysterious read with several layers that I enjoyed watching unfold.  Each revelation brings a different question and makes me curious about each member of Cyprus’ coven.  The men are all so different, yet their union works.  I think readers will be even more curious about Cyprus, just as I am.  I was surprised by some of her attributes, I have to admit.  Timing is everything and Stephanie Burke has excellent timing when building suspense in her scenes.  There is plenty of action and sexual encounters to keep you on the edge of your seat and curious for more.

Mitch

Title: Mitch
Author: Dakota Rebel
Publisher: Resplendence Publishing
ISBN: 978-1-60735-417-8
Genre: {M/M} Paranormal, Series
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx   

Mitch Baine, federal marshal and bounty hunter, has decided this year he is not going to be a wallflower at the annual Masked Ball at Torque, the hottest gay bar in the Detroit area.  Mitch indulges in a little back room sex with a vampire wearing a white mask, only to discover the next day that the vampire, Jarrod Axlerod, is the lead singer in a popular band named Heartstrings and Mitch’s new kill assignment. 

Mitch is the first book in the Baine Family series.  The composition of the plot is an intriguing blend of distinctive characters, steamy lovemaking in addition to a quantity of fatal action.  Illustrated is the common knowledge that the band members are vampires and a werewolf.  Bounty hunters are a division of the Army and hunt only the lawbreakers among the paranormals.  Mitch’s commanding officer is his father, who tolerates Mitch being gay only as long as Mitch can perform his hunting duties.  A major part of the storyline is the interaction between Mitch and his younger sister.  Brother and sister are good friends, who try to protect each other from danger.  The mystery in the plot comes from Mitch questioning the kill order. Mitch discovers several facts that cast doubt on Jarrod being the killer the army is looking for.  As the story unfolds, Mitch and Jarrod’s budding romance reveals the true murderer, which leads to a deadly battle.  

Since Mitch and Jarrod have their happy ever after, it will be interesting to observe which character will be featured in the next episode. Dakota Rebel has created an exceptionally expressive saga that I enjoyed immensely.

Tuesday, November 1, 2011

Lion Tamer

Title: Lion Tamer
Author: Sean Michael
Publisher: Torquere Press
Publisher URL: www.torquerebooks.com
ISBN: none assigned
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary BDSM Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Christopher’s a lonely Top, who’s been without a sub for a few years. He shows up at the Hammer’s elaborate annual Halloween bash dressed as a lion tamer, complete with whip. He hopes to find someone special to use it on and when he spies anxious little newcomer Travis sitting in the corner, Christopher’s certain the sexy kitty is just what he’s looking for.  

Lion Tamer is release 11.6 in the Hammer series by Sean Michael. It’s a cute, fun, lighthearted read following two strangers, who meet at the Hammer’s annual Halloween party. Sweet little Travis came with friends and is unfamiliar with the BDSM lifestyle but is attracted to the big Top. Mr. Michael did a nice job showing Travis’s nervousness at his surroundings but his willingness to give being with Chris a try. There’s a little role playing as these two get to know each other and just enough sex for a release of this length without it getting overwhelming. It’s about 5200 words long, so the story moves along pretty fast, but we’re given a hint of a possible future for Chris and Travis at the end.

Alex’s Secret

Title: Alex’s Secret
Author: Lynn Hagen
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN: 1610347374
Genre: {M/M}, Paranormal, Series
Rating:  4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymph Reviewer: Critter Nymph 

With family either ignoring him or trying to have him committed, Alex has had a hard time of it lately.  With everything going on around him, he finds it hard to trust the big man who shows up to help him and his cousin when their truck breaks down.  But Gavin has no plans of letting his mate get away from him now that he has finally found him. 

Alex’s Secret is the latest addition to the Brac Pack series.  This story was fun to read.  I loved Alex and his little idiosyncrasies.  It was also fun watching Gavin, another of the Lakeland bear shifters, figure out ways to handle his little mate while ensuring Alex knows that he is loved.  When Alex’s secret is finally revealed, it has the opposite effect that Alex had been expecting.  Not only does Gavin find it hot, but the acceptance of his new family goes a long way to making him feel secure in his new home. 

The new relationship between Gavin and Alex does not always go smoothly, however, as problems continue to plague the Brac Pack members and new information is revealed about the paranormal drug that seems to be making the rounds.  Readers of Ms. Hagen’s various series will most likely see these problems show up in the other books as well.  Alex’s Secret will hold the readers interest while continuing to move the series along.  Readers will find the introduction of new characters also keeps the series fresh, making each new book a must have.  While it is possible to think of each book as a stand alone, the stories flow easily one into the other and I would recommend reading the series in order.

Conway

Title: Conway
Author: D. J. Manly
Publisher: Amber Allure
ISBN: 978-1-61124-188-4
Genre: {M/M} Werewolf
Rating: 5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx   

Detective Ryan Hubbard of the NYPD is frustrated and losing sleep.  His murder investigation is at a dead end.  Victim case files, as well as possible witnesses, have disappeared and finding Conway at the apartment of a missing witness leads Ryan to a world he never dreamed existed, along with a relationship he never thought he would ever have. 

Conway is a short story that blends suspense and humor into a superb plot.  The characters are creditable.  Ryan loves being a detective and works hard at solving murder cases.  Ryan’s dedication to work leaves little time for a social life, so Ryan has little hope of having a long term boyfriend.  Conway is a fun loving werewolf, who is also a serious paranormal law enforcer.  The storyline exhibits a fantastic interaction between Ryan and Conway, who are more alike than different.  Ryan is a little snarky, as well as hard to convince regarding Conway’s true nature.  Conway is content being with Ryan and refuses to leave his side. 

Conway is a bit of a surprising departure from D. J. Manly’s customary writing style.  Nevertheless, I thoroughly enjoyed these exceptionally entertaining as well as heartwarming characters. I hope to revisit them again in the future.  

Rendered

Title: Rendered
Author: Bailey Bradford
Publisher: Total E-Bound
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN: 978-0-85715-720-1
Genre: {M/M} Shape-shifter Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Alex Winters is on a mission to track down and kill Joshua Dobson, the shifter who kidnapped and brutalized the Alpha Anax but he’s disappeared. It was supposed to be a quick hunt and retrieval but it’s been weeks and Alex is tired and misses his pack. He’s also discovered some unsavory truths about himself that are devastating to his fragile self-esteem. 

Before he gives up searching, Alex runs across three people staked to an ant hill by Dobson and his men. When he rescues them, Alex gets the biggest shock of his life. The male, Sean, is his destined mate and has been abused most of his life. Despite the pull of the mate bond, Alex doesn’t feel he should want Sean since he’s Dobson’s younger brother and he’s going to need his pack’s help to deal with his conflicting emotions.  

Rendered is release four in Bailey Bradford’s Southwestern Shifters series and since the characters and storyline follow closely from one book to the next, they should be read in order. 

There’s a lot of pain, fear and angst in this one…much more any of the others. Alex is wallowing in self-pity over recent events but he’s never dealt with what happened to him as a teenager. And it’s these issues that, at times, turn him into a whiny guy I didn’t like. It was just too much of a pity-party and when he tried to reject his mate for being Joshua’s brother, I wish Alpha Marcus would have popped him for being stupid. Sean on the other hand was a sweetie, despite being abused for years. This friendly, warmhearted guy I liked from the start.  

The scenes of Sean being abused by his brother Joshua are well done but the one that vividly sticks out in my mind involves being staked near the ant hill. The pain and screams of terror as Sean and the two women try to escape from being covered with hundreds of ant bites is creepy and something I’ll remember.  

The big battle at the end, while filled with action…think Hummer’s busting through their house…and the culmination with Marcus and Joshua fighting as wolves is anti-climatic. Don’t get me wrong, blood is spilled and wolves injured but I never got a feeling of tension or real fear during the fight. Even so, it’s a quick and entertaining read and I look forward to the next release

Wounded Cowboy

Title: Wounded Cowboy
Author: Jan Irving
Publisher: Total-E-Bound Publishing
Publisher URL: www.total-e-bound.com
ISBN: 978-0-85715-715-7
Genre: {M/M} Werewolves, Series
Rating: 4.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx  

Wolf-shifter Luka is lying in the snow under a tree.  He hadn't been strong enough to hunt for some time, his body racked with pain from a bullet wound in his back. Luka knows he is dying, but dying in freedom is better than dying in captivity. Luka’s redemption comes when he is recued by the human of his dreams, nature reserve land owner Charlie Danvers, Luka’s mate. 

Wounded Cowboy is book four in the Uncommon Cowboys series.  In this episode, the plot illustrates a villain’s attempt to subdue his opponents.  Luka’s abusive past, Charlie’s lonely life, sensual lovemaking and a fight to the death. Each of the main characters is gifted.  Luka dreamed of Charlie long before the two of them actually met.  Luka referred to Charlie as a healer.  In fact, Charlie did have a healing touch but Charlie’s true gift is a psychological healing, using yoga exercises.  Charlie felt a special connection with Luka, although Charlie did not understand where these feelings were coming from.   

Characters from the previous stories made a brief appearance in Wounded Cowboy continuing the theme of werewolves finding and claiming their human cowboy mates. Jan Irving’s Wounded Cowboy exhibits a blend of exceptionally arousing romance along with a precarious dilemma for the community.  

Oracle

Title: Oracle
Author: R.J. Scott
Publisher: Silver Publishing
Publisher URL: spsilverpublishing.com
Genre: {M/M} Contemporary Paranormal
ISBN: 9781920468071
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Alex Sheridan is a powerful empath with no memory before the age of seven, when he was found on a beach in Greece. His body is covered in mystic patterns and scars that he had covered in tattoos on reaching adulthood.  

Luke Mackinnon is a prominent professor of ancient languages, who is contacted by the Army to do translation work that they believe will lead to a powerful ancient weapon. Others want to find the Oracle for their own power hungry reasons. The legend says that after fifty generations, the Gods on Olympus will return the Oracle and his power to earth. That time is now. 

There’s an immediate connection when Alex and Luke meet…a bond more than lust and one destined from the hands of the ancient gods themselves. They don’t understand the spark between them, but can’t deny it either. The question is can they survive the evil hunting them to the very steps of the ancient temple of Delphi? 

Oracle is another well written, complicated and entertaining book by R.J. Scott and while at heart, it’s a romance, it’s also much more. The backbone of the story is firmly planted in Greek Mythology and for a lover of ancient history, once I’d read the blurb I was hooked.  

The characters come from both the past and present, and all have important parts to play...some are pleasant and helpful, while others are vile and dangerous. I like that Mr. Scott wove the concept of fate and how life wasn’t in Alex’s control…that he and Luke are pre-destined by the gods to be together, throughout the story. He’s made their attraction feel not only intense and immediate but deeply compelling, as if completing a soul bond as all the pieces that make them whole lock into place. Alex and Luke are both easily likable and the author did a great job developing their unique personalities.  

Luke, being an expert on ancient civilizations and languages, allowed the author to interject interesting tidbits relating to Alex, his tattoos and the translations without it sounding like an information dump. And the fact the villains wanted the info and Alex bad enough to kill added the action, fear, and tension needed for some well written and plotted suspense filled moments.  

It’s a balancing act between romance and suspense as Luke and Alex try to figure out what the tattoos mean as the story races to the end. There’s even a little romance between two of the secondary characters that fits in nicely with the story. So, the crux is that I enjoyed this intriguing action filled book and think you likely will too.

Bayou's End

Title: Bayou's End
Author: Lynn Lorenz
Publisher: Loose Id
Publisher URL: www.loose-id.com
ISBN: 978-1-61118-561-4
Genre: {M/M} Shape-shifter, Series, Recommended Read
Rating: Golden Blush Award
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Chocolate Minx  

Battered and bruised, Peter Graham is desperate to find a safe haven to stay, just until he can find a job and be his own man again.  Peter travels back to St. Jerome, Louisiana and his search for his friend Ted who now lives there, leads Peter to Deputy Billy Trosclair.  The moment Peter and Billy meet, the mating sparks begin to fly.  It takes all of the willpower Billy can summon to stop his wolf from claiming Peter right there in the Sheriff’s office. 

 Bayou's End is the second book in the Rougaroux Social Club Series.  This well written romance captivated me from the first sentence to the very last word.  The plot illustrates all the emotional qualities, featuring the strife of being a gay werewolf in a homophobic pack, as well as a werewolf hiding in plain sight.  The realistic characters immersed me into images of a laid back way of life coupled with exceptionally amusing “southern charm” dialog.  The plot also initiates feelings of anger, a few tears along with the desire to hug Peter.   

Although Peter is the victim of pack rejection because he is gay plus he is considered merely as a boy toy, which resulted in date rape set up by his last lover, Peter still has an incredibly sensual nature.  Peter’s small wolf is the perfect mate for Billy’s strong take charge wolf.  The intimate scenes in wolf form are especially breathtaking, expressing a true wolf’s nature.   

I suggest reading Bayou Dreams first to totally savor the pleasures found in Bayou's End. Lynn Lorenz has created a magnificent saga that I recommend to all fans of gay shape-shifter fiction.

Victoria

Title: Victoria
Author: Laura Marie
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN: 1-61034-707-2
Genre: {M/F} Contemporary, Suspense
Rating: 4 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Goddess Minx 

Victoria Mardullo comes from a close knit family and she has been called to a family meeting with the men only.  She knows that means trouble for her, if she’s not able to keep her composure with them.  The men in the family are known to try and boss around the women to the men’s way of seeing/handling life.  It was the same with Steven Mallory, her former boyfriend, who chose the military over her, and it seems he is either dead or missing in action. 

Ever since Victoria’s father, Homicide Detective Danny Mardullo is killed, she is not satisfied with the work of the officers in charge of the case.   So Victoria decides to do her own investigating and she makes some serious discoveries that could cost her life if she’s not careful.  Next thing she knows, she’s working undercover for the DEA and FBI, and a missing in action ex-boyfriend, who is now back in her life, just complicates matters even worse. 

Victoria is the first book in a series called Cop’s Daughter series.  I have read a lot of books over the years that are on my reread list, but I’m totally hooked on this particular book.  This story had me at the beginning, and Victoria is a big factor that made it more believable for me.  She showed everyone a whole other side of herself and she even begin to believe in the role she is acting out. 

Each person really added so much and that goes for the villains also.  Victoria and Steven have a bond of unconditional commitment and, regardless of the years apart, their love held true.  She turned out to be quite a tough investigator, as well as other situations that arose for her.  Steven really went through a lot while away, and Victoria’s love is what held him together along with a few other people closest to him during his time away.  They both proved to be stronger people, who are able to overcome obstacles not to their liking. 

Ms. Marie’s storytelling proved very creative with a suspenseful murders, villains, and courageous heroines, who prove to be able to handle each crisis that came up.  She kept me on the edge of my seat wondering what would happen next, and I was not disappointed. This is my first read with Ms. Marie, and I am looking forward to reading more from her in the future.

Dance with the Devil

Title: Dance with the Devil
Author: Gabrielle Evans
Publisher: Siren-Bookstrand
ISBN: 1-61034-896-6
Genre: {M/M} Fantasy Series
Rating: 3.5 Nymphs
Literary Nymphs Reviewer: Dragon Minx 

Archer Neilson gets into trouble with Pathos, one of the Gods of Chaos, for his fast and loose lifestyle and suddenly finds himself cursed with irresistible charm. It might sound like a dream come true but having every man that crosses his path panting after him quickly turns into a dangerous nightmare. 

On the run, Archer stops at a bar in a small town and after buying food, gets jumps by three men crazy with lust because of his curse. The bar owner, Levi Dawson, rescues the smaller man from the town troublemakers and takes Archer home with him.  

The question is whether Archer can tame his wicked ways in thirty days and show Pathos that he’s reformed himself. If he doesn’t, the curse sticks for the rest of his life, but that’s not his only problem. He really likes Levi but knows he doesn’t deserve the sexy cowboy and he certainly never planned on falling in love. 

Dance with the Devil is release two in Gabrielle Evan’s entertaining Gods of Chaos series, and while reading them in order would be helpful, it can easily be enjoyed as a standalone. 

When we meet Archer, he’s been Pathos’ play toy for three months and has had time for a forced change in his personality. He’s now a frightened guy you can actually like instead of what he was at the end of Devil Did Grin. Ms. Evans did a nice job showing the fear and frustration with his situation and the scene where the lust of the Justin brothers turned dangerous was particularly well done. Levi is a great guy…someone you can depend on, reliable, friendly and responsible…did I mention hot? His attraction to Archer is immediate but his ability to withstand the lust curse also makes him trustworthy. I have to admit that Levi trying to grit his teeth while resisting Archer gave me a few chuckles but when they finally give in to their desires, it’s sizzling hot.  

I like these two together and they get along well. Their actual relationship is pretty smooth except for a disagreement over a rodeo incident. I really thought there would be more relationship conflict. I liked that Pathos made intermittent appearances and got a few chuckles from him too. I didn’t expect the man Pathos finally grabbed for punishment to be Sheriff Luke Rivera. I assume we’ll see his story sometime in the future, but watch for the next release Devil’s Playground coming soon.